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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM POLICY MANUAL

INTRODUCTION

Section 100 -

Section 101 -

Section 102 -

This Policy Manual establishes policies and procedures for the Division of Early
Childhood Care and Development in the administration of the Child Care Payment
Program (CCPP).

The Division of Early Childhood Care and Development (DECCD) establishes
policy in compliance with the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act, as
amended, the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) regulations, and the
CCDF State Plan.

Parental choice in the selection of a child care provider is the cornerstone of the
Child Care and Development Fund. Services to eligible parents are to be provided
as quickly and efficiently as possible, subject to the availability of funds. DECCD
should make available to all child care providers and parents all policies herein
specifying duties, requirements, and responsibilities required of them. DECCD
must also make available training on the policy herein, for all licensed and
unlicensed child care providers serving certificate children, no less than annually.
The person designated to attend may be the Director, Owner, or an authorized
representative.  Participation in training is required for all providers.



SECTION 100: CHILD CARE SERVICES
100.01 PURPOSE OF FUNDING SOURCE

(1)  This manual sets forth policies and procedures for the Mississippi Child Care Payment
Program (CCPP), funded by the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) and
administered by the Mississippi Department of Human Services (MDHS), Division of
Early Childhood Care and Development (DECCD).

(2)  The purpose of the Child Care and Development Fund, according to federal regulations, is
to "increase the availability, affordability, and quality of child care services." The goal of
DECCD through the CCPP is to offer a seamless system of high quality child care which
supports both children and their families, and operates within federal guidelines.

(3) CCDF funds will be used to provide child care services for Temporary Assistance for
Needy Families (TANF), Transitional Child Care (TCC) Families, and eligible families at
risk of going on TANF with very low-income and low-income. Very low-income families
are those whose income is at or below 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).
Low-income families whose income falls above 50 percent and at or below 85 percent of the
SMI.

100.02 LEGAL AUTHORITY
(1)  Title VI -Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF)

Legislation: Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
(P.L. 104-193).

Regulations: 45CFR Parts 98 and 99 and Final Regulations published in the Federal
Register, July 24, 1998 at 63 FR 39981.

100.03 RESPONSIBILITIES AND THE RIGHT TO PARENTAL CHOICE

Q) Parents are legally and morally responsible for their children and have the right to select the
child care provider of their choice.

2 Child care providers are responsible for providing a safe and secure, high quality
educational, nurturing environment for children in their care.

3 DECCD must assist parent(s) in assessing their child care needs and, upon request, provide
a list of licensed facilities for parent(s) who do not have a ready choice. DECCD will not
influence parent(s) to choose a particular provider and/or facility.



100.04 NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY

Individuals shall not be discriminated against on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin,
religion, age, or handicapping conditions in the provision of child care services.

100.05 SAFEGUARDING INFORMATION

Employees of DECCD and child care providers are prohibited from using or disclosing any
information concerning a parent's use of services for any purpose not in conformity with federal
and state requirements, except with the written consent of the parent or authorized representative.
The public will not be able to request a copy of client information and/or records. An authorized
representative is an individual who has the legal right to speak or act on the parent's behalf.
Documentation of this designation must be contained in the parent's file.



CHAPTER 1
SECTION 101: CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

101.01 POLICIES FOR THE CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM
The child care certificate is a document issued directly to eligible parent(s) or authorized

representatives, provided that funds are available. The certificate allows the parent to select the
child care provider of his/her choice.

101.02 ELIGIBILITY PRIORITY POPULATIONS
If funds are available, children must be served on a first-come, first-served basis in order of
eligibility priority. Applications must be date-stamped as they are received. CCDF child care
services will be available to children of parents according to the following priorities:
1% Child Care for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
2" Child Care for Transitional Child Care (TCC)
el Children of very low-income working parent(s) whose income is at or below 50
percent of the State Median Income (SMI) who are at risk of going on TANF, in the
following order:
A Children in Protective Services or Foster Care;

B. Children with Special Needs (up to 85% of the SMI);

C.  Children of parent(s) deployed in the Mississippi National Guard, or Reserve
(up to 85% of the SMI);

D.  Children of Teen Parent(s) currently enrolled in high school full-time;

E. Children served by the Healthy Homes Mississippi home visitation
program;

F.  Children of all other eligible parent(s) at this income level, including parents
enrolled in an approved educational program, whether working or not.

4" Based upon the availability of funding, children of parent(s) working the required

25 hours per week and/or are enrolled in an approved educational program whose
income falls above 50 percent of the SMI and at or below 85 percent of the SMI.
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SECTION 102: CRITERIA FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
102.01 ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS

1)

)

(3)

Parents have the right to choose the type of child care they would like for their child. The
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development has categorized the choices available to
parents as follows: a licensed child care center, group home, family child care home, or
in-home child care provider Parents shall select a CCPP approved provider. No payments
shall be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to become a CCPP approved
provider. See Glossary of Terms for definitions of each.

Child Care Centers and Group Homes

In order to receive reimbursement for services rendered, a child care center or
group home must be licensed by the Mississippi State Department of Health. A
copy of the license must be filed with DECCD annually upon renewal. The child
care center or the group home must have a current license. Additionally, these
licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the Mississippi State
Department of Health’s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Facilities.

If a center's license expires and services are being provided for children on the
CCPP, DECCD may continue to pay the provider under the following conditions:

A. The Health Department has not officially closed the center;

B. The center's director submits a written request, on center letterhead, for
child care payments to continue; and

C. The center provides copies of the licensing renewal fee payment,

documentation of a current inspection, and a copy of correspondence from
the licensing division stating why the license has not been renewed; and

D. A center with an expired license will be reimbursed for children with a
current certificate up to the time frame allowed by the Mississippi State
Department of Health; however, no new certificates will be issued until the
license is renewed.

E. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to
become an approved provider.

The decision to continue payments under these circumstances is solely at the
discretion of the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care & Development.
All requests for payments under these conditions shall be submitted in the form of a
written request to the Director describing the basis for the request to waive Provider
Termination.

Family Day Care Homes and In-Home Providers

In order to receive reimbursement, all unlicensed providers must keep a record of
immunizations for themselves and all children in their care in the form of a Form
121 Certificate of Immunization issued by the Department of Health, and a copy of
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the Basic Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances. A signed copy of the Basic
Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances certifying that they will follow the
guidelines should also be filed with DECCD. Individual, unlicensed providers
must be at least eighteen (18) years of age and are prohibited by law from keeping
more than five (5) children who are not related to the provider within the third
degree computed according to civil law. A child care provider may not be
reimbursed if they reside in the same household as the child(ren). Proof of
separate residence may be required. Proof of residence will be established with a
current driver’s license or state issued 1.D. and another form of identification that
reflects the same address. A current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or
cable bill are acceptable. Addresses must match the address given as the location of
care submitted on the application.

In order for an unlicensed in-home provider to become/remain a CCPP approved
provider, all individuals over the age of 18 years (relative or non-relative) residing
and/or working full/part time in the provider’s residence shall submit all required
information to undergo the Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry Check.
This information is submitted on the Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry
Check Form 107 with the initial provider application, and annually once approved.
Providers will be deemed ineligible to participate in the certificate program in the
event that they have prior convictions of child abuse and/or neglect. If an
individual residing and/or working with the provider in the provider’s home is
found to have a prior conviction of child abuse and/or neglect, eligibility will be
suspended/denied until such time as the provider can provide proof that the
offending individual no longer resides in the home. Failure on the part of the
provider to accurately complete Form 107 may result in suspension/debarment
from participation in the CCPP. Additionally, funds shall be recouped.

No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking CCPP

Approved Provider status. Approval is attained by successful completion of the
Child Care Provider Application located at www.childcareinfo.ms.

12



102.02 APPLICATION PROCEDURES

1)

2

(3)

(4)

DECCD will accept applications throughout the year. Referrals for TANF, Healthy
Homes Mississippi, or Family & Children’s Services clients are accepted throughout the
year from Case Managers. All families eligible to receive services will be added to the
CCPP, as funding allows. Families will be served by date of application and eligibility
priority level.

Applications can be obtained by calling DECCD’s toll-free number, submitting a request
through email/postal mail, or by visiting DECCD’s website.

After completing the application, parents/guardians can return the application and all
required documentation by postal or electronic mail. Once all required documentation is
received, DECCD will review the information to determine eligibility and send a written
notice of eligibility, or ineligibility, or non-availability of funds within 10 business days,
unless a Waiting List is in effect. Refer to Section 102.03 for policies and procedures when
a Waiting List for services exists. If the parent falls within an eligibility priority group for
which funds are available, a certificate will be issued and mailed to the parent, who has up
to ten business days to return the signed certificate to DECCD. Once the 10 day window
has expired, the certificate will be considered abandoned and voided.

Parents must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care
provided while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider. A list of CCPP
Approved Providers is available at www.childcareinfo.ms.

102.03 WAITING LIST

1)

(2)

(3)

DECCD will accept applications for services throughout the year. All families eligible to
receive services will be added to the CCPP, as funding allows, and notified by September
1%, Families will be served according to the date of application and eligibility priority
level. All other applications will be placed on a waiting list, in order of date received, by
eligibility priority until May 31%. Any families on the waiting list not served prior to May
31° must reapply annually in the months of June, July, and August.

When a Waiting List for the CCPP exists, applications for services will be date stamped
and categorized by priority level. Applicants will receive written notice that they are on
the Waiting List once the application is processed for eligibility. Applicants can refer to
www.childcareinfo.ms to determine if a Waiting List for CCPP exists. Applicants who
request applications by phone will be informed of the Waiting List by CCPP staff.

If/When funds become available during the program year; certificates shall be issued by
eligibility priority. All existing Priority 3A parents should be served first; second, those
who were enrolled in an educational/training program the semester prior to the beginning
of the waiting list; third, those on waiting list by order of application date; fourth, existing
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Priority 3B parents; fifth, those who were enrolled in an educational/training program in
the semester prior to the beginning of the waiting list; sixth, add waiting list parents by date
of application and so on.

102.03 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION FOR SERVICES

1) Eligibility Guidelines by Priority Group

A.

TANF Parent(s) - TANF clients are not required to complete an application form.
Eligibility for CCPP for TANF parent(s) is determined by the MDHS, Division of
Economic Assistance Case Manager for full or part time care. TANF clients will
receive a certificate based on the referral and termination dates entered by the
TANF Case Manager. The TANF parent is required to participate in an allowable
TANF program activity. Each participant must comply with all the requirements
of the TANF program.

TCC Parent(s) — Clients referred for Transitional Child Care are not required to
complete an application form. Eligibility for TCC should be determined by the
MDHS, Division of Economic Assistance Case Manager. TCC clients will receive
a certificate based on the referral and termination dates entered by the Case
Manager. Terminations to clients receiving TCC can also occur when DECCD
determines that the client is not in compliance with case requirements prescribed by
the MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement.

Very Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time
child care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled
full-time in high school, enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family’s gross income
must be at 50 percent or below the State Median Income. Children with special
needs and children of deployed parents may be served in this Priority up to 85% of
the SMI. Irregular hours of employment and income should be averaged.

Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time child
care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled full-time
in high school or enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
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(2)

approved full-time educational or training program. The family’s gross income
must be at or above 50 percent of the State Median Income and at or below 85
percent of the State Median Income. Irregular hours of employment and income
should be averaged.

Post-Secondary Students - Certificates should only be written for one
semester/quarter at a time. The beginning date of the certificate should be the first
day of the month of class, for which proof of enrollment was provided, and the
ending date is the last day of the month ending the semester. Students should be
allowed 30 days from the ending date of the previous semester to complete the
application process. Graduating seniors will have up to 60 days to find
employment before their certificate is terminated, unless determined eligible
otherwise.

Resident -In/Out of State Students - If a parent attends school in/out of state, the
application should be made in the parent’s name using the address where the
child(ren) resides. Parents with residences outside the State of Mississippi should
apply with their state of residence.

The 25 hours per week work requirement is reduced for foreign students who hold a
VISA because they are permitted to work only on campus for 20 hours per week.
In order to remain eligible a copy of the VISA must be submitted annually to make
sure it is current.

Foster Children and children in Protective or Preventive Services are eligible for
child care services without regard to the income of the guardian. Foster children,
and children in Protective or Preventive Services will receive funding based on the
referral and termination by the Case Manager, no application is required. When a
child’s case is closed by the Division of Family and Children’s Services, that
agency will send a Notification of Termination of Child Care for children receiving
services through Foster Care, Protective Services or Prevention Services to
DECCD.

Parents may apply for a certificate that have been laid off or have lost their job for
other reasons. These certificates will be issued for 60 days from the parent(s) last
date of employment. This policy only applies when a parent notifies DECCD of
the loss of employment within 10 business days of the loss.

Children being served by the MDHS Healthy Homes Mississippi (HHM) home
visitation program are eligible for child care services without regard to income.
Children will be served based on referral and termination information received
from HHM Family Support Workers.

Income to Be Considered in Calculating Total Family Income
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Gross income of applicant and spouse should be considered if the spouse is living
in the home. Do not consider a spouse’s income if they are separated and residing
in a separate residence. All income above or less than 40 hours per week is
considered irregular income. Irregular income and commissions should be
averaged. For commissions and tips, the amount on the paycheck stub or
statement from an employer should be averaged and added to regular work income.
Do not consider bonus monies as income. If a parent is self-employed,
individual/family total income is considered.

Social Security benefits for parents and child(ren) must be counted as income.

If a parent receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI), it should be counted as
income. If a child(ren) receives SSI, the SSI for the child(ren) should not be
counted as income.

Income earned by an adult living in the home, not married to the applicant but who
is the biological parent of the child for whom services are being requested, should
be counted. Income or work status of another adult residing in the home with the
applicant to whom the applicant is not married, should not be counted. Do not
include these individuals in determining the size of the household unless they are
the biological parents of the child(ren) for whom application for service is being
made.

i. All parents must comply with Child Support Enforcement requirements in
order to receive a child care certificate(s). A Verification for Child
Support Services Form should be mailed to parents as part of the Child Care
Payment Program Application packet. Parents must complete the
Verification Form and return it to DECCD as part of the completed
application. In the case of TANF and TCC clients, information needed for
this verification is provided in the referral made by the TANF/TCC
Caseworker.

ii. All single or separated parents who do not currently have an open child
support case must contact the MDHS County Child Support Office for an
appointment to open a case(s) or to request a statement that the child or
children are exempt and the parent is excused from cooperating. Married
parents are not required to go through the MDHS, Division of Child Support
Enforcement. This includes parents who have an existing order for child
support issued by a judge.

iii.  MDHS, Division of Child Support Enforcement may provide exemptions
based upon Claims of Good Cause such as, but not limited to:

a. The noncustodial parent has caused physical and/or emotional harm
to the child.
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(3)

F.

b. Physical and/or emotional harm caused by the noncustodial parent
to the relative caring for the child limiting the custodial parent’s
ability to care for the child.

C. A child conceived as a result of incest or rape.
d. Pending legal adoption proceedings.
e. A public or private social services agency assisting you, the

custodial parent, to decide whether to keep the child or to release the
child for adoption.

iv. When the completed Verification for Child Support Form is received by
DECCD, the following steps will occur:

a. If the parent has checked “yes” in the first column, indicating that
they have a Child Support case through DHS, pull up the Child
Support website,

b. Search by parent’s Social Security Number,

C. Click “select” and pull up and print the parent’s information,
including payments,

d. Attach the printout to the application and use the amount when
calculating income and co-payment for the parent,

e. At annual re-certification, repeat step “iii” above.

Any parent enrolled full-time in high school or in a GED program may make an
application in his/her own name, as a family unit separate from his/her parent. If
the teen parent is living with his/her parent(s), the parent of the teen must meet the
work requirements; however, the teen’s parents’ income should not be considered.
If a teen parent lives in the home with her parent(s) or guardian, then the parent(s)
or guardian of a teen parent under the age of 18 must sign the certificate and forms
along with the teen parent.

No adult living in the home with the child may be paid for child care. The
biological parent of a child shall not be reimbursed for providing child care for
his/her own child(ren) regardless of the location of their residence.

Documents Required for Eligibility Determination

A

Income Documents:

I Two paycheck stubs from within the past 30 days. If paid once a month,
only one check stub is required.

ii. If a new job, the employer’s letter on employer’'s company letterhead or
employer’s notarized statement verifying employment, income, rate of pay
and number of hours worked. Actual check stubs must be submitted
within 30 days.
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Vi.

Parents paid in cash should obtain a certified letter from the employer on
company letterhead or employer’s notarized statement verifying
employment, income, rate of pay and number of hours worked.

Parents employed by temporary agencies may be certified with an original
letter from an employer on company letterhead verifying employment, rate
of pay, and number of hours worked. The letter of employment must be
followed up with check stubs within 30 days.

Copy of Estimated Quarterly Tax Report if self-employed, or another form
of income documentation approved by DECCD. The other acceptable form
of income documentation includes a Federal 1040 Tax Form including the
Profit or Loss Statement (Schedule C). DECCD will use the “Total Sales
and Receipts” amount located on the Profit/Loss Statement to determine if
the work requirement has been met. DECCD will use the amount located on
line 22 of the Federal 1040 Tax Form to determine income eligibility.

The Work Number, an automated service is an option for income and
employment verification.  This service is an acceptable source for
documenting employment and income. THE WORK NUMBER can be
used instead of the employer’s notarized statement or information on the
employer’s letterhead. Therefore, copies of check stubs are NO LONGER
required to be submitted for those parents whose employment uses The
Work Number Service. THE WORK NUMBER’S website is
www.theworknumber.com, e-mail address IS
govinfo@theworknumber.com or 1-800-660-3399.

Educational Documents:

Parents enrolled in an approved educational program must provide enrollment

documentation in the form of a letter from the institution’s registrar
confirming current full time enrollment. GED classes should be handled the
same as any other approved educational training.

Additional Required Documentation:

Long Form Birth Certificate - A 90-day grace period shall be allowed to
receive the birth certificate for a newborn. A 30-day grace period shall be
allowed for all other children.

Verification of social security numbers can be obtained from a copy of the
social security card, the Form 121 Certificate of Immunization issued by the
Mississippi Department of Health, or other official document showing the
child’s and/or a parent’s name and social security number.
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iii. DECCD must provide a statement that makes it clear to CCPP applicants
that the provision of a Social Security Number is voluntary and that benefits
will not be denied or withheld for the failure to furnish a Social Security
Number. Instructions will be given to parents explaining how the Social
Security Number will be used if provided, in order to encourage applicants
who choose to provide them (e.g. to identify individuals with the same
name).

v, If it is necessary for parents to supply additional documentation of proof of
residence, the parent must supply a current driver’s license or state issued
I.D. and a current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or cable bill.
The addresses on the driver’s license, I.D. and bank statement/bill must
match and corroborate the address of residence supplied to DECCD.

4) Requirements for a Disabled Parent

A.

If a two-parent family applies for assistance and one parent is working and the other
has a disability and is unable to care for the child(ren) as a result, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren).

If a single parent has a disability and has a physician’s statement stating the nature
of the disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren), the
application should be made in the responsible guardian’s name. The responsible
guardian is the person responsible for the parent’s affairs; the guardian must meet
the work requirement. The disabled parent’s Supplemental Security Income should
be used to calculate the co-payment fee.

If a single parent is disabled and there is no guardian, the application should be in
the single parent’s name. Child care can be provided if a written statement is
submitted by a physician stating the nature of the disability and that the parent is
unable to care for the child(ren).

If the guardian with whom the child(ren) reside(s) has a disability, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
disability and that the guardian is unable to care for the child(ren). Verification of
cooperation with Child Support Enforcement is required if the biological parents
are not deceased.

(5)  Parents enlisted in the United States Military and Deployed

When parents are enlisted in the United States Military and deployed, the eligibility should
remain the same until the parent can provide the Military Income. The parent should
provide the Military Income as soon as he or she has documentation. The responsible
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guardian’s income should not be counted but the responsible guardian must meet the 25
hours per week work requirement, unless they are 65 years of age or can provide proof that
they have retired from full-time employment.

(6) Pell Grants

Pell Grants should not be considered as income when determining eligibility. Pell Grant
funds and child care subsidy payments can be used simultaneously for child care services.
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102.04 RE-DETERMINATION

1)

()

(3)

Re-Determination of working parent’s eligibility is to be re-established during the CCPP
year in the months of February, March, April, and May. DECCD will send a letter to
parent(s) requesting check stubs or other verification of employment and request
verification of household/marital status. If the CCPP Application Packet is not returned
by the due date indicated, a second notice should be mailed certified return receipt
requested. If the mail has been returned undeliverable, the child care provider should be
notified. Failure to comply with Re-Determination procedures shall result in termination
of certificates.

Re-Determination of parent’s eligibility for those enrolled in an approved educational
program is determined every semester or quarter. Documentation for redetermination
will include proof of school enrollment (if not currently on file), proof of employment,
proof of household size and location, and proof of income. Failure to comply with
Re-Determination procedures shall result in termination of certificates.

When income is recalculated and there is a change in a co-payment fee, a notice is sent to
the parent and the provider. The updated co-payment fee is effective on the first day of the
month following the month of re-determination. If income increases beyond 85 percent of
the State Median Income, child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice. If the
parent is no longer working, child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice to the
child care provider. If the parent has been temporarily laid off or has lost a job for other
reasons, child care will not be terminated until 60 days after the last work day, giving the
parent time to be reinstated in their job or to search for a job, provided the parent notified
DECCD of loss of employment within 10 days of the event.

21



SECTION 103: CO-PAYMENT FEES

103.01 DETERMINING CO-PAYMENT FEES

1)

()

TANF parents are not assessed a co-payment fee. For all other parents, co-payment fees
are determined based upon the parent's family size and income according to the CCDF
Child Care Monthly Co-payment Fee Scale for Parents.

Co-payment fees are redetermined when there is a change in the parent's income or
household size, or during annual redetermination of eligibility. The updated co-payment
fee is effective on the first day of the month following the month of re-determination.

103.02 ASSESSING CO-PAYMENT FEES PER CHILD

1)

)

(3)

(4)

If a parent has one child receiving full-time child care services, the total co-payment fee
should be placed on that child's certificate. If a parent has one child receiving part-time
child care services, only half of the total co-payment fee should be placed on the child’s
certificate.

If one child is in full-day care and part-day care during the same month, the fee should be
assessed on the majority of the type of care provided. For example, if a child is served 16
part-time days and five full-time days, the part-time co-payment fee would be assessed for
the month.

If a parent has more than one child receiving full-time service, the total co-payment fee is
divided equally among the number of children receiving care. If two or more children are
receiving part-time services, one half of the divided fee should be placed on each
certificate. If a parent has children receiving before/after child care and holiday/summer
child care, a full co-payment fee and a half co-payment fee are placed on each certificate
and the appropriate fee is deducted during the payment cycle.

Exceptions:

A. If a parent has two children, one who is receiving full-year, full-time child care and
one being added for holiday/summer child care only, the co-payment fee for the
full-year, full-time care will remain the same. The parent is assessed an additional
$10.00 fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

B. If a parent has two or more children receiving full-year, full-time child care and one
child receiving holiday/summer care only, the total co-payment fee is divided
equally among the children attending full-time. The parent is not assessed a
co-payment fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

C. Parents assessed a minimum co-payment fee are:

i. Foster Children
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ii. Children in Protective/Preventive Service

ii. Special Needs Children - Special Needs status must be documented. If
there are other children in the family who are receiving child care services,
the fee will be $10 or the child's prorated share of the family’s co-payment
fee, whichever is less. Services for children with Special Needs will
continue until the child reaches 18 years of age.

103.03 NON-PAYMENT OF CO-PAYMENT FEES

Co-payment fees are to be paid during the current month directly to the provider according to
payment arrangements established by the provider and parent. Providers must maintain proof of
collection of co-payment fees, identified separately from tuition overage payments made by
parents. Providers must provide proof of co-payment fees to parents in the form of a receipt
including the parent’s name, date and amount of payment, center name, if applicable, and the child
care provider’s name and signature.  If a parent fails to pay the co-payment fee prior to the end of
the month, the provider is required to notify DECCD. Non-payment of co-payment fees may
result in termination of the parent from CCPP. If the parent requests a change in child care
provider with an outstanding balance of co-payment fees to the current provider, the parent must
pay all co-payment fees before a new certificate is issued. It is the responsibility of the provider
to report non-payment of co-payment fees to DECCD. The provider may not charge parents any
cost over the assigned co-payment fee unless the cost for child care to the general public is higher
than the amount paid by the certificate program.

103.04 CO-PAYMENT RECOUPMENT/REPAYMENT

1) If a parent's fee was assessed at a rate higher than the correct fee and the parent has made
payment to the provider, the parent is to be reimbursed by the provider for the difference
for each month paid. The correct fee is to be noted on the certificate and a notice of the
change forwarded to the provider and the parent.

2 If a parent's fee was assessed at a rate lower than the correct fee, the parent is responsible
for reimbursing the provider for the difference between the corrected co-payment amount
and the incorrect co-payment amount that was paid.

103.05 PRORATING CO-PAYMENT FEES

The assessed co-payment fee reflects a monthly rate regardless of attendance. If a child is
enrolled between the 1st and 15th of the month, the full monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the
first month of service. If the child is enrolled between the 16th and last day of the month, one-half
of the monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the first month of service. If a parent desires to
change a provider during the month, it is the parent’s responsibility to pay the appropriate
co-payment fee to any subsequent providers.
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SECTION 104: PAYMENTS TO PROVIDERS FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
104.01 SIGN-IN/OUT SHEETS

Providers are required to maintain a record of accurate attendance and absences on sign-in/out
sheets and on daily class rolls for each child in order to document attendance. The sign-in/out
sheets must show the child’s first and last name, the full name of the parent/guardian or parent’s
authorized representative, the time the child is signed in with the signature of the person signing
the child in, and the time the child is signed out with the signature of the person signing the child
out each day. If sign-in/out sheets are not maintained and made available upon request and/or for
Monitoring processes, or do not follow the policies described above, funds issued based on
missing/erroneous information shall be recouped by DECCD. Unlicensed providers are not
exempt from this policy.

104.02 PAYMENT LEDGER PROCESSES

Payment ledgers must be submitted electronically through the Child Care Payment System.
Ledgers open to providers on the 1* day of the month and remain open until 11:59 p.m. CST on the
10™ day of the month. Providers are required to complete their electronic ledger within this 10
day window. Ledgers submitted with complete and correct information will be processed for
payment. If ledgers require further documentation in order to process payment, the provider will
be contacted.

104.03 LEDGER PAYMENTS

If it is necessary to adjust the amount of funds issued based on the attendance information
submitted to DECCD or used to issue the certificate, an adjustment will be made in the Child
Care Payment System reflecting the change. If an overpayment has occurred, Funds will be
deducted from subsequent payments at a rate of 5% until the full amount has been recouped in full.

104.04 RATES AND CENTER POLICIES

1) Licensed providers must file a copy of the center's published rates with DECCD annually.
Providers are not allowed to charge a higher rate to families in the certificate program than
the rate charged to the general public.

2 A. If the child care center’s policy states that a program stipend will be provided to
non-certificate children, the provider must document the amount and the source of
funds for each child on a monthly basis. Parent co-payment fees cannot be used as
children’s stipends. This documentation must be in hard copy such as check stubs
receipts, etc., that will show Mississippi Department of Human Services auditors a
clear paper trail of cash infusion from non-tuition sources and
non-child-care-certificate monies sufficient to cover the full amount of tuition
without any stipends.

B. DECCD will not monitor any fiscal or children’s files without the director or an
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approved supervisor staff person in attendance. Only necessary documentation
should be requested from the parent and provider.

C. Parents (including TANF workers) employed at a licensed center or group home
may be eligible for a child care certificate providing that they do not care for their
own child(ren). Nor can the child(ren) be included in a group assigned to the
biological parent to maintain the adult/child ratio required by the Mississippi State
Department of Health, Division of Child Care Licensure.

D. Rates of reimbursement are assigned on a certificate based on the provider type
(licensed or unlicensed), age of child, and Tier level. A full-time rate may be
charged for non-traditional child care. Non-traditional child care is appropriate
when a parent requires full-time child care in lieu of before-and-after school care.

E. School-aged children and children who attend other programs such as Head Start
will be reimbursed at the part-time rate for absences during vacation and holidays
except during times when it is documented that the child(ren) attended the licensed
child care center for the full-day because the school was not open or for
out-of-school suspension during the school year. Full time reimbursement will be
issued for full time care provided by licensed centers when the primary school
setting is closed or for out-of-school suspension.

F. Providers will be reimbursed at a part time rate for any day in which a school age
child or child with a full-time/part-time certificate is present for a full day of care
while their primary school setting is open.

G. Summer child care for school-aged children will be reimbursed at the full-time
rate for absentees, vacation, and holidays.

H. If at any time during a CCPP year, a provider changes Tier reimbursement status,
changes will be adjusted in the system to allow for future reimbursement at the
appropriate rate.

I If it becomes necessary for the Tier 1-eligible director to be absent
for leave, DECCD must be notified within 10 days. DECCD will
determine on a case-by-case basis if Tier 1 reimbursement will
continue during leave.

l. Full-time certificate payments for school-age children may not be issued to students
enrolled in grades one through twelve unless full-time care is needed during
non-traditional hours and/or the primary school setting is closed.

J. Full-time certificate payments may be issued for 3 and 4 year olds enrolled in
public or private pre-kindergarten programs where tuition is assessed. Certificates
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will expire on a child’s 5th birthday. Families who continue to meet eligibility
criteria may apply to continue services until the child is 12 years of age, or 18 years
of age if a special needs child. Additionally, 5 year old children whose parent(s)
elect not to enroll their child(ren) in a public kindergarten program may receive
full-time certificate funds until they reach the age of 6(six), which is the
compulsory age for school attendance in the state of Mississippi.

104.04 OVER-PAYMENTS AND UNDER-PAYMENTS

1)

If a provider discovers an error in the payment issued, the provider is required to notify the
DECCD to request an adjustment within 30 days of the issuance of the payment.
Questioned payments or incorrect payments will be adjusted during the next regularly
scheduled payment cycle.

104.05 ABSENTEES AND NOTICE

1)

()

(3)

(4)

If a child is absent for more than two weeks for medical reasons, the parent is required to
submit a doctor’s statement. Extenuating circumstances will be handled on a case-by-case
basis.

In the case of court-ordered visitation, DECCD must be notified and a copy of the visitation
order of the court must be kept on file by the provider. Any days a child is absent due to
court-ordered visitation will not count towards a child’s paid absence day. Parents are
responsible for paying their determined co-payment amount in full even if the child does
not attend due to court ordered visitation.

The Child Care Payment Program will provide a two-week notice for the termination of all
certificates issued to licensed providers, except in the instance of substantiated provider
fraud.

A child care center must remain open on days when children are taken on field trips or any

other day outside of the approved holiday list provided by DECCD for any children who
cannot attend the field trips or still need child care during holidays, etc.
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SECTION 105: INTERRUPTION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES
105.01 ALLOWABLE LEAVE TIME FOR PARENTS

1)

)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(")

(8)

Parents who lose or change jobs are allowed a 60 day grace period from the last date of
employment before child care services are terminated in order to give the parent time to be
reinstated in their job, providing that a Change of Information form is submitted ro
DECCD within 10 working days of the change in employment. During this 60 day period,
the parent is required to submit new eligibility documentation and be redetermined eligible
for services. Failure to submit acceptable eligibility documentation shall result in the
termination of services.

Temporary Job Closings - Workers temporarily unemployed due to the nature of their
work may include but are not limited to workers employed in construction, factories, or
poultry and catfish processing plants. Extensions beyond the approved 60 days must gain
approval from DECCD on a case-by-case basis.

Natural Disaster - Child care services should be continued when parents are off work due to
circumstances beyond the parent’s control such as hurricanes, floods, and tornado.
Licensed child care providers shall be reimbursed when the center is closed temporarily
due to a natural disaster for up to 10 business days per occurrence unless the parent needs
to make alternate care arrangements. Unlicensed centers shall be reimbursed for actual
attendance only.

A pregnant mother is allowed six weeks of child care assistance during maternity leave.
Documentation from a physician of the maternity leave must be included in the parent's
file. If more leave time is required due to medical reasons, a physician’s statement must
be submitted to DECCD. The parent must provide new eligibility documentation once
she returns to work. Failure to submit acceptable eligibility documentation shall result in
the termination of services.

Fathers are allowed six weeks of child care assistance related to the birth of a child, if the
employer/educational institution approves the leave time. Documentation in the form of a
letter on the employer/educational letterhead allowing the leave of absence for this reason
must be submitted to DECCD.

Parent(s) are allowed six weeks of child care assistance in cases of adoption of a new child
or when a Foster Child is placed in the home, if the employer/educational institution
approves the leave time.

Parent(s) are allowed up to thirty days of sick leave from their job if documented by their
employer and physician. Extenuating circumstances in which additional time is required
will be handled on a case-by-case basis.

A child is allowed 15 e absence days per federal fiscal year (beginning October 1 -
September 30). Absences related to court-ordered visitations, chronic illness, and
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(9)

(10.)

medical treatment for children with special needs are not counted as vacation days.

DECCD will pay for up to 11 holidays for the period beginning October 1 through
September 30. If the Governor allows days in addition to the list below in observance of a
holiday, providers will be notified that they are also allowed these extra days. If the
identified holiday falls on a weekend, the DECCD Director will designate weekdays to
observe the holiday at their discretion.

Approved paid holidays for licensed providers

January 1 New Year’'s Day

The Third Monday of January Robert E. Lee’s Birthday and Dr. Martin
Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday

Spring (date varies annually) Good Friday

The Last Monday of May National Memorial Day and
Jefferson Davis’ Birthday

July 4 Independence Day

The First Monday of September Labor Day

November Thanksgiving Day & the Friday after

December 24 Christmas Eve

December 25 Christmas Day

December 31 New Year’s Eve

105.02 REASONS FOR TERMINATION

1)

)

TANF, TCC, Foster Children and Children in Preventive/Protective Services, and
participants of Health Homes Mississippi are referred for services by a MDHS Case
Manager/HHM Family Support Worker. Services shall be terminated upon notification
by the Case Manager for TANF clients and Children in Foster, Preventive/Protective
Services. Clients receiving TCC and participating in Healthy Homes Mississippi shall be
terminated upon notice from a MDHS Division of Economic Assistance caseworker, HHM
Family Support Worker, or when found to be out of compliance with requirements of the
MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement, when applicable.

Non-payment of co-payment fees may result in termination from the Child Care Payment
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Program for a one-year period.

(3) A child care certificate may be terminated upon the request of the parent, or by DECCD in
accordance with CCPP policy.

(4)  Child care services will be terminated when a child grows older than the age requirements.

(5) If at any time a parent provides fraudulent information, child care services are immediately
terminated and the client is ineligible to reapply for a one-year period. DECCD may elect
to permanently disbar parents from participation in CCPP in accordance with Section
106.01(1) of this document.

105.03 CHANGE IN PROVIDER

1) Parents are allowed to change providers when the current provider is no longer preferred.
Parents must request a change in provider from DECCD prior to withdrawing the child,
unless under emergency circumstances. The parent(s) shall give at least two weeks prior
notice to the current provider before withdrawing the child from the center unless there are
extenuating circumstances. While parents have the right to exercise parental choice in
selecting a child care provider, certificates will not be issued to a provider until they have
met all requirements to become a CCPP approved provider. Parents must select a CCPP
approved provider. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is
seeking to become an approved provider.
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Section 106 DISPUTES

106.01 PARENTAL AND PROVIDER DISPUTES

1)

Any unresolved dispute concerning a question of fact under the Application/Agreement
between DECCD and Parent or Provider shall be decided by the Director of the Division of
Early Childhood Care and Development. In the review by the DECCD Director the
Parent or Provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in
support of the questioned decision under review. This decision shall be reduced to writing
and a copy thereof mailed or furnished to the Parent or Provider and shall be final and
conclusive, unless, within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision, the Parent or
Provider mails or delivers to the Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of
Human Services a written request for review. Pending final decision of the Executive
Director or his/her designee, DECCD will proceed in accordance with the decision of the
Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development. In addition, listed
below are the procedures to be used when an Administrative Hearing for a Child Care
Dispute is desired:

A A Parent or Provider may not request a hearing on behalf of another individual or to
discuss decisions regarding another person.

B. If an Administrative Hearing is desired, a written request for the Hearing must be
submitted to the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and
Development. If requested, an Administrative Hearing will be held with the
Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development serving as the
Hearing Officer.

C. The Hearing Officer will be a neutral observer who will conduct the Hearing. The
Hearing Officer will listen to both sides and then make a decision based upon the
evidence that is provided.

D. This is an informal proceeding that gives both parties their due process rights and a
forum to provide evidence. This is not an adverse process. Questions are to be
asked only for clarification. If a party has legal representation, the attorney is
there only to give legal advice to his/her client and not for direct or cross
examination.
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SECTION 107: FRAUD AND ABUSE

This section outlines the policies and procedures for handling alleged and/or substantiated fraud
and exploitation in the Child Care Payment Program by a parent and/or provider.

107.01 POLICY STATEMENT

Any person applying for or receiving public assistance by using false statements, and any person
assisting that person to receive such public assistance with knowledge of those false statements, is
subject to criminal prosecution. The offense may be a misdemeanor when the amount received or
requested is below $500 or a felony if the amount received or requested is above $500. If a child
care center knowingly provides false information, a financial penalty will be imposed. Whether
or not a criminal conviction results, at the first offense, recoupment will be made and the center
may be disqualified from participating in the Child Care Payment Program, contingent upon
whether the deception is intentional or unintentional.

107.02 SUSPECTED FRAUD OR ABUSE OF FUNDS

(1) DECCD staff will not attempt to resolve any suspicion of parent and/or provider fraud or
misuse of funds. DECCD staff will collect any documentation to support an investigation
of suspected fraud or misuse of funds. This documentation shall be referred directly to the
Director of the MDHS Division of Early Childhood Care and Development for referral to
the MDHS, Division of Program Integrity (DPI) for investigation. DECCD staff will not
alert the parent and /or provider of any suspicion of fraud or misuse of funds while an
investigation is pending. Funding may continue during the investigation.

2 in the event that fraud is substantiated in a licensed child care facility, DECCD will assist
the parent(s) with locating an alternative child care facility or home without an interruption
in child care services unless the parent(s) chooses to keep their child(ren) at the center and
forfeit the CCPP funding. In this situation, a notarized statement of fact from the parent(s)
must be retained by DECCD. If it is determined that fraud was committed by a parent, the
provider will be allowed two weeks’ notice of termination.

107.03 RECOUPMENT OF FUNDS

Q) The MDHS, Division of Program Integrity (DPI) shall employ the required steps to recoup
or attempt to recoup funds paid for ineligible services because of suspected parent or
provider fraud or misuse of funds when unable to resolve otherwise. The steps include,
but are not limited to:

A. A letter outlining the DECCD policy violated, the total amount of funds to be
repaid, the legal action to be pursued if the parent or facility owner fails to
cooperate, and a response time frame of 15 calendar days; the letter and the report
shall be sent to the alleged offender by certified mail; a copy shall be retained by
DPI and the Director of DECCD;

B. After the DPI completes an investigation of alleged fraud and/or misuse of funds, if
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applicable, criminal charges shall be filed with the appropriate local law
enforcement agency, when fraud is substantiated.

C. When fraud is substantiated and criminal charges are filed with the local law
enforcement agency, funds shall be recovered through restitution ordered by the
court. Checks issued by the court for restitution shall be made payable to
Treasurer, State of Mississippi and mailed directly to the MDHS, DPI.

D. The MDHS, DPI staff shall track receipt of checks issued for payment of restitution
on a case-by-case basis until all funds have been recovered.

107.04 FINAL DISPOSITION FOR ACTION

A copy of any final judgment issued by the Court shall be forwarded directly to the MDHS, DPI
and a copy of the final judgment will be provided to DECCD by the MDHS, DPI.
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SECTION 108: MONITORING

108.01 MONITORING PROCEDURE

1)

(2)

DECCD will monitor a selection of licensed and unlicensed providers participating in the
certificate program at least once annually. DECCD will select centers whose records
indicate a need for technical assistance, for example, perfect attendance submitted for each
child each month. According to MDHS Subgrantee Manual, DECCD staff may conduct
monitoring visits un-announced.

Monitoring visits will include a review of the following records:

A.

Licensed and unlicensed providers must maintain a daily attendance roster (sign
in/out sheets) for each child in accordance with Section 104.01(1) of this document.

The attendance recorded on the center's attendance roster will be compared to the
attendance reported to DECCD. All documentation related to child attendance will
be reviewed.

The center's published rates charged to the general public will be compared to the
rates requested and received on each certificate.

Verify the payment of co-payment fees. Both licensed and unlicensed providers are
required to maintain receipts for payment of monthly co-payment fees.

A copy of the center's license, if applicable, will be requested if a current copy is
not on file with DECCD.

Records will be reviewed to verify that the center has retained a copy of the
Center’s Statement of Agreement.

The center will be monitored to make sure that the hours of operation meet the
needs of the full-time working parents plus travel time. The center must be open at
least five (5) days per week.

The attendance will be checked to ensure that the provider is not receiving more
(CCDF and TANF) certificates than its’ licensed or allowed capacity at any given
time (for example, non-traditional shifts, and before and after school). If it is
determined during the monitoring visit that the attendance exceeds the provider’s
licensed or allowed capacity, then the situation will be reported to the Mississippi
State Department of Health, Child Care Licensure and DECCD. Attendance in
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(3)

excess of licensed or allowed capacity is considered fraudulent and shall result in a
recoupment of funds issued for certificates in excess of licensed or allowed
capacity.

l. Unlicensed providers must provide copies of immunization records (Form 121
Certificate of Immunization issued by the Mississippi Department of Health) for
providers and all children enrolled in care.

J. Per the Center Statement of Agreement, all child care providers are notified that
monitoring may be announced or unannounced. Refusal to cooperate in the
monitoring process shall result in a financial penalty.

A. If a center is not accurately recording attendance or is charging different rates, the
center will receive a letter concerning the finding(s). Any overpayments that
occurred because of these two situations shall be recouped by DECCD.

B. A center with findings may be monitored again, by either announced or
unannounced visits. If the center is still in non-compliance under the original
finding(s), a copy of all correspondence regarding the matter shall be forwarded to
DECCD and processes for Suspension or Debarment described in this document
will be engaged.

108.02 SUSPENSION AND DEBARMENT

1)

()

If a parent commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, a parent may not apply for
or receive CCPP funding until the date indicated on the Notice of Suspension.

If a provider commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, or upon debarment, a
provider may not hold any administrative position in a facility or home in which CCPP
subsidies are received. This includes any position responsible for the recording or
tracking of enrollment and attendance as well as the completing and reporting of
family/child status and/or enrollment and attendance to CCPP.
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Section 109 PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT LEVELS

(1)  The purpose of this section is to describe the Reimbursement Tier (rate of reimbursement)
for child care providers participating in the Child Care Certificate Program. Directors of
multiple centers may qualify for the Tier 1 rate at only one center.

A. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 1:

To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 1, providers must have a current license issued by
the Child Care Facilities Licensure Branch, Mississippi Department of Health.
Additionally, they must:

Operate a full-day, full-year educational program; OR

Operate an educational program providing care in response to local educational
facilities such as a center that only offers before and after school care five days a week,
and is open full-time during summer months and holidays; or a center that provides
full time care only when colleges/universities/public schools are in session:

AND:

Document center accreditation from the National Association for the Education of
Young Children (NAEYC); or*

Document the on-site child care director is on site six to eight hours a day and holds a
4-year degree in the field of Early Childhood Education or Elementary Education that
includes kindergarten, and Family and Consumer Sciences with an emphasis on Child
Development; or*

Document that the center has a director on site six to eight hours per day and holds a
two-year associate degree from an accredited community or junior college in child
development technology plus four (4) years of paid experience in child care; or the
center has a director that holds the DECCD Director’s Credentials plus four (4) years
of paid experience in child care.*

B. To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 1, family home providers must:
Operate a full-day, full-year educational program; OR
Operate an educational program providing care in response to local educational
facilities such as a home that only offers before and after school care five days a week,

and is open full-time during summer months and holidays; or a home that offers
full-time care in the summer months only;
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AND:

Document the on-site child care director holds a 2 or 4-year degree or CDA in the field
of Early Childhood Development.*

C. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 2:

To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 2, the child care center or group child care home
must:

Document that it has a current license, or letter of exemption, issued by the Child Care
Facilities Licensure Branch, Mississippi State Department of Health.

D. To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 2, the family child care provider must:

Document that it is regulated by the Bureau of Child Nutrition, Mississippi State
Department of Education.

E. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 3:
To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 3, all other child care providers must be approved
by DECCD and return the Basic Health, Safety, and Nutrition Guidelines certifying
that guidelines will be followed.

F. See Appendix N for rates.

*Prior to October 1, 2003, all current Tier 1 providers may fall under the grandfather clause.

Effective: October 1, 2009
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GLOSSARY OF TERMS

This chapter contains the definition of key words or phrases and clarifies the terms as they relate to
this manual.

ADULT - A person who has reached the age of majority (at least 18 years of age).

ATTENDING (EDUCATIONAL/JOB TRAINING) -Full time enrollment in an education
and/or training program resulting in a degree or certificate designed to promote job skills and
employability. Full time is determined by the institution.

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE - An individual who has the legal right to speak or act on
the parent’s behalf. Written authorization must come to the child care center or DECCD directly
from the parent and be maintained in the appropriate file.

BEFORE-AND AFTER-SCHOOL CARE - Child care services for school-aged children (ages
5-12) during the hours before and after the regular school day. Under CCDF child care may be
provided for children under the age of 13 and for those children under the age of 18 who meet the
SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that caused
marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

CARE GIVER - An individual at least eighteen (18) years of age with a high school diploma or
equivalent (GED) who provides direct child care, supervision, and guidance to an eligible child.

MONTHLY CHILD CARE CO-PAYMENT FEES FOR PARENTS - A system of
cost-sharing based upon income and size of the family for families who participate in the Child
Care and Development Fund Program. Parents are required to pay a monthly co-payment fee to
their child care provider of choice as a condition of program participation, with the exception of
clients receiving TANF.

CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND (CCDF) - A federally-funded program
designed to provide quality child care services to eligible very low-income families who are
actively participating in an allowable TANF activity, transitioning off TANF, at-risk of going on
TANF and are in need of child care in order to work OR are low-income families, employed or
enrolled in an approved educational or training program.

CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A document issued by DECCD directly to a parent(s) who has

been determined eligible for CCDF, who may use it as payment for child care services. A child
care certificate is assistance to the parent, not assistance to the provider.
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CHILD CARE FACILITIES:

CENTER-BASED - A non-residential facility in which shelter and personal care is
regularly provided for six or more children who are not related within the third degree
computed according to the civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and
receive care for any part of a 24-hour day. No parent or guardian may provide care for
their own child in this setting.

For all Child Care Centers, as defined above, related children of all staff must be included
in the licensed number. These centers are considered commercial establishments and
must meet all requirements of the Regulation Governing Food Service Sanitation.
Additionally, these licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the
Mississippi State Department of Health’s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care
Facilities.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal
care is regularly provided for five or fewer children who are not related within the third
degree computed according to the civil law to the provider and who are less than 13 years
of age and are provided care for any part of the 24-hour day. These homes may
voluntarily register with the Mississippi State Department of Health and must be registered
with the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development, Mississippi Department of
Human Services. The provider must be at least 18 years old and cannot be a biological
parent of the child receiving assistance. No parent or guardian may provide care for their
own child in this setting.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal
care are regularly provided for six to 15 children who are not related within the third degree
computed according to civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and
receive care for any part of the 24-hour day. Children related within the third degree are
included in determining space and staff, but are not included in the licensed number. No
parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this setting.

CHILD CARE PROVIDERS:

CENTER-BASED CHILD CARE PROVIDER - A provider licensed or otherwise
authorized to provide child care services for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a
non-residential setting, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents’
work, education, or training. No parent or guardian may provide care for their own child
in this setting.

FAMILY CHILD CARE PROVIDER - One individual who provides child care services
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for fewer than 24-hours per day per child, as the sole CARE GIVER, in their private
residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents’ work,
education, or training. No parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this
setting.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - Two or more individuals who provide
child care services for six to 15 children for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a
private residence other than the child’s residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to
the nature of the parents’ work, education, or training. These providers are licensed. No
parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this setting.

IN-HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - An individual who provides child care services
in the child’s own home but maintains a separate residence. No parent or guardian may
provide care for their own child in this setting.

CHILD CARE SERVICES - Care provided for a fee by a child care provider to an eligible child
or children in the parent or guardian’s absence.

CHILD CARE WEEK - The period of time that child care is provided per week. The child care
week may cover up to seven days. This is allowable as long as the DECCD Weekly Child Care
Reimbursement Tier rate is not exceeded, and the child does not receive care in excess of 84 hours
during a Sunday through Saturday week.

CREDENTIALED DIRECTOR - A professional credential awarded to child care center
directors operating licensed child care programs in Mississippi and those who aspire to be
directors for the successful completion of a curriculum in Child Care Management Best Practice.

DEGREES OF KINDRED ACCORDING TO THE LAW:

FIRST Parents and Children
SECOND Siblings (brothers and sisters), Grandparents, and Grandchildren
THIRD Uncles, Aunts, Nieces, Nephews, Great-Grandparents, and Great-Grandchildren

DISABLED PARENT - See SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT.

EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM - A preschool program (ages birth to
kindergarten) that provides child care services to low-income working parents and parents
enrolled in an educational or training program.

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM/JOB TRAINING -A program offering educational/job training
content. Programs must be accredited by the State of Mississippi or a national organization.

ELIGIBLE CHILD - A child whose parent(s) meets the eligibility requirements as set forth by
the grant.
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EXTENDED DAY CHILD CARE - Before-and after-school care for Early Head Start and Head
Start children (ages birth up to age 5) and school-age children (ages 5-12) who need such care
due to the work schedule of their parent(s).

FAMILY - A unit where a child(ren) resides with a parent(s) who is related by blood, marriage,
adoption, or legal guardianship.

FAMILY OF ONE - A child receiving child care services based upon his/her income received
from SSI, foster board payment, etc.

FULL-DAY CHILD CARE - Child care provided for six or more hours of a 24-hour day.
Full-day child care should meet the needs and reflect the work, education, or TANF training
schedule of the parent with a maximum of 30 minutes of travel time each way.

GROSS INCOME - The parent’s income before any deductions.
HALF-DAY - Child care provided for fewer than six hours per day.

INCOME- funds received by all applicable individuals as described in policy which are not
supplemented by any public assistance other than food stamps or medical assistance, and does not
exceed 85 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

INCOME MAINTENANCE (IM) - Income from TANF or Supplemental Security Income and
other public assistance.

INFANTS - Children from birth through 12 months.

IN LOCO PARENTIS - in place of parent, for example, a guardian or a relative or friend with
whom the child resides if the child’s parent is unable to act as the parent or has delegated his or her
authority to someone else. The term describes someone who provides care and supervision like a
parent but without going through the formalities of legal adoption or guardianship.

LICENSING OR REGULATORY REQUIREMENTS - Requirements necessary for a
provider to legally provide child care services in a state or locality, including regulations and
requirements established under State Local or Tribal law. The “Mississippi Child Care Licensing
Law,” Section 43-20-1, et seq., of the Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated, which provides the
legal authority under which the Mississippi State Department of Health prescribes minimum
regulations for child care facilities defined under the law.

LOW-INCOME - Income above the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI) or at or below
the 85 percent of the SMI.

MINIMUM FEE - An assessment of $10 per month for full-day child care services and $5.00 per
month for half-day before-and after-school/extended day, etc. child care services.
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MDHS TANF CASEWORKER - An employee of the Mississippi Department of Human
Services, Division of Economic Assistance, that provides case management services, supportive
services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the local/county level
supportive services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the
local/county level.

NON-TRADITIONAL CARE - Includes night care and supervision of children for less than 24
hours per day that occurs within the twelve hours between 6:00 p.m. and 5:59 a.m., or weekend
care and supervision of children that takes place between 6:00 p.m. Friday and 5:59 a.m. Monday.

PARENT - A mother or father by blood, marriage, or adoption, a legal guardian, or other person
standing in loco parentis.

PRESCHOOL AGED CHILD - Children from three years of age through kindergarten.

PROTECTIVE SERVICES- Children that are court ordered to receive Protective Services from
MDHS, Division of Family & Children’s Services. These children are living in the home of a
parent or relative/kinship caretaker.

PROVIDER - The entity providing child care services as defined in this document.

REIMBURSEMENT TIERS - The established rates for child care services based upon the age of
the child, type of child care provider, hours of child care, and DECCD approved tier criteria.

RESIDING/LIVING WITH - Living with, including taking meals and sleeping in the same
house for a majority of a seven day period beginning with Sunday and ending with Saturday.

SEASONAL WORKERS - Individuals who are temporarily unemployed due to the nature of
their work.

SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT - A parent who meet s the SSI definition of disability
by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that cause marked and severe
functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration and render the parent
incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented by a physician. In the absence of
SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree of functional limitation(s) and
prescribe the special care needed. If the parent is unable to manage their personal affairs, the
application should be made in the parent/guardian or responsible adult’s name. If the disabled
parent receives SSI, the income maintenance fee of $10.00 should be applied to the child(ren).
Short Term disability medically documented will be handled on a case-by-case basis with approval
by DECCD.

SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD RATE - Special Needs rates may be applied for children through the
age of 18 who meet the SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental
condition(s) that cause marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months
in duration and render the child(ren) incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented
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by a physician. In the absence of SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree
of functional limitation(s) and prescribe the special care needed.

STATE MEDIAN INCOME (SMI) - The average income of all Mississippi workers.

SUMMER CARE - Child care for children during the summer months, when primary school
settings are not in session.

SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) - A monthly payment to a person for having a
medically proven physical/mental or physical condition that causes marked and severe functional
limitations that are expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) — Benefits offered through the block grant
that replaced the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and Job Opportunities and
Basic Skills Program (JOBS). Benefits are time-limited, mandating that families move quickly
into work activities leading to self-sufficiency.

TERMINATED CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A certificate that has been used as payment
for child care services for a period of time and is no longer valid. Reasons that certificates would
be terminated include, but are not limited to, the following: the provision of false information used
to issue/maintain a certificate, change in a provider, or a lack of a request for reimbursement on a
Child Care Certificate 60 days after the certificate has been issued.

TODDLERS - Children the age of 13 months and less than 36 months.

TRANSITIONAL CHILD CARE (TCC) - Up to 24 months of subsidized child care for eligible
parents, issued by the MDHS Division of Economic Assistance.

VERY LOW INCOME - Income at or below the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME (WRI) - Income that is irrelevant; therefore, it is not to be
considered. The only children who are to be considered WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME are
in court-ordered Protective Services Cases and Preventive Services. The only documentation
necessary to determine eligibility is the referral form from the Division of Family and Children’s
services and proof of the parent’s work or exemption.

WORKING - Performing duties to earn a wage (for a minimum of 25 hours per week) or

complete educational/job training such as practicums or internships (enrollment for
education/training must be full time).
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CHAPTER 2

SECTION 101: CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

101.01 ELIGIBILITY FOR THE CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

The child care certificate is a document issued directly to eligible parent(s) or authorized
representatives, provided that funds are available. The certificate allows the parent to select the
child care provider of his/her choice.

101.02 ELIGIBILITY PRIORITY POPULATIONS

If funds are available, children must be served on a first-come, first-served basis in order of
eligibility priority. Applications must be date-stamped as they are received. CCDF child care
services will be available to children of parents according to the following priorities:

1% Child Care for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)

2" Child Care for Transitional Child Care (TCC)

3" Children of very low-income working parent(s) whose income is at or below 50
percent of the State Median Income (SMI) who are at risk of going on TANF, in the
following order:

A

B.

Children in Protective Services or Foster Care;
Children with Special Needs (up to 85% of the SMI);

Children of parent(s) deployed in the Mississippi National Guard, or Reserve
(up to 85% of the SMI);

Children of Teen Parent(s) currently enrolled in high school full-time;

Children served by the Healthy Homes Mississippi home visitation
program;

Children of all other eligible parent(s) at this income level, including parents
enrolled in an approved educational program, whether working or not.
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4t Based upon the availability of funding, children of parent(s) working the required
25 hours per week and/or are enrolled in an approved educational program whose
income falls above 50 percent of the SMI and at or below 85 percent of the SMI.

SECTION 102: CRITERIA FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
102.01 ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS

(1) Parents have the right to choose the type of child care they would like for their child. The
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development has categorized the choices available to
parents as follows: a licensed child care center, group home, family child care home, or
in-home child care provider. Parents must select a CCPP approved provider. No
payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to become an
approved provider. See Glossary of Terms for definitions of each.

2 I. Child Care Centers and Group Homes
In order to receive reimbursement for services rendered, a child care center or
group home must be licensed by the Mississippi State Department of Health. A
copy of the license must be filed with DECCD annually upon renewal. The child
care center or the group home must have a current license. Additionally, these
licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the Mississippi State
Department of Health’s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Facilities.

ii. If a center's license expires and services are being provided for children on the
CCPP, DECCD may continue to pay the provider under the following conditions:

A. The Health Department has not officially closed the center;

B. The center's director submits a written request, on center letterhead, for
child care payments to continue; and
C. The center provides copies of the licensing renewal fee payment,

documentation of a current inspection, and a copy of correspondence from
the licensing division stating why the license has not been renewed; and

D. A center with an expired license will be reimbursed for children with a
current certificate up to the time frame allowed by the Mississippi State
Department of Health; however, no new certificates will be issued until the
license is renewed.

E. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to
become an approved provider.

The decision to continue payments under these circumstances is solely at the
discretion of the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care & Development.
All requests for payments under these conditions shall be submitted in the form of a
written request to the Director describing the basis for the request to waive Provider
Termination.

(€)) I. Family Day Care Homes and In-Home Providers

44



In order to receive reimbursement, all unlicensed providers must keep a record of
immunizations for themselves and all children in their care in the form of a Form
121 Certificate of Immunization issued by the Department of Health, and a copy of
the Basic Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances. A signed copy of the Basic
Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances certifying that they will follow the
guidelines should also be filed with DECCD. Individual, unlicensed providers
must be at least eighteen (18) years of age and are prohibited by law from keeping
more than five (5) children who are not related to the provider within the third
degree computed according to civil law. A child care provider may not be
reimbursed if they reside in the same household as the child(ren). Proof of
separate residence may be required. Proof of residence will be established with a
current driver’s license or state issued 1.D. and another form of identification that
reflects the same address. A current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or
cable bill are acceptable. Addresses must match the address given as the location of
care submitted on the application.

ii. In order for an unlicensed in-home provider to become/remain a CCPP approved
provider, all individuals over the age of 18 years (relative or non-relative) residing
and/or working full/part time in the provider’s residence shall submit all required
information to undergo the Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry Check.
This information is submitted on the Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry
Check Form 107 with the initial provider application, and annually once approved.
Providers will be deemed ineligible to participate in the certificate program in the
event that they have prior convictions of child abuse and/or neglect. If an
individual residing and/or working with the provider in the provider’s home is
found to have a prior conviction of child abuse and/or neglect, eligibility will be
suspended/denied until such time as the provider can provide proof that the
offending individual no longer resides in the home. Failure on the part of the
provider to accurately complete Form 107 may result in suspension/debarment
from participation in the CCPP. Additionally, funds shall be recouped.

iii. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking CCPP

Approved Provider status. Approval is attained by successful completion of the
Child Care Provider Application located at www.childcareinfo.ms.

102.02 PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT LEVELS

(1)  The purpose of this section is to describe the Reimbursement Tier (rate of reimbursement)
for child care providers participating in the Child Care Certificate Program. Directors of
multiple centers may qualify for the Tier 1 rate at only one center.

A. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 1;
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To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 1, providers must have a current license issued by
the Child Care Facilities Licensure Branch, Mississippi Department of Health.
Additionally, they must:

Operate a full-day, full-year educational program;
OR

Operate an educational program providing care in response to local educational
facilities such as a center that only offers before and after school care five days a week,
and is open full-time during summer months and holidays; or a center that provides
full time care only when colleges/universities/public schools are in session:

AND:

Document center accreditation from the National Association for the Education of
Young Children (NAEYC);

OR*

Document the on-site child care director is on site six to eight hours a day and holds a
4-year degree in the field of Early Childhood Education or Elementary Education that
includes kindergarten, and Family and Consumer Sciences with an emphasis on Child
Development;

OR*

Document that the center has a director on site six to eight hours per day and holds a
two-year associate degree from an accredited community or junior college in child
development technology plus four (4) years of paid experience in child care; or the
center has a director that holds the DECCD Director’s Credentials plus four (4) years
of paid experience in child care.*

To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 1, family home providers must:
Operate a full-day, full-year educational program;
OR
Operate an educational program providing care in response to local educational
facilities such as a home that only offers before and after school care five days a week,

and is open full-time during summer months and holidays; or a home that offers
full-time care in the summer months only;
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AND:

Document the on-site child care director holds a 2 or 4-year degree or CDA in the field
of Early Childhood Development.*

C. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 2:

To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 2, the child care center or group child care home
must:

Document that it has a current license, or letter of exemption, issued by the Child Care
Facilities Licensure Branch, Mississippi State Department of Health.

D. To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 2, the family child care provider must:

Document that it is regulated by the Bureau of Child Nutrition, Mississippi State
Department of Education.

E. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 3:
To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 3, all other child care providers must be approved
by DECCD and return the Basic Health, Safety, and Nutrition Guidelines certifying
that guidelines will be followed.

F. See Appendix N for rates.

*Prior to October 1, 2003, all current Tier 1 providers may fall under the grandfather clause.

Effective: October 1, 2009
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102.03 APPLICATION PROCEDURES

1)

2)
(3)

(4)

DECCD will accept applications throughout the year. Referrals for TANF, Family &
Children’s Service, or Healthy Homes Mississippi clients are accepted throughout the year
from Case Managers. All families eligible to receive services will be added to the CCPP,
as funding allows. Families will be served by date of application and eligibility priority
level.

Applications can be completed and submitted on DECCD’s website.

After completing the application, parents/guardians can return all required documentation
by postal or electronic mail. Once all required documentation is received, DECCD will
review the information to determine eligibility and send a written notice of eligibility, or
ineligibility, or non-availability of funds within 10 business days, unless a Waiting List is
in effect. Refer to Section 102.03 for policies and procedures when a Waiting List for
services exists. If the parent falls within an eligibility priority group for which funds are
available, a certificate will be issued and mailed to the parent, who has up to ten business
days to return the signed certificate to DECCD. Once the 10 day window has expired, the
certificate will be considered abandoned and voided.

Parents must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care
provided while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider. A list of CCPP
Approved Providers is available at www.childcareinfo.ms.

102.04 WAITING LIST

(1)

)

©)

DECCD will accept applications for services throughout the year. All families eligible to
receive services will be added to the CCPP, as funding allows, and notified by September
1%, Families will be served according to the date of application and eligibility priority
level. All other applications will be placed on a waiting list, in order of date received, by
eligibility priority until May 31*. Any families on the waiting list not served prior to May
31° must reapply annually in the months of June, July, and August.

When a Waiting List for the CCPP exists, applications for services will be date stamped
and categorized by priority level. Applicants will receive written notice that they are on
the Waiting List once the application is processed for eligibility. Applicants can refer to
www.childcareinfo.ms to determine if a Waiting List for CCPP exists. Applicants who
request applications by phone will be informed of the Waiting List by CCPP staff.

If/When funds become available during the program year; certificates shall be issued by
eligibility priority. All existing Priority 3A parents should be served first; second, those
who were enrolled in an educational/training program the semester prior to the beginning
of the waiting list; third, those on waiting list by order of application date; fourth, existing
Priority 3B parents; fifth, those who were enrolled in an educational/training program in
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the semester prior to the beginning of the waiting list; sixth, add waiting list parents by date
of application and so on.

102.05 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION FOR SERVICES

1) Eligibility Guidelines by Priority Group

A.

TANF Parent(s) - TANF clients are not required to complete an application form.
Eligibility for CCPP for TANF parent(s) is determined by the MDHS, Division of
Economic Assistance Case Manager for full or part time care. TANF clients will
receive a certificate based on the referral and termination dates entered by the
TANF Case Manager. The TANF parent is required to participate in an allowable
TANF program activity. Each participant must comply with all the requirements
of the TANF program.

TCC Parent(s) — Clients referred for Transitional Child Care are not required to
complete an application form. Eligibility for TCC should be determined by the
MDHS, Division of Economic Assistance Case Manager. TCC clients will receive
a certificate based on the referral and termination dates entered by the Case
Manager. Terminations to clients receiving TCC can also occur when DECCD
determines that the client is not in compliance with case requirements prescribed by
the MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement.

Very Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time
child care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled
full-time in high school, enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family’s gross income
must be at 50 percent or below the State Median Income. Children with special
needs and children of deployed parents may be served in this Priority up to 85% of
the SMI. Irregular hours of employment and income should be averaged.

Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time child
care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled full-time
in high school or enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family’s gross income
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must be at or above 50 percent of the State Median Income and at or below 85
percent of the State Median Income. Irregular hours of employment and income
should be averaged.

Post-Secondary Students - Certificates should only be written for one
semester/quarter at a time. The beginning date of the certificate should be the first
day of the month of class, for which proof of enrollment was provided, and the
ending date is the last day of the month ending the semester. Students should be
allowed 30 days from the ending date of the previous semester to complete the
application process. Graduating seniors will have up to 60 days to find
employment before their certificate is terminated, unless determined eligible
otherwise.

Resident -In/Out of State Students - If a parent attends school in/out of state, the
application should be made in the parent’s name using the address where the
child(ren) resides. Parents with residences outside the State of Mississippi should
apply with their state of residence.

The 25 hours per week work requirement is reduced for foreign students who hold a
VISA because they are permitted to work only on campus for 20 hours per week.
In order to remain eligible a copy of the VISA must be submitted annually to make
sure it is current.

Foster Children and children in Protective or Preventive Services are eligible for
child care services without regard to the income of the guardian. Foster children,
and children in Protective or Preventive Services will receive funding based on the
referral and termination by the Case Manager, no application is required. When a
child’s case is closed by the Division of Family and Children’s Services, that
agency will send a Notification of Termination of Child Care for children receiving
services through Foster Care, Protective Services or Prevention Services to
DECCD.

Parents may apply for a certificate that have been laid off or have lost their job for
other reasons. These certificates will be issued for 60 days from the parent(s) last
date of employment. This policy only applies when a parent notifies DECCD of
the loss of employment within 10 business days of the loss.

Children being served by the MDHS Healthy Homes Mississippi (HHM) home
visitation program are eligible for child care services without regard to income.
Children will be served based on referral and termination information received
from HHM Family Support Workers (caseworkers).

Income to Be Considered in Calculating Total Family Income

Gross income of applicant and spouse should be considered if the spouse is living
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in the home. Do not consider a spouse’s income if they are separated and residing
in a separate residence. All income above or less than 40 hours per week is
considered irregular income. Irregular income and commissions should be
averaged. For commissions and tips, the amount on the paycheck stub or
statement from an employer should be averaged and added to regular work income.
Do not consider bonus monies as income. If a parent is self-employed,
individual/family total income is considered.

Social Security benefits for parents and child(ren) must be counted as income.

If a parent receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI), it should be counted as
income. If a child(ren) receives SSI, the SSI for the child(ren) should not be
counted as income.

Income earned by an adult living in the home, not married to the applicant but who
is the biological parent of the child for whom services are being requested, should
be counted. Income or work status earned by another adult residing in the home
with the applicant to whom the applicant is not married, should not be counted.
Do not include these individuals in determining the size of the household unless
they are the biological parents of the child(ren) for whom application for service is
being made.

I. All parents must comply with Child Support Enforcement requirements in
order to receive a child care certificate(s). A Verification for Child
Support Services Form should be mailed to parents as part of the Child Care
Payment Program Application packet. Parents must complete the
Verification Form and return it to DECCD as part of the completed
application. In the case of TANF and TCC clients, information needed for
this verification is provided in the referral made by the TANF/TCC
Caseworker.

ii. All single or separated parents who do not currently have an open child
support case must contact the MDHS County Child Support Office for an
appointment to open a case(s) or to request a statement that the child or
children are exempt and the parent is excused from cooperating. Married
parents are not required to go through the MDHS, Division of Child
Support Enforcement. This includes parents who have an existing order for
child support issued by a judge.

iii.  MDHS, Division of Child Support Enforcement may provide exemptions
based upon Claims of Good Cause such as, but not limited to:

a. The noncustodial parent has caused physical and/or emotional harm
to the child.
b. Physical and/or emotional harm caused by the noncustodial parent
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F.

to the relative caring for the child limiting the custodial parent’s

ability to care for the child.

A child conceived as a result of incest or rape.

Pending legal adoption proceedings.

e. A public or private social services agency assisting you, the
custodial parent, to decide whether to keep the child or to release the
child for adoption.

oo

v, When the completed Verification for Child Support Form is received by
DECCD, the following steps will occur:

a. If the parent has checked “yes” in the first column, indicating that
they have a Child Support case through DHS, pull up the Child
Support website,

b. Search by parent’s Social Security Number,

C. Click “select” and pull up and print the parent’s information,
including payments,

d. Attach the printout to the application and use the amount when
calculating income and co-payment for the parent,

e. At annual re-certification, repeat step “iii” above.

Any parent enrolled full-time in high school or in a GED program may make an
application in his/her own name, as a family unit separate from his/her parent. If
the teen parent is living with his/her parent(s), the parent of the teen must meet the
work requirements; however, the teen’s parents’ income should not be considered.
If a teen parent lives in the home with her parent(s) or guardian, then the parent(s)
or guardian of a teen parent under the age of 18 must sign the certificate and forms
along with the teen parent.

No adult living in the home with the child may be paid for child care. The
biological parent of a child shall not be reimbursed for providing child care for
his/her own child(ren) regardless of the location of their residence.

Documents Required for Eligibility Determination

A

Income Documents:

I Two paycheck stubs from within the past 30 days. If paid once a month,
only one check stub is required.

ii. If a new job, the employer’s letter on employer’s company letterhead or
employer’s notarized statement verifying employment, income, rate of pay
and number of hours worked. Actual check stubs must be submitted
within 30 days.
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Vi.

Parents paid in cash should obtain a certified letter from the employer on
company letterhead or employer’s notarized statement verifying
employment, income, rate of pay and number of hours worked.

Parents employed by temporary agencies may be certified with an original
letter from an employer on company letterhead verifying employment, rate
of pay, and number of hours worked. The letter of employment must be
followed up with check stubs within 30 days.

Copy of Estimated Quarterly Tax Report if self-employed, or another form
of income documentation approved by DECCD. The other acceptable form
of income documentation includes a Federal 1040 Tax Form including the
Profit or Loss Statement (Schedule C). DECCD will use the “Total Sales
and Receipts” amount located on the Profit/Loss Statement to determine if
the work requirement has been met. DECCD will use the amount located on
line 22 of the Federal 1040 Tax Form to determine income eligibility.

The Work Number, an automated service is an option for income and
employment verification. This service is an acceptable source for
documenting employment and income. THE WORK NUMBER can be
used instead of the employer’s notarized statement or information on the
employer’s letterhead. Therefore, copies of check stubs are NO LONGER
required to be submitted for those parents whose employment uses The
Work Number Service. THE WORK NUMBER’S website is
www.theworknumber.com, e-mail address is
govinfo@theworknumber.com or 1-800-660-3399.

Educational Documents:

Parents enrolled in an approved educational program must provide enrollment

documentation in the form of a letter from the institution’s registrar
confirming current full time enrollment. GED classes should be handled the
same as any other approved educational training.

Additional Required Documentation:

Long Form Birth Certificate - A 90-day grace period shall be allowed to
receive the birth certificate for a newborn. A 30-day grace period shall be
allowed for all other children.

Verification of social security numbers can be obtained from a copy of the
social security card, the Form 121 Certificate of Immunization issued by the
Mississippi Department of Health, or other official document showing the
child’s and/or a parent’s name and social security number.
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DECCD must provide a statement that makes it clear to CCPP applicants
that the provision of a Social Security Number is voluntary and that benefits
will not be denied or withheld for the failure to furnish a Social Security
Number. Instructions will be given to parents explaining how the Social
Security Number will be used if provided, in order to encourage applicants
who choose to provide them (e.g. to identify individuals with the same
name).
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(4)

(5)

(6)

v, If it is necessary for parents to supply additional documentation of proof of
residence, the parent must supply a current driver’s license or state issued
I.D. and a current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or cable bill.
The addresses on the driver’s license, 1.D. and bank statement/bill must
match and corroborate the address of residence supplied to DECCD.

Requirements for a Disabled Parent

A.

If a two-parent family applies for assistance and one parent is working and the other
has a disability and is unable to care for the child(ren) as a result, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren).

If a single parent has a disability and has a physician’s statement stating the nature
of the disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren), the
application should be made in the responsible guardian’s name. The responsible
guardian is the person responsible for the parent’s affairs; the guardian must meet
the work requirement. The disabled parent’s Supplemental Security Income should
be used to calculate the co-payment fee.

If a single parent is disabled and there is no guardian, the application should be in
the single parent’s name. Child care can be provided if a written statement is
submitted by a physician stating the nature of the disability and that the parent is
unable to care for the child(ren).

If the guardian with whom the child(ren) reside(s) has a disability, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
disability and that the guardian is unable to care for the child(ren). Verification of
cooperation with Child Support Enforcement is required if the biological parents
are not deceased.

Parents enlisted in the United States Military and Deployed

responsible guardian’s income should not be counted but the responsible guardian must
meet the 25 hours per week work requirement, unless they are 65 years of age or can
provide proof that they have retired from full-time employment.

Pell Grants

Pell Grants should not be considered as income when determining eligibility. Pell Grant
funds and child care subsidy payments can be used simultaneously for child care services.

102.06 RE-DETERMINATION

1)

Re-Determination of working parent’s eligibility is to be re-established during the CCPP
year in the months of February, March, April, and May. DECCD will send a letter to
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(3)

parent(s) requesting check stubs or other verification of employment and request
verification of household/marital status. If the CCPP Application Packet is not returned
by the due date indicated, a second notice should be mailed certified return receipt
requested. If the mail has been returned undeliverable, the child care provider should be
notified. Failure to comply with Re-Determination procedures shall result in termination
of certificates.

Re-Determination of parent’s eligibility for those enrolled in an approved educational
program is determined every semester or quarter. Documentation for redetermination
will include proof of school enrollment (if not currently on file), proof of employment,
proof of household size and location, and proof of income. Failure to comply with
Re-Determination procedures shall result in termination of certificates.

When income is recalculated and there is a change in a co-payment fee, a notice is sent to
the parent and the provider. The updated co-payment fee is effective on the first day of the
month following the month of re-determination. If income increases beyond 85 percent of
the State Median Income, child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice. If the
parent is no longer working, child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice to the
child care provider. If the parent has been temporarily laid off or has lost a job for other
reasons, child care will not be terminated until 60 days after the last work day, giving the
parent time to be reinstated in their job or to search for a job, provided the parent notified
DECCD of loss of employment within 10 days of the event.
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SECTION 103: CO-PAYMENT FEES

103.01 DETERMINING CO-PAYMENT FEES

1)

()

TANF parents are not assessed a co-payment fee. For all other parents, co-payment fees
are determined based upon the parent's family size and income according to the CCDF
Child Care Monthly Co-payment Fee Scale for Parents.

Co-payment fees are redetermined when there is a change in the parent's income or
household size, or during annual redetermination of eligibility. The updated co-payment
fee is effective on the first day of the month following the month of re-determination.

103.02 ASSESSING CO-PAYMENT FEES PER CHILD

1)

)

(3)

(4)

If a parent has one child receiving full-time child care services, the total co-payment fee
should be placed on that child's certificate. If a parent has one child receiving part-time
child care services, only half of the total co-payment fee should be placed on the child’s
certificate.

If one child is in full-day care and part-day care during the same month, the fee should be
assessed on the majority of the type of care provided. For example, if a child is served 16
part-time days and five full-time days, the part-time co-payment fee would be assessed for
the month.

If a parent has more than one child receiving full-time service, the total co-payment fee is
divided equally among the number of children receiving care. If two or more children are
receiving part-time services, one half of the divided fee should be placed on each
certificate. If a parent has children receiving before/after child care and holiday/summer
child care, a full co-payment fee and a half co-payment fee are placed on each certificate
and the appropriate fee is deducted during the payment cycle.

Exceptions:

A. If a parent has two children, one who is receiving full-year, full-time child care and
one being added for holiday/summer child care only, the co-payment fee for the
full-year, full-time care will remain the same. The parent is assessed an additional
$10.00 fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

B. If a parent has two or more children receiving full-year, full-time child care and one
child receiving holiday/summer care only, the total co-payment fee is divided
equally among the children attending full-time. The parent is not assessed a
co-payment fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

C. Parents assessed a minimum co-payment fee are:

i. Foster Children
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ii. Children in Protective/Preventive Service

iii. Special Needs Children - Special Needs status must be documented. If
there are other children in the family who are receiving child care services,
the fee will be $10 or the child's prorated share of the family’s co-payment
fee, whichever is less. Services for children with Special Needs will
continue until the child reaches 18 years of age.

103.03 NON-PAYMENT OF CO-PAYMENT FEES

Co-payment fees are to be paid during the current month directly to the provider according to
payment arrangements established by the provider and parent. Providers must maintain proof of
collection of co-payment fees, identified separately from tuition overage payments made by
parents. Providers must provide proof of co-payment fees to parents in the form of a receipt
including the parent’s name, date and amount of payment, center name, if applicable, and the child
care provider’s name and signature. If a parent fails to pay the co-payment fee prior to the end of
the month, the provider is required to notify DECCD. Non-payment of co-payment fees may
result in termination of the parent from CCPP. If the parent requests a change in child care
provider with an outstanding balance of co-payment fees to the current provider, the parent must
pay all co-payment fees before a new certificate is issued. It is the responsibility of the provider
to report non-payment of co-payment fees to DECCD. The provider may not charge parents any
cost over the assigned co-payment fee unless the cost for child care to the general public is higher
than the amount paid by the certificate program.

103.04 CO-PAYMENT RECOUPMENT/REPAYMENT

1) If a parent's fee was assessed at a rate higher than the correct fee and the parent has made
payment to the provider, the parent is to be reimbursed by the provider for the difference
for each month paid. The correct fee is to be noted on the certificate and a notice of the
change forwarded to the provider and the parent.

If a parent's fee was assessed at a rate lower than the correct fee, the parent is responsible for
reimbursing the provider for the difference between the corrected co-payment amount and
the incorrect co-payment amount that was paid.

103.05 PRORATING CO-PAYMENT FEES

The assessed co-payment fee reflects a monthly rate regardless of attendance. If a child is
enrolled between the 1st and 15th of the month, the full monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the
first month of service. If the child is enrolled between the 16th and last day of the month, one-half
of the monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the first month of service. If a parent desires to
change a provider during the month, it is the parent’s responsibility to pay the appropriate
co-payment fee to any subsequent providers.
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SECTION 104: MISSISSIPPI ECHILDCARE

Mississippi eChildcare is a technology-based method of issuing payments to child care providers
and tracking child attendance. Licensed child care facilities and their enrolled families will utilize
Point of Service (POS) machines to track child attendance. Unlicensed providers and their
enrolled families will utilize a telephone-based Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system to track
child attendance. All providers will have access to the Mississippi eChildcare Portal to login and
gain access to information related to authorized certificates assigned to their provider number. The
following policies describe the Mississippi eChildcare requirements and processes for parents and
child care providers.

104.01 DESCRIPTION OF POS AND IVR USE

(1.) The Mississippi eChildcare Program is a system used to track child attendance for children
receiving subsidy funds from the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program. Payments are
made to approved providers based on the information entered into the POS or IVR and
other policies stated in this document. For licensed providers this system involves the use
of a finger scan by a parent of household designee to document attendance at the child care
facility on a daily basis. For unlicensed providers, this system involves the use of a
land-line telephone system by a parent or household designee to document attendance at
the child care facility on a daily basis. Parents or household designees can enter the
current day’s attendance, or enter previous check in/out times for up to seven days, the
current day and six previous days. The system is designed to accommodate these actions,
but timely and accurate payment occurs when attendance is entered daily.

(2)  Each family case can have up to five finger scans, the parent is the primary scan and they
may select up to four household designees that have the authority and responsibility to
comply with POS and IVVR processes daily. Parents are responsible for all actions in the
POS and IVR, even if those actions were taken by a household designee. No employee of
the child care center or the individual child care provider can be a household designee for
any child attending their program.

(3.)  Clients and their designees are responsible for recording the actual times and dates their
child attends by either scanning their finger image into the POS machine or by using the
IVR system.

i. If the client or designee receives a denial message, the provider shall charge the client
for that day of care. If it is later determined that the denial was in error, the provider
shall reimburse the client for any payments made for care as a result of the denial
message.

ii. Providers shall monitor the POS machines and/or the Provider Portal to ensure correct
attendance times and dates have been entered by the client. If the client makes an
error, the provider shall void the transaction and ask the parent to enter the correct time
and date of attendance.

iii. When clients fail to enter attendance for a day that care was provided, record incorrect
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times, or receive a denial message, the system will allow the client to enter a previous
check in/out for the current day and the previous six days.

104.02 CLIENT RESPONSIBILITIES FOR RECORDING CHILD ATTENDANCE

The following policies describe the role and responsibility of clients with authorized certificates
from the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program:

(1)

(2)

3)

(4.

(5)

(6.)

(7))

All clients and their selected Household Designees are required to view the
Mississippi eChildCare training video for either the POS or the IVR, depending on
the type of child care provider selected. Training videos are available on
DECCD’s website, MDHS county offices, and at Mississippi Child Care Resource
and Referral sites across the State.

All clients are responsible for identifying up to four Household Designees that will
be allowed to check the child(ren) in and out of care daily. Parents are ultimately
responsible for ensuring attendance is recorded at the provider site. Parents will
enter the legal names of their selected household designees by loging into the Child
Care Payment Program website upon completion of their training.

All clients and household designees utilizing a licensed child care facility are
responsible for having their finger scanned into the Mississippi eChildcare system.

All clients are responsible for using the POS/IVR daily to record check in and out
times at the provider location within seven days-the current day plus the previous
six days. DECCD will only pay for recorded check ins and outs. If a client fails
to use the POS/IVR to check the child in or out they are responsible for full
payment to the provider for that day.

All clients are responsible for checking the POS/IVR message after each check in
or out to determine if it is approved, denied, or pending. If the check in/out is
denied or pending, the client is responsible for reporting the problem to the child
care provider immediately.

All clients are responsible for maintaining the security of their personal
identification number (PIN). This number should not be shared with the child care
provider.

DECCD will not pay if one or more of the following occurs:

i. The client did not record attendance timely for days and times their child was in
care.

ii. The client failed to get denied check ins/outs corrected within seven days.
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iii. The child is absent and has exceeded the maximum number of allowed absence
days.

104.03 PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES FOR MISSISSIPPI ECHILDCARE

The following policies describe the role and responsibilities of child care providers approved by
the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program:

(1)

(2)

(3)
(4.)

(5)

(6.)

Providers shall never be in possession of the child’s PIN number, or use the client’s
PIN number to record attendance.

Providers shall never move the POS machine to another location without receiving
prior written approval from DECCD.

Providers shall require clients to enter attendance as care is used.

Providers shall never ask or require a client to enter attendance for a day the child
does not attend.

Providers shall maintain all sign in/out sheets required for monitoring as described
in Section 105.01 of this document.

Providers shall ensure that all attendance submitted is correct and void any

incorrect transactions within the seven day limit-the current day and six previous
days.
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SECTION 105: PAYMENTS TO PROVIDERS FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
105.01 SIGN-IN/OUT SHEETS

Providers are required to maintain a record of accurate attendance and absences on sign-in/out
sheets and on daily class rolls for each child in order to document attendance. The sign-in/out
sheets must show the child’s first and last name, the full name of the parent/guardian or parent’s
authorized representative, the time the child is signed in with the signature of the person signing
the child in, and the time the child is signed out with the signature of the person signing the child
out each day. If sign-in/out sheets are not maintained and made available upon request and/or for
Monitoring processes, or do not follow the policies described above, funds issued based on
missing/erroneous information shall be recouped by DECCD. Unlicensed providers are not
exempt from this policy.

105.02 PAYMENTS

(1.) Payments for child care services are made to providers in accordance with the policies
described in this document.

(2) DECCD makes bi-monthly payments to providers for child care services provided through
a direct deposit process.

(3.) The payment week begins every Sunday at 12:01 a.m. and ends every Saturday at
midnight.

(4.) Licensed providers shall receive one POS machine for every 50 children enrolled in their
program with an authorized child care certificate. These machines will be installed within
ten days of the approved provider reporting enrollment of a child with an authorized
certificate at their center. No provider will receive a POS machine while seeking approval
by the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program.

(5.)  Adjustments are made when an overpayment or underpayment occurs.
i. Anunderpayment is the result of error by DECCD, or other MDHS Divisions making
referrals for care. Once the error has been identified, funds will be disbursed with the

next regularly scheduled payment to the provider.

A. Providers must report errors in their payment to DECCD using a Report of
Underpayment form within ten days of receipt of incorrect payment.

B. If aclient fails to record attendance, no payment is made to the licensed provider
for those days. The licensed provider shall collect payment for these days from
the client.

C. If the client’s attempts to enter attendance was denied in error, or incorrect rates
were applied due to an error in eligibility information, DECCD will make a
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manual adjustment upon receipt of the Report of Underpayment form.

Overpayments are the result of error by DECCD, clients, or providers. Payment plans
will be instituted so that funds are deducted from future payments made to the provider
at a rate of 5% until the full amount that was overpaid has been recouped.

A. Payment plans will not exceed 12 months, unless approved by the Director of

DECCD.

If a child care provider is debarred or suspended from participation in the
Mississippi Child Care Payment Program before an overpayment is recouped in
full, all future payments will be withheld in their entirety and applied to the
outstanding balance.

105.03 CONDITIONS OF PAYMENT

1)

(2)

Licensed providers must file a copy of the center's published rates with DECCD annually.
Providers are not allowed to charge a higher rate to families in the certificate program than
the rate charged to the general public.

A

If the child care center’s policy states that a program stipend will be provided to
non-certificate children, the provider must document the amount and the source of
funds for each child on a monthly basis. Parent co-payment fees cannot be used as
children’s stipends. This documentation must be in hard copy such as check stubs
receipts, etc., that will show Mississippi Department of Human Services auditors a
clear paper trail of cash infusion from non-tuition sources and
non-child-care-certificate monies sufficient to cover the full amount of tuition
without any stipends.

Parents (including TANF workers) employed at a licensed center or group home
may be eligible for a child care certificate providing that they do not care for their
own child(ren). Nor can the child(ren) be included in a group assigned to the
biological parent to maintain the adult/child ratio required by the Mississippi State
Department of Health, Division of Child Care Licensure.

Rates of reimbursement are assigned on a certificate based on the provider type
(licensed or unlicensed), age of child, and Tier level. A full-time rate may be
charged for non-traditional child care. Non-traditional child care is appropriate
when a parent requires full-time child care in lieu of before-and-after school care.

School-aged children and children who attend other programs such as Head Start
will be reimbursed at the part-time rate for absences during vacation and holidays
except during times when it is documented that the child(ren) attended the licensed
child care center for the full-day because the school was not open or for
out-of-school suspension during the school year. Full time reimbursement will be

63



issued for full time care provided by licensed centers when the primary school
setting is closed or for out-of-school suspension.

Providers will be reimbursed at a part time rate for any day in which a school age
child or child with a full-time/part-time certificate is present for a full day of care
while their primary school setting is open.

Summer child care for school-aged children will be reimbursed at the full-time rate
for absentees, vacation, and holidays.

If at any time during a CCPP year, a provider changes Tier reimbursement status,
changes will be adjusted in the system to allow for future reimbursement at the
appropriate rate.

I. If it becomes necessary for the Tier 1-eligible director to be absent
for leave, DECCD must be notified within 10 days. DECCD will
determine on a case-by-case basis if Tier 1 reimbursement will
continue during leave.

Full-time certificate payments for school-age children may not be issued to students
enrolled in grades one through twelve unless full-time care is needed during
non-traditional hours and/or the primary school setting is closed.

Full-time certificate payments may be issued for 3 and 4 year olds enrolled in
public or private pre-kindergarten programs where tuition is assessed. Certificates
will expire on a child’s 5th birthday. Families who continue to meet eligibility
criteria may apply to continue services until the child is 12 years of age, or 18 years
of age if a special needs child. Additionally, 5 year old children whose parent(s)
elect not to enroll their child(ren) in a public kindergarten program may receive
full-time certificate funds until they reach the age of 6(six), which is the
compulsory age for school attendance in the state of Mississippi.

105.04 ABSENTEES AND NOTICE

1)

(2)

If a child is repeatedly absent Due to a chronic illness, DECCD shall be notified by a letter

from the child’s physician describing the likelihood of repeated absence. DECCD will
make a notation in the system, and will pay licensed providers for absences that are
reported due to chronic illness. Parents are responsible for paying their determined
co-payment amount in full even if the child does not attend due to chronic illness.

In the case of court-ordered visitation, DECCD must be notified and a copy of the visitation
order of the court must be kept on file by the provider. Any days a child is absent due to
court-ordered visitation will not count towards a child’s paid absence day allotment of 15
days per program year. Parents are responsible for paying their determined co-payment
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(4)

(5).

amount in full even if the child does not attend due to court ordered visitation.

The Child Care Payment Program will provide a two-week notice for the termination of all
certificates issued to licensed providers, except in the instance of substantiated provider
fraud.

A child care center must remain open on days when children are taken on field trips or any
other day outside of the approved holiday list provided by DECCD for any children who
cannot attend the field trips or need child care during holidays, etc.

Clients utilizing licensed facilities shall enter in attendances. The absence of a matched
check in/out will result in non-payment to the provider for all days in which this occurs.
Unlicensed providers are paid for attendance only. Clients utilizing unlicensed providers
do not have to use the IVR to record absences.
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SECTION 106: INTERRUPTION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES

106.01 ALLOWABLE LEAVE TIME FOR PARENTS

1)

()

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

Parents who lose or change jobs are allowed a 60 day grace period from the last date of
employment before child care services are terminated in order to give the parent time to be
reinstated in their job, providing that a Change of Information form is submitted ro
DECCD within 10 working days of the change in employment. During this 60 day period,
the parent is required to submit new eligibility documentation and be redetermined eligible
for services. Failure to notify DECCD within 10 days of the change in employment or
submit acceptable eligibility documentation shall result in the termination of services.

Temporary Job Closings - Workers temporarily unemployed due to the nature of their
work may include but are not limited to workers employed in construction, factories, or
poultry and catfish processing plants. Extensions beyond the approved 60 days must gain
approval from DECCD on a case-by-case basis.

Natural Disaster - Child care services should be continued when parents are off work due to
circumstances beyond the parent’s control such as hurricanes, floods, and tornado.
Licensed child care providers shall be reimbursed when the center is closed temporarily
due to a natural disaster for up to 10 business days per occurrence unless the parent needs
to make alternate care arrangements. Unlicensed centers shall be reimbursed for actual
attendance only.

A pregnant mother is allowed six weeks of child care assistance during maternity leave.
Documentation from a physician of the maternity leave must be included in the parent's
file. If more leave time is required due to medical reasons, a physician’s statement must
be submitted to DECCD. The parent must provide new eligibility documentation once
she returns to work. Failure to submit acceptable eligibility documentation shall result in
the termination of services.

Fathers are allowed six weeks of child care assistance related to the birth of a child, if the
employer/educational institution approves the leave time. Documentation in the form of a
letter on the employer/educational letterhead allowing the leave of absence for this reason
must be submitted to DECCD.

Parent(s) are allowed six weeks of child care assistance in cases of adoption of a new child
or when a Foster Child is placed in the home, if the employer/educational institution
approves the leave time. Documentation in the form of a letter on the employer/educational
letterhead allowing the leave of absence for this reason must be submitted to DECCD.

Parent(s) are allowed up to thirty days of sick leave from their job if documented by their
employer and physician. Extenuating circumstances in which additional time is required
will be handled on a case-by-case basis.

A child is allowed 15 paid absence days per federal fiscal year (beginning October 1 -
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(9)

September 30). Absences related to court-ordered visitations, chronic illness, and
medical treatment for children with special needs are not counted as vacation days as long
as documentation of these circumstances is on file with DECCD.

DECCD will pay for up to 11 holidays for the period beginning October 1 through
September 30. If the Governor allows days in addition to the list below in observance of a
holiday, providers will be notified that they are also allowed these extra days. If the
identified holiday falls on a weekend, the DECCD Director will designate weekdays to
observe the holiday at their discretion.

(10.) Approved paid holidays for licensed providers:

January 1 New Year’s Day

The Third Monday of January Robert E. Lee’s Birthday and Dr. Martin
Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday

Spring (date varies annually) Good Friday

The Last Monday of May National Memorial Day and
Jefferson Davis’ Birthday

July 4 Independence Day

The First Monday of September Labor Day

November Thanksgiving Day & the Friday after

December 24 Christmas Eve

December 25 Christmas Day

December 31 New Year’s Eve

106.02 REASONS FOR TERMINATION

1)

TANF, TCC, Foster Children and Children in Preventive/Protective Services, and
participants of Health Homes Mississippi are referred for services by a MDHS Case
Manager/HHM Family Support Worker. Services shall be terminated upon notification
by the Case Manager for TANF clients and Children in Foster, Preventive/Protective
Services. Clients receiving TCC and participating in Healthy Homes Mississippi shall be
terminated upon notice from a MDHS Division of Economic Assistance caseworker, HHM
Family Support Worker, or when found to be out of compliance with requirements of the
MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement, when applicable.
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(4)

()
(6)

(")

Non-payment of co-payment fees shall result in suspension from the Child Care Payment
Program for a one-year period.

A child care certificate may be terminated upon the request of the parent, or by DECCD in
accordance with CCPP policy.

Child care services will be terminated when a child grows older than the age requirements.

If at any time a parent provides fraudulent information, child care services are immediately
terminated and the client is ineligible to reapply for a one-year period. DECCD may elect
to permanently disbar parents from participation in CCPP in accordance with Section
108.01(1) of this document.

If a parent fails to use the POS or IVR system to record child attendance seven times within
a program year, the certificate will be terminated.

106.03 CHANGE IN PROVIDER

(1)

Parents are allowed to change providers when the current provider is no longer preferred.
Parents must request a change in provider from DECCD prior to withdrawing the child,
unless under emergency circumstances. The parent(s) shall give at least two weeks prior
notice to the current provider before withdrawing the child from the center unless there are
extenuating circumstances. While parents have the right to exercise parental choice in
selecting a child care provider, certificates will not be issued to a provider until they have
met all requirements to become a CCPP approved provider. Parents must select a CCPP
approved provider. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is
seeking to become an approved provider.
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Section 107 DISPUTES

107.01 PARENTAL AND PROVIDER DISPUTES

1)

Any unresolved dispute concerning a question of fact under the Application/Agreement
between DECCD and Parent or Provider shall be decided by the Director of the Division of
Early Childhood Care and Development. In the review by the DECCD Director the
Parent or Provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in
support of the questioned decision under review. This decision shall be reduced to writing
and a copy thereof mailed or furnished to the Parent or Provider and shall be final and
conclusive, unless, within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision, the Parent or
Provider mails or delivers to the Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of
Human Services a written request for review. Pending final decision of the Executive
Director or his/her designee, DECCD will proceed in accordance with the decision of the
Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development. In addition, listed
below are the procedures to be used when an Administrative Hearing for a Child Care
Dispute is desired:

A A Parent or Provider may not request a hearing on behalf of another individual or to
discuss decisions regarding another person.

B. If an Administrative Hearing is desired, a written request for the Hearing must be
submitted to the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and
Development. If requested, an Administrative Hearing will be held with the
Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development serving as the
Hearing Officer.

C. The Hearing Officer will be a neutral observer who will conduct the Hearing. The
Hearing Officer will listen to both sides and then make a decision based upon the
evidence that is provided.

D. This is an informal proceeding that gives both parties their due process rights and a
forum to provide evidence. This is not an adverse process. Questions are to be
asked only for clarification. If a party has legal representation, the attorney is
there only to give legal advice to his/her client and not for direct or cross
examination.
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SECTION 108: FRAUD AND ABUSE

This section outlines the policies and procedures for handling alleged and/or substantiated fraud
and exploitation in the Child Care Payment Program by a parent and/or provider.

108.01 POLICY STATEMENT

Any person applying for or receiving public assistance by using false statements, and any person
assisting that person to receive such public assistance with knowledge of those false statements, is
subject to criminal prosecution. The offense may be a misdemeanor when the amount received or
requested is below $500 or a felony if the amount received or requested is above $500. If a child
care center knowingly provides false information, a financial penalty will be imposed. Whether
or not a criminal conviction results, at the first offense, recoupment will be made and the center
may be disqualified from participating in the Child Care Payment Program, contingent upon
whether the deception is intentional or unintentional.

108.02 SUSPECTED FRAUD OR ABUSE OF FUNDS

(1) DECCD staff will not attempt to resolve any suspicion of parent and/or provider fraud or
misuse of funds. DECCD staff will collect any documentation to support an investigation
of suspected fraud or misuse of funds. This documentation shall be referred directly to the
Director of the MDHS Division of Early Childhood Care and Development for referral to
the MDHS, Division of Program Integrity (DPI) for investigation. DECCD staff will not
alert the parent and /or provider of any suspicion of fraud or misuse of funds while an
investigation is pending. Funding may continue during the investigation.

2 in the event that fraud is substantiated in a licensed child care facility, DECCD will assist
the parent(s) with locating an alternative child care facility or home without an interruption
in child care services unless the parent(s) chooses to keep their child(ren) at the center and
forfeit the CCPP funding. In this situation, a notarized statement of fact from the parent(s)
must be retained by DECCD. If it is determined that fraud was committed by a parent, the
provider will be allowed two weeks’ notice of termination.

108.03 RECOUPMENT OF FUNDS

Q) The MDHS, Division of Program Integrity (DPI) shall employ the required steps to recoup
or attempt to recoup funds paid for ineligible services because of suspected parent or
provider fraud or misuse of funds when unable to resolve otherwise. The steps include,
but are not limited to:

A. A letter outlining the DECCD policy violated, the total amount of funds to be
repaid, the legal action to be pursued if the parent or facility owner fails to
cooperate, and a response time frame of 15 calendar days; the letter and the report
shall be sent to the alleged offender by certified mail; a copy shall be retained by
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DPI and the Director of DECCD;

B. After the DPI completes an investigation of alleged fraud and/or misuse of funds, if
applicable, criminal charges shall be filed with the appropriate local law
enforcement agency, when fraud is substantiated.

C. When fraud is substantiated and criminal charges are filed with the local law
enforcement agency, funds shall be recovered through restitution ordered by the
court. Checks issued by the court for restitution shall be made payable to
Treasurer, State of Mississippi and mailed directly to the MDHS, DPI.

D. The MDHS, DPI staff shall track receipt of checks issued for payment of restitution
on a case-by-case basis until all funds have been recovered.

108.04 FINAL DISPOSITION FOR ACTION

A copy of any final judgment issued by the Court shall be forwarded directly to the MDHS, DPI
and a copy of the final judgment will be provided to DECCD by the MDHS, DPI.

71



SECTION 109: MONITORING

109.01 MONITORING PROCEDURE

1)

()

DECCD will monitor a selection of licensed and unlicensed providers participating in the
certificate program at least once annually. DECCD will select centers whose records
indicate a need for technical assistance, for example, perfect attendance submitted for each
child each month. According to MDHS Subgrantee Manual, DECCD staff may conduct
monitoring visits un-announced. DECCD will not monitor any fiscal or children’s files
without the director or an approved supervisor staff person in attendance. Only necessary
documentation should be requested from the parent and provider.

Monitoring visits will include a review of the following records:

A.

Licensed and unlicensed providers must maintain a daily attendance roster (sign
in/out sheets) for each child in accordance with Section 104.01(1) of this document.

The attendance recorded on the provider’s sign in and out sheets will be compared
to the attendance reported to DECCD. All documentation related to child
attendance will be reviewed.

The center's published rates charged to the general public will be compared to the
rates requested and received on each certificate.

Verify the payment of co-payment fees. Both licensed and unlicensed providers are
required to maintain receipts for payment of monthly co-payment fees.

A copy of the center's license, if applicable, will be requested if a current copy is
not on file with DECCD.

Records will be reviewed to verify that the center has retained a copy of the
Center’s Statement of Agreement.

The center will be monitored to make sure that the hours of operation meet the
needs of the full-time working parents plus travel time. The center must be open at
least five (5) days per week.

The attendance will be checked to ensure that the provider is not receiving more
(CCDF and TANF) certificates than its’ licensed or allowed capacity at any given
time (for example, non-traditional shifts, and before and after school). If it is
determined during the monitoring visit that the attendance exceeds the provider’s
licensed or allowed capacity, then the situation will be reported to the Mississippi
State Department of Health, Child Care Licensure and DECCD. Attendance in
excess of licensed or allowed capacity is considered fraudulent and shall result in a
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3)

recoupment of funds issued for certificates in excess of licensed or allowed
capacity.

Unlicensed providers must provide copies of immunization records (Form 121
Certificate of Immunization issued by the Mississippi Department of Health) for
providers and all children enrolled in care.

Per the Center Statement of Agreement, all child care providers are notified that
monitoring may be announced or unannounced. Refusal to cooperate in the
monitoring process shall result in a financial penalty.

If a center is not accurately recording attendance or is charging different rates, the
center will receive a letter concerning the finding(s). Any overpayments that
occurred because of these two situations shall be recouped by DECCD.

A center with findings may be monitored again, by either announced or
unannounced visits. If the center is still in non-compliance under the original
finding(s), a copy of all correspondence regarding the matter shall be forwarded to
DECCD and processes for Suspension or Debarment described in this document
will be engaged.

109.02 SUSPENSION, DEBARMENT, AND PENALTIES

(1)

)

(3)

If a parent commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, a parent may not apply for
or receive CCPP funding until the date indicated on the Notice of Suspension.

If a provider commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, or upon debarment, a
provider may not hold any administrative position in a facility or home in which CCPP
subsidies are received. This includes any position responsible for the recording or
tracking of enrollment and attendance as well as the completing and reporting of
family/child status and/or enrollment and attendance to CCPP.

Penalties shall be assessed of the provider if any of the following occur:

The provider is in possession of a client’s PIN number.
The provider uses a client’s PIN number in the IVR process.

iii. The provider requests a parent submit attendance for days the child was not in care.

iv. The provider submits attendance through the use of a POS or IVR system.

73



(4)

(5)

When DPI determines that any of the previous scenarios have occurred, the following
penalties shall be assessed in addition to the recoupment of the full amount issued to the
provider as a result of the fraudulent activity:

I. The first violation shall result in a penalty of 10% of the total overpayment.

ii. The second violation shall result in a penalty of 20% of the total overpayment.

iii. The third violation shall result in a penalty of 30% of the total overpayment and

debarment from participation in the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program.

Penalties will be collected in accordance with the processes described in Section 105.02(2)
of this document.
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GLOSSARY OF TERMS

This section contains the definition of key words or phrases and clarifies the terms as they relate to
this manual.

ADULT - A person who has reached the age of majority (at least 18 years of age).

ATTENDING (EDUCATIONAL/JOB TRAINING) -Full time enrollment in an education
and/or training program resulting in a degree or certificate designed to promote job skills and
employability. Full time is determined by the institution.

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE - An individual who has the legal right to speak or act on
the parent’s behalf. Written authorization must come to the child care center or DECCD directly
from the parent and be maintained in the appropriate file.

BEFORE-AND AFTER-SCHOOL CARE - Child care services for school-aged children (ages
5-12) during the hours before and after the regular school day. Under CCDF child care may be
provided for children under the age of 13 and for those children under the age of 18 who meet the
SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that caused
marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

CARE GIVER - An individual at least eighteen (18) years of age with a high school diploma or
equivalent (GED) who provides direct child care, supervision, and guidance to an eligible child.

MONTHLY CHILD CARE CO-PAYMENT FEES FOR PARENTS - A system of
cost-sharing based upon income and size of the family for families who participate in the Child
Care and Development Fund Program. Parents are required to pay a monthly co-payment fee to
their child care provider of choice as a condition of program participation, with the exception of
clients receiving TANF.

CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND (CCDF) - A federally-funded program
designed to provide quality child care services to eligible very low-income families who are
actively participating in an allowable TANF activity, transitioning off TANF, at-risk of going on
TANF and are in need of child care in order to work OR are low-income families, employed or
enrolled in an approved educational or training program.

CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A document issued by DECCD directly to a parent(s) who has
been determined eligible for CCDF, who may use it as payment for child care services. A child
care certificate is assistance to the parent, not assistance to the provider.

CHILD CARE FACILITIES:

CENTER-BASED - A non-residential facility in which shelter and personal care is
regularly provided for six or more children who are not related within the third degree
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computed according to the civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and
receive care for any part of a 24-hour day. No parent or guardian may provide care for
their own child in this setting.

For all Child Care Centers, as defined above, related children of all staff must be included
in the licensed number. These centers are considered commercial establishments and
must meet all requirements of the Regulation Governing Food Service Sanitation.
Additionally, these licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the
Mississippi State Department of Health’s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care
Facilities.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal
care is regularly provided for five or fewer children who are not related within the third
degree computed according to the civil law to the provider and who are less than 13 years
of age and are provided care for any part of the 24-hour day. These homes may
voluntarily register with the Mississippi State Department of Health and must be registered
with the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development, Mississippi Department of
Human Services. The provider must be at least 18 years old and cannot be a biological
parent of the child receiving assistance. No parent or guardian may provide care for their
own child in this setting.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal
care are regularly provided for six to 15 children who are not related within the third degree
computed according to civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and
receive care for any part of the 24-hour day. Children related within the third degree are
included in determining space and staff, but are not included in the licensed humber. No
parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this setting.

CHILD CARE PROVIDERS:

CENTER-BASED CHILD CARE PROVIDER - A provider licensed or otherwise
authorized to provide child care services for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a
non-residential setting, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents’
work, education, or training. No parent or guardian may provide care for their own child
in this setting.

FAMILY CHILD CARE PROVIDER - One individual who provides child care services
for fewer than 24-hours per day per child, as the sole CARE GIVER, in their private
residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents’ work,
education, or training. No parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this
setting.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - Two or more individuals who provide
child care services for six to 15 children for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a
private residence other than the child’s residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to
the nature of the parents’ work, education, or training. These providers are licensed. No
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parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this setting.

IN-HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - An individual who provides child care services
in the child’s own home but maintains a separate residence. No parent or guardian may
provide care for their own child in this setting.

CHILD CARE SERVICES - Care provided for a fee by a child care provider to an eligible child
or children in the parent or guardian’s absence.

CHILD CARE WEEK - The period of time that child care is provided per week. The child care
week may cover up to seven days. This is allowable as long as the DECCD Weekly Child Care
Reimbursement Tier rate is not exceeded, and the child does not receive care in excess of 84 hours
during a Sunday through Saturday week.

CREDENTIALED DIRECTOR - A professional credential awarded to child care center

directors operating licensed child care programs in Mississippi and those who aspire to be
directors for the successful completion of a curriculum in Child Care Management Best Practice.

DEGREES OF KINDRED ACCORDING TO THE LAW:

FIRST Parents and Children
SECOND Siblings (brothers and sisters), Grandparents, and Grandchildren
THIRD Uncles, Aunts, Nieces, Nephews, Great-Grandparents, and Great-Grandchildren

DISABLED PARENT - See SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT.

EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM - A preschool program (ages birth to
kindergarten) that provides child care services to low-income working parents and parents
enrolled in an educational or training program.

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM/JOB TRAINING -A program offering educational/job training
content. Programs must be accredited by the State of Mississippi or a national organization.

ELIGIBLE CHILD - A child whose parent(s) meets the eligibility requirements as set forth by
the grant.

EXTENDED DAY CHILD CARE - Before-and after-school care for Early Head Start and Head
Start children (ages birth up to age 5) and school-age children (ages 5-12) who need such care
due to the work schedule of their parent(s).

FAMILY - A unit where a child(ren) resides with a parent(s) who is related by blood, marriage,
adoption, or legal guardianship.

FAMILY OF ONE - A child receiving child care services based upon his/her income received
from SSI, foster board payment, etc.
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FULL-DAY CHILD CARE - Child care provided for six or more hours of a 24-hour day.
Full-day child care should meet the needs and reflect the work, education, or TANF training
schedule of the parent with a maximum of 30 minutes of travel time each way.

GROSS INCOME - The parent’s income before any deductions.
HALF-DAY - Child care provided for fewer than six hours per day.

HOUSEHOLD DESIGNEE- An individual designated by a client or parent to use a POS
machine or IVR system to record a child’s attendance in child care.

INCOME- funds received by all applicable individuals as described in policy which are not
supplemented by any public assistance other than food stamps or medical assistance, and does not
exceed 85 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

INCOME MAINTENANCE (IM) - Income from TANF or Supplemental Security Income and
other public assistance.

INFANTS - Children from birth through 12 months.

IN LOCO PARENTIS - in place of parent, for example, a guardian or a relative or friend with
whom the child resides if the child’s parent is unable to act as the parent or has delegated his or her
authority to someone else. The term describes someone who provides care and supervision like a
parent but without going through the formalities of legal adoption or guardianship.

INTERACTIVE VOICE RESPONSE (IVR) system- A system used by parents and household
designees to record attendance in unlicensed child care settings which uses a land-line telephone.

LICENSING OR REGULATORY REQUIREMENTS - Requirements necessary for a
provider to legally provide child care services in a state or locality, including regulations and
requirements established under State Local or Tribal law. The “Mississippi Child Care Licensing
Law,” Section 43-20-1, et seq., of the Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated, which provides the
legal authority under which the Mississippi State Department of Health prescribes minimum
regulations for child care facilities defined under the law.

LOW-INCOME - Income above the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI) or at or below
the 85 percent of the SMI.

MINIMUM FEE - An assessment of $10 per month for full-day child care services and $5.00 per
month for half-day before-and after-school/extended day, etc. child care services.

MDHS TANF CASEWORKER - An employee of the Mississippi Department of Human
Services, Division of Economic Assistance, that provides case management services, supportive
services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the local/county level
supportive services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the
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local/county level.

NON-TRADITIONAL CARE - Includes night care and supervision of children for less than 24
hours per day that occurs within the twelve hours between 6:00 p.m. and 5:59 a.m., or weekend
care and supervision of children that takes place between 6:00 p.m. Friday and 5:59 a.m. Monday.

PARENT - A mother or father by blood, marriage, or adoption, a legal guardian, or other person
standing in loco parentis.

POINT OF SERVICE (POS) machine- A machine that accepts finger image scans of parents or
household designees previously entered into the Mississippi cChildcare system used to record
child attendance in licensed child care facilities.

PRESCHOOL AGED CHILD - Children from three years of age through kindergarten.

PROTECTIVE SERVICES- Children that are court ordered to receive Protective Services from
MDHS, Division of Family & Children’s Services. These children are living in the home of a
parent or relative/kinship caretaker.

PROVIDER - The entity providing child care services as defined in this document.

PROVIDER PORTAL- A web-based information system containing information for child care
providers regarding the active authorizations and attendance records in their center.

REIMBURSEMENT TIERS - The established rates for child care services based upon the age of
the child, type of child care provider, hours of child care, and DECCD approved tier criteria.

RESIDING/LIVING WITH - Living with, including taking meals and sleeping in the same
house for a majority of a seven day period beginning with Sunday and ending with Saturday.

SEASONAL WORKERS - Individuals who are temporarily unemployed due to the nature of
their work.

SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT - A parent who meet s the SSI definition of disability
by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that cause marked and severe
functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration and render the parent
incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented by a physician. In the absence of
SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree of functional limitation(s) and
prescribe the special care needed. If the parent is unable to manage their personal affairs, the
application should be made in the parent/guardian or responsible adult’s name. If the disabled
parent receives SSI, the income maintenance fee of $10.00 should be applied to the child(ren).
Short Term disability medically documented will be handled on a case-by-case basis with approval
by DECCD.

SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD RATE - Special Needs rates may be applied for children through the
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age of 18 who meet the SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental
condition(s) that cause marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months
in duration and render the child(ren) incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented
by a physician. In the absence of SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree
of functional limitation(s) and prescribe the special care needed.

STATE MEDIAN INCOME (SMI) - The average income of all Mississippi workers.

SUMMER CARE - Child care for children during the summer months, when primary school
settings are not in session.

SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) - A monthly payment to a person for having a
medically proven physical/mental or physical condition that causes marked and severe functional
limitations that are expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) — Benefits offered through the block grant
that replaced the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and Job Opportunities and
Basic Skills Program (JOBS). Benefits are time-limited, mandating that families move quickly
into work activities leading to self-sufficiency.

TERMINATED CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A certificate that has been used as payment
for child care services for a period of time and is no longer valid. Reasons that certificates would
be terminated include, but are not limited to, the following: the provision of false information used
to issue/maintain a certificate, change in a provider, or a lack of a request for reimbursement on a
Child Care Certificate 60 days after the certificate has been issued.

TODDLERS - Children the age of 13 months and less than 36 months.

TRANSITIONAL CHILD CARE (TCC) - Up to 24 months of subsidized child care for eligible
parents, issued by the MDHS Division of Economic Assistance.

VERY LOW INCOME - Income at or below the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME (WRI) - Income that is irrelevant; therefore, it is not to be
considered. The only children who are to be considered WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME are
in court-ordered Protective Services Cases and Preventive Services. The only documentation
necessary to determine eligibility is the referral form from the Division of Family and Children’s
services and proof of the parent’s work or exemption.

WORKING - Performing duties to earn a wage (for a minimum of 25 hours per week) or

complete educational/job training such as practicums or internships (enrollment for
education/training must be full time).
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MISSISSIPPI 3

Form MDHS-DECCD-43-6 MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES Appendlx A (front)

Revised 11/10/2011 DIVISION OF EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE & DEVELOPMENT

APPLICATION FOR THE CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM
We will consider this application without regard to race, color, age, sex, handicap, religion, national origin, or political benefit.

1. PARENT/LEGALLY RESPONSIBLE PERSON INFORMATION COUNTY OF RESIDENCE
NAME PHONE (Home) (Work)
MAILING ADDRESS SINGLE MARRIED SEPARATED DIVORCED
CITY ZIP. PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT Phone #
PHYSICAL ADDRESS, IF DIFFERENT THAN MAILING ADDRESS SPOUSE PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT Phone #

Are you

a teen parent?

Are you currently deployed (military)?

2. PLEASE LIST ALL PERSONS LIVING IN THE HOME (Use two forms if necessary)

NAME (LIST YOURSELF FIRST)

Race/Ethnicity**
(Check all that apply)

SEX

BIRTH DATE

RELATION TO YOU

OAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

[OBlack or African American

CINative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

CWhite or Caucasian

OHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above

SELF

COJAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

OBlack or African American

CINative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

COWhite or Caucasian

OHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above

FATHER IN HOME?

MOTHER IN
HOME?

SOCIAL SECURITY NO.*

CJAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

OBlack or African American

ONative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

OWhite or Caucasian

OHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above

OAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

[OBlack or African American

[ONative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

CWhite or Caucasian

CHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above

OAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

OBlack or African American

CINative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

CWhite or Caucasian

[OHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above
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***We are required by the federal government to collect this information.

*The absence of this information cannot be a basis to deny eligibility.

It will not be used to determine program eligibility.

3. PLEASE LIST CHILDREN NEEDING CHILD CARE AND PROVIDE CHILD CARE PROVIDER INFORMATION (Use two forms if necessary)

Will Child be in Head

SPECIAL Start or Kindergarten

NEEDS or school? What type of care is required?

CHILD? If your child

Please write : will be in HS, Please write:
K, or S, what

Please HS (for Head Start), is F (Full time day care),

write Yes K (for Kindergarten), approximate BA (Before/After School care), or NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER OF YOUR CHILD CARE PROVIDER (DAY CARE CENTER OR
CHILD’S NAME or No S (for school) start date? SU (Summer care) INDIVIDUAL)
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
Please indicate the days of the week and the hours for which you need care. Example: X Monday From 7:00 AM To 5:30 PM
[J Sunday J Monday J Tuesday J Wednesday J Thursday O Friday [J Saturday
From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM
To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM
SOURCE OF INCOME PERSON RECEIVING GROSS AMOUNT HOW OFTEN PAID | AM WORKING:
Employment SELF Attach check stubs Day Shift

G Night Shift
ina Shi

Employment SPOUSE Attach check stubs G Swing Shift

Self-employment

Attach documentation

G Not Working

G Clinical or Field Placement

SSlI $
Social Security or Other $ 1 Am
Child Support/Alimony $ G In High school

G In College

DO YOU RECEIVE:

[OHousing Assistance

COTANF [JSNAP (Food Stamps)

[JOther Assistance including educational grants, loans and scholarships
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Appendix B
PARENT’S STATEMENT OF AGREEMENT

| agree to report to DECCD changes in any of the following within ten (10) days:

e Income e Work hours or school enrollment
e Address or phone number o Family size
e Child support e Daycare provider

| understand that:

1. any change in my employment status (layoff, new job, 11. that payments for care cannot be made to another  person
change in income, maternity leave, change in number of living in the same household as my child.
work hours) or change in family size (new baby, marriage, | 12. if I use an unlicensed provider, she/he must meet criteria to
divorce) could affect my co-pay fee or my eligibility. become an approved provider and that payments will not

2. | must pay a monthly co-payment fee to the child care be made to a provider who is not approved.
provider and that failure to do so could result in termination | 13. failure to comply with Child Support will result in
from the child care program. termination of my certificate(s).

3. if the provider charges more than the program 12. that my eligibility must be re-established periodically, in
reimbursement rate, | will be responsible for paying that accordance with CCPP policies
difference in addition to my co-payment, and that failure to | 13. if | provide false information during the application or
pay this amount may result in provider discontinuing determination process my child care certificates will be
service. terminated; | may face criminal prosecution; and/or

4. if I change providers, | am required to report this change two suspension debarment from the program.
weeks in advance to DECCD, and that failure to do so will | FRAUD: Any person applying for or receiving public
delay payment to a new provider. assistance by using false statements, and any person

5. itis my responsibility and NOT the responsibility of the assisting that person to receive such public assistance, with
provider to ensure that DECCD is notified. knowledge of those false statements, will be subject to

6. criminal prosecution. This prosecution will be a

7. if I withdraw my child from a provider without giving two misdemeanor when the amount received or requested is
weeks’ notice, I am responsible for payment to the provider, below $500, or a felony if the amount received is above
and that the DECCD will not double-pay for my child. $500.

8. if my child is absent for three (3) consecutive days, | amto | GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE: Any dispute concerning a
contact the provider to provide an explanation, and that question of fact under this application/agreement which is
failure to do so requires the provider to alert DECCD and not disposed of by agreement of the parties hereto shall be
my application for services will be reviewed. decided by the Director of the Division of Early Childhood

9. if my child is absent for more than two weeks, | am Care & Development. In the review by the DECCD
responsible for payment to the provider. If extended Director the parent/provider shall be afforded an
absences are due to custody agreements or medical reasons, opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in support of the
I must submit documentation to my provider questioned decision under review. This decision shall be

10. 1 or my authorized representative must sign my child(ren) reduced to writing and a copy thereof mailed or furnished
in and out at the provider every day by providing the first to the parent/provider and shall be final and conclusive,
and last name of the adult signing in/out, and that failure to unless, within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision,
do so will cause the provider to pay for those days of care. the parent/provider mails or furnishes the Executive
(NOTE: If this occurs, the provider may charge me for time Director of the Mississippi Department of Human Services
not covered by my certificate). a written request for review. Pending final decision of the

11. Inaddition to signing my child in/out daily as described Executive Director or his designee, DECCD will proceed
above, | or my authorized representative must use either a in accordance with the decision of the Director of the
POS or the IVR system (whichever applies to my provider Division of Early Childhood Care and Development.
type) to check my child in and out of care on a daily basis
and that payment will not be made if | fail to do so.

Parent Signature Date
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Appendix C
REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION FOR
ELIGIBILITY
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

A. Working Parents: (Please send one of the following)

1. Check Stubs. If you are paid every week, every 2 weeks/twice a month, send the two most
recent check stubs. If you are paid monthly, send the most recent check stub. Please note: you
MUST be working at least 25 hours per week.

2. If you are self-employed, send a copy of your Estimated Quarterly Tax Report

3. If you have new employment and have not received your first pay check, you must submit a
notarized letter from your employer on company letterhead. The letter must contain the
following information: start date of employment, rate of pay, work schedule. This letter will
be valid for 30 days and must be followed with 2 check stubs (or 1 if paid monthly).

4. If you are paid by personal check, you must submit copies of the front and back of two checks
that have cleared the bank.

B. Teen Parents in High School:
1. You must submit verification from school Principal indicating full-time enrollment.
2. Ifyou are living at home with your parent(s) and they are under the age of 65, your parents must
be working the required 25 hours per week and check stubs must be submitted.
*NOTE: If you are living at home with your parent(s), your parents cannot be paid for
providing care for your child.

C. Adult Parents in an Educational Program:
1. You must submit verification from the Registrar of your educational institution stating that you
are enrolled full time.*
2. If you are also working, check stubs must be submitted. See Section A for instructions.
*NOTE: Clinical/Practicum hours can count as work hours.

D. All Applicants:
1. Long Form Birth Certificate for each child who needs child care. This applies to new applicants
and to existing clients adding a new child.
o If your child is already on the program, you do not need to submit this again.
¢ If you need to order a copy of the long form birth certificate, you must submit a copy
of the application and a copy of the money order. This documentation is valid for 90
days for parents of all newborn children, and 30 days for all other parents.
2. Social Security Cards. Copies of social security cards are used to correctly identify applicants.
Eligibility for services is not dependent on the receipt of this information.
3. Child Support. See instructions on the Verification of Child Support Services form.
4. Guardianship. If you are not the biological parents of a child who needs care, you must submit
the Guardianship/In Loco Parentis Verification Form.
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Appendix D
Rev. 11/11

GUARDIANSHIP/IN LOCO PARENTIS

VERIFICATION
NAME OF GUARDIAN:
ADDRESS:
PHONE: HOME WORK

I am currently providing care for the child or children listed below who need child care subsidy. The child
or children live with me, but the child(ren)’s parents do not. I am responsible for their care in all aspects of
daily living.

NAME OF CHILD(REN):

Please give a brief explanation as to why you are responsible for the care of this child (including
information about the parent’s whereabouts) or you may attach a copy of any legal guardianship papers you
have.

Do you receive other benefits for this child? (check all that apply)

SNAP Medicaid TANF CHIPS Insurance

] Yes O No ] Yes [l No ] Yes ] No 1 Yes [l No

Signature of Guardian Date
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Appendix E
Rev. 11/11

VERIFICATION OF CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES
FOR THE
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

NAME OF CUSTODIAL PARENT:

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. OF CUSTODIAL PARENT:

I am applying for child care subsidy. | understand that per Mississippi law, | am required to cooperate with
MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement in order to be eligible for assistance.

PLEASE ONLY LIST CHILDREN WHO NEED CHILD CARE SUBSIDY ASSISTANCE

Child’s Name Child Support case is open with | | do not currently have an
MDHS Division of Child open Child Support Case
Support Enforcement (check if this is true)
(check if this is true)

1. 0 0O

2. 0 0

3. 0 0O

4. 0 0

5. 0 0O

A. If either or zero biological parents are NOT living in the same household with the child,
parents/guardians are required to have an open child support case in order to receive child care
subsidy.

B. If no child support case is open, parents MUST contact their local MDHS Division of Child Support
Enforcement Office to make an appointment to open a case. NOTE: This requirement INCLUDES
cases in which parents have an existing court-ordered child support agreement. Mississippi law
states that ALL child support cases must be handled through MDHS Division of Child Support
Enforcement.

C. Insome cases, MDHS Division of Child Support can provide documentation that parents are excused
from cooperating with Child Support. (This is typically due to a CS case being closed because the
absent parent could not be located.) The statement from a CS officer should name the child or
children and should be signed, dated, and include the official stamp of the county office.

D. Insome cases in which pursuing Child Support would place either the custodial parent or the child in
physical, emotional, or mental danger DECCD may waive this requirement. If this applies to you,
please contact DECCD for instructions.
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Appendix F (back)
Rev. 11/11

PARENT(S) RIGHTS
As a recipient of child care subsidy funds, you have rights you should know about. These are:

The information you share with DECCD is confidential. This means that what you tell DECCD staff cannot be shared with anyone other than the child care provider of your choice without your permission
except State or Federal program review or fiscal agents.
You have the right to see your case file, unless this is prohibited by federal or State law or regulation.
You have the right not to be discriminated against because of your political affiliation, religion, race, color, sex, handicap, national origin, or age. If you think you have been discriminated against, you
should discuss this with DECCD.
You may enroll your child with the child care provider of your choice, providing they qualify as an approved provider.
Any dispute concerning a question of fact under this application/agreement which is not disposed of by agreement of the parties hereto shall be decided by the Director of the Division of Early Childhood
Care & Development. In the review by the DECCD Director the parent/provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in support of the questioned decision under review. This
decision shall be reduced to writing and a copy thereof mailed or furnished to the parent/provider and shall be final and conclusive, unless, within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision, the
parent/provider mails or furnishes the Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of Human Services a written request for review. Pending final decision of the Executive Director or his designee,
DECCD will proceed in accordance with the decision of the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development.

PARENT(S) RESPONSIBILITIES

PLEASE READ THIS SECTION CAREFULLY. PLEASE ASK DECCD TO CLARIFY ANY OF THESE STATEMENTS THAT YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND.

0 | certify that this form has been examined by me and that the information given is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

O | agree to provide accurate and truthful information to DECCD when requested for the purposes of determining eligibility for assistance.

O | agree to provide DECCD information to verify any statements given in this application and hereby give DECCD, or its agents, permission to obtain such verification. 1 will cooperate fully with State and federal
personnel in any review.

O 1 will notify DECCD within ten (10) calendar days of any change in the following circumstances: marital status, household size, household income, address, employment, education/training status for any household
member.

O | agree to notify DECCD when child care services are no longer needed.

O 1 will notify the provider if my child(ren) will not attend child care for three (3) or more consecutive days.

O If | am the parent or legal guardian of the children as specified, | declare that they are deprived of parental support of care by reason of death, incapacity or continued absence from home of a parent.

O 1 understand that Mississippi law requires MDHS to take necessary action to establish paternity and/or collect child support from the responsible parent(s) whose child(ren) are receiving public assistance. DECCD
provided consumer information to parents in need of assistance in obtaining child support. | agree to cooperate and to provide assistance in the collection of child support and/or the establishment of paternity for children
whom [ am requesting assistance. [ understand that if I don’t cooperate as required, I may lose my eligibility for child care services according to the requirements of the program.

O 1 understand that the provider of the child care services is NOT and agent of DECCD, and that the foregoing entities in no way warrant the services rendered, and | understand that the child care provider acts solely as an

independent contractor in its capacity as a child care provider.

O Under Mississippi law, any person who knowingly commits fraud or aids or abets another person to commit fraud, in connection with State or federally funded assistance programs may be punished for either a
misdemeanor or a felony. Fraudulent acts are set forth in the applicable statutes, but they include failure to disclose a material fact in making a determination for a person to receive aid or benefits or services under any
State or federally funded assistance program; failure to disclose a change of circumstances; and knowingly filing a false claim for aid, benefits, or services.

OYES O NO | UNDERSTAND ALL OF THE STATEMENTS LISTED ABOVE.

OYES O NO | UNDERSTAND THAT FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THESE POLICIES CAN RESULT IN THE TERMINATION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES AND/OR CRIMINAL PROSECUTION.
CLIENT’S NAME (PLEASE PRINT) DATE DECCD STAFF NAME

CLIENT’S SIGNATURE DECCD STAFF SIGNATURE DATE
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Appendix G (front)
CHILD CARE PROVIDER STATEMENT OF AGREEMENT
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

As Director or Owner of this child care center, or as an in-home provider, | understand and agree to the
following guidelines as they relate to the Child Care Payment Program (CCPP).

1. Asachild care provider, I shall provide developmentally and culturally appropriate early childhood
educational activities, including reading and writing.
2. ALL rates, fees, and discounts charged to CCPP participants must be offered and equal to those charged
to non-participants. This means universal application of advertised tuition rates.

4. Parents or authorized parent representatives must use the POS or IVR system to check the child in and
out daily AND sign the child in and out every day. | understand that center employees are not
considered authorized parent representatives, unless the parent is employed by the provider. |
understand that in order to be eligible for payment, sign in/out sheets and attendance from the POS or
IVR system must reflect the same information.

5. lunderstand that in cases where documentation of co-payments and attendance cannot be provided,

DECCD shall recoup payments related to these cases.

I shall maintain documentation regarding absences and changes in child attendance.

~No

8. I agree to collect co-payment fees each month, maintain documentation of collection, and report
non-payment to DECCD. | will deduct the paid co-payment amount from total fees owed before
billing parents for services.

9. Itis my responsibility to report any changes in ownership, tax identification number, address, phone
number, center director, tier status, address, household membership (in home providers only), and
licensing to DECCD within 10 days of occurrence.

10. lunderstand that if | am a Tier 1 provider, the director qualifying for Tier 1 must be on site for a

minimum of six hours of the program day in order to receive Tier 1 reimbursement.

11. lagree notto exceed my licensed capacity, or the number of children I am allowed to provide care for.

12. | agree to remain in compliance at all times with any and all regulatory and licensing regulations.

13. lunderstand that | cannot offer any bribe or payments to any CCPP participants or child care staff to
encourage enrollment at my center/home care environment.

14. | agree to report any suspicion of unemployment or school dropout of a CCPP parent to DECCD.

15. | agree to allow unlimited access to the program, including unannounced visits by parents and MDHS
representatives, and to furnish reports and/or provide access to information concerning CCPP as
requested by DECCD or MDHS representative.

16. Asa CCPP approved provider, | understand that my program will be monitored by DECCD, or any
representative of the Mississippi Department of Human Services at any time. If it is discovered that
I am not in compliance with all applicable regulations, or that | have collected payments for which I
was not entitled, recoupments will be made.

17. lunderstand that if | provide false information, a penalty will be imposed. At first offense,
recoupments will be made and a provider may be suspended from participating in the CCPP. At
second offense, recoupment will be made and permanent debarment from participating in CCPP will
occur. 18. | agree to comply with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Americans with Disabilities Act when center-based and
group-home care are provided.
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Appendix G (back)

19. | agree that any publicity given to the provider or services provided herein including, but not limited
to, notices, information pamphlets, press releases, research, reports, signs, and similar public notices
prepared by or for the provider shall not identify MDHS as a sponsoring agency nor display any
MDHS name or logo in any manner without prior written approval by MDHS. 20. | agree that
nothing contained in this Agreement shall be construed to constitute the provider or any of its
employees, agents, or subcontractors as a partner, employee, or agency of MDHS, nor shall either
party to this Agreement have any authority to bind the other in any respect, it being intended that each
shall remain an independent entity. | agree to advise any client served under the terms of this
Agreement of the independent status of the provider and MDHS. MDHS does not in any way
warrant services rendered by the provider. 21. | agree that MDHS and their employees are to be held
harmless for any claim growing out of any action performed by the provider and its agents,
employees, or any of its subcontractors under any provisions of this Agreement.

FRAUD: Any person applying for or receiving public assistance by using false statements, and any person
assisting that person to receive such public assistance, with knowledge of those false statements, will be
subject to criminal prosecution. This prosecution will be a misdemeanor when the amount received or
requested is below $500, or a felony if the amount received is above $500.

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE: Any dispute concerning a question of fact under this
application/agreement which is not disposed of by agreement of the parties hereto shall be decided by
the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care & Development. In the review by the DECCD
Director the parent/provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in support of
the questioned decision under review. This decision shall be reduced to writing and a copy thereof
mailed or furnished to the parent/provider and shall be final and conclusive, unless, within thirty (30)
days from the date of the decision, the parent/provider mails or furnishes the Executive Director of the
Mississippi Department of Human Services a written request for review. Pending final decision of the
Executive Director or his designee, DECCD will proceed in accordance with the decision of the Director
of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development.

MDHS AGREES:
1. To pay the provider for services rendered in accordance with the terms agreed upon.
2. To provide written notification to the provider of the termination of the family/child.

ALL PARTIES AGREE:

1. That this Agreement may be terminated at any time by MDHS for cause, in whole or in part, for failure
of the provider to perform any of the provisions hereof. Should MDHS exercise its right to terminate
this Agreement under this Provision, the provider shall be notified in writing with reason and
termination date specified.

2. Payment for services under this Agreement are subject to the availability of federal and/or state funding.

Provider Signature Date
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Appendix H

BASIC HEALTH, SAFETY, AND NUTRITION ASSURANCES
FOR UNLICENSED CHILD CARE PROVIDERS IN THE
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

Health and Safety

1. Providers and their staff must be in good health, mentally and physically capable of caring for children. Providers must be
certified in Infant & Child Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and basic First Aid. Other persons in the home must be
free of any infectious disease.

2. A current Mississippi Department of Health Form 121 Certificate of Immunization must be kept onsite for all providers and
children at all times.

3. Sick children and children with contagious conditions must be isolated and returned home as soon as possible. Provider(s)
must report infectious disease to the local Health Department. Children should be checked each morning upon arrival for
contagious or infectious disease and not admitted if ill.

4. All medications, cleaning agents, poisons, and pesticides must be kept out of the reach of children.

5. Diapers shall be changed upon soiling. No child(ren) should remain in wet or dirty diapers. All providers must wash hands
before and after diapering children.

6. Garbage and/or trash must be removed from the home regularly and from the grounds at least once a week. Garbage should
be kept in a closed container and out of reach of children.

7. The home must have running hot and cold water, clean toilets, a fire extinguisher, and a first aid kit. A box of baking soda must
be kept in the kitchen to help extinguish small grease fires. The home must be kept clean and free of dangerous conditions
and all heat sources shielded, and all electrical outlets protected by safety coverings. The home must have a working
telephone.

8. There must be clean individual beds, cots, mattresses, or pads provided for each child to use for naps. Linens should be washed
and kept clean.

9. No smoking, tobacco use, illegal drug use; including but not limited to cocaine, crack, LSD, marijuana, and/or alcohol, is
allowed when children are present. All weapons; including but not limited to guns, arrows, hunting knives etc., on the
property should be contained in locked storage and secured from children.

10. Babies must be held while feeding. At no time should infants be propped with a bottle.

11. Children need to be treated with respect, love, and kindness. Smile and talk to children often in normal tones. Encourage and
reward good behavior. Harsh tones of voice and humiliation are not to be used with children.

12. No form of corporal or harsh punishment including yelling, slapping or spanking, or total isolation shall be used as discipline
measures.

13. Children must be placed in age appropriate vehicle safety restraints when riding in ANY vehicle. The driver shall have a valid
driver’s license.

14. All children must be supervised by an adult of 18 years or more at all times.

15.  Any food/formula that is brought in by the parent to the provider must be stored in the refrigerator and nutritious meals and
snacks should be prepared and served daily, using a variety of foods selected from nutritional guidelines that meet the daily
needs of all ages served. Also, providers should avoid using foods that cause allergies, as noted by the parent.

16. | certify that | have not been convicted of a felony, nor has my name been placed on the Child Abuse and Neglect Central
Registry. | understand that a Form 107 must be complete and updated in order to be an approved provider.

17. | certify that | will never exceed the number of children allowed for care at any time.

18. Parents and must have unlimited access to their child while under my care.

19. All representatives of MDHS must be afforded unlimited access to all records and reports required by representatives of
MDHS.

20. | agree to fully cooperate with on-site monitoring visits.

21. lunderstand that failure to comply with these conditions can result in my debarment from the Child Care Payment Program.

Signature of

Provider Date
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SERVICES A dix I
Don THomPsoN ppendix
Executive DIRECTOR
August 24, 2010
AUGL46
MEMORANDUM NO. 7643 DIVISION OF ECONOMIC ASSISTANCE

TANF
TO County Directors

FROM: Cheryl Sparkman, Director 7 '
Division of Economic = :
ANccic ;

RE: Boys & Girls Clubs - After School and Summer Child Care Services

This memorandum is issued to remind case management staff that after school and summer child care
services are still provided by the Boys and Girls Clubs and to update the procedures issued in
2005.

The Boys and Girls Clubs receive funding through the Mississippi Department of Human Services
to provide after school and summer child care services for eligible children. TANF parents and
caretaker relatives who are interested in these services will be given a verbal referral to the local
Boys and Girls Club to arrange child care services for their eligible children. Case
managers will inform parents/caretakers that Boys and Girls Clubs charge a registration fee for
each child and they will be responsible for paying these fees.

The regular TWP/TCC child care referral process will not apply if the parent/caretaker informs the case
manager of his/her choice prior to generating and faxing a CR01, Child Care Referral, to the OCY
Designated Agent. In this situation, the case manager will provide a verbal referral and document the
case record accordingly via the PACK screen in JAWS. Anytime, after a child care referral (CR0O1)
has been processed, a parent/caretaker chooses a Boys & Girls Club as the child care provider, the OCY
Designated Agent will notify the case manager and document the Weekly Recap form accordingly.
OCY Designated Agents will not issue a TANF/CCDF child care certificate to a Boys and Girls
Club.

County Directors should ensure the Boys and Girls Clubs are included in their county's Resource
Directory for after school and summer child care referral purposes.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact your Regional

Director. CS :JD:VB:SG:sg

pc: Regional Directors
Jill Dent, Director, Office for Children and Youth

Approved by: CS

PO BOX 352. 750 NORTH STATE STREET JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI 39205 - TELEPHONE (601) 359-4800 www,mdhs.ms.gov
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MISSISSIPPI
;‘;{/1:3'35%2’;‘3'43'11'“ REFERRAL FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES Appendix ]
FOSTER/PROTECTIVE/PREVENTIVE CARE

Section A: Child Information (only one child should be entered per referral)

Child’s Name: Child’s DOB: MDHS Case No:
Child’s Social Security #: Child’s Medicaid #: MDHS Case Type*:
Social Worker Name & Signature: | Date of Referral: Does this child have special needs?

Child Ethnicity:

O American Indian or Alaskan Native O Asian
O Black or African American [ Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
O White or Caucasian O Hispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above)

Section B: Parent/Placement Guardian Information

Parent/Placement Guardian Name: | Address & Phone #: County:

Parent/Placement Guardian

L O American Indian or Alaskan Native O Asian
EthnlClty: O Black or African American O Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
O White or Caucasian O Hispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above)
Section C: Type of Care Requested
Please indicate the days of the week and the hours for which care is needed. Example: X Monday From 7:00 AM To 5:30 PM
O Monday O Tuesday O Wednesday O Thursday O Friday O Saturday gm day
From From From From From From From
____ AM PM ___ AM PM ____ AM PM ____ AM PM ____ AM PM ___ AM PM o
AM PM
To To To To To To
AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM | To
AM PM
Section D: Requested Care Provider
Name of Provider: Provider Address: Phone #: Date Care
Begins:

*ELIGIBLE CASE TYPES

PROTECTIVE AND PREVENTIVE CASES: COURT ORDERED CASES IN WHICH A FORMALIZED PLAN FOR RESOLVING DYSFUNCTIONS IS PUT IN
PLACE ALONG WITH THE PROVISION OF SUPPORT SERVICES FOR STABILIZATION OF THE FAMILY, OR FAMILY PRESERVATION SERVICES ARE
BEING PROVIDED TO THE FAMILY.

OR

PLACEMENT CASES: COURT ORDERED IN CUSTODY OF MDHS AND PLACED IN A LICENSED RESOURCE HOME OR WITH AN APPROVED
RELATIVE. THE RESOURCE FAMILY OR APPROVED RELATIVE NEEDS SUPPORT SERVICES.
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Appendix K
Rev 11/11

NOTIFICATION OF TERMINATION OF CHILD CARE SUBSIDY SERVICES
(FOSTER, PROTECTIVE, PREVENTIVE SERVICE)

NAME OF CHILD:

DATE OF
BIRTH:

NAME OF PARENT/GUARDIAN:

ADDRESS:

PHONE NUMBER:
COUNTY AND CODE:

CHILD’S SOCIAL SECURITY #:
CHILD’S MEDICAID #:

There is no longer a need for child care services for the above named child and the case has been
closed. The client is therefore no longer eligible for services.

DATE OF CASE CLOSURE:

MDHS SOCIAL WORKER:

DATE:
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Appendix L
Rev 11/11

CCPS ELIGIBILITY REDETERMINATION FORM

1. Parent/Legally Responsible Person Information
Name

Mailing Address

City Zip

Physical Address, if different than mailing address

Parent Social Security No.
County of Residence
Phone (home) (work)
Single _ Married___ Separated  Divorced
Place of Employment
Spouse’s Place of Employment
Are you a teen parent?

Are you currently deployed military?

2. Please list all persons living in the home (Include all children needing care)

Name (List yourself first)

Please write date of birth and Social Security No. for any
new child(ren). Indicate if the child has special needs,
and/or is enrolled in Head Start or Kindergarten

6.

7.

Please list all sources of income in your household.

Source of Income Person Receiving Gross Amount How Often? Check all that Apply
Income (Weekly, Every 2
weeks, Monthly)
Employment SELF Attach Check Stubs [IDay Shift
Employment SPOUSE Attach Check Stubs LINight Shift
Self-employment Attach Documentation [1Swing Shift
SSi $ CIClinicals/Practicum
Social Security/Other $ [CIHigh School
Child $ [JCollege
Support/Alimony

Return this form with requested documentation by

(Please note that failure to submit this completed form AND requested documentation by the due date will result in termination of certificates.)

O

| certify the above information is true and correct.

Parent Signature
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Monthly Child Care Co-Payment Fees for Parents

Appendix M
Rev 11/11

TANF, TCC Clients and children in foster care or protective services and children receiving SSI benefits

should be assessed a co-pay of $10.00 per month.

Annual Gross Family Income Range Family of 2 Family of 3 Family of 4 Family of 5 Family of 6
From to Under 1 1 2 1 2 1 2 1 2

0 9,999 10 10 20 10 20 10 20 10 20
10,000 10,999 18 13 23 10 20 10 20 10 20
11,000 11,999 27 22 32 17 27 12 22 10 20
12,000 12,999 35 30 40 25 35 20 30 15 25
13,000 13,999 43 38 48 33 43 28 38 23 33
14,000 14,999 52 47 57 42 52 37 47 32 42
15,000 15,999 60 55 65 50 60 45 55 40 50
16,000 16,999 68 63 73 58 68 53 63 48 58
17,000 17,999 77 72 82 67 77 62 72 57 67
18,000 18,999 85 80 90 75 85 70 80 65 75
19,000 19,999 93 88 98 83 93 78 88 73 83
20,000 20,999 102 97 107 92 102 87 97 82 92
21,000 21,999 110 105 115 100 110 95 105 90 100
22,000 22,999 118 113 123 108 118 103 113 98 108
23,000 23,999 127 122 132 117 127 112 122 107 117
24,000 24,999 135 130 140 125 135 120 130 115 125
25,000 25,999 143 138 148 133 143 128 138 123 133
26,000 26,999 151 147 157 142 152 137 147 132 142
27,000 27,999 140 150
28,000 28,999 148 158
29,000 29,999 157 167
30,000 30,999 165 175
31,000 31,999 173 183
32,000 32,999 182 192
33,000 33,999 190 200
34,000 34,999 198 208
35,000 35,999 207 217
36,000 36,999 215 225
37,000 37,999 223 233
38,000 38,999 232 242
39,000 39,999 240 250
40,000 40,999 248 258
41,000 41,999 257 267
42,000 42,999 265 275
43,000 43,999 273 283
44,000 44,999 282 292
45,000 45,999 290 300
46,000 46,999 298 308
47,000 47,999 307 317
48,000 48,999 315 325
49,000 49,999 323 333
50,000 50,999 331 341

Availability is limited to those families earning 85% or less than the SMI.

Boldface figures represent 50% SMI.

Family size of seven (7) or more should be treated the same as a family of six (6).

Effective: October 1, 2004
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Appendix N

Rev 11/11
DECCD Provider Reimbursement Rates

Licensed Centers/Group Child Care
Homes Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3

Full-Time
0-12 mo 86.52 78.28
13-36 mo 82.40 75.19
3-5 years 78.28 72.10
Summer 5-13 years 76.00 71.07
Special Needs (all ages) 91.00 85.49

Part-Time
0-12 mo 43.26 39.14
13-36 mo 42.23 38.11
3-5 years 40.17 36.05
5-13 years 46.35 42.23
Special Needs (all ages) 47.38 43.26
Family Child Care Homes/In-Home Child
Care Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3

Full-Time
0-12 mo 62.83 56.65 45.32
13-36 mo 59.74 54.59 43.26
3-5 years 56.65 51.50 41.20
Summer 5-13 years 55.62 50.47 40.17
Special Needs (all ages) 66.95 60.77 48.41

Part-Time
0-12 mo 31.93 28.84 22.66
13-36 mo 30.90 27.81 22.66
3-5 years 28.84 25.75 20.60
5-13 years 28.84 25.75 20.60
Special Needs (all ages) 33.99 30.90 24.72
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Appendix O

Rev. 11/11
MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT CENTRAL REGISTRY CHECK

Return to DECCD.
NOTE: Incomplete or unsigned forms will be returned unprocessed.

1. IN-HOME PROVIDER PHYSICAL ADDRESS, IF DIFFERENT THAN MAILING ADDRESS

NAME

MAILING ADDRESS COUNTY OF RESIDENCE

CITY ZIP PHONE

(Home) (Cell)
2. PLEASE LIST ALL PERSONS LIVING IN THE HOME OVER 18, relative and non-relative
SOCIAL
BIRTH RELATION SECURITY
NAME (LIST YOURSELF FIRST) SEX DATE TO YOU NUMBER SIGNATURE & DATE

1 SELF

By signing this form, | give the Mississippi Department of Human Services, Division of Early Childhood Care & Development
permission to request an MDHS Child Abuse And Neglect Central Registry back ground check. | understand that this information will
only be used for determining provider eligibility and will not be re-disseminated to other persons or used for other purposes. |
understand that if | fail to accurately report ALL persons over the age 18 living in the home, | may be suspended/barred from
participation in the certificate program.

This section will be completed by MDHS

No identifying information was found in the Central Registry
The following information was found in the Central Registry (attached)

Signature of MDHS Representative Date
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Appendix P
Provider Report of Underpayment Form
DECCD Mississippi Child Care Payment Program

Instructions for completing this form:

Ll N

ROo~NO O

All requests for adjustments to providers due to underpayment by DECCD must be submitted on this form.

All forms must be typewritten or printed in ink.

Copies of all supporting documentation must be included with this form.

The Provider/Center Name, Provider/Center 1D, mailing address, phone number must be included on the form.  All incomplete forms will be
returned to the provider.

This request form must be submitted within ten days of receipt of incorrect payment in order to be considered for adjustment.

The reason for request must be clear and detailed.

This form must be signed by an authorized representative.

The child care provider is responsible for including copies of all documentation needed to support their report.

Burden of proof rests with the provider. 1 appropriate documentation cannot be supplied to support this report, no adjustments will be made.

. Return this form to:

DECCD
P.O. Box 352
Jackson, Mississippi 39202

Provider/Center
Name:

Provider/Center ID
Number:

Mailing Address:

Provider Phone
Number:

Sectionl: Reason for Request of Payment Adjustment:

Section 2: Child and Parent Information

Name of Child(ren) Authorization ID | Name of Parent

Signature of Authorized Representative Date
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT

750 NORTH STATE STREET, SUITE 507
JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI 39202

| CHHID-CAREMISSISSIPPI CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM POLICY MANUAL

| FFY - 20422013

Effective: February-1,2012 October 1, 2012
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Notice:

Because of the statewide rollout of the Mississippi eChildcare component of the Mississippi Child
Care Payment Program, please refer the table below to determine which dates and chapters of this
document apply to counties across the State.

Chapter Number Applicable Dates Applicable Counties
Chapter 1 October 1, 2012 Statewide
Chapter 2 November 1, 2012 Adams, Amite, Bolivar,

Carroll, Claiborne, Coahoma,
Copiah, Desoto, Franklin,
Grenada, Hinds, Holmes,
Humphreys, Issaquena, Jeff
Davis, Jefferson, Lawrence,
Leflore, Lincoln, Madison,
Marion, Montgomery, Panola,
Pike, Quitman, Rankin,
Sharkey, Simpson, Sunflower,
Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica,
Walthall, Warren,
Washington, Wilkinson,
Yalobusha, Yazoo

ALL OTHER COUNTIES
WILL REFER TO CHAPTER
1 UNTIL FEBRUARY 2013

Chapter 2 February 1, 2013 Statewide

101



Contents

INTRODUCTION ..ottt 106
SECTION 100: CHILD CARE SERVICES........ccoiiiiiiiiiie e 107
100.01 PURPOSE OF FUNDING SOURCE .........cccoiiiiiiiiiniii s 107
100.02 LEGAL AUTHORITY ..ot 107
100.03 RESPONSIBILITIES AND THE RIGHT TO PARENTAL CHOICE.................. 107
100.04 NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY ....ocoiiiiiiiiiiiiici e 108
100.05 SAFEGUARDING INFORMATION ....ooiiiiiiiiiiiiiei e 108
CHAPTER 1 .ottt bbb 109
SECTION 101: CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM .......ccciiiiiiiiiiii e 109
101.01 POLICIES FOR THE CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM .......cccocvviiinnns 109
101.02 ELIGIBILITY PRIORITY POPULATIONS ..ot 109
SECTION 102: CRITERIA FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES.........c.cccoiiiiiiiiiiiieee 111
102.01 ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS ..o 111
102.02 APPLICATION PROCEDURES ..ottt 113
102.03 WAITING LIST ..ot 113
102.03 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION FOR SERVICES ..o 114
102.04 RE-DETERMINATION ..ottt 120
SECTION 103: CO-PAYMENT FEES ... 121
103.01 DETERMINING CO-PAYMENT FEES .......ccoiiiii 121
103.02 ASSESSING CO-PAYMENT FEES PER CHILD ......cccccoiiiiiiiiiiiiccece 121
103.03 NON-PAYMENT OF CO-PAYMENT FEES.........cccooiii 122
103.04 CO-PAYMENT RECOUPMENT/REPAYMENT .....ccoiiiiiiiiiiieeese e 122
103.05 PRORATING CO-PAYMENT FEES ... 122
SECTION 104: PAYMENTS TO PROVIDERS FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES.............. 123
104.01 SIGN-IN/OUT SHEETS ...t 123
104.02 PAYMENT LEDGER PROCESSES ........ccoiiiiiiieiieieeeeeee e 123
104.03 LEDGER PAYMENTS .....oiiiiiiii e 123
104.04 RATES AND CENTER POLICIES ......ccciiiiiiiiiiicee e 123
104.04 OVER-PAYMENTS AND UNDER-PAYMENTS ..o 125
104.06 ABSENTEES AND NOTICE........ccoiiiiiiiiiie e 125
SECTION 105: INTERRUPTION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES...........cccooiiiiiiiiiiicns 127
105.01 ALLOWABLE LEAVE TIME FOR PARENTS .....cooiiiiiieice e 127

102



105.02 REASONS FOR TERMINATION......cciiiiiiiiii i 129

105.03 CHANGE IN PROVIDER.......cci ittt 129
SECtION 106 DISPUTES ........oio ittt ettt e e b e te e sra e e beesanas 130
106.01 PARENTAL AND PROVIDER DISPUTES .......ccccoiiiieieieese e 130
SECTION 107: FRAUD AND ABUSE .......oooi ittt 131
107.01 POLICY STATEMENT ..ottt ae e e ne e 131
107.02 SUSPECTED FRAUD OR ABUSE OF FUNDS.........cccccciiiieiice e 131
107.03 RECOUPMENT OF FUNDS ......cooiiiiiiece ettt 131
107.04 FINAL DISPOSITION FOR ACTION ....ocoiiiiiceecie et 132
SECTION 108: MONITORING.......ccctiiiiiiicie ettt ta e e e te e ra e esraene s 133
108.01 MONITORING PROCEDURE ........cccieiiiii et 133
108.02 SUSPENSION AND DEBARMENT .......ooiiiiiiiieecee et 134
Section 109 PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT LEVELS ........c.coooiiiieiiecce e 135
GLOSSARY OF TERMS ... ..ottt s be et te e sre e beeannas 137
CHAPTER 2 ...ttt ettt ettt s ettt sese e b e b ese s et ebese e s ebeseasanes 144
SECTION 101: CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM .......coooiieiiiicieeie e 144
101.01 ELIGIBILITY FOR THE CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM ......c..ccceeneee 144
101.02 ELIGIBILITY PRIORITY POPULATIONS ..o 144
SECTION 102: CRITERIA FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES........ccccoeiiiiieiie e 145
102.01 ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS .......ooiiiitie ettt ne e 145
102.02 PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT LEVELS ..., 147
102.03 APPLICATION PROCEDURES .......c.ocot ittt 149
102.04 WAITING LIST ..ottt sra e be s rneere e 149
102.05 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION FOR SERVICES .......cccccooiiiieiieeciccee 150
102.06 RE-DETERMINATION .....cciiiiiie ittt ettt sre e sraene s 156
SECTION 103: CO-PAYMENT FEES ........ooii ettt 157
103.01 DETERMINING CO-PAYMENT FEES ......cccooi i 157
103.02 ASSESSING CO-PAYMENT FEES PER CHILD ......cccoccoviiiiiiceccececccee 157
103.03 NON-PAYMENT OF CO-PAYMENT FEES........cccoiii i 158
103.04 CO-PAYMENT RECOUPMENT/REPAYMENT ......coooiiiiiiiiice e 158
103.05 PRORATING CO-PAYMENT FEES .......coooiiie e 158
SECTION 104: MISSISSIPPI ECHILDCARE ......ccvieiii ettt 159
104.01 DESCRIPTION OF POS AND IVR USE........ootiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieriineneneninnnn. 159

103



104.02 CLIENT RESPONSIBILITIES FOR RECORDING CHILD ATTENDANCE.... 160

SECTION 105: PAYMENTS TO PROVIDERS FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES.............. 162
105.01 SIGN-IN/OUT SHEETS ...ttt s 162
105.02 PAYIMENTS ..ottt bbbttt e nne s 162
105.03 CONDITIONS OF PAYMENT ...oiiiiiieieiiesieeies ettt 163
105.04 ABSENTEES AND NOTICE.......cccoiiiiiiieieieieie e 165
106.01 ALLOWABLE LEAVE TIME FOR PARENTS .....ccoiiiiiiiiiinieeee e 167
106.02 REASONS FOR TERMINATION ..ottt s eneas 169
105.03 CHANGE IN PROVIDER......ccciiiitiiiiieit ettt ene s 169

SECtioN 107 DISPUTES .......ooiiiiiieiieie ettt bbbttt st enrenneas 170
107.01 PARENTAL AND PROVIDER DISPUTES ......cccceiititiiceeeeieiese e 170

SECTION 108: FRAUD AND ABUSE .......cccoiiieitcie sttt aneas 171
108.01 POLICY STATEMENT ..ottt sttt 171
108.02 SUSPECTED FRAUD OR ABUSE OF FUNDS.........cccoooiiiiiniiinsee e 171
108.03 RECOUPMENT OF FUNDS .......ootiiiiiiieecieeeie e 171
108.04 FINAL DISPOSITION FOR ACTION ....oiiiiiieienieiie sttt 172

SECTION 109: MONITORING......ccotiiiieieie ettt sneeneeneas 173
109.01 MONITORING PROCEDURE ........ccccitiiiiiieieie e 173
109.02 SUSPENSION, DEBARMENT, AND PENALTIES .....cccooiiiiieeeneneceeieins 174

GLOSSARY OF TERMS ...ttt sttt bt nneas 178
APPENAIX ALttt ettt s e s 78
APPENAIX B ..ottt e re e areens 187
N o] 01T 00 [ SOOI 188
APPENTIX D e bbbttt bbb 189
APPENAIX E oot te e e e ae e ars 190
F AN o] o 1=] 0o [ G ST ROPPP 191
APPENTIX G (FTONT) ..ot b e 193
APPENAIX H .ot e et e et e e e e et e et re e naae s 195
F AN o] o 1=1 0o LG ST ROPPP 196
APPENTIX K ettt bbbttt bbb 198
AN o] o 1= 0 o [ G PSPPI 199
F AN o] o 1=] 0T DG 1Y PSPPSR 200
APPENTIX N Lot e bbbttt bbb 201


file:///C:/Users/ocy014/Desktop/Policy%20Manual%20Updates/2013PolicyDraftSOS.docx%23_Toc334091125

N o] 017 00 [ S 202

APPENAIX P bbb 203
APPENDICES:
Appendix A:  Child Care Services Application
Appendix B:  Parent’s Statement of Agreement
Appendix C:  Child Care Documentation Checklist
Appendix D:  Guardianship/In Loco Parentis Verification
Appendix E:  Verification of Application for Child Support Services
Appendix F:  Child Care Certificate & Parent(s) Rights
Appendix G:  Child Care Provider Statement of Agreement
Appendix H:  Basic Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances For Unlicensed Child Care
Providers
Appendix I:  Referral to the Boys and Girls Clubs and TANF/TCC Referral Process
Appendix J:  Referral for Child Care Services - Protective Services & Foster Care
Appendix K:  Notification of Termination of Child Care Services
Appendix L:  Redetermination Form
Appendix M:  Monthly Child Care Co-payment Fees for Parents
Appendix N:  DECCD Weekly Child Care Reimbursement Tiers
Appendix O:  Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry Check
| Appendix P: _Provider Report of Under Payment Form

105



MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM POLICY MANUAL

INTRODUCTION

Section 100 -

Section 101 -

Section 102 -

This Policy Manual establishes policies and procedures for the Division of Early
Childhood Care and Development in the administration of the Child Care Payment
Program (CCPP).

The Division of Early Childhood Care and Development (DECCD) establishes
policy in compliance with the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act, as
amended, the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) regulations, and the
CCDF State Plan.

Parental choice in the selection of a child care provider is the cornerstone of the
Child Care and Development Fund. Services to eligible parents are to be provided
as quickly and efficiently as possible, subject to the availability of funds. DECCD
should make available to all child care providers and parents all policies herein
specifying duties, requirements, and responsibilities required of them. DECCD
must also make available training on the policy herein, for all licensed and
unlicensed child care providers serving certificate children, no less than annually.
The person designated to attend may be the Director, Owner, or an authorized
representative.  Participation in training is required for all providers.
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SECTION 100: CHILD CARE SERVICES
100.01 PURPOSE OF FUNDING SOURCE

(1)  This manual sets forth policies and procedures for the Mississippi Child Care Payment
Program (CCPP), funded by the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) and
administered by the Mississippi Department of Human Services (MDHS), Division of
Early Childhood Care and Development (DECCD).

(2)  The purpose of the Child Care and Development Fund, according to federal regulations, is
to "increase the availability, affordability, and quality of child care services." The goal of
DECCD through the CCPP is to offer a seamless system of high quality child care which
supports both children and their families, and operates within federal guidelines.

(3) CCDF funds will be used to provide child care services for Temporary Assistance for
Needy Families (TANF), Transitional Child Care (TCC) Families, and eligible families at
risk of going on TANF with very low-income and low-income. Very low-income families
are those whose income is at or below 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).
Low-income families whose income falls above 50 percent and at or below 85 percent of the
SMI.

100.02 LEGAL AUTHORITY
(1) Title VI -Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF)

Legislation: Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
(P.L. 104-193).

Regulations: 45CFR Parts 98 and 99 and Final Regulations published in the Federal
Register, July 24, 1998 at 63 FR 39981.

100.03 GHH-D-CARE-RESPONSIBH-IHHES-RESPONSIBILITIES AND THE RIGHT TO
PARENTAL CHOICE

1) Parents are legally and morally responsible for their children and have the right to select the
child care provider of their choice.

2 Child care providers are responsible for providing a safe and secure, high quality
educational, nurturing environment for children in their care.

3) DECCD must assist parent(s) in assessing their child care needs and, upon request, provide

a list of licensed facilities for parent(s) who do not have a ready choice. DECCD will not
influence parent(s) to choose a particular provider and/or facility.
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100.04 NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY

Individuals shall not be discriminated against on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin,
religion, age, or handicapping conditions in the provision of child care services.

100.05 SAFEGUARDING INFORMATION

Employees of DECCD and child care providers are prohibited from using or disclosing any
information concerning a parent's use of services for any purpose not in conformity with federal
and state requirements, except with the written consent of the parent or authorized representative.
The public will not be able to request a copy of client information and/or records. An authorized
representative is an individual who has the legal right to speak or act on the parent's behalf.
Documentation of this designation must be contained in the parent's file.
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‘ CHAPTER 1
SECTION 101: CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

’ 101.01 POLICIES ANB-PROCEDURES-FOR THE CHILD CARE PAYMENT
PROGRAM

The child care certificate is a document issued directly to eligible parent(s) or authorized

representatives, provided that funds are available. The certificate allows the parent to select the
child care provider of his/her choice.

101.02 ELIGIBILITY PRIORITY POPULATIONS

If funds are available, children must be served on a first-come, first-served basis in order of
eligibility priority. Applications must be date-stamped as they are received. CCDF child care
services will be available to children of parents according to the following priorities:

1° Child Care for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)

2" Child Care for Transitional Child Care (TCC)

31 Children of very low-income working parent(s) whose income is at or below 50
percent of the State Median Income (SMI) who are at risk of going on TANF, in the
following order:

A. Children in Protective Services or Foster Care;

B. Children with Special Needs (up to 85% of the SMI);

C.  Children of parent(s) deployed in the Mississippi National Guard, or Reserve
(up to 85% of the SMI);

D.  Children of Teen Parent(s) currently enrolled in high school full-time;

E. Children served by the Healthy Homes Mississippi home visitation

program;

EE. —Children of all other eligible parent(s) at this income level, including
parents enrolled in an approved educational program, whether working or
not.
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4t Based upon the availability of funding, children of parent(s) working the required
25 hours per week and/or are enrolled in an approved educational program whose
income falls above 50 percent of the SMI and at or below 85 percent of the SMI.
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SECTION 102: CRITERIA FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
102.01 ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS

1)

)

Parents have the right to choose the type of child care they would like for their child. The
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development has categorized the choices available to
parents as follows: a licensed child care center, group home, family child care home, or

in- home Chl|d care prOV|dera—eh#d—eaFe—eentePg¥eup—heme—faFm4y—day—eare—heme

eut—ef—heme)— Parents must—shall select a CCPP approved prowder No payments WH—l
shall be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to become ar-a CCPP approved
provider. See Glossary of Terms for definitions of each.

i. Child Care Centers and Group Homes
In order to receive reimbursement for services rendered, a child care center or
group home must be licensed by the Mississippi State Department of Health. A
copy of the license must be filed with DECCD annually upon renewal. The child
care center or the group home must have a current license. Additionally, these
licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the Mississippi State
Department of Health’s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Facilities.

ii. If a center's license expires and services are being provided for children on the
CCPP, DECCD may continue to pay the provider under the following conditions:

A. The Health Department has not officially closed the center;

B. The center's director submits a written request, on center letterhead, for
child care payments to continue; and

C. The center provides copies of the licensing renewal fee payment,
documentation of a current inspection, and a copy of correspondence from
the licensing division stating why the license has not been renewed; and

D. A center with an expired license will be reimbursed for children with a
current certificate up to the time frame allowed by the Mississippi State
Department of Health; however, no new certificates will be issued until the
license is renewed.

E. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to
become an approved provider.

The decision to continue payments under these circumstances is solely at the

| (3

discretion of the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care & Development.
All requests for payments under these conditions shall be submitted in the form of a
written request to the Director describing the basis for the request to waive Provider
Termination.

I. Family Day Care Homes and Relative/Nen-Relativeln-Home Providers
In order to receive reimbursement, all unlicensed providers must keep a record of
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immunizations for_themselves and all children in their care in the form of a Form
121 Certificate of Immunization issued by the Department of Health, and a copy of
the Basic Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances. A signed copy of the Basic
Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances certifying that they will follow the
guidelines should also be filed with DECCD. Individual, unlicensed providers
must be at least eighteen (18) years of age and are prohibited by law from keeping
more than five (5) children who are not related to the provider within the third
degree computed according to civil law. A child care provider may not be
reimbursed if they reside in the same household as the child(ren). Proof of
separate residence may be required. Proof of residence will be established with a
current driver’s license or state issued 1.D. and another form of identification that
reflects the same address. A current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or
cable bill are acceptable. Addresses must match the address given as the location of
care submitted on the application.

In order for an unlicensed in-home provider to become/remain a CCPP approved
provider, all individuals over the age of 18 years (relative or non-relative) residing
and/or working full/part time in the provider’s residence shall submit all required
information to undergo the Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry Check.

This information is submitted on the Child Abuse and Neglect Central Reqgistry

Providers will be deemed ineligible to participate in the certificate program in the
event that they have prior convictions of child abuse and/or neglect. If an
individual residing and/or working with the provider in the provider’s home is
found to have a prior conviction of child abuse and/or neglect, eligibility will be
suspended/denied until such time as the provider can provide proof that the
offending individual no longer resides in the home. Failure on the part of the
provider to accurately complete Form 107 may result in suspension/debarment
from participation in the CCPP. Additionally, funds may-shall be recouped.

No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking te-become
an-approved-provider CCPP Approved Provider status. Approval is attained by
successful completion of the Child Care Provider Application located at
www.childcareinfo.ms.
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102.02 APPLICATION PROCEDURES

1)

)

(3)

(4)

-DECCD will accept applications throughout the year-areund. Referrals for TANF, o
Healthy Homes Mississippi, or Family & Children’s Services clients are accepted
throughout the year round-from Case Managers. All families eligible to receive services
will be added to the CCPP, as funding allows. Families will be served by date of
application and eligibility priority level.

Applications can be obtained by calling DECCD’s toll-free number, submitting a request
through email/postal mail, or by visiting DECCD’s website.

After completing the application, parents/guardians can return the application and all
required documentation by postal or electronic mail. Once all required documentation is
received, DECCD will review the information to determine eligibility and send a written
notice of eligibility, or ineligibility, or non-availability of funds within 10 business days,
unless a Waiting List is in effect. Refer to Section 102.03 for policies and procedures when
a Waiting List for services exists. If the parent falls within an eligibility priority group for
which funds are available, a certificate will be issued and mailed to the parent, who has up
to ten business days to return the signed certificate to DECCD. Once the 10 day window
has expired, the certificate will be considered abandoned and voided.

Parents must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care
provided while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider. BECEB-will

provideparents-with-a-listof approved-providers—A list of CCPP Approved Providers is

available at www.childcareinfo.ms.

102.03 WAITING LIST

| (1)

(2)

DECCD will accept applications for services al-throughout the year.  All families eligible

to receive services will be added to the CCPP, as funding allows, and notified by
September 1%, Families will be served according to the date of application and eligibility
priority level. All other applications will be placed on a waiting list, in order of date
received, by eligibility priority until May 31%. Any families on the waiting list not served
prior to May 31% must reapply annually in the months of June, July, and August.

When a Waiting List for the CCPP exists, applications for services will be date stamped

| (32)

and cateqgorized by priority level. Applicants will receive written notice that they are on
the Waiting List once the application is processed for eligibility. Applicants can refer to
www.childcareinfo.ms to determine if a Waiting List for CCPP exists. Applicants who
request applications by phone will be informed of the Waiting List by CCPP staff.

-If/When funds become available during the program year; certificates sheutd-shall be
issued by eligibility priority. All existing Priority 3A parents should be served first;
second, those who were enrolled in an educational/training program the semester prior to
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the beginning of the waiting list; third, those on waiting list by order of application date;

fourth,

existing Priority 3B parents; fifth, those who were enrolled in an

educational/training program in the semester prior to the beginning of the waiting list;
sixth, add waiting list parents by date of application and so on.

102.03 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION FOR SERVICES

1) Eligibility Guidelines by Priority Group

A.

TANF Parent(s) - TANF clients are not required to complete an application form.
Eligibility for CCPP for TANF parent(s) is determined by the MDHS, Division of
Economic Assistance Case Manager for full or part time care. TANF clients will
receive a certificate based on the referral and termination dates entered by the
TANF Case Manager. The TANF parent is required to participate in an allowable
TANF program activity. Each participant must comply with all the requirements

of the TANF program. As-efJuly-1-2010FANFchents-are-aHowed-to-worka
13 )’. 1+ b H - 1F1

compressed-—sehedule”—For Ehes.e families—whe—select-this-eption—ceriificates
iy _be “”Ete“.le' 'H".;."“e elale HANF-clients—hot-selecting-this-option-wil

TCC Parent(s) — Clients referred for Transitional Child Care ehients are not required
to complete an application form. Eligibility for TCC €SPP-should be determined
by the MDHS, Division of Economic Assistance Case Manager. TCC clients will
receive a certificate based on the referral and termination dates entered by the Case
Manager.__Terminations to clients receiving TCC can also occur when DECCD
determines that the client is not in compliance with case requirements prescribed by
the MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement.

Very Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time
child care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled
full-time in high school, enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family’s gross income
must be at 50 percent or below the State Median Income. Children with special
needs and children of deployed parents may be served in this Priority up to 85% of
the SMI. Irregular hours of employment and income should be averaged.

Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time child
care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled full-time
in high school or enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
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work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family’s gross income
must be at or above 50 percent of the State Median Income and at or below 85
percent of the State Median Income. Irregular hours of employment and income
should be averaged.

——Post-Secondary Students - Certificates should only be written for one
semester/quarter at a time. The beginning date of the certificate should be the first
day of the month of class, for which proof of enrollment was provided, and the
ending date is the last day of the month ending the semester. Students should be
allowed 30 days from the ending date of the previous semester to complete the
application process. Graduating seniors will have up to 60 days to find
employment before their certificate is terminated, unless determined eligible
otherwise.

Resident -In/Out of State Students - If a parent attends school in/out of state, the
application should be made in the parent’s name using the address where the
child(ren) resides._ Parents with residences outside the State of Mississippi should
apply with their state of residence.

The 25 hours per week work requirement is reduced for foreign students who hold a
VISA because they are permitted to work only on campus for 20 hours per week.
In order to remain eligible a copy of the VISA must be submitted annually to make
sure it is current.

Foster Children and children in Protective or Preventive Services are eligible for
child care services without regard to the income of the guardian. Foster children,
and children in Protective or Preventive Services will receive funding based on the
referral and termination by the Case Manager, no application is required. When a
child’s case is closed by the Division of Family and Children’s Services, that
agency will send a Notification of Termination of Child Care for children receiving
services through Foster Care, Protective Services or Prevention Services to
DECCD.

Parents may apply for a certificate whethat have been laid off or have lost their job
for other reasons. These certificates will be issued for 60 days from the parent(s)
last date of employment.__This policy only applies when a parent notifies DECCD
of the loss of employment within 10 business days of the loss.

Children being served by the MDHS Healthy Homes Mississippi (HHM) home

visitation program are eligible for child care services without regard to income.
Children will be served based on referral and termination information received
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from HHM Family Support Workers.

Income to Be Considered in Calculating Total Family Income

A.

Gross income of applicant and spouse should be considered if the spouse is living
in the home. Do not consider a spouse’s income if they are separated and residing
in a separate residence. All income above or less than 40 hours per week is
considered irregular income. Irregular income and commissions should be
averaged. For commissions and tips, the amount on the paycheck stub or
statement from an employer should be averaged and added to regular work income.
Do not consider bonus monies as income. If a parent is self-employed,
individual/family total income is considered.

Social Security benefits for parents and child(ren) must be counted as income.
If a parent receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI), it should be counted as

income. If a child(ren) receives SSI, the SSI for the child(ren) should not be
counted as income.

Income earned by an adult living in the home, not married to the applicant; but who
is the biological parent of the child for whom services are being requested, ircome
should be counted. Income or work status of H-there-is another adult residing in

should not be counted. Do not include these individuals in determining the size of

numberin-the household unless they are the biological parents of the child(ren) for
whom application for service is being made.

I. All Pparents must comply with Child Support Enforcement requirements in
order to receive a child care certificate(s). A Verification for Child
Support Services Form should be mailed to parents as part of the Child Care
Payment Program Application packet. Parents must complete the
Verification Form and return it to DECCD as part of the completed
application._In the case of TANF and TCC clients, information needed for
this verification is provided in the referral made by the TANF/TCC
Caseworker.

ii. All single or separated parents who do not currently have an open child
support case must contact the MDHS County Child Support Office for an
appointment to open a case(s) or to request a statement that the child or
children are exempt and the parent is excused from cooperating. Married
parents are not required to go through the MDHS, Division of Child
Support Enforcement. This includes parents who have an existing order for
child support issued by a judge.
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F.

iii.  MDHS, Division of Child Support Enforcement may provide exemptions
based upon Claims of Good Cause such as, but not limited to:

a.

b.

oo

The noncustodial parent has caused physical and/or emotional harm
to the child.

Physical and/or emotional harm caused by the noncustodial parent
to the relative caring for the child limiting the custodial parent’s
ability to care for the child.

A child conceived as a result of incest or rape.

Pending legal adoption proceedings.

A public or private social services agency assisting you, the
custodial parent, to decide whether to keep the child or to release the
child for adoption.

v, When the completed Verification for Child Support Form is received by
DECCD, the following steps will occur:

a.

d.

e.

If the parent has checked “yes” in the first column, indicating that
they have a Child Support case through DHS, pull up the Child
Support website,

Search by parent’s Social Security Number,

Click “select” and pull up and print the parent’s information,
including payments,

Attach the printout to the application and use the amount when
calculating income and co-payment for the parent,

At annual re-certification, repeat step “iii” above.

Any parent enrolled full-time in high school or in a GED program may make an
application in his/her own name, as a family unit separate from his/her parent. If
the teen parent is underage-and-living with his/her parent(s), the parent of the teen
must meet the work requirements; however, the teen’s parents’ income should not
be considered. If a teen parent lives in the home with her parent(s) or guardian, then
the parent(s) or guardian of a teen parent under the age of 18 must sign the
certificate and forms along with the teen parent.

No adult living in the home with the child may be paid for child care. Extenuating
cireumstances-will-be-handled-en-a-case-by-ease-basis—The biological parent of a

child shall not be reimbursed for providing child care for his/her own child(ren)
regardless of the location of their residence.

Documents Required for Eligibility Determination

A

Income Documents:

I Two paycheck stubs from within the past 30 days. If paid once a month,
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only one check stub is required.

If a new job, the employer’s letter on employer’s company letterhead or
employer’s notarized statement verifying employment, income, rate of pay
and number of hours worked. Actual check stubs must be submitted
within 30 days.

Parents paid in cash should obtain a certified letter from the employer on
company letterhead or employer’s notarized statement verifying
employment, income, rate of pay and number of hours worked.

Parents employed by temporary agencies may be certified with an original
letter from an employer on company letterhead verifying employment, rate
of pay, and number of hours worked. The letter of employment must be
followed up with check stubs within 30 days.

Copy of Estimated Quarterly Tax Report if self-employed, or seme-another
form of income documentation approved by DECCD. The Oother
acceptable forms of income documentation includes a Federal 1040_Tax
Form and-including the Profit or Loss Statement (Schedule C). DECCD
will use the “Total Sales and Receipts” amount located on the Profit/Loss
Statement to determine if the work requirement has been met. DECCD will
use the amount located on line 22 of the Federal 1040 Tax Form to
determine income eligibility.

The Work Number, an automated service is an option for income and
employment verification.  This service is an acceptable source for
documenting employment and income. THE WORK NUMBER can be
used instead of the employer’s notarized statement or information on the
employer’s letterhead. Therefore, copies of check stubs are NO LONGER
required to be submitted for those parents whose employment uses The
Work Number Service. THE WORK NUMBER'’S website is
www.theworknumber.com,= e-mail address is
govinfo@theworknumber.com or 1-800-660-3399.

Educational Documents:

—Parents enrolled in an approved educational program must provide

enrollment documentation in the form of a letter from the institution’s
registrar confirming current full time enrollment. GED classes should be
handled the same as any other approved educational training.

Additional Required Documentation:

Long Form Birth Certificate - A 90-day grace period may-shall be allowed

118


http://www.theworknumber.com/
mailto:govinfo@theworknumber.com

(4)

to receive the birth certificate for a newborn. A 30-day grace period wiH
shall be allowed for all other children.

ii. Verification of social security numbers can be obtained from a copy of the
social security card, immunization—recordthe Form 121 Certificate of
Immunization issued by the Mississippi Department of Health, or other
official document showing the child’s and/or a parent’s name and social
security number.

iii. DECCD must provide a statement that makes it clear to CCPP applicants
that the provision of a Social Security Number is voluntary and that benefits
will not be denied or withheld for the failure to furnish a Social Security
Number. Instructions will be given to parents explaining how the Social
Security Number will be used if provided, in order to encourage applicants
who choose to provide them (e.g. to identify individuals with the same
name).

iv. If it is necessary for parents to supply additional documentation of proof of
residence, the parent must supply a current driver’s license or state issued
I.D. and a current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or cable bill.
The addresses on the driver’s license, 1.D. and bank statement/bill must
match and corroborate the address of residence supplied to DECCD.

Requirements for a Disabled Parent

A

If a two-parent family applies for assistance and one parent is working and the other
has a disability and is unable to care for the child(ren) as a result, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren).

If a single parent has a disability and has a physician’s statement stating the nature
of the disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren), the
application should be made in the responsible guardian’s name. The responsible
guardian is the person responsible for the parent’s affairs; the guardian must meet
the work requirement. The disabled parent’s Supplemental Security Income should
be used to calculate the co-payment fee.

If a single parent is disabled and there is no guardian, the application should be in
the single parent’s name. Child cCare can be provided if a written statement is
submitted by a physician stating the nature of the disability and that the parent is
unable to care for the child(ren).

If the guardian with whom the child(ren) reside(s) has a disability, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
disability and that the guardian is unable to care for the child(ren). Verification of
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cooperation with Child Support Enforcement is required if the biological parents
are not deceased.

Parents enlisted in the United States Military and Deployed

When parents are enlisted in the United States Military and deployed, the eligibility should
remain the same until the parent can provide the Military Income. The parent should
provide the Military Income as soon as he or she has documentation. The grandparents-or
the-responsible guardian’s income should not be counted but the-grandparents—orthe
responsible guardian must meet the 25 hours per week work requirement, unless they are
65 years of age or can provide proof that they have retired from full-time employment.

Pell Grants

Pell Grants should not be considered as income when determining eligibility. Pell Grant
funds and child care subsidy payments can be used simultaneously for child care services.

102.04 RE-DETERMINATION

1)

()

(3)

Re-Determination of working parent’s eligibility is to be re-established during the CCPP
year in the months of February, March, April, and May. DECCD will send a letter to
parent(s) requesting check stubs or other verification of employment and request
verification of household/marital status. If the CCPP Application Packet is not returned
by the due date indicated, a second notice should be mailed certified return receipt
requested. If the mail has been returned undeliverable, the child care provider should be
notified. Failure to comply with Re-Determination procedures may—shall result in
termination of certificates.

Re-Determination of parent’s eligibility for those enrolled in an approved educational
program is determined every semester or quarter. Documentation for redetermination
will include proof of school enrollment (if not currently on file), proof of employment,
proof of household size; and location, and proof of income. Failure to comply with
Re-Determination procedures may-shall result in termination of certificates.

When income is recalculated and there is a change in a co-payment fee, a notice is sent to
the parent and the provider. The updated co-payment fee is effective on the first day of the
month following the month of re-determination. If income increases beyond 85 percent of
the State Median Income, child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice. If the
parent is no longer working, child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice to the
child care provider. If the parent has been temporarily laid off or has lost a job for other
reasons, child care will not be terminated until 60 days after the last work day, giving the
parent time to be reinstated in their job or to search for a job, provided the parent notified
DECCD of loss of employment within 10 days of the event.
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SECTION 103: CO-PAYMENT FEES

103.01 DETERMINING CO-PAYMENT FEES

1)

()

TANF parents are not assessed a co-payment fee. For all other parents, co-payment fees
are determined based upon the parent's family size and income according to the CCDF
Child Care Monthly Co-payment Fee Scale for Parents.

Co-payment fees are redetermined when there is a change in the parent's income or
household size, or during annual redetermination of eligibility. The updated co-payment
fee is effective on the first day of the month following the month of re-determination.

103.02 ASSESSING CO-PAYMENT FEES PER CHILD

1)

)

(3)

(4)

If a parent has one child receiving full-time child care services, the total co-payment fee
should be placed on that child's certificate. If a parent has one child receiving part-time
child care services, only half of the total co-payment fee should be placed on the child’s
certificate.

If one child is in full-day care and part-day care during the same month, the fee should be
assessed on the majority of the type of care provided. For example, if a child is served 16
part-time days and five full-time days, the part-time co-payment fee would be assessed for
the month.

If a parent has more than one child receiving full-time service, the total co-payment fee is
divided equally among the number of children receiving care. If two or more children are
receiving part-time services, one half of the divided fee should be placed on each
certificate. If a parent has children receiving before/after child care and holiday/summer
child care, a full co-payment fee and a half co-payment fee are placed on each certificate
and the appropriate fee is deducted during the payment cycle.

Exceptions:

A. If a parent has two children, one who is receiving full-year, full-time child care and
one being added for holiday/summer child care only, the co-payment fee for the
full-year, full-time care will remain the same. The parent is assessed an additional
$10.00 fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

B. If a parent has two or more children receiving full-year, full-time child care and one
child receiving holiday/summer care only, the total co-payment fee is divided
equally among the children attending full-time. The parent is not assessed a
co-payment fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

C. Parents assessed a minimum co-payment fee are:

i. Foster Children
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ii. Children in Protective/Preventive Service

iii. Special Needs Children - Special Needs status must be documented. If
there are other children in the family who are receiving child care services,
the fee will be $10 or the child's prorated share of the family’s co-payment
fee, whichever is less. Services for children with Special Needs will
continue until the child reaches 18 years of age.

103.03 NON-PAYMENT OF CO-PAYMENT FEES

Co-payment fees are to be paid during the current month directly to the provider according to
payment arrangements established by the provider and parent. Providers must maintain proof of
collection of co-payment fees, identified separately from tuition overage payments made by
parents. Providers must provide proof of co-payment fees to parents in the form of a receipt
including the parent’s name, date and amount of payment, center name, if applicable, and the child
care provider’s name and signature.  If a parent fails to pay the co-payment fee prior to the end of
the month, the provider is required to notify DECCD. Non-payment of co-payment fees may

result in termination of the parent from the—certificate-programCCPP. If the parent requests a
change in a—_child care provider with an outstanding balance of co-payment fees to the current

provider, prior—to—fees—being—paid—in—full-to—the—originalprovider—the parent must pay all
co-payment fees before a new certificate is issued. It is the responsibility of the provider to report
non-payment of co-payment fees to DECCD. The provider may not charge parents any cost over
the assigned co-payment fee unless the cost for child care to the general public is higher than the
amount paid by the certificate program.

103.04 CO-PAYMENT RECOUPMENT/REPAYMENT

1) If a parent's fee was assessed at a rate higher than the correct fee_and the parent has made
payment to the provider, ; the parent is to be reimbursed by BESED-the provider for the
difference for each month paid. The correct fee is to be noted on the certificate and a
notice of the change forwarded to the provider and the parent.

2 If a parents fee was assessed at a rate lower than the correct fee, the parent and-the

reimbursing the provider for the difference between the corrected co- payment amount and

the incorrect co-payment amount that was paid.

103.05 PRORATING CO-PAYMENT FEES

The assessed co-payment fee reflects a monthly rate regardless of attendance. If a child is
enrolled between the 1st and 15th of the month, the full monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the
first month of service. If the child is enrolled between the 16th and last day of the month, one-half
of the monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the first month of service. If a parent desires to
change a provider during the month, it is the parent’s responsibility to pay the appropriate
co-payment fee to any subsequent providers.
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SECTION 104: PAYMENTS TO PROVIDERS FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
104.01 SIGN-IN/OUT SHEETS

Providers are required to maintain a record_of accurate attendance and absences on sign-in/out
sheets and on daily class rolls for each child in order to complete-the—paymentledgerdocument
attendance. The sign-in/out sheets must show the child’s first and last name, the full name of the
parent/guardian or parent’s authorized representative, the time the child is signed in with the
signature of the person signing the child in, and the time the child is signed out with the signature
of the person signing the child out each day. If sign-in/out sheets are not maintained and made
available upon request and/or for Monitoring processes, or do not follow the policies described
above, funds issued based on missing/erroneous information wiH-shall be recouped by DECCD.
Unlicensed providers are not exempt from this policy.

104.02 PAYMENT LEDGER PROCESSES

Payment ledgers must be submitted electronically through the Child Care Payment System.
Ledgers open to providers on the 1* day of the month and remain open until 11:59 p.m. CST on the
10" day of the month. Providers are required to complete their electronic ledger within this 10
day window. Ledgers submitted with complete and correct information will be processed for
payment. If ledgers require further documentation in order to process payment, the provider will
be contacted.

104.03 LEDGER PAYMENTS

If it is necessary to adjust the amount of funds issued based on the attendance information

submitted en-an-e-ledgerto DECCD or used to issue the certificate, - the-providerwill-be-contacted

and an adjustment will be made in the Chrld Care Payment System reerctlng the change If an
overpayment has occurred A

subsequent pavments at a rate of 5% untrl the fuII amount has been recouped in full. —

104.04 RATES AND CENTER POLICIES

1) Licensed providers must file a copy of the center's published rates with DECCD annually.
Providers are not allowed to charge a higher rate to families in the certificate program than
the rate charged to the general public.

2 A. If the child care center’s policy states that a program stipend will be provided to
non-certificate children, the provider must document the amount and the source of
funds for each child on a monthly basis. Parent co-payment fees cannot be used as
children’s stipends. This documentation must be in hard copy such as check stubs
receipts, etc., that will show Mississippi Department of Human Services auditors a
clear paper trail of cash infusion from non-tuition sources and
non-child-care-certificate monies sufficient to cover the full amount of tuition
without any stipends.

123



DECCD will not monitor any fiscal or children’s files without the director or an
approved supervisor staff person in attendance. Only necessary documentation
should be requested from the parent and provider.

Parents (including TANF workers) employed at a licensed center or group home
may be eligible for a child care certificate providing that they do not care for their
own child(ren). Nor can the child(ren) be included in a group assigned to the
biological parent to maintain the adult/child ratio required by the Mississippi State
Department of Health, Division of Child Care Licensure.

Rates of reimbursement are assigned on a certificate based on the provider type
(licensed or unlicensed), age of child, and Tier level. A full-time rate may be
charged for non-traditional child care. Non-traditional child care is appropriate
when a parent requires full-time child care in lieu of before-and-after school care.

School-aged children and children who attend other programs such as Head Start
will be reimbursed at the part-time rate for absenteces; during vacation and
holidays except during times when it is documented that the child(ren) attended the
licensed child care center for the ; full-day because the school was not open or for
out-of-school suspension; during the school year. Full time reimbursement will be
issued for full time care provided by licensed centers when the primary school

settmq is closed or for out-of- school suspensmn Ihe—prewdepmust—pltewde—a

Providers will be reimbursed at a part time rate for any day in which a school age
child or child with a full-time/part-time certificate is present for a full day of care

while their regular-educationalfactHityprimary school setting is open.

Summer child care for school-aged children will be reimbursed at the full-time
rate for absentees, vacation, and holidays.

If at any time during a CCPP vyear, a provider changes Tier reimbursement status,
changes will be adjusted in the system to allow for future reimbursement at the
appropriate rate.

I If it becomes necessary for the Tier 1-eligible director to be absent
for leave, DECCD must be notified within 10 days. DECCD will
determine on a case-by-case basis if Tier 1 reimbursement will
continue during leave.

Full-time certificate payments for school-age children may not be issued to students

enrolled in grades one through twelve unless full-time care is needed during
non-traditional hours and/or the primary schools setting are is closed.
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J. Full-time certificate payments may be issued for 3 and 4 year olds enrolled in
public or private pre-kindergarten programs where tuition is assessed. Certificates
will expire on a child’s 5th birthday. Families who continue to meet eligibility
criteria may apply to continue services until the child is 12 years of age, or 18 years
of age if a special needs child. Additionally, 5 year old children whose parent(s)
elect not to enroll their child(ren) in a public kindergarten program may receive
full-time certificate funds until they reach the age of 6(six), which is the

| compulsory age for school attendance in the state of Mississippi.

104.04 OVER-PAYMENTS AND UNDER-PAYMENTS

1) If a provider discovers an error in the payment issued, the provider is required to notify the
DECCD to request an adjustment within 30 days of the issuance of the payment.
Questioned payments or incorrect payments will be adjusted during the next menthly
reqularly scheduled payment cycle.

104.06 ABSENTEES AND NOTICE

1) If a child is absent for more than two weeks for medical reasons, the parent is required to
submit a doctor’s statement. Extenuating circumstances will be handled on a case-by-case
basis.

| (32) In the case of court-ordered visitation, DECCD must be notified and a copy of the
visitation order of the court must be kept on file by the provider. Any days a child is
absent due to court-ordered visitation will not count towards a child’s vaeation—paid
absence days. Fhe—provider—should—indicate—this—reasen—on—ledgers—Parents are
responsible for paying their determined co-payment amount in full_even if the child does
not attend due to court ordered visitation.

4) The Chl|d Care Payment Program will net—bewespenabie—feppaymen%s—fepsemees—beyend

weeksprovide a two-week notice for the termination of all certificates issued to licensed

providers, except in the instance of substantiated provider fraud.
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(5) A child care center must remain open on days when children are taken on field trips or fer
vacationany other day outside of the approved holiday list provided by DECCD for any
children who cannot attend the field trips or are-ret-en-vacationand-still need child care
during holidays, etc.-
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SECTION 105: INTERRUPTION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES
105.01 ALLOWABLE LEAVE TIME FOR PARENTS

1)

)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

Parents who lose or change jobs are allowed a 60 day grace period from the last date of
employment before child care services are terminated in order to give the parent time to be
reinstated in their job, providing that a Change of Information form is submitted ro
DECCD within 10 working days of the change in employment. During this 60 day period,
the parent is required to submit new eligibility documentation and be redetermined eligible
for services. Failure to submit acceptable eligibility documentation wiH-shall result in the
termination of services.

Temporary Job Closings - Workers temporarily unemployed due to the nature of their
work may include but are not limited to workers employed in construction, factories, or
poultry and catfish processing plants. Extensions beyond the approved 60 days must gain
approval from DECCD on a case-by-case basis.

Natural Disaster - Child care services should be continued when parents are off work due to
circumstances beyond the parent’s control such as hurricanes, floods, and tornado.
Licensed child care providers shewld-shall be reimbursed when the center is closed
temporarily due to a natural disaster for up to 10 business days per occurrence unless the
parent needs to make alternate care arrangements. Unlicensed centers are—shall be
reimbursed for actual attendance only.

A pregnant mother is allowed six weeks of child care assistance during maternity leave.
Documentation from a physician of the maternity leave must be included in the parent's
file. If more leave time is required due to medical reasons, a physician’s statement S
requiredmust be submitted to DECCD. The parent must provide new eligibility
documentation once she returns to work. Failure to submit acceptable eligibility
documentation wiH-shall result in the termination of services.

Fathers are allowed six weeks of child care assistance related to the birth of a child, if the
employer/educational institution approves the leave time. Documentation in the form of a
letter on the employer/educational letterhead allowing the leave of absence for this reason
must be submitted to DECCD.

Parent(s) are allowed six weeks of child care assistance in cases of adoption of a new child
or when a Foster Child is placed in the home, if the employer/educational institution
approves the leave time.

Parent(s) are allowed up to thirty days of sick leave from their job if documented by their
employer and physician. Extenuating circumstances in which additional time is required
will be handled on a case-by-case basis.

A child is allowed 150 vacationfabseneee absence days per federal fiscal year (beginning
October 1 - September 30). Absences related to court-ordered visitations, chronic illness,
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(9)

and medical treatment for children with special needs are not counted as vacation days.

DECCD will pay for up to 11 holidays for the period beginning October 1 through
September 30. If the Governor allows days in addition to the list below in observance of a
holiday, providers will be notified that they are also allowed these extra days. If the
identified holiday falls on a weekend, the DECCD Director will designate weekdays to
observe the holiday at their discretion.

Approvded paid holidays for licensed providers

| (10.)

January 1 New Year’'s Day

The Third Monday of January Robert E. Lee’s Birthday and Dr. Martin
Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday

Spring (date varies annually) Good Friday

The Last Monday of May National Memorial Day and
Jefferson Davis’ Birthday

July 4 Independence Day

The First Monday of September Labor Day

November Thanksgiving Day & the Friday after

December 24 Christmas Eve

December 25 Christmas Day

December 31 New Year’s Eve
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105.02 REASONS FOR TERMINATION

1)

| (23)
| (34)

| (45)

| (56)

TANF, TCC, Foster Children and Children in Preventive/Protective Services, and
participants of Health Homes Mississippi are referred for services by a MDHS Case
Manager/HHM Family Support Worker.  Services will—shall be terminated upon
notification by the Case Manager_for TANF clients and Children in Foster,
Preventive/Protective Services. Clients receiving TCC and participating in Healthy
Homes Mississippi shall be terminated upon notice from a MDHS Division of Economic
Assistance caseworker, HHM Family Support Worker, or when found to be out of
compliance with requirements of the MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement,
when applicable.

Non-payment of co-payment fees may result in termination from the Child Care Payment
Program for a one-year period.

A child care certificate may be terminated upon the request of the parent, or by DECCD in
accordance with CCPP policy.

Child care services will be terminated when a child grows older than the age requirements.

If at any time a parent provides fraudulent information, child care services are immediately
terminated and the client is ineligible to reapply for a one-year period. DECCD may elect
to permanently disbar parents from participation in CCPP in accordance with Section
106.01(1) of this document.

105.03 CHANGE IN PROVIDER

1)

Parents are allowed to change prowders n&mere%hanﬁﬁemmes—pepfederal—ﬂseal—yeap

p#ewder—ne—lemer—preweles—eh%—ea#e—semeeswhen the current prowder is no Ionqer

preferred. Parents must request a change in provider from DECCD prior to withdrawing
the child, unless under emergency circumstances. The parent(s) sheutd-shall give at least
two weeks prior notice to the current provider before withdrawing the child from the center
unless there are extenuating circumstances. While parents have the right to exercise
parental choice in selecting a child care provider, certificates will not be issued to a
provider until they have met all requirements to become a CCPP approved provider.
Parents must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care
provided while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider.
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Section 106 DISPUTES

106.01 PARENTAL AND PROVIDER DISPUTES

1)

Any unresolved dispute concerning a question of fact under the Application/Agreement
between DECCD and Parent or Provider shall be decided by the Director of the Division of
Early Childhood Care and Development. In the review by the DECCD Director the
Parent or Provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in
support of the questioned decision under review. This decision shall be reduced to writing
and a copy thereof mailed or furnished to the Parent or Provider and shall be final and
conclusive, unless, within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision, the Parent or
Provider mails or delivers to the Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of
Human Services a written request for review. Pending final decision of the Executive
Director or his/her designee, DECCD will proceed in accordance with the decision of the
Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development. In addition, listed
below are the procedures to be used #r-when an Administrative Hearing for a Child Care
Dispute_is desired:

A A Parent or Provider may not request a hearing on behalf of another individual or to
discuss decisions regarding another person.

B. If an Administrative Hearing is desired, a written request for the Hearing must be
submitted to the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and
Development. If requested, an Administrative Hearing will be held with the
Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development serving as the
Hearing Officer.

C. The Hearing Officer will be a neutral observer who will conduct the Hearing. The
Hearing Officer will listen to both sides and then make a decision based upon the
evidence that is provided.

D. This is an informal proceeding that gives both parties their due process rights and a
forum to provide evidence. This is not an adverse process. Questions are to be
asked only for clarification. If a party has legal representation, the attorney is
there only to give legal advice to his/her client and not for direct or cross
examination.
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SECTION 107: FRAUD AND ABUSE

This section outlines the policies and procedures for handling alleged and/or substantiated fraud
and exploitation in the Child Care Payment Program by a parent and/or provider.

107.01 POLICY STATEMENT

Any person applying for or receiving public assistance by using false statements, and any person
assisting that person to receive such public assistance with knowledge of those false statements, is
subject to criminal prosecution. The offense may be a misdemeanor when the amount received or
requested is below $500 or a felony if the amount received or requested is above $500. If a child
care center knowingly provides false information, a financial penalty will be imposed. Whether
or not a criminal conviction results, at the first offense, recoupment will be made and the center
may be disqualified from participating in the Child Care Payment Program, contingent upon
whether the deception is intentional or unintentional.

107.02 SUSPECTED FRAUD OR ABUSE OF FUNDS

(1) DECCD staff will not attempt to resolve any suspicion of parent and/or provider fraud or
misuse of funds. DECCD staff will collect any documentation to support an investigation
of suspected fraud or misuse of funds. This documentation shall be referred directly to the
Director of the MDHS Division of Early Childhood Care and Development for referral to
the MDHS, Division of Program Integrity (DPI) for investigation. DECCD staff will not
alert the parent and /or provider of any suspicion of fraud or misuse of funds while an
investigation is pending. Funding may continue during the investigation.

2 Prior-to-terminating-certificatesat-Heensed-child-care faciities-due to-documente dfraud in
’ the event that fraud is substantiated in a licensed child care facility, DECCD will assist the
parent(s) with locating an alternative child care facility or home without an interruption in
child care services unless the parent(s) chooses to keep their child(ren) at the center and
forfeit the CCPP funding. In this situation, a notarized statement of fact from the parent(s)
must be retained by DECCD. If it is determined that fraud was committed by a parent, the

provider will be allowed two weeks’ notice of termination.

107.03 RECOUPMENT OF FUNDS

| () The MDHS, Division of Program Integrity (DPI) shall employ the required steps to recoup
or attempt to recoup funds paid for ineligible services because of suspected parent or
provider fraud or misuse of funds when unable to resolve otherwise. The steps include,
but are not limited to:

A. A letter outlining the DECCD policy violated, the total amount of funds to be
repaid, the legal action to be pursued if the parent or facility owner fails to
cooperate, and a response time frame of 15 calendar days; the letter and the report
shall be sent to the alleged offender by certified mail; a copy shall be retained by
DPI and the Director of DECCD;
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B. After the—MBHS; DPI completes the-an investigation of alleged fraud and/or
misuse of funds, if applicable, criminal charges shall be filed with the appropriate
local law enforcement agency, when fraud is substantiated.

C. When fraud is substantiated and criminal charges are filed with the local law
enforcement agency, funds shall be recovered through restitution ordered by the
court. Checks issued by the court for restitution shall be made payable to
Treasurer, State of Mississippi and mailed directly to the MDHS, DPI.

D. The MDHS, DPI staff shall track receipt of checks issued for payment of restitution
on a case-by-case basis until all funds have been recovered.

107.04 FINAL DISPOSITION FOR ACTION

A copy of any final judgment issued by the Court shall be forwarded directly to the MDHS, DPI
and a copy of the final judgment will be provided to DECCD by the MDHS, DPI.
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SECTION 108: MONITORING

108.01 MONITORING PROCEDURE

1)

(2)

DECCD will monitor a selection of licensed and unlicensed providers participating in the
certificate program at least once annually. DECCD will select centers whose records
indicate a need for technical assistance, for example, ledgers—marked—with—perfect
attendance submitted for each child each month. According to MDHS Subgrantee
Manual, DECCD staff may conduct monitoring visits un-announced.

Monitoring visits will include a review of the following records:

A.

Licensed and unlicensed providers must maintain a daily attendance roster (sign
in/out sheets) for each child in accordance with Section 104.01(1) of this document.

The attendance recorded on the center's attendance roster will be compared to the
attendance reported en-the-centers-ledgerto DECCD. All documentation related to
child attendance will be reviewed.

The center's published rates charged to the general public will be compared to the
rates requested and received on each certificate.

Verify the payment of co-payment fees. Both licensed and unlicensed providers are
required to maintain receipts for payment of monthly co-payment fees.

A copy of the center's license, if applicable, will be requested if a current copy is
not on file with DECCD.

Records will be reviewed to verify that the center has retained a copy of the
Center’s Statement of Agreement.-en-fiHe-

The center will be monitored to make sure that the hours of operation meet the
needs of the full-time working parents plus travel time. Fhis—applies—to
nen-traditional-child-care-heurs—The center must be open at least five (5) days per
week.

The attendance will be checked to ensure that the eenter-provider is not receiving
more (CCDF and TANF) certificates than its’ licensed or allowed capacity at any
given time (for example, non-traditional shifts, and before and after school). If it
is determined during the monitoring visit that the eenter—_attendance exceeds the
eenterprovider’s licensed or allowed capacity, then the situation will be reported to
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the Mississippi State Department of Health, Child Care Licensure and DECCD.
Attendance in excess of licensed or allowed capacity is considered fraudulent and
shall result in a recoupment of funds issued for certificates in excess of licensed or
allowed capacity.

l. Unlicensed eenters-providers must provide copies of immunization records_(Form
121 Certificate of Immunization issued by the Mississippi Department of Health)
for providers and-ef all children enrolled in care.

J. Per the Center Statement of Agreement, all child care providers are notified that
monitoring may be announced or unannounced. Refusal to cooperate in the
monitoring process wiH shall result in a financial penalty.

3) A. If a center is not accurately recording attendance or is charging different rates, the
center will receive a letter concerning the finding(s). Any overpayments that
occurred because of these two situations shall be recouped by DECCD. BECED

B. A center with findings may be monitored again, by either announced or
unannounced visits. If the center is still in non-compliance under the original
finding(s), a copy of all correspondence regarding the matter should-beforwarded
to—MDHS:shall be forwarded to DECCD and processes for Suspension or
Debarment described in this document will be engaged.

108.02 SUSPENSION AND DEBARMENT

(1)  If a parent commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, a parent may not apply for
or receive CCPP funding until the date indicated on the Notice of Suspension.

2 If a provider commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, or upon debarment, a
provider may not hold any administrative position in a facility or home in which CCPP
subsidies are received. This includes any position responsible for the recording or
tracking of enrollment and attendance as well as the completing and reporting of
family/child status and/or enrollment and attendance to CCPP.
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Section 109 PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT LEVELS

(1)  The purpose of this section is to describe the Reimbursement Tier (rate of reimbursement)
for child care providers participating in the Child Care Certificate Program. Directors of
multiple centers may qualify for the Tier 1 rate at only one center.

A. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 1:

To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 1, providers must have a current license issued by
the Child Care Facilities Licensure Branch, Mississippi Department of Health.
Additionally, #they must:

Operate a full-day, full-year educational program; OR

Operate an educational program providing care in response to local educational
facilities such as a center that only offers before and after school care five days a week,
and is open full-time during summer months and holidays; or a center that provides
full time care only when colleges/universities/public schools are in session:

AND:

Document center accreditation from the National Association for the Education of
Young Children (NAEYC); or*

Document the on-site child care director is on site six to eight hours a day and holds a
4-year degree in the field of Early Childhood Education or Elementary Education that
includes kindergarten, and Family and Consumer Sciences with an emphasis on Child
Development; or*

Document that the center has a director on site six to eight hours per day and holds a
two-year associate degree from an accredited community or junior college in child
development technology plus four (4) years of paid experience in child care; or the
center has a director that holds the DECCD Director’s Credentials plus four (4) years
of paid experience in child care.*

B. To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 1, family home providers must:
Operate a full-day, full-year educational program; OR
Operate an educational program providing care in response to local educational
facilities such as a home that only offers before and after school care five days a week,

and is open full-time during summer months and holidays; or a home that offers
full-time care in the summer months only;
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AND:

Document the on-site child care director holds a 2 or 4-year degree or CDA in the field
of Early Childhood Development.*

C. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 2:

To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 2, the child care center or group child care home
must:

Document that it has a current license, or letter of exemption, issued by the Child Care
Facilities Licensure Branch, Mississippi State Department of Health.

D. To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 2, the family child care provider must:

Document that it is regulated by the Bureau of Child Nutrition, Mississippi State
Department of Education.

E. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 3:
To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 3, all other child care providers must be Hsted-with

the-OCY-Designated-Agentapproved by DECCD and return the Basic Health, Safety,
and Nutrition Guidelines certifying that guidelines will be followed.

F. See Appendix N for rates.

*Prior to October 1, 2003, all current Tier 1 providers may fall under the grandfather clause.

Effective: October 1, 2009
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GLOSSARY OF TERMS

This chapter contains the definition of key words or phrases and clarifies the terms as they relate to
this manual.

ADULT - A person who has reached the age of majority (at least 18 years of age).

ATTENDING (EDUCATIONAL/JOB TRAINING) -Full time enrollment in an education
and/or training program resulting in a degree or certificate designed to promote job skills and
employability. Full time is determined by the institution.

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE - An individual who has the legal right to speak or act on
the parent’s behalf. Written authorization must come to the child care center or DECCD directly
from the parent and be maintained in the appropriate file.

BEFORE-AND AFTER-SCHOOL CARE - Child care services for school-aged children (ages
5-12) during the hours before and after the regular school day. Under CCDF child care may be
provided for children under the age of 13 and for those children under the age of 18 who meet the
SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that caused
marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

CARE GIVER - An individual at least eighteen (18) years of age with a high school diploma or
equivalent (GED) who provides direct child care, supervision, and guidance to an eligible child.

MONTHLY CHILD CARE CO-PAYMENT FEES FOR PARENTS - A system of
cost-sharing based upon income and size of the family for families who participate in the Child
Care and Development Fund Program.__Parents are required to pay a monthly co-payment fee to
their child care provider of choice as a condition of program participation, with the exception of
clients receiving TANF.

CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND (CCDF) - A federally-funded program
designed to provide quality child care services to eligible very low-income families who are
actively participating in an allowable TANF activity, transitioning off TANF, at-risk of going on
TANF and are in need of child care in order to work OR are low-income families, employed or
enrolled in an approved educational or training program.

CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A document issued by DECCD directly to a parent(s) who has

been determined eligible for CCDF, who may use it as payment for child care services. A child
care certificate is assistance to the parent, not assistance to the provider.
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CHILD CARE FACILITIES:

CENTER-BASED - A non-residential facility in which shelter and personal care is
regularly provided for six or more children who are not related within the third degree
computed according to the civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and
receive care for any part of a 24-hour day._ No parent or guardian may provide care for
their own child in this setting.

For all Child Care Centers, as defined above, related children of all staff must be included
in the licensed number. These centers are considered commercial establishments and
must meet all requirements of the Regulation Governing Food Service Sanitation.
Additionally, these licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the
Mississippi State Department of Health’s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care
Facilities.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal
care is regularly provided for five or fewer children who are not related within the third
degree computed according to the civil law to the provider and who are less than 13 years
of age and are provided care for any part of the 24-hour day. These homes may
voluntarily register with the Mississippi State Department of Health and must be registered
with the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development, Mississippi Department of
Human Services. The provider must be at least 18 years old and cannot be a biological
parent of the child receiving assistance.__No parent or guardian may provide care for their
own child in this setting.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal
care are regularly provided for six to 15 children who are not related within the third degree
computed according to civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and
receive care for any part of the 24-hour day. Children related within the third degree are
included in determining space and staff, but are not included in the licensed number._ No
parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this setting.

CHILD CARE PROVIDERS:

CENTER-BASED CHILD CARE PROVIDER - A provider licensed or otherwise
authorized to provide child care services for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a
non-residential setting, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents’
work, education, or training.__No parent or guardian may provide care for their own child
in this setting.
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FAMILY CHILD CARE PROVIDER - One individual who provides child care services
for fewer than 24-hours per day per child, as the sole CARE GIVER, in a-their private
residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents’ work,
education, or training.__No parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this

setting.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - Two or more individuals who provide
child care services for six to 15 children for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a
private residence other than the child’s residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to
the nature of the parents’ work, education, or training._These providers are licensed. No
parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this setting.

IN-HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - An individual who provides child care services
in the child’s own home but maintains a separate residence.- No parent or guardian may
provide care for their own child in this setting.

CHILD CARE SERVICES - Care provided for a fee by a child care provider to an eligible child
or children in the parent_or guardian’s absence.

CHILD CARE WEEK - The period of time that child care is provided per week. The child care

week may cover mere-than-the-nermalfive-daysup to seven days. This is allowable as long as the
DECCD Weekly Child Care Reimbursement Tier rate is not exceeded, and the child does not

receive care in excess of 84 hours during a Sunday through Saturday week.

CREDENTIALED DIRECTOR - A professional credential awarded to child care center
directors operating licensed child care programs in Mississippi and those who aspire to be
directors for the successful completion of a curriculum in Child Care Management Best Practice.

DEGREES OF KINDRED ACCORDING TO THE LAW:

FIRST Parents and Children
SECOND Siblings (brothers and sisters), Grandparents, and Grandchildren
THIRD Uncles, Aunts, Nieces, Nephews, Great-Grandparents, and Great-Grandchildren

DISABLED PARENT - See SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT.

EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM - A preschool program (ages birth to
kindergarten) that provides child care services to low-income working parents and eligible-parents
enrolled in an educational or training program.

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM/JOB TRAINING -A program offering educational/job training
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| content—information. Programs must be accredited by the Sstate_of Mississippi or a national
organization.

ELIGIBLE CHILD - A child whose parent(s) meets the eligibility requirements as set forth by
the grant.

EXTENDED DAY CHILD CARE - Before-and after-school care for Early Head Start and Head
Start children (ages 3-4birth er up to age 5) and school-age children (ages 5-12) who need such
care due to the work schedule of their parent(s).

FAMILY - A unit where a child(ren) resides with a parent(s) who is related by blood, marriage,
adoption, or legal guardianship.

FAMILY OF ONE - A child receiving child care services based upon his/her income received
from SSI, foster board payment, etc.

FULL-DAY CHILD CARE - Child care provided for six or more hours of a 24-hour day.
Full-day child care should meet the needs and reflect the work, education, or TANF training
schedule of the parent with a maximum of 30 minutes of travel time each way.

GROSS INCOME - The parent’s income before any deductions.

HALF-DAY - Child care provided for fewer than six hours per day.

INCOME- funds received by all applicable individuals as described in policy which are not
supplemented by any public assistance other than food stamps or medical assistance, and does not
exceed 85 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

INCOME MAINTENANCE (IM) - Income from TANF or Supplemental Security Income and
other public assistance.

INFANTS - Children from birth through 12 months.

IN LOCO PARENTIS - in place of parent, for example, a guardian or a relative or friend with
whom the child resides if the child’s parent is unable to act as the parent or has delegated his or her
authority to someone else. The term describes someone who provides care and supervision like a
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parent but without going through the formalities of legal adoption or guardianship.

LICENSING OR REGULATORY REQUIREMENTS - Requirements necessary for a
provider to legally provide child care services in a state or locality, including regulations and
requirements established under State Local or Tribal law. The “Mississippi Child Care Licensing
Law,” Section 43-20-1, et seq., of the Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated, which provides the
legal authority under which the Mississippi State Department of Health prescribes minimum
regulations for child care facilities defined under the law.

LOW-INCOME - Income above the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI) or at or below
the 85 percent of the SMI.

MINIMUM FEE - An assessment of $10 per month for full-day child care services and $5.00 per
month for half-day before-and after-school/extended day, etc. child care services.

MDHS TANF CASEWORKER MANAGER-- An employee of the Mississippi Department of
Human Services, Division of Economic Assistance, that provides case management services,
supportive services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the
local/county level supportive services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF
participants at the local/county level.

NON-TRADITIONAL CARE - Includes night care and supervision of seheel-age-children for
less than 24 hours per day that occurs within the twelve hours between 6:00 p.m. and 5:59 a.m., or
weekend care and supervision of children that takes place between 6:00 p.m. Friday and 5:59 a.m.
Monday.

PARENT - A mother or father by blood, marriage, or adoption, a legal guardian, or other person
standing in loco parentis.

PRESCHOOL AGED CHILD - Children from three years of age through kindergarten.
PROTECTIVE SERVICES- Children that are court ordered to receive Protective Services from
MDHS, Division of Family & Children’s Services. These children are living in the home of a

parent or relative/kinship caretaker.

PROVIDER - The entity providing child care services_as defined in this document.

REIMBURSEMENT TIERS - The established rates for child care services based upon the age of
the child, type of child care provider, hours of child care, and DECCD approved tier criteria.

RESIDING/LIVING WITH - Living with, including taking meals and sleeping in the same
house for a majority of a seven day period beginning with Sunday and ending with Saturday.

SEASONAL WORKERS - Individuals who are temporarily unemployed due to the nature of
their work.
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SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT - A parent who meet s the SSI definition of disability
by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that cause marked and severe
functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration and render the parents
incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented by a physician. In the absence of
SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree of functional limitation(s) and
prescribe the special care needed. If the parent is unable to manage their personal affairs, the
application should be made in the parent/guardian or responsible adult’s name. If the disabled
parent receives SSI, the income maintenance fee of $10.00 should be applied to the child(ren).
Short Term disability medically documented will be handled on a case-by-case basis with approval
by DECCD.

SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD RATE - Special Needs rates may be applied for children through the
age of 18 who meet the SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental
condition(s) that cause marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months
in duration and render the child(ren) incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented
by a physician. In the absence of SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree
of functional limitation(s) and prescribe the special care needed.

STATE MEDIAN INCOME (SMI) - The average income of all Mississippi workers.

SUMMER CARE - Child care for children during the summer months, when primary school
settings are-ts not in session.

SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) - A monthly payment to a person for having a
medically proven physical/mental or physical condition that causes marked and severe functional
limitations that are expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) — Benefits offered through Fthe block
grant that replaced the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and Job Opportunities
and Basic Skills Program (JOBS). Benefits are time-limited, mandating that families move
quickly into work activities leading to self-sufficiency.

TERMINATED CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A certificate that has been used as payment
for child care services for a period of time and is no longer valid. Reasons that certificates would
be terminated include, but are not limited to, the following: givirg—the provision of false
information_used to issue/maintain a certificate, change in a provider, ehange-inr-rates—change-in
funding-sources{example—from-CCDFto-TANF),-or there-hasnet-been-aa lack of a request for

reimbursement on a Child Care Certificate 60 days after the certificate has been issued.

TODDLERS - Children the age of 13 months and less than 36 months.

TRANSITIONAL CHILD CARE (TCC) - Up to 24 months of subsidized child care for eligible
parents, issued by the MDHS Division of Economic Assistance.
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VERY LOW INCOME - Income at or below the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME (WRI) - Income that is irrelevant; therefore, it is not to be
considered. The only children who are to be considered WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME are
in court-ordered Protective Services Cases 348 and Preventive Services. The only documentation
necessary to determine eligibility is the referral form from the Division of Family and Children’s
services and proof of the parent’s work or exemption.

WORKING - Performing duties to earn a wage (for a minimum of 25 hours per week) or

complete educational/job training such as practicums or internships (enrollment for
education/training must be full time).
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CHAPTER 2
SECTION 101: CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

101.01 POLICIES-ELIGIBILITY ANBDPROCEDURES-FOR THE CHILD CARE
PAYMENT PROGRAM

The child care certificate is a document issued directly to eligible parent(s) or authorized
representatives, provided that funds are available. The certificate allows the parent to select the
child care provider of his/her choice.

101.02 ELIGIBILITY PRIORITY POPULATIONS

If funds are available, children must be served on a first-come, first-served basis in order of
eligibility priority. Applications must be date-stamped as they are received. CCDF child care
services will be available to children of parents according to the following priorities:

1° Child Care for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)

2" Child Care for Transitional Child Care (TCC)

31 Children of very low-income working parent(s) whose income is at or below 50
percent of the State Median Income (SMI) who are at risk of going on TANF, in the
following order:

A. Children in Protective Services or Foster Care;

B. Children with Special Needs (up to 85% of the SMI);

C.  Children of parent(s) deployed in the Mississippi National Guard, or Reserve
(up to 85% of the SMI);

D.  Children of Teen Parent(s) currently enrolled in high school full-time;

E. Children served by the Healthy Homes Mississippi home visitation

program;

FE. Children of all other eligible parent(s) at this income level, including
parents enrolled in an approved educational program, whether working or
not.
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4" Based upon the availability of funding, children of parent(s) working the required
25 hours per week and/or are enrolled in an approved educational program whose
income falls above 50 percent of the SMI and at or below 85 percent of the SMI.

SECTION 102: CRITERIA FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
102.01 ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS

1)

)

Parents have the right to choose the type of child care they would like for their child. The
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development has categorized the choices available to
parents as follows a I|censed Chl|d care center, group home famlly dai,echlld care home

eut—of—home}or in- home Chl|d care prowder Parents must select a CCPP approved
provider. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to
become an approved provider. See Glossary of Terms for definitions of each.

i. Child Care Centers and Group Homes
In order to receive reimbursement for services rendered, a child care center or
group home must be licensed by the Mississippi State Department of Health. A
copy of the license must be filed with DECCD _annually upon renewal. The child
care center or the group home must have a current license. Additionally, these
licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the Mississippi State
Department of Health’s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care Facilities.

ii. If a center's license expires and services are being provided for children on the
CCPP, DECCD may continue to pay the provider under the following conditions:

A. The Health Department has not officially closed the center;

B. The center's director submits a written request, on center letterhead, for
child care payments to continue; and

C. The center provides copies of the licensing renewal fee payment,

documentation of a current inspection, and a copy of correspondence from
the licensing division stating why the license has not been renewed; and

D. A center with an expired license will be reimbursed for children with a
current certificate up to the time frame allowed by the Mississippi State
Department of Health; however, no new certificates will be issued until the
license is renewed.

E. No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to
become an approved provider.

The decision to continue payments under these circumstances is solely at the

discretion of the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care & Development.
All requests for payments under these conditions shall be submitted in the form of a
written request to the Director describing the basis for the request to waive Provider
Termination.
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Family Day Care Homes and Relative/Nen-Relativeln-Home Providers

In order to receive reimbursement, all unlicensed providers must keep a record of
immunizations for_themselves and all children in their care in the form of a Form
121 Certificate of Immunization issued by the Department of Health, and a copy of
the Basic Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances. A signed copy of the Basic
Health, Safety and Nutrition Assurances certifying that they will follow the
guidelines should also be filed with DECCD. Individual, unlicensed providers
must be at least eighteen (18) years of age and are prohibited by law from keeping
more than five (5) children who are not related to the provider within the third
degree computed according to civil law. A child care provider may not be
reimbursed if they reside in the same household as the child(ren). Proof of
separate residence may be required. Proof of residence will be established with a
current driver’s license or state issued 1.D. and another form of identification that
reflects the same address. A current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or
cable bill are acceptable. Addresses must match the address given as the location of
care submitted on the application.

In order for an unlicensed in-home provider to become/remain a CCPP approved

provider, all individuals over the age of 18 years (relative or non-relative) residing
and/or working full/part time in the provider’s residence shall submit all required
information to undergo the Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry Check.
This information is submitted on the Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry
Check Form 107 with the initial provider application, and annually once approved.

Providers will be deemed ineligible to participate in the certificate program in the
event that they have prior convictions of child abuse and/or neglect. If an
individual residing and/or working with the provider in the provider’s home is
found to have a prior conviction of child abuse and/or neglect, eligibility will be
suspended/denied until such time as the provider can provide proof that the
offending individual no longer resides in the home. Failure on the part of the
provider to accurately complete Form 107 may result in suspension/debarment
from participation in the CCPP. Additionally, funds may-shall be recouped.

No payments will be issued for care provided while a provider is seeking to-beceme
an-approved-providerCCPP_Approved Provider status. Approval is attained by
successful completion of the Child Care Provider Application located at
www.childcareinfo.ms.
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102.02 PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT LEVELS

(1) The purpose of this section is to describe the Reimbursement Tier (rate of reimbursement)
for child care providers participating in the Child Care Certificate Program. Directors of
multiple centers may qualify for the Tier 1 rate at only one center.

A. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 1:

To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 1, providers must have a current license issued by
the Child Care Facilities Licensure Branch, Mississippi Department of Health.
Additionally, they must:

Operate a full-day, full-year educational program;

OR

Operate an educational program providing care in response to local educational
facilities such as a center that only offers before and after school care five days a week,
and is open full-time during summer months and holidays; or a center that provides
full time care only when colleges/universities/public schools are in session:

AND:

Document center accreditation from the National Association for the Education of
Young Children (NAEYQ);

OR*
Document the on-site child care director is on site six to eight hours a day and holds a
4-year degree in the field of Early Childhood Education or Elementary Education that
includes kindergarten, and Family and Consumer Sciences with an emphasis on Child
Development;

OR*

Document that the center has a director on site six to eight hours per day and holds a
two-year associate degree from an accredited community or junior college in child
development technology plus four (4) years of paid experience in child care; or the
center has a director that holds the DECCD Director’s Credentials plus four (4) years
of paid experience in child care.*

B. To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 1, family home providers must:

Operate a full-day, full-year educational program;
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OR
Operate an educational program providing care in response to local educational
facilities such as a home that only offers before and after school care five days a week,
and is open full-time during summer months and holidays; or a home that offers
full-time care in the summer months only;

AND:

Document the on-site child care director holds a 2 or 4-year degree or CDA in the field
of Early Childhood Development.*

C. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 2:

To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 2, the child care center or group child care home
must:

Document that it has a current license, or letter of exemption, issued by the Child Care
Facilities Licensure Branch, Mississippi State Department of Health.

D. To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 2, the family child care provider must:

Document that it is requlated by the Bureau of Child Nutrition, Mississippi State
Department of Education.

E. Child Care Reimbursement Tier 3:

To qualify for Reimbursement Tier 3, all other child care providers must be approved
by DECCD and return the Basic Health, Safety, and Nutrition Guidelines certifying
that quidelines will be followed.

F. See Appendix N for rates.

*Prior to October 1, 2003, all current Tier 1 providers may fall under the grandfather clause.

Effective: October 1, 2009
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102.032 APPLICATION PROCEDURES

1)

)

(3)

-BECCDB-will-aceept-applications-eeethroughout the year-around—Referralsfor FANFe,

of Family & Children’s Services—Service, or Healthy Homes Mississippi clients are
accepted throughout the year reund-from Case Managers. All families eligible to receive
services will be added to the CCPP, as funding allows. Families will be served by date of
application and eligibility priority level.

Applications can be ebtaine

%hfeﬂgh—eﬂ}ai#pes%&Hﬂ&ﬂ—er%&S&H}g—DEGGD—Hﬁebsﬁecommeted and submltted on
DECCD’s website.

After completing the application, parents/guardians can return the—apphication—and-all
required documentation by postal or electronic mail. Once all required documentation is
received, DECCD will review the information to determine eligibility and send a written
notice of eligibility, or ineligibility, or non-availability of funds within 10 business days,
unless a Waiting List is in effect. Refer to Section 102.03 for policies and procedures when
a Waiting List for services exists. If the parent falls within an eligibility priority group for
which funds are available, a certificate will be issued and mailed to the parent, who has up
to ten business days to return the signed certificate to DECCD. Once the 10 day window
has expired, the certificate will be considered abandoned and voided.

4 Parents must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care

provided while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider. BECCD—will
provide—parents—with—aHst—of approved—providers—A list of CCPP_Approved

Providers is available at www.childcareinfo.ms.

102.043 WAITING LIST

1)

(2)

DECCD will accept applications for services al-throughout the year.  All families eligible
to receive services will be added to the CCPP, as funding allows, and notified by
September 1*. Families will be served according to the date of application and eligibility
priority level. All other applications will be placed on a waiting list, in order of date
received, by eligibility priority until May 31%. Any families on the waiting list not served
prior to May 31 must reapply annually in the months of June, July, and August.

When a Waiting List for the CCPP exists, applications for services will be date stamped

(32)

and categorized by priority level. Applicants will receive written notice that they are on
the Waiting List once the application is processed for eligibility. Applicants can refer to
www.childcareinfo.ms to determine if a Waiting List for CCPP exists. Applicants who
request applications by phone will be informed of the Waiting List by CCPP staff.

-If/When funds become available during the program year; certificates shewld-shall be
issued by eligibility priority. All existing Priority 3A parents should be served first;
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second, those who were enrolled in an educational/training program the semester prior to
the beginning of the waiting list; third, those on waiting list by order of application date;

fourth,

existing Priority 3B parents; fifth, those who were enrolled in an

educational/training program in the semester prior to the beginning of the waiting list;
sixth, add waiting list parents by date of application and so on.

102.053 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION FOR SERVICES

1) Eligibility Guidelines by Priority Group

A.

TANF Parent(s) - TANF clients are not required to complete an application form.
Eligibility for CCPP for TANF parent(s) is determined by the MDHS, Division of
Economic Assistance Case Manager for full or part time care. TANF clients will
receive a certificate based on the referral and termination dates entered by the
TANF Case Manager. The TANF parent is required to participate in an allowable
TANF program activity. Each participant must comply with all the requirements

of the TANF program A&eH&Iy—l—%&@#ANJ;ehentsﬂ&FeﬂaHewedeerk—a

TCC Parent(s) — Clients referred for Transitional Child Care elients are not required
to complete an application form. Eligibility for TCC €SPP-should be determined
by the MDHS, Division of Economic Assistance Case Manager. TCC clients will
receive a certificate based on the referral and termination dates entered by the Case
Manager._ Terminations to clients receiving TCC can also occur when DECCD
determines that the client is not in compliance with case requirements prescribed by
the MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement.

Very Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time
child care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled
full-time in high school, enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family’s gross income
must be at 50 percent or below the State Median Income. Children with special
needs and children of deployed parents may be served in this Priority up to 85% of
the SMI. Irregular hours of employment and income should be averaged.

Low-income, At Risk of Going on TANF - In order to qualify for full-time child

care, the parent must be working at least 25 hours per week, or be enrolled full-time
in high school or enrolled in a full-time GED program, or other approved
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E._

G.

H.

J.

educational or training program. Unpaid work hours required to complete course
work for the school curriculum and/or work study may be counted toward the work
requirement for the parent. Documentation must be provided. In a two-parent
family, each parent must be working at least 25 hours per week or one parent must
be working at least 25 hours per week and the other parent must be enrolled in an
approved full-time educational or training program. The family’s gross income
must be at or above 50 percent of the State Median Income and at or below 85
percent of the State Median Income. Irregular hours of employment and income
should be averaged.

——Post-Secondary Students - Certificates should only be written for one
semester/quarter at a time. The beginning date of the certificate should be the first
day of the month of class, for which proof of enrollment was provided, and the
ending date is the last day of the month ending the semester. Students should be
allowed 30 days from the ending date of the previous semester to complete the
application process. Graduating seniors will have up to 60 days to find
employment before their certificate is terminated, unless determined eligible
otherwise.

Resident -In/Out of State Students - If a parent attends school in/out of state, the
application should be made in the parent’s name using the address where the
child(ren) resides.__Parents with residences outside the State of Mississippi should
apply with their state of residence.

The 25 hours per week work requirement is reduced for foreign students who hold a
VISA because they are permitted to work only on campus for 20 hours per week.
In order to remain eligible a copy of the VISA must be submitted annually to make
sure it is current.

Foster Children and children in Protective or Preventive Services are eligible for
child care services without regard to the income of the guardian. Foster children,
and children in Protective or Preventive Services will receive funding based on the
referral and termination by the Case Manager, no application is required. When a
child’s case is closed by the Division of Family and Children’s Services, that
agency will send a Notification of Termination of Child Care for children receiving
services through Foster Care, Protective Services or Prevention Services to
DECCD.

Parents may apply for a certificate whe-that have been laid off or have lost their job

for other reasons. These certificates will be issued for 60 days from the parent(s)
last date of employment.__This policy only applies when a parent notifies DECCD
of the loss of employment within 10 business days of the loss.

Children being served by the MDHS Healthy Homes Mississippi (HHM) home

visitation program are eligible for child care services without regard to income.
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Children will be served based on referral and termination information received
from HHM Family Support Workers (caseworkers).

Income to Be Considered in Calculating Total Family Income

A.

Gross income of applicant and spouse should be considered if the spouse is living
in the home. Do not consider a spouse’s income if they are separated and residing
in a separate residence. All income above or less than 40 hours per week is
considered irregular income. Irregular income and commissions should be
averaged. For commissions and tips, the amount on the paycheck stub or
statement from an employer should be averaged and added to regular work income.
Do not consider bonus monies as income. If a parent is self-employed,
individual/family total income is considered.

Social Security benefits for parents and child(ren) must be counted as income.

If a parent receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI), it should be counted as
income. If a child(ren) receives SSI, the SSI for the child(ren) should not be
counted as income.

Income earned by an adult living in the home, not married to the applicant; but who
is the biological parent of the child for whom services are being requested, ircome
should be counted. Income or work status earned by H-there—is another adult
residing in the home with the applicant to whom the applicant is not married, de-net

inthe should not be counted. Do not include these individuals in determining the
size of —numberin-the household unless they are the biological parents of the
child(ren) for whom application for service is being made.

i. All Pparents must comply with Child Support Enforcement requirements in
order to receive a child care certificate(s). A Verification for Child
Support Services Form should be mailed to parents as part of the Child Care
Payment Program Application packet. Parents must complete the
Verification Form and return it to DECCD as part of the completed
application._In the case of TANF and TCC clients, information needed for
this verification is provided in the referral made by the TANF/TCC
Caseworker.

ii. All single or separated parents who do not currently have an open child
support case must contact the MDHS County Child Support Office for an
appointment to open a case(s) or to request a statement that the child or
children are exempt and the parent is excused from cooperating. Married
parents are not required to go through the MDHS, Division of Child
Support Enforcement. This includes parents who have an existing order for
child support issued by a judge.
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F.

iii.  MDHS, Division of Child Support Enforcement may provide exemptions
based upon Claims of Good Cause such as, but not limited to:

a.

b.

e

The noncustodial parent has caused physical and/or emotional harm
to the child.

Physical and/or emotional harm caused by the noncustodial parent
to the relative caring for the child limiting the custodial parent’s
ability to care for the child.

A child conceived as a result of incest or rape.

Pending legal adoption proceedings.

A public or private social services agency assisting you, the
custodial parent, to decide whether to keep the child or to release the
child for adoption.

iv. When the completed Verification for Child Support Form is received by
DECCD, the following steps will occur:

a.

d.

e.

If the parent has checked “yes” in the first column, indicating that
they have a Child Support case through DHS, pull up the Child
Support website,

Search by parent’s Social Security Number,

Click “select” and pull up and print the parent’s information,
including payments,

Attach the printout to the application and use the amount when
calculating income and co-payment for the parent,

At annual re-certification, repeat step “iii” above.

Any parent enrolled full-time in high school or in a GED program may make an
application in his/her own name, as a family unit separate from his/her parent. If
the teen parent is urderage-and-living with his/her parent(s), the parent of the teen
must meet the work requirements; however, the teen’s parents’ income should not
be considered. If a teen parent lives in the home with her parent(s) or guardian, then
the parent(s) or guardian of a teen parent under the age of 18 must sign the
certificate and forms along with the teen parent.

No adult living in the home with the child may be paid for child care. Extenuating
cireumstances-wit-be-handled-on-a-case-by-case-basis—The biological parent of a

child shall not be reimbursed for providing child care for his/her own child(ren)
regardless of the location of their residence.

Documents Required for Eligibility Determination

A

Income Documents:
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Vi.

Two paycheck stubs from within the past 30 days. If paid once a month,
only one check stub is required.

If a new job, the employer’s letter on employer’'s company letterhead or
employer’s notarized statement verifying employment, income, rate of pay
and number of hours worked. Actual check stubs must be submitted
within 30 days.

Parents paid in cash should obtain a certified letter from the employer on
company letterhead or employer’s notarized statement verifying
employment, income, rate of pay and number of hours worked.

Parents employed by temporary agencies may be certified with an original
letter from an employer on company letterhead verifying employment, rate
of pay, and number of hours worked. The letter of employment must be
followed up with check stubs within 30 days.

Copy of Estimated Quarterly Tax Report if self-employed, or seme-another
form of income documentation approved by DECCD. The Oother
acceptable forms of income documentation includes a Federal 1040 _Tax
Form and-including the Profit or Loss Statement (Schedule C). DECCD
will use the “Total Sales and Receipts” amount located on the Profit/Loss
Statement to determine if the work requirement has been met. DECCD will
use the amount located on line 22 of the Federal 1040 Tax Form to
determine income eligibility.

The Work Number, an automated service is an option for income and
employment verification. This service is an acceptable source for
documenting employment and income. THE WORK NUMBER can be
used instead of the employer’s notarized statement or information on the
employer’s letterhead. Therefore, copies of check stubs are NO LONGER
required to be submitted for those parents whose employment uses The
Work Number Service. THE WORK NUMBER’S website is
www.theworknumber.com, e-mail address IS
govinfo@theworknumber.com or 1-800-660-3399.

B. Educational Documents:

—Parents enrolled in an approved educational program must provide
enrollment documentation in the form of a letter from the institution’s
registrar confirming current full time enrollment. GED classes should be
handled the same as any other approved educational training.

C. Additional Required Documentation:
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(4)

i Long Form Birth Certificate - A 90-day grace period may-shall be allowed
to receive the birth certificate for a newborn. A 30-day grace period wiH
shall be allowed for all other children.

ii. Verification of social security numbers can be obtained from a copy of the
social security card, tmmunization—recordthe Form 121 Certificate of
Immunization issued by the Mississippi Department of Health, or other
official document showing the child’s and/or a parent’s name and social
security number.

iii. DECCD must provide a statement that makes it clear to CCPP applicants
that the provision of a Social Security Number is voluntary and that benefits
will not be denied or withheld for the failure to furnish a Social Security
Number. Instructions will be given to parents explaining how the Social
Security Number will be used if provided, in order to encourage applicants
who choose to provide them (e.g. to identify individuals with the same
name).

v, If it is necessary for parents to supply additional documentation of proof of
residence, the parent must supply a current driver’s license or state issued
I.D. and a current bank statement, cell phone bill, utility bill or cable bill.
The addresses on the driver’s license, 1.D. and bank statement/bill must
match and corroborate the address of residence supplied to DECCD.

Requirements for a Disabled Parent

A

If a two-parent family applies for assistance and one parent is working and the other
has a disability and is unable to care for the child(ren) as a result, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren).

If a single parent has a disability and has a physician’s statement stating the nature
of the disability and that the parent is unable to care for the child(ren), the
application should be made in the responsible guardian’s name. The responsible
guardian is the person responsible for the parent’s affairs; the guardian must meet
the work requirement. The disabled parent’s Supplemental Security Income should
be used to calculate the co-payment fee.

If a single parent is disabled and there is no guardian, the application should be in
the single parent’s name. Child cCare can be provided if a written statement is
submitted by a physician stating the nature of the disability and that the parent is
unable to care for the child(ren).

If the guardian with whom the child(ren) reside(s) has a disability, child care can be
provided if a written statement is submitted by a physician stating the nature of the
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(6)

disability and that the guardian is unable to care for the child(ren). Verification of
cooperation with Child Support Enforcement is required if the biological parents
are not deceased.

Parents enlisted in the United States Military and Deployed

the-responsible guardian’s income should not be counted but the-grandparents—or-the
responsible guardian must meet the 25 hours per week work requirement, unless they are
65 years of age or can provide proof that they have retired from full-time employment.
Pell Grants

Pell Grants should not be considered as income when determining eligibility. Pell Grant
funds and child care subsidy payments can be used simultaneously for child care services.

102.064 RE-DETERMINATION

(1)

)

©)

Re-Determination of working parent’s eligibility is to be re-established during the CCPP
year in the months of February, March, April, and May. DECCD will send a letter to
parent(s) requesting check stubs or other verification of employment and request
verification of household/marital status. If the CCPP Application Packet is not returned
by the due date indicated, a second notice should be mailed certified return receipt
requested. If the mail has been returned undeliverable, the child care provider should be
notified. Failure to comply with Re-Determination procedures say—shall result in
termination of certificates.

Re-Determination of parent’s eligibility for those enrolled in an approved educational
program is determined every semester or quarter. Documentation for redetermination
will include proof of school enrollment (if not currently on file), proof of employment,
proof of household size; and location, and proof of income. Failure to comply with
Re-Determination procedures may-shall result in termination of certificates.

When income is recalculated and there is a change in a co-payment fee, a notice is sent to
the parent and the provider. The updated co-payment fee is effective on the first day of the
month following the month of re-determination. If income increases beyond 85 percent of
the State Median Income, child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice. If the
parent is no longer working, child care will be terminated, giving a two-week notice to the
child care provider. If the parent has been temporarily laid off or has lost a job for other
reasons, child care will not be terminated until 60 days after the last work day, giving the
parent time to be reinstated in their job or to search for a job, provided the parent notified
DECCD of loss of employment within 10 days of the event.
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SECTION 103: CO-PAYMENT FEES
103.01 DETERMINING CO-PAYMENT FEES

1)

@

TANF parents are not assessed a co-payment fee. For all other parents, co-payment fees
are determined based upon the parent's family size and income according to the CCDF
Child Care Monthly Co-payment Fee Scale for Parents.

Co-payment fees are redetermined when there is a change in the parent's income or
household size, or during annual redetermination of eligibility. The updated co-payment
fee is effective on the first day of the month following the month of re-determination.

103.02 ASSESSING CO-PAYMENT FEES PER CHILD

1)

)

(3)

(4)

If a parent has one child receiving full-time child care services, the total co-payment fee
should be placed on that child's certificate. If a parent has one child receiving part-time
child care services, only half of the total co-payment fee should be placed on the child’s
certificate.

If one child is in full-day care and part-day care during the same month, the fee should be
assessed on the majority of the type of care provided. For example, if a child is served 16
part-time days and five full-time days, the part-time co-payment fee would be assessed for
the month.

If a parent has more than one child receiving full-time service, the total co-payment fee is
divided equally among the number of children receiving care. If two or more children are
receiving part-time services, one half of the divided fee should be placed on each
certificate. If a parent has children receiving before/after child care and holiday/summer
child care, a full co-payment fee and a half co-payment fee are placed on each certificate
and the appropriate fee is deducted during the payment cycle.

Exceptions:

A. If a parent has two children, one who is receiving full-year, full-time child care and
one being added for holiday/summer child care only, the co-payment fee for the
full-year, full-time care will remain the same. The parent is assessed an additional
$10.00 fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

B. If a parent has two or more children receiving full-year, full-time child care and one
child receiving holiday/summer care only, the total co-payment fee is divided
equally among the children attending full-time. The parent is not assessed a
co-payment fee for the child receiving holiday/summer child care.

C. Parents assessed a minimum co-payment fee are:

i. Foster Children
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ii. Children in Protective/Preventive Service

iii. Special Needs Children - Special Needs status must be documented. If
there are other children in the family who are receiving child care services,
the fee will be $10 or the child's prorated share of the family’s co-payment
fee, whichever is less. Services for children with Special Needs will
continue until the child reaches 18 years of age.

103.03 NON-PAYMENT OF CO-PAYMENT FEES

Co-payment fees are to be paid during the current month directly to the provider according to
payment arrangements established by the provider and parent. Providers must maintain proof of
collection of co-payment fees, identified separately from tuition overage payments made by
parents._ Providers must provide proof of co-payment fees to parents in the form of a receipt
including the parent’s name, date and amount of payment, center name, if applicable, and the child
care provider’s name and signature. If a parent fails to pay the co-payment fee prior to the end of
the month, the provider is required to notify DECCD. Non-payment of co-payment fees may

result in termination of the parent from the—certificateprogramCCPP. If the parent requests a
change in a—_child care provider with an outstanding balance of co-payment fees to the current

provider, prior—to—fees—being—patd—in—ful—to—theoriginalprovider—the parent must pay all
co-payment fees before a new certificate is issued. It is the responsibility of the provider to report
non-payment of co-payment fees to DECCD. The provider may not charge parents any cost over
the assigned co-payment fee unless the cost for child care to the general public is higher than the
amount paid by the certificate program.

103.04 CO-PAYMENT RECOUPMENT/REPAYMENT

1) If a parent’s fee was assessed at a rate higher than the correct fee_and the parent has made
payment to the provider, ; the parent is to be reimbursed by BECED-the provider for the
difference for each month paid. The correct fee is to be noted on the certificate and a
notice of the change forwarded to the provider and the parent.

&—If a parents fee was assessed at a rate lower than the correct fee, the parent anel—the

fa araneo a a .
adwstment—te—the—fee—w—made—bui—#eeeepmem—m—net—neeessw is respon5|ble for

reimbursing the provider for the difference between the corrected co-payment amount and
the incorrect co-payment amount that was paid.

103.05 PRORATING CO-PAYMENT FEES

The assessed co-payment fee reflects a monthly rate regardless of attendance. If a child is
enrolled between the 1st and 15th of the month, the full monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the
first month of service. If the child is enrolled between the 16th and last day of the month, one-half
of the monthly co-payment fee is assessed for the first month of service. If a parent desires to
change a provider during the month, it is the parent’s responsibility to pay the appropriate
co-payment fee to any subsequent providers.
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SECTION 104: MISSISSIPPI ECHILDCARE

Mississippi eChildcare is a technology-based method of issuing payments to child care providers
and tracking child attendance. Licensed child care facilities and their enrolled families will utilize
Point of Service (POS) machines to track child attendance. Unlicensed providers and their
enrolled families will utilize a telephone-based Interactive VVoice Response (IVR) system to track
child attendance. All providers will have access to the Mississippi eChildcare Portal to login and
gain access to information related to authorized certificates assigned to their provider number. The
following policies describe the Mississippi eChildcare requirements and processes for parents and
child care providers.

104.01 DESCRIPTION OF POS AND IVR USE

(1)  The Mississippi eChildcare Program is a system used to track child attendance for children
receiving subsidy funds from the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program. Payments are
made to approved providers based on the information entered into the POS or IVR and
other policies stated in this document. For licensed providers this system involves the use
of a finger scan by a parent of household designee to document attendance at the child care
facility on a daily basis. For unlicensed providers, this system involves the use of a
land-line telephone system by a parent or household designee to document attendance at
the child care facility on a daily basis. Parents or household designees can enter the
current day’s attendance, or enter previous check in/out times for up to seven days, the
current day and six previous days. The system is designed to accommodate these actions,
but timely and accurate payment occurs when attendance is entered daily.

(2.)  Each family case can have up to five finger scans, the parent is the primary scan and they
may select up to four household designees that have the authority and responsibility to
comply with POS and IVR processes daily. Parents are responsible for all actions in the
POS and IVR, even if those actions were taken by a household designee. No employee of
the child care center or the individual child care provider can be a household designee for
any child attending their program.

(3.)  Clients and their designees are responsible for recording the actual times and dates their
child attends by either scanning their finger image into the POS machine or by using the

IVR system.

i. _If the client or designee receives a denial message, the provider shall charge the client
for that day of care. If it is later determined that the denial was in error, the provider
shall reimburse the client for any payments made for care as a result of the denial
message.

ii. _Providers shall monitor the POS machines and/or the Provider Portal to ensure correct
attendance times and dates have been entered by the client. If the client makes an
error, the provider shall void the transaction and ask the parent to enter the correct time
and date of attendance.

iii. When clients fail to enter attendance for a day that care was provided, record incorrect
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104.02 CL

times, or receive a denial message, the system will allow the client to enter a previous
check in/out for the current day and the previous six days.

IENT RESPONSIBILITIES FOR RECORDING CHILD ATTENDANCE

The following policies describe the role and responsibility of clients with authorized certificates

from the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program:

(1)

All clients and their selected Household Designees are required to view the

(2.)

Mississippi eChildCare training video for either the POS or the IVR, depending on
the type of child care provider selected. Training videos are available on
DECCD’s website, MDHS county offices, and at Mississippi Child Care Resource
and Referral sites across the State.

All clients are responsible for identifying up to four Household Designees that will

be allowed to check the child(ren) in and out of care daily. Parents are ultimately
responsible for ensuring attendance is recorded at the provider site. Parents will
enter the legal names of their selected household designees by loging into the Child
Care Payment Program website upon completion of their training.

All clients and household designees utilizing a licensed child care facility are

responsible for having their finger scanned into the Mississippi eChildcare system.

All clients are responsible for using the POS/IVR daily to record check in and out

(5.)

times at the provider location within seven days-the current day plus the previous
six days. DECCD will only pay for recorded check ins and outs. If a client fails
to use the POS/IVR to check the child in or out they are responsible for full
payment to the provider for that day.

All clients are responsible for checking the POS/IVR messaqge after each check in

(6.)

or out to determine if it is approved, denied, or pending. If the check in/out is
denied or pending, the client is responsible for reporting the problem to the child
care provider immediately.

All clients are responsible for maintaining the security of their personal

(7.)

identification number (PIN). This number should not be shared with the child care
provider.

DECCD will not pay if one or more of the following occurs:

i. The client did not record attendance timely for days and times their child was in
care.

ii. The client failed to get denied check ins/outs corrected within seven days.

160



iii. The child is absent and has exceeded the maximum number of allowed absence
days.

104.03 PROVIDER RESPONSIBILITIES FOR MISSISSIPPI ECHILDCARE

The following policies describe the role and responsibilities of child care providers approved by
the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program:

(1) Providers shall never be in possession of the child’s PIN number, or use the client’s
PIN number to record attendance.

(2.) Providers shall never move the POS machine to another location without receiving
prior written approval from DECCD.

(3) Providers shall require clients to enter attendance as care is used.

(4) Providers shall never ask or require a client to enter attendance for a day the child
does not attend.

(5.) Providers shall maintain all sign in/out sheets required for monitoring as described
in Section 105.01 of this document.

(6.)  Providers shall ensure that all attendance submitted is correct and void any
incorrect transactions within the seven day limit-the current day and six previous

days.
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SECTION 1054: PAYMENTS TO PROVIDERS FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES
1054.01 SIGN-IN/OUT SHEETS

Providers are required to maintain a record_of accurate attendance and absences on sign-in/out
sheets and on daily class rolls for each child in order to complete-the—paymentledgerdocument
attendance. The sign-in/out sheets must show the child’s first and last name, the full name of the
parent/guardian or parent’s authorized representative, the time the child is signed in with the
signature of the person signing the child in, and the time the child is signed out with the signature
of the person signing the child out each day. If sign-in/out sheets are not maintained and made
available upon request and/or for Monitoring processes, or do not follow the policies described
above, funds issued based on missing/erroneous information wiH-shall be recouped by DECCD.
Unlicensed providers are not exempt from this policy.

105.02 PAYMENTS

(1) Payments for child care services are made to providers in accordance with the policies
described in this document.

(2.) DECCD makes bi-monthly payments to providers for child care services provided through
a direct deposit process.

(3.) The payment week beqins every Sunday at 12:01 a.m. and ends every Saturday at
midnight.

(4.) Licensed providers shall receive one POS machine for every 50 children enrolled in their
program with an authorized child care certificate. These machines will be installed within
ten days of the approved provider reporting enrollment of a child with an authorized
certificate at their center. No provider will receive a POS machine while seeking approval
by the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program.

(5.)  Adjustments are made when an overpayment or underpayment occurs.

i. An underpayment is the result of error by DECCD, or other MDHS Divisions making
referrals for care. Once the error has been identified, funds will be disbursed with the
next reqularly scheduled payment to the provider.
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A. Providers must report errors in their payment to DECCD using a Report of
Underpayment form within ten days of receipt of incorrect payment.

B. If a client fails to record attendance, no payment is made to the licensed provider
for those days. The licensed provider shall collect payment for these days from
the client.

C. If the client’s attempts to enter attendance was denied in error, or incorrect rates
were applied due to an error in eligibility information, DECCD will make a
manual adjustment upon receipt of the Report of Underpayment form-.

ii. Overpayments are the result of error by DECCD, clients, or providers. Payment plans
will be instituted so that funds are deducted from future payments made to the provider
at a rate of 5% until the full amount that was overpaid has been recouped.

A. Payment plans will not exceed 12 months, unless approved by the Director of
DECCD.

B. If a child care provider is debarred or suspended from participation in the
Mississippi Child Care Payment Program before an overpayment is recouped in
full, all future payments will be withheld in their entirety and applied to the
outstanding balance.

1054.034 CONDITIONS OF PAYMENT RATFESAND-CENTERPOLICIES

Q) Licensed providers must file a copy of the center's published rates with DECCD annually.
Providers are not allowed to charge a higher rate to families in the certificate program than
the rate charged to the general public.

2 A. If the child care center’s policy states that a program stipend will be provided to
non-certificate children, the provider must document the amount and the source of
funds for each child on a monthly basis. Parent co-payment fees cannot be used as
children’s stipends. This documentation must be in hard copy such as check stubs
receipts, etc., that will show Mississippi Department of Human Services auditors a
clear paper trail of cash infusion from non-tuition sources and
non-child-care-certificate monies sufficient to cover the full amount of tuition
without any stipends.

163



BC.

CBb.

DE.

EEF.

FG.

GH.

Hi.

Parents (including TANF workers) employed at a licensed center or group home
may be eligible for a child care certificate providing that they do not care for their
own child(ren). Nor can the child(ren) be included in a group assigned to the
biological parent to maintain the adult/child ratio required by the Mississippi State
Department of Health, Division of Child Care Licensure.

Rates of reimbursement are assigned on a certificate based on the provider type
(licensed or unlicensed), age of child, and Tier level. A full-time rate may be
charged for non-traditional child care. Non-traditional child care is appropriate
when a parent requires full-time child care in lieu of before-and-after school care.

School-aged children and children who attend other programs such as Head Start
will be reimbursed at the part-time rate for absenteces; during vacation and
holidays except during times when it is documented that the child(ren) attended the
licensed child care center for the ; full-day because the school was not open or for
out-of-school suspension; during the school year. Full time reimbursement will be
issued for full time care provided by licensed centers when the primary school

settmq is closed or for out-of- school suspensmn Ihe—prewdepmust—pltewde—a

Providers will be reimbursed at a part time rate for any day in which a school age
child or child with a full-time/part-time certificate is present for a full day of care

while their regular-educationalfacthityprimary school setting is open.

-Summer child care for school-aged children will be reimbursed at the full-time
rate for absentees, vacation, and holidays.

—If at any time during a CCPP year, a provider changes Tier reimbursement status,
changes will be adjusted in the system to allow for future reimbursement at the
appropriate rate.

I If it becomes necessary for the Tier 1-eligible director to be absent
for leave, DECCD must be notified within 10 days. DECCD will
determine on a case-by-case basis if Tier 1 reimbursement will
continue during leave.

—Full-time certificate payments for school-age children may not be issued to
students enrolled in grades one through twelve unless full-time care is needed
during non-traditional hours and/or the primary schools setting are is closed.
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)

13. Full-time certificate payments may be issued for 3 and 4 year olds enrolled in
public or private pre-kindergarten programs where tuition is assessed. Certificates
will expire on a child’s 5th birthday. Families who continue to meet eligibility
criteria may apply to continue services until the child is 12 years of age, or 18 years
of age if a special needs child. Additionally, 5 year old children whose parent(s)
elect not to enroll their child(ren) in a public kindergarten program may receive
full-time certificate funds until they reach the age of 6(six), which is the
compulsory age for school attendance in the state of Mississippi.

1054.046 ABSENTEES AND NOTICE

(1) If a Chl|d is epeatedly absent feemere—than—tm@weeks—feemeeaeakpeasene—the—papem—ts

ease—ley-easebasm—Due to a chronlc |IIness DECCD shall be notlfled by a Ietter from the

child’s physician describing the likelihood of repeated absence. DECCD will make a
notation in the system, and will pay licensed providers for absences that are reported due to
chronic illness. Parents are responsible for paying their determined co-payment amount
in full even if the child does not attend due to chronic illness.

In the case of court-ordered visitation, DECCD must be notified and a copy of the
visitation order of the court must be kept on file by the provider. Any days a child is
absent due to court-ordered visitation will not count towards a child’s vaeatien—paid

absence days allotment of 15 days per program year. Fhe-providershould-indicate-this

reasen—on—ledgers—Parents are responsible for paying their determined co-payment
amount in full_even if the child does not attend due to court ordered visitation.

The Ch|Id Care Payment Program will net—leepespenenete—feepa%nents—feesemees-beyend




weeksprovide a two-week notice for the termination of all certificates issued to licensed
providers, except in the instance of substantiated provider fraud.

{5) A child care center must remain open on days when children are taken on field trips or for
vacatiopany other day outside of the approved holiday list provided by DECCD for any
children who cannot attend the field trips or are-rot-en-vacation-and-stitb-need child care
during holidays, etc.-

(6).  Clients utilizing licensed facilities shall enter in attendances. The absence of a matched
check in/out will result in non-payment to the provider for all days in which this occurs.
Unlicensed providers are paid for attendance only. Clients utilizing unlicensed providers
do not have to use the IVR to record absences.
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SECTION 1065: INTERRUPTION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES
1065.01 ALLOWABLE LEAVE TIME FOR PARENTS

| () Parents who lose or change jobs are allowed a 60 day grace period from the last date of

()

(3)

(4)

(")

| (8)

employment before child care services are terminated in order to give the parent time to be
reinstated in their job, providing that a Change of Information form is submitted ro
DECCD within 10 working days of the change in employment. During this 60 day period,
the parent is required to submit new eligibility documentation and be redetermined eligible
for services. Failure to notify DECCD within 10 days of the change in employment or
submit acceptable eligibility documentation wiH-shall result in the termination of services.

Temporary Job Closings - Workers temporarily unemployed due to the nature of their
work may include but are not limited to workers employed in construction, factories, or
poultry and catfish processing plants. Extensions beyond the approved 60 days must gain
approval from DECCD on a case-by-case basis.

Natural Disaster - Child care services should be continued when parents are off work due to
circumstances beyond the parent’s control such as hurricanes, floods, and tornado.
Licensed child care providers shewld—shall be reimbursed when the center is closed
temporarily due to a natural disaster for up to 10 business days per occurrence unless the
parent needs to make alternate care arrangements. Unlicensed centers are—shall be
reimbursed for actual attendance only.

A pregnant mother is allowed six weeks of child care assistance during maternity leave.
Documentation from a physician of the maternity leave must be included in the parent's
file. If more leave time is required due to medical reasons, a physician’s statement is
requiredmust be submitted to DECCD. The parent must provide new eligibility
documentation once she returns to work. Failure to submit acceptable eligibility
documentation wit-shall result in the termination of services.

(5) Fathers are allowed six weeks of child care assistance related to the birth of a child, if the

employer/educational institution approves the leave time. Documentation in the form of a
letter on the employer/educational letterhead allowing the leave of absence for this reason
must be submitted to DECCD.

(6) Parent(s) are allowed six weeks of child care assistance in cases of adoption of a new child

or when a Foster Child is placed in the home, if the employer/educational institution
approves the leave time. Documentation in the form of a letter on the employer/educational
letterhead allowing the leave of absence for this reason must be submitted to DECCD.

Parent(s) are allowed up to thirty days of sick leave from their job if documented by their
employer and physician. Extenuating circumstances in which additional time is required
will be handled on a case-by-case basis.

A child is allowed 156 wvacationfabsencepaid absence days per federal fiscal year
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(beginning October 1 - September 30). Absences related to court-ordered visitations,
chronic illness, and medical treatment for children with special needs are not counted as
vacation days as long as documentation of these circumstances is on file with DECCD.

9) DECCD will pay for up to 11 holidays for the period beginning October 1 through
September 30. If the Governor allows days in addition to the list below in observance of a
| holiday, providers will be notified that they are also allowed these extra days. If the
identified holiday falls on a weekend, the DECCD Director will designate weekdays to

| observe the holiday at their discretion.

| (10.) Approved paid holidays for licensed providers:

January 1 New Year’s Day

The Third Monday of January Robert E. Lee’s Birthday and Dr. Martin
Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday

Spring (date varies annually) Good Friday

The Last Monday of May National Memorial Day and
Jefferson Davis’ Birthday

July 4 Independence Day

The First Monday of September Labor Day

November Thanksgiving Day & the Friday after

December 24 Christmas Eve

December 25 Christmas Day

December 31 New Year’s Eve
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| (3
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()
(6)

| (")

1065.02 REASONS FOR TERMINATION

TANF, TCC, Foster Children and Children in Preventive/Protective Services, and
participants of Health Homes Mississippi are referred for services by a MDHS Case
Manager/HHM Family Support Worker.  Services will—shall be terminated upon
notification by the Case Manager_for TANF clients and Children in Foster,
Preventive/Protective Services. Clients receiving TCC and participating in Healthy
Homes Mississippi shall be terminated upon notice from a MDHS Division of Economic
Assistance caseworker, HHM Family Support Worker, or when found to be out of
compliance with requirements of the MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement,
when applicable.

Non-payment of co-payment fees may-shall result in termination-suspension from the
Child Care Payment Program for a one-year period.

A child care certificate may be terminated upon the request of the parent, or by DECCD in
accordance with CCPP policy.

Child care services will be terminated when a child grows older than the age requirements.

If at any time a parent provides fraudulent information, child care services are immediately
terminated and the client is ineligible to reapply for a one-year period. DECCD may elect
to permanently disbar parents from participation in CCPP in accordance with Section
1086.01(1) of this document.

If a parent fails to use the POS or IVR system to record child attendance seven times within
a program Yyear, the certificate will be terminated.

105.03 CHANGE IN PROVIDER

1) Parents are allowed to change prowders ne—mere—than—tmm—ﬂmes—per—fede#al—ﬁseal—yeap

p%eweer—ne—lengepprewees—emw—eare—semeeswhen the current prowder IS no Ionqer

preferred. Parents must request a change in provider from DECCD prior to withdrawing
the child, unless under emergency circumstances. The parent(s) should-shall give at least
two weeks prior notice to the current provider before withdrawing the child from the center
unless there are extenuating circumstances. While parents have the right to exercise
parental choice in selecting a child care provider, certificates will not be issued to a
provider until they have met all requirements to become a CCPP approved provider.
Parents must select a CCPP approved provider. No payments will be issued for care
provided while a provider is seeking to become an approved provider.
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Section 1076 DISPUTES
1076.01 PARENTAL AND PROVIDER DISPUTES

1)

Any unresolved dispute concerning a question of fact under the Application/Agreement
between DECCD and Parent or Provider shall be decided by the Director of the Division of
Early Childhood Care and Development. In the review by the DECCD Director the
Parent or Provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in
support of the questioned decision under review. This decision shall be reduced to writing
and a copy thereof mailed or furnished to the Parent or Provider and shall be final and
conclusive, unless, within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision, the Parent or
Provider mails or delivers to the Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of
Human Services a written request for review. Pending final decision of the Executive
Director or his/her designee, DECCD will proceed in accordance with the decision of the
Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development. In addition, listed
below are the procedures to be used #r-when an Administrative Hearing for a Child Care
Dispute_is desired:

A A Parent or Provider may not request a hearing on behalf of another individual or to
discuss decisions regarding another person.

B. If an Administrative Hearing is desired, a written request for the Hearing must be
submitted to the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and
Development. If requested, an Administrative Hearing will be held with the
Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development serving as the
Hearing Officer.

C. The Hearing Officer will be a neutral observer who will conduct the Hearing. The
Hearing Officer will listen to both sides and then make a decision based upon the
evidence that is provided.

D. This is an informal proceeding that gives both parties their due process rights and a
forum to provide evidence. This is not an adverse process. Questions are to be
asked only for clarification. If a party has legal representation, the attorney is
there only to give legal advice to his/her client and not for direct or cross
examination.
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SECTION 108%#: FRAUD AND ABUSE

This section outlines the policies and procedures for handling alleged and/or substantiated fraud
and exploitation in the Child Care Payment Program by a parent and/or provider.

1084.01 POLICY STATEMENT

Any person applying for or receiving public assistance by using false statements, and any person
assisting that person to receive such public assistance with knowledge of those false statements, is
subject to criminal prosecution. The offense may be a misdemeanor when the amount received or
requested is below $500 or a felony if the amount received or requested is above $500. If a child
care center knowingly provides false information, a financial penalty will be imposed. Whether
or not a criminal conviction results, at the first offense, recoupment will be made and the center
may be disqualified from participating in the Child Care Payment Program, contingent upon
whether the deception is intentional or unintentional.

108%.02 SUSPECTED FRAUD OR ABUSE OF FUNDS

(1) DECCD staff will not attempt to resolve any suspicion of parent and/or provider fraud or
misuse of funds. DECCD staff will collect any documentation to support an investigation
of suspected fraud or misuse of funds. This documentation shall be referred directly to the
Director of the MDHS Division of Early Childhood Care and Development for referral to
the MDHS, Division of Program Integrity (DPI) for investigation. DECCD staff will not
alert the parent and /or provider of any suspicion of fraud or misuse of funds while an
investigation is pending. Funding may continue during the investigation.

2 Priorto-terminating-certificate icensed-child-care-facilities-due-to-documentedfraudin

the event that fraud is substantiated in a licensed child care facility, DECCD will assist the
parent(s) with locating an alternative child care facility or home without an interruption in
child care services unless the parent(s) chooses to keep their child(ren) at the center and
forfeit the CCPP funding. In this situation, a notarized statement of fact from the parent(s)
must be retained by DECCD. If it is determined that fraud was committed by a parent, the
provider will be allowed two weeks’ notice of termination.

1087.03 RECOUPMENT OF FUNDS

1) The MDHS, Division of Program Integrity (DPI) shall employ the required steps to recoup
or attempt to recoup funds paid for ineligible services because of suspected parent or
provider fraud or misuse of funds when unable to resolve otherwise. The steps include,
but are not limited to:

A. A letter outlining the DECCD policy violated, the total amount of funds to be
repaid, the legal action to be pursued if the parent or facility owner fails to
cooperate, and a response time frame of 15 calendar days; the letter and the report

171



shall be sent to the alleged offender by certified mail; a copy shall be retained by
DPI and the Director of DECCD;

B. After the-MBHS; DPI completes the-an investigation of alleged fraud and/or
misuse of funds, if applicable, criminal charges shall be filed with the appropriate
local law enforcement agency, when fraud is substantiated.

C. When fraud is substantiated and criminal charges are filed with the local law
enforcement agency, funds shall be recovered through restitution ordered by the
court. Checks issued by the court for restitution shall be made payable to
Treasurer, State of Mississippi and mailed directly to the MDHS, DPI.

D. The MDHS, DPI staff shall track receipt of checks issued for payment of restitution
on a case-by-case basis until all funds have been recovered.

108%.04 FINAL DISPOSITION FOR ACTION

A copy of any final judgment issued by the Court shall be forwarded directly to the MDHS, DPI
and a copy of the final judgment will be provided to DECCD by the MDHS, DPI.
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‘ SECTION 1098: MONITORING

’ 1098.01 MONITORING PROCEDURE

1)

)

DECCD will monitor a selection of licensed and unlicensed providers participating in the
certificate program at least once annually. DECCD will select centers whose records
indicate a need for technical assistance, for example, ledgers—marked—with—perfect
attendance submitted for each child each month. According to MDHS Subgrantee
Manual, DECCD staff may conduct monitoring visits un-announced.-_ DECCD will not
monitor any fiscal or children’s files without the director or an approved supervisor staff

person in attendance. Only necessary documentation should be requested from the parent

and provider.

Monitoring visits will include a review of the following records:

A

Licensed and unlicensed providers must maintain a daily attendance roster (sign
in/out sheets) for each child in accordance with Section 104.01(1) of this document.

The attendance recorded on the eenter'sprovider’s sign in and out sheets attendance
roster-will be compared to the attendance reported en-the-centers-ledgerto DECCD.
All documentation related to child attendance will be reviewed.

The center's published rates charged to the general public will be compared to the
rates requested and received on each certificate.

Verify the payment of co-payment fees. Both licensed and unlicensed providers are
required to maintain receipts for payment of monthly co-payment fees.

A copy of the center's license, if applicable, will be requested if a current copy is
not on file with DECCD.

Records will be reviewed to verify that the center has retained a copy of the
Center’s Statement of Agreement.-en-fiHe-

The center will be monitored to make sure that the hours of operation meet the
needs of the full-time working parents plus travel time. Fhis—apphies—to
non-traditional-child-care-hours—The center must be open at least five (5) days per
week.

The attendance will be checked to ensure that the eenter-provider is not receiving
more (CCDF and TANF) certificates than its’ licensed or allowed capacity at any
given time (for example, non-traditional shifts, and before and after school). If it
is determined during the monitoring visit that the eenter—_attendance exceeds the
centerprovider’s licensed or allowed capacity, then the situation will be reported to
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the Mississippi State Department of Health, Child Care Licensure and DECCD.
Attendance in excess of licensed or allowed capacity is considered fraudulent and
shall result in a recoupment of funds issued for certificates in excess of licensed or
allowed capacity.

l. Unlicensed eenters-providers must provide copies of immunization records_(Form
121 Certificate of Immunization issued by the Mississippi Department of Health)
for providers and-ef all children enrolled in care.

J. Per the Center Statement of Agreement, all child care providers are notified that
monitoring may be announced or unannounced. Refusal to cooperate in the
| monitoring process wil shall result in a financial penalty.

| 3) A If a center is not accurately recording attendance or is charging different rates, the
center will receive a letter concerning the finding(s). Any overpayments that
occurred because of these two situations shall be recouped by DECCD. BECED

@

—A center with findings may be monitored again, by either announced or
unannounced visits. If the center is still in non-compliance under the original
finding(s), a copy of all correspondence regarding the matter should-beforwarded
to—MDHS:shall be forwarded to DECCD and processes for Suspension or

Debarment described in this document will be engaged.

1098.02 SUSPENSION, ANB-DEBARMENT,_ AND PENALTIES

(1)  If a parent commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, a parent may not apply for
or receive CCPP funding until the date indicated on the Notice of Suspension.

2 If a provider commits fraud or abuse, suspension or debarment will occur in addition to any
financial penalties/recoupments necessary. During suspension, or upon debarment, a
provider may not hold any administrative position in a facility or home in which CCPP
subsidies are received. This includes any position responsible for the recording or
tracking of enrollment and attendance as well as the completing and reporting of
family/child status and/or enrollment and attendance to CCPP.

(3.) Penalties shall be assessed of the provider if any of the following occur:

1. The provider is in possession of a client’s PIN number.
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1i. The provider uses a client’s PIN number in the IVR process.

iii. The provider requests a parent submit attendance for days the child was not in care.

iv. The provider submits attendance through the use of a POS or I\VVR system.

(4) When DPI determines that any of the previous scenarios have occurred, the following
penalties shall be assessed in addition to the recoupment of the full amount issued to the
provider as a result of the fraudulent activity:

i. The first violation shall result in a penalty of 10% of the total overpayment.

ii. The second violation shall result in a penalty of 20% of the total overpayment.

iii. The third violation shall result in a penalty of 30% of the total overpayment and
debarment from participation in the Mississippi Child Care Payment Program.

(5. Penalties will be collected in accordance with the processes described in Section 105.02(2)
of this document.
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GLOSSARY OF TERMS

This ehapter-section contains the definition of key words or phrases and clarifies the terms as they
relate to this manual.

ADULT - A person who has reached the age of majority (at least 18 years of age).

ATTENDING (EDUCATIONAL/JOB TRAINING) -Full time enrollment in an education
and/or training program resulting in a degree or certificate designed to promote job skills and
employability. Full time is determined by the institution.

AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE - An individual who has the legal right to speak or act on
the parent’s behalf. Written authorization must come to the child care center or DECCD directly
from the parent and be maintained in the appropriate file.

BEFORE-AND AFTER-SCHOOL CARE - Child care services for school-aged children (ages
5-12) during the hours before and after the regular school day. Under CCDF child care may be
provided for children under the age of 13 and for those children under the age of 18 who meet the
SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that caused
marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

CARE GIVER - An individual at least eighteen (18) years of age with a high school diploma or
equivalent (GED) who provides direct child care, supervision, and guidance to an eligible child.

MONTHLY CHILD CARE CO-PAYMENT FEES FOR PARENTS - A system of
cost-sharing based upon income and size of the family for families who participate in the Child
Care and Development Fund Program.__Parents are required to pay a monthly co-payment fee to
their child care provider of choice as a condition of program participation, with the exception of
clients receiving TANF.

CHILD CARE AND DEVELOPMENT FUND (CCDF) - A federally-funded program
designed to provide quality child care services to eligible very low-income families who are
actively participating in an allowable TANF activity, transitioning off TANF, at-risk of going on
TANF and are in need of child care in order to work OR are low-income families, employed or
enrolled in an approved educational or training program.

CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A document issued by DECCD directly to a parent(s) who has

been determined eligible for CCDF, who may use it as payment for child care services. A child
care certificate is assistance to the parent, not assistance to the provider.
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CHILD CARE FACILITIES:

CENTER-BASED - A non-residential facility in which shelter and personal care is
regularly provided for six or more children who are not related within the third degree
computed according to the civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and
receive care for any part of a 24-hour day._ No parent or guardian may provide care for
their own child in this setting.

For all Child Care Centers, as defined above, related children of all staff must be included
in the licensed number. These centers are considered commercial establishments and
must meet all requirements of the Regulation Governing Food Service Sanitation.
Additionally, these licensed centers must remain in compliance at all times with the
Mississippi State Department of Health’s Regulations Governing Licensure of Child Care
Facilities.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal
care is regularly provided for five or fewer children who are not related within the third
degree computed according to the civil law to the provider and who are less than 13 years
of age and are provided care for any part of the 24-hour day. These homes may
voluntarily register with the Mississippi State Department of Health and must be registered
with the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development, Mississippi Department of
Human Services. The provider must be at least 18 years old and cannot be a biological
parent of the child receiving assistance.__No parent or guardian may provide care for their
own child in this setting.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE - An occupied residence in which shelter and personal
care are regularly provided for six to 15 children who are not related within the third degree
computed according to civil law to the operator and who are under the age of 13 and
receive care for any part of the 24-hour day. Children related within the third degree are
included in determining space and staff, but are not included in the licensed number.__ No
parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this setting.

CHILD CARE PROVIDERS:

CENTER-BASED CHILD CARE PROVIDER - A provider licensed or otherwise
authorized to provide child care services for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a
non-residential setting, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents’
work, education, or training.__No parent or guardian may provide care for their own child
in this setting.
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FAMILY CHILD CARE PROVIDER - One individual who provides child care services
for fewer than 24-hours per day per child, as the sole CARE GIVER, in a-their private
residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to the nature of the parents’ work,
education, or training.__No parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this

setting.

GROUP HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - Two or more individuals who provide
child care services for six to 15 children for fewer than 24 hours per day per child, in a
private residence other than the child’s residence, unless care in excess of 24 hours is due to
the nature of the parents’ work, education, or training._These providers are licensed. No
parent or guardian may provide care for their own child in this setting.

IN-HOME CHILD CARE PROVIDER - An individual who provides child care services
in the child’s own home but maintains a separate residence. - No parent or quardian may
provide care for their own child in this setting.

CHILD CARE SERVICES - Care provided for a fee by a child care provider to an eligible child
or children in the parent_or guardian’s absence.

CHILD CARE WEEK - The period of time that child care is provided per week. The child care

week may cover mere-than-the-nermalfive-daysup to seven days. This is allowable as long as the
DECCD Weekly Child Care Reimbursement Tier rate is not exceeded, and the child does not

receive

care in excess of 84 hours during a Sunday through Saturday week.

CREDENTIALED DIRECTOR - A professional credential awarded to child care center
directors operating licensed child care programs in Mississippi and those who aspire to be
directors for the successful completion of a curriculum in Child Care Management Best Practice.

DEGREES OF KINDRED ACCORDING TO THE LAW:

FIRST

Parents and Children

SECOND Siblings (brothers and sisters), Grandparents, and Grandchildren

THIRD

DISAB

Uncles, Aunts, Nieces, Nephews, Great-Grandparents, and Great-Grandchildren

LED PARENT - See SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT.

EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM - A preschool program (ages birth to

kinderg

arten) that provides child care services to low-income working parents and ekigible-parents

enrolled in an educational or training program.

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM/JOB TRAINING -A program offering educational/job training
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| content—information. Programs must be accredited by the Sstate_of Mississippi or a national
organization.

ELIGIBLE CHILD - A child whose parent(s) meets the eligibility requirements as set forth by
the grant.

EXTENDED DAY CHILD CARE - Before-and after-school care for Early Head Start and Head
Start children (ages 3-4birth er up to age 5) and school-age children (ages 5-12) who need such
care due to the work schedule of their parent(s).

FAMILY - A unit where a child(ren) resides with a parent(s) who is related by blood, marriage,
adoption, or legal guardianship.

FAMILY OF ONE - A child receiving child care services based upon his/her income received
from SSI, foster board payment, etc.

FULL-DAY CHILD CARE - Child care provided for six or more hours of a 24-hour day.
Full-day child care should meet the needs and reflect the work, education, or TANF training
schedule of the parent with a maximum of 30 minutes of travel time each way.

GROSS INCOME - The parent’s income before any deductions.

HALF-DAY - Child care provided for fewer than six hours per day.

HOUSEHOLD DESIGNEE- An individual designated by a client or parent to use a POS
| machine or IVR system to record a child’s attendance in child care.

INCOME- funds received by all applicable individuals as described in policy which are not
supplemented by any public assistance other than food stamps or medical assistance, and does not
exceed 85 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

INCOME MAINTENANCE (IM) - Income from TANF or Supplemental Security Income and
other public assistance.

INFANTS - Children from birth through 12 months.
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IN LOCO PARENTIS - in place of parent, for example, a guardian or a relative or friend with
whom the child resides if the child’s parent is unable to act as the parent or has delegated his or her
authority to someone else. The term describes someone who provides care and supervision like a
parent but without going through the formalities of legal adoption or guardianship.

INTERACTIVE VOICE RESPONSE (IVR) system- A system used by parents and household
designees to record attendance in unlicensed child care settings which uses a land-line telephone.

LICENSING OR REGULATORY REQUIREMENTS - Requirements necessary for a
provider to legally provide child care services in a state or locality, including regulations and
requirements established under State Local or Tribal law. The “Mississippi Child Care Licensing
Law,” Section 43-20-1, et seq., of the Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated, which provides the
legal authority under which the Mississippi State Department of Health prescribes minimum
regulations for child care facilities defined under the law.

LOW-INCOME - Income above the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI) or at or below
the 85 percent of the SMI.

MINIMUM FEE - An assessment of $10 per month for full-day child care services and $5.00 per
month for half-day before-and after-school/extended day, etc. child care services.

MDHS TANF CASEWORKER MANAGER-- An employee of the Mississippi Department of
Human Services, Division of Economic Assistance, that provides case management services,
supportive services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF participants at the
local/county level supportive services, and referrals for child care services for active TANF
participants at the local/county level.

NON-TRADITIONAL CARE - Includes night care and supervision of seheel-age-children for
less than 24 hours per day that occurs within the twelve hours between 6:00 p.m. and 5:59 a.m., or
weekend care and supervision of children that takes place between 6:00 p.m. Friday and 5:59 a.m.
Monday.

PARENT - A mother or father by blood, marriage, or adoption, a legal guardian, or other person
standing in loco parentis.

POINT OF SERVICE (POS) machine- A machine that accepts finger image scans of parents or
household designees previously entered into the Mississippi cChildcare system used to record
child attendance in licensed child care facilities.

PRESCHOOL AGED CHILD - Children from three years of age through kindergarten.
PROTECTIVE SERVICES- Children that are court ordered to receive Protective Services from

MDHS, Division of Family & Children’s Services. These children are living in the home of a
parent or relative/kinship caretaker.
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PROVIDER - The entity providing child care services_as defined in this document.

PROVIDER PORTAL- A web-based information system containing information for child care
| providers regarding the active authorizations and attendance records in their center.

REIMBURSEMENT TIERS - The established rates for child care services based upon the age of
the child, type of child care provider, hours of child care, and DECCD approved tier criteria.

RESIDING/LIVING WITH - Living with, including taking meals and sleeping in the same
| house for a majority of a seven day period beginning with Sunday and ending with Saturday.

SEASONAL WORKERS - Individuals who are temporarily unemployed due to the nature of
their work.

SPECIAL NEEDS/DISABLED PARENT - A parent who meet s the SSI definition of disability
by having medically proven physical or mental condition(s) that cause marked and severe

| functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months in duration and render the parents
incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented by a physician. In the absence of
SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree of functional limitation(s) and
prescribe the special care needed. If the parent is unable to manage their personal affairs, the
application should be made in the parent/guardian or responsible adult’s name. If the disabled
parent receives SSI, the income maintenance fee of $10.00 should be applied to the child(ren).
Short Term disability medically documented will be handled on a case-by-case basis with approval
by DECCD.

SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD RATE - Special Needs rates may be applied for children through the
age of 18 who meet the SSI definition of disability by having medically proven physical or mental
condition(s) that cause marked and severe functional limitations expected to last at least 12 months
in duration and render the child(ren) incapable of self-care. The condition(s) must be documented
by a physician. In the absence of SSI benefits, medical documentation should attest to the degree
of functional limitation(s) and prescribe the special care needed.
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STATE MEDIAN INCOME (SMI) - The average income of all Mississippi workers.

SUMMER CARE - Child care for children during the summer months, when primary school
settings are-ts not in session.

SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) - A monthly payment to a person for having a
medically proven physical/mental or physical condition that causes marked and severe functional
limitations that are expected to last at least 12 months in duration.

TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) — Benefits offered throught Fthe block
grant that replaced the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) and Job Opportunities
and Basic Skills Program (JOBS). Benefits are time-limited, mandating that families move
quickly into work activities leading to self-sufficiency.

TERMINATED CHILD CARE CERTIFICATE - A certificate that has been used as payment
for child care services for a period of time and is no longer valid. Reasons that certificates would
be terminated include, but are not limited to, the following: giving—the provision of false
information_used to issue/maintain a certificate, change in a provider, ehange-thr-rates—change-in
funding-sources{example—from-CCDFto-FANF)-or there-has-hot-been-aa lack of a request for

reimbursement on a Child Care Certificate 60 days after the certificate has been issued.

TODDLERS - Children the age of 13 months and less than 36 months.

TRANSITIONAL CHILD CARE (TCC) - Up to 24 months of subsidized child care for eligible
parents, issued by the MDHS Division of Economic Assistance.

VERY LOW INCOME - Income at or below the 50 percent of the State Median Income (SMI).

WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME (WRI) - Income that is irrelevant; therefore, it is not to be
considered. The only children who are to be considered WITHOUT REGARD TO INCOME are
in court-ordered Protective Services Cases 348 and Preventive Services. The only documentation
necessary to determine eligibility is the referral form from the Division of Family and Children’s
services and proof of the parent’s work or exemption.

WORKING - Performing duties to earn a wage (for a minimum of 25 hours per week) or

complete educational/job training such as practicums or internships (enrollment for
education/training must be full time).
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MISSISSIPPI 3

Form MDHS-DECCD-43-6 MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES Appendlx A (front)

Revised 11/10/2011 DIVISION OF EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE & DEVELOPMENT

APPLICATION FOR THE CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM
We will consider this application without regard to race, color, age, sex, handicap, religion, national origin, or political benefit.

1. PARENT/LEGALLY RESPONSIBLE PERSON INFORMATION COUNTY OF RESIDENCE
NAME PHONE (Home) (Work)
MAILING ADDRESS SINGLE MARRIED SEPARATED DIVORCED
CITY ZIP. PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT Phone #
PHYSICAL ADDRESS, IF DIFFERENT THAN MAILING ADDRESS SPOUSE PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT Phone #

Are you

a teen parent?

Are you currently deployed (military)?

2. PLEASE LIST ALL PERSONS LIVING IN THE HOME (Use two forms if necessary)

NAME (LIST YOURSELF FIRST)

Race/Ethnicity**
(Check all that apply)

SEX

BIRTH DATE

RELATION TO YOU

OAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

[OBlack or African American

CINative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

CWhite or Caucasian

OHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above

SELF

COAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

OBlack or African American

CINative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

COWhite or Caucasian

OHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above

FATHER IN HOME?

MOTHER IN
HOME?

SOCIAL SECURITY NO.*

CJAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

OBlack or African American

ONative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

OWhite or Caucasian

OHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above

OAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

[OBlack or African American

[ONative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

CWhite or Caucasian

CHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above

OAmerican Indian or Alaskan Native

OAsian

OBlack or African American

CINative Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander

CWhite or Caucasian

[OHispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above
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***We are required by the federal government to collect this information.

*The absence of this information cannot be a basis to deny eligibility.

It will not be used to determine program eligibility.

3. PLEASE LIST CHILDREN NEEDING CHILD CARE AND PROVIDE CHILD CARE PROVIDER INFORMATION (Use two forms if necessary)

Will Child be in Head

SPECIAL Start or Kindergarten

NEEDS or school? What type of care is required?

CHILD? If your child

Please write : will be in HS, Please write:
K, or S, what

Please HS (for Head Start), is F (Full time day care),

write Yes K (for Kindergarten), approximate BA (Before/After School care), or NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER OF YOUR CHILD CARE PROVIDER (DAY CARE CENTER OR
CHILD’S NAME or No S (for school) start date? SU (Summer care) INDIVIDUAL)
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
Please indicate the days of the week and the hours for which you need care. Example: X Monday From 7:00 AM To 5:30 PM
[J Sunday J Monday J Tuesday J Wednesday J Thursday O Friday [J Saturday
From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM From AM PM
To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM To AM PM
SOURCE OF INCOME PERSON RECEIVING GROSS AMOUNT HOW OFTEN PAID | AM WORKING:
Employment SELF Attach check stubs & Day Shift

G Night Shift
ina Shi

Employment SPOUSE Attach check stubs G Swing Shift

Self-employment

Attach documentation

G Not Working

G Clinical or Field Placement

SSlI $
Social Security or Other $ 1 Am
Child Support/Alimony $ G In High school

G In College

DO YOU RECEIVE:

[OHousing Assistance

OTANF

[JSNAP (Food Stamps)

[JOther Assistance including educational grants, loans and scholarships
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Appendix B

PARENT’S STATEMENT OF AGREEMENT

| agree to report to DECCD changes in any of the following within ten (10) days:

e Income
e Address or phone number
e Child support

| understand that:

e Work hours or school enrollment
o Family size
o Daycare provider

1.

10.

11.

any change in my employment status (layoff, new job,
change in income, maternity leave, change in number of
work hours) or change in family size (new baby, marriage,
divorce) could affect my co-pay fee or my eligibility.
I must pay a monthly co-payment fee to the child care
provider and that failure to do so could result in termination
from the child care program.
if the provider charges more than the program
reimbursement rate, | will be responsible for paying that
difference in addition to my co-payment, and that failure to
pay this amount may result in provider discontinuing
service.
if I change providers, | am required to report this change two
weeks in advance to DECCD, and that failure to do so will
delay payment to a new provider.
it is my responsibility and NOT the responsibility of the
provider to ensure that DECCD is notified.
. h | . .

year—
if I withdraw my child from a provider without giving two
weeks’ notice, | am responsible for payment to the provider,
and that the DECCD will not double-pay for my child.
if my child is absent for three (3) consecutive days, | am to
contact the provider to provide an explanation, and that
failure to do so requires the provider to alert DECCD and
my application for services will be reviewed.
if my child is absent for more than two weeks, | am
responsible for payment to the provider. If extended
absences are due to custody agreements or medical reasons,
I must submit documentation to my provider

I or my authorized representative must sign my child(ren)
in and out at the provider every day by providing the first
and last name of the adult signing in/out, and that failure to
do so will cause the provider to pay for those days of care.
(NOTE: If this occurs, the provider may charge me for time
not covered by my certificate).

In addition to signing my child in/out daily as described

above, | or my authorized representative must use either a
POS or the IVR system (whichever applies to my provider
type) to check my child in and out of care on a daily basis
and that payment will not be made if | fail to do so.

11.

12.

13.

12.

13.

that payments for care cannot be made to another
living in the same household as my child.

if I use an unlicensed provider, she/he must meet criteria to
become an approved provider and that payments will not
be made to a provider who is not approved.

failure to comply with Child Support will result in
termination of my certificate(s).

that my eligibility must be re-established periodically, in
accordance with CCPP policies

if | provide false information during the application or
determination process my child care certificates will be
terminated; | may face criminal prosecution; and/or
suspension debarment from the program.

person

FRAUD: Any person applying for or receiving public

assistance by using false statements, and any person
assisting that person to receive such public assistance, with
knowledge of those false statements, will be subject to
criminal prosecution. This prosecution will be a
misdemeanor when the amount received or requested is
below $500, or a felony if the amount received is above
$500.

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE: Any dispute concerning a

question of fact under this application/agreement which is
not disposed of by agreement of the parties hereto shall be
decided by the Director of the Division of Early Childhood
Care & Development. In the review by the DECCD
Director the parent/provider shall be afforded an
opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in support of the
questioned decision under review. This decision shall be
reduced to writing and a copy thereof mailed or furnished
to the parent/provider and shall be final and conclusive,
unless, within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision,
the parent/provider mails or furnishes the Executive
Director of the Mississippi Department of Human Services
a written request for review. Pending final decision of the
Executive Director or his designee, DECCD will proceed
in accordance with the decision of the Director of the
Division of Early Childhood Care and Development.

Parent Signature
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Appendix C
REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION FOR
ELIGIBILITY
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

A. Working Parents: (Please send one of the following)

1. Check Stubs. If you are paid every week, every 2 weeks/twice a month, send the two most
recent check stubs. If you are paid monthly, send the most recent check stub. Please note: you
MUST be working at least 25 hours per week.

2. If you are self-employed, send a copy of your Estimated Quarterly Tax Report

3. If you have new employment and have not received your first pay check, you must submit a
notarized letter from your employer on company letterhead. The letter must contain the
following information: start date of employment, rate of pay, work schedule. This letter will
be valid for 30 days and must be followed with 2 check stubs (or 1 if paid monthly).

4. If you are paid by personal check, you must submit copies of the front and back of two checks
that have cleared the bank.

B. Teen Parents in High School:
1. You must submit verification from school Principal indicating full-time enrollment.
2. Ifyou are living at home with your parent(s) and they are under the age of 65, your parents must
be working the required 25 hours per week and check stubs must be submitted.
*NOTE: If you are living at home with your parent(s), your parents cannot be paid for
providing care for your child.

C. Adult Parents in an Educational Program:
1. You must submit verification from the Registrar of your educational institution stating that you
are enrolled full time.*
2. If you are also working, check stubs must be submitted. See Section A for instructions.
*NOTE: Clinical/Practicum hours can count as work hours.

D. All Applicants:
1. Long Form Birth Certificate for each child who needs child care. This applies to new applicants
and to existing clients adding a new child.
o If your child is already on the program, you do not need to submit this again.
¢ If you need to order a copy of the long form birth certificate, you must submit a copy
of the application and a copy of the money order. This documentation is valid for 90
days for parents of all newborn children, and 30 days for all other parents.
2. Social Security Cards. Copies of social security cards are used to correctly identify applicants.
Eligibility for services is not dependent on the receipt of this information.
3. Child Support. See instructions on the Verification of Child Support Services form.
4. Guardianship. If you are not the biological parents of a child who needs care, you must submit
the Guardianship/In Loco Parentis Verification Form.
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GUARDIANSHIP/IN LOCO PARENTIS

VERIFICATION
NAME OF GUARDIAN:
ADDRESS:
PHONE: HOME WORK

I am currently providing care for the child or children listed below who need child care subsidy. The child
or children live with me, but the child(ren)’s parents do not. Iam responsible for their care in all aspects of
daily living.

NAME OF CHILD(REN):

Please give a brief explanation as to why you are responsible for the care of this child (including
information about the parent’s whereabouts) or you may attach a copy of any legal guardianship papers you
have.

Do you receive other benefits for this child? (check all that apply)

SNAP Medicaid TANF CHIPS Insurance

] Yes O No ] Yes [l No ] Yes ] No 1 Yes [l No

Signature of Guardian Date
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VERIFICATION OF CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES
FOR THE
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

NAME OF CUSTODIAL PARENT:

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. OF CUSTODIAL PARENT:

I am applying for child care subsidy. | understand that per Mississippi law, | am required to cooperate with
MDHS Division of Child Support Enforcement in order to be eligible for assistance.

PLEASE ONLY LIST CHILDREN WHO NEED CHILD CARE SUBSIDY ASSISTANCE

Child’s Name Child Support case is open with | | do not currently have an
MDHS Division of Child open Child Support Case
Support Enforcement (check if this is true)
(check if this is true)

1. 0 0O

2. 0 0

3. 0 0O

4. 0 0

5. 0 0O

A. If either or zero biological parents are NOT living in the same household with the child,
parents/guardians are required to have an open child support case in order to receive child care
subsidy.

B. If no child support case is open, parents MUST contact their local MDHS Division of Child Support
Enforcement Office to make an appointment to open a case. NOTE: This requirement INCLUDES
cases in which parents have an existing court-ordered child support agreement. Mississippi law
states that ALL child support cases must be handled through MDHS Division of Child Support
Enforcement.

C. Insome cases, MDHS Division of Child Support can provide documentation that parents are excused
from cooperating with Child Support. (This is typically due to a CS case being closed because the
absent parent could not be located.) The statement from a CS officer should name the child or
children and should be signed, dated, and include the official stamp of the county office.

D. Insome cases in which pursuing Child Support would place either the custodial parent or the child in
physical, emotional, or mental danger DECCD may waive this requirement. If this applies to you,
please contact DECCD for instructions.
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PARENT(S) RIGHTS
As a recipient of child care subsidy funds, you have rights you should know about. These are:

The information you share with DECCD is confidential. This means that what you tell DECCD staff cannot be shared with anyone other than the child care provider of your choice without your permission
except State or Federal program review or fiscal agents.
You have the right to see your case file, unless this is prohibited by federal or State law or regulation.
You have the right not to be discriminated against because of your political affiliation, religion, race, color, sex, handicap, national origin, or age. If you think you have been discriminated against, you
should discuss this with DECCD.
You may enroll your child with the child care provider of your choice, providing they qualify as an approved provider.
Any dispute concerning a question of fact under this application/agreement which is not disposed of by agreement of the parties hereto shall be decided by the Director of the Division of Early Childhood
Care & Development. In the review by the DECCD Director the parent/provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in support of the questioned decision under review. This
decision shall be reduced to writing and a copy thereof mailed or furnished to the parent/provider and shall be final and conclusive, unless, within thirty (30) days from the date of the decision, the
parent/provider mails or furnishes the Executive Director of the Mississippi Department of Human Services a written request for review. Pending final decision of the Executive Director or his designee,
DECCD will proceed in accordance with the decision of the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development.

PARENT(S) RESPONSIBILITIES

PLEASE READ THIS SECTION CAREFULLY. PLEASE ASK DECCD TO CLARIFY ANY OF THESE STATEMENTS THAT YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND.

0 | certify that this form has been examined by me and that the information given is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

O | agree to provide accurate and truthful information to DECCD when requested for the purposes of determining eligibility for assistance.

O | agree to provide DECCD information to verify any statements given in this application and hereby give DECCD, or its agents, permission to obtain such verification. 1 will cooperate fully with State and federal
personnel in any review.

O 1 will notify DECCD within ten (10) calendar days of any change in the following circumstances: marital status, household size, household income, address, employment, education/training status for any household
member.

O | agree to notify DECCD when child care services are no longer needed.

O 1 will notify the provider if my child(ren) will not attend child care for three (3) or more consecutive days.

O If | am the parent or legal guardian of the children as specified, | declare that they are deprived of parental support of care by reason of death, incapacity or continued absence from home of a parent.

O 1 understand that Mississippi law requires MDHS to take necessary action to establish paternity and/or collect child support from the responsible parent(s) whose child(ren) are receiving public assistance. DECCD
provided consumer information to parents in need of assistance in obtaining child support. | agree to cooperate and to provide assistance in the collection of child support and/or the establishment of paternity for children
whom [ am requesting assistance. [ understand that if I don’t cooperate as required, I may lose my eligibility for child care services according to the requirements of the program.

O 1 understand that the provider of the child care services is NOT and agent of DECCD, and that the foregoing entities in no way warrant the services rendered, and | understand that the child care provider acts solely as an

independent contractor in its capacity as a child care provider.

O Under Mississippi law, any person who knowingly commits fraud or aids or abets another person to commit fraud, in connection with State or federally funded assistance programs may be punished for either a
misdemeanor or a felony. Fraudulent acts are set forth in the applicable statutes, but they include failure to disclose a material fact in making a determination for a person to receive aid or benefits or services under any
State or federally funded assistance program; failure to disclose a change of circumstances; and knowingly filing a false claim for aid, benefits, or services.

OYES O NO | UNDERSTAND ALL OF THE STATEMENTS LISTED ABOVE.

OYES O NO | UNDERSTAND THAT FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THESE POLICIES CAN RESULT IN THE TERMINATION OF CHILD CARE SERVICES AND/OR CRIMINAL PROSECUTION.
CLIENT’S NAME (PLEASE PRINT) DATE DECCD STAFF NAME

CLIENT’S SIGNATURE DECCD STAFF SIGNATURE DATE
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CHILD CARE PROVIDER STATEMENT OF AGREEMENT
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

As Director or Owner of this child care center, or as an in-home provider, | understand and agree to the
following guidelines as they relate to the Child Care Payment Program (CCPP).

1.

2.

10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.

16.

17.

18.

absences and changes in child attendance.

As a child care provider, | witkshall provide developmentally and culturally appropriate early childhood
educational activities, including reading and writing.

ALL rates, fees, and discounts charged to CCPP participants must be offered and equal to those charged

to non-participants. This means universal application of advertised tuition rates.

Parents or authorized parent representatives must use the POS or IVR system to check the child in and

out daily AND sign the child in and out every day. | understand that center employees are not

considered authorized parent representatives, unless the parent is employed by the provider. |

understand that in order to be eligible for payment, sign in/out sheets and ledgers-attendance from the

POS or IVR system must reflect the same information.

| understand that in cases where documentation of co-payments and attendance cannot be provided,

DECCD wilshall recoup payments related to these cases.

| withshall submit-comments-as-required-on-the-ledgerreflectingmaintain documentation regarding

| agree to collect co-payment fees each month, maintain documentation of collection, and report
non-payment to DECCD. | will deduct the paid co-payment amount from total fees owed before
billing parents for services.

It is my responsibility to report any changes in ownership, tax identification number, address, phone
number, center director, tier status, address, household membership (in home providers only), and
licensing to DECCD within 10 days_of occurrence.

| understand that if 1 am a Tier 1 provider, the director qualifying for Tier 1 must be on site for a
minimum of six hours of the program day in order to receive Tier 1 reimbursement.

| agree not to exceed my licensed capacity, or the number of children | am allowed to provide care for.

| agree to remain in compliance at all times with any and all regulatory and licensing regulations.

I understand that I cannot offer any bribe or payments to any CCPP participants or child care staff to
encourage enrollment at my center/home care environment.

| agree to report any suspicion of unemployment or school dropout of a CCPP parent to DECCD.

| agree to allow unlimited access to the program, including unannounced visits by parents and MDHS
representatives, and to furnish reports and/or provide access to information concerning CCPP as
requested by DECCD or MDHS representative.

As a CCPP approved provider, | understand that my program will be monitored by DECCD, or any
representative of the Mississippi Department of Human Services at any time. If it is discovered that
I am not in compliance with all applicable regulations, or that | have collected payments for which |
was not entitled, recoupments will be made.

I understand that if | provide false information, a penalty will be imposed. At first offense,
recoupments will be made and a provider may be suspended from participating in the CCPP. At
second offense, recoupment will be made and permanent debarment from participating in CCPP will
occur. -

| agree to comply with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act
of 1973, and the Americans with Disabilities Act when center-based and group-home care are
provided.
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19. | agree that any publicity given to the provider or services provided herein including, but not limited
to, notices, information pamphlets, press releases, research, reports, signs, and similar public notices
prepared by or for the provider shall not identify MDHS as a sponsoring agency nor display any
MDHS name or logo in any manner without prior written approval by MDHS.

20. | agree that nothing contained in this Agreement shall be construed to constitute the provider or any of
its employees, agents, or subcontractors as a partner, employee, or agency of MDHS, nor shall either
party to this Agreement have any authority to bind the other in any respect, it being intended that each
shall remain an independent entity. | agree to advise any client served under the terms of this
Agreement of the independent status of the provider and MDHS. MDHS does not in any way
warrant services rendered by the provider.

21. | agree that MDHS and their employees are to be held harmless for any claim growing out of any
action performed by the provider and its agents, employees, or any of its subcontractors under any
provisions of this Agreement.

FRAUD: Any person applying for or receiving public assistance by using false statements, and any person
assisting that person to receive such public assistance, with knowledge of those false statements, will be
subject to criminal prosecution. This prosecution will be a misdemeanor when the amount received or
requested is below $500, or a felony if the amount received is above $500.

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE: Any dispute concerning a question of fact under this
application/agreement which is not disposed of by agreement of the parties hereto shall be decided by
the Director of the Division of Early Childhood Care & Development. In the review by the DECCD
Director the parent/provider shall be afforded an opportunity to be heard and offer evidence in support of
the questioned decision under review. This decision shall be reduced to writing and a copy thereof
mailed or furnished to the parent/provider and shall be final and conclusive, unless, within thirty (30)
days from the date of the decision, the parent/provider mails or furnishes the Executive Director of the
Mississippi Department of Human Services a written request for review. Pending final decision of the
Executive Director or his designee, DECCD will proceed in accordance with the decision of the Director
of the Division of Early Childhood Care and Development.

MDHS AGREES:
1. To pay the provider for services rendered in accordance with the terms agreed upon.
2. To provide written notification to the provider of the termination of the family/child.

ALL PARTIES AGREE:

1. That this Agreement may be terminated at any time by MDHS for cause, in whole or in part, for failure
of the provider to perform any of the provisions hereof. Should MDHS exercise its right to terminate
this Agreement under this Provision, the provider shall be notified in writing with reason and
termination date specified.

2. Payment for services under this Agreement are subject to the availability of federal and/or state funding.

Provider Signature Date
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BASIC HEALTH, SAFETY, AND NUTRITION ASSURANCES
FOR UNLICENSED CHILD CARE PROVIDERS IN THE
CHILD CARE PAYMENT PROGRAM

Health and Safety

1. Providers and their staff must be in good health, mentally and physically capable of caring for children.
Providers must be certified in Infant & Child Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and basic First Aid.
Other persons in the home must be free of any infectious disease.

| 2. A current Mississippi Department of Health Form 121 Certificate of Immunization must be kept onsite for
all providers and children at all times.

3. Sick children and children with contagious conditions must be isolated and returned home as soon as
possible. Provider(s) must report infectious disease to the local Health Department. Children should be
checked each morning upon arrival for contagious or infectious disease and not admitted if ill.

4. All medications, cleaning agents, poisons, and pesticides must be kept out of the reach of children.

5. Diapers shall be changed upon soiling. No child(ren) should remain in wet or dirty diapers. All providers
must wash hands before and after diapering children.

6. Garbage and/or trash must be removed from the home regularly and from the grounds at least once a week.
Garbage should be kept in a closed container and out of reach of children.

7. The home must have running hot and cold water, clean toilets, a fire extinguisher, and a first aid kit. A box of
baking soda must be kept in the kitchen to help extinguish small grease fires. The home must be kept clean
and free of dangerous conditions and all heat sources shielded, and all electrical outlets protected by safety
coverings. The home must have a working telephone.

8. There must be clean individual beds, cots, mattresses, or pads provided for each child to use for naps. Linens
should be washed and kept clean.

9. No smoking, tobacco use, illegal drug use; including but not limited to cocaine, crack, LSD, marijuana,
and/or alcohol, is allowed when children are present. All weapons; including but not limited to guns,
arrows, hunting knives etc., on the property should be contained in locked storage and secured from
children.

10. Babies must be held while feeding. At no time should infants be propped with a bottle.

11. Children need to be treated with respect, love, and kindness. Smile and talk to children often in normal tones.
Encourage and reward good behavior. Harsh tones of voice and humiliation are not to be used with
children.

12. No form of corporal or harsh punishment including yelling, slapping or spanking, or total isolation shall be
used as discipline measures.

13. Children must be placed in age appropriate vehicle safety restraints when riding in ANY vehicle. The driver

| MUST-shall have a valid driver’s license.

14. All children must be supervised by an adult of 18 years or more at all times.

15. Any food/formula that is brought in by the parent to the provider must be stored in the refrigerator and
nutritious meals and snacks should be prepared and served daily, using a variety of foods selected from
nutritional guidelines that meet the daily needs of all ages served. Also, providers should avoid using
foods that cause allergies, as noted by the parent.

16. | certify that | have not been convicted of a felony, nor has my name been placed on the Child Abuse and
Neglect Central Registry. | understand that a Form 107 must be complete and updated in order to be an
approved provider.

17. 1 certify that | will never exceed the number of children allowed for care at any time.

18. Parents and must have unlimited access to their child while under my care.

19. All representatives of MDHS must be afforded unlimited access to all records and reports required by
representatives of MDHS.

20. | agree to fully cooperate with on-site monitoring visits.

21. | understand that failure to comply with these conditions can result in my debarment from the Child Care
Payment Program.

Signature of Provider Date
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MEMORANDUM NO. 7643 DIVISION OF ECONOMIC ASSISTANCE

TANF
TO County Directors

FROM: Cheryl Sparkman, Director 7 '
Division of Economic = :
ANccic ;

RE: Boys & Girls Clubs - After School and Summer Child Care Services

This memorandum is issued to remind case management staff that after school and summer child care
services are still provided by the Boys and Girls Clubs and to update the procedures issued in
2005.

The Boys and Girls Clubs receive funding through the Mississippi Department of Human Services
to provide after school and summer child care services for eligible children. TANF parents and
caretaker relatives who are interested in these services will be given a verbal referral to the local
Boys and Girls Club to arrange child care services for their eligible children. Case
managers will inform parents/caretakers that Boys and Girls Clubs charge a registration fee for
each child and they will be responsible for paying these fees.

The regular TWP/TCC child care referral process will not apply if the parent/caretaker informs the case
manager of his/her choice prior to generating and faxing a CR01, Child Care Referral, to the OCY
Designated Agent. In this situation, the case manager will provide a verbal referral and document the
case record accordingly via the PACK screen in JAWS. Anytime, after a child care referral (CR0O1)
has been processed, a parent/caretaker chooses a Boys & Girls Club as the child care provider, the OCY
Designated Agent will notify the case manager and document the Weekly Recap form accordingly.
OCY Designated Agents will not issue a TANF/CCDF child care certificate to a Boys and Girls
Club.

County Directors should ensure the Boys and Girls Clubs are included in their county's Resource
Directory for after school and summer child care referral purposes.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact your Regional

Director. CS :JD:VB:SG:sg

pc: Regional Directors
Jill Dent, Director, Office for Children and Youth

Approved by: CS

PO BOX 352. 750 NORTH STATE STREET JACKSON, MISSiSSIPPI 39205 - TELEPHONE (601) 359-4800 www,mdhs.ms.gov
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;‘;{/1:3'35%2’;‘3'43'11'“ REFERRAL FOR CHILD CARE SERVICES Appendix ]
FOSTER/PROTECTIVE/PREVENTIVE CARE

Section A: Child Information (only one child should be entered per referral)

Child’s Name: Child’s DOB: MDHS Case No:
Child’s Social Security #: Child’s Medicaid #: MDHS Case Type*:
Social Worker Name & Signature: | Date of Referral: Does this child have special needs?

Child Ethnicity:

O American Indian or Alaskan Native O Asian
O Black or African American [ Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
O White or Caucasian O Hispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above)

Section B: Parent/Placement Guardian Information

Parent/Placement Guardian Name: | Address & Phone #: County:

Parent/Placement Guardian

L O American Indian or Alaskan Native O Asian
EthnlClty: O Black or African American O Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
O White or Caucasian [ Hispanic or Latino (If yes, also check one of the above)
Section C: Type of Care Requested
Please indicate the days of the week and the hours for which care is needed. Example: X Monday From 7:00 AM To 5:30 PM
O Monday O Tuesday O Wednesday O Thursday O Friday O Saturday gm day
From From From From From From From
____ AM PM ___ AM PM ____ AM PM ____ AM PM ____ AM PM ___ AM PM o
AM PM
To To To To To To
AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM | To
AM PM
Section D: Requested Care Provider
Name of Provider: Provider Address: Phone #: Date Care
Begins:

*ELIGIBLE CASE TYPES

PROTECTIVE AND PREVENTIVE CASES: COURT ORDERED CASES IN WHICH A FORMALIZED PLAN FOR RESOLVING DYSFUNCTIONS IS PUT IN
PLACE ALONG WITH THE PROVISION OF SUPPORT SERVICES FOR STABILIZATION OF THE FAMILY, OR FAMILY PRESERVATION SERVICES ARE
BEING PROVIDED TO THE FAMILY.

OR

PLACEMENT CASES: COURT ORDERED IN CUSTODY OF MDHS AND PLACED IN A LICENSED RESOURCE HOME OR WITH AN APPROVED
RELATIVE. THE RESOURCE FAMILY OR APPROVED RELATIVE NEEDS SUPPORT SERVICES.
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NOTIFICATION OF TERMINATION OF CHILD CARE SUBSIDY SERVICES
(FOSTER, PROTECTIVE, PREVENTIVE SERVICE)

NAME OF CHILD:

DATE OF
BIRTH:

NAME OF PARENT/GUARDIAN:

ADDRESS:

PHONE NUMBER:
COUNTY AND CODE:

CHILD’S SOCIAL SECURITY #:
CHILD’S MEDICAID #:

There is no longer a need for child care services for the above named child and the case has been
closed. The client is therefore no longer eligible for services.

DATE OF CASE CLOSURE:

MDHS SOCIAL WORKER:

DATE:
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CCPS ELIGIBILITY REDETERMINATION FORM

1. Parent/Legally Responsible Person Information
Name

Mailing Address

City Zip

Physical Address, if different than mailing address

Parent Social Security No.
County of Residence
Phone (home) (work)
Single _ Married___ Separated  Divorced
Place of Employment
Spouse’s Place of Employment
Are you a teen parent?

Are you currently deployed military?

2. Please list all persons living in the home (Include all children needing care)

Name (List yourself first)

Please write date of birth and Social Security No. for any
new child(ren). Indicate if the child has special needs,
and/or is enrolled in Head Start or Kindergarten

6.

7.

Please list all sources of income in your household.

Source of Income Person Receiving Gross Amount How Often? Check all that Apply
Income (Weekly, Every 2
weeks, Monthly)
Employment SELF Attach Check Stubs [IDay Shift
Employment SPOUSE Attach Check Stubs LINight Shift
Self-employment Attach Documentation [1Swing Shift
SSi $ CIClinicals/Practicum
Social Security/Other $ [CIHigh School
Child $ [JCollege
Support/Alimony

Return this form with requested documentation by

(Please note that failure to submit this completed form AND requested documentation by the due date will result in termination of certificates.)

O

| certify the above information is true and correct.

Parent Signature
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Monthly Child Care Co-Payment Fees for Parents

Appendix M
Rev 11/11

TANF, TCC Clients and children in foster care or protective services and children receiving SSI benefits

should be assessed a co-pay of $10.00 per month.

Annual Gross Family Income Range Family of 2 Family of 3 Family of 4 Family of 5 Family of 6
From to Under 1 1 2 1 2 1 2 1 2

0 9,999 10 10 20 10 20 10 20 10 20
10,000 10,999 18 13 23 10 20 10 20 10 20
11,000 11,999 27 22 32 17 27 12 22 10 20
12,000 12,999 35 30 40 25 35 20 30 15 25
13,000 13,999 43 38 48 33 43 28 38 23 33
14,000 14,999 52 47 57 42 52 37 47 32 42
15,000 15,999 60 55 65 50 60 45 55 40 50
16,000 16,999 68 63 73 58 68 53 63 48 58
17,000 17,999 77 72 82 67 77 62 72 57 67
18,000 18,999 85 80 90 75 85 70 80 65 75
19,000 19,999 93 88 98 83 93 78 88 73 83
20,000 20,999 102 97 107 92 102 87 97 82 92
21,000 21,999 110 105 115 100 110 95 105 90 100
22,000 22,999 118 113 123 108 118 103 113 98 108
23,000 23,999 127 122 132 117 127 112 122 107 117
24,000 24,999 135 130 140 125 135 120 130 115 125
25,000 25,999 143 138 148 133 143 128 138 123 133
26,000 26,999 151 147 157 142 152 137 147 132 142
27,000 27,999 140 150
28,000 28,999 148 158
29,000 29,999 157 167
30,000 30,999 165 175
31,000 31,999 173 183
32,000 32,999 182 192
33,000 33,999 190 200
34,000 34,999 198 208
35,000 35,999 207 217
36,000 36,999 215 225
37,000 37,999 223 233
38,000 38,999 232 242
39,000 39,999 240 250
40,000 40,999 248 258
41,000 41,999 257 267
42,000 42,999 265 275
43,000 43,999 273 283
44,000 44,999 282 292
45,000 45,999 290 300
46,000 46,999 298 308
47,000 47,999 307 317
48,000 48,999 315 325
49,000 49,999 323 333
50,000 50,999 331 341

Availability is limited to those families earning 85% or less than the SMI.

Boldface figures represent 50% SMI.

Family size of seven (7) or more should be treated the same as a family of six (6).

Effective: October 1, 2004
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DECCD Provider Reimbursement Rates

Licensed Centers/Group Child Care
Homes Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3

Full-Time
0-12 mo 86.52 78.28
13-36 mo 82.40 75.19
3-5 years 78.28 72.10
Summer 5-13 years 76.00 71.07
Special Needs (all ages) 91.00 85.49

Part-Time
0-12 mo 43.26 39.14
13-36 mo 42.23 38.11
3-5 years 40.17 36.05
5-13 years 46.35 42.23
Special Needs (all ages) 47.38 43.26
Family Child Care Homes/In-Home Child
Care Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3

Full-Time
0-12 mo 62.83 56.65 45.32
13-36 mo 59.74 54.59 43.26
3-5 years 56.65 51.50 41.20
Summer 5-13 years 55.62 50.47 40.17
Special Needs (all ages) 66.95 60.77 48.41

Part-Time
0-12 mo 31.93 28.84 22.66
13-36 mo 30.90 27.81 22.66
3-5 years 28.84 25.75 20.60
5-13 years 28.84 25.75 20.60
Special Needs (all ages) 33.99 30.90 24.72
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Appendix O

Rev. 11/11
MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT CENTRAL REGISTRY CHECK

Return to DECCD.
NOTE: Incomplete or unsigned forms will be returned unprocessed.

1. IN-HOME PROVIDER PHYSICAL ADDRESS, IF DIFFERENT THAN MAILING ADDRESS

NAME

MAILING ADDRESS COUNTY OF RESIDENCE

CITY ZIP PHONE

(Home) (Cell)
2. PLEASE LIST ALL PERSONS LIVING IN THE HOME OVER 18, relative and non-relative
SOCIAL
BIRTH RELATION SECURITY
NAME (LIST YOURSELF FIRST) SEX DATE TO YOU NUMBER SIGNATURE & DATE

1 SELF

By signing this form, | give the Mississippi Department of Human Services, Division of Early Childhood Care & Development
permission to request an MDHS Child Abuse And Neglect Central Registry back ground check. | understand that this information will
only be used for determining provider eligibility and will not be re-disseminated to other persons or used for other purposes. |
understand that if | fail to accurately report ALL persons over the age 18 living in the home, | may be suspended/barred from
participation in the certificate program.

This section will be completed by MDHS

No identifying information was found in the Central Registry
The following information was found in the Central Registry (attached)

Signature of MDHS Representative Date
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Appendix P
Provider Report of Underpayment Form
DECCD Mississippi Child Care Payment Program

Instructions for completing this form:

11. All requests for adjustments to providers due to underpayment by DECCD must be submitted on this form.
12. All forms must be typewritten or printed in ink.
13. Copies of all supporting documentation must be included with this form.
14. The Provider/Center Name, Provider/Center ID, mailing address, phone number must be included on the form. All incomplete forms will be
returned to the provider.
15. This request form must be submitted within ten days of receipt of incorrect payment in order to be considered for adjustment.
16. The reason for request must be clear and detailed.
17. This form must be signed by an authorized representative.
18. The child care provider is responsible for including copies of all documentation needed to support their report.
19. Burden of proof rests with the provider. If appropriate documentation cannot be supplied to support this report, no adjustments will be made.
20. Return this form to:
DECCD
P.O. Box 352
Jackson, Mississippi 39202
Provider/Center
Name:
Provider/Center 1D
Number:

Mailing Address:

Provider Phone

Number:

Sectionl: Reason for Request of Payment Adjustment:

Section 2: Child and Parent Information

Name of Child(ren) Authorization ID | Name of Parent

Signature of Authorized Representative Date
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