MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF ANIMAL HEALTH

Subpart 2

Ch. 12

Dogs, Cats & Ferrets

- 109.01 Rabies Vaccination. All dogs, cats, and ferrets three (3) months or older transported or moved into the state for any purpose shall be accompanied by proof of current rabies vaccination per guidelines outlined in the National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians Rabies Compendium. Proof of vaccination must be provided via a rabies vaccination certificate signed by an attending, licensed veterinarian. Mississippi Law requires all dogs and cats to be vaccinated for rabies, using three (3) year vaccine following Rabies Compendium guidelines. For purposes of entry, Mississippi will accept manufacturer recommendations but animals must comply with the three (3) year immunity vaccine requirement if staying in the state or if the animal requires a booster to remain current. Dogs, cats, and ferrets under three (3) months of age may be admitted without rabies vaccination to be quarantined until vaccination at three (3) months of age.
- 109.02 Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. Dogs, cats, and ferrets for exhibition, change of ownership, adoption or unaccompanied by owner, must have an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection issued by an accredited veterinarian with the following compliance:
 - 1. Apparently healthy and free from all contagious and infectious diseases and recent exposure thereto.
 - 2. Did not originate within an area under quarantine for rabies, or exposed.

 Dogs, cats, and ferrets accompanied by owner (not for purposes of exhibition, change of ownership, adoption etc.) are not required to have a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.

(Amended September ____, 2019)

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §69-15-3.

MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF ANIMAL HEALTH

Subpart 2

Ch. 12

Dogs

- 109 All dogs transported or moved into the state for any purpose shall be accompanied by an official health certificate with the following compliance:
- 1. Free from all contagious and infectious diseases and recent exposure thereto.
- 2. Did not originate within an area under quarantine for rabies, or exposed.
- 3. Properly vaccinated against rabies within six (6) months prior to date of entry. Dogs under three (3) months of age may be admitted without rabies vaccination to be quarantined and vaccinated at 3 months of age.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §69-15-3.

Cats

- 110 All cats transported or moved into the state for any purpose shall be accompanied by an official health certificate with the following compliance:
- 1. Free from all contagious and infectious diseases and recent exposure thereto.
- 2. Did not originate within an area under quarantine for rabies, or exposed.
- 3. Properly vaccinated against rabies within six (6) months prior to date of entry. Cats under three (3) months of age may be admitted without rabies vaccination ,to be quarantined and vaccinated at 3 months of age .

(Amended May, 2009.)

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §69-15-3.

Dogs, Cats & Ferrets

109.01 Rabies Vaccination. All dogs, cats, and ferrets three (3) months or older transported or moved into the state for any purpose shall be accompanied by proof of current rabies vaccination per guidelines outlined in the National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians Rabies Compendium. Proof of vaccination must be provided via a rabies vaccination certificate signed by an attending, licensed veterinarian. Mississippi Law requires all dogs and cats to be vaccinated for rabies, using three (3)

year vaccine following Rabies Compendium guidelines. For purposes of entry, Mississippi will accept manufacturer recommendations but animals must comply with the three (3) year immunity vaccine requirement if staying in the state or if the animal requires a booster to remain current. Dogs, cats, and ferrets under three (3) months of age may be admitted without rabies vaccination to be quarantined until vaccination at three (3) months of age.

- 109.02 <u>Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.</u> <u>Dogs, cats, and ferrets for exhibition, change of ownership, adoption or unaccompanied by owner, must have an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection issued by an accredited veterinarian with the following compliance:</u>
 - 1. <u>Apparently healthy and free from all contagious and infectious diseases and recent exposure thereto.</u>
 - 2. <u>Did not originate within an area under quarantine for rabies, or exposed.</u>

 <u>Dogs, cats, and ferrets accompanied by owner (not for purposes of exhibition, change of ownership, adoption etc.) are not required to have a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.</u>

(Amended September , 2019)

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §69-15-3.