News | Press Releases

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: December 18, 2012
CONTACT: Pamela Weaver, (601) 270-4100

Senate District 16 Candidates


The State Board of Election Commissioners met today (Tuesday, December 18, 2012) to approve the candidates for the vacant Senate District 16 Special Election. Senate District 16 includes parts of Clay, Lowndes, Noxubee and Oktibbeha counties.

The following candidates were approved to be placed on the ballot for SD 16:

Angela Turner Lairy, West Point, MS

Kenny Fowler, West Point, MS

The special election will be held Tuesday, January 15, 2013.  If no candidate receives a majority of the votes cast in the special election, a runoff will be held on Tuesday, February 5, 2013.

Please note, candidates in a special election do not claim party affiliation.  Therefore, no party affiliation will be listed on the special election ballot.