
due no later than fifteen (15) days after the first 
date of sale in the State. There is no limit on the 
dollar amount raised. Note: The SEC has recently 
amended Rule 506 to permit general advertising 
in certain types of Rule 506 securities offerings. 
See MCA §75-71-302(c) and Rule 229.

Offerings Only to “Accredited Investors.”  State law 
provides an exemption for offerings by certain non-
excluded issuers to accredited investors.  A general 
announcement is permitted, but it may only contain 
certain information.  Requirements: a Notice of 
Transaction  filed with the Securities Division, 
including a copy of the general announcement, 
and a $300 filing fee due no later than fifteen 
(15) days after the first date of sale in the State.                     
See MCA §75-71-203 and Rule 717.

Domestic Issuer Offerings to 35 or Fewer 
Purchasers.  State law also provides an exemption 
for issuers organized in Mississippi for sales to 
both residents and non-residents. Requirements: 
MS Rule 703 form, prospectus and a $300 filing 
fee to be filed with the Secretary of State’s Office 
and written acknowledgment by the Securities 
Division prior to sales; sales to not more than 35 
persons; and no general advertising is permitted.      
There is no limit on the dollar amount raised.                
See MCA §75-71-203 and Rule 703.  

All securities sold in Mississippi must also be 
properly registered or exempted under federal 
law.  Like the Securities Act, federal securities 
laws contain certain exemptions from securities 
registration.  The following is a list of commonly 
used federal registration or exemption provisions 
which may have corresponding State provisions.  
Remember, even notice filings made with the 
Securities Division require filing fees.

Federal Regulation A and Rule 504.  Mississippi 
has no corresponding exemption to these federal 
exemptions.  Offerings made pursuant to these 
federal exemptions must be registered with the 
Securities Division by qualification.

Federal Regulation D Rule 505.   Administrative 
Rule 701 (§75-71-203) (ULOE) generally provides a 
corresponding Mississippi exemption for an offering 
up to $5 Million, pursuant to Federal Regulation D 
Rule 505. 

Federal Regulation D Rule 506.  Mississippi 
Administrative Rule 229 (§75-71-302(c)) 
generally provides a corresponding exemption 
for securities offerings pursuant to Federal 
Regulation D Rule 506.

Section 3(a)(11)/Rule 147.  Section 75-71-202(14) 
of the Securities Act is the most commonly used 
exemption for small (10 or fewer purchasers) 
intra-state offerings exempt federally pursuant to 
Section 3(a)(11) of the 33 Act or Federal Rule 147.  
For intra-state offerings with over 10 purchasers, 
the Domestic Issuer Offering exemption (§75-71-
203; MSA Rule 703) may be used for up to thirty-
five (35) purchasers.  Intra-state offerings under 
Section 3(a)(11) of the 33 Act or Rule 147 with 
more than thirty-five (35) purchasers generally 
must be registered with the Securities Division. 
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ABOUT THE 
SECURITIES DIVISION

The Securities Division of the Office of 
the Secretary of State is responsible 
for regulating the offer and sale of 
securities investments. These may 
include many types of stocks, bonds, 
limited partnerships, viatical settlement 
investment contracts, some oil and 
gas investments, and other investment 
contracts. Other activities include the 
registration of securities offerings, 
the licensing of broker-dealers and 
investment advisers, and the investigation 
of alleged violations of securities laws. 
The Securities Division may be reached 
by calling  (601) 359-1334 or toll free at 
(888) 236-6167.

Coordination with Federal 
Exemptions



There are many legal considerations in the start-
up and operation of a small business, such as 
the legal structure of the entity (corporations, 
LLC, partnership, etc.), tax considerations and 
filing requirements with various  government 
agencies.  

Federal and State securities laws apply when 
a business seeks to raise money by issuing 
ownership interests (stocks membership or 
partnership interests), debt obligations (bonds 
or promissory notes), or when the business 
promises a return to investors.  

This brochure provides basic general information 
about Mississippi securities laws, but is not 
a substitute for competent legal counsel.  
Additional information should be obtained by 
contacting the Securities Division and reviewing 
the Secretary of State website at www.sos.
ms.gov.   See the Federal Securities and Exchange 
Commission (http://ww.sec.gov) website for 
information on Federal securities law.

The Mississippi Securities Act and administrative 
rules which are administered and enforced 
by the Securities Division of the Secretary of 
State’s Office apply to all sales of securities in 
Mississippi. See  MCA §75-71-101 et seq.  

A security is defined in §75-71-102(28) of 
the Securities Act and includes a wide range 
of investment opportunities, business plans, 
and typical investments, such as stocks, 
bonds, options, and promissory notes. The 
Securities Act also includes formal legal 
documents constituting investment contracts.  
An investment contract includes, among 
other contracts: an investment in a limited 
partnership, an interest in an LLC, or an 

investment 
in a common 
enterprise with 
the expectation 
of profits to be 
derived primarily 
from the efforts 
of a person other 
than the investor. 

A “sale” is 
broadly defined 
in the Securities 
Act to include 
every contract 
of sale, contract 
to sell, or 
disposition of 
a security or 
interest in a 
security for value. 
An “Offer to sell” includes every attempt or 
offer to dispose of, or solicitation of, an offer to 
purchase a security for value.

If the Securities Act applies:  (1) the person 
selling the securities must be registered with the 
Securities Division or properly exempted from 
registration; (2) the securities being sold must 
be registered with the Division or exempt from 
registration; and/or (3) anti-fraud standards 
apply and prohibit fraudulent tactics, including 
false representations and omissions, in the sale 
of securities. Similar aspects of the Federal 
securities law also apply.

The Securities Act’s anti-fraud standards 
prohibit fraudulent activities, statements, 
behavior and omissions in connection with 
the offer or sale of a security. The standards 

also provide for penalties for filing inaccurate 
or misleading information.  Violation of these 
standards may result in both civil liability and 
criminal prosecution, and may also result in 
administrative actions. Those actions include the  
denial or revocation of a registration and sale of 
securities in Mississippi. 

The Securities Act requires:
•  All securities issuers or agents of an issuer 
must be registered with the Securities Division, 
or properly exempted from registration. 
•  All securities broker-dealers and broker-dealer 
agents must be registered with the Securities 
Division, or properly exempted from registration.
•  All investment advisers and adviser representatives 
must be registered with the Securities Division, or 
properly exempted from registration.

The following information is a summary of these 
requirements. Comprehensive requirements 
and additional details on how to comply are 
set forth in the Mississippi Securities Act and 

administrative rules. 

Perhaps the most important consideration for a 
small business seeking to raise money by issuing 
securities is registration. All securities sold in 
Mississippi must be registered with the Secretary 
of State’s Office or properly exempted from 
registration.

• Securities Registration.  There are two ways 
to register securities with our office under the 
Securities Act.  An issuer registering securities with 
the Securities and Exchange Commission under 
the Securities Act of 1933 may file a registration by 

M I S S I S S I P P I  S E C R E T A R Y  O F  S T A T E

S E C U R I T I E S  D I V I S I O N

coordination with the Securities Division.  Issuers 
not eligible for registration by coordination may 
pursue registration by qualification.

• Exemptions from Securities Registration.  
Because securities registration can be 
complicated and time-consuming, issuers of 
securities often seek to fit within an exemption.   
The most commonly available exemptions to the 
Mississippi securities laws for start-up and small 
businesses are:

Ten or Fewer Purchasers.  The Securities Act 
provides an exemption for the sale of securities by 
the issuer to not more than ten (10) purchasers in 
Mississippi. There is no limit on the dollar amount 
raised.  Requirements: the issuer must believe 
the investors are purchasing for investment; sales 
commissions may only be paid to broker-dealers  
and agents who are registered in Mississippi; and 
no general advertising is permitted.  No filing 
with the Securities Division is required for this 
exemption. See MCA §75-71-202(14).

Private Offerings up to $5 Million.  The 
administrative rules provide a uniform limited 
offering exemption (ULOE) for private offerings 
up to $5 Million.  Requirements: compliance 
with Federal Rule 505 and a notice filing with 
the Securities Division of a Form D,  prospectus 
and $300 filing fee; written acknowledgement 
by the Securities Division prior to sales; sales 
commissions may only be paid to registered 
broker-dealers and agents; sales to not more 
than thirty-five (35) persons; and no general 
advertising is permitted. See Rule 701.

Offerings Pursuant to Regulation D Rule 506.  
State rules and regulations provide an exemption 
for transactions within the “safe harbor” of 
Federal Rule 506.  Requirements: compliance 
with Federal Rule 506 and a notice filing with the 
Securities Division of a Form D and $300 filing fee 
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