Notaries FAQs

These are not the laws or rules governing Notary Publics in Mississippi, just a list of common questions asked regarding Notary Publics.

Our Most Frequently Asked Questions

  1. How do I become a Notary Public in Mississippi?
  2. I have filed my application, paid my money and sworn my oath, may I notarize now?
  3. How do I renew a commission?
  4. I have moved. What now?
  5. I have married and my name has changed. What must I do?
  6. Can I notarize in a county different than that in which I live?
  7. I live in Mississippi, but work in Tennessee, may I notarize at work?
  8. I am GBTT (Gone Back To Texas). Do I keep my Notary?
  9. I need my signature notarized. May I notarize my own signature?
  10. A relative of mine needs their signature notarized, may I?
  11. How long will it take to get my commission?
  12. When does my commission expire?

FAQ Answers

  1. How do I become a Notary Public in Mississippi?

    Answer:
    You must meet the following requirements:

    • Be a Mississippi resident for more than 30 days.
    • File an application with the Secretary of State.
    • Pay a $25 application fee.
    • File a $5,000 Surety Bond and the Oath of Office with the Secretary of State.
    • Obtain an official seal or stamp to affix to documents.
    • Comply with the statutes governing Mississippi Notary Acts, including but not limited to, maintaining a registry of all documents signed.
    Back to top
  2.  I have filed my application, paid my money and sworn my oath, may I notarize now?

    Answer:
    No. The Secretary of State must assign you a date for the beginning of your commission. The Governor must approve your application. You must file your oath and Surety Bond. The Secretary of State must issue a Commission certificate. And finally, you must obtain your official seal or stamp showing your county of residence.

    Back to top

  3. How do I renew a commission?

    Answer:
    Within 60 days prior to the expiration of the current commission file a new application and oath, and submit a new bond when approved.

    Back to top

  4. I have moved. What now?

    Answer:
    If you move to a different county, you must file a change of address with the Secretary of State, Notary Public Division. You must then obtain a new seal or stamp showing your new county of residence.

    Back to top

  5. I have married and my name has changed. What must I do?

    Answer:
    File a name change with the Secretary of State proof of the new name (marriage license, Social Security card change, or voter registration). You will also need to obtain a new seal or stamp and a new bond.

    Back to top

  6. Can I notarize in a county different than that in which I live?

    Answer:
    Mississippi Notaries have statewide jurisdiction. A Notary may notarize in any county within Mississippi. Your seal or stamp, however, must show the county of your residence in Mississippi.

    Back to top

  7. I live in Mississippi, but work in Tennessee, may I notarize at work?

    Answer:
    No. Your authority to notarize is valid only within the state of Mississippi. Notarizing outside Mississippi by a Mississippi Notary is void and illegal.

    Back to top

  8.  I am GBTT (Gone Back To Texas). Do I keep my Notary?

    Answer:
    NO. Moving out of state terminates the Notary. If you do not intend to return, you should resign your commission and destroy your seal or stamp.

    Back to top

  9.  I need my signature notarized. May I notarize my own signature?

    Answer:
    NO. See Rule 202(1).

    Back to top

  10. A relative of mine needs their signature notarized, may I?

    Answer:
    NGenerally the answer is no. See Rule 202(2)

    Back to top

  11. How long will it take to get my commission?

    Answer:
    The process should take less than one week provided that you submit a complete application along with your bond and Oath.

    Back to top

  12. When does my commission expire?

    Answer:
    Four years from the date the commission was issued.

    Back to top