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Title 30: Professions and Occupations 

 

Part 2101: Cosmetology, Board of  

 

Part 2101  Chapter 1:  General 

 

Rule 1.1 Authorization and Applicability 

 

A. The following Rules and Regulations are adopted in conformity with Chapter 7 of Title 

73 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, pursuant to the authority vested in the 

Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology (“Board”). 

 

B. These Rules and Regulations are applicable to all persons licensed or registered in 

accordance with the provisions of Chapter 7 of Title 7 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as 

amended, and are effective as of July 1, 2000 and will continue pursuant to law. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)  

 

Rule 1.2 Definitions 

 

As used in this Chapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

 

A. “Accelerated Hours” means to reduce the time-frame (not clock hours) required for 

course completion by compressing into shorter period. 

 

B. “Agent” means a member of the Board or any of its authorized representatives. 

 

C. “Applied effort” means the time devoted to the study of theory, attendance at theory 

classes, and the actual performance or all practical skills. 

 

D. “Average daily attendance” means the average daily attendance over a three-month 

period of the students enrolled in a school. 

 

E. “Board” means the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology. 

 

F. “Cosmetology Law” or “Law” means Chapter 7 of Title 73 of the Mississippi Code of 

1972 as amended. 

 

G. “Current photograph” means a passport photograph of the applicant/licensee taken within 

90 days prior to the date of application or renewal of license. The person must be 

recognizable in the photograph. 
 

H. “Establishment” means cosmetological establishment; school or salon 

 

I. “Extenuating Circumstances” means special circumstances that account for an irregular 

way of doing things. 
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J. “Full Time” means not less than twenty-five (25), nor more than forty (40) hours per 

week. 

 

K. “Full Service Cosmetology Salon” means a cosmetology salon that provides hair 

services, esthetics services, and manicuring/pedicuring services. 

 

L. “Hours” means clock hours. 

 

M. “Lavatory” means a basin fixed to a wall, countertop or floor, having a drainpipe and 

piped supply of hot and cold water. 

 

N. “Lead Instructor” means the instructor who is in charge of the teaching program at a 

licensed school.  

 

O. “License” means original or duplicate as issued by the Board. 

 

P. “Limited Service Cosmetology Salon” means a cosmetology salon that provides hair 

services and offers manicuring/pedicuring services and/or esthetics services (face only) as 

optional services. 

 

Q. “Make-up Hours” are clock hours acquired in excess of the 40 hours per week maximum, 

which may be applied to missed time, only in the month in which they were acquired. 

 

R.  “Part Time” means anything less than full time as defined in this rule. 

 

S. “Practitioner” means a licensed person who is practicing one of the professions regulated 

by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of the 

Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. 

 

T. “Salon” means a licensed establishment operated for the purpose of engaging in the 

practice of cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring, or esthetics, or all. 

 

U. “School” means a licensed establishment, public or private, operated for the purpose of 

teaching cosmetology, or manicuring, or pedicuring, or esthetics, or all. 

 

V. “School premises” means buildings, grounds, and parking lots of the school.  

 

W. “State” means the State of Mississippi. 

 

X. “Student” means any person attending classes in a school licensed by the Board. 

 

Y. “Student Instructor” means any person licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or 

esthetician enrolled in an instructor training program in a school licensed by the Board 

under the supervision of an instructor. 
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Z. “Subject” means instruction and training or study of a theoretical or skill operation. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-2 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 1.3 Communications 

 

All communications with reference to licensure, rules and regulations or general information 

should be addressed to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, P. O. Box 55689, Jackson, 

Mississippi 39296-5689. Issues related to schools and examinations should be directed to the 

Department of School Coordination. Issues related to examination should be directed to the 

contracted testing service. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 1.4 Requests for Public Records 

 

A. The only information that is made available to the public via telephone inquiry is whether 

or not an individual, salon, or school is licensed by the Board, and whether or not the 

license is current. All other requests for information must be submitted in writing to the 

Board office and will be released only after a) review and determination as to whether the 

information requested is a public record as defined by the Mississippi Public Records Act 

of 1983, Miss. Code Ann. Sections 25-61-1 through 25-61-17, and b) the cost to produce 

the record has been collected. Public records requests may not be made via Email.” 

 

B. The Board will respond to a public records request within seven (7) days from the date 

the request is received. 

 

C. In considering the cost of production of the record, the following will be included: a) cost 

of production of copies, b) expendable printer supplies, c) cost of record research by a 

member of the Board staff, and d) mailing costs. Any other unforeseen costs will be 

disclosed to the individual requesting the record. 

 

D. Licensure application files, including, but not limited to examination results are not 

considered public record, and may be released only upon written consent of the 

licensee/examinee. A request for public record, including a third party release, will be 

considered only after or at the time the record is actually created.  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 1.5 Board Meetings 

 

A. The Board holds its meetings on the last Monday of each month, beginning at 9:00 a.m., 

unless extenuating circumstances exist which preclude same. In the event a Board 

meeting is scheduled at another time, notice will be posted on the Board’s website. 
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B. A majority of the Board constitutes a quorum.  

 

C. All Board meetings are open to the public, and the public is welcome. However, 

members of the public may not participate in business discussion unless invited to do so. 

 

D. Members of the public must submit an “Agenda Request Form” to the Board office at 

least two (2) weeks in advance of the regularly scheduled meeting to be placed on the 

agenda. 

 

E. Any written requests for consideration without personal appearance at the meeting must 

be submitted to the “Agenda Request Form” to the Board office no later than two (2) 

weeks preceding the regularly scheduled meeting. 

 

F. The Board may, in its discretion, designate a period for public comments at the end of the 

meeting. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 1.6 Posting Laws, Rules, Notices and Bulletins 

 

An establishment must post on its premises, in a place conspicuous to the public, copies of laws, 

rules, notices or bulletins as the Board may, from time to time, direct. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 
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Rule 1.7 Schedule of Fines 

 

The Board shall use the following “Schedule of Fines” for assessing fines for non-compliance 

with its laws, rules and regulations: 

 

 
Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& subsequent 

violation(s)  

73-7-9  Practicing without a license Practitioner $50 $400 

73-7-11  Practitioner license not (or improperly) 

posted 

Practitioner 50 100 

73-7-11  Salon License not (or improperly) posted Owner 50 100 

73-7-17  Operation of unlicensed salon Practitioner 100 400 

73-7-19  Expired salon license Owner 50 400 

73-7-19  Expired practitioner license Practitioner   

                               60 days to 1 year  50 400 

                      Over 1 year to 2 years  75 400 

                     Over 2 years to 3 years  100 400 

73-7-25  Demonstrator in salon or school without 

demo permit 

Owner 50 400 

73-7-

27(2)(c) 

 Fraud or dishonest conduct in taking 

examination 

Student 100 400 

73-7-

27(2)(e) 

 Dishonest conduct Practitioner 100 400 

73-7-

27(2)(e) 

 Dishonest conduct Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

73-7-33  Salon not well ventilated or well lit Owner 50 400 

73-7-33  Establishment, utensils/equipment not 

sanitary 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 400 

73-7-33  Permitting practitioner with infectious 

disease to practice 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 
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Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& subsequent 

violation(s)  

73-7-33 7.4(B(1) Practicing in establishment with 

infectious/contagious disease 

Practitioner 100 400 

73-7-35(1)  Working in unlicensed/expired salon Practitioner 50 200 

73-7-35(2)  Allowing a practitioner to practice 

without a valid license 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 1.6 Rules & Regulations not posted in salon Owner/ 

Manager 

50 100 

 1.8(A) Failure to allow/interference with 

inspection 

Owner 50 100 

 2.3(A) Practitioner license not posted at primary 

work area; or photo copy of license 

posted  

Practitioner 50 100 

 2.3(A) Practitioner license not posted at primary 

work area; or photo copy of license 

posted  

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 100 

 2.3(B); 

7.8(E) 

Specific device certification of 

proficiency not posted at primary work 

area 

Practitioner 50 100 

 

 

2.3(B); 

7.8(E) 

Specific device certification of 

proficiency not posted at primary work 

area 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 100 

 2.3(C) Individual claiming to be licensed would 

not provide ID 

Practitioner 100 400 

 2.3(C) Individual claiming to be licensed would 

not provide ID 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 2.4(B) Individual with duplicate license posted 

would not provide ID 

Practitioner  100 400 

 3.2(A)(3) Student working on permit without 

supervisor 

Student 50 400 

 3.2(A)(3) Student working on permit without 

supervisor 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 400 
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Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& subsequent 

violation(s)  

 3.3 Applicant for instructor’s license by 

reciprocity working without one-time 

teaching permit 

Applicant 100 400 

 

 

3.3 

 

Applicant for instructor’s license by 

reciprocity working without one-time 

teaching permit 

Owner 100 400 

 

 4.2(A)(1)(f) Establishment providing services outside 

scope of license 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 4.3 Salon has not continued to meet 

minimum equipment requirements 

Owner 50 200 

 4.3(D)(2) Esthetics treatment area does not provide 

client privacy 

Owner 50 200 

 4.3(D)(5) No container for soiled esthetician linens Owner 50 200 

 4.3(D)(6) No storage for clean esthetician linens Owner 50 200 

 4.4(A)(1) Salon owner has not notified Board of 

sale of salon 

Owner 100 400 

 5.2(E)(2) School does not have full-time lead 

instructor 

Owner 100 400 

 5.4 School has not maintained minimum 

equipment requirements 

Owner 100 400 

 5.9(C) Board not notified of changes in 

instruction staff 

Owner 50 200 

 5.9(D) Student/Instructor ratio exceeds that 

required by rule 

Owner 100 400 

 5.9(F) School has not reported instructor 

absence 

Owner 50 200 

 5.9(G) Instructor/student instructor practicing 

on patron 

Owner 100 400 

 5.9(G) Instructor/student instructor practicing 

on patron 

Practitioner 100 400 
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Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& subsequent 

violation(s)  

 5.9(H) Student practice work not checked by 

instructor 

Owner 100 400 

 5.10 Licenses/Rules & Regulations/Student 

work notice not posted 

Owner 50 200 

 5.11 School not separated from other business Owner 100 400 

 5.17 Required equipment & supplies not 

issued to students 

Owner 100 400 

 5.18 Failure of school to provide minimum 

theory hours per week 

Owner 100 400 

 5.21 Students and/or instructors not wearing 

badges 

Owner 50 200 

 5.22 Students allowed to work on clinic floor 

prior to receiving minimum hours 

Owner 100 400 

 5.23 Students not properly signed/clocked in Owner 100 400 

 5.23 Daily report not at work stations Owner 50 200 

 5.24 

 

Failed to appear before Board and/or 

submit Compliance Plan 

Owner 100 400 

 7.1(A) Owner/Manager has not maintained 

sanitary conditions in establishment 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.1(B) Practitioner workspace not sanitary Practitioner 100 400 

 7.3(A) Establishment not clean Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.3(A) Establishment not in good condition Owner/ 

Manager 

50 400 

 7.3(B) Floors where services are performed not 

non-porous 

Owner 50 200 

 7.3(C) Solid waste/refuse not stored/removed 

properly from common areas 

Owner 50 200 
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Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& subsequent 

violation(s)  

 7.3(C) Solid waste/refuse not stored/removed 

from workspace 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.3(D) Hair/Nail clippings not removed after 

each client 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.3(D) Hair/Nail clippings left on floor in 

common areas 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(E) Animals prohibited in establishment 

except for registered service animal 

 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.3(F)(3) Drinking water not provided or not 

convenient 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(F)(4) Drinking fountain not sanitary Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(F)(5) Using a common drinking cup or glass Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.3(G)(3) Restroom facility not clean or in good 

condition 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(G)(4) Restroom facility not well lit/ventilated 

to outside air 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(G)(5) Restroom facility not in the confines of 

the salon business 

Owner 100 400 

 7.3(G)(7) Restroom facility without hot water, 

pressure, soap or towels 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.3(G)(8) Restroom facility solid waste/refuse not 

stored/removed properly 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.4(A) Not washing hands before/after each 

client/after use of restroom 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.4(B)(1) Practicing in establishment with 

infectious/contagious disease 

Practitioner 100 400 
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Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& subsequent 

violation(s)  

 7.4(B)(2) Servicing client with communicable 

disease/parasitic infection 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.4(B)(2) Allowing infected practitioner to service 

client 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.5(A) Headrest chair not covered with clean 

covering 

Practitioner  50 200 

 7.5(B) Shampoo bowls not clean or in good 

condition 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.6(B) Soiled towels/linens not deposited in 

closed receptacle 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.6(B) Soiled towels/linens not deposited in 

closed receptacle 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.6(D) Closed cabinet not provided/clean towels 

not stored in closed cabinet 

Owner 50 200 

 7.7(A) Bottles/containers not labeled/poisons 

not stored separately 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.7(A) Bottles/containers not labeled/poisons 

not stored separately 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.7(B) More than 2 gallons acetone stored in 

salon 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.8(A) Labeled receptacle not provided for 

soiled items 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.8(B) Unsanitizable items not immediately 

destroyed after use 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.8(B) Unsantizable items not immediately 

destroyed after use 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.8(C) Carrying instruments/supplies in/on 

garments 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.8(D) Brush-type neck duster prohibited Practitioner 50 200 
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Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& subsequent 

violation(s)  

 7.8(E) Credo blades prohibited in services Practitioner 50 200 

 7.8 (E) Credo blades prohibited on premises Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(A) Work surfaces not cleaned/sanitized after 

each client 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.9(B)(1) Instruments not properly sanitized prior 

to next use 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.9(B)(2)(a) Wet disinfectant does not meet 

prescribed standard 

Practitioner  50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(a) Wet disinfectant does not meet 

prescribed standard 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(c) Level of wet sanitizer not adequate to 

sanitize items 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(c) Level of wet sanitizer not adequate to 

sanitize items 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(d) Wet disinfectant not covered or labeled Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(d) Wet disinfectant not covered or labeled Practitioner 50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(g) Solution in wet sterilizer is contaminated Practitioner 50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(g) Solution in wet sterilizer is contaminated Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(B)(3) Clean instruments, brushes not kept in 

clean receptacle 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.9(B)(3) Clean instruments, brushes not kept in 

clean receptacle 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(D) Tools/implements in contact with blood 

not properly disinfected 

Practitioner  100 400 

 7.9(D) Tools/implements in contact with blood 

not properly disinfected 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 
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Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& subsequent 

violation(s)  

 7.11(A) Instruments not stored in 70% alcohol 

during manicure 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.11(B) Used manicure implements not removed 

from station after each client 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.12(B) Whirlpool foot spa not properly 

cleaned/disinfected 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.12(B)(4) Whirlpool foot spa records not 

maintained 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.14(A) Removal of mole or other blemishes by 

any method is prohibited 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.15(A) Bottles/containers not properly closed Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.15(A) Bottles/containers not properly closed Practitioner 50 200 

 7.15(D) Lotion or liquid not poured into sanitized 

glass or container 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.15(F) Health & safety standards for 

wax/waxing not followed 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.15(F) Health & safety standards for 

wax/waxing not followed 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.15(H) MMA products used in 

manicure/pedicure procedure 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.15(H) MMA products used in 

manicure/pedicure procedure 

Owner/ 

Manager  

100 400 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-27 (Rev. 2013) 

 

 

Rule 1.8 Violations of Law, Rules and Regulations 

 

A. All establishments licensed by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology shall be 

inspected at least once per year to insure compliance with the laws, rules and regulations 
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of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology. Failure to allow or interference with an 

inspection will result in the issuance of a citation. 

 

B. In any instance of non-compliance with the Board’s laws, rules and regulations, a citation 

will be issued to the student or practitioner and/or salon owner/manager and/or school 

manager/owner. The named individual in the citation will be notified at least twenty (20) 

days in writing of a hearing before the Board regarding the violation(s) on the citation 

form(s). After a hearing, the Board may revoke, suspend or refuse to issue or renew any 

license or certificate, or fine, place on probation or otherwise discipline any student or 

licensee or holder of a certificate pursuant to Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code 

Annotated of 1972 as amended.  

 

C.  Multiple violations can occur simultaneously when different individuals are involved in 

violating any provisions of the Board’s laws, rules, and regulations. 

 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 1.9 Complaints 

 

A. Any person may file a complaint with the Board of Cosmetology in accordance with 

Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. 

 

B. The complaint must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the Board. It must be signed, 

notarized, and accompanied by a release form, and a consent form that states the 

complainant agrees to testify to the allegations, and that the complainant understands that 

the information becomes public record once the investigation is over. 

 

C. When the investigation has been completed, the complaint case will be presented to the 

Board, at which time the Board may: 

 

 1. Dismiss the complaint, or 

 

 2. Initiate a formal complaint and notice of hearing. 

 

D. Both the complainant and the accused will be notified of the Board’s decision. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 1.10 Standards Related to Competent Practice 

 

A. A practitioner may provide advanced services which are within his or her scope of 

practice, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, under 

the following conditions: 
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1. The practitioner obtains appropriate education relative to the services to be 

provided; 

 

2. The practitioner demonstrates appropriate knowledge, skills, and abilities to 

provide the service; 

 

3. The practitioner maintains documentation satisfactory to the Board of meeting the 

above requirements. 

 

4. The service does not involve a function or procedure which is prohibited by any 

other law or rule. 

 

5. A practitioner is prohibited in using animals in any procedure or service. 

 

6. The use of credo blades is prohibited in any procedure or service. In addition, 

credo blades are prohibited on the premises of any licensed establishment. 

 

 7. Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-type neck dusters in any establishment. 

 

B. Microdermabrasion 

 

A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must limit the 

exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment must be 

approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a Class I device 

intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must prominently display a 

certificate of training proficiency for each type of equipment used, and must comply with 

the manufacturer’s directions in the use of each product. The use of FDA class 2 or class 

3 devices is prohibited. 

 

C. Electric nail file:     

 

1. Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an electric file in any manicuring 

procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are proficient 

in the use of the instrument. 

 

2. The electric file certification of proficiency must be posted at the practitioner’s 

primary work area at all times. 

 

3. Any instructor or student instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of the 

electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved 

certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument. 

 

4. The instructor’s or student instructor’s electric file certification of proficiency must 

be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times. 
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 5. Any electric file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be specifically 

designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the instrument must 

be able to provide that documentation upon demand. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-1, 73-7-14 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 1.11 Oral Proceedings on Proposed Rules 

 

A. This rule applies to all oral proceedings held for the purpose of providing the public with 

an opportunity to make oral presentations on proposed new rules and amendments to 

rules before the Board pursuant to Section 25-43-104 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as 

amended. 

 

1. The Board will conduct an oral proceeding on a proposed rule or amendment if 

requested by a political subdivision, an agency or ten (10) persons in writing 

within twenty (20) days after the filing of the notice of the proposed rule. 

 

2. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible handwriting. 

Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size paper (8 1/2x11 

inches). Requests may be in the form of a letter addressed to the Board and signed 

by the requestor(s). 

 

3. The date, time and place of all oral proceedings shall be filed with the Secretary 

of State’s office and mailed to each requestor. The oral proceedings will be 

scheduled no earlier than twenty (20) days from the filing of this information with 

the Secretary of State. 

4. The Board President or his designee, who is familiar with the substance of the 

proposed rule, shall preside at the oral proceeding on a proposed rule. 

 

B. Public Presentations and Participation 

 

1. At an oral proceeding on a proposed rule, persons may make oral statements and 

make documentary and physical submissions, which may include data, views, 

comments, or arguments concerning the proposed rule. 

 

2. Persons wishing to make oral presentations at a proceeding shall notify the Board 

at least one (1) business day prior to the proceeding and indicate the general 

subject of their presentations. The presiding officer in his or her discretion may 

allow individuals to participate that have not previously contacted the Board. 

 

3. At the proceeding, those who participate shall indicate their name and address, 

identify any person(s) or organization(s) they may represent, and provide any 

other information relating to their participation deemed appropriate by the 

presiding officer. 
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4. The presiding officer may place time limitations on individual oral presentations 

when necessary to assure the orderly and expeditious conduct of the oral 

proceeding. To encourage joint oral presentations and to avoid repetition, 

additional time may be provided for persons whose presentations represent the 

views of others as well as their own views. 

 

5. Persons making oral presentations are encouraged to avoid restating matters that 

have already been submitted in writing. 

 

6. There shall be no interruption of a participant who has been given the floor by the 

presiding officer, except that the presiding officer may in his or her discretion 

interrupt or end the participant’s time where the orderly conduct of the proceeding 

so requires. 

 

C. Conduct of Oral Proceeding 

 

1. The presiding officer shall have authority to conduct the proceeding in his or her 

discretion for the orderly conduct of the proceeding. 

 

2. The presiding officer shall: 

 

 a. Call proceeding to order. 

 

b. Give a brief synopsis of the proposed rule, a statement of the statutory 

authority for the proposed rule, and the reasons provided by the Board for 

the proposed rule. 

c. The presiding officer, where time permits and to facilitate the exchange of 

information, may open the floor to questions or general discussion. The 

presiding officer may question participants and permit the questioning of 

participants by other participants about any matter relating to that rule-

making proceeding, including any prior written submissions made by 

those participants in that proceeding; but no participant shall be required 

to answer any question. 

 

d. Submissions presented by participants in an oral proceeding shall be 

submitted to the presiding officer. Such submissions become the property 

of the Board and are subject to the Board’s public records request 

procedure. 

 

e. The Board may record oral proceedings by stenographic or electronic 

means. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013); § 25-43-2.105 (Rev. 2006) 

 

Rule 1.12 Declaratory Opinions 
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A. These rules set forth the Board of Cosmetology’s rules governing the form and content 

requests for declaratory opinions, and the Board’s procedures regarding the requests, as 

required by Section 25-43-103 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. These rules 

are intended to supplement and be read in conjunction with the provisions of the 

Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, which may contain additional information 

regarding the issuance of declaratory opinions. In the event of any conflict between these 

rules and the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, the latter shall govern. 

 

1. Any person with a substantial interest in the subject matter may request a 

declaratory opinion from the Board by following the specified procedures. 

“Substantial interest in the subject matter” means an individual, business, group 

or other entity that is directly affected by the Board’s administration of the laws 

within its primary jurisdiction. “Primary jurisdiction of the Board” means the 

Board has a constitutional or statutory grant of authority in the subject matter at 

issue. 

 

2. The Board will issue declaratory opinions regarding the applicability to specified 

facts of : 

 

a. A statute administered or enforceable by the Board, or  

 

b. A rule promulgated by the Board. 

The Board will not issue a declaratory opinion regarding a statute or rule which is 

outside the primary jurisdiction of the Board. 

3. The Board may, for good cause, refuse to issue a declaratory opinion. The 

circumstances in which declaratory opinions will not be issued include, but are 

not necessarily limited to: 

 

a. Lack of clarity concerning the question presented; 

 

b. There is pending or anticipated litigation, administrative action, or other 

adjudication which may either answer the question presented by the request or 

otherwise make an answer unnecessary; 

 

c. The statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought is clear and not in 

need of interpretation to answer the question presented by the request; 

 

d. The facts presented in the request are sufficient to answer the question 

presented; 

 

e. The request fails to contain information required by the rules or the requestor 

failed to follow the procedures set forth in these rules; 
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f. The request seeks to resolve issues which have become moot, or are abstract 

or hypothetical such that the requestor is not substantially affected by the 

statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought; 

 

g. No controversy exists concerning the issue as the requestor is not faced with 

existing fact or those certain to arise which raise a question concerning the 

application of the statute or rule; 

 

h. The question presented by the request concern the legal validity of a statute or 

rule; 

 

i. The request is not based upon facts calculated to aid in the planning of future 

conduct but is, instead, based on past conduct in an effort to establish the 

effect of that conduct; 

 

j. No clear answer is determinable; 

 

k. The question presented by the request involved the application of a criminal 

statute or a set of facts which may constitute a crime; 

 

l. The answer to the question presented would require the disclosure of 

information which is privileged or otherwise protected by law from 

disclosure; 

 

m. The question is currently the subject of an Attorney General’s opinion request 

or has been answered by an Attorney General’s opinion; 

n. A similar request is pending before this Board or any other agency or a 

proceeding is pending on the same subject matter before any agency, 

administrative or judicial tribunal, or where such an opinion would constitute 

the unauthorized practice of law; 

 

o. Where issuance of a declaratory opinion may adversely affect the interest of 

the State, the Board or any of their officers or employees in any litigation 

which is pending or may reasonably be expected to arise; 

 

p. The question involves eligibility for a license, permit, certificate or other 

approval by the Board or some other agency, and there is a statutory or 

regulatory application process by which eligibility for said license, permit, 

certificate or other approval would be determined.  

 

4. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible handwriting. 

Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size paper (8 ½ x 11 

inches). Request must be in the form of a letter addressed to the Board. 
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5. All requests must be mailed, delivered or transmitted via facsimile to the Board. 

The request shall clearly state that it is a request for a declaratory opinion. No 

oral, telephone request or email requests will be accepted for official opinion. 

 

6. Each request must include the full name, telephone number and mailing address 

of the requestor. All requests shall be signed by the person filing the request, who 

shall attest that the request complies with the requirements set forth in these rules 

including but not limited to a full, complete and accurate statement of relevant 

facts and that there are no related proceedings pending before any other 

administrative or judicial tribunal. 

 

7. Each request shall contain the following: 

 

a. A clear and concise statement of all facts on which the opinion is requested; 

 

b. A citation to the statute or rule at issue; 

 

c. The question(s) sought to be answered in the opinion, stated clearly; 

 

d. A suggested proposed opinion from the requestor, state the answers desired by 

the petitioner and a summary of the reasons in support of those answers; 

 

e. The identity of all other known persons involved in or impacted by the desired 

factual situation, including their relationship to the facts, name, mailing 

address and telephone number; and 

 

f. A statement to show that the person seeking the opinion has a substantial 

interest in the subject matter. 

 

8. Within forty-five (45) days after receipt of a request for a declaratory opinion 

which complies with the requirements of these rules, the Board shall in writing: 

 

a. Issue a declaratory opinion regarding the specified statute or rule as applied to 

the specified circumstances; 

 

b. Decline to issue a declaratory opinion, stating the reasons for its action; or 

 

c. Agree to issue a declaratory opinion by a specified time but not later than 

ninety (90) days after receipt of the written request. 

The forty-five (45) day period shall begin running on the first State of Mississippi 

business day on or after the request is received by the Board, whichever is sooner. 

9. A declaratory opinion shall not become final until the expiration of sixty (60) 

days after the issuance of the opinion. Prior to the expiration of sixty (60) says, 

the Board may, in its discretion, withdraw or amend the declaratory opinion for 

any reason which is not arbitrary or capricious. Reasons for withdrawing or 
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amending an opinion include, but are not limited to, a determination that the 

request failed to meet the requirements of these rules and that the opinion issued 

contains a legal or factual error. 

 

B. The Board may give notice to any person, agency or entity that a declaratory opinion has 

been requested and may receive and consider data, facts, arguments and opinions from 

other persons, agencies or other entities other than the requestor. 

 

C. Declaratory opinions and requests for declaratory opinions shall be available for public 

inspection and copying in accordance with the Public Records Act and the Board’s public 

records request procedure. All declaratory opinions and requests shall be indexed by 

name and subject. Declaratory opinions and requests which contain information which is 

confidential or exempt from disclosure under the Mississippi Public Records Act or other 

laws shall be exempt from this requirement shall remain confidential. 

 

D. The Board will not pursue any civil, criminal or administrative action against a person 

who is issued a declaratory opinion from the Board and who, in good faith, follows the 

direction of the opinion and acts in accordance therewith unless a court of competent 

jurisdiction holds that the opinion is manifestly wrong. Any declaratory opinion rendered 

by the Board shall be binding only on the Board and the person to whom the opinion is 

issued. No declaratory opinion will be used as precedent for any other transaction or 

occurrence beyond that set forth by the requesting person. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2013), § 25-43-2.105 (Rev. 2006) 

 

Rule 1.13  Fees 

 

The following fees shall apply for the following purposes: 

 

A. Initial license/renewal for cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, or wig specialist .............50.00 

 

B. Instructor initial license/renewal ............................................................................................80.00 

 

C. Master cosmetologist license /renewal ..................................................................................70.00 

 

D. Delinquent renewal penalty -- cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, wig specialist and 

instructor ................................................................................................................................50.00 

 There shall be no renewal fee for any licensee seventy (70) years of age or older. 

 

E Salon application and initial inspection .................................................................................85.00 

 

F. Salon reinspection ..................................................................................................................35.00 

 

G. Salon change of ownership or location, or both ....................................................................85.00 

 

H. Salon renewal .........................................................................................................................60.00 
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I. Salon delinquent renewal penalty ..........................................................................................50.00 

 

J. Application and initial inspection for a new school...............................................................300.00 

 

K. New school reinspection ........................................................................................................100.00 

 

L. School change of ownership ..................................................................................................300.00 

 

M. School relocation ...................................................................................................................150.00 

 

N. School renewal .......................................................................................................................75.00 

 

O. School delinquent renewal penalty ........................................................................................100.00 

 

P. Duplicate license ....................................................................................................................10.00 

 

Q. Penalty for insufficient fund checks ......................................................................................20.00 

 

R. Affidavit processing ...............................................................................................................15.00 

 

S. The Board may charge additional fees for services, which the board deems appropriate to 

carry out its intent and purpose. These additional fees shall not exceed the cost of 

rendering the service. 

 

T. Refunds will automatically be made on overpayment of fees. Refunds will be made on 

under payments by written requests from applicants. If no request for refund is made 

within sixty (60) days, the fees will be forfeited. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-29 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 2: Licensure 

 

Rule 2.1  Licenses Issued by the Board 

 

The Board shall issue the following licenses: 

 

 1. Practitioner’s license 

  a. Cosmetologist 

  b. Esthetician 

  c. Manicurist 

  d. Master Cosmetologist 

  e. Master Manicurist 

  f. Master Esthetician 

 

 2. Instructor’s license 

  a. Cosmetologist 
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  b. Esthetician 

  c. Manicurist 

 

 3. Salon license 

 

 4. School license 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-14, 73-7-15, 73-7-18, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.2 Photograph Required on All Licenses 

 

A. Each licensee shall be required to submit two (2) passport photographs taken within 90 

days prior to application or renewal. All licenses shall include a passport photograph of 

the license holder. 

 

B. Where a salon or school is owned by two (2) or more individuals, the multiple owners 

shall designate one of the owners or another individual as the “license holder.” A passport 

photograph of the individual designated as license holder shall be printed on the 

establishment license. 

 

C. Where a salon is owned by a corporation, the passport photograph of the salon manager 

shall be printed on the salon license.  

 

D. Where a school is owned by a corporation, the passport photograph of the lead instructor 

shall be printed on the school license. 

 

E. Where the school is a high school or community college, the passport photograph of the 

campus or branch lead instructor shall be printed on the school license. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2013)   

 

Rule 2.3 Display of License and Certificate(s) of Proficiency; Photo Identification 

 

A. Every licensee must display his or her license in a conspicuous place within reading 

distance of the public. A practitioner’s place of business is his or her primary working 

area within the establishment. The posting of a photocopy of a license is prohibited. 

 

B. Any licensee utilizing or planning to utilize a specific device in any practice area of 

discipline must post the required certificate of proficiency at his/her primary working 

area in the establishment. 

 

C. A licensee shall make his or her government photo identification available upon request. 

Failure to provide government photo identification when requested by an agent of the 

Board will result in issuance of a citation for violation to the practitioner, owner and/or 

manger of the establishment. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2013) 

Rule 2.4 Duplicate License 

 

A. A request for duplicate license shall be submitted in writing, on a form provided by the 

Board, to the Board office. Applicants for a duplicate license shall submit two (2) forms 

of identification.  Acceptable forms of identification may be driver’s license, government 

issued ID card, Social Security card, school ID card with photograph, voter registration 

card, U.S. military card, Native American tribal document, birth certificate, passport, 

certificate of U.S. citizenship, certificate of naturalization, valid (unexpired) temporary 

resident card or employment authorization card. All applications and supporting 

documents must be submitted two (2) weeks prior to a Board meeting. Application will 

be reviewed for consideration by the Board. Upon review, the applicant will be notified 

of the Board’s decision. Only one duplicate license shall be issued during a licensing 

period, unless extenuating circumstances are presented for which an appearance, may be 

requested.  

 

B. A licensee who has a duplicate license posted, shall make his or her government photo 

identification available upon request. Failure to provide government identification, when 

requested by an agent of the Board shall result in the issuance of a citation for violation to 

the practitioner, owner and/or manager of the establishment. 

 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.5. Outdated License: 

 

A.  Any person who has been licensed in this state, and whose license has expired for 

a period of three (3) to six (6) years, must make application for approval for examination. 

A one-time 90-day work permit may be granted. The fee for the one-time 90-day work 

permit shall be $20.00. After this time passes, no permit to work will be issued.  

 

B.  The application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the 

Board and must be accompanied by: 

 

  1. Two recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days 

prior to application. 

 

 2. Record of last renewal, including registration number, and date of 

expiration. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.6 Fees    

 

A. Renewal Fees: 
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1. School License Renewal: A school owner who fails to renew his school license 

within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new application for 

licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-16, and Rule 5.2. 

 

2. Salon License Renewal: A salon owner who fails to renew his salon license 

within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new application for 

licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-17, and Rule 4.2. 

 

3. All Licensees: 

 

a. The postmark date on the transmittal envelope of the renewal application 

and fee is determinative in ascertaining whether receipt was prior to the 

expiration of the grace period. 

 

b. Application for renewal of licenses which are not accompanied by the 

provided renewal form are assessed a fee for lost renewal form. 

 

c. When an applicant for new or renewed license has not submitted required 

documentation or proper fee, applicant will be notified of same by mail, 

and license processing is placed on “hold” for a maximum of ninety (90) 

days, during which time no additional fees or charges will be assessed. If 

however, a period of sixty (60)  days has passed without submittal of 

required information or balance due, credited fees are forfeited; refunds 

cannot be granted. 

 

d. The renewal fee for any licensee aged seventy (70) or older at time of 

renewal shall be waived when such licensee submits a copy of a 

government issued document demonstrating proof of age.  

 

B. Refunds of fees. 

 

1. Application for a new license. An applicant may make a written request to 

withdraw the application, under the following conditions: 

 

a. The application cannot, or has not been approved, for any reason 

 

b. The applicant has not been scheduled for examination 

 

c. In the case of an application for reciprocity, the license issuance process 

has not begun. 

 

d. In the case of an application for a new salon, an inspection has not 

occurred. 

 

2. Balance due on application fees. An applicant may submit a written request for a 

refund of application fees, either new or renewal, where there is a balance due, and 
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the applicant does not wish to submit the additional fee. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-19 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.7  General provisions regarding licensure by examination 

 

A. Licensure examinations are provided for in-state and out-of-state applicants for 

practitioner and instructor licenses. 

 

B. An examination for any practitioner or instructor license is both practical and written. 

 

 1. The applicant must demonstrate by practical examination, minimal skills and  

  knowledge necessary for the license sought. 

 

2. The applicant must demonstrate by written examination, knowledge of profession, 

health and safety methods and procedures,  Mississippi Statutes, rules and 

regulations pertinent to the practice necessary for the license. 

 

C. Grades necessary to pass the examination: 

 

1. Basic Examinations (Practitioner): A person taking the Board of Cosmetology 

examination will be granted a license to practice if such person makes an 

examination grade of not less than 70 scaled score on each portion of the practical 

examination, and not less than 70 scaled score on the written examination. 

 

2. Instructor Examination: A person taking the Board of Cosmetology Instructor examination 

will be granted an instructor’s license if such person makes an examination grade of not 

less than 75 scaled score on each portion of the practical examination, and not less than 75 

scaled score on the written examination. 

 

D. Any applicant failing to pass the required examination after three attempts is not eligible 

for re-examination until he or she has returned to a school for additional training of no 

more than 10 percent of the prescribed course hours for the course of training for which 

application for licensure is being made. 

 

E. A candidate for licensure who has been unsuccessful in passing the examination is 

required to retake only the portion of the examination which was failed, up to a period of 

three years.  After three years, the grades are no longer valid and the candidate is required 

to take the entire examination, both written and practical. 

 

F. The Board will maintain an accurate record of each examination as provided by the testing 

administrator. 

 

G. Each first time applicant for licensure shall show by way of affidavit that they are of 

“good moral character”, which shall be established by an absence of felony convictions or 

misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.8 Examination Eligibility for In-State Applicants 

 

A. Eligibility Requirements for Practitioner 

 

 1. Cosmetologists, manicurists, and estheticians must: 

 

  a. Be at least 17 years of age. 

 

  b. Be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

  c. Have at least a twelfth (12th) grade education or its equivalent. 

 

   (1) Proof of completion of high school education shall be submitted in 

the form of a diploma, or certified transcript which reflects 

graduation data. If the education was acquired by GED, original 

GED transcript must be submitted to the Board. 

  

 (2) Where the secondary education was obtained outside of the 

 United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of 

completion, along with an original  translation which has been 

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and 

which certifies that the document is considered to be proof of the 

equivalent of a 12
th

 grade education. 

 

 (3) A high school education received from a distance learning entity 

  will only be accepted if that entity is accredited by an accrediting 

agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education 

 

 (4) Any other document and/or affidavit which constitutes reliable  

 proof of completion of high school education shall be required by 

the Board. 

  

 2. An application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the  

  Board and accompanied by the following: 

 

 

a. Two recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days 

prior to application. 

 

   

  b. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change. 

  

 3. Reasonable accommodations for candidates having a physical or mental 
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impairment that limits one or more major life activities, as defined by the 

Americans with Disabilities Act. An applicant’s request for accommodation 

should be completed on the application for approval for examination.  

 

B. Eligibility Requirements for Instructor  

 1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination:  

 

  a. Must be at least 21 years of age. 

 

  b. Must be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

  c. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency. 

 

  d. Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license. 

 

 e. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses 

  approved by the Board. 

 

 f. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which 

  application for licensure is being made. 

 

 g. Must have two (2) years of active practical experience in a licensed salon, 

or as an alternative to such experience, the following hours of instructor 

training shall apply: 

  (1) Cosmetologist – 2,000 hours of instructor training in an 

   accredited school of cosmetology. 

  (2) Esthetician – 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

   school in which the practice of esthetics is taught. 

  (3)  Manicurist – 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

   school in which the practice of manicuring is taught. 

 

 h. Must have successfully completed the following hours of instructor’s 

training: 

  (1) Cosmetologist – 750 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school of cosmetology 

  (2) Esthetician – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school in which the practice of esthetics is taught 

  (3) Manicurist – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited school 

in which the practice of manicuring is taught 

 

  i. Must have attended at least one mandatory Board approved “Methods of 

   Teaching” Seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education 

   hours. 

 

 2. Application for approval for examination must be accompanied by: 
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 a. Two (2) recent passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to 

application. 

 

 b. Proof of completion of high school education or its equivalency. 

 

 c. Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which 

application for approval for examination is being made. 

 

 d. An affidavit certifying at least two (2) years of work experiences, if 

applicable. 

 

 e. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of twelve 

(12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board. 

 

 f. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change, and 

 

 g. Copy of current practitioner’s license. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-18, 73-7-15, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.9 Examination Eligibility for Out-of-State Applicants 

 

A. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Practitioner  

 

 1. Any person who is licensed by a state in which Mississippi does not have 

provision for reciprocity licensure, or any student who is at least seventeen years 

of age, can read, write, and speak English, and has successfully completed a 

course of training in another state which meets Mississippi’s minimum 

requirements, but is not licensed in that state, may be eligible for licensure by 

examination. 

 

  The State’s minimum requirements are: 

 

Cosmetologist  Cosmetologist 1500 hours 

Manicurist 350 hours 

Esthetician 600 hours 

 

2. The required documentation includes notifications of intent, affidavit/certification 

of training, and affidavit/certification of current licensure.  

 

 a. Notification of Intent. The form must 

be completed in its entirety and submitted to the Mississippi State Board of 

Cosmetology. 

 

b. The affidavit/certification of training. An affidavit or certification of the 

applicant’s course of training must be submitted to the Board office by the 
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board in the state in which the training was acquired. The 

affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a minimum: 

 

   (1)  Applicant’s name and address 

 

  (2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number 

(if applicable) 

 

   (3) The course in which applicant was enrolled 

 

   (4) Total clock hours earned 

 

  (5) Date of completion or last attendance (Non-licensed individuals 

only) 

 

   (6) Information regarding current license (if applicable), including 

expiration date and whether the licensee is in good standing. 

 

  c. The affidavit/certification of licensure. The applicant must cause an 

affidavit/certification of licensure to be issued by the board in which the 

license is held.  

 

  d. If the state in which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in 

which the training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required. 

Otherwise, the applicant must obtain two affidavits. 

 

  e. The affidavits/certifications must be mailed directly to the Mississippi 

State Board by the licensing authority, bear the seal-impress of the 

licensing authority, and bear at least one signature of an official of the 

licensing authority. 

 

  f. In the event the information cannot be provided by the licensing authority, 

it may be obtained from the attendant school. In this case, the attendant 

school must submit the information directly to the Board. The information 

must: (1) be submitted in an envelope bearing the attendant school’s 

letterhead, (2) bear the seal impress of the school, and (3) be certified by 

an agent of the attendant school. The Board reserves the right to deny 

Certification of Training submitted by a school if it is determined that the 

information can be provided by the appropriate licensing authority. 

 

 3. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview 

 

 a. Upon receipt of a completed Application of Intent and 

Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the examination 

requirements for Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an interview, 

and notified of the date and time. 



33 
 

 

 b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the 

interview: 

 

 (1) Photographic identification. 

 

 (a) Applicant must present two (2) current passport 

photographs to be attached to his or her application for approval for 

examination. The person who is making application for approval 

for examination must be recognizable in the photograph. 

 

 (b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic 

identification card which contains the applicant’s signature and date 

of birth.  In the event of a name change, legal proof of the change 

must be presented.  

 

  (2) Two additional forms of identification must be presented by the 

applicant. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the change 

must be presented. 

 

  (3) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in any 

practice area of discipline must present the required certification of 

proficiency from Mississippi or another state  attesting to proper 

training in the use of the instrument. 

 

c. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to 

apply for approval for examination. The following determinations will be 

made: 

 

   (1) The applicant is at least 17 years of age. 

 

   (2) The applicant is able to read, write and speak English. 

 

   (3) The applicant has a 12th grade education or its equivalent. The 

applicant must present, at the time of the interview, acceptable 

documentation evidencing completion of the 12th grade, or its 

equivalent.  Where the secondary education was obtained outside of 

the United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of 

completion, along with an original translation which has been 

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and 

which  certifies that the document is considered to be the equivalent 

of a 12th grade education.  

Additional information may be required if it has been determined, 

or there is reason to believe that a candidate for examination has 

completed high school under one or more of the following 

circumstances: 
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 (a) The institution is not accredited by the Department of 

Education in the relevant state. 

 

  (b) The institution is not accredited by a recognized   

  proprietary school accrediting association. 

 

   (c) The candidate may have completed a self-study course. 

 

   (4) The candidate will not be considered to have a 12
th

 grade education 

or its equivalent if it is determined that one or more of the 

following circumstances exist: 

 

 (a) The institution from which the diploma or transcript was 

acquired is not sanctioned or accredited by a state supported 

educational credentialing entity, or 

 

 (b) The candidate completed a self-study program in which 

progress examinations and final examinations were not 

physically supervised by one or more staff members of the 

institution or a recognized examination 

administration/proctor service. 

 

 4. If an applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory to  prove that all requirements 

for approval for examination have been met, he or she will be advised that the 

application of intent will be rejected, and the reason for the same. The applicant 

will be advised, in writing, of the right to a show causehearing before the Board. 

  

 5. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, he or 

she will be required to submit an out-of-state Application for Approval for 

Examination, which must be completed in its entirety. 

 

B. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Instructor (First – Time Licensure) 

 

 1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination: 

 

a. Must be at least 21 years of age. 

 

b. Must be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

c. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency. 

 

d. Must possess a current practitioner’s license. 

 

e. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses 

approved by the Board. 
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f. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which 

application for licensure is being made. 

 

g. Must have two (2) years of active practical experience in a licensed salon, 

or as an alternative to such experience, the following shall apply:  

 

 (1) Cosmetologist – 2,000 of instructor training in an accredited school 

of cosmetology. 

 (2) Esthetician – 1,000 of instructor training in an accredited school in 

which the practice of esthetics is taught. 

 (3) Manicurist – 1,000 of instructor training in an accredited school in 

which the practice of manicuring is taught. 

 

h. Must have successfully completed the following hours of instructor’s 

training: 

 

 (1) Cosmetologist – 750 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school of cosmetology. 

 (2) Esthetician – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school in which the practice of esthetics is taught. 

 (3) Manicurist – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited school 

in which the practice of manicuring is taught. 

 

i. Must have attended one mandatory Board “methods of teaching” seminar 

earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education hours. 

 

 2. The application packet must be accompanied by: 

 

a. Two (2) recent passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to 

application. 

 

b. Proof of eligibility requirements. 

 

c. An affidavit completed and signed by the board official in the state from 

which the current license is held, attesting to licensure status and any 

disciplinary action within the past five (5) years. 

 

d.  Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which 

application for approval for examination being made or an affidavit 

attesting to education. 

 

e. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of twelve 

(12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board. 

 

f. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change. 
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g. Copy of current practitioner’s license. 

 

 3. Any applicant who uses or propose to teach a specific device  in any practice area 

of discipline must present the required certification of teaching proficiency for 

Mississippi or another state attesting to proper training in the use and/or teaching 

of the device.  

 

  If an applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory to prove that all requirements 

for approval for examination have been met, he or she will be advised that the 

application of intent will be rejected and the reason for the same. The applicant 

will be advised, in writing, of the right to a show cause hearing before the Board.  

 

  If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements he or 

she will be required to submit an out-of-state application for approval for 

examination, which must be completed in its entirety.  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-18, 73-7-15, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.10 Examination Eligibility for Out-of-Country Applicants. 

 

A. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Practitioner 

 

 1. Any person who is licensed or registered to practice by a country other than the 

United States, or any person who has successfully completed a course of training 

in a country other than the United States, which meets this state’s minimum 

requirements, may submit an application for approval for examination. 

 

   The state’s minimum requirements are: 

 

    

 

 

 

 2. The required documentation includes notification of intent, affidavit/certification 

of training, and affidavit/certification of current licensure. 

 

  a. Notification of Intent. The form must be completed in its entirety and 

submitted to the Board. 

 

  b. The affidavit/certificate of training. An affidavit or certification of the 

applicant’s course of training must be submitted to the Board office by the 

board in the state in which the training was acquired. The 

affidavit/certification of training should, at a minimum contain: 

 

   (1) Applicant’s name and address 

Cosmetologist 1500 hours 

Manicurist 350 hours 

Esthetician 600 hours 
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   (2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number 

(if applicable) 

 

   (3) The course in which applicant was enrolled 

 

   (4) Total clock hours earned 

 

   (5) Date of completion or last attendance (Non licensed individuals 

only) 

 

   (6) Information regarding current license (if applicable), including 

expiration date and whether the licensee is in good standing. 

 

c. The affidavit/certification of licensure. The applicant must cause an 

affidavit/certification of licensure to be issued by the board in which the 

license is held. 

 

d. The affidavits/certifications must be mailed directly to the Board by the 

licensing authority, bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority, and 

bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority.  

 

e. In the event the information cannot be provided by the licensing authority, 

it may be obtained from the attendant school. In this case, the attendant 

school must submit the information directly to the Board. The information 

must: (1) be submitted in an envelope bearing the attendant school’s 

letterhead, (2) bear the seal-impress of the school, and (3) be certified by an 

agent of the attendant school. The Board reserves the right to deny 

Certification of Training submitted by a school if it is determined that the 

information can be provided by the appropriate licensing authority.  

 

 3. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview 

 

  a. Upon receipt of a completed Applicant of Intent and Affidavit/Certification 

of Training, which meets the examination requirements for Mississippi, the 

applicant is scheduled for an interview, and notified of the date and time. 

 

  b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the 

interview: 

 

   (1)  Photographic identification. 

 

    (a) Applicant must present two (2) current passport 

photographs to be attached to his or her application for 

approval for examination. The person who is making 

application for  examination must be recognizable in the 
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photograph. 

 

    (b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic 

identification card which contains the applicant’s signature 

and date of birth. In the event of a name change, legal proof 

of the change must be presented. 

 

   (2) Two additional forms of identification must be presented by the 

applicant. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name 

change must be presented. 

 

   (3) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in any 

practice area of discipline, must present the required certification of 

proficiency attesting to proper training in the use of the instrument.  

 

  c. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to 

apply for approval for examination. The following determinations will be 

made: 

 

   (1) The applicant is at least 17 years of age. 

 

   (2) The applicant is able to read, write and speak English. 

 

   (3) The applicant has a 12
th

 grade education or its equivalent. The 

applicant must present, at the time of the interview, acceptable 

documentation evidencing completion of the 12
th

 grade, or its 

equivalent. Where the secondary education was obtained outside of 

the United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of 

completion, along with an original translation which has been 

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and 

which certifies that the document is considered to be the equivalent 

of a 12
th

 grade education. 

 

  d. If an applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, 

he or she will be required to submit an out-of-country Application for 

Approval for Examination, which must be completed in its entirety. 

 

 5. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, he or 

she will be required to submit an out-of-country Applicant for Approval for 

Examination, which must be completed in its entirety.  

 

B. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Instructor (First-Time Licensure) 

 

 1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination: 

 

  a. Must be at least 21 years of age 
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  b. Must be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

  c. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency. 

 

  d. Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license. 

 

 e. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses 

  approved by the Board. 

 

 f. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which 

  application for licensure is being made. 

 

 g. Must have two (2) years of active practical experience in a licensed salon, 

or as an alternative to such experience, the following hours of instructor 

training shall apply: 

  (1) Cosmetologist – 2,000 hours of instructor training in an 

   accredited school of cosmetology. 

  (2) Esthetician – 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

   school in which the practice of esthetics is taught. 

  (3)  Manicurist – 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

   school in which the practice of manicuring is taught. 

 

 h. Must have successfully completed the following hours of instructor’s 

training: 

  (1) Cosmetologist – 750 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school of cosmetology 

  (2) Esthetician – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school in which the practice of esthetics is taught 

  (3) Manicurist – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited school 

in which the practice of manicuring is taught 

 

  i. Must have attended at least one mandatory Board approved “Methods of 

   Teaching” seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education 

   hours. 

 

 2. The application packet must be accompanied by: 

 

a. Two (2) recent passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to 

application. 

 

b. Proof of eligibility requirements. 

 

c. An affidavit completed and signed by the board official in the state from 

which the current license is held, attesting to licensure status and any 

disciplinary action within the past five (5) years. 
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d.  Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which 

application for approval for examination being made or an affidavit 

attesting to education. 

 

e. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of twelve 

(12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board. 

 

f. An affidavit certifying at least two (2) years of work experience, if 

applicable. 

 

g. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change. 

 

h. Copy of current practitioner’s license. 

 

i. Any applicant who uses or proposes to teach a specific device in any 

practice area of discipline must present the required certification of 

teaching proficiency from Mississippi or another state attesting to proper 

training in the use and/or teaching of the device. 

 

C. The application must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board and must  

 be accompanied by: 

 

 1. Two passport photographs taken within 90 days prior to application. 

 

 2. A copy of current out-of-country license or certificates. 

 

 3. Proof of completion of high school education or GED by way of certified high 

school transcript, certified GED transcript or other means as the Board may deem 

acceptable. All transcripts must be submitted by the applicant in sealed envelopes 

from the school in which the degree was obtained. . 

 

 4. Certification from the registering agency or the school in which the training was 

acquired, reflecting the number of training hours earned, and the curriculum 

subjects. 

 

Rule 2.11 Licensure by  Reciprocity - Practitioner 

 

A. An individual who holds a current license from another state with whom Mississippi has a 

reciprocal agreement may be eligible for a practitioner license  in accordance with Miss. 

Code Ann. Section 73-7-23. The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology maintains a list 

of states with whom Mississippi is reciprocal. 

 

B. Application Process: 

 

1. Complete an Application for Reciprocity, which  must be completed in its entirety 
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and submitted to the Board. 

 

a. The applicant must cause an affidavit or certification to be issued by the 

board in which the training was acquired or the license is held. If the state 

in which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in which the 

training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required. Where the 

current license is held in one state and original license or education was 

obtained in a different state, and the state of current licensure will not attest 

to the applicant’s training, an affidavit is also required from the state of 

origin. 

 

b. The affidavit/certification of training must: 

 

(1) Be mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board by the licensing 

authority. 

 

(2) Bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority. 

 

(3) Bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority. 

 

c. The affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a minimum: 

 

(1) Applicant’s name and address, 

 

(2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number, 

 

(3) The course in which applicant was enrolled, 

 

(4) Total clock hours earned, 

 

(5) Information regarding current license, including expiration date and 

whether the licensee is in good standing. 

 

d. Each applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall show by way of affidavit 

that they are of “good moral character”, which shall be established by an 

absence of felony convictions or misdemeanor convictions involving 

moral turpitude. 

 

2. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview 

 

a. Upon receipt of a completed Application of Reciprocity and 

Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the reciprocity 

requirements of the state of Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an 

interview, and notified of the date and time. 

 

b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the 
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interview: 

 

(1) Photographic identification. 

 

(a) Applicant must present two (2) current passport 

photographs to be attached to his or her application for 

reciprocity. The photograph must be recognizable as the 

person who is making application for reciprocity. 

 

(b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic 

identification card which contains the applicant’s signature 

and date of birth. In the event of a name change, legal 

proof of the change must be presented. 

 

(2) Two additional forms of government-issued identification must be 

presented by the applicant. In the event of a name change, legal 

proof of the change must be presented. 

 . 

(3) A current, valid out of state practitioner license. The license will 

be reviewed to determine that all information contained in it 

including name, registration number, and expiration date of license, 

matches the information which was provide in the affidavit. 

 

(4) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in any 

practice area of discipline must present certificate of proficiency 

obtained in Mississippi or another state attesting to proper training 

in the use of the device. 

 

c. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to be 

licensed by reciprocity. The interview will be recorded. The following 

determinations will be made: 

 

(1) the applicant is at least 17 years of age. 

 

(2) the applicant is able to read, write and speak English. 

 

C. If the applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory, of meeting all requirements for 

reciprocity, he or she will be advised that the application cannot be accepted, and the 

reason for same. The applicant will be advised, in writing, of the right to an 

Administrative Hearing before the Board. 

 

D. If the applicant is deemed to meet all reciprocity eligibility requirements, he or she is 

required to: 

 

1. Complete an Application for Reciprocity. The Board approved form, “Application 

for Licensure by Reciprocity,” must be completed in its entirety. 
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2. Pay the required fee. The prevailing fee is that which has been established by 

Law, Section 73-7-29, of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended and may be 

submitted by personal check, cashier’s check, money order, or cash. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.12 License by Reciprocity - Instructor 

 

A. Eligibility Requirements for Instructor Licensure by Reciprocity  

 

An instructor from any other state may be qualified for a Mississippi instructor’s license 

by satisfying the following requirements: 

 

 1. Must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. 

 

 2. Must be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

 3. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency. 

 

 4. Must possess a valid instructor’s license. 

 

5. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by 

the Board. 

  

6. Must have completed training equivalent to Mississippi’s training as provided in 

Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-7-15, or have three (3) years or more of experience as 

a licensed instructor prior to application. 

 

7. Must have completed a minimum of five (5) continuing education (CE) hours in 

Mississippi Board laws, rules and regulations. The fee for five (5)-hour CE 

seminar shall be $75.00. The dates and times for the CE seminar shall be posted on 

the Board’s website.  

 

8. Each applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall show by way of affidavit that they 

are of “good moral character”, which shall be established by an absence of felony 

convictions or misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude. 

 

B. When College Courses Requirement Not Completed at the Time of Application 

  

An applicant for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity who has not completed 

the college courses requirement at the time of application may apply for a one-time 

temporary teaching permit, which shall be valid for six (6) months and shall be 

nonrenewable. See Rule 3.3. The request for the one-time temporary teaching permit must 

be made on the application for instructor’s license by reciprocity. Such application must 

be accompanied by proof of enrollment in college course(s), required permit fee of 
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$25.00, two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant and other documentation as 

required for application for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity. Upon proof of 

completion of college courses and payment of the required license fee, a Mississippi 

instructor’s license shall be issued.  

  

C. The application packet, which must be completed in its entirety, must be accompanied by 

the following: 

 

 1. Two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant. 

 

 2. Proof of eligibility requirements as established in this Rule. 

  

3. The required license fee. (Exception: If the applicant has not completed the college 

courses requirement at the time of application, the license fee shall be paid at the 

time when proof of completion of college courses has been submitted to the Board 

office.)  

 

D. The application packet may be accompanied by a one-time temporary teaching permit fee 

of $25.00 if the applicant has not completed the college courses requirement at the time of 

application and desires to apply for the one-time temporary teaching permit. See Rule 3.3. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-15, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.13 Reciprocity for Military Personnel and Military Spouses 

 

In accordance with the requirements of Miss. Code Ann. § 73-50-1, a military trained or military 

spouse applicant may gain licensure to practice in the State of Mississippi under the following 

circumstances: 

 

A. For a military-member applicant: 

 

 1. Must show proof of licensure by a state Cosmetology regulatory board that is in 

good standing and be actively practicing. Proof of licensure shall include 

presentation of a current valid out-of-state license and submission of an affidavit 

mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology by the licensing 

authority that contains the following: 1) the seal-impress of the licensing authority; 

2) at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority; 3) the applicant’s 

name and address; 4) the applicant s registration number or license identification 

number; and 5) the courses in which the applicant was enrolled, total clock hours 

earned, and information regarding current license. 

 

 Or, as an unlicensed cosmetologist graduating within the last 2 years, applicant 

must show proof by way of affidavit of completion of a course of Cosmetology 

study from a board approved Cosmetology school. 

 

       2. Must make a passing score on the Mississippi licensure exam. 
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 3. Must appear for an application eligibility interview and show the following: 1) 

present two (2) current passport photos attached to the application for reciprocity; 

2) present two (2) forms of government-issued identification; 3) proof that the 

applicant is at least seventeen (17) years of age; 4) demonstrate the ability to read 

write and speak English; and 5) any applicant that proposes to use a specific device 

in any are of cosmetology must present a certificate of sufficiency obtained in a 

state in good standing attesting to proper training in the use of the device.  

 

 4. An applicant for an instructor’s license must have completed a minimum of five 

(5) continuing education hours in Mississippi Board of Cosmetology laws, rules 

and regulations at the time of application. 

       

B. For a military spouse: 

 

 1. Must show evidence that the applicant is a legal spouse of an active member of the 

military. 

 

2. Must show proof of licensure by a state Cosmetology regulatory board that is in 

good standing and be actively practicing.  Proof of licensure shall include 

presentation of a current valid out-of-state license and submission of an affidavit 

mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology by the licensing 

authority that contains the following: 1) the seal-impress of the licensing authority; 

2) at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority; 3) the Applicant’s 

name and address; 4) the applicant s registration number or license identification 

number; and 5) the courses in which the applicant was enrolled, total clock hours 

earned, and information regarding current license. 

 

 Or, as an unlicensed cosmetologist graduating within the last 2 years, applicant 

must show proof by way of affidavit of completion of a course of Cosmetology 

study from a board approved Cosmetology school. 

 

 3. Must show competency by make a passing score on the Mississippi licensure 

exam. 

 

 4. Must appear for an application eligibility interview and show the following: 1) 

present two (2) current passport photos attached to the application for reciprocity; 

2) present two (2) forms of government-issued identification; 3) proof that the 

applicant is at least seventeen (17) years of age; 4) demonstrate the ability to read 

write and speak English; and 5) any applicant that proposes to use a specific device 

in any are of cosmetology must present a certificate of sufficiency obtained in a 

state in good standing attesting to proper training in the use of the device. 

 

 5. An applicant for an instructor’s license must have completed a minimum of five 

(5) continuing education hours in Mississippi Board of Cosmetology laws, rules 

and regulations at the time of application. 
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Source: Miss Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-15, and 73-50-1 (Rev. 2013). 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 3:  Permits 
 

Rule 3.1 Demonstrator’s Permit   

 

An establishment must not allow a product demonstrator to demonstrate any product without a 

permit which has been issued in accordance with Section 73-7-25 of the Mississippi Code of 

1972 as amended. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-25 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 3.2 Permit to Work 

 

A. Student, or Student Instructor: 

 

 1. Any student or student instructor who has completed the total number of  

 prescribed hours in a course of training may be issued a permit to work valid for 

90 days in that capacity, upon request, provided the following requirements have 

been met: 

 

a. An application for approval  for examination has been made, and approved 

by the board. 

 

 b. An application for a permit to work has been submitted on a form 

  approved by the Board, which includes the following information: 

 

(1) Name and address of the establishment in which applicant is to be 

employed. 

 

(2) Establishment registration number, current license number and 

expiration date of license. 

 

(3) Name of supervising licensee. (Supervisor) 

 

(4) Supervisor registration number, current license number, and 

expiration date of license. 

  

 2. A permit to work is not processed unless a) all information is complete,  b) if 

either the establishment or supervisor licenses is expired, or c) if false information 

is reflected on the application. 

 

a. The supervising licensee must be employed on a full-time basis by the 

establishment in which the student/student instructor has made application 

for a permit. If it is necessary for the supervisor to be out of the 
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establishment on occasion, another supervising licensee must be 

designated to oversee the work of the student/student instructor. 

 

b. A student instructor who has been issued a permit to work is required to be 

under the direct supervision of a licensed instructor. 

  

 3. An approved permit to work will be sent, in the applicant’s name, directly to the 

  employing establishment. 

 

a. Any student/student instructor found by a Board agent working in any 

establishment before receipt of his or her permit or without a licensed 

supervisor will be issued a citation. 

 

b. Any establishment owner employing a student without a temporary work 

permit shall be issued a citation  for employing non-licensed personnel, and 

such case shall be cause for suspension of the establishment license. 

  

 4. If any student/student instructor has received a temporary permit to work and fails 

any portion of the practical or written examination, that student is no longer eligible to 

work. 

 

a. The student/student instructor and the employing establishment will be 

notified of the student’s ineligibility to work. 

 

b. The employing establishment will be notified to return the permit 

immediately. Failure to do so, or for the student/student instructor to 

continue working, will result in a issuance of a notice of an administrative 

hearing to the establishment owner(s) and student instructor.. 

 

 

5. No student under the authority of the Board shall work for compensation as a 

practitioner in an establishment while in the process of acquiring his or her 

training. 

 

6. Outdated License – See Rule 2.5. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13  (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 3.3 One-Time Temporary Teaching Permit for Applicant for Instructor’s License by 

Reciprocity 

 

A. Any applicant for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity who has not 

completed the college course(s) requirement at the time of application may be 

issued a one-time temporary teaching permit valid for six months and shall be non-

renewable. All other requirements must be met at the time of application for 

instructor’s license by reciprocity.  
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B. The request for a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be made on the 

application for instructor’s license by reciprocity. See Rule  2.12.  

  

(1) Name and address of the school in which the applicant is to be 

employed. 

 

(2) School registration number, current license number and expiration 

date of license. 

 

(3) Name of supervising instructor(s). 

 

(4) Supervisor registration number, current license number, and 

expiration date of license. 
 

C. The request for a one-time temporary teaching permit must be accompanied by 

the following: 

 (1) Proof of enrollment in college course(s) 

 (2) Required permit fee of $25.00 

   (3) Two (2) passport photographs taken within ninety (90) days prior 

to the application or renewal 

(4) Other documentation as required for application for a Mississippi 

instructor’s license by reciprocity. 

 D. Procedures for Use of the One-Time Temporary Teaching Permit 

1. An approved one-time temporary teaching permit shall be issued in the 

applicant’s name and mailed to the employing school. 

2. The applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity who has been 

issued a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be required to be under 

the direct supervision of a licensed instructor. 

3. The supervising instructor shall be employed on a full-time basis by the 

school where the applicant for instructor’s license by reciprocity will be 

employed. 

4. When it is necessary for the supervising instructor to be away from the 

school on occasion, another licensed instructor shall be designated to 

supervise the work of the applicant for an instructor’s license by 

reciprocity who is working pursuant to a one-time temporary teaching 

permit. 

5. Any applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity who is found 

working in any school before receipt of the one-time temporary teaching 

permit will be issued a citation by the Board agent. 
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6. Any school owner employing an applicant for an instructor’s license by 

reciprocity without a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be issued a 

citation by the Board agent, and such case may be cause for suspension of 

the school license. 

7. The one-time temporary permit shall be returned immediately to the Board 

office in the event the applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity 

who holds the said permit ceases employment with the employing school 

of record or withdraws his or her application for an instructor’s license by 

reciprocity. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13  (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 3.4 One-Time 90 Day Permit for Practitioner Who’s License Has Expired for A 

Period of Three or More Years 

 

Any person who has been licensed in this state, and whose license has expired for a period of 

three (3) or more years, must make application for approval for examination. A one-time 90-day 

work permit may be granted. The fee for the one-time 90-day work permit shall be $ 20.00. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013) 

 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 4: Salons 

 

Rule 4.1 Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice 

 

Receptionists, janitorial and other unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from practicing 

cosmetology, manicuring, or esthetics, in any manner. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 4.2 Procedure for the Opening of A New Salon 

 

A. A proposed salon owner must submit an application for licensure to operate a salon. An 

incomplete application will not be processed.  
 

1. The following information is required on the application: 

 

a. The name of the proposed salon. 

 

b. The address, location and the phone number of the proposed salon. 

 

c. The name(s) and address(es) of the proposed owner(s). If a partnership or 

corporation, the name and addressed of all principals must be provided. 
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d. Owners’ Social Security Number(s) 

 

e. If the proposed owner/manager is not a licensed practitioner, the name and 

registration number of an individual working full-time in the establishment 

and licensed by this Board must be provided. 

 

f. Any applicant for a salon license desiring to limit the practice to 

manicuring or esthetics only, must so state on the application, and any 

licensed issued to the establishment, authorizes only the practice, as 

applied for. 

 

2. In addition to the above, the following information must be submitted with the 

application: 

 

a. Required fee. 

 

b. Two (2) passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to application. 

 

c. A list of the equipment the salon proposes to have on hand. 

 

3. After receipt of the application and verification of the data, a Board inspector will 

contact the proposed owner to schedule an inspection appointment. 

 

4. The salon application will be cancelled and the fee will be forfeited under the 

following circumstances: 

 

 a. An inspection appointment is postponed by the proposed salon owner 

beyond 90 days after receipt. 

 b. The proposed salon owner(s) is a no-show for the inspection appointment 

and fails to send a representative. 

 

B. Inspection and Approval for Licensure: 

 

 During the inspection appointment, the Board will conduct an inspection of the premises 

to determine if all requirements, as indicated in the law, including minimum equipment 

requirements, have been strictly adhered to by the owner(s) of the proposed salon. If the 

requirements are not met, and the inspector cannot approve the salon, there will be an 

additional fee for each inspection made before licensing the salon. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-17 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 4.3 Required Equipment for Salons 

 

A. Full Service Cosmetology Salon: A cosmetology salon providing full service (hair, 

manicuring/pedicuring and esthetics) must have and keep maintained in proper working 

order and condition the following minimum equipment in order to be approved and pass 
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annual inspection for a full service cosmetology salon license: 

 

1. Signs 

 a. Outside – Business 

 b. Hours of Operation. 

 

2. One (1) dresser or work station with mirror for each cosmetologist.  

 

3. One (1) shampoo bowl and chair 

 

4. One (1) dryer.  (For purposes of this rule, a dryer is defined as “a chair or standing 

hair dryer with a hood, either stationary or portable.”) 

 

5. Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes per cosmetologist. 

 

6. Adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean towels.  

 

7. Adequate number of covered towel container(s) of solid construction for soiled 

towels. 

 

8. One (1) wet sterilizer per cosmetologist. 

 

9. One (1) dry sanitizer. (Any clean, closed container is considered adequate)  

 

10. Adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction. 

 

 11.  One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist. 

 

 12.  One (1) patron chair and manicurist stool per manicurist. 

 

 13. One (1) wet sanitizer for clean manicuring implement(s). (Any clean, closed 

container is considered adequate). 

 

 14. One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist. 

 

 15. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist. 

 

 16. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean manicuring implement(s). (Any clean closed 

container is considered adequate). 

 

17. Treatment area(s) located so as to ensure the privacy of the esthetics client.  

 

18. One (1) treatment bed, table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per esthetician. 

 

19. One (1) lavatory for each esthetics treatment area.  
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20. One (1) covered container for soiled linens in each esthetics treatment area.  

 

21. One (1) closed cabinet of solid construction for clean linens in each esthetics 

treatment area. 

 

22. One (1) closed cabinet for esthetics supplies. 

 

23. One (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) estheticians.  

 

24. One (1) woods lamp per two (2) estheticians. 

 

25. One (1) wet sterilizer per esthetician. 

  

27. One (1) dry sterilizer per esthetician. 

 

28. Covered trash can of solid construction for each esthetics treatment area. 

 

29. An adequate supply of client drapes and linens (towels, sheets, and pillow covers. 

 

30. Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving full salon services. 

 

B. Limited Service Cosmetology Salon: A cosmetology salon must have and keep 

maintained in proper working order and condition the following minimum equipment in 

order to be approved and pass annual inspection and may provide limited service, which 

must include hair services. Optional services for a cosmetology salon offering limited 

service include manicuring/pedicuring and/or esthetics (face only).  

 

1. Hair Services (Required). The following equipment is required for a limited 

service cosmetology salon:  

 

a. Signs 

(1) Outside – Business 

 (2) Hours of Operation. 

 

b. One (1) dresser or work station with mirror for each cosmetologist. 

 

c. One (1) shampoo bowl and chair. 

 

d. One (1) dryer per two work stations.  (For purposes of this rule, a dryer is 

defined as a chair or standing hair dryer with a hood, either stationary or 

portable.) 

 

e. Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes per cosmetologist. 

 

f. An adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean 

towels. 
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g. An adequate number of covered towel container(s) for soiled towels.  

 

h. One (1) wet sterilizer per cosmetologist. 

 

i. One (1) dry sanitizer. (Any clean, closed container is considered adequate)  

 

j. An adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction. 

 

k. Sufficient equipment and supplies for providing complete hair services. 

 

2. Manicuring/Pedicuring Services (Optional Service) – The following equipment is 

required when manicuring/pedicuring services are offered in a limited service 

cosmetology salon:  

 

a. One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist. 

 

b. One (1) patron chair and practitioner stool per manicurist. 

 

c. One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist. 

  

d. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist. 

 

e. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean implements.  (Any clean, closed container is 

considered adequate). 

 

f. An adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for 

manicuring/pedicuring supplies. 

 

g. An adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean 

towels. 

 

h. An adequate number of covered towels container(s) for soiled towels. 

 

i. Sufficient equipment and supplies for providing manicuring/pedicuring 

services. 

 

3. Esthetics Services – Face Only (Optional Service) – The following equipment is 

required when esthetics services (face only) are offered in a limited service 

cosmetology salon:  

 

a. One (1) closed cabinet for supplies. 

 

b. One (1) portable or stationary magnifying light. 

 

c. One (1) wet sterilizer.  
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d. One (1) dry sterilizer. 

 

e. Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving limited esthetics services to 

the face only. 

 

f. Optional – If a private room is used for service, it must be equipped with a 

lavatory. See Rule 1.2, definition of lavatory. 

 

C. Manicuring Salon: A salon in which manicuring only is practiced must have and keep 

maintained in proper working order and condition to the following minimum equipment 

in order to be approved and pass annual inspection: 

 

1. Signs 

 a. Outside – Business 

 b. Hours of Operation 

 

2. One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist. 

 

3. One (1) patron chair and manicure stool per manicurist.  

 

4. One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist. 

  

5. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist 

 

6. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean implements.  (Any clean, closed container is 

considered adequate) 

 

7. Closed cabinet of solid construction for clean towels. 

 

8. Closed cabinet of solid construction for manicuring/pedicuring supplies. 

  

9. An adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction. 

 

10. An adequate number of covered towel container(s) for soiled towels.  

 

11. Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving complete manicuring/pedicuring 

services. 

 

D. Esthetics Salon:  A salon in which esthetics only is practiced must have and keep 

maintained in proper working order and condition the following minimum equipment in 

order to be approved and pass annual inspection: 

 

1. Signs 

 a. Outside – Business 

 b. Hours of Operation 
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2. Treatment area(s) located so as to insure the privacy of the patron.  

 

3. One (1) treatment bed, table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per esthetician. 

 

4. One (1) lavatory for each treatment area.  

 

5. One (1) covered container of solid construction for soiled linens.  

 

6. One (1) closed cabinet for clean lines. 

 

7. One (1) closed cabinet for supplies 

 

8. One (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) treatment areas.  

 

9. One (1) Wood’s lamp per two (2) estheticians. 

 

10. One (1) wet sterilizer per esthetician. 

  

11. One (1) dry sterilizer. 

 

12. Adequate supply of client drapes and linens (towels, sheets, and pillow covers. 

 

13. Covered trash can of solid construction. 

 

14. Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving complete esthetics services. 

 

E. All cosmetological establishments must have an outside entrance except salons in 

department stores or buildings with a main entrance. 

 

F. In addition to the above rules, a home establishment must meet the following criteria: 

 

1. The wall between the salon and home must be of ceiling height. 

 

2. If a door exists between the beauty salon and the remainder of the house, said door 

must be kept closed during business hours. 

 

3. Salon restroom facilities must be located in the confines of the salon buisness. 

 

G. A licensed establishment must not be used for living purposes or other residential use. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 4.4 Salon Change of Ownership; Addition of Partners; Change of Location; Change of 

Trade Name 
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No license is transferable from one owner to another or own location to another.  

 

No new license shall be issued until all fines previously assessed to the salon have been paid in 

full. 

 

A. Change of Ownership 

 

1. Salon owners who contemplate selling or transferring the ownership of a salon 

must notify the board in writing prior to the sale or transfer. 

 

2. Where a sale or transfer of ownership occurs, the prospective owners must make 

application for a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 4.1 and 4.4, and must 

pay the required fee. 

 

3. A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued. 

 

B. Addition or Change of partners 

 

1. Where a partnership is added, or changed, and at least one partner or original 

owner remains, then a new salon application is not required. 

 

2. Written notification of the change in partnership should be made to the board 

within (30) days of such change. 

 

3. When the original applicant(s) is no longer a partner in the salon, an Application of 

Approval of a New Salon must be made in accordance with Board Rules 4.2-4.4, 

and the required fee must be paid. 

 

C. Change of Location 

 

 1. A salon owner who contemplates relocation of the salon must make application for 

a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 4.2-4.4, and must pay the required 

fee. 

 

 2. A change of location includes moving an existing establishment: 

 

  a. From one address to another 

   

  b. From one building, or area within a building, to another, even when a 

“change of address” does not occur. 

 

3. An application for a new salon not required when: 

 

a. A portable building is moved from one specific site on a lot to another site 

on the same lot, and there is no change in equipment or address. 
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b. Where an establishment has been destroyed by fire, man made disaster, or 

act of God, and is rebuilt in the same location. 

 

c. Notice must be given to the board office within seven (7) days.  

 

D. Change of Business Name 

 

 A salon will not change its business name without first filing a change of business name 

form and paying the processing fee. (The Board may charge an appropriate process fee in 

the event of a business name change. The amount shall be on the form for business name 

change). 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 4.5 Nursing Home Salons 

 

Section 73-7-35 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended provides that cosmetological 

services may be provided outside the physical confines of a licensed salon, to “...any person who 

may be confined to his or her home, a hospital, or other place as a result of illness.” 

 

A. Nursing home salons are considered patient care facilities and do not require a salon 

license under the following conditions: 

 

1. Services are restricted to patients only and are not provided for employees of the 

nursing home, nor family or friends of the patients. 

 

2. A retirement home or community where the residents are not confined due to 

illness is not considered a nursing home. Any salon operated as a part of a 

retirement home or community must be licensed by the Board. 

 

B. If a nursing home facility requests to be licensed as a salon and meets all requirements of 

the Board, then it will be granted. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-35 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 5: Schools   

 

Rule 5.1 Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice 

 

Receptionists, janitorial and other unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from practicing 

cosmetology, manicuring, or esthetics, in any manner. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.2 Procedure for the Opening of A New School 

A. Procedure for filing an application for preliminary school approval. 
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1. Any person proposing to own or operate a school must make an appointment with 

the Board to discuss in detail the proposed operation of the school. 

 

2. Interested persons must completed a Personal Survey Form and return to the State 

Board of Cosmetology prior to the initial meeting with the Board. 

 

B. An application for a license to operate a school must be submitted for approval on an 

application form provided by the Board. The application accompanied by evidence, 

statements or documents are filed with the Board office . 

 

1. Prospective owners for proprietary schools provide a completed submitted form 

provided by the Board office. The following information must be provided with 

the application: 

a. Application fee. 

b. Floor plan of the proposed school, indicating measurements for each area, 

and equipment layout. 

c. The name, address and telephone number of the manager/supervisor, and 

the name, address, and registration number of the instructor(s) of the 

proposed school. 

d. A copy of the contract form to be used between the school and the student. 

e. A copy of proposed brochures, catalogs and advertisements. 

f. Two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days 

prior to application. 

g. Optional request for a preliminary on-site by two (2) agents of the Board, 

at least one must be a Board member. A fee of one hundred dollars ($100) 

will apply. 

2. An incomplete application will not be processed and the applicant will be notified 

by the Board office with the cause for non-processing. 

 

C. Optional Preliminary On-Site Visit 

 

Upon request of an optional preliminary on-site visit, with receipt of required fee, the 

following will apply. 

1. The on-site visit will be performed by two (2) agents of the Board, one of which 

must be a Board member for the purpose of determining: 

 

 a. Suitability: 
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  (1) Proposed location. 

 

  (2) Proposed floor space. 

 

  (3) Proposed equipment and material. 

 

D. Initial Inspection and Approval of Proposed School 

1. An inspection shall be performed by two (2) agents of the Board, one of which 

must be a board member, for the purpose of determining: 

 

 a. Suitability of: 

 

  (1) Proposed Location. 

 

(2) Proposed Rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing, 

ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan. 

 

  (3) Proposed items of equipment and materials. 

 

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors and 

properly qualified manager/supervisor. 

 

2. The findings of the initial inspection will be submitted to the Board for its approval 

at its next regular or any special called meeting. The applicant will be notified in 

writing of the decision of the Board within 30 days. 

 

E. Final Inspection and Approval of Proposed Schools 

 

1. If the inspection is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection 

approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at least 

one of which will be a Board Member. 

 

2. The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that: 

 

a. Suitability of: 

 

 (1) Location 

 

  (2) Rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,   

  ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan. 

 

 (3) Equipment and material set up and operational. 
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b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors and 

properly qualified manager/supervisor. 

 

c. All requirements, as indicated in the application have been strictly adhered 

to by owners of the proposed school. 

 

d. School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by copy of 

inspection report(s) by local authorities. 

 

e. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding 

requirements for licensure and operation of School of Cosmetology, 

Manicuring or Esthetics,  m the Board may waive the initial inspection and 

proceed to the final inspection.  

 

3. No School will be approved until the Board has had ample opportunity to verify 

sworn statements as to the actual ownership, and all other claims and 

representations set forth in the “Personal Survey Form”, the “Application for 

Approval”, the “Initial Inspection Report”, and the Final Inspection Report. 

 

4. If all requirements and qualification are met, the Board will cause written approval 

to be issued.  No school will be considered approved, nor will classes be allowed 

to begin, until said approval has been executed. 

 

5. The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who fails to 

meet the requirements for operating a school and/or who fails to present 

satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional integrity and experience. 
In the event the Board denies approval, the fees associated with the application will be 

forfeited. 
 

F. Miscellaneous  

 

1. Enrollments.  Students may be registered, but not admitted to class until such time 

as the school has received its final approval. 

 

2. Instructor. Each school must have on its staff at least one full-time instructor who 

is charged with the responsibility of the teaching program, and who is considered 

the lead instructor. This person must hold an active Mississippi license or permit at 

the time of application for school approval. 

 

3. The Board may revoke or suspend the approval of any school for any violation of 

any of the conditions set forth for licensing, or if further investigation reveals 

misrepresentation on the part of the applicant. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 
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Rule 5.3 Required Space for Schools 

 

A. Schools must have minimum square feet of floor space, according to the courses which 

they propose to teach which includes, at a minimum, skill and theory classrooms, 

reception area, office, two (2) restrooms, reference library, dispensary/stock room, facial 

area, and locker area.  This floor space is to accommodate a maximum number of students 

and for every student thereafter, 25 square feet of floor space per student must be added: 

 

 1. Cosmetology Schools- 2500 square feet, up to 40 students 

 

 2. Manicuring Schools- 1800 square feet, up to 28 students 

 

 3. Esthetics Schools- 1800 square feet, up to 28 students 

  

B. All walls, partitions or other obstructions between classrooms other than the 

lecture room in schools of cosmetology, esthetics and manicuring must be so 

constructed as to provide for continuous and uninterrupted supervision. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.4 Required Equipment 

 

A. All Schools 

 

1. Each school must have an adequate supply of disinfectant and safety equipment to 

insure that the school complies with Board sanitation rules, including: wet 

disinfectant containers, dry sanitizers, closed cabinets or containers for clean 

towels, covered soiled towel receptacles of solid construction, large covered trash 

can of solid construction, and first aid kit. 

2. Each school must have adequate resource materials to aid in the teaching of both 

skill and theory subjects, including charts and visual aids, chalk board, bulletin 

board, reference library, and time clock or time sheets. 

 

3. The minimum equipment requirement must remain in full force and effect so long 

as the school remains in operation. 

 

4. All equipment must be maintained in a sanitary and safe operating order at all 

times. 
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B. Cosmetology Schools 

 

 1. The minimum equipment for a school of cosmetology is as follows: 

 

a. Mannequin 

(In addition to this number of practice mannequins, the school must furnish, 

upon enrollment, to every student, a mannequin in good condition for his use 

throughout the period of training.) 

7 

b. Time Clock or Time Sheet  (See Rule 5.23 C and D)  

c. Shampoo Bowls and Chairs 

(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 students, additional shampoo 

bowls must be added at the ratio of one for each five students in average daily 

attendance in excess of 20.) 

5 

d. Dryers 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional dryers must 

be added at the ratio of 1 for each 5 students in average daily attendance in 

excess of 20.) 

12 

e. Facial Chairs, complete with footrest, headrest, magnifying lamp, and 

practitioner stool 

1 

f. Manicure Tables 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional manicure 

tables must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 10 students in average daily 

attendance in excess of 20.) 

3 

g. Cold Wave Equipment: Sets of four dozen assorted rods 10 

h. Thinning Shears (pair) 1 

   

i. Thermal Hair Straighteners  

     Combs 

     Stove (not required if comb electric) 

     Curling iron (no larger than size “G”) 

 

8 

8 

8 

j. Containers for antiseptic solution, per manicure table 1 

k. Work station with chair and mirror 

Station chairs must be so constructed that they may be elevated and lowered 

either mechanically [hydraulic pump] or manually [swivel]. 

(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 senior students, one additional 

station per student must be added). 

20 

l. Work table(s) for junior students Adequate 

m. Classroom chairs with desk rest 20 

n. Cabinet for client records 1 

 

2. The minimum equipment requirement for a school of cosmetology desiring to 

include a department of esthetics and or/manicuring in its training program must 

contain at least one (1) of each item specified for a school of esthetics and school 

of manicuring/pedicuring. When the average daily attendance exceeds two (2), the 

minimum equipment must be increased at the rate of one (1) per every two (2) 

students. 
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C. Esthetics Schools 

 

1. The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in which esthetics 

only is taught is as follows: 

 

a. Facial treatment chair, treatment table, or hydraulic treatment chair 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

facial chairs must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

b. Esthetician’s stool 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

esthetician’s stools must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 

students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

c. Facial Vaporizer (When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 

students, additional vaporizers must be added at the ratio of one per 

every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

d. Pulverizer Spray (mister) 3 

e. Galvanic Current Apparatus or Faradic & Sinusoidal Apparatus 1 

f. High Frequency Apparatus 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional high 

frequency apparatus must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 

students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

g. Heating Mask or hot towels 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

heating masks must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

h. Heating Mitts or paraffin wax with mitts 3 pairs 

i. Infrared lamp 3 

j. Ultraviolet lamp (When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 

students, additional Ultraviolet lamps must be added at the ratio of one 

per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

k. Woods lamp 1 

l. Magnifying lamp (Loupe) 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

Magnifying lamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 

students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

m. Electric wax heater for removal of hair 1 

n. Utilities Tables 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

utility tables must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

o. Table for Machines 1 per 

machine 

p. Cabinet for client records 1 

q. Lavatory with hot and cold running water in the treatment area 1 



64 
 

D. Schools of Manicuring 

 

1. The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in 

manicuring/pedicuring is taught is as follows: 

 

a. Manicure table fitted with adjustable lamp, client chair and operators 

stool or chair. 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional 

manicure tables, lamps and stools must be added at the ratio of one per 

every 1 student in average daily attendance in excess of 10) 

10 

b. Covered containers for waste material 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional 

covered waste containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 

students in average daily attendance in excess of 10) 

10 

c. Cushion (8”x12”) covered with a washable slip or sanitized towel on 

which clients rest arm 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional 

armrests must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 students in average 

daily attendance in excess of 10) 

10 

d. Supply tray for holding implements/products 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional 

cosmetic trays must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 student in 

average daily attendance in excess of 10) 

10 

e. Finger bowl (plastic, china or glass with removal paper cups) for holding 

warm water and cleanser 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional finger 

bowls must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 student in average 

daily attendance in excess of 10) 

10 

f. Cotton containers 10 

g. Electric heaters – for heating oil/lotion when a heat manicure 10 

h. Disinfection containers for immersion of manicuring implements during 

procedure 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional 

disinfection containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 

student in average daily attendance in excess of 10) 

10 

i. Basins for Pedicure Cleansing(When the average daily attendance 

exceeds 10 students, additional cleanser basins must be added at the ratio 

of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 10) 

5 

j. Basins for pedicure rinse water 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional rinse 

water basins must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 10) 

5 

k. Electric nail files 

(When average daily attendance exceeds six (6) students, additional nail 

files must be added at the ratio of one (1) per every two (2) students in 

average daily attendance in excess of six (6)) 

2 
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l. Hand form with stand; demonstrational purposes 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional hand 

forms must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average 

daily attendance in excess of 10). 

5 

 

2. The clinic floor in a manicure school must be ventilated to the outside air. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.5 Name of School 

 

All schools licensed by the Board must be designated as such by an outside sign large enough to 

be visible. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.6 School Advertising 

 

A. Advertising of a proposed school is to be limited to the procurance of students. 

 

B. A licensed school is allowed to advertise the prices of clinical services outside the 

premises as long as the following conditions are met: 

 

1. The advertisement will clearly state, in bold print that “all work is performed by 

students under the supervision of a licensed instructor.” 

 

 2. No comparison of prices is made to any other school or to licensed salons. 

 

 3. Hours of operation for the clinic floor must be posted. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.7 School Change of Ownership; Addition of Partners; Change of Location; Change of 

Trade Name; Renovation of Existing School 

 

No license is transferable from one owner to another or from one location to another.  

 

No new license shall be issued until all fines previously assessed to the salon have been paid in 

full. 

 

A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued. 

 

A. Change of Ownership 

 

1. Prior to selling or transferring the ownership of a school, the owner(s) must notify 

the Board, in writing, at least thirty (30) days in advance of the sale or transfer. 
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2. An application for Initial School Approval must be submitted to the Board by the 

prospective owner(s), in accordance with Board Rules 5.2 through 5.6. 

 

B. Addition of Partners 

 

1. Prior to the addition of a partner(s), owner(s)  must notify the Board, in writing, at 

least thirty (30) days in advance. 

 

2. At any time the original applicant is no longer a partner in the school, an 

Application for Initial School Approval will be required, in accordance with Board 

Rules 5.2 through 5.6. 

 

C. Change of Location 

 

1. School owners who contemplate a relocation of a school must submit an 

application for relocation on a form prescribed and provided by the Board. The 

approved application requires the submission of at least the following: 

 

a. A floor plan of the proposed school, indicating room measurements, 

placing of equipment, partitions, entrances and exits, and plumbing. 

 

b. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or any advertising materials in use or 

proposed to be used. 

 

c. Certificate or letter indicating that the facility has met building or fire code 

requirements of local authorities. 

 

d. Schedule of teachers, indicating full time/part time. 

 

e. Required fee. 

 

2. Relocation of a School of Cosmetology, Esthetics, or Manicuring within a radius 

of 15 miles from the existing school may not require submission of: 

 

a. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or advertising materials, unless there have 

been substantial changes made. 

 

b. Schedule of Instructors, unless there has been a change in those schedules 

from that which is on file at the Board. 

 

3. Upon receipt and approval of Application for School Approval, the Board shall 

conduct an Initial Inspection.  The inspection will be performed by two or more 

agents of the Board of Cosmetology for purposes of determining: 

 

 a. Suitability of: 
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  (1) Proposed location; 

 

(2) Proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing, 

lighting, and ventilation in accordance with the floor plan; and 

 

   (3) Proposed list of equipment. 

 

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors and 

Manager/Supervisor. 

 

c. The findings of this initial inspection will be submitted to the Board for its 

approval at its next regular or special called meeting, and the applicant will 

be notified in writing, of the decision of the Board, within 30 days. 

 

d. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding 

requirements for licensure and operating of a School of Cosmetology, 

Esthetics or Manicuring, the Board may waive the initial inspection if it so 

desires. 

 

4. If application is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection is 

approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at least 

one of which will be a Board member. 

 

a. The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that all 

requirements as indicated in the application have been strictly adhered to 

by the owners. 

 

b. School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by 

inspection report of local authorities. 

 

c. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be 

issued within thirty (30) days. No School will be considered approved for 

licensure until same has been executed. 

 

5. The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who fails to 

meet the requirements for conducting a school and/or who fails to present 

satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional integrity and experience. 

 

D. Change of Business Name 

 

A school must not change its business name without having first having filed a change of 

business name form and paid the processing fee. If a change of business name is made at 

the time of renewal, the processing fee will be waived. The processing fee is $50.00. If a 

new owner is requesting a change in a business name, the owner must provide the buy/sell 

agreement. 
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E. Renovation 

 

Before any major alteration or renovation of school is made, the plan of such alteration or 

renovation must first be submitted to the Board in writing and written approval must be 

received. The School must undergo initial and final inspection and approval in accordance 

Rule 5.2. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.8 Satellite Classroom 

 

A. Definition: A satellite classroom is a supplemental training space located near the main 

school for the purpose of training an overflow of students who cannot be accommodated 

at the main school. 

 

1. A satellite classroom must be close enough to the main school to assure immediate 

supervision by the main school.  The satellite classroom may be no further than 

five miles from the main school. 

 

2. A clinic may not be operated at a satellite classroom location. 

 

3. During operation hours, an instructor must be in the classroom. 

 

4. A school is responsible and accountable to the Board for its satellite classroom 

location. 

 

a. If ownership of the separate facility changes from that of the main school, 

board approval does not continue for the satellite facility. 

 

b. The separate classroom must bear the same name as the main school, and 

must be identified as such by an outside sign. 

  

B. Application Procedure 

 

1. An application fora Separate Classroom Location must be submitted on an 

application form prescribed and provided by the Board, accompanied by such 

evidence, statements, or documents as therein required and filed with the Board at 

its office in Jackson, Mississippi. 

 

2. The following is to be submitted with the application: 

 

a. A fee of $50.00, which covers the cost of the inspection of the facility, and 

$10.00 for a duplicate of the main school license. 
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b. An area map noting the location of the satellite school in respect to the 

main school. The map must include an appropriate scale. 

 

c. A Floor plan, indicating total square feet in the satellite classroom, and 

square feet of each section of the classroom, if it should consist of more 

than one section. 

 

d. A description of the outside sign. 

 

C. Approval Procedure 

 

1. Upon receipt and approval of an Application for Satellite Classroom approval, the 

Board will conduct an inspection to determine: 

 

 a. The suitability of: 

 

  (1) Proposed location 

 

(2) Proposed classroom, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing, 

ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with floor plan. 

 

 (3) Proposed items of equipment and material. 

 

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provision for duly licensed instructor(s). 

 

c. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be 

issued. No satellite classroom will be considered approved, nor will classes 

be allowed to begin in the satellite classroom until this approval has been 

executed. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.9 Instruction Staff 

 

A. There must be on the staff at least one full time instructor at all times, who holds a 

current, active license as an instructor in this state. 

 

B. Immediately upon employment, the school must submit on a form approved by the Board, 

a Certification of Instructor employment which indicates full or part-time employment. 

 

C. The Board must be notified in writing, within ten (10) days of any changes in instructor 

staff of a school of cosmetology. 

 

D. When the enrollment exceeds 20 students there must be added to the staff an additional 

full-time instructor for every 20 students thereafter. Each student, including student 
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instructor, cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, and part time, is counted as full time 

enrollment. 

 

E. For each full-time instructor there can be no more than three student instructors. 

 

F. Absence from the classroom of the instructor must be reported to the Board of 

Cosmetology, Department of School Coordination.  Arrangement must be made for an 

instructor replacement during vacations, prolonged illness, etc. When the instructor is 

absent for one day or less, a student instructor may be left in charge.  

 

G. An instructor/student instructor is strictly prohibited from practicing on patrons except in 

a classroom situation where such practice is for demonstration only. 

 

H. All practice work by student is to be supervised and checked by an instructor licensed by 

the Board. 

 

I. All student instructors must at all times, be under the direct supervision of an instructor 

who holds a current, active license issued by the Board, except as provided by Rule 

5.9(F). 

 

J. Any instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of a specific device in any practice 

area of discipline must first present the required certificate of proficiency for the device. 

All individuals seeking licensure after January 1, 1998, must present this certification 

prior to seeking licensure. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.10 Required Display 

 

All schools must display the following in a location conspicuous to the public:  

 

A. Main School Facilities: 

 

 1. The current school license 

 

 2. The current license of any instructors teaching in the school 

 

 3. The current cosmetology license of any student instructors. 

 

 4. The Sanitation Rules and Regulations of the Board. 

 

5. A notice, in letters large enough to be read across the length of the room, that 

states: 

 

 “All services in this school are performed by students who are in training; all 

work must be inspected by an instructor.” 
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6. A certification of proficiency for a specific device used in any practice discipline 

of cosmetology for any instructor or student instructor teaching the use of the 

same. 

 

B. Satellite Classroom Facilities 

 

 1. Instructor/Student Instructor License.  

 

2. Duplicate school instructor license. 

 

3. A sign, which states,   

 

“Satellite classroom only. No clinic work performed in this facility” 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16, 73-7-9; 73-7-11 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.11 Separation of Schools from Other Businesses 

 

A. A school cannot be conducted with any other business, including a salon.  A school and 

another business must be separated by walls of permanent construction, and must not 

have doors or openings between them. 

 

B. Schools may offer cosmetology products and related articles for retail sale. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.12 Services for the Public; Restrictions 

 

A. Students may render services to the public only under the direct supervision of a licensed 

instructor. 

 

B. A student/student instructor in a school cannot receive a salary or commission from the 

school for any cosmetology, manicuring, pedicuring, or esthetic services while enrolled. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.13 Student School Contracts 

 

A school is required to execute in duplicate, a contract between itself and a student.  A contract 

between a school and a student must bear the signature of a school official and the student or 

parent or guardian, if the student is under eighteen years of age. A fully executed copy of the 

contract must be given to the student; and one copy must remain at all times in the school’s 

student file. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 
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Rule 5.14 School Inspections 

 

A. The Board, or its authorized agents, may inspect schools on a regular basis as it deems 

necessary. The intent and purpose of the inspection is to be determination of compliance 

with the laws, rules, and regulations of the Board. 

 

B. In order to insure that operators of a newly licensed school understands and fully 

complies with records keeping requirements the Board Rules, a special on-site audit may 

be performed. 

 

1. The audit may take place at the conclusion of the first 90 days of a new school’s 

operations. 

 

2. The audit includes, at a minimum: 

 

a. A review of the student academic files to insure that enrollment forms are 

properly prepared and on hand, and that proof of secondary education 

requirements are on hand. 

 

b. A review of all documentation supporting and substantiating student clock 

hours, including sign in sheets or time cards, and daily reports. 

 

c. An audit of student clock hours which shall encompass at least 10% of the 

school’s reported and verified enrollment at that time. 

 

d. A review of the school’s procedures and records which deal with students 

who are no longer in attendance at the school. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.15 School Closure 

 

A. Immediately after a school ceases operations, it must notify the board of the closure by 

certified mail. 

 

B. Within ten (10) days after a school ceases operation, it must forward student records to 

the Board. These records must consist of, but not be limited to: enrollment information 

which has not been previously submitted to the Board, records of academic progress, a 

Final Report which accurately reflects clock hours earned, through the last date of 

attendance, proof of secondary education which has not previously been submitted to the 

Board. Files and documentation relating to federal tuition assistance funding should not 

be forwarded to the Board of Cosmetology. 

 

C. In the event a school ceases operations for a period of more than thirty (30) days, that 

School is considered by the Board to be officially closed, and new license is required in 
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accordance with the Laws of the State of MS, Section 73-7-16, and Rule 5.2, prior to 

operations resuming, either under original ownership or new ownership, except by notice 

for vacation or break, man-made disasters, or acts of God. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

 

Rule 5.16 Requirements for Student Enrollment 

 

A. Cosmetologist, Manicurist, and Esthetician must: 

 

 1. Have at least a tenth (10th) grade education or its equivalent. 

 

a. Applicants who do not have a high school diploma may submit transcript 

or report card as proof of their educational qualifications. Proof of 

educational qualification must be submitted to the board not later than 30 

days after date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be 

granted until the proof of educational qualification has been received in the 

board office. 

 

b. At least 7 credits are required in order to be considered as completion of a 

tenth (10
th

) grade education. 

 

c. Any student who enrolls with a tenth (10
th

 
 

)grade education must sign a 

statement indicating that they understand that they are not eligible to sit for 

the licensing examination until they have completed the twelfth (12
th

) 

grade or its equivalent. 

 

d. When a student does not meet the educational requirement, such student 

may take a GED. An official GED transcript must be filed no later than 90 

days after date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be 

granted until the proof of educational qualification has been received in the 

Board office. 

 

2. Be no less than 16 years of age. An enrollee who is less than the minimum 

licensing age of 17 must submit a copy of his/her birth certificate along with other 

enrollment documents. 

 

3. Be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

B. Student Instructor must: 

 

1. Have a current Mississippi license to practice in the field in which he/she is 

enrolling as a student instructor. 
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a. The registration number must be on file with the enrolling school and the 

Board at the time of enrollment. 

 

b. The practitioner’s license of the student instructor must be posted at the 

school, in a location conspicuous to the public, and must be available for 

inspection by the Board or its authorized agent(s) during regular business 

hours. 

 

c. If a Student Instructor is actively practicing in a Salon, a duplicate license 

must be posted at the school. 

 

 2. Be no less than 20 years of age.  

 

 3. Have a high school education or its equivalent. 

 

 4. Be a graduate of a licensed beauty school in this or any other state. 

 

5. Be required to have proof of two (2) years active practical experience as a licensed 

cosmetologist, manicurist, or esthetician, as the case may be, when enrolling in the 

750 hour course for cosmetology instructor training or the 600 hour course for 

esthetics or manicuring instructor training. 

 

6. If the student instructor lacks the required experience, then the course of training 

must be: 

 

 a. Cosmetology – 2,000 hours 

 b. Esthetics – 1,000 hours 

 c. Manicuring – 1,000 hours 

 

7. Be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.17 Student Equipment and Supplies 

 

A. The following equipment and supplies must be issued by the school, to each student, upon 

enrollment, according to their course of training: 

 

 1. Cosmetologist: 

 

  a. Approved textbook 

 

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and 

Regulations  

 

  c. Mannequin 
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  d. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies: 

 

Rollers, Assorted 4 dozen 

Brushes 6 

Combs 6 

Afro Rake 1 

Large, heavy comb, for comb out/color 1 

Scissors, straight 1 pair 

Razor & blades (box) 1 

Curling Iron (size no larger than a quarter) 1 

Clippies, Box 1 

Shampoo cape, all purpose, styling 2 

Tweezers 1 

Tint brush, applicator bottle and bowl 1 

Manicuring Equipment 

     Pusher 

     Orangewood stick 

     File or emery board 

     Cuticle nippers 

     Nail brush 

     Applicator sponges 

     Make-up brush 

     Mask brush 

     Tweezers 

     Pencil sharpener 

 

1 

1 

1 

1 

1 

1 pkg 

1 

1 

1 

1 

 

 2. Manicuring: 

 

  a. Approved textbook 

 

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Law, Rules and 

Regulations  

 

  c. Hand form and holder 

 

  d. Wet Sanitizer 

 

  e. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies: 

   

Finger Bowl 1 

Nail Brush 1 

Nail tips, various sizes 1 package 

Student sculpture kit, with powder, odorless liquid, 

brush, forms and dauber 

1 

Emery board, regular 1 
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Emery board, wide 1 

Buffer disks, fine & medium 3 each 

Cuticle nipper (or scissors) 1 pair 

Metal pusher 1 

Orangewood stick 1 

Tweezers 1 

Nail base coat/top coat 1 each 

Ridge filler 1 

Cuticle oil 1 

Nail glue 1 

 

(Note: nail polish, quick dry and remover [both acetone and non-acetone] should be 

dispensary items) 

 

3. Esthetics: 

 

 a. Approved textbook 

 

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and 

Regulations  

 

 c. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies: 

 

Skin Cleanser 12 oz. 

Skin Freshener/toner/astringent  12 oz. 

Moisturizer/sunscreen 12 oz. 

Foundation: light, medium and dark 1 ea. 

Concealer: light, medium and dark 1 ea. 

Blusher: light, medium and dark 1 ea. 

Eye liner pencil 1 ea. 

Liquid or cream mascara 1 ea. 

Wedge sponges 1 pk. 

Powder brush 1 

Blush brush 1 

Applicators lip shade, mascara 1 pkg. 

Plastic spatulas 1 doz. 

Lip color 1  

Exfoliating mask and mask brush 1 (6 oz.) 

Tweezers 1 

Pencil sharpeners 1 

 

B. A student is not required to pay for supplies used in assigned practice work or in clinic 

floor patron services. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 
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Rule 5.18 Curriculum 

 

A. Cosmetologist:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 1500 hours of training 

extended over a period of not less than nine months is as follows: 

 

 1. Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations 

  Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct 

  General Sciences 

   Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions 

   Anatomy and Physiology 

   Basic Chemistry and Electricity 

  Business Skills 

   Personal/Individual 

    Resume 

    Interviewing  

    Sales and Marketing 

    Money Management 

   Salon 

    Planning and Design 

    Management 

    Marking 

  Hair Science 

  Hair Treatments/Services 

   Principals of Design 

   Shampooing and Conditioning 

   Haircutting 

   Hairstyling 

   Chemical Texture Services 

   Coloring and Lightening 

   Braiding, Extensions, Additions and Wigs 

  Skin Science 

  Skin Care/Treatments/Services 

  Nail Science 

  Nail Care/Treatments/Services 

  Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects 

 

2. Theory requirement:  230 clock hours 

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 4 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

course instruction.  

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice 

skill. 

 

3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 1200 clock hours 
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Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor. 

 

4. Unassigned/Open:  70 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at 

instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates. 

 

 (a) Board approved event with instructor/student instructor in attendance. 

 

(b) Career Days – with vendor signature of attendance (4 hours maximum 

allowed). 

 

(c) Job Interviews  – 1 hour granted per interview (maximum allowed 4 

hours). 

 

(d) Filed Trips – nursing homes, salons, funeral homes. 

 

(e) Community service – providing cosmetology related services.  

 

(f) In school competitions and fundraisers. 

 

(g) Any other activity must be Board approved. 

 

B. Manicurist:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 350 hours of instruction 

and training extended over a period of not less than nine weeks is as follows:  

 

 1. Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations 

  Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct 

  General Sciences 

   Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions 

   Anatomy and Physiology 

   Basic Chemistry and Electricity 

  Business Skills 

   Personal/Individual 

    Resume 

    Interviewing  

    Sales and Marketing 

    Money Management 

   Salon 

    Planning and Design 

    Management 

    Marking 

  Nail Science 

  Nail Treatments/Services 

   Manicure 

    Basic 

    Specialty 
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   Pedicure 

    Basic 

    Specialty 

   Nail Enhancements 

    Nail Tips 

    Nail Wraps 

    Monomer Liquid 

    Polymer Powder 

    UV Gels 

   Electric Nail File 

   Nail Polish/Art/Airbrushing/Embellishments 

   Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects 

 

2. Theory requirement:  85 clock hours 

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 7 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction.  

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice 

skill. 

 

3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 265 clock hours 

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor. 

 

4. Unassigned/Open:  70 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at 

instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates. 

 

 (a) Board approved event with instructor/student instructor in attendance. 

 

(b) Career Days – with vendor signature of attendance (4 hours maximum 

allowed). 

 

(c) Job Interviews  – 1 hour granted per interview (maximum allowed 4 

hours). 

 

(d) Filed Trips – nursing homes, salons, funeral homes. 

 

(e) Community service – providing cosmetology related services.  

 

(f) In school competitions and fundraisers. 

 

(g) Any other activity must be Board approved. 

 

C. Esthetician:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 600 hours of instruction 

and training extended over a period of not less than fifteen weeks is as follows:  
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 1. Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations 

  Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct 

  General Sciences 

   Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions 

   Anatomy and Physiology 

   Basic Chemistry and Electricity 

  Business Skills 

   Personal/Individual 

    Resume 

    Interviewing  

    Sales and Marketing 

    Money Management 

   Salon 

    Planning and Design 

    Management 

    Marking 

  Skin Science 

  Skin Treatments/Services 

   Facial Treatments 

   Facial Massage 

   Facial Machines 

   Hair Removal 

   Makeup 

   Advanced Topics and Treatments 

  Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects 

 

2. Theory requirement:  100 clock hours 

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction.  

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice 

skill. 

 

3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 500 clock hours 

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor. 

 

 

D. Student Instructor: 

 

1. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for a cosmetology instructor 

training course consists of: 

 

  a. 750 hours for those applicants with two or more years active experience. 

 

  b. 2,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active experience. 
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  c. The subject matter and hours for each are: 

 

750 hours  2,000 hours 

12 hours Theory Observation 32 hours 

68 hours Skill Observation 181 hours 

(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching) 

164 hours The Professional Teacher 

including: 

Teacher Personality 

Technical Knowledge 

Teacher Characteristics 

Teachers as Professionals 

Preparation for Teaching 

Planning the Course (Lesson Plans Steps of 

Teaching) 

437 hours 

99 hours Student Motivation and Learning 

including: 

Laws Governing Learning Process 

Student Motivation 

Student Participation 

Student Personalities 

Slow Learner v. Gifted Learner 

264 hours 

332 hours Methods, Management & Materials 

including: 

Methods, Procedures & Techniques of Teaching 

Classroom Management  

Teaching Materials 

 

885 hours 

65 hours Testing and Evaluation 174 hours 

10 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations 27 hours 

 

d. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up 

to 10% as student needs may require. 

 

2. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for an esthetician instructor 

training course and a manicurist instructor training course consists of: 

 

 a. 600 hours for those applicants with two or more years active experience. 

 

 b. 1,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active experience. 

 

 c. The subject matter and hours for each are: 
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600 hours  1,000 hours 

10 hours Theory Observation 16 hours 

54 hours Skill Observation 90 hours 

(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching) 

131 hours The Professional Teacher 

including: 

Teacher Personality 

Technical Knowledge 

Teacher Characteristics 

Teachers as Professionals 

Preparation for Teaching: 

(Planning the Course, Lesson Plans, Steps of 

Teaching)  

 

223 hours 

79 hours Student Motivation and Learning 

including: 

Laws Governing Learning Process 

Student Motivation 

Student Participation 

Student Personalities 

Slow Learner v. Gifted Learner 

132 hours 

264 hours Methods, Management & Materials 

including: 

Methods, Procedures & Techniques of Teaching 

Classroom Management 

Teaching Materials 

436 hours 

54 hours Testing and Evaluation 90 hours 

8 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations 13 hours 

 

d. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up 

to 10% as student needs may require. 

 

3. Prior to application for approval for examination, a student instructor is required 

to have completed  twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by the 

Board. It is strongly recommended that the student seek approval of subject matter 

from the Board prior to actual enrollment in the courses. 

 

a. At least one (1) three-hour course must be acquired within a classroom 

setting; all others may be acquired through web-based or onlinee courses. 

 

b. Twelve (12) hours must be acquired in one of the following subjects: 

(1) Communication  

(2) Business Law  

(3) English 

(4) Psychology 
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(5) Sociology 

(6) Mathematics 

(7) Computer 

(8) Safety and First Aid 

(9) Any other Methodology course, with Board approval 

 

 

d. Proof of the acquisition of the course must be submitted to the Board in the 

form of an original transcript from the college or university from which the 

courses are acquired. The transcript must bear the seal of the school and 

the signature of the Registrar. Copies are not acceptable. 

 

4. Prior to application for examination, a student instructor must attend one Board 

“Methods of Teaching” Seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing 

education hours. 

 

F. Cross Over Barbers:  The curriculum for a licensed barber enrolled in a 500 hour course, 

as provided for in §73-7-13, extended over a period of not less than 12½ weeks is as 

follows: 

 

 1. Theory Requirements: 65 hours 

 

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction. 

 

b. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons. 

2. Skill Requirements: 435 hours: 

 

Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed 

 instructor. 

 

G. Clock hours may be granted to a student in any course of training for demonstrations and 

for product knowledge being taught by suppliers, provided: 

 

 1. A licensed instructor is in attendance at all times. 

 

 2. The demonstrator holds a current permit issued by the Board for this purpose. 

 

3. If the demonstration/product knowledge is acquired off-campus, a sign-in sheet 

must be maintained by the school authority, and a copy sent to the Board with the 

next regular monthly report. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 
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Rule 5.19 Student Attendance 

 

A. Full-time students shall not be credited with more than 40 hours weekly.  Hours acquired 

in excess of 40 hours per week maximum may be applied as Make-up Hours, provided 

they are used for that purpose within the month in which they were acquired. Accelerated 

hours shall not be accepted. 

 

B. Student Instructor: 

 

1. Cosmetology instructor training extends over a period of not less than nineteen 

(19) weeks, provided however, that not more than 40 hours weekly are credited. 

 

2. Esthetics and manicuring instructor training extends over a period of not less than 

fifteen (15) week, provided however, that not more than 40 hours weekly are 

credited. 

 

3. When the required number of hours has been acquired, the individual can no 

longer function as a “student instructor”.  In order to function in an instructional 

capacity in any school, the student must make application for examination, as 

stipulated in §73-7-15(4) of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. 

 

 

C. Break in Attendance/Failure to Apply for Examination 

 1. Where there is a break in attendance of at least three (3) years, but no more than 

five (5) years, students will be credited with two-thirds of the original hours 

acquired.  Where such break in attendance exceed five (5) years, but less than ten 

(10), students are credited with one-half of the original hours acquired. After a 

break in attendance of ten (10) or more years, no hours are credited. 

 

2. Where a portion of the hours for the completion of a course of training was 

acquired out-of-state, but the student did not complete the course in that state, the 

break in attendance rule applies to the student who enrolls in a school in 

Mississippi for the completion of his/her training. 

 

3. Where an individual has completed a course of training in this state, or any other 

state, and licensure is not obtained within 365 days after completion of said 

course, “brush up” hours of training are required before the individual is eligible 

for examination. The following rates of credit apply: 

  a. 366 days to three years: 

 

10% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was 

completed. 

  b. Over three years to seven years: 
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25% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was

 completed. 

  c. Over seven years: 

 

50% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was 

completed. 

 

If there is reason to believe that the individual cannot be licensed prior to the end 

of the first year after graduation, the Board cannot accept an application for 

approval for examination. There must be an adequate span of time in which the 

application can be approved and examination grades received and recorded. 

 

4. This provision does not apply to a person whose break in attendance, or failure to 

acquire licensure is due to a military deployment. 

 

D. Any hours acquired toward a cosmetology course may be applied toward either a 

manicuring, or esthetics course, provided the hours acquired during the cosmetology 

training are applicable to the course of training to which the hours are to be applied. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.20 Transfer Students 

 

Hours acquired may be transferable from one licensed school to another. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.21 Insignia or Badges 

 

Each student and instructor engaged in a course of training must wear a badge signifying his/her 

status: 

 

Freshman Insignia worn by cosmetology students who have less than 240 

hours 

Junior Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 240 to 749 hours 

Senior Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 750 to 1500 hours 

Instructor Insignia worn by all licensed instructors 

Student 

Instructor 

Insignia worn by all students engaged in instructor training 

Manicurist  Insignia worn by all students engaged in a manicurist course 

Esthetician Insignia worn by all students engaged in a special esthetics 

course 

  

Special Trainee insignia worn by all students engaged in advanced and brush up 

training 



86 
 

 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.22 Work Upon Patron  

 

A. A student enrolled in a school for a course of training can be assigned work upon a patron 

for services only after completion of the following hours of training and instruction: 

Cosmetologist  240 hours 

Manicurist  40 hours 

Esthetician  96 hours 

 

B. Students are not permitted to accept pay or remuneration of any kind during the course of 

training except cosmetic sale commissions or tips. 

 

C. An instructor or student instructor cannot work upon a patron paying for services unless 

he/she is doing so in a teaching situation. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

  

Rule 5.23 Records, Forms and Applications 

 

A. All records must be made available to the Board or any of its agents at any time during 

business hours. 

 

B. Each student must make application for enrollment on forms approved by the Board. 

 

1. The original of the enrollment form must be filed with the Board office no later 

than 30 days after the date of enrollment. After this time, no hours are granted 

until the enrollment form has been received in the Board office. 

 

 2. The following must be submitted with the enrollment form: 

 

a. Proof of at least a tenth (10th) grade education, or its equivalent (See Rule 

5.16(A)(1)(a)) 

 

b. A statement certifying that the student has received the following: 

 

 (1) Copy of student/school contract 

 

 (2) Copy of school rules and regulations 

 

 (3) Copy of the Mississippi Cosmetology Laws, Rules and 

 Regulations. 

 

 (4) Approved textbook 
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 (5) Mannequin or hand form, as the case may be 

 

 (6) Student kit adherent to the rules and regulations of the Board. 

 

C. Each student must record on the time clock, or time sheet, as approved by the Board, 

when starting or completing daily instruction or training, when leaving and returning to 

school premises, and the commencement and termination of lunch period. 

 

D. Credit for attendance is granted to a student only on time registered and hours of applied 

effort.  No credit attendance is allowed unless a time card or time sheet verifying 

attendance is on file. 

 

1. Unless the school utilizes a time clock, the Board approved “Student Daily Sign-in 

and Out Sheet” must be used. 

 

2. All student clock hours must be derived from either a time card or the approved 

form; no other is accepted by the board to substantiate the students’ acquired 

hours. 

 

3. If a student fails to sign/clock in or out, or if another person signs/clocks in or out 

for a student, hours are not granted for that time period. 

 

4. Should an error occur, changes may be made only by the supervising instructor 

and must bear the signature of the instructor and the student at the point of 

change. Failure to do so results in non-credit of hours for that time period. 

 

E. A daily report, approved by the Board, must be utilized by each student, which lists all 

subjects taught in the course of training and provided in the curriculum. 

 

1. The daily report must recapitulate the student’s work for the day, and must 

support the timecard/sign-in sheet for that day. 

 

2. The daily report must be maintained at the student’s work station and must be 

initialed by both the instructor and the student daily. 

 

F. On or before the 10
th

 of each month following enrollment, a monthly summary report of 

hours acquired by each student must be submitted to the office of the Board, and one copy 

must be posted on the bulletin board in the school. 

G. In the event a student withdraws from classes before completing the course, a final 

transcript of his/her hours and grades, certified by the school, must be filed with the 

Board within 30 days. A copy of the final transcript must be transmitted to the student by 

the school at no cost to the student. 

 

H. Any student who wishes to re-enroll after an absence of 30 days, and is approved by the 

school for re-enrollment, must complete a re-enrollment form as approved by the Board. 
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I. Upon completion of training, a final transcript of student hours and grades, certified by 

the school, must be filed with the Board within 30 days. A copy of the final transcript 

must be transmitted to the student by the school at no cost to the student. 

 

J. All records must be retained by the school for a period of five years and until such time as 

the student has been licensed. 

 

K. The Board reserves the right to verify student records of hours acquired, at any time it 

deems necessary during business hours. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 5.24 Licensing Examination Pass/Fail Ratio 

 

A. The Board of Cosmetology maintains records of the results of each student’s licensing 

examination, by school. If, at any time, it is determined that the graduates of a school, 

fall below 70 (passing) on either the written examination or any segment of the practical 

examination for a minimum period of six months, the Board will take the following 

action: 

 

 1. The owner and instructional staff of the school will be invited to meet with the 

Board to discuss the problem. 

  

 2. Within 30 days from the date of the meeting with the Board, the school will 

submit a course of action or “compliance plan” which will indicate their 

awareness of the problem and which will set forth in sufficient detail what steps 

they plan to take in an attempt to improve the pass/fail ratio. 

 

 3. The school will be allowed a minimum period of six months in which to improve 

to a passing average. If the school can demonstrate that an insufficient number of 

students have graduated or qualified for examination to allow a fair review of the 

examination average, the Board may, at its discretion, allow a compliance plan to 

be in effect for longer than six months. 

 

B. At the conclusion of the agreed upon compliance plan period, if the average examination 

grades of the school have not improved, the Board may take the necessary action to 

suspend or revoke the school license. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 6: Continuing Education 

 

Rule 6.1 Definitions 

 

As used in this rule section, unless the context otherwise requires: 
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A. “Biennial” means every two years (24 months) 

 

B. “Category” means any one of seven areas in which continuing education hours may be 

acquired. 

 

C. “CEIT” means Continuing Education in Instructor Training. 

 

D. “MC” means Master Cosmetologist 

 

E. “MM” means Master Manicurist. 

 

F. “ME” means Master Esthetician. 

 

G. “MCSA” means Mississippi Cosmetology School Association. 

 

H. “MIBA” means Mississippi Independent Beautician’s Association. 

 

I. “MSBC” means Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology. 

 

J. “MCA” means Mississippi Cosmetology Association. 

 

K. “Provider” means an individual, association or a company which makes a request to 

present a continuing education event. 

 

L. "SOTA” means School Owner’s and Teacher’s Association. 

 

M. “T & T” means Mississippi State Department of Education, Vocational-Technical Bureau, 

Trade and Technical Division. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 6.2 Continuing Education Requirements 

 

All licensees must present Board issued wallet ID upon sign-in of Board monitored educational 

events. 

 

A. Instructor  

 

1. In order to renew an instructor’s license in an active status, proof of twenty-four 

(24) CEIT hours must be on record with the board. 

 

 2. The biennial period is twenty-four month intervals from the date of qualification 

for licensure as an instructor, and each twenty-four month period thereafter. 

 

 3. Licensed instructors must attend at least one mandatory Board sanctioned methods 
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of teaching seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education hours per 

biennial period in order to renew the instructor’s license in an active status. 

 

 4. At the time of renewal of an instructor’s license, his/her record is reviewed for 

compliance at the end of the most recent biennial period. 

 

 5. An instructor who fails to acquire 24 hours CEIT during their biennial period will 

be issued an inactive license upon renewal, and must obtain an additional 24 hours 

CEIT before the license can be made active, i.e., hours may not be carried 

forward for the purpose of making an inactive license active. 

 

B. A Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist or Master Esthetician license may be issued 

to any individual who makes application for the same, on a form prescribed by the Board, 

provided: 

 

 1. He/she has been licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or esthetician in this state 

for at least twelve (12) months. 

 

 2. Proof of having acquired eight (8) hours of continuing education approved by the 

Board prior to the date of application, is on record with the Board. 

 

 3. In order to renew a Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist, or Master 

Esthetician license, proof of acquisition of eight (8) hours biennially of continuing 

education must be on record with the Board. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 6.3 Credit for CEIT/MC/MM/ME Hours 

 

Credit is given for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in the following CATEGORIES, providing all 

requirements set forth by the Board have been met and pre-approved: 

 

A. Category One: Organized course work or activities in cosmetology or cosmetology 

related subject matter.  Included are seminars, short courses, workshops, and on-line 

continuing education, as well as technical sessions of MSBC meetings or conferences. 

 

1. Credit accrues at the rate of one hour for each hour of contact, rounded off to the 

nearest quarter hours. 

 

a. An individual must actually be in attendance for each contact hour 

claimed. No credit is given for missed sessions, social hours, breaks and 

related activities, or business meetings. 

 

2. In order for an activity to be approved for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in this 

category, the following criteria must be met: 
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a. The activity must have significant intellectual or practical content and its 

primary objective must be to increase the participant’s professional 

competency as an instructor, master cosmetologist, master manicurist, or 

master esthetician. 

 

b. The activity must be offered by a provider having substantial, recent 

experience in offering CEIT/MC/MM/ME courses. Demonstrated ability 

arising partly from the extent to which individuals with training or 

educational experience are involved in the planning, instruction, and 

supervision of the activity. 

 

(1) The following providers are recognized by the board as having met 

the criteria set forth above: 

 

(a) Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology 

 

(b) Mississippi Cosmetology School Association 

 

(c) School Owners and Teachers Association 

 

(d) Mississippi Cosmetology Association 

 

  (e) Mississippi Independent Beauticians Association 

 

(f) Mississippi State Department of Education, T & T Division 

 

(g) Out of State Continuing education certified by that state’s 

board, commission, or department of registration & 

licensure. 

 

(2) Other providers may be approved as their identities and programs 

are confirmed by the Board. 

 

(3) The Board may, at any time, re-evaluate a program and revoke 

approval of the provider. 

 

c. The activity itself must be conducted by an individual or group qualified 

by practical or academic experience.  The program, including the named 

advertised participant, must be conducted 

substantially, as planned, subject to emergency withdrawals and 

alterations. 

 

d. Thorough, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared written materials 

must be made available to all participants at or before the time the course is 

presented, unless the absence of such materials is recognized as reasonable 

and approved by the board; mere outline without citations or explanatory 
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notations are not sufficient. 

 

e. The activity must be conducted in a physical setting conducive to learning. 

 

f. At a minimum, the activity must consist of not less than four (4) hours of 

actual instruction. 

 

g. Activities that cross academic lines, such as a financial aid seminar, may 

be considered for approval. 

 

h. The activity must deal primarily with matters related to the enhancement of the 

participants knowledge (MC/MM/ME) or to the teaching of cosmetology, 

manicuring, esthetics, professional responsibility or ethical obligations of master 

cosmetologists, master manicurists, master estheticians or instructors, or any 

related field of expertise. 

 

3. Any provider or licensee desiring approval of a course, program, or other activity, 

must apply to the board on a form approved by the board by submitting all 

supporting documentation no less than sixty (60) days prior to the date for which 

the course or program is scheduled. 

 

a. The board will advise the applicant in writing within thirty (30) days of the 

receipt of the completed application whether the activity is approved or 

disapproved.  Applicants denied approval of a program or activity may 

appeal such decision by submitting a letter of appeal to the board within 

fifteen (15) days of the receipt of the notice of the approval or disapproval. 

 

b. The provider of an approved CEIT/MC/MM/ME activity may advertise in 

informational brochures and programs provided by the provider, as 

follows: 

 

“This course has been approved by the Mississippi State Board of 

Cosmetology for a maximum of hours credit in 

continuing education for instructor or master cosmetologist.” 

 

c. The Board approves only those activities in which the board or its 

employees can verify that the subjects being presented conform to the 

board’s policies.  The board has the right to freely enter and observe all or 

appropriate portions of such activities. 

 

d. The board may at any time re-evaluate and revoke approval of a particular 

activity. 

 

B. Category Two: Successful completion of organized course work or activities which 

bestow college credit not specifically cosmetology or cosmetology related, but which are 

professionally enriching or directly benefitting the individual in his/her present position. 
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Credit accrues at the rate of twelve (12) CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours for each three 

(3) semester hours. 

 

 

C. Category Three: Holding an elected or appointed office or active committee assignment 

in the MSBC or allied professional organizations. 

 

1. Credit accrues at the rate of: 

 

a. Five (5) hours per year for holding office or chairing an assignment. 

 

b. Two (2) hours per year for active committee membership. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 6.4 Documentation of Continuing Education Hours 

 

A. Instructors: On or before the renewal of a license after the close of the most current 

biennial period, an instructor should submit documentation of any CEIT hours earned in 

any category other than categories One or Two. The documentation must be applicable 

proof of participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed.  The 

documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One and Two, must verify 

completion of the required twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education, in order to 

renew a license in an active status. 

 

B. Master Cosmetologist/Master Manicurist/Master Esthetician: 

 

1. In order to have the designation of  a master cosmetologist/master 

manicurist/master esthetician printed on the license, an applicant must submit 

documentation of any continuing education hours earned in any category other 

than categories One and Two. The documentation must be applicable proof of 

participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed.  The 

documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One and Two, must 

verify completion of the required eight (8) hours of continuing education. 

 

2. In order to renew a license as a master cosmetologist, mater manicurist or master 

esthetician an applicant must submit documentation of any continuing education 

hours earned in any category other than categories One or Two. The 

documentation must be applicable proof of participation in activities for any 

category in which credit is claimed.  The documentation, combined with hours 

earned in Categories One and Two, must verify completion of the required eight 

(8) hours of continuing education. 

 

C. The Board reserves the right to require additional documentation and proof for reported 

activities. When asked for additional documentation, the burden of furnishing proof of 
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compliance rests with the licensee. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 7: Sanitation 

 

Rule 7.1 Enforcement 

 

A. The holder or holders of an establishment license, or the person in charge of any such 

establishment is liable for the implementation and maintenance of the sanitary conditions 

of the establishment. 

 

B. Any student, licensed practitioner, or licensed instructor is held individually liable for the 

implementation and maintenance of the sanitary conditions of his/her station and 

equipment. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.2 Posting Sanitation Rules 

 

A copy of the Rules and Regulations governing sanitation must be posted in a place conspicuous 

to the public. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.3 Interior 

 

A. Each establishment must be kept clean and in good condition.  

 

B. Floors in any area where services are performed must be covered with a non- porous 

material. 

 

C. All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of solid construction with lids, so 

constructed that it may be thoroughly cleaned and must be maintained in a clean 

condition. Waste and refuse must be removed from the premises as frequently as 

necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness. 

 

D. Hair and nail clippings must be removed from the floor and surface areas following each 

client. 

 

E. Animals are not permitted in an establishment. Exception is a registered service animal. 

 

F. Water Supply 

 

1. Each establishment must be provided with an adequate supply of potable running 

water, under pressure, from an approved source.  The potable water system must 
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be installed to preclude the possibility of backflow, with no cross connections 

through which the portable water might become contaminated. 

 

2. Adequate hot and cold water under pressure must be provided in all work booths 

or work rooms. 

 

3. Adequate drinking facilities must be conveniently provided in each establishment.  

 

4. All drinking fountains must be maintained in a sanitary manner and the stream of 

water from the fountain head must be properly regulated. 

 

5. The use of a common cup, glass or other receptacle for drinking purposes is 

expressly prohibited. 

 

G. Restroom Facilities 

 

1. Every establishment must be provided with adequate and conveniently located 

restroom facilities. 

 

2. At least two restroom facilities must be provided in each school for the students, 

faculty, staff, and patrons. At least one restroom facility should be provided for 

employees and patrons in other establishments. 

 

3. All restrooms must be kept clean and in good condition. 

 

4. All restrooms must be well lighted and ventilated to the outside air. 

 

5. Home salons shall only have restroom facilities within the confines of the salon 

business. 

 

6. All establishments located on a street or alley where a system of sanitary sewers is 

available must have a properly constructed sewer connection to the sewer system 

into which human excreta and other liquid waste is disposed. Where no sanitary 

sewer system is available, all human excreta and other liquid waste must be 

disposed of in a sewage disposal system meeting all the requirements of the 

Mississippi State Department of Health and/or the Mississippi Department of 

Natural Resources. 

 

7. Adequate and convenient hand-washing facilities, including lavatory, hot and cold 

running water under pressure,  an adequately supplied soap dispenser, and 

disposable towels must be provided in or adjacent to every restroom. 

 

 8. Waste and Refuse: All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of solid 

construction with lids and must be removed from the premises as frequently as 

necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness.   
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.4 Personal Sanitation 

 

A. Hand Washing Practices: Every practitioner and student in an establishment must 

thoroughly wash and scrub his or her hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser before 

starting work, before each client, or after using the toilet. 

 

1. In the service of manicuring, both the client and the licensed individual must wash 

their hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser or wipe with alcohol/antibacterial 

hand sanitizer prior to the service. 

 

2. Prior to a pedicure, the client’s feet must be cleansed with an antibacterial skin 

cleanser. 

  

B. Infectious Disease 

 

1. Persons with a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is medically 

recognized to be transmittable by the type of contact that practitioners have with 

clients are not to be permitted to practice in an establishment until their condition 

is no longer communicable under those circumstances. 

 

 2. Likewise, clients who have a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is 

transmittable to other clients or to a practitioner through the type of contact the 

client would have with the practitioner, or other clients, should not be 

accommodated in an establishment. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.5 Chairs, Shampoo Boards and Bowls 

 

A. The head-rest chair must be provided with a clean towel or paper sheet for each patron. 

 

B. Shampoo bowls must be cleaned with soap and water or other detergent after each 

shampoo, kept in good condition and in a sanitary condition at all times. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.6 Linens and Towels 

 

A. Only freshly laundered or new disposable linens or towels can be used on each client. 

 

B. After linens and towels have been used, they must be deposited in a closed receptacle, 

and cannot be used again until properly laundered and sanitized. 

 

C. Used linens and towels must be laundered either by regular commercial laundering or by a 
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non-commercial laundering process which includes the following treatment: Immersion in 

water at 160° F. for not less than five minutes at some time during the wash or rinsing 

operation. All linens are to be disinfected during the wash cycle using detergent. 

 

D. All clean linens and towels are to be stored in a closed cabinet of solid construction. 

 

E. A sanitary neck strip or towel must be used to keep all protective covering from coming in 

direct contact with a patron. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.7 Bottles and Containers 

 

A. All bottles and containers must be distinctly and correctly labeled to disclose their 

contents.  When not in use all bottles and containers must remain closed.  All bottles 

containing poisonous substances must be so designated and stored in a separate cabinet 

away from cosmetics and other substances. 

 

B. There shall be no more than two (2) gallons of acetone stored or in use in a salon or 

school at any one time.  Acetone shall be properly labeled and stored in a separate cabinet 

from cosmetics, in accordance with manufacturer’s directions. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.8 Instruments and Supplies 

 

A. All instruments and supplies which have been used in direct contact upon a patron, or 

which have become soiled in any manner whatever, must be removed from primary work 

area, placed in a properly labeled receptacle provided for the purpose, and cannot be used 

on another patron until they have been properly clean and sanitized. 

 

B. All supplies such as cotton, ear pads, neck strips and protectors which cannot be sanitized 

by one of the procedures covered by Rule 7.9 must be discarded immediately after use. 

 

C. Carrying instruments in or on garments or uniforms is prohibited.  No practitioner in an 

establishment may carry any instruments or supplies in or on a garment or uniform. 

 

D. Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-type neck dusters in any establishment. 

 

E. The use of credo blades is prohibited in any procedure or service. In addition, credo 

blades are prohibited on the premises of any licensed establishment. 

 

F. Electric nail file:   

 

1. Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an electric file in any manicuring 

procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are proficient 
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in the use of the instrument. 

 

2. The electric file certification of proficiency must be posted at the practitioner’s 

primary work area at all times. 

 

3. Any instructor or student instructor’s teaching or planning to teach the use of the 

electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved 

certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument. 

 

4. The instructor’s or student instructor’s electric file certification of proficiency 

must be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times. 

 

 5. Any electric file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be specifically 

designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the instrument must 

be able to provide that documentation upon demand. 

 

G.  Microdermabrasion 

 

A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must limit the 

exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment must be 

approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a Class I device 

intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must prominently display the 

manufacturer’s a certificate of training proficiency for each type of equipment used, and 

must comply with the manufacturer’s directions in the use of each product. The use of 

FDA class 2 or class 3 devices is prohibited. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-21, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.9 Disinfecting Work Surfaces, Instruments, Materials and Supplies 

 

A. Work surfaces must be cleaned with a detergent and disinfected after each client. 

 

B. All instruments, materials and supplies used in direct contact upon a patron, except those 

which come in contact with blood or body fluids, require the following treatment: 

 

1. Thorough cleansing of the instruments, materials and supplies with soap and water 

or other detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to 

remove all foreign material which might harbor bacteria. 

 

2. Each establishment will have and use for disinfection at all times during business 

hours, a Wet Disinfectant Container made of glass, stainless steel, or the type 

recommended by the manufacturer of the product it contains. 

 

a. The disinfectant used must be an EPA registered, hospital grade, 

bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal disinfectant. 
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b. The solution will be mixed and used according to manufacturer’s 

instructions for dilution and immersion time. 

 

c. The container will be large enough for total immersion of the open 

implement and will contain the appropriate amount of solution for the 

number of items to be disinfected. 

 

d. The container will have a cover in place at all times, labeled as to its 

contents, and be easily accessible to all practitioners. 

 

e. Implements are to be removed from the disinfectant in such a manner as 

not to contaminate the disinfectant solution (using tongs, baskets, and 

such), rinsed, and placed on a clean dry towel for air drying. 

 

f. Ultraviolet ray cabinets may be used, but are not acceptable as approved 

disinfecting devises.  Glass bead sterilizers are not an acceptable 

disinfectant. 

 

g. The wet disinfectant must be discarded when it becomes contaminated. 

 

 3. Storage of Disinfected Implements: 

 

Disinfected combs, brushes, instruments and accessories will be kept in a clean, 

sanitized, closed receptacle or cabinet when not in use. 

 

C. Body treatment, pedicure and manicure equipment that holds water shall be cleaned after 

each client by scrubbing with surfactant soap and water to remove all visible residue, then 

disinfected with an EPA registered bactericide, fungicide, and virucidal disinfectant with 

surface contact according to manufacturer’s directions. 

 

D. All tools and implements which have come in contact with blood or body fluids must be 

disinfected in the manner stipulated in Rule 7.9.B., except that the 

 disinfectant must be an EPA registered, hospital grade, tuberculocidal that is mixed and 

used according to the manufacturer’s direction. Disposable items must be discarded 

immediately, following the Blood Spill Procedures as stipulated in Rule 7.13. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.10 Disinfecting Electric Clippers and Metal Instruments 

 

Instruments which cannot be sanitized by the procedures set forth in Rule 7.9 will be disinfected 

by: 

 

A. Thorough cleansing of the working parts of the instruments with soap and water or other 

detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to remove all 

foreign material which might harbor bacteria. 
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B. Immersion of the working parts of the instruments in a solution of 70% alcohol for not 

less than five minutes.  Contact points of non-immersible equipment will be wiped or 

sprayed with an EPA registered, hospital grade, bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal 

disinfectant. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.11 Disinfecting Manicure Instruments While In Use on a Patron 

 

A. A solution of 70% alcohol will be readily available during the manicure. The instruments 

used on an individual patron will be placed in the alcohol solution when not actually being 

employed during the process of giving a manicure. 

 

B. After use on a patron, the entire set of instruments will be removed from the work station 

and cannot be used again until disinfected in accordance with the procedures set forth in 

Rule 7.10 or Rule 7.9 if instruments come in contact with blood or body fluids. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.12 Cleaning and Disinfecting Whirlpool Foot spas 

 

A. As used in this section, “whirlpool foot spa” or “spa” is defined as any basin using 

circulating water. 

 

B. Each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the following manner: 

 

1. Before use upon each patron, 

 

a. All water shall be drained and all debris shall be removed from the spa 

basin. 

 

b. The spa basin must be cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and water. 

 

c. The spa basin must be disinfected with an EPA-registered disinfectant with 

demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal activity which must be 

used according to manufacturer’s instructions. 

 

d. The spa basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel. 

 

2. At the end of each day, 

 

a. The screen shall be removed, all debris trapped behind the screen shall be 

removed, and the screen and the inlet shall be cleaned with a brush and 

surfactant soap and water. 
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b. Before replacing the screen, one of the following procedures shall be 

performed: 

 

(1) The screen shall be washed with a chlorine bleach solution of 1 

teaspoon of 5% chlorine bleach to 1 gallon of water, or 

 

(2) The screen shall be totally immersed in an EPA-registered 

disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and 

virucidal activity which must be used according to the 

manufacturer’s instructions. 

 

c. The spa system shall be flushed with low sudsy soap and warm water for at 

least 10 minutes, after which the spa shall be rinsed and drained. 

 

3. Every other week (bi-weekly), after cleaning and disinfecting as provided in Rule 

7.12(B)(2), each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the 

following manner: 

 

a. The spa basin shall be filled completely with water and 1 teaspoon of 5% 

bleach for each 1 gallon of water. 

 

b. The spa system shall be flushed with the bleach and water solution for 5 to 

10 minutes and allowed to sit for 6 to 10 hours. 

 

c. The spa system shall be drained and flushed with water before use upon a 

patron. 

 

4. A record shall be made of the date and time of each cleaning and disinfecting as 

required by Rule 7.12, and will indicate whether the cleaning was a daily or bi-

weekly cleaning. This record shall be made at or near the time of cleaning and 

disinfecting.  Cleaning and disinfecting records shall be made available upon 

request by either a patron or a Board representative. 

  

 5. A violation of this section may result in an administrative fine and/or disciplinary 

action. Each foot spa not in compliance with this section may result in a separate 

violation. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.13 Blood Spill Procedures 

 

A. Practitioner injury.  While risk expected with these practices is minimal, practitioners are 

cautioned to always use disposable plastic gloves prior to contacting blood or bodily fluids. 

If a practitioner sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must be 

immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed: 
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1. Clean injured area with soap and water.  Apply antiseptic and/or liquid styptic or 

spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. Containers, 

brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or contact the 

wound.  An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton must be used. 

 

2. Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid. 

 

3. Put on properly sized disposable plastic gloves. 

 

4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed of in a 

sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag (double 

bagged) and discarded. 

 
5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated 

implements as provided in Rule 7.9. 

 

6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water.  Follow with 

an antibacterial scrub on hands.  Replace adhesive dressing or band aid as needed.  

If the wound is on a hand, put on properly sized, disposable plastic glove on the 

injured hand. 

 

7. If necessary, clean client with soap and water. 

 

8. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with a private physician. 

 

B. Client injury: If a client sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must 

be immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed: 

 

1. Put on properly sized, disposable plastic gloves. 

 

2. Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic and/or liquid styptic or 

spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. Containers, 

brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or contact the 

wound.  An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton must be used. 

 

3. If necessary, Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid. 

 

4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed of in a 

sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag (double 

bagged) and discarded. 

 

5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated 

implements as provided in Rule 7.9. 

 

6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water.  Follow with 

an antibacterial scrub on hands. 
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 7. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with private physician. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.14 Health and Safety Issues 

 

A. Removal of moles or other blemishes is prohibited. 

 

B. No practitioner or instructor will massage any person upon a surface of the skin or scalp 

where such skin is inflamed or where a skin infection or eruption is present. 

 

C. Hair removal by means of epilation and/or depilation shall not be performed on the legs 

or feet before any pedicure service. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.15 Creams, Lotions, Powder and Other Cosmetics 

 

A. All creams, lotions, and other cosmetics used on patrons must be kept in clean and closed 

containers, which must be labeled. 

 

B. All powder used on patrons must be kept in a clean shaker or may be applied by means of 

cotton or other sanitized applicator. Applicators must be sanitized after each patron. 

Disposable applicators must be discarded immediately after use. 

 

C. Creams and other semi-solid substances must be removed from the container with a 

sanitized spatula or other article. The use of fingers for removing creams, etc., is 

prohibited. 

 

D. Lotions or liquids must be poured into a sanitized glass or other container and must be 

applied to the patron by means of cotton or sanitized applicator. Any excess remaining 

after application can neither be returned to the original container nor applied to another 

patron, but must be discarded immediately. 

 

E. Creams, lotions, powder and other cosmetics must be removed by means of cotton, gauze, 

pledgets, soft absorbent paper, or other sanitized material. 

 

F. Wax: 

 

1. Wax can be used only once and discarded. It cannot be returned to the wax heater. 

Applicators cannot be re-dipped. 

 

2. Paraffin wax used for services requires the following: 

 

 a. The skin must be thoroughly cleansed with an antibacterial skin cleanser. 
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 b. The skin must be completely dried with a clean towel prior to immersion. 

 

 c. Wax must be discarded when cloudy or when it contains debris. 

 

 d. The product removed from the body must be discarded. 

 

G. Cosmetic pencils must be sharpened after being used on a patron. 

 

H. No product containing the ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used in any 

manicuring or pedicuring procedure. All products must be correctly labeled, and 

manufacturer’s data sheets for any nail product must be readily available for review by 

any agent of the Board of Cosmetology. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2013) 
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Title 30: Professions and Occupations 

 

Part 2101: Cosmetology, Board of  

 

Part 2101  Chapter 1:  General 

 

Rule 1.1 Authorization and Applicability 

 

A. The following Rules and Regulations are adopted in conformity with Chapter 7 of Title 

73 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, pursuant to the authority vested in the 

Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology (“Board”). 

 

B. These Rules and Regulations are applicable to all persons licensed or registered in 

accordance with the provisions of Chapter 7 of Title 7 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as 

amended, and are effective as of July 1, 2000 and will continue pursuant to law. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132)  

 

Rule 1.2 Tenses, Gender and Number 

 

For the purpose of these rules and regulations, the present tense includes the past and future 

tenses, and the future, the present; the masculine gender includes the feminine and the feminine, 

the masculine; and singular includes the plural, and the plural the singular. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2012) 

 

Rule 1.23 Definitions 

 

As used in this Chapter, unless the context otherwise requires: 

 

AA. “Accelerated Hours” means to reduce the time-frame (not clock hours) required 

for course completion by compressing into shorter period. 

 

BB. A. “Agent” means a member of the Board or any of its authorized 

representatives. 

 

CC. “Applied effort” means the time devoted to the study of theory, attendance at 

theory classes, and the actual performance or all practical skills. 

  

DD. “Average daily attendance” means the average daily attendance over a three-

month period of the students enrolled in a school. 

  

EE. B. “Board” means the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology. 
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FF. C. “Cosmetology Law” or “Law” means Chapter 7 of Title 73 of the Mississippi 

Code of 1972 as amended. 

 

GG. “Current photograph” means a passport photograph of the applicant/licensee 

taken within 90 days prior to the date of application or renewal of license. The person must 

be recognizable in the photograph. 
 

HH. D. “Establishment” means cosmetological establishment; school or salon 

  

II. “Extenuating Circumstances” means special circumstances that account for an irregular 

way of doing things.. 

 

JJ. “Full Time” means not less than twenty-five (25), nor more than forty (40) hours per 

week. 

  

  

 E. “Practitioner” means an individual who is practicing one of the professions 

regulated by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of 

the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. 

 

KK. “Full Service Cosmetology Salon” means a cosmetology salon that provides hair 

services, esthetics services, and manicuring/pedicuring services. 

 

LL. “Hours” means clock hours. 

 

MM. F. “Lavatory” means a basin fixed to a wall, countertop or floor, having a 

drainpipe and piped supply of hot and cold water. 

  

NN. “Lead Instructor” means the instructor who is in charge of the teaching program 

at a licensed school.  

 

OO. “License” means original or duplicate as issued by the Board. 

  

PP. “Limited Service Cosmetology Salon” means a cosmetology salon that provides hair 

services and offers manicuring/pedicuring services and/or esthetics services (face only) as 

optional services. 

  

QQ. “Make-up Hours” are clock hours acquired in excess of the 40 hours per week 

maximum, which may be applied to missed time, only in the month in which they were 

acquired. 
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RR.  “Part Time” means anything less than full time as defined in this rule. 

 

SS. “Practitioner” means an individual licensed person who is practicing one of the 

professions regulated by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, as defined in 

Section 73-7-2 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. 

  

TT. “Salon” means an licensed establishment operated for the purpose of engaging in the 

practice of cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring, or esthetics, or wigology, or all. 

 

UU. G. “School” means an  licensed establishment, public or private, operated for 

the purpose of teaching cosmetology, or manicuring, or pedicuring, or esthetics, or 

wigology, or all. 

  

VV. “School premises” means buildings, grounds, and parking lots of the school.  

  

WW. “State” means the State of Mississippi. 

 

XX. H. “Student” means any person attending classes in a school licensed by the 

Board. 

  

YY. “Student Instructor” means any person licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or 

esthetician enrolled in an instructor training program in a school licensed by the Board 

under the supervision of an instructor. 

 

ZZ. I. “Subject” means instruction and training or study of a theoretical or skill 

operation. 

 

 J. “Applied effort” means the time devoted to the study of theory, attendance at 

theory classes, and the actual performance or all practical skills. 

 

 K. “Average daily attendance” means the average daily attendance over a three-

month period of the students enrolled in a school. 

 

 L. “Full Time” means not less than twenty-five (25), nor more than forty (40) hours 

per week. 
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 M. “Part Time” means anything less than full time as defined in this rule. 

 

 N. “Lead Instructor” means the instructor who is in charge of the teaching program 

at a licensed school. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-2 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 1.34 Communications 

 

All communications with reference to licensure, rules and regulations or general information 

should be addressed to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, P. O. Box 55689, Jackson, 

Mississippi 39296-5689. Issues related to schools and examinations should be directed to the 

Department of School Coordination. Issues related to examination should be directed to the 

contracted testing service. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132) 

 

Rule 1.45 Requests for Public Records 

 

A. The only information which that is made available to the public through avia telephone 

inquiry is whether or not an individual, salon, or school is licensed by the Board, and 

whether or not the license is current. Allny other requests for information must be 

submitted in writing to the Board office and will be released only after a) review and 

determination as to whether the information requested is a public record as defined by the 

Mississippi Code of 1972Public Records Act of 1983, Miss. Code Ann. Sections 25-61-1 

through 25-61-17 as amended, and only afterb) the cost to produce the record has been 

collected. Public records requests may not be made via Email.” 

 

B. The Board will respond to a public records request within seven (7) days from the date 

the request is received. 

 

C. In considering the cost of production of the record, the following will be included: a) cost 

of production of copies, b) expendable printer supplies, c) cost of record research by a 

member of the Board staff, and d) mailing costs. Any other unforeseen costs will be 

disclosed to the individual requesting the record. 

 

D. Licensure application files, including, but not limited to examination results are not 

considered public record, and may be released only with the approvalupon written 

consent of the third partylicensee/examinee. A request for public record, including a third 

party release, will be considered only after or at the time the record is actually created. 

An individual who wants his or her examination record released to his or her school may 

complete and submit a release form at the time of examination. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 1.56 Board Meetings 

 

A. The Board holds its meetings on the last Monday of each month, beginning at 9:00 a.m., 

unless extenuating circumstances exist which preclude same. In the event a Board 

meeting is scheduled at another time, written notice will be sent to all individuals who 

make written request that they be so notifiedposted on the Board’s website. 

 

B. A majority of the Board constitutes a quorum.  

 

BC. All Board meetings are open to the public, and the public is welcome. However, 

members of the public may not participate in business discussion unless invited to do so. 

 

DC. Members of tThe public may write or callust submit an “Agenda Request Form” to  the 

Board office at least one two (12) weeks in advance of the regularly scheduled meeting to 

be placed on the agenda if they have a specific matter they wish the Board to consider. 

 

DE. Any written requests for consideration without personal appearance at the meeting must 

be submitted to the “Agenda Request Form” to received in the Board office no later than 

twofive (52) weeksorking days preceding the regularly scheduled meeting. 

 

1. Matters involving schools, students, or examinations should be directed to the 

attention of the School Coordinator. 

 

 2. All other matters should be directed to the attention of the Executive Director. 

 

EF. The Board may, at in its discretion, set asidedesignate a period for public comments at 

the end of the meeting to receive questions and comments from the public. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 1.67 Posting Laws, Rules, Notices and Bulletins 

 

An establishment must post on its premises, in a place conspicuous to the public, copies of laws, 

rules, notices or bulletins as the Board may, from time to time, direct. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 1.7 Schedule of Fines 

 

The Board shall use the following “Schedule of Fines” for assessing fines for non-compliance 

with its laws, rules and regulations: 

 

Schedule of Fines 
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Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& 

subsequent 

violation(s)  

73-7-9  Practicing without a license Practitioner $50 $400 

73-7-11  

 

Practitioner license not (or 

improperly) posted 

Practitioner 50 100 

73-7-11  Salon License not (or improperly) 

posted 

Owner 50 100 

73-7-17  Operation of unlicensed salon Practitioner 100 400 

73-7-19  Expired salon license Owner 50 400 

73-7-19  Expired practitioner license Practitioner   

                               60 days to 1 year  50 400 

                      Over 1 year to 2 years  75 400 

                     Over 2 years to 3 years  100 400 

73-7-25  Demonstrator in salon or school 

without demo permit 

Owner 50 400 

73-7-

27(2)(c) 

 Fraud or dishonest conduct in 

taking examination 

Student 100 400 

73-7-

27(2)(e) 

 Dishonest conduct 

 

Practitioner 100 400 

73-7-

27(2)(e) 

 Dishonest conduct Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& 

subsequent 
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violation(s)  

73-7-33  Salon not well ventilated or well 

lit 

Owner 50 400 

73-7-33  Establishment, utensils/equipment 

not sanitary 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 400 

73-7-33 

 

 Permitting practitioner with 

infectious disease to practice 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

73-7-33 7.4(B(1) Practicing in establishment with 

infectious/contagious disease 

Practitioner 100 400 

73-7-35(1)  Working in unlicensed/expired 

salon 

Practitioner 50 200 

73-7-35(2)  Allowing a practitioner to practice 

without a valid license 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 1.6 Rules & Regulations not posted in 

salon 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 100 

 1.8(A) Failure to allow/interference with 

inspection 

Owner 50 100 

 2.3(A) Practitioner license not posted at 

primary work area; or photo copy 

of license posted  

Practitioner 50 100 

 

 

 

2.3(A) Practitioner license not posted at 

primary work area; or photo copy 

of license posted  

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 100 

 2.3(B); 

7.8(E) 

Specific device certification of 

proficiency not posted at 

workstationprimary work area 

Practitioner 50 100 

 

 

2.3(B); 

7.8(E) 

Specific device certification of 

proficiency not posted at 

workstationprimary work area 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 100 

 2.3(C) Individual claiming to be licensed 

would not provide ID 

Practitioner 100 400 



116 
 

 

 

2.3(C) Individual claiming to be licensed 

would not provide ID 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 2.4(B) Individual with duplicate license 

posted would not provide ID 

 

Practitioner  100 400 

 3.2(A)(3) Student working on permit without 

supervisor 

Student 50 400 

 3.2(A)(3) Student working on permit without 

supervisor 

 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 400 

Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& 

subsequent 

violation(s)  

 3.3 Applicant for instructor’s license 

by reciprocity working without 

one-time teaching permit 

 

Applicant 100 400 

 

 

3.3 

 

Applicant for instructor’s license 

by reciprocity working without 

one-time teaching permit 

Owner 100 400 

 

 4.2(A)(1)(f) Establishment providing services 

outside scope of license 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 4.3 Salon has not continued to meet 

minimum equipment requirements 

Owner 50 200 

 4.3(D)(2) Esthetics treatment area does not 

provide client privacy 

Owner 50 200 

 4.3(D)(5) No container for soiled esthetician 

linens 

Owner 50 200 
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 4.3(D)(6) No storage for clean esthetician 

linens 

Owner 50 200 

 4.4(A)(1) Salon owner has not notified 

Board of sale of salon 

Owner 100 400 

 5.2(E)(2) School does not have full-time 

lead instructor 

Owner 100 400 

 5.4 School has not maintained 

minimum equipment requirements 

Owner 100 400 

 5.9(C) Board not notified of changes in 

instruction staff 

Owner 50 200 

 5.9(D) Student/Instructor ratio exceeds 

that required by rule 

Owner 100 400 

 5.9(F) School has not reported instructor 

absence 

Owner 50 200 

 5.9(G) Instructor/student instructor 

practicing on patron 

Owner 100 400 

 5.9(G) Instructor/student instructor 

practicing on patron 

 

Practitioner 100 400 

 5.9(H) Student practice work not checked 

by instructor 

Owner 100 400 

 5.10 Licenses/Rules & 

Regulations/Student work notice 

not posted 

 

Owner 50 200 

Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& 

subsequent 

violation(s)  

 5.11 School not separated from other 

business 

Owner 100 400 
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 5.17 Required equipment & supplies 

not issued to students 

Owner 100 400 

 5.18 Failure of school to provide 

minimum theory hours per week 

Owner 100 400 

 5.21 Students and/or instructors not 

wearing badges 

Owner 50 200 

 5.22 Students allowed to work on clinic 

floor prior to receiving minimum 

hours 

Owner 100 400 

 5.23 Students not properly 

signed/clocked in 

Owner 100 400 

 5.23 Daily report not at work stations Owner 50 200 

 5.24 

 

Failed to appear before Board 

and/or submit Compliance Plan 

Owner 100 400 

 7.1(A) Owner/Manager has not 

maintained sanitary conditions in 

establishment 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.1(B) Practitioner workspace not 

sanitary 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.3(A) Establishment not clean Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.3(A) Establishment not in good 

condition 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 400 

 7.3(B) Floors where services are 

performed not non-porous 

Owner 50 200 

 7.3(C) Solid waste/refuse not 

stored/removed properly from 

common areas 

Owner 50 200 

 7.3(C) Solid waste/refuse not 

stored/removed from workspace 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.3(D) Hair/Nail clippings not removed 

after each client 

Practitioner 50 200 
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 7.3(D) Hair/Nail clippings left on floor in 

common areas 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(E) Animals prohibited in 

establishment except for registered 

service animal 

 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& 

subsequent 

violation(s)  

 7.3(F)(3) Drinking water not provided or not 

convenient 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(F)(4) Drinking fountain not sanitary Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(F)(5) Using a common drinking cup or 

glass 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.3(G)(3) Restroom facility not clean or in 

good condition 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(G)(4) Restroom facility not well 

lit/ventilated to outside air 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.3(G)(5) Restroom facility not in the 

confines of the salon business 

Owner 100 400 

 7.3(G)(7) Restroom facility without hot 

water, pressure, soap or towels 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.3(G)(8) Restroom facility solid 

waste/refuse not stored/removed 

properly 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 
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 7.4(A) Not washing hands before/after 

each client/after use of restroom 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.4(B)(1) Practicing in establishment with 

infectious/contagious disease 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.4(B)(2) Servicing client with 

communicable disease/parasitic 

infection 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.4(B)(2) Allowing infected practitioner to 

service client 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.5(A) Headrest chair not covered with 

clean covering 

Practitioner  50 200 

 7.5(B) Shampoo bowls not clean or in 

good condition 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.6(B) Soiled towels/linens not deposited 

in closed receptacle 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.6(B) Soiled towels/linens not deposited 

in closed receptacle 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.6(D) Closed cabinet not provided/clean 

towels not stored in closed cabinet 

Owner 50 200 

 7.7(A) Bottles/containers not 

labeled/poisons not stored 

separately 

 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& 

subsequent 

violation(s)  

 7.7(A) Bottles/containers not 

labeled/poisons not stored 

separately 

Practitioner 100 400 
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 7.7(B) More than 2 gallons acetone stored 

in salon 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.8(A) Labeled receptacle not provided 

for soiled items 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.8(B) Unsanitizable items not 

immediately destroyed after use 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.8(B) Unsantizable items not 

immediately destroyed after use 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.8(C) Carrying instruments/supplies 

in/on garments 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.8(D) Brush-type neck duster prohibited Practitioner 50 200 

 7.8(E) Credo blades prohibited in 

services 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.8 (E) Credo blades prohibited on 

premises 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(A) Work surfaces not 

cleaned/sanitized after each client 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.9(B)(1) Instruments not properly sanitized 

prior to next use 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.9(B)(2)(a) Wet disinfectant does not meet 

prescribed standard 

Practitioner  50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(a) Wet disinfectant does not meet 

prescribed standard 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(c) Level of wet sanitizer not adequate 

to sanitize items 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(c) Level of wet sanitizer not adequate 

to sanitize items 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(d) Wet disinfectant not covered or 

labeled 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 
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 7.9(B)(2)(d) Wet disinfectant not covered or 

labeled 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(g) Solution in wet sterilizer is 

contaminated 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.9(B)(2)(g) Solution in wet sterilizer is 

contaminated 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(B)(3) Clean instruments, brushes not 

kept in clean receptacle 

Practitioner 50 200 

Schedule of Fines 

Statute Rule Violation Issued to Fine Amount 

1
st
  

Violation  

2
nd

  

& 

subsequent 

violation(s)  

 7.9(B)(3) Clean instruments, brushes not 

kept in clean receptacle 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.9(D) Tools/implements in contact with 

blood not properly disinfected 

Practitioner  100 400 

 7.9(D) Tools/implements in contact with 

blood not properly disinfected 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.11(A) Instruments not stored in 70% 

alcohol during manicure 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.11(B) Used manicure implements not 

removed from station after each 

client 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.12(B) Whirlpool foot spa not properly 

cleaned/disinfected 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.12(B)(4) Whirlpool foot spa records not 

maintained 

Owner/ 

Manager 

100 400 

 7.14(A) Removal of mole or other 

blemishes by any method is 

Practitioner 100 400 
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prohibited 

 7.15(A) Bottles/containers not properly 

closed 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.15(A) Bottles/containers not properly 

closed 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.15(D) Lotion or liquid not poured into 

sanitized glass or container 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.15(F) Health & safety standards for 

wax/waxing not followed 

Practitioner 50 200 

 7.15(F) Health & safety standards for 

wax/waxing not followed 

Owner/ 

Manager 

50 200 

 7.15(H) MMA products used in 

manicure/pedicure procedure 

Practitioner 100 400 

 7.15(H) MMA products used in 

manicure/pedicure procedure 

Owner/ 

Manager  

100 400 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-27 (Rev. 2013) 

 

 

Rule 1.8 Display of License  [MOVED to 2.3] 

 

A. Every licensee must display his license in a conspicuous place within reading distance of 

the public. A practitioner’s place of business is his or her working area in the 

establishment. 

 

B. Any licensee utilizing or planning to utilize a power drill or electric file in any 

manicuring procedure must post the required certificate of proficiency at his/her working 

area in the establishment. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 1.118 Violations of Law, Rules and Regulations 

 

A. All establishments licensed by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology shallwill be 

inspected at least once per year to insure compliance with the laws, rules and regulations 

of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology. Failure to allow or interference with an 

inspection will result in the issuance of a citation. 
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B. In any instance of non-compliance with the Board’s laws, rules and regulations, a citation 

will be issued to the student or practitioner and/or salon owner/manager and/or school 

manager/owner. The named individual in the citation will be notified at least twenty (20) 

days in writing of a hearing before the Board regarding the violation(s) on the citation 

form(s). After a hearing, the Board may revoke, suspend or refuse to issue or renew any 

license or certificate, or fine, place on probation or otherwise discipline any student or 

licensee or holder of a certificate pursuant to Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code 

Annotated of 1972 as amended.  

 

C.  Multiple violations can occur simultaneously when different individuals are involved in 

violating any provisions of the Board’s laws, rules, and regulations. 

 

B.  In any instances of non-compliance with Chapter 7 of Title 73 of the Mississippi Code of 

1972 (the violation) and any of the rules and regulations of the Mississippi State Board of 

Cosmetology, one of the following forms will be issued: 

1. Establishments and individuals licensed by the Board: a citation for violation will be 

issued.  

 

2. Establishments and individuals not licensed by the Board: a Complaint of Agent of 

the MS State Board of Cosmetology; unlicensed practice, will be issued. 

 

3. Individuals failing to provide identification, when requested, to substantiate that they 

are the lawful holder of a practitioner’s license: a citation for violation will be issued 

to the owner and/or manager of the salon in which they are working. Where the 

owner and manager are the same, only one violation will be issued. 

B. A copy will be given to the violator with instructions to immediately complete the reverse 

side by indicating what has been done to correct the non-compliance item, sign and date 

the form, and forward to the board office. 

 

C. In most cases, violators will be given the opportunity to resolve first instances of non-

compliance. Failure to respond to the citation for violation will be recommended to the 

Board for administrative hearing or for referral to the proper city/county authorities. 

 

D. Salon owners and/or mangers who are suspected of allowing unlicensed individuals to 

practice in their salon, who have refused to provide proof of identification to agents of the 

board, will not be allowed to resolve the citation for violation; they will be recommended 

to the Board for administrative hearing. 

 

E. A second offense of the same violation within a three (3) year period will be 

recommended to the Board for administrative hearing or for referral to the proper 

city/county authorities. 

 

F. If, at the time of issuance, the inspector is not aware that the violation is a repeat, a letter 

will be sent to the licensee as soon as the repeat record is discovered. The letter will 
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advise the licensee that, because the matter is a repeat, it will be recommended for a 

hearing, regardless of whether or not a response is received. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 1.9 Personnel [Moved to 4.1] 

 

Receptionists, maids and other unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from practicing 

cosmetology, manicuring, esthetics, or wigology in any manner. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 2012) 

 

Rule 1.10 Demonstrator’s Permit  [Moved to 3.1] 

 

An establishment must not allow a product demonstrator to demonstrate any product without a 

permit which has been issued in accordance with Section 73-7-25 of the Mississippi Code of 

1972 as amended. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-25 (Rev. 2012) 

 

Rule 1.11 Violations of Law, Rules and Regulations [Moved to 1.8] 

 

A. All establishments licensed by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology will be 

inspected at least once per year to insure compliance with the laws, rules and regulations 

of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology. 

 In any instances of non-compliance with Chapter 7 of Title 73 of the Mississippi Code of 

1972 (the violation) and any of the rules and regulations of the Mississippi State Board of 

Cosmetology, one of the following forms will be issued: 

4. Establishments and individuals licensed by the Board: a citation for violation will be 

issued.  

 

5. Establishments and individuals not licensed by the Board: a Complaint of Agent of 

the MS State Board of Cosmetology; unlicensed practice, will be issued. 

 

6. Individuals failing to provide identification, when requested, to substantiate that they 

are the lawful holder of a practitioner’s license: a citation for violation will be issued 

to the owner and/or manager of the salon in which they are working. Where the 

owner and manager are the same, only one violation will be issued. 

B. A copy will be given to the violator with instructions to immediately complete the reverse 

side by indicating what has been done to correct the non-compliance item, sign and date 

the form, and forward to the board office. 

 

C. In most cases, violators will be given the opportunity to resolve first instances of non-

compliance. Failure to respond to the citation for violation will be recommended to the 

Board for administrative hearing or for referral to the proper city/county authorities. 
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D. Salon owners and/or mangers who are suspected of allowing unlicensed individuals to 

practice in their salon, who have refused to provide proof of identification to agents of the 

board, will not be allowed to resolve the citation for violation; they will be recommended 

to the Board for administrative hearing. 

 

E. A second offense of the same violation within a three (3) year period will be 

recommended to the Board for administrative hearing or for referral to the proper 

city/county authorities. 

 

F. If, at the time of issuance, the inspector is not aware that the violation is a repeat, a letter 

will be sent to the licensee as soon as the repeat record is discovered. The letter will 

advise the licensee that, because the matter is a repeat, it will be recommended for a 

hearing, regardless of whether or not a response is received. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2012) 

 

Rule 1.912 Complaints 

 

A. Any person may file a complaint with the Board of Cosmetology in accordance with 

Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. 

 

B. The complaint must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the Board. It must be signed, 

notarized, and accompanied by a release form, and a consent form that states the 

complainant agrees to testify to the allegations, and that the complainant understands that 

the information becomes public record once the investigation is over. 

 

C. When the investigation has been completed, the complaint case will be presented to the 

Board, at which time the Board may: 

 

 1. Dismiss the complaint, or 

 

 2. Initiate a formal complaint and notice of hearing. 

 

D. Both the complainant and the accused will be notified of the Board’s decision. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 1.130 Standards Related to Competent Practice 

 

A. A practitioner may provide advanced services which are within his or her scope of 

practice, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, under 

the following conditions: 

 

1. The practitioner obtains appropriate education relative to the services to be 

provided; 
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2. The practitioner demonstrates appropriate knowledge, skills, and abilities to 

provide the service; 

 

3. The practitioner maintains documentation satisfactory to the Board of meeting the 

above requirements. 

 

4. The service does not involve a function or procedure which is prohibited by any 

other law or rule. 

 

5. A practitioner is prohibited in using animals in any procedure or service. 

 

6. The use of credo blades is prohibited in any procedure or service. In addition, 

credo blades are prohibited on the premises of any licensed establishment. 

 

 7. Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-type neck dusters in any establishment. 

 

 

B. Microdermabrasion 

 

A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must limit the 

exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment must be 

approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a class Class I device 

intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must prominently display the 

manufacturer’s a certificate of training proficiency for each type of equipment used, and 

must comply with the manufacturer’s directions in the use of each product. The use of 

FDA class 2 or class 3 devices is prohibited. 

 

C. Electric nail file:     [From 7.8(E)] 

 

1. Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an electric file in any manicuring 

procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are proficient 

in the use of the instrument. 

 

2. The electric file certification of proficiency must be posted at the practitioner’s 

primary work area at all times. 

 

3. Any instructor or student instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of the 

electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved 

certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument. 

 

4. The instructor’s or student instructor’s electric file certification of proficiency must 

be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times. 

 

 5. Any electric file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be specifically 
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designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the instrument must 

be able to provide that documentation upon demand. 

 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-1, 73-7-14 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 1.114 Oral Proceedings on Proposed Rules 

 

A. This rule applies to all oral proceedings held for the purpose of providing the public with 

an opportunity to make oral presentations on proposed new rules and amendments to 

rules before the Board pursuant to Section 25-43-104 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as 

amended. 

 

1. The Board will conduct an oral proceeding on a proposed rule or amendment if 

requested by a political subdivision, an agency or ten (10) persons in writing 

within twenty (20) days after the filing of the notice of the proposed rule. 

 

2. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible handwriting. 

Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size paper (8 1/2x11 

inches). Requests may be in the form of a letter addressed to the Board and signed 

by the requestor(s). 

 

3. The date, time and place of all oral proceedings shall be filed with the Secretary 

of State’s office and mailed to each requestor. The oral proceedings will be 

scheduled no earlier than twenty (20) days from the filing of this information with 

the Secretary of State. 

4. The Board President or his designee, who is familiar with the substance of the 

proposed rule, shall preside at the oral proceeding on a proposed rule. 

 

B. Public Presentations and Participation 

 

1. At an oral proceeding on a proposed rule, persons may make oral statements and 

make documentary and physical submissions, which may include data, views, 

comments, or arguments concerning the proposed rule. 

 

2. Persons wishing to make oral presentations at a proceeding shall notify the Board 

at least one (1) business day prior to the proceeding and indicate the general 

subject of their presentations. The presiding officer in his or her discretion may 

allow individuals to participate that have not previously contacted the Board. 

 

3. At the proceeding, those who participate shall indicate their name and address, 

identify any person(s) or organization(s) they may represent, and provide any 

other information relating to their participation deemed appropriate by the 

presiding officer. 
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4. The presiding officer may place time limitations on individual oral presentations 

when necessary to assure the orderly and expeditious conduct of the oral 

proceeding. To encourage joint oral presentations and to avoid repetition, 

additional time may be provided for persons whose presentations represent the 

views of others as well as their own views. 

 

5. Persons making oral presentations are encouraged to avoid restating matters that 

have already been submitted in writing. 

 

6. There shall be no interruption of a participant who has been given the floor by the 

presiding officer, except that the presiding officer may in his or her discretion 

interrupt or end the participant’s time where the orderly conduct of the proceeding 

so requires. 

 

C. Conduct of Oral Proceeding 

 

1. The presiding officer shall have authority to conduct the proceeding in his or her 

discretion for the orderly conduct of the proceeding. 

 

2. The presiding officer shall: 

 

 a. Call proceeding to order. 

 

b. Give a brief synopsis of the proposed rule, a statement of the statutory 

authority for the proposed rule, and the reasons provided by the Board for 

the proposed rule. 

c. The presiding officer, where time permits and to facilitate the exchange of 

information, may open the floor to questions or general discussion. The 

presiding officer may question participants and permit the questioning of 

participants by other participants about any matter relating to that rule-

making proceeding, including any prior written submissions made by 

those participants in that proceeding; but no participant shall be required 

to answer any question. 

 

d. Submissions presented by participants in an oral proceeding shall be 

submitted to the presiding officer. Such submissions become the property 

of the Board and are subject to the Board’s public records request 

procedure. 

 

e. The Board may record oral proceedings by stenographic or electronic 

means. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013); § 25-43-2.105 (Rev. 2006) 

 

Rule 1.125 Declaratory Opinions 
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E. These rules set forth the Board of Cosmetology’s rules governing the form and content 

requests for declaratory opinions, and the Board’s procedures regarding the requests, as 

required by Section 25-43-103 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. These rules 

are intended to supplement and be read in conjunction with the provisions of the 

Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, which may contain additional information 

regarding the issuance of declaratory opinions. In the event of any conflict between these 

rules and the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, the latter shall govern. 

 

10. Any person with a substantial interest in the subject matter may request a 

declaratory opinion from the Board by following the specified procedures. 

“Substantial interest in the subject matter” means an individual, business, group 

or other entity that is directly affected by the Board’s administration of the laws 

within its primary jurisdiction. “Primary jurisdiction of the Board” means the 

Board has a constitutional or statutory grant of authority in the subject matter at 

issue. 

 

11. The Board will issue declaratory opinions regarding the applicability to specified 

facts of : 

 

a. A statute administered or enforceable by the Board, or  

 

b. A rule promulgated by the Board. 

The Board will not issue a declaratory opinion regarding a statute or rule which is 

outside the primary jurisdiction of the Board. 

12. The Board may, for good cause, refuse to issue a declaratory opinion. The 

circumstances in which declaratory opinions will not be issued include, but are 

not necessarily limited to: 

 

a. Lack of clarity concerning the question presented; 

 

b. There is pending or anticipated litigation, administrative action, or other 

adjudication which may either answer the question presented by the request or 

otherwise make an answer unnecessary; 

 

c. The statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought is clear and not in 

need of interpretation to answer the question presented by the request; 

 

d. The facts presented in the request are sufficient to answer the question 

presented; 

 

e. The request fails to contain information required by the rules or the requestor 

failed to follow the procedures set forth in these rules; 
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f. The request seeks to resolve issues which have become moot, or are abstract 

or hypothetical such that the requestor is not substantially affected by the 

statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought; 

 

g. No controversy exists concerning the issue as the requestor is not faced with 

existing fact or those certain to arise which raise a question concerning the 

application of the statute or rule; 

 

h. The question presented by the request concern the legal validity of a statute or 

rule; 

 

i. The request is not based upon facts calculated to aid in the planning of future 

conduct but is, instead, based on past conduct in an effort to establish the 

effect of that conduct; 

 

j. No clear answer is determinable; 

 

k. The question presented by the request involved the application of a criminal 

statute or a set of facts which may constitute a crime; 

 

l. The answer to the question presented would require the disclosure of 

information which is privileged or otherwise protected by law from 

disclosure; 

 

m. The question is currently the subject of an Attorney General’s opinion request 

or has been answered by an Attorney General’s opinion; 

n. A similar request is pending before this Board or any other agency or a 

proceeding is pending on the same subject matter before any agency, 

administrative or judicial tribunal, or where such an opinion would constitute 

the unauthorized practice of law; 

 

o. Where issuance of a declaratory opinion may adversely affect the interest of 

the State, the Board or any of their officers or employees in any litigation 

which is pending or may reasonably be expected to arise; 

 

p. The question involves eligibility for a license, permit, certificate or other 

approval by the Board or some other agency, and there is a statutory or 

regulatory application process by which eligibility for said license, permit, 

certificate or other approval would be determined.  

 

13. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible handwriting. 

Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size paper (8 ½ x 11 

inches). Request must be in the form of a letter addressed to the Board. 
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14. All requests must be mailed, delivered or transmitted via facsimile to the Board. 

The request shall clearly state that it is a request for a declaratory opinion. No 

oral, telephone request or email requests will be accepted for official opinion. 

 

15. Each request must include the full name, telephone number and mailing address 

of the requestor. All requests shall be signed by the person filing the request, who 

shall attest that the request complies with the requirements set forth in these rules 

including but not limited to a full, complete and accurate statement of relevant 

facts and that there are no related proceedings pending before any other 

administrative or judicial tribunal. 

 

16. Each request shall contain the following: 

 

a. A clear and concise statement of all facts on which the opinion is requested; 

 

b. A citation to the statute or rule at issue; 

 

c. The question(s) sought to be answered in the opinion, stated clearly; 

 

d. A suggested proposed opinion from the requestor, state the answers desired by 

the petitioner and a summary of the reasons in support of those answers; 

 

e. The identity of all other known persons involved in or impacted by the desired 

factual situation, including their relationship to the facts, name, mailing 

address and telephone number; and 

 

f. A statement to show that the person seeking the opinion has a substantial 

interest in the subject matter. 

17. Within forty-five (45) days after receipt of a request for a declaratory opinion 

which complies with the requirements of these rules, the Board shall in writing: 

 

a. Issue a declaratory opinion regarding the specified statute or rule as applied to 

the specified circumstances; 

 

b. Decline to issue a declaratory opinion, stating the reasons for its action; or 

 

c. Agree to issue a declaratory opinion by a specified time but not later than 

ninety (90) days after receipt of the written request. 

The forty-five (45) day period shall begin running on the first State of Mississippi 

business day on or after the request is received by the Board, whichever is sooner. 

18. A declaratory opinion shall not become final until the expiration of sixty (60) 

days after the issuance of the opinion. Prior to the expiration of sixty (60) says, 

the Board may, in its discretion, withdraw or amend the declaratory opinion for 

any reason which is not arbitrary or capricious. Reasons for withdrawing or 

amending an opinion include, but are not limited to, a determination that the 
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request failed to meet the requirements of these rules and that the opinion issued 

contains a legal or factual error. 

 

F. The Board may give notice to any person, agency or entity that a declaratory opinion has 

been requested and may receive and consider data, facts, arguments and opinions from 

other persons, agencies or other entities other than the requestor. 

 

G. Declaratory opinions and requests for declaratory opinions shall be available for public 

inspection and copying in accordance with the Public Records Act and the Board’s public 

records request procedure. All declaratory opinions and requests shall be indexed by 

name and subject. Declaratory opinions and requests which contain information which is 

confidential or exempt from disclosure under the Mississippi Public Records Act or other 

laws shall be exempt from this requirement shall remain confidential. 

 

H. The Board will not pursue any civil, criminal or administrative action against a person 

who is issued a declaratory opinion from the Board and who, in good faith, follows the 

direction of the opinion and acts in accordance therewith unless a court of competent 

jurisdiction holds that the opinion is manifestly wrong. Any declaratory opinion rendered 

by the Board shall be binding only on the Board and the person to whom the opinion is 

issued. No declaratory opinion will be used as precedent for any other transaction or 

occurrence beyond that set forth by the requesting person. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013), § 25-43-2.105 (Rev. 2006) 

 

Rule 1.13  Fees 

 

The following fees shall apply for the following purposes: 

 

A. Initial license/renewal for cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, or wig specialist .............50.00 

 

B. Instructor initial license/renewal ............................................................................................80.00 

 

C. Master cosmetologist license /renewal ..................................................................................70.00 

 

D. Delinquent renewal penalty -- cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, wig specialist and 

instructor ................................................................................................................................50.00 

 There shall be no renewal fee for any licensee seventy (70) years of age or older. 

 

E Salon application and initial inspection .................................................................................85.00 

 

F. Salon reinspection ..................................................................................................................35.00 

 

G. Salon change of ownership or location, or both ....................................................................85.00 

 

H. Salon renewal .........................................................................................................................60.00 

 

I. Salon delinquent renewal penalty ..........................................................................................50.00 
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J. Application and initial inspection for a new school...............................................................300.00 

 

K. New school reinspection ........................................................................................................100.00 

 

L. School change of ownership ..................................................................................................300.00 

 

M. School relocation ...................................................................................................................150.00 

 

N. School renewal .......................................................................................................................75.00 

 

O. School delinquent renewal penalty ........................................................................................100.00 

 

P. Duplicate license ....................................................................................................................10.00 

 

Q. Penalty for insufficient fund checks ......................................................................................20.00 

 

R. Affidavit processing ...............................................................................................................15.00 

 

S. The Board may charge additional fees for services, which the board deems appropriate to 

carry out its intent and purpose. These additional fees shall not exceed the cost of 

rendering the service. 

 

T. Refunds will automatically be made on overpayment of fees. Refunds will be made on 

under payments by written requests from applicants. If no request for refund is made 

within sixty (60) days, the fees will be forfeited. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-29 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 42: ExaminationsLicensure 

 

Rule 2.1  Licenses Issued by the Board 

 

The Board shall issue the following licenses: 

 

 1. Practitioner’s license 

  a. Cosmetologist 

  b. Esthetician 

  c. Manicurist 

  d. Master Cosmetologist 

  e. Master Manicurist 

  f. Master Esthetician 

 

 2. Instructor’s license 

  a. Cosmetologist 

  b. Esthetician 
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  c. Manicurist 

 

 3. Salon license 

 

 4. School license 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-14, 73-7-15, 73-7-18, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.2 Photograph Required on All Licenses 

 

A. Each licensee shall be required to submit two (2) passport photographs taken within 90 

days prior to application or renewal. All licenses shall include a passport photograph of 

the license holder. 

 

B. Where a salon or school is owned by two (2) or more individuals, the multiple owners 

shall designate one of the owners or another individual as the “license holder.” A passport 

photograph of the individual designated as license holder shall be printed on the 

establishment license. 

 

C. Where a salon is owned by a corporation, the passport photograph of the salon manager 

shall be printed on the salon license.  

 

D. Where a school is owned by a corporation, the passport photograph of the lead instructor 

shall be printed on the school license. 

 

E. Where the school is a high school or community college, the passport photograph of the 

campus or branch lead instructor shall be printed on the school license. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2013)   

 

Rule 2.3 Display of License and Certificate(s) of Proficiency; Photo Identification 

 

A. Every licensee must display his or her license in a conspicuous place within reading 

distance of the public. A practitioner’s place of business is his or her primary working 

area within the establishment. The posting of a photocopy of a license is prohibited. 

 

B. Any licensee utilizing or planning to utilize a power drill or electric filespecific device in 

any manicuring procedure  practice area of discipline must post the required certificate of 

proficiency at his/her primary working area in the establishment. 

 

C. A licensee shall make his or her government photo identification available upon request. 

Failure to provide government photo identification when requested by an agent of the 

Board will result in issuance of a citation for violation to the practitioner, owner and/or 

manger of the establishment. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 20122013) 
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Rule 6.32.4 Duplicate License 

 

A. A request for duplicate license shall be submitted in writing, on a form provided by the 

Board, to the Board office. Applicants for a duplicate license shall submit two (2) forms 

of identification. For the benefit of licensees who may be employed in more than one 

location, a request for a duplicate license may be made at the time of license renewal. 

Provided the proper fee is submitted. If more than one duplicate is requested during a 

licensing period, the licensee must provide a certified statement of the reason for the 

request. In the case of working in more than one salon, the individual and the salon owner 

must provide proof of the same. 

 

B. In order to insure that a request for the issuance of a duplicate license, which his made at 

any time other than at renewal, is indeed received from and for the benefit of the licensee 

to whom it is entitled, such requests must be accompanied by two forms of identification. 

Acceptable forms of identification may be driversdriver’s license, government issued ID 

card, Social Security card, school ID card with photograph, voter registration card, U.S. 

military card, Native American tribal document, birth certificate, passport, certificate of 

U.S. citizenship, certificate of naturalization, valid (unexpired) temporary resident card or 

employment authorization card. All applications and supporting documents must be 

submitted two (2) weeks prior to a Board meeting. Application will be reviewed for 

consideration by the Board. Upon review, the applicant will be notified of the Board’s 

decision. Only one duplicate license shall be issued during a licensing period, unless 

extenuating circumstances are presented for which an appearance, may be requested.  

 

CB. A licensee who has a duplicate license posted, shall make his or her government photo 

identification available upon request. Failure to provide government identification, when 

requested by an agent of the Board shall result in the issuance of a citation for violation to 

the ny individual who has a duplicate license posted will be required to provide proof of 

identity to any agent of the Board who is performing an inspection of the establishment in 

which they are working. Failure to do so will result in the issuance of a citation for 

violationpractitioner, owner and/or manager of the establishment. 

 

D. When a new or renewed license has been issued and mailed by the Board, but has not 

been received by the licensee, a duplicate license may be issued, at no charge to the 

licensee, under the following conditions: 

 

 1. The licensed has not been returned to the Board office. 

 

 2. A correct mailing address was provided to the Board. 

 

 3. The Board is notified of non-receipt of the license within four (4) months of the 

receipt date of the proper renewal fee, or in the case of a new license, within four 

(4) months of the actual license issue date. 

  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 
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Rule 2.5B. Out-Ddated License:  [From Ch. 4 Examinations] 

 

 1A.  Any person who has been licensed in this state, and whose license has 

expired  for a period of three (3) or moreto six (6) years, must make application for 

approval for examination. A one-time 90-day work permit may be granted. The fee for the 

one-time 90-day work permit shall be $20.00. After this time passes, no permit to work 

will be issued.  

 

 2B.  The application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by 

the Board and must be accompanied by: 

 

  a. The required fee. 

 

  b1. Two recent head passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 

days prior to application. 

 

 c2. Record of last renewal, including registration number, and date of 

expiration. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.66.2 Fees Receipts   

 

A. Renewal Fees: 

 

1. School License Renewal: A school owner who fails to renew his school license 

within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new application for 

licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-16, and Rule 2.15.2. 

 

2. Salon License Renewal: A salon owner who fails to renew his salon license 

within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new application for 

licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-17, and Rule 7.14.2. 

 

3. All Licensees: 

 

a. The postmark date on the transmittal envelope of the renewal application 

and fee is determinative in ascertaining whether receipt was prior to the 

expiration of the grace period. 

 

b. Application for renewal of licenses which are not accompanied by the 

provided renewal form are assessed a fee for lost renewal form. 

 

c. When an applicant for new or renewed license has not submitted required 

documentation or proper fee, applicant will be notified of same by mail, 

and license processing is placed on “hold” for a maximum of ninety (90) 
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days, during which time no additional fees or charges will be assessed. If 

however, a period of sixty (60) 90 days has passed without submittal of 

required information or balance due, credited fees are forfeited; refunds 

cannot be granted. 

 

d. The renewal fee for any licensee aged seventy (70) or older at time of 

renewal shall be waived when such licensee submits a copy of a 

government issued document demonstrating proof of age.  

 

B. Refunds of fees. 

 

1. Application for a new license. An applicant may make a written request to 

withdraw the application, under the following conditions: 

 

a. The application cannot, or has not been approved, for any reason 

 

b. The applicant has not been scheduled for examination 

 

c. In the case of an application for reciprocity, the license issuance process 

has not begun. 

 

d. In the case of an application for a new salon, an inspection has not 

occurred. 

 

2. Balance due on application fees. An applicant may submit a written request for a 

refund of application fees, either new or renewal, where there is a balance due, and 

the applicant does not wish to submit the additional fee. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-19 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 2.7  General provisions regarding licensure by examination 

 

A. Licensure examinations are provided for in-state and out-of-state applicants for 

practitioner and instructor licenses. 

 

B. Rule 4.3 Examinations 

 

A. An examination for any practitioner or instructor license is both written and practical and 

written. 

 

 1. The applicant must demonstrate by practical examination, minimal skills and  

  knowledge necessary for the license sought. 

 

2. The applicant must successfully demonstrate complete aby written examination, 

demonstrating knowledge of profession, health and safety methods, and 

procedures, and knowledge of Mississippi Statutes, and rules and regulations 
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pertinent to the practice necessary for the of cosmetology at the level of the license 

sought. 

 

BC. Grades necessary to pass the examination: 

 

1. Basic Examinations (Practitioner): A person taking the Board of Cosmetology 

examination will be granted a license to practice if such person makes an 

examination grade of not less than 70 scaled score on each portion of the practical 

examination, and not less than 70 scaled score on both the state and national 

written examination. 

 

2. Instructor ExamineeExamination: A person taking the Board of Cosmetology 

Instructor examination will be granted an instructor’s license to practice if such 

person makes an examination grade of not less than 75 scaled score on each 

portion of the practical examination, and not less than 75 scaled score on both the 

state and national written examination. 

 

C. Oral Examinations: If a person has failed to make a passing grade in the written segment 

of the basic examination, an oral examination may be considered upon the written request 

of the school in which his/her course of training was acquired. No oral examination will 

be considered on the first attempt, except in those cases where the individual has a 

disability as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act, and required special 

accommodation which could be satisfied with the administration of an oral examination. 

Rule 4.5 Failure to Qualify 

 

AD. Any applicant failing to pass the required examination after three attempts is not eligible 

for re-examination until he or she has returned to a school for additional training of no 

more than 10 percent of the prescribed course hours for the course of training for which 

application for licensure is being made.and met whatever criteria is deemed necessary by 

the school to prepare applicant for successful examination. 

 

BE. A candidate for licensure who has been unsuccessful in passing the examination is 

required to retake only the portion of the examination which was failed, up to a period of 

three years.  After three years, the grades are no longer valid and the candidate is required 

to take the entire examination, both written and practical. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2012)  

 

 

DF. The board Board will make and keepmaintain an accurate record of each examination as 

provided by the testing administrator. 

 

G. Each first time applicant for licensure shall show by way of affidavit that they are of 

“good moral character”, which shall be established by an absence of felony convictions or 

misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13 (Rev. 2013) 

 

 

Rule 4.12.8 Examination Eligibility for In-State Applicants 

 

A. Eligibility Requirements for Practitioner 

 

 1. Cosmetologists, manicurists, and estheticians, and wig specialists must: 

 

  a. Be at least 17 years of age. 

 

  b. Be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

  c. Have at least a twelfth (12th) grade education or its equivalent. 

 

   (1) Proof of completion of high school education may shall be 

submitted in the form of a diploma, or certified transcript which 

reflects graduation data. If the education was acquired by GED, 

original GED transcript must be submitted to the Board. 

  

 (2) Where the secondary education was obtained outside of the 

 United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of 

completion, along with an original  translation which has been 

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and 

which certifies that the document is considered to be proof of the 

equivalent of a 12
th

 grade education. 

 

 (3) A high school education received from a distance learning entity 

  will only be accepted if that entity is accredited by an accrediting 

agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education 

 

 (4) Any other document and/or affidavit which constitutes reliable  

 proof of completion of high school education may shall be required 

by the Board. 

  

 2. An application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the  

  Board and accompanied by the following: 

 

  a. Required fee. 

 

ba. Two recent head passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 

days prior to application. 

 

  c. Certified transcript of completion of a course of training for which  

 application for licensure is being made, as stipulated in Rule 3.3, and reflecting a grade 

average of no less than 85%. 
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  b. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change. 

  

 3. The Board will make rReasonable accommodations for candidates having a  

 physical or mental impairment that limits one or more major life activities, as 

defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act.  An “Accommodation Request 

Form” should be submitted withAn applicant’s request for accommodation should 

be completed on the application for approval  examinationfor examination. 

Additional information regarding qualifying for special accommodation should be 

addressed to the Board, attention of the School Coordinator’s Department. 

 

DB. Eligibility Requirements for Instructor – In-State:   [Moved from Ch.4 Rule 4.1 D] 

 

 1. Examination eligibility requirementsligibility requirements that must be met in 

order to take the examination:  

 

  a. Must be at least 21 years of age. 

 

  b. Must be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

  c. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency. 

 

  d. Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license. 

 

 e. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses 

  approved by the Board. 

 

 f. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which 

  application for licensure is being made. 

 

 g. Must have two (2) years of active practical experience in a licensed salon, 

or as an alternative to such experience, the following hours of instructor 

training shall apply: 

  (1) Cosmetologist – 2,000 hours of instructor training in an 

   accredited school of cosmetology. 

  (2) Esthetician – 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

   school in which the practice of esthetics is taught. 

  (3)  Manicurist – 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

   school in which the practice of manicuring is taught. 

 

 h. Must have successfully completed the following hours of instructor’s 

training: 

  (1) Cosmetologist – 750 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school of cosmetology 

  (2) Esthetician – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school in which the practice of esthetics is taught 

  (3) Manicurist – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited school 
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in which the practice of manicuring is taught 

 

  i. Must have attended at least one mandatory Board approved “Methods of 

   Teaching” Seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education 

   hours. 

 

 2. Application for approval for examination must be accompanied by: 

 

  a. Required fee. 

 

b a. Two (2) recent head passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to 

application. 

 

 b. Proof of completion of high school education or its equivalency. 

 

 c. Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which 

application for approval for examination is being made. 

 

 d. An affidavit certifying at least two (2) years of work experiences, if 

applicable. 

 

 de. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of twelve 

(12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board. 

 

 ef. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change, and 

 

 g. Copy of current practitioner’s license. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-18, 73-7-15, 73-7-1921 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

 

Rule 2.9 Examination Eligibility for Out-of-State Applicants 

 

CA. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – PractitionerOut of State Applicant:[Moved 

from former Rule 4.1] 

 

 

 1. Any person who is licensed by a state with whomin which Mississippi does not 

have provision for reciprocity licensure, or any student who is at least seventeen 

years of age, can read, write, and speak English, and has successfully completed a 

course of training in another state which meets this stateMississippi’s minimum 

requirements, but is not licensed in that state, may be eligible for licensure by 

examination. 

 

  The State’s minimum requirements are: 
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Cosmetologist  Cosmetologist 1500 hours 

Manicurist 350 hours 

Esthetician 600 hours 

Wigologist 300 hours 

 

2. Prior to making application for examination, the applicant must:The required 

documentation includes notifications of intent, affidavit/certification of training, 

and affidavit/certification of current licensure.  

 

 a. Complete an ApplicationNotification of Intent. The Board approved form, 

“Out of 

  State Applicant’s Application of Intent to Apply for Examination” must 

be completed in its entirety and submitted to the Mississippi State Board of 

Cosmetology. 

 

  (1) Provide information related to the completion of a course of  

   training which meets this state’s minimum requirements:  

 

Cosmetologist  Cosmetologist 1500 hours 

Manicurist 350 hours 

Esthetician 600 hours 

Wigologist 300 hours 

  

  The applicant must cause an affidavit or certification to be issued by the 

board in which the training was acquired or the license is held. If the 

state in which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in which 

the training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required; otherwise, 

the applicant must obtain two affidavits as applicable. 

 

b. The affidavit/certification of training. An affidavit or certification of the 

applicant’s course of training must be submitted to the Board office by the 

board in the state in which the training was acquired.  

 (2) The affidavit/certification of training must: 

   

(a) be mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board by the                                                                          

licensing authority. 

 

(b) bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority. 

 

(c) bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority. 

    

   (3) The affidavit/certification of training should 

contain, at a  

     minimum: 

 

(a)    (1)  applicant’s Applicant’s name and address 
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(b)   (2) applicant’s Applicant’s Registration Number or license 

identification number (if applicable) 

 

(c)    (3) the The course in which applicant was enrolled 

 

(d)    (4) total Total credit clock hours earned 

 

(e)   (5) date Date of completion or last attendance (Non licensed 

individuals only) 

 

    (6) Information regarding current license (if applicable), 

including expiration date and whether the licensee is in 

good standing. 

 

  c. The affidavit/certification of licensure. The applicant must cause an 

affidavit/certification of licensure to be issued by the board in which the 

license is held.  

  

  d. If the state in which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in 

which the training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required. 

Otherwise, the applicant must obtain two affidavits. 

  

  e. The affidavits/certifications must be mailed directly to the Mississippi 

State Board by the licensing authority, bear the seal-impress of the 

licensing authority, and bear at least one signature of an official of the 

licensing authority. 

  

(f) f.  

 

 (4) In the event the information cannot be provided by the licensing authority, it may 

be obtained from the attendant school; however it must be submitted to the 

Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology directly from the school or in a sealed 

envelope bearing the school “letterhead”, must bear the seal-impress of the school, 

and be certified by an agent of the school. In this case, the attendant school must 

submit the information directly to the Board. The information must: (1) be 

submitted in an envelope bearing the attendant school’s letterhead, (2) bear the 

seal impress of the school, and (3) be certified by an agent of the attendant school. 

The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology reserves the right to deny 

Certification of Training submitted by a school if it is determined that the 

information can be provided by the appropriate licensing authority. 

 

 3. b. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview 

 

 a.(1) Upon receipt of a completed Application of Intent and 

Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the examination 
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requirements of the state offor Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for 

an interview, and notified of the date and time. 

 

  

 

  

 

 (2)b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time  

  of the interview: 

 

  (1a) Photographic identification. 

 

  (ia) Applicant must present two (2) current passport 

photographs to be attached to his or her  application for for 

approval for examination.  A full face photo is required; profiles 

are not acceptable. The photograph must be recognizable as the 

person who is making application for examination. The person who 

is making application for approval for examination must be 

recognizable in the photograph. 

 

 (bii) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic 

identification card which contains the applicant’s signature and date 

of birth.  In the event of a name change, legal proof of the change 

must be presented.  

 

    (2b) Two additional forms of identification must 

be presented 

     by the applicant. In the event of a name 

change, legal 

     proof of the change must be presented. 

 

    (c3) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use 

an electric file  

     in any manicuring procedure a specific 

device in any practice area of discipline must present an acceptable the 

required  

certification of proficiency from Mississippi or another state  attesting to proper training in the 

use of the instrument. 

 

 c.(3) The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her  

  eligibility to apply for approval for examination. The following 

determinations will be made: 

 

   (1) The applicant is at least 17 years of age. 

 

(a)    (2)  
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(b) The applicant is able to read, write and speak English. 

 

(c) (3)  

 

(d) The applicant has a 12th grade education or its equivalent. 

The applicant must present, at the time of the interview, acceptable 

documentation evidencing completion of the 12th grade, or its 

equivalent.  Where the secondary education was obtained outside of 

the United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of 

completion, along with an original translation which has been 

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and 

which  certifies that the document is  

considered to be the equivalent of a 12th grade education.  

 

Additional information may be required if it has been determined, 

or there is reason to believe that a candidate for examination has 

completed high school under one or more of the following 

circumstances: 

 

(i) (a) The institution is not accredited by the Department of 

Education in the relevant state. 

 

(ii)  (b) The institution is not accredited by a recognized   

  proprietary school accrediting association. 

 

(iii)  (c) The candidate may have completed a self-study course. 

 

(e) (4) The candidate will not be considered to have a 12
th

 grade education or its 

equivalent if it is determined that one or more of the following 

circumstances exist: 

 

(i) (a) The institution from which the diploma or transcript was 

acquired is not sanctioned or accredited by a state supported 

educational credentialing entity, or 

 

(ii) (b) The candidate completed a self study program in which 

progress examinations and final examinations were not 

physically supervised by one or more staff members of the 

institution or a recognized examination 

administration/proctor service. 

 

 43. If an applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory to  prove that, of meeting all 

requirements for approval for examination have been met, he or she will be 

advised that the application of intent cannot be acceptedwill be rejected, and the 

reason for the same. The applicant will be advised, in writing, of the right to a 
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show causen administrative hearing before the Board. 

  

 45. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, he or 

she will be required to submit an out-of-state Application for Approval for 

Examination, which must be completed in its entirety.: 

 

a. Complete an Application for Examination. The Board approved form, “Out 

of State Applicants/Application for Examination”, must be completed in its 

entirety. 

 

b. Pay the required fee. The prevailing fee is that which has been established 

by Section 73-7-29 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, and may 

be submitted by personal check, cashier’s check, money order, or cash. 

 

c. Take the practical examination, the National written examination, and the 

State written examination. 

 

 

EB. Eligibility Requirements for Examination -Out of State Instructor (First – Time 

Licensure): 

 

 1. Examination eligibility requirements:Eligibility requirements that must be met in 

order to take the examination: 

 

a. Must be at least 21 years of age. 

 

b. Must be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

c. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency. 

 

d. Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license. 

 

e. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses 

approved by the Board. 

 

f. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which 

application for licensure is being made. 

 

g. Must have two (2) years of active practical experience in a licensed salon, 

or as an alternative to such experience, the following shall apply:  

 

 (1) Cosmetologist – 2,000 of instructor training in an accredited school 

of cosmetology. 

 (2) Esthetician – 1,000 of instructor training in an accredited school in 

which the practice of esthetics is taught. 

 (3) Manicurist – 1,000 of instructor training in an accredited school in 
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which the practice of manicuring is taught. 

 

h. Must have successfully completed the following hours of instructor’s 

training: 

 

 (1) Cosmetologist – 750 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school of cosmetology. 

 (2) Esthetician – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school in which the practice of esthetics is taught. 

 (3) Manicurist – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited school 

in which the practice of manicuring is taught. 

 

i. Must have attended one mandatory Board “methods of teaching” seminar 

earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education hours. 

 

 2. The application packet must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board and 

   must be accompanied by: 

 

a. Required fee. 

 

ba. Two (2) recent head passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to 

application. 

 

cb. Proof of completion of high school education or its equivalenteligibility 

requirements. 

 

dc. An affidavit, on a form approved by the Board,  completed and signed by 

the board official in the state from which the current license is held, 

attesting to education and licensure status and any disciplinary action 

within the past five (5) years. 

 

d.  Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which 

application for approval for examination being made or an affidavit 

attesting to education. 

 

e. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of twelve 

(12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board. 

 

f. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change. 

 

fg. Copy of Ccurrent Mississippi practitioner’s license. 

 

 3. Any applicant who uses or propose to teach a specific device  in any practice area 

of discipline must present the required certification of teaching proficiency for 

Mississippi or another state attesting to proper training in the use and/or teaching 

of the device.  
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  If an applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory to prove that all requirements 

for approval for examination have been met, he or she will be advised that the 

application of intent will be rejected and the reason for the same. The applicant 

will be advised, in writing, of the right to a show cause hearing before the Board.  

 

  If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements he or 

she will be required to submit an out-of-state application for approval for 

examination, which must be completed in its entirety.  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-18, 73-7-15, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013) 

 

 

FRule 2.10. Examination Eligibility for Out -of -Country Applicants.: 

 

 1A. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Practitioner 

 

 1. Any person who is licensed or registered to practice by a country other than the 

United  States, or any person who has successfully completed a course of training 

in a country other than the United States, which meets this state’s minimum 

requirements, may submit an application for approval for examination. 

 

   The state’s minimum requirements are: 

 

    

 

 

 

 2. The required documentation includes notification of intent, affidavit/certification 

of training, and affidavit/certification of current licensure. 

 

  a. Notification of Intent. The form must be completed in its entirety and 

submitted to the Board. 

 

  b. The affidavit/certificate of training. An affidavit or certification of the 

applicant’s course of training must be submitted to the Board office by the 

board in the state in which the training was acquired. The 

affidavit/certification of training should, at a minimum contain: 

 

   (1) Applicant’s name and address 

 

   (2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number 

(if applicable) 

 

   (3) The course in which applicant was enrolled 

 

Cosmetologist 1500 hours 

Manicurist 350 hours 

Esthetician 600 hours 
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   (4) Total clock hours earned 

 

   (5) Date of completion or last attendance (Non licensed individuals 

only) 

 

   (6) Information regarding current license (if applicable), including 

expiration date and whether the licensee is in good standing. 

 

c. The affidavit/certification of licensure. The applicant must cause an 

affidavit/certification of licensure to be issued by the board in which the 

license is held. 

 

d. The affidavits/certifications must be mailed directly to the Board by the 

licensing authority, bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority, and 

bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority.  

 

e. In the event the information cannot be provided by the licensing authority, 

it may be obtained from the attendant school. In this case, the attendant 

school must submit the information directly to the Board. The information 

must: (1) be submitted in an envelope bearing the attendant school’s 

letterhead, (2) bear the seal-impress of the school, and (3) be certified by an 

agent of the attendant school. The Board reserves the right to deny 

Certification of Training submitted by a school if it is determined that the 

information can be provided by the appropriate licensing authority.  

 

 3. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview 

 

  a. Upon receipt of a completed Applicant of Intent and Affidavit/Certification 

of Training, which meets the examination requirements for Mississippi, the 

applicant is scheduled for an interview, and notified of the date and time. 

 

  b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the 

interview: 

 

   (1)  Photographic identification. 

 

    (a) Applicant must present two (2) current passport 

photographs to be attached to his or her application for 

approval for examination. The person who is making 

application for examination must be recognizable in the 

photograph. 

 

    (b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic 

identification card which contains the applicant’s signature 

and date of birth. In the event of a name change, legal proof 

of the change must be presented. 
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   (2) Two additional forms of identification must be presented by the 

applicant. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name 

change must be presented. 

 

   (3) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in any 

practice area of discipline must present the required certification of 

proficiency attesting to proper training in the use of the instrument.  

 

  c. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to 

apply for approval for examination. The following determinations will be 

made: 

 

   (1) The applicant is at least 17 years of age. 

 

   (2) The applicant is able to read, write and speak English. 

 

   (3) The applicant has a 12
th

 grade education or its equivalent. The 

applicant must present, at the time of the interview, acceptable 

documentation evidencing completion of the 12
th

 grade, or its 

equivalent. Where the secondary education was obtained outside of 

the United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of 

completion, along with an original translation which has been 

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and 

which certifies that the document is considered to be the equivalent 

of a 12
th

 grade education. 

 

  d. If an applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, 

he or she will be required to submit an out-of-country Application for 

Approval for Examination, which must be completed in its entirety. 

 

 5. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, he or 

she will be required to submit an out-of-country Applicant for Approval for 

Examination, which must be completed in its entirety.  

 

B. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Instructor (First-Time Licensure) 

 

 1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination: 

 

  a. Must be at least 21 years of age 

 

  b. Must be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

  c. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency. 

 

  d. Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license. 
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 e. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses 

  approved by the Board. 

 

 f. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which 

  application for licensure is being made. 

 

 g. Must have two (2) years of active practical experience in a licensed salon, 

or as an alternative to such experience, the following hours of instructor 

training shall apply: 

  (1) Cosmetologist – 2,000 hours of instructor training in an 

   accredited school of cosmetology. 

  (2) Esthetician – 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

   school in which the practice of esthetics is taught. 

  (3)  Manicurist – 1,000 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

   school in which the practice of manicuring is taught. 

 

 h. Must have successfully completed the following hours of instructor’s 

training: 

  (1) Cosmetologist – 750 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school of cosmetology 

  (2) Esthetician – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited 

school in which the practice of esthetics is taught 

  (3) Manicurist – 600 hours of instructor training in an accredited school 

in which the practice of manicuring is taught 

 

  i. Must have attended at least one mandatory Board approved “Methods of 

   Teaching” seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education 

   hours. 

 

 2. The application packet must be accompanied by: 

 

a. Two (2) recent passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to 

application. 

 

b. Proof of eligibility requirements. 

 

c. An affidavit  completed and signed by the board official in the state from 

which the current license is held, attesting to licensure status and any 

disciplinary action within the past five (5) years. 

 

d.  Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which 

application for approval for examination being made or an affidavit 

attesting to education. 

 

e. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of twelve 
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(12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board. 

 

f. An affidavit certifying at least two (2) years of work experience, if 

applicable. 

 

g. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change. 

 

h. Copy of current practitioner’s license. 

 

i. Any applicant who uses or proposes to teach a specific device in any 

practice area of discipline must present the required certification of 

teaching proficiency from Mississippi or another state attesting to proper 

training in the use and/or teaching of the device. 

 

 C2. The application must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board and must  

  be accompanied by: 

 

a. The required fee. 

 

b.a. Two recent head passport photographs taken within 90 days prior to application. 

 

c.b. A copy of current out-of-country license or certificates. 

 

d.c. Proof of completion of high school education or GED by way of certified high school 

transcript, certified GED transcript or other means as the Board may deem acceptable. All 

transcripts must be submitted by the applicant in sealed envelopes from the school in which the 

degree was obtained. Proof of at least a 12th grade education or its equivalent. 

 

e.d. Certification from the registering agency or the school in which the training was acquired, 

reflecting the number of training hours earned, and the curriculum subjects. 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 6 Licensing 

 

Rule 6.12.11 Licensure by  Reciprocity - Practitioner 

 

A. An individual who holds a current license from another state with whom Mississippi ishas 

a reciprocal agreement may be eligible for licensure a practitioner license  in accordance 

with Miss. Code Ann. Law, Section 73-7-23. The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology 

maintains a list of states with whom Mississippi is reciprocal. 

 

B. Prior to making application for reciprocity, the applicant mustApplication Process: 

 

1. Complete an Application of Intentfor Reciprocity, which . The Board approved 

form, “Out of State Applicant’s Application of Intent to Apply for Reciprocity,” 

must be completed in its entirety and submitted to the Mississippi State Board of 

Cosmetology. 
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a. The applicant must cause an affidavit or certification to be issued by the 

board in which the training was acquired or the license is held. If the state 

in which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in which the 

training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required. Where the 

current license is held in one state and original license or education was 

obtained in a different state, and the state of current licensure will not attest 

to the applicant’s training, an affidavit is also required from the state of 

origin. 

 

b. The affidavit/certification of training must: 

 

(1) Be mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board by the licensing 

authority. 

 

(2) Bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority. 

 

(3) Bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority. 

 

c. The affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a minimum: 

 

(1) Applicant’s name and address, 

 

(2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number, 

 

(3) The course in which applicant was enrolled, 

 

(4) Total credit clock hours earned, 

 

(5) Information regarding current license, including expiration date and 

whether the licensee is in good standing. 

 

d. Each applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall show by way of affidavit 

that they are of “good moral character”, which shall be established by an 

absence of felony convictions or misdemeanor convictions involving 

moral turpitude. 

 

2. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview 

 

a. Upon receipt of a completed Application of Intent Reciprocity and 

Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the reciprocity 

requirements of the state of Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an 

interview, and notified of the date and time. 

 

b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the 

interview: 
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(1) Photographic identification. 

 

(a) Applicant must present two (2)a current passport 

photographs to be attached to his or her application for 

reciprocity. A full face photo is required; profiles are not 

acceptable. The photograph must be recognizable as the 

person who is making application for reciprocity. 

 

(b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic 

identification card which contains the applicant’s signature 

and date of birth. In the event of a name change, legal 

proof of the change must be presented. 

 

(2) Two additional forms of government-issued identification must be 

presented by the applicant. In the event of a name change, legal 

proof of the change must be presented. 

 . 

(3) A current, valid out of state practitioner license. The license will 

be reviewed to determine that all information contained in it 

including name, registration number, social security number, 

etc.,and expiration date of license, matches the information which 

was provide in the affidavit. 

 

(4) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use an electric file specific 

device in any practice area of discipline in any manicuring 

procedure must present an acceptable certification certificate of 

proficiency obtained in Mississippi or another state attesting to 

proper training in the use of the instrumentdevice. 

 

c. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to be 

licensed by reciprocity. The interview will be recorded. The following 

determinations will be made: 

 

(1) to determine that the applicant is at least 17 years of age. 

 

(2) to determine that the applicant is able to read, write and speak 

English. 

 

C. If the applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory, of meeting all requirements for 

reciprocity, he or she will be advised that the application cannot be accepted, and the 

reason for same. The applicant will be advised, in writing, of the right to an 

Administrative Hearing before the Board. 

 

D. If the applicant is deemed to meet all reciprocity eligibility requirements, he or she is 

required to: 
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1. Complete an Application for Reciprocity. The Board approved form, “Application 

for Licensure by Reciprocity,” must be completed in its entirety. 

 

 2. Pay the required fee. The prevailing fee is that which has been established  

  by Law, Section 73-7-29, of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended and 

may be submitted by personal check,  

  cashier’s check, money order, or cash. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-23 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 2.12 License by Reciprocity - Instructor 

 

A. Eligibility Requirements for Instructor Licensure by Reciprocity  

 

An instructor from any other state may be qualified for a Mississippi instructor’s license 

by satisfying the following requirements: 

 

 1. Must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. 

 

 2. Must be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

 3. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency. 

 

 4. Must possess a valid instructor’s license. 

 

5. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by 

the Board. 

  

6. Must have completed training equivalent to Mississippi’s training as provided in 

Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-7-15, or have three (3) years or more of experience as 

a licensed instructor prior to application. 

 

7. Must have completed a minimum of five (5) continuing education (CE) hours in 

Mississippi Board laws, rules and regulations. The fee for five (5)-hour CE 

seminar shall be $75.00. The dates and times for the CE seminar shall be posted on 

the Board’s website.  

 

8. Each applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall show by way of affidavit that they 

are of “good moral character”, which shall be established by an absence of felony 

convictions or misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude. 

 

B. When College Courses Requirement Not Completed at the Time of Application 

  

An applicant for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity who has not completed 

the college courses requirement at the time of application may apply for a one-time 
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temporary teaching permit, which shall be valid for six (6) months and shall be 

nonrenewable. See Rule 3.3. The request for the one-time temporary teaching permit must 

be made on the application for instructor’s license by reciprocity. Such application must 

be accompanied by proof of enrollment in college course(s), required permit fee of 

$25.00, two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant and other documentation as 

required for application for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity. Upon proof of 

completion of college courses and payment of the required license fee, a Mississippi 

instructor’s license shall be issued.  

  

C. The application packet, which must be completed in its entirety, must be accompanied by 

the following: 

 

 1. Two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant. 

 

 2. Proof of eligibility requirements as established in this Rule. 

  

3. The required license fee. (Exception: If the applicant has not completed the college 

courses requirement at the time of application, the license fee shall be paid at the 

time when proof of completion of college courses has been submitted to the Board 

office.)  

 

D. The application packet may be accompanied by a one-time temporary teaching permit fee 

of $25.00 if the applicant has not completed the college courses requirement at the time of 

application and desires to apply for the one-time temporary teaching permit. See Rule 3.3. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-15, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013) 

 

 

G. Grade Average  [deleted from Rule 4.1(G)] 

 

1. All students enrolled in a school as an instructor trainee, cosmetologist, 

manicurist, esthetician, or wig specialist, must maintain an average grade of not 

less than 85% in both the theory and practical segments of the course in order to 

be eligible to apply for examination for licensure. 

 

2. Any student with a final transcript indicating that there is less than the 85% 

average in either or both segments, must first return to school and successfully 

pass any testing or meet whatever criteria that the school may set forth to bring the 

average to the required 85%, prior to being accepted for examination. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-15, 73-7-18, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2012)  

 

Rule 2.13 Reciprocity for Military Personnel and Military Spouses 

 

In accordance with the requirements of Miss. Code Ann. § 73-50-1, a military trained or military 

spouse applicant may gain licensure to practice in the State of Mississippi under the following 
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circumstances: 

 

A. For a military-member applicant: 

 

 1. Must show proof of licensure by a state Cosmetology regulatory board that is in 

good standing and be actively practicing. Proof of licensure shall include 

presentation of a current valid out-of-state license and submission of an affidavit 

mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology by the licensing 

authority that contains the following: 1) the seal-impress of the licensing authority; 

2) at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority; 3) the applicant’s 

name and address; 4) the applicant s registration number or license identification 

number; and 5) the courses in which the applicant was enrolled, total clock hours 

earned, and information regarding current license. 

 

 Or, as an unlicensed cosmetologist graduating within the last 2 years, applicant 

must show proof by way of affidavit of completion of a course of Cosmetology 

study from a board approved Cosmetology school. 

 

       2. Must make a passing score on the Mississippi licensure exam. 

 

 3. Must appear for an application eligibility interview and show the following: 1) 

present two (2) current passport photos attached to the application for reciprocity; 

2) present two (2) forms of government-issued identification; 3) proof that the 

applicant is at least seventeen (17) years of age; 4) demonstrate the ability to read 

write and speak English; and 5) any applicant that proposes to use a specific device 

in any are of cosmetology must present a certificate of sufficiency obtained in a 

state in good standing attesting to proper training in the use of the device.  

 

 4. An applicant for an instructor’s license must have completed a minimum of five 

(5) continuing education hours in Mississippi Board of Cosmetology laws, rules 

and regulations at the time of application. 

       

 

B. For a military spouse: 

 

 1. Must show evidence that the applicant is a legal spouse of an active member of the 

military. 

 

2. Must show proof of licensure by a state Cosmetology regulatory board that is in 

good standing and be actively practicing.  Proof of licensure shall include 

presentation of a current valid out-of-state license and submission of an affidavit 

mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology by the licensing 

authority that contains the following: 1) the seal-impress of the licensing authority; 

2) at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority; 3) the Applicant’s 

name and address; 4) the applicant s registration number or license identification 

number; and 5) the courses in which the applicant was enrolled, total clock hours 
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earned, and information regarding current license. 

 

 Or, as an unlicensed cosmetologist graduating within the last 2 years, applicant 

must show proof by way of affidavit of completion of a course of Cosmetology 

study from a board approved Cosmetology school. 

 

 3. Must show competency by make a passing score on the Mississippi licensure 

exam. 

 

 4. Must appear for an application eligibility interview and show the following: 1) 

present two (2) current passport photos attached to the application for reciprocity; 

2) present two (2) forms of government-issued identification; 3) proof that the 

applicant is at least seventeen (17) years of age; 4) demonstrate the ability to read 

write and speak English; and 5) any applicant that proposes to use a specific device 

in any are of cosmetology must present a certificate of sufficiency obtained in a 

state in good standing attesting to proper training in the use of the device. 

 

 5. An applicant for an instructor’s license must have completed a minimum of five 

(5) continuing education hours in Mississippi Board of Cosmetology laws, rules 

and regulations at the time of application. 

       

Source: Miss Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-15, and 73-50-1 (Rev. 2013). 

 

 

 

 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 3:  Permits 
 

Rule 1.10 3.1 Demonstrator’s Permit   

 

An establishment must not allow a product demonstrator to demonstrate any product without a 

permit which has been issued in accordance with Section 73-7-25 of the Mississippi Code of 

1972 as amended. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-25 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 43.2 Permit to Work 

 

A. Student, or Student Instructor: 

 

 1. Any student or student instructor who has completed the total number of  

 prescribed hours in a course of training may be issued a permit to work valid for 

90 days in that capacity, upon request, provided the following requirements have 

been met: 
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a. An application for approval  for examination has been made, and approved 

by the board. 

 

 b. An application for a permit to work has been submitted on a form 

  approved by the Board, which includes the following information: 

 

(5) Name and address of the establishment in which application 

applicant is to be employed. 

 

(6) Establishment registration number, current license number and 

expiration date of license. 

 

(7) Name of supervising licensee. (Supervisor) 

 

(8) Supervisor registration number, current license number, and 

expiration date of license. 

  

 2. A Ppermit to work is not processed unless a) all information is complete,  or b) if 

either the establishment or supervisor licenses are is expired, or c) if false 

information is reflected on the application. 

 

c. The supervising licensee must be employed on a full-time basis by the 

establishment in which the student/student instructor has made application 

for a permit. If it is necessary for the supervisor to be out of the salon 

establishment on occasion, another licensed practitionersupervising 

licensee must be designated to oversee the work of the student/student 

instructor. 

 

d. A student instructor who has been issued a permit to work is not required 

to be under the constant direct supervision of a licensed instructor. 

  

 3. An approved permit to work will be sent, in the applicant’s name, directly to the 

  employing establishment. 

 

c. Any student/student instructor found by a Board agent to be working in 

any establishment before receipt of his or her a temporary permit or 

without a licensed supervisor to work will be sent home by the state board 

agentissued a citation. 

 

d. Any establishment owner found to be employing a student without a 

temporary work permit will be cited shall be issued a citation  for 

employing non-licensed personnel, and such case could shall be cause for 

establishment license suspension of the establishment license. 

  

 4. If any student/student instructor has received a temporary permit to work and fails 

any portion of  
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  the practical or written examination, that student is no longer eligible to work. 

 

c. The student/student instructor and the employing establishment will be 

notified of the student’s ineligibility to work. 

 

d. The employing establishment will be notified to return the permit 

immediately. Failure to do so, or for the student/student instructor to 

continue working, could be considered just cause for suspension of the 

establishment license and denial of the student’s licensurewill result in a 

issuance of a notice of an administrative hearing to the establishment 

owner(s) and student instructor.. 

 

5. Failure to appear for examination when called, results in cancellation of permit to 

work, except in the case of documented illness or death in the immediate family. 

 

a. The student and the employing establishment will be notified of the 

student’s ineligibility to work. 

 

b. The employing establishment will be notified to return the permit 

immediately. Failure to do so or for the student to continue working could 

be considered just cause for suspension of the establishment license, and 

denial of the student’s licensure. 

 

65. No student under the authority of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology 

mayshall work for compensation as a practitioner in an establishment salon while 

in the process of acquiring theirhis or her training. 

 

6. Outdated License – See Rule 2.5. 

 

B. Out-dated Applicant 

 

Any applicant who has been previously licensed in this state and who has failed to renew 

their license within a three year period may be issued a Permit to Work, under the 

following conditions:  

Application for examination is made within three years of the out- dated status, 

that is, up to six years from the date of license expiration. After this time has 

passed, no Permit to Work will be issued. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13  (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 3.3 One-Time Temporary Teaching Permit for Applicant for Instructor’s License by 

Reciprocity 

 

A. Any applicant for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity who has not 

completed the college course(s) requirement at the time of application may be 

issued a one-time temporary teaching permit valid for six months and shall be non-
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renewable. All other requirements must be met at the time of application for 

instructor’s license by reciprocity.  

 

B. The request for a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be made on the 

application for instructor’s license by reciprocity. See Rule  2.12.  

  

(1) Name and address of the school in which the applicant is to be 

employed. 

 

(2) School registration number, current license number and expiration 

date of license. 

 

(3) Name of supervising instructor(s). 

 

(4) Supervisor registration number, current license number, and 

expiration date of license. 
 

C. The request for a one-time temporary teaching permit must be accompanied by 

the following: 

 (1) Proof of enrollment in college course(s) 

 (2) Required permit fee of $25.00 

   (3) Two (2) passport photographs taken within ninety (90) days prior 

to the application or renewal 

(4) Other documentation as required for application for a Mississippi 

instructor’s license by reciprocity. 

 D. Procedures for Use of the One-Time Temporary Teaching Permit 

1. An approved one-time temporary teaching permit shall be issued in the 

applicant’s name and mailed to the employing school. 

2. The applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity who has been 

issued a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be required to be under 

the direct supervision of a licensed instructor. 

3. The supervising instructor shall be employed on a full-time basis by the 

school where the applicant for instructor’s license by reciprocity will be 

employed. 

4. When it is necessary for the supervising instructor to be away from the 

school on occasion, another licensed instructor shall be designated to 

supervise the work of the applicant for an instructor’s license by 

reciprocity who is working pursuant to a one-time temporary teaching 

permit. 
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5. Any applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity who is found 

working in any school before receipt of the one-time temporary teaching 

permit will be issued a citation by the Board agent. 

6. Any school owner employing an applicant for an instructor’s license by 

reciprocity without a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be issued a 

citation by the Board agent, and such case may be cause for suspension of 

the school license. 

7. The one-time temporary permit shall be returned immediately to the Board 

office in the event the applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity 

who holds the said permit ceases employment with the employing school 

of record or withdraws his or her application for an instructor’s license by 

reciprocity. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13  (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 3.4 

 One-Time 90 Day Permit for Practitioner Who’s License Has Expired for A 

Period of Three or More Years 

 

Any person who has been licensed in this state, and whose license has expired for a period of 

three (3) or more years, must make application for approval for examination. A one-time 90-day 

work permit may be granted. The fee for the one-time 90-day work permit shall be $ 20.00. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013) 

 

 

Rule 4.4 Examination Fee Forfeiture  

The fee received for application for examination and licensure is forfeited if: 

 

A. Licensure fee: An applicant fails to appear for examination within 90 days of receipt of 

application, provided however, in no case will forfeiture occur because of failure of the 

board to schedule an approved applicant for examination. 

 

B. Examination Fee: Applicant fails to appear for examination when scheduled except in the 

case of documented illness or death in immediate family. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2012)  

 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 4:7 Approval of Salons 

 

 

Rule 1.9 Personnel 4.1 Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice 
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Receptionists, maids janitorial and other unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from 

practicing cosmetology, manicuring, or esthetics, or wigology in any manner. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 7.14.2 Procedure for the Opening of A New Salon 

 

A. A proposed salon owner must submit an application for licensure to operate a salon. An 

incomplete application will not be processed. n application for a license to operate a 

salon must be submitted on a form prescribed and provided by the board, accompanied by 

such evidence, statements or documents as therein required and filed with the board at its 

office in Jackson, Mississippi. 

 

1. The following information is required on the application: 

 

a. The name of the proposed salon. 

 

b. The address, location and the phone number of the proposed salon. 

 

c. The name(s) and address(es) of the proposed owner(s). If a partnership or 

corporation, the name and addressed of all principals must be provided. 

 

d. Owner’s’ Social Security Number(s) 

 

e. If the proposed owner/manager is not a licensed practitioner, the name and 

registration number of an individual working full-time in the establishment 

and licensed by this boardBoard must be provided, who will manage salon. 

 

f. Any applicant for a salon license desiring to limit the practice to 

manicuring or esthetics or wigology only, must so state on the application, 

and any licensed issued to the establishment, authorizes only the practice, 

as applied for. 

 

2. In addition to the above, the following information must be submitted with the 

application: 

 

a. Required fee. 

 

b. Two (2) passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to application. 

 

c. A list of the equipment the salon proposes to have on hand. 

 

3. An incomplete application will be returned to the applicant within thirty (30) days 

after receipt by the board, with the cause of return.After receipt of the application 

and verification of the data, a Board inspector will contact the proposed owner to 

schedule an inspection appointment. 
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4. The salon application will be cancelled and the fee will be forfeited under the 

following circumstances: 

 

 a. Where an application has been submitted andAn inspection appointment is 

postponed by the proposed salon owner beyond  is not ready for inspection 

within 90 days after receipt, the application will be canceled and the fee 

will be forfeited. 

 b. The proposed salon owner(s) is a no-show for the inspection appointment 

and fails to send a representative. 

 

B. Inspection and Approval for Licensure: 

 

1. If the application is found to be in order,During the inspection appointment, the 

board Board will conduct an inspection of the premises to determine if all 

requirements, as indicated in the law, including minimum equipment requirements, 

have been strictly adhered to by the owner(s) of the proposed salon. If the 

requirements are not met, and the inspector cannot approve the salon, there will be 

an additional fee for each inspection made before licensing the salon. 

 

2. Temporary Verbal Permission: After receipt of application, and verification of 

data, a proposed salon may receive temporary verbal permission to operate 

pending final inspection and approval, however, if the physical inspection reveals 

that any licensing requirements are deficient, final approval cannot be 

recommended and the verbal permission will be immediately withdrawn. 

 

a. Applicant should allow at least three working days after mailing salon 

application in order to insure receipt of application in the board offices. 

After this period of time, applicant may call the board office and request 

“Temporary Verbal Permission to operate.” 

 

b. In order to receive temporary verbal permission, the salon should be ready 

for operation by meeting all minimum equipment requirements as set forth 

in Rule 702 below. 

 

  c. Temporary verbal permission does not constitute final approval of 

    the salon, which may only be granted by physical inspection as set 

    forth above. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-17 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 7.24.3 Required Equipment for Salons 

 

A. Full Service Cosmetology Salon: A cosmetology salon providing full service (hair, 

manicuring/pedicuring and esthetics) must have and keep maintained in proper working 

order and condition the following minimum equipment in order to be approved and pass 
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annual inspection for licensurea full service cosmetology salon license: 

 

1. Outside sign.Signs 

 

 a. Outside – Business 

 

 b. Hours of Operation. 

 

2. One (1) dresser or work station with mirror for each cosmetologist.practitioner  

 

3. One (1) shampoo bowl and chair 

 

4. One (1) dryer per two work stations.  (For purposes of this rule, a dryer is defined 

as “a chair or standing hair dryer with a hood, either stationary or portable.”) 

 

5. Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes per practitionercosmetologist. 

 

6. Adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean towels.One 

(1) covered towel container for soiled towels.  

 

7. Adequate number of covered towel container(s) of solid construction for soiled 

towels.Closed cabinet for clean towels. 

 

8. One (1) wet sterilizer per practitionercosmetologist. 

 

9. One (1) dry sanitizer. (Any clean, closed container is considered adequate)  

 

10. Adequate number of cCovered trash cans of solid construction. 

 

10. Sufficient equipment for giving complete beauty service. 

 11.  One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist. 

 

 12.  One (1) patron chair and manicurist stool per manicurist. 

 

 13. One (1) wet sanitizer for clean manicuring implement(s). (Any clean, closed 

container is considered adequate). 

 

 14. One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist. 

 

 15. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist. 

 

 16. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean manicuring implement(s). (Any clean closed 

container is considered adequate). 

 

17. Treatment area(s) located so as to ensure the privacy of the esthetics client.  
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18. One (1) treatment bed, table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per esthetician. 

 

19. One (1) lavatory for each esthetics treatment area.  

 

20. One (1) covered container for soiled linens in each esthetics treatment area.  

 

21. One (1) closed cabinet of solid construction for clean linens in each esthetics 

treatment area. 

 

22. One (1) closed cabinet for esthetics supplies. 

 

23. One (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) estheticians.  

 

24. One (1) woods lamp per two (2) estheticians. 

 

25. One (1) wet sterilizer per esthetician. 

  

27. One (1) dry sterilizer per esthetician. 

 

28. Covered trash can of solid construction for each esthetics treatment area. 

 

29. An adequate supply of client drapes and linens (towels, sheets, and pillow covers. 

 

30. Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving full salon services. 

 

B. Limited Service Cosmetology Salon: A cosmetology salon must have and keep 

maintained in proper working order and condition the following minimum equipment in 

order to be approved and pass annual inspection and may provide limited service, which 

must include hair services. Optional services for a cosmetology salon offering limited 

service include manicuring/pedicuring and/or esthetics (face only).  

 

1. Hair Services (Required). The following equipment is required for a limited 

service cosmetology salon:  

 

a. Signs 

(1) Outside – Business 

 (2) Hours of Operation. 

 

b. One (1) dresser or work station with mirror for each cosmetologist. 

 

c. One (1) shampoo bowl and chair. 

 

d. One (1) dryer per two work stations.  (For purposes of this rule, a dryer is 

defined as a chair or standing hair dryer with a hood, either stationary or 

portable.) 
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e. Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes per cosmetologist. 

 

f. An adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean 

towels. 

 

g. An adequate number of covered towel container(s) for soiled towels.  

 

h. One (1) wet sterilizer per cosmetologist. 

 

i. One (1) dry sanitizer. (Any clean, closed container is considered adequate)  

 

j. An adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction. 

 

k. Sufficient equipment and supplies for providing complete hair services. 

 

2. Manicuring/Pedicuring Services (Optional Service) – The following equipment is 

required when manicuring/pedicuring services are offered in a limited service 

cosmetology salon:  

 

a. One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist. 

 

b. One (1) patron chair and practitioner stool per manicurist. 

 

c. One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist. 

  

d. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist. 

 

e. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean implements.  (Any clean, closed container is 

considered adequate). 

 

f. An adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for 

manicuring/pedicuring supplies. 

 

g. An adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean 

towels. 

 

h. An adequate number of covered towels container(s) for soiled towels. 

 

i. Sufficient equipment and supplies for providing manicuring/pedicuring 

services. 

 

3. Esthetics Services – Face Only (Optional Service) – The following equipment is 

required when esthetics services (face only) are offered in a limited service 

cosmetology salon:  

 

a. One (1) closed cabinet for supplies. 



169 
 

 

b. One (1) portable or stationary magnifying light. 

 

c. One (1) wet sterilizer.  

  

d. One (1) dry sterilizer. 

 

e. Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving limited esthetics services to 

the face only. 

 

f. Optional – If a private room is used for service, it must be equipped with a 

lavatory. See Rule 1.2, definition of lavatory. 

 

CB. Manicuring Salon: A Salon salon in which manicuring only is practiced must have and 

keep maintained in proper working order and condition to the following minimum 

equipment in order to be approved and pass annual inspection: 

 

1. Outside signSigns 

 

 a. Outside – Business 

 

 b. Hours of Operation 

 

2. One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist. 

 

3. One (1) patron chair and manicure stool per manicurist.  

 

4. One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist. 

  

5. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist 

 

6. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean implements.  (Any clean, closed container is 

considered adequate) 

 

7. Closed cabinet of solid construction for clean towels for supplies. 

  

8. Covered trash can. 

8. Closed cabinet of solid construction for manicuring/pedicuring supplies. 

  

9. An adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction. 

 

10. An adequate number of covered towel container(s) for soiled towels.  

 

911. Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving complete manicuring/pedicuring 

services. 
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CD. Esthetics Salon:  A Salon salon in which esthetics only is practiced must have and keep 

maintained in proper working order and condition the following minimum equipment in 

order to be approved and pass annual inspection: 

 

1. Outside signSigns 

 

 a. Outside – Business 

 

 b. Hours of Operation 

 

2. Treatment area(s) located so as to insure the privacy of the patron.  

 

3. One (1) treatment bed, table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per 

practitioneresthetician. 

 

4. One (1) lavatory for each treatment area.  

 

5. One (1) covered container of solid construction contained for soiled linens.  

 

6. One (1) closed cabinet for clean lines. 

 

7. One (1) closed cabinet for supplies 

 

8. One (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) practitionerstreatment areas.  

 

9. One (1) woods Wood’s lamp per two (2) estheticianspractitioners. 

 

10. One (1) wet sterilizer per practitioneresthetician. 

  

11. One (1) dry sterilizer. 

 

12. Adequate supply of client drapes and lines linens (towels, sheets, and pillow 

covers. 

 

13. Covered trash can of solid construction. 

 

14. Sufficient equipment and supplies for giving complete esthetics services. 

 

D. Salons in which wigology only is practiced must have the following minimum equipment: 

 

1. Outside sign. 

 

2. One (1) shampoo bowl or lavatory 

 

3. Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes. 
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4. One (1) covered towel container for soiled towels.  

 

5. One (1) closed cabinet for clean towels. 

 

6. One (1) wet and dry sanitizer  

 

7. One (1) dresser with mirror  

 

8. Covered trash can 

 

9. One (1) dryer 

 

10. Sufficient equipment for giving complete services for wigs. 

 

E. All cosmetological establishments must have an outside entrance except salons in 

department stores or buildings with a main entrance. 

 

F. In addition to the above rules, a home establishment must meet the following criteria: 

 

1. The wall between the salon and home must be of ceiling height. 

 

2. If a door exists between the beauty salon and the remainder of the house, said door 

must be kept closed during business hours. 

 

3. Bathroom Salon restroom facilities must be located in the confines of the salon 

businessseparate from home facilities. 

 

G. A licensed establishment must not be used for living purposes or other residential use. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 7.34.4 Salon Change of Ownership; Addition of Partners; Change of Location; Change of 

Trade Name 

 

No license is transferable from one owner to another or own location to another.  

 

No new license shall be issued until all fines previously assessed to the salon have been paid in 

full. 

 

A. Change of Ownership 

 

1. Salon owners who contemplate selling or transferring the ownership of a salon 

must notify the board in writing prior to the sale or transfer. 

 

2. Where a sale or transfer of ownership occurs, the prospective owners must make 

application for a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 7.14.1 and 7.24.4, and 
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must pay the required fee. 

 

3. A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued. 

 

B. Addition or Change of partners 

 

1. Where a partnership is added, or changed, and at least one partner or original 

owner remains, then a new salon application is not required. 

 

2. Written notification of the change in partnership should be made to the board 

within (30) days of such change. 

 

3. When the original applicant(s) is no longer a partner in the salon, an Application of 

Approval of a New Salon must be made in accordance with Board Rules 7.1 – 

7.34.2-4.4, and the required fee must be paid. 

 

C. Change of Location 

 

 1. A salon owner who contemplates relocation of the salon must make application for 

a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 7.1 – 7.34.2-4.4, and must pay the 

required fee. 

 

12. A change of location includes moving an existing establishment: 

 

a. From one address to another 

 

b. From one building, or area within a building, to another, even when a 

“change of address” does not occur. 

 

23. An application for a new salon not required when: 

 

a. A portable building is moved from one specific site on a lot to another site 

on the same lot, and there is no change in equipment or address. 

 

b. Where an establishment has been destroyed by fire, man-made disaster, or 

act of God, and is rebuilt in the same location. 

 

c. Notice must be given to the board office within seven (7) days.  

 

D. Change of Trade Business Name 

 

 A salon will not change its trade business name without having first filing a change of 

business name form and paying the processing fee. (The Board may charge an appropriate 

process fee in the event of a business name change. The amount shall be on the form for 

business name change)notified the board in writing of its intent to do so. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 7.44.5 Nursing Home Salons 

 

Section 73-7-35 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended provides that cosmetological 

services may be provided outside the physical confines of a licensed salon, to “...any person who 

may be confined to his or her home, a hospital, or other place as a result of illness.” 

 

A. Nursing home salons are considered patient care facilities and do not require a salon 

license under the following conditions: 

 

1. Services are restricted to patients only and are not provided for employees of the 

nursing home, nor family or friends of the patients. 

 

2. A retirement home or community where the residents are not confined due to 

illness is not considered a nursing home. Any salon operated as a part of a 

retirement home or community must be licensed by the Board. 

 

B. If a nursing home facility requests to be licensed as a salon and meets all requirements of 

the Board, then it will be granted. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-35 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 25: Approval of Schools   

 

Rule 1.9 Personnel 5.1 Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice 

 

Receptionists, maids janitorial and other unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from 

practicing cosmetology, manicuring, or esthetics, or wigology in any manner. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 2013) 

 

 

Rule 5.22.1 Procedure for the Opening of A New School 

E. Procedure for filing an application for initial preliminary school approval. 

 

3. Any person contemplating owning or operatingproposing to own or operate a 

school must make an appointment with the Board to discuss in detail the proposed 

operation and conduct of thea school. 

 

4. Interested persons must completed a Personal Survey Form and return to the State 

Board of Cosmetology prior to the initial meeting with the Board. 

 

F. An application for a license to conduct operate a school must be submitted for approval 

on an application form prescribed and provided by the Board. The application 
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accompanied by, accompanied by such evidence, statements or documents as required, 

andare filed with the Board at its office officein Jackson, MS. 

 

1. Prospective owners for proprietary schools provide a completed submitted form 

provided by the Board Theoffice. The following information must be provided 

with the application: 

a. Required Application fee. 

b. Floor plan of the proposed school, indicating measurements for each area, 

and equipment layout. 

c. A detailed financial statement which indicates financial solvency. 

d. The name, address and telephone number of the manager/supervisor, and 

the name, address, and registration number of the teacherinstructor(s) of 

the proposed school. 

ed. A copy of the contract form to be used between the school and the student. 

ef. A copy of proposed brochures, catalogs and advertisements. 

f. Two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days 

prior to application. 

g. Optional request for a preliminary on-site by two (2) agents of the Board, 

at least one must be a Board member. A fee of one hundred dollars ($100) 

will apply. 

 

 

2. An incomplete application will not be processed and the applicant will be notified 

by the Board office with the cause for non-processingreturned to the applicant 

within thirty (30) days after received by the Board, with the cause for the return. 

 

G. The Initial InspectionOptional Preliminary On-Site Visit 

 

Upon receipt and approval of Application for Approval and Personal Survey, the Board 

may conduct an initial inspectionrequest of an optional preliminary on-site visit, with 

receipt of required fee, the following will apply. 

1. The on-site visit inspection will be performed by two (2) or more agents of the 

Board, one of which must be a Board member for the  purpose of 

determining: 

 

 a. Suitability of: 
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  (1) The pProposed location. 

 

  (2) Proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space,  plumbing,  

  ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor planfloor 

space. 

 

  (3) Proposed items of equipment and material. 

 

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed teachers and 

properly qualified manager/supervisor. 

 

2. The findings of the initial inspection will be submitted to the Board for its approval 

at its next regular meeting. The applicant will be notified in writing of the decision 

of the Board within 30 days. 

 

3. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding 

requirements for licensure and operation of a school of cosmetology, the Board 

may waive the initial inspection, if it so desires. 

 

H. Initial Inspection and Approval of Proposed School 

 

1. An inspection shall be performed by two (2) agents of the Board, one of which 

must be a board member, for the purpose of determining: 

 

 a. Suitability of: 

 

  (1) Proposed Location. 

 

  (2) Proposed Rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,  

   ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan. 

 

  (3) Proposed items of equipment and materials. 

 

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors and 

properly qualified manager/supervisor. 

 

2. The findings of the initial inspection will be submitted to the Board for its approval 

at its next regular or any special called meeting. The applicant will be notified in 

writing of the decision of the Board within 30 days. 

 

 

ED. Final Inspection and Approval of Proposed Schools 
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1. If the inspection is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection 

approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at least 

one of which will be a Board Member. 

 

2. The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that: 

 

a. Suitability of: 

 

 (1) Location 

 

  (2) Rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,   

  ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan. 

 

 (3) Equipment and material set up and operational. 

 

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors and 

properly qualified manager/supervisor. 

 

c. All requirements, as indicated in the application have been strictly adhered 

to by owners of the proposed school. 

 

db. School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by copy of 

inspection report(s) by local authorities. 

 

e. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding 

requirements for licensure and operation of School of Cosmetology, 

Manicuring or Esthetics,  m the Board may waive the initial inspection and 

proceed to the final inspection.  

 

3. No School will be approved until the Board has had ample opportunity to verify 

sworn statements as to the actual ownership, and all other claims and 

representations set forth in the “Personal Survey Form”, the “Application for 

Approval”, the “Initial Inspection Report”, and the Final Inspection Report. 

 

4. If all requirements and qualification are met, the Board will cause written approval 

to be issued.  No school will be considered approved, nor will classes be allowed 

to begin, until said approval has been executed. 

 

5. The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who fails to 

meet the requirements for conducting operating a school and/or who fails to 

present satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional and personal 

integrity and experience. In the event the Board denies approval, the fees associated 

with the application will be forfeited. 
 

EF. Miscellaneous Information 
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1. Enrollments.  Students may be registered, but not admitted to class until such time 

as the school has received its final approval. 

 

2. Instructor. Each school must have on its staff at least one full-time instructor who 

is charged with the responsibility of the teaching program, and who is considered 

the lead instructor. This person must hold an active Mississippi current license or 

permit in the state at the time of application for school approval. 

 

3. The Bboard may revoke or suspend the approval of any school for any violation of 

any of the conditions set forth for licensing, or if further investigation reveals 

misrepresentation on the part of the applicant. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.32.2 Required Space for Schools 

 

A. Schools must have minimum square feet of floor space, according to the courses which 

they propose to teach which includes, at a minimum, skill and theory classrooms, 

reception area, office, two (2) restrooms, reference library, dispensary/stock room, facial 

area, and locker area.  This floor space is to accommodate a maximum number of students 

and for every student thereafter, 25 square feet of floor space per student must be added: 

 

 1. Cosmetology Schools- 2500 square feet, up to 40 students 

 

 2. Manicuring Schools- 1800 square feet, up to 28 students 

 

 3. Esthetics Schools- 1800 square feet, up to 28 students 

  

B. All walls, partitions or other obstructions between classrooms other than the 

lecture room in schools of cosmetology, esthetics and manicuring must be so 

constructed as to provide for continuous and uninterrupted supervision. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.42.3 Required Equipment 

 

A. All Schools 

 

1. Each school must have an adequate supply of disinfectant and safety equipment to 

insure that the school complies with Board sanitation rules, including: wet 

disinfectant containers, dry sanitizers, closed cabinets or containers for clean 

towels, covered soiled towel receptacles of solid construction, large covered trash 

can of solid construction, and first aid kit. 

2. Each school must have adequate resource materials to aid in the teaching of both 

skill and theory subjects, including charts and visual aids, chalk board, bulletin 

board, reference library, and time clock or time sheets. 
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3. The minimum equipment requirement must remain in full force and effect so long 

as the school remains in operation. 

 

4. All equipment must be maintained in a sanitary and, safe operating order at all 

times. 

 

B. Cosmetology Schools 

 

 1. The minimum amount equipment for a school of cosmetology is as follows: 

 

a. Mannequin 

(In addition to this number of practice mannequins, the school must furnish, 

upon enrollment, to every student, a mannequin in good condition for his use 

throughout the period of training.) 

7 

b. Time Clock or Time Sheet  (See Rule 3.85.23 C and D)  

c. Shampoo Bowls and Chairs 

(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 students, additional shampoo 

bowls must be added at the ratio of one for each five students in average daily 

attendance in excess of 20.) 

5 

d. Dryers 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional dryers must 

be added at the ratio of 1 for each 5 students in average daily attendance in 

excess of 20.) 

12 

e. Facial Chairs, complete with footrest, headrest, magnifying lamp, and 

practitioner stool 

1 

f. Manicure Tables 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional facial 

manicure tableschairs must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 10 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 20.) 

3 

g. Cold Wave Equipment: Sets of four dozen assorted rods 10 

h. Thinning Shears (pair) 1 

i. Chemical Hair Straighteners with the following ingredients: Thioglycolate 

(bottle or package) 

1 

ji. Thermal Hair Straighteners  

     Combs 

     Stove (not required if comb electric) 

     Curling iron (no larger than size “G”) 

 

8 

8 

8 

kj. Containers for antiseptic solution, per manicure table 1 

lk. Work station with chair and mirror 

Station chairs must be so constructed that they may be elevated and lowered 

either mechanically [hydraulic pump] or manually [swivel]. 

(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 senior students, one additional 

station per student must be added). 

20 

ml. Work table(s) for junior students Adequate 

mn. Classroom chairs with desk rest 20 
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n. Cabinet for client records 1 

 

2. The minimum equipment requirement for a school of cosmetology desiring to 

include a department of esthetics and or/manicuring in its training program must 

contain at least one (1) of each item specified for a school of esthetics and school 

of manicuring/pedicuring. When the average daily attendance exceeds two (2), the 

minimum equipment must be increased at the rate of one (1) per every two (2) 

students. 

 

C. Esthetics Schools 

 

1. The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in which esthetics 

only is taught is as follows: 

 

a. Facial treatment chair, treatment table, or hydraulic treatment chair 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

facial chairs must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

b. Esthetician’s stool 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

esthetician’s stools must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 

students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

c. Facial Vaporizer (When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 

students, additional vaporizers must be added at the ratio of one per 

every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

d. Pulverizer Spray (mister) 3 

e. Galvanic Current Apparatus or Faradic & Sinusoidal Apparatus 1 

f. High Frequency Apparatus 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional high 

frequency apparatus must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 

students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

g. Heating Mask or hot towels 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

heating masks must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

h. Heating Mitts or paraffin wax with mitts 3 pairs 

i. Infrared lamp 3 

j. Ultraviolet lamp (When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 

students, additional Ultraviolet lamps must be added at the ratio of one 

per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

k. Woods lamp 1 

l. Magnifying lamp (Loupe) 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

Magnifying lamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 

students in average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

m. Electric wax heater for removal of hair 1 
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n. Utilities Tables 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

utility tables must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 3) 

3 

o. Table for Machines 1 per 

machine 

p. Cabinet for client records cards 1 

q. Lavatory with hot and cold running water in the treatment area 1 

 

D.  Departments of Esthetics 

 

1. The minimum equipment requirement for a school of cosmetology desiring to 

include a department of esthetics in its training program, must be at least one (1) 

of each item specified for a school of esthetics. 

 

2. When the average daily attendance exceeds two (2), the minimum equipment must 

be increased at the rate of one (1) per every two (2) students. 

 

ED. Schools of Manicuring/Pedicuring 

 

1. The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in 

manicuring/pedicuring is taught is as follows: 

 

a. Manicure table fitted with adjustable lamp, client chair and 

operators stool or chair. 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, 

additional manicure tables, lamps and stools must be added at 

the ratio of one per every 1 student in average daily 

attendance in excess of 10) 

10 

b. Covered containers for waste material 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, 

additional covered waste containers must be added at the 

ratio of one per every 1 students in average daily attendance 

in excess of 10) 

10 

c. Cushion (8”x12”) covered with a washable slip or sanitized 

towel on which clients rest arm 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, 

additional armrests must be added at the ratio of one per 

every 1 students in average daily attendance in excess of 10) 

10 

d. Supply tray for holding cosmeticsimplements/products 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, 

additional cosmetic trays must be added at the ratio of one 

per every 1 student in average daily attendance in excess of 

10) 

10 

e. Finger bowl (plastic, china or glass with removal paper cups) 

for holding warm water and cleanser 

10 
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(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, 

additional finger bowls must be added at the ratio of one per 

every 1 student in average daily attendance in excess of 10) 

f. Cotton containers 10 

g. Electric heaters – for heating oil/lotion when a heat manicure 10 

h. Disinfection containers for immersion of manicuring 

implements during procedure 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, 

additional disinfection containers must be added at the ratio 

of one per every 1 student in average daily attendance in 

excess of 10) 

10 

i. Basins for Pedicure Cleansinger 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, 

additional cleanser basins must be added at the ratio of one 

per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 

10) 

5 

j. Basins for pedicure rinse water 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, 

additional rinse water basins must be added at the ratio of one 

per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 

10) 

5 

k. Electric nail files 

(When average daily attendance exceeds six (6) students, 

additional nail files must be added at the ratio of one (1) per 

every two (2) students in average daily attendance in excess 

of six (6)) 

2 

l. Hand form with stand; demonstrational purposes 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, 

additional hand forms must be added at the ratio of one per 

every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 10). 

5 

 

2. The clinic floor in a manicure school must be ventilated to the outside air. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.52.4 Name of School 

 

A school of CosmetologyAll schools licensed by the Board must be designated as such by an 

outside sign large enough to be clearly legiblevisible. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.62.5 School Advertising 

 

A. Advertising of a proposed school is to be limited to the procurance of students. 
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B. A licensed school is allowed to advertise the prices of clinical services outside the 

premises as long as the following conditions are met: 

 

1. The advertisement will clearly state, in bold print that “all work is performed by 

students under the supervision of a licensed instructor.” 

 

 2. No comparison of prices is made to any other school or to licensed salons. 

 

 3. Hours of operation for the clinic floor must be posted. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 2.65.7 School Change of Ownership; Addition of Partners; Change of Location; Change of 

Trade Name; Renovation of Existing School 

 

No license is transferable from one owner to another or from one location to another.  

 

No new license shall be issued until all fines previously assessed to the salon have been paid in 

full. 

 

A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued. 

 

 

A. Change of Ownership 

 

1. School owners who contemplatePrior to selling or transferring the ownership of a 

school, the owner(s) must notify the boardBoard, in writing, at least thirty (30) 

days in advance ofprior to the sell sale or transfer. 

 

2. An application for Initial School Approval must be submitted to the board Board 

by the prospective owner(s), in accordance with Board Rules 2.15.2 through 

2.35.6. 

 

3. The sale or transfer must not be completed until the application of the new owner 

has been approved. 

 

B. Addition of Partners 

 

1. Prior to School owners who contemplate the addition of a partner(s), owner(s 

must) must notify the boardBoard, in writing, of the intent to so doat least thirty 

(30) days in advance. 

 

2. At any time the original applicant is no longer a partner in the school, an 

Application for Initial School Approval will be required, in accordance with Board 

Rules 2.15.2 through 2.55.6. 
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C. Change of Location 

 

1. School owners who contemplate a relocation of a school must submit an 

application for relocation on a form prescribed and provided by the boardBoard. 

The approved application requires the submission of, at least the following: 

 

a. A floor plan of the proposed school, indicating room measurements, 

placing of equipment, partitions, entrances and exits, and plumbing. 

 

b. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or any advertising materials in use or 

proposed to be used. 

 

c. Certificate or letter indicating that the facility has met building or fire code 

requirements of local authorities. 

 

d. Schedule of teachers, indicating full time/part time. 

 

e. Detailed Financial Statement indicating individual or corporate solvency. 

 

fe. Required fee. 

 

2. Relocation of a School of Cosmetology, Esthetics, or Manicuring School within a 

radius of 15 miles from the existing school may not require submission of: 

 

a. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or advertising materials, unless there have 

been substantial changes made. 

 

b. Schedule of TeachersInstructors, unless there has been a change in those 

schedules from that which is on file at the boardBoard. 

 

3. Upon receipt and approval of Application for School Approval, the board Board 

may shall conduct an Initial Inspection.  The inspection will be performed by two 

or more agents of the Board of Cosmetology for purposes of determining: 

 

 a. Suitability of: 

 

  (1) the pProposed location;. 

 

(2) Proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing, 

lighting,  etc.,and ventilation in accordance with the floor plan; and. 

 

   (3) proposed Proposed items list of equipment and material. 

 

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed teachers 

instructors and Manager/Supervisor. 
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c. The findings of this initial inspection will be submitted to the board Board 

for its approval at its next regular or special called meeting, and the 

applicant will be notified in writing, of the decision of the boardBoard, 

within 30 days. 

 

d. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding 

requirements for licensure and operating of a school School of 

cosmetologyCosmetology, Esthetics or Manicuring, the Board may waive 

the initial inspection if it so desires. 

 

4. If application is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection is 

approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at least 

one of which will be a board Board member. 

 

a. The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that all 

requirements as indicated in the application have been strictly adhered to 

by the owners. 

 

b. School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by 

inspection report of local authorities. 

 

c. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be 

issued within thirty (30) days. No school School will be considered 

approved for licensure until same has been executed. 

 

5. The Cosmetology Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any 

applicant who fails to meet the requirements for conducting a school and/or who 

fails to present satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional and 

personal integrity and experience. 

 

 

D. Change of Trade Business Name 

 

A school must not change its trade business name without having first having filed a 

change of business name form and paid the processing fee. If a change of business name is 

made at the time of renewal, the processing fee will be waived. The processing fee is 

$50.00. If a new owner is requesting a change in a business name, the owner must provide 

the buy/sell agreementnotified the Board in writing of its intent to do so. 

 

E. Renovation 

 

Before any major alteration or renovation of school is made, the plan of such alteration or 

renovation must first be submitted to the Board in writing and written approval must be 

received. The School must undergo initial and final inspection and approval in accordance 

Rule 5.2. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.82.7 Satellite Classroom 

 

A. Definition: A satellite classroom is a supplemental training space located near the main 

school for the purpose of training an overflow of students who cannot be accommodated 

at the main school. 

 

1. A satellite classroom must be close enough to the main school to assure immediate 

supervision by the main school.  The satellite classroom may be no further than 

five miles from the main school. 

 

2. A clinic may not be operated at a satellite classroom location. 

 

3. During operation hours, an instructor must be in the classroom. 

 

34. A school is responsible and accountable to the Board for its satellite classroom 

location. 

 

a. If ownership of the separate facility changes from that of the main school, 

board approval does not continue for the satellite facility. 

 

b. The separate classroom must bear the same name as the main school, and 

must be identified as such by an outside sign. 

  

B. Application Procedure 

 

1. An application fora Separate Classroom Location must be submitted on an 

application form prescribed and provided by the Board, accompanied by such 

evidence, statements, or documents as therein required and filed with the Board at 

its office in Jackson, Mississippi. 

 

2. The following is to be submitted with the application: 

 

a. A fee of $50.00, which covers the cost of the inspection of the facility, and 

$10.00 for a duplicate of the main school license. 

 

b. An area map noting the location of the satellite school in respect to the 

main school. The map must include an appropriate scale. 

 

c. A Floor plan, indicating total square feet in the satellite classroom, and 

square feet of each section of the classroom, if it should consist of more 

than one section. 

 

d. A description of the outside sign. 
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C. Approval Procedure 

 

1. Upon receipt and approval of an Application for Satellite Classroom approval, the 

Board will conduct an inspection to determine: 

 

 a. The suitability of: 

 

  (1) the pProposed location 

 

(2) proposed Proposed classroom, including adequacy of floor space, 

plumbing, ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with floor plan. 

 

 (3) Proposed items of equipment and material. 

 

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provision for duly licensed 

teacherinstructor(s). 

 

c. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be 

issued. No satellite classroom will be considered approved, nor will classes 

be allowed to begin in the satellite classroom until this approval has been 

executed. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.92.8 Instruction Staff 

 

A. There must be on the staff at least one full time instructor at all times, who holds a 

current, active license as an instructor in this state. 

 

B. Immediately upon employment, the school must submit on a form approved by the Board, 

a Certification of Instructor employment which indicates full or part-time employment. 

 

C. The Board must be notified in writing, within ten (10) days of any changes in instructor 

staff of a school of cosmetology. 

 

D. When the enrollment exceeds 20 students there must be added to the staff an additional 

full-time instructor for every 20 students thereafter. Each student, including student 

instructor, cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, and part time, is counted as full time 

enrollment. 

 

E. For each full-time instructor there can be no more than three student instructors. 

 

F. Absence from the classroom of the instructor must be reported to the Board of 

Cosmetology, Department of School Coordination.  Arrangement must be made for an 

instructor replacement during vacations, prolonged illness, etc. When the instructor is 
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absent for one day or less, a student instructor or senior student may be left in charge. No 

chemical work is permitted when the school is left in the charge of a senior student. 

 

G. An instructor/student instructor is strictly prohibited from practicing on paying patrons 

except in a classroom situation where such practice is for demonstration only. 

 

H. All practice work by student is to be supervised and checked by an instructor licensed by 

this the Board. 

 

I. All student instructors must at all times, be under the direct supervision of an instructor 

who holds a current, active license issued by the Board, except as provided by Rule 

2.8.F5.9(F). 

 

J. Any instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of the powerdrill or electric filea 

specific device in any manicuring procedurepractice area of discipline must first present 

Board approved certificationthe required certificate of proficiency for the device that they 

are proficient in the use of the instrument. All individuals seeking licensure after January 

1, 1998, must present this certification prior to seeking licensure. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 2.95.10 Required Display 

 

All schools must display the following in a location conspicuous to the public:  

 

A. Main School Facilities: 

 

 1. The current school license 

 

 2. The current license of any instructors teaching in the school 

 

 3. The current cosmetology license of any student instructors. 

 

 4. The Sanitation Rules and Regulations of the Board. 

 

5. A notice, in letters large enough to be read across the length of the room, that 

states: 

 

 “All services in this school are performed by students who are in training; all 

work must be inspected by an instructor.” 

 

6. The manicuring power drill/electric fileA certification of proficiency for a specific 

device used in any practice discipline of cosmetology for any instructor or student 

instructor teaching the use of the same. 

 

B. Satellite Classroom Facilities 



188 
 

 

 

 1. Instructor/Student Instructor License.  

 

2. Duplicate school instructor license. 

 

23. A sign, which states,   

 

“Satellite classroom only. No clinic work performed in this facility” 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16, 73-7-9; 73-7-11 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.112.10 Separation of Schools from Other Businesses 

 

A. A school cannot be conducted with any other business, including a salon.  A school and 

another business must be separated by walls of permanent construction, and must not 

have doors or openings between them. 

 

B. Any school which was licensed prior to the effective date of these rules, and which was 

approved for licensure contrary to this rule, is exempted from same. 

 

CB. Schools may offer cosmetology products and related articles for retail sale. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 2.115.12 Services for the Public; Restrictions 

 

A. Students may render services to the public only under the direct supervision of a licensed 

instructor. 

 

B. A student/student instructor in a school cannot receive a salary or commission from the 

school for any cosmetology, manicuring, pedicuring, wigology, or esthetic services while 

he is enrolled in the school as a student. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.132.12 Student School Contracts 

 

A school is required to execute in duplicate, a contract between itself and a student.  A contract 

between a school and a student must bear the signature of a school official and the student or 

parent or guardian, if the student is under eighteen years of age. A fully executed copy of the 

contract must be given to the student; and one copy must remain at all times in the school’s 

student file. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.142.13 School Inspections 
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A. The boardBoard, or its authorized agents, may inspect schools on a regular basis as it 

deems necessary. The intent and purpose of the inspection is to be determination of 

compliance with the laws, rules, and regulations of the boardBoard. 

 

B. In order to insure that operators of a newly licensed school understands and fully 

complies with records keeping requirements as set out in Chapter 3 of the Board Rules, a 

special on-site audit may be performed. 

 

1. The audit may take place at the conclusion of the first 90 days of a new school’s 

operations. 

 

2. The audit includes, at a minimum: 

 

a. A review of the student academic files to insure that enrollment forms are 

properly prepared and on hand, and that proof of secondary education 

requirements are on hand. 

 

b. A review of all documentation supporting and substantiating student credit 

clock hours, including sign in sheets or time cards, and daily reports. 

 

c. An audit of student credit clock hours which shall encompass at least 10% 

of the school’s reported and verified enrollment at that time. 

 

d. A review of the school’s procedures and records which deal with students 

who are no longer in attendance at the school. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 2.145.15 School Closure 

 

A. Immediately after a school ceases operations, it must notify the board of the closure by 

certified mail. 

 

B. Within ten (10) days after a school ceases operation, it must forward student records to 

the Board. These records must consist of, but not be limited to: enrollment information 

which has not been previously submitted to the Board, records of academic progress, a 

Final Report which accurately reflects credit clock hours earned, through the last date of 

attendance, proof of secondary education which has not previously been submitted to the 

Board, a report which certifies any financial obligation of the student to the school, along 

with proof of that financial obligation. Files and documentation relating to federal tuition 

assistance funding should not be forwarded to the Board of Cosmetology. 

 

C. In the event a school ceases operations for a period of more than thirty (30) days, that 

school School is considered by the Board to be officially closed, and new license is 

required in accordance with the Laws of the State of MS, Section 73-7-16, and Rule 
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2.15.2, prior to operations resuming, either under original ownership or new ownership, 

except by notice for vacation or break, man-made disasters, or acts of God. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 3  Schools; Student Enrollment; Curriculum; Records 

 

 

Rule 3.15.16 Requirements for Student Enrollment 

 

A. Cosmetologist, Manicurist, and Esthetician and Wigologist must: 

 

 1. Have at least a tenth (10th) grade education or its equivalent. 

 

a. Applicants who do not have a high school diploma may submit transcript 

or report card as proof of their educational qualifications. Proof of 

educational qualification must be submitted to the board not later than 30 

days after date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be 

granted until the proof of educational qualification has been received in the 

board office. 

 

b. At least 7 credits are required in order to be considered as completion of a 

tenth (10
th

) grade education. 

 

c. Any student who enrolls with a tenth (10
th

 
th 

)grade education must sign a 

statement indicating that they understand that they are not eligible to sit for 

the licensing examination until they have completed the twelvethtwelfth 

(12
th

) grade or its equivalent. 

 

d. When a student does not meet the educational requirement, such student 

may take a GED. Results of such testAn official GED transcript must be 

filed not later than 90 days after date of enrollment. After this time period, 

no hours can be granted until the proof of educational qualification has 

been received in the board Board office. 

 

2. Be no less than 16 years of age. An enrollee who is less than the minimum 

licensing age of 17 must submit a copy of his/her birth certificate along with other 

enrollment documents. 

 

3. Be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

B. Student Instructor must: 
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1. Have a current Mississippi license to practice in the field in which he/she is 

enrolling as a student instructor. 

 

a. The registration number must be on file with the enrolling school and the 

board Board at the time of enrollment. 

 

b. The practitioner’s license of the student instructor must be posted at the 

school, in a location conspicuous to the public, and must be available for 

inspection by the boardBoard, or its authorized agent(s) during regular 

business hours. 

 

c. If a Student Instructor is actively practicing in a Salon, a duplicate license 

must be posted at the school. 

 

 2. Be no less than 20 years of age.  

 

 3. Have a high school education or its equivalent. 

 

 4. Be a graduate of a licensed beauty school in this or any other state. 

 

5. Be required to have proof of two (2) years active practical experience as a licensed 

cosmetologist, manicurist, or esthetician, as the case may be, when enrolling in the 

750 hour course for cosmetology instructor training or the 600 hour course for 

esthetics or manicuring instructor training. 

 

6. If the student instructor lacks the required experience, then the course of training 

must be: 

 

 a. Cosmetology – 2,000 hours 

 

 b. Esthetics – 1,000 hours 

 

 c. Manicuring – 1,000 hours 

 

7. Be able to read, write and speak English. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.173.2  Student Equipment and Supplies 

 

A. The following equipment and supplies must be issued by the school, to each student, upon 

enrollment, according to their course of training: 

 

 1. Cosmetologist: 

 

  a. Approved textbook 
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  b. Copy of the MississippiMS State Board of Cosmetology Laws; Rules and 

Regulations Book 

 

  c. Mannequin 

 

  d. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies: 

 

Rollers, Assorted 4 dozen 

Brushes 64 

Combs 64 

Afro Rake 1 

Large, heavy comb, for comb out/color 1 

Scissors, straight 1 pair 

Razor & blades (box) 1 

Curling Iron (size no larger than a quarter) 1 

Clippies, Box 1 

Shampoo cape, all purpose, styling 21 

Tweezers 1 

Tint brush, or applicator bottle and bowl 1 

Manicuring Equipment 

     Pusher 

     Orangewood stick 

     File or emery board 

     Cuticle nippers 

     Nail brush 

     Applicator sponges 

     Make-up brush 

     Mask brush 

     Tweezers 

     Pencil sharpener 

 

1 

1 

1 

1 

1 

1 pkg 

1 

1 

1 

1 

 

 2. Manicuring: 

 

  a. Approved textbook 

 

  b. Copy of the MississippiMS State Board of Cosmetology Law, Rules and 

Regulations Book 

 

  c. Hand form and holder 

 

  d. Wet Sanitizer 

 

  e. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies: 

   

Finger Bowl 1 
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Nail Brush 1 

Nail tips, various sizes 1 package 

Student sculpture kit, with powder, odorless liquid, 

brush, forms and dauber 

1 

Emery board, regular 1 

Emery board, wide 1 

Buffer disks, fine & medium 3 each 

Cuticle nipper (or scissors) 1 pair 

Metal pusher 1 

Orangewood stick 1 

Tweezers 1 

Nail base coat/top coat 1 each 

Ridge filler 1 

Cuticle oil 1 

Nail glue 1 

 

(Note: nail polish, quick dry and remover [both acetone and non-acetone] should be 

dispensary items) 

 

3. Esthetics: 

 

 a. Approved textbook 

 

 b. Copy of the MS Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Laws;, Rules and 

Regulations Book 

 

 c. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies: 

 

Skin Cleanser 4 12 oz. 

Skin Freshener/toner/astringent  4 12 oz. 

Moisturizer/sunscreen 12 oz. 

Foundation: light, medium and dark 1 ea. 

Concealer: light, medium and dark 1 ea. 

Blusher: light, medium and dark 1 ea. 

Eye liner pencil 1 ea. 

Liquid or cream mascara 1 ea. 

Wedge sponges 1 pk. 

Powder brush 1 

Contour Blush brush 1 

Applicators lip shade, mascara 1 pkg. 

Plastic spatulas 1 doz. 

Lip color 1  

Exfoliating mask and mask brush 1 (6 oz.) 

Tweezers 1 

Pencil sharpeners 1 
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4. Wigology 

 

a. Approved textbook 

 

 b. MS State Board of Cosmetology Law; Rules and Regulations Book 

 

 c. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies: 

 

Head Form 1 

Wigs 3 

Brushes 4 

Combs 4 

Afro Rake or Pick 1 

Large Heavy Comb 1 

Scissors, Straight 1 pair 

Razor & Blades 1 box 

Texturizing Shears 1 pair 

Curling Iron 1 

Clips or Clamps 1 pkg. 

Glue 1 

Glue Applicator 1 

Glue Remover 1 

Hair for Extensions Variety 

Hair Wefts 2 

T Pins 1 pkg. 

Water Bottle 1 

Clippies 1 box 

Rollers, Assorted 4 doz. 

 

B. A student is not to be required to pay for supplies used in assigned practice work or in 

clinic floor patron services. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 3.35.18 Curriculum 

 

A. Cosmetologist:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 1500 hours of training 

extended over a period of not less than nine months is as follows: 

 

 1. a. Theory requirements: 230 hours in the following subjects:Mississippi 

Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations 

  Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct 

  General Sciences 

   Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions 

   Anatomy and Physiology 
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   Basic Chemistry and Electricity 

  Business Skills 

   Personal/Individual 

    Resume 

    Interviewing  

    Sales and Marketing 

    Money Management 

   Salon 

    Planning and Design 

    Management 

    Marking 

  Hair Science 

  Hair Treatments/Services 

   Principals of Design 

   Shampooing and Conditioning 

   Haircutting 

   Hairstyling 

   Chemical Texture Services 

   Coloring and Lightening 

   Braiding, Extensions, Additions and Wigs 

  Skin Science 

  Skin Care/Treatments/Services 

  Nail Science 

  Nail Care/Treatments/Services 

  Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects 

 

2. Theory requirement:  230 clock hours 

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 4 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

course instruction.  

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice 

skill. 

 

3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 1200 clock hours 

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor. 

 

4. Unassigned/Open:  70 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at 

instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates. 

 

 (a) Board approved event with instructor/student instructor in attendance. 

 

(b) Career Days – with vendor signature of attendance (4 hours maximum 

allowed). 
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(c) Job Interviews – 1 hour granted per interview (maximum allowed 4 

hours). 

 

(d) Filed Trips – nursing homes, salons, funeral homes. 

 

(e) Community service – providing cosmetology related services.  

 

(f) In school competitions and fundraisers. 

 

(g) Any other activity must be Board approved. 

 

B. Manicurist:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 350 hours of instruction 

and training extended over a period of not less than nine weeks is as follows:  

 

 1. Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations 

  Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct 

  General Sciences 

   Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions 

   Anatomy and Physiology 

   Basic Chemistry and Electricity 

  Business Skills 

   Personal/Individual 

    Resume 

    Interviewing  

    Sales and Marketing 

    Money Management 

   Salon 

    Planning and Design 

    Management 

    Marking 

  Nail Science 

  Nail Treatments/Services 

   Manicure 

    Basic 

    Specialty 

   Pedicure 

    Basic 

    Specialty 

   Nail Enhancements 

    Nail Tips 

    Nail Wraps 

    Monomer Liquid 

    Polymer Powder 

    UV Gels 

   Electric Nail File 

   Nail Polish/Art/Airbrushing/Embellishments 
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   Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects 

 

2. Theory requirement:  85 clock hours 

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 7 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction.  

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice 

skill. 

 

3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 265 clock hours 

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor. 

 

4. Unassigned/Open:  70 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at 

instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates. 

 

 (a) Board approved event with instructor/student instructor in attendance. 

 

(b) Career Days – with vendor signature of attendance (4 hours maximum 

allowed). 

 

(c) Job Interviews – 1 hour granted per interview (maximum allowed 4 

hours). 

 

(d) Filed Trips – nursing homes, salons, funeral homes. 

 

(e) Community service – providing cosmetology related services.  

 

(f) In school competitions and fundraisers. 

 

(g) Any other activity must be Board approved. 

 

C. Esthetician:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 600 hours of instruction 

and training extended over a period of not less than fifteen weeks is as follows:  

 

 1. Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations 

  Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct 

  General Sciences 

   Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions 

   Anatomy and Physiology 

   Basic Chemistry and Electricity 

  Business Skills 

   Personal/Individual 

    Resume 

    Interviewing  

    Sales and Marketing 
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    Money Management 

   Salon 

    Planning and Design 

    Management 

    Marking 

  Skin Science 

  Skin Treatments/Services 

   Facial Treatments 

   Facial Massage 

   Facial Machines 

   Hair Removal 

   Makeup 

   Advanced Topics and Treatments 

  Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects 

 

2. Theory requirement:  100 clock hours 

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction.  

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice 

skill. 

 

3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 500 clock hours 

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor. 

 

 

   (1)  Sanitation and Disinfection 

(2) Personal Hygiene 

(3) Professional Ethics & Salesmanship (4) Anatomy 

(5) Trichology (6) Onychology (7) Chemistry 

(8) Safety Precautions 

(9) State Cosmetology Law, Rule and Regulations 

(10) Skill Demonstration 

(11) Any other related theory subjects 

 

b. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 4 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

course of instruction. 

 

c. Students are not to be permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons. 

  

 2. Skills Requirements: 1200 hours in the following subjects: 

a. Shampoos and Rinses 
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b. Scalp and Hair Treatments 

 

c. Hair Shaping; Scissors and Razor 

 

d. Hair Styling, including Pin Curls and Finger Waves   

 

e. Care and Styling of Wigs 

 

f. Manicure and Pedicure  

 

g. Permanent Waving 

 

h. Hair Coloring and Lightening  

 

i. Chemical Hair Relaxing  

 

j. Facials and Makeup  
 

k. Thermal Pressing  

 

l. Croquignole Curling 

 

m. Safety Precautions  

 

n. Salon Management 

 

o. Any other related skill subjects 

 

Skill training and clinic work will be assigned and supervised by a licensed 

instructor 

 

3. Unassigned: 70 hours, theory or skill, used at instructor’s discretion as 

need of student dictates. 

 

B. Manicurist: The curriculum for student enrolled in a course of 350 hours of training 

extended over a period of not less than nine weeks is as follows: 

 

 1. a. Theory Requirements: 85 hours in the following subjects: 

(1) Personality and Professional Conduct  

 

(2) Bacteriology 

 

(3) Sanitation and Disinfection  
 



200 
 

(4) Manicuring 

 

(5) Pedicuring 

 

(6) Disease and Disorders of the Nail 

 

(7) Anatomy and Physiology of the Hand, Arm, Foot and Leg  
 

(8) Salon Management & Business Practices 

 

(9) State Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations 

 

(10) Safety Precautions Skill Demonstration 

 

(11) Any other related theory subjects 

 

   b. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed  

   instructor on the basis of 7 hours minimum per week throughout the entire  

   period of instruction. 

 

   c. Students are not to be permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons. 

  

2. Skills Requirements: 265 hours in the following subjects: 

 

 a. Manicure: Plain and Specialty 

 

 b. Pedicure: Plain and Specialty  

 

c. Sculptured Nails 

 

 d. Nail Tips 

 

 e. Nail Overlays  

 

 f. Nail Mends  

 

 g. Fill-ins 

 

 h. Electric Nail File   

i. Sanitation and Disinfection 

  

j. Safety Precautions 

 k. Salon Management 

 

l. Any other related skill subjects 
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 Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed instructor. 

 

C. Esthetician: The curriculum for student enrolled in a course of 600 hour of training 

extended over a period of not less than 15 weeks is as follows: 

 

 1. a. Theory Requirements: 100 hours in the following subjects: 

(1) Sanitation and Disinfection 

 

(2) Personal; Hygiene 

 

(3) Professional Ethics and Salesmanship  

 

(4) Anatomy and Physiology of Skin  

 

(5) Chemistry 

 

(6) Hair Removal 

 

(7) Use and Maintenance of Electrical Implements and Machines 

  

(8) Safety Precautions 

 

(9) Cosmetology Law and Rules and Regulations  

 

(10) Skill Demonstration 

 

(11) Any other related theory subjects 

 

b. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction. 

 

c. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons. 

  

2. Skill Requirements: 500 hours in the following subjects: 

  a. Skin Conditions and Treatments 

 

b.  Client Consultations  

 

c. Sanitation and Disinfection 

 

 d. Skin Care: Manual 

 

e. Skin Care: Machine 
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 f. Professional Makeup  

 

g. Hair Removal  

 

h. Beautification of Eyes  

 

i. Salesmanship 

 

j. Salon Management  

 

k. Safety Precautions 

 

l. Any other related skill subjects 

 

 Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed instructor. 

 

D. Wig Specialist:  The curriculum for student enrolled in a course of 300 hours of training 

extended over a period of not less than 8 weeks is as follows: 

 

 1. a. Theory Requirements: 75 hours in the following subjects: 

 (1) Sanitation and Disinfection 

 

(2) Personal Hygiene 

 

(3) Professional Ethics and Salesmanship  

 

(4) Bacteriology 

 

(5) Wig Care  

 

(6) Wig Shaping  

 

(7) Wig Coloring 

 

(8) Wig Fitting and Adjusting  

 

(9) Extensions, Braiding, and Weaving  

 

(10) Safety Precautions 

 

(11) State Cosmetology Law and Rules and Regulations  

 

(12) Skill Demonstration Classes 

 

(13) Any other related theory subject 
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b. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 7 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction. 

 

  c. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons. 

  

2. Skill Requirements: 225 hours in the following subjects: 

 a. Shampooing and Conditioning 

 

b. Wig Shaping: Scissors and Razor  

 

c. Wig Care and Styling 

 

d. Wig Coloring 

 

e. Extensions, Braiding and Weaving: Blocking and Sewing  

 

f. Wig Measuring: Blocking and Fitting 

 

g. Safety Precautions  

 

h. Salon Management 

 

i. Any other related skill subjects 

 

 Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed instructor. 

 

DE. Student Instructor: 

 

1. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for a cosmetology instructor 

training course consists of: 

 

  a. 750 hours for those applicants with two or more years active experience. 

 

  b. 2,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active experience. 

 

  c. The subject matter and hours for each are: 

 

750 hours  2,000 hours 

12 hours Theory Observation 32 hours 

68 hours Skill Observation 181 hours 

(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching) 

164 hours The Professional Teacher 

including: 

Teacher Personality 

Technical Knowledge 

437 hours 
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Teacher Characteristics 

Teachers as Professionals 

Preparation for Teaching 

Planning the Course ( 

Lesson Plans  

Steps of Teaching)  

99 hours Student Motivation and Learning 

including: 

Laws Governing Learning Process 

Student Motivation 

Student Participation 

Student Personalities 

Slow Learner v. Gifted Learner 

264 hours 

332 hours Methods, Management & Materials 

including: 

Methods, Procedures & Techniques of Teaching 

Classroom Management  

Teaching Materials 

 

885 hours 

65 hours Testing and Evaluation 174 hours 

10 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations 27 hours 

 

d. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up 

to 10% as student needs may require. 

 

2. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for an esthetician instructor 

training course and a manicurist instructor training course consists of: 

 

 a. 600 hours for those applicants with two or more years active experience. 

 

 b. 1,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active experience. 

 

 c. The subject matter and hours for each are: 

 

600 hours  1,000 hours 

10 hours Theory Observation 16 hours 

54 hours Skill Observation 90 hours 

(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching) 

131 hours The Professional Teacher 

including: 

Teacher Personality 

Technical Knowledge 

Teacher Characteristics 

Teachers as Professionals 

Preparation for Teaching: 

(Planning the Course, Lesson Plans, Steps of 

223 hours 
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Teaching)  

 

79 hours Student Motivation and Learning 

including: 

Laws Governing Learning Process 

Student Motivation 

Student Participation 

Student Personalities 

Slow Learner v. Gifted Learner 

132 hours 

264 hours Methods, Management & Materials 

including: 

Methods, Procedures & Techniques of Teaching 

Classroom Management 

Teaching Materials 

436 hours 

54 hours Testing and Evaluation 90 hours 

8 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations 13 hours 

 

d. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up 

to 10% as student needs may require. 

 

3. Prior to application for approval for examination, a student instructor is required 

to have completed  twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by the 

boardBoard. It is strongly recommended that the student seek approval of subject 

matter from the board Board prior to actual enrollment in the courses. 

 

a. At least one (1) three-hour course must be acquired within a classroom 

setting; all others may be acquired through self-studyweb-based or  or 

correspondenceonline courses. 

 

b. Three (3) of the required tTwelve (12) hours must be acquired in one of the 

following subjects: 

(1) Communication  

 

(28) Business Law  

 

(39) English 

 

(4) Psychology 

 

(5) Sociology 

 

(6) Mathematics 

 

(7) Computer 

 

(8) Safety and First Aid 
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(1) Introduction & Philosophy of Vocational Education  

 

(2) Development & Use of Instructional Materials  

 

(3) Vocational  

 

(4) Curriculum Development 

 

(5) Methods of Instruction 

 

(6) Communications  

 

(7) Testing & Evaluation  

 

 

 

(10) Business Administration 

 

(119) Any other Methodology course, with Board approval 

 

c. The additional hours may be acquired in any combination of the following 

elective subjects: 

(1) Psychology 

 

(2) Sociology  

 

(3) Mathematics 

 

(4) Trade & Job Analysis and Course Construction  

 

(5) Methods of Teaching Trade Subjects 

 

(6) Shop Organization & Management  

 

(7) Computer 

 

(8) Principles of High School Teaching  

 

(9) Adult Learner 

 

(10) Disadvantaged & Handicapped Student  

 

(11) Industrial Human Relation 
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(12) Safety & First Aid (must include CPR) 

 

(13)  Problems of the Family 

 

(14) Any other related courses, with Board Approval 

 

d. Proof of the acquisition of the course must be submitted to the Board in the 

form of an original transcript from the college or university from which the 

courses are acquired. The transcript must bear the seal of the school and 

the signature of the Registrar. Copies are not acceptable. 

 

4. Prior to application for examination, a student instructor must attend one Board 

“Methods of Teaching” Seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing 

education hours. 

 

F. Cross Over Barbers:  The curriculum for a licensed barber enrolled in a 500 hour course, 

as provided for in §73-7-13, extended over a period of not less than 12½ weeks is as 

follows: 

 

 1. Theory Requirements: 65 hours 

 

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction. 

 

b. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons. 

2. Skill Requirements: 435 hours: 

 

Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed 

 instructor. 

 

G. Credit Clock hours may be granted to a student in any course of training for 

demonstrations and for product knowledge being taught by suppliers, provided: 

 

 1. A licensed instructor is in attendance at all times. 

 

 2. The demonstrator holds a current permit issued by the board Board for this 

purpose. 

 

3. If the demonstration/product knowledge is acquired off-campus, a sign-in sheet 

must be maintained by the school authority, and a copy sent to the board Board 

with the next regular monthly report. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 
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Rule 3.45.19 Student Attendance 

 

A. Full-time students may shall not be credited with no more than 40 hours weekly.  Hours 

acquired in excess of 40 hours per week maximum may be applied as mMake-up 

hoursHours, provided they are used for that purpose within the month in which they were 

acquired. Accelerated hours shall not be accepted. 

B. A high school student wishing to enroll part-time must acquire no less than two (2) 

months training as a full-time student before being allowed part-time status. 

 

CB. Student Instructor: 

 

1. Cosmetology instructor training extends over a period of not less than nineteen 

(19) weeks, provided however, that not more than 40 hours weekly are credited. 

 

2. Esthetics and manicuring instructor training extends over a period of not less than 

fifteen (15) week, provided however, that not more than 40 hours weekly are 

credited. 

 

3. When the required number of hours has been acquired, the individual can no 

longer function as a “student instructor”.  In order to function in an instructional 

capacity at in any school, the student must make application for examination, as 

stipulated in §73-7-15(4) of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. 

 

 

DC. Break in Attendance/Failure to Apply for Examination 

 1. Where there is a break in attendance of at least three (3) years, but no more than 

five (5) years, students will be credited with two-thirds of the original hours 

acquired.  Where such break in attendance exceed five (5) years, but less than ten 

(10), students are credited with one-half of the original hours acquired. After a 

break in attendance of ten (10) or more years, no hours are credited. 

 

2. Where a portion of the hours for the completion of a course of training was 

acquired out-of-state, but the student did not complete the course in that state, the 

break in attendance rule applies to the student who enrolls in a school in 

Mississippi for the completion of his/her training. 

 

3. Where an individual has completed a course of training in this state, or any other 

state, and licensure is not obtained within 365 days after completion of said 

course, “brush up” hours of training are required before the individual is eligible 

for examination. The following rates of credit apply: 

  a. 366 days to three years: 

 

10% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was 

completed. 
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  b. Over three years to seven years: 

 

25% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was

 completed. 

  c. Over seven years: 

 

50% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was 

completed. 

 

If there is reason to believe that the individual cannot be licensed prior to the end 

of the first year after graduation, the Board cannot accept an application for 

approval for examination. There must be an adequate span of time in which the 

application can be approved, the individual scheduled for examination, and 

examination grades received and recorded. 

 

4. This provision does not apply to a person whose break in attendance, or failure to 

acquire licensure is due to a service in armed forces during period of warmilitary 

deployment. 

 

ED. Any hours acquired toward a cosmetology course may be applied toward either a 

manicuring, or esthetics, or wig specialist course, provided the hours acquired during the 

cosmetology training are applicable to the course of training to which the hours are to be 

applied. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 3.55.20 Transfer Students 

 

A. Hours acquired aremay be transferable from one licensed school to another. 

 

B. No consideration is given by the board for transfer until all financial obligations to the 

attendant school have been met. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 3.65.21 Insignia or Badges 

 

Each student and instructor engaged in a course of training must wear a badge signifying his/her 

status: 

 

Freshman Insignia worn by cosmetology students who have less than 240 

hours 

Junior Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 240 to 749 hours 

Senior Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 750 to 1500 hours 

Instructor Insignia worn by all licensed instructors 

Student Insignia worn by all students engaged in instructor training 
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Instructor 

Manicurist  Insignia worn by all students engaged in a manicurist course 

Esthetician Insignia worn by all students engaged in a special esthetics 

course 

Wig Specialist insignia worn by all students engaged in wigology training 

Special Trainee insignia worn by all students engaged in advanced and brush up 

training 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 3.75.22 Work Upon Paying Patron  

 

A. A student enrolled in a school for a course of training can be assigned work upon a patron 

for services only after he/she has completedcompletion of the following hours of training 

and instruction: 

Cosmetologist  240 hours 

Manicurist  40 hours 

Esthetician  96 hours 

Wig Specialist  48 hours 

 

B. Students are not permitted to accept pay or remuneration of any kind during the course of 

training except cosmetic sale commissions or tips. 

 

D. An instructor or student instructor cannot work upon a patron paying for services unless 

he/she is doing so in a teaching situation. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

  

Rule 3.85.23 Records, Forms and Applications 

 

A. All records must be made available to the board Board or any of its agents at any time 

during business hours. 

 

B. Each student must make application for enrollment on forms approved by the Board. 

 

1. The original of the enrollment form must be filed with the board Board office no 

later than 30 days after the date of enrollment. After this time, no hours are 

granted until the enrollment form has been received in the board Board office. 

 

 2. The following must be submitted with the enrollment form: 

 

a. Proof of at least a tenth (10th) grade education, or its equivalent (See Rule 

3.1.a.5.16(A)(1)(a)) 

 

b. A statement certifying that the student has received the following: 
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 (1) Copy of student/school contract 

 

 (2) Copy of school rules and regulations 

 

 (3) Copy of the Mississippi Cosmetology Laws, and Rules and 

 Regulations Book. 

 

 (4) Approved textbook 

 

 (5) Mannequin or hand form, as the case may be 

 

 (6) Student kit adherent to the rules and regulations of the boardBoard. 

 

C. Each student must record on the time clock, or time sheet, as approved by the 

boardBoard, when starting or completing daily instruction or training, when leaving and 

returning to school premises, and the commencement and termination of lunch period. 

 

D. Credit for attendance is granted to a student only on time registered and hours of applied 

effort.  No credit attendance is allowed unless a time card or time sheet verifying 

attendance is on file. 

 

1. Unless the school utilizes a time clock, the board Board approved “Student Daily 

Sign-in and Out Sheet” must be used. 

 

2. All student clock hours must be derived from either a time card or the approved 

form; no other is accepted by the board to substantiate the students’ acquired 

hours. 

 

3. If a student fails to sign/clock in or out, or if another person signs/clocks in or out 

for a student, hours are not granted for that time period. 

 

4. Should an error occur, changes may be made only by the supervising instructor 

and must bear the signature of the instructor and the student at the point of 

change. Failure to do so results in non-credit of hours for that time period. 

 

E. A daily report, approved by the Board, must be utilized by each student, which lists all 

subjects taught in the course of training and provided in the curriculum. 

 

1. The daily report must recapitulate the student’s work for the day, and must 

support the timecard/sign-in sheet for that day. 

 

2. The daily report must be maintained at the student’s work station and must be 

initialed by both the instructor and the student daily. 
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F. On or before the 10th of each month following enrollment, a monthly summary report of 

hours acquired on by each student must be submitted to the office of the boardBoard, and 

one copy must be posted on the bulletin board in the school. 

G. In the event a student withdraws from classes before completing the course, a final 

transcript of his/her hours and grades, certified by the school, must be filed with the 

Board within 30 days. A copy of the final transcript must be transmitted to the student by 

the school at no cost to the student. 

 

H. Any student who wishes to re-enroll after an absence of 30 days, and is approved by the 

school for re-enrollment, must complete a re-enrollment form as approved by the 

boardBoard. 

 

I. Upon completion of training, a final transcript of student hours and grades, certified by 

the school, must be filed with the Board within 30 days. A copy of the final transcript 

must be transmitted to the student by the school at no cost to the student. 

 

J. All records must be retained by the school for a period of five years and until such time as 

the student has been licensed. 

 

K. The Board reserves the right to verify student records of hours acquired, at any time it 

deems necessary during business hours. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 3.95.24 Licensing Examination Pass/Fail Ratio 

 

A. The Board of Cosmetology maintains records of the results of each student’s licensing 

examination, by school. If, at any time, it is determined that the average grades of 

graduates of a school, fall below 70 (passing) on either the written examination or any 

segment of the practical examination for a minimum period of six months, the Board will 

take the following action: 

 

 1. The owner and instructional staff of the school will be invited to meet with the 

Board to discuss the problem. 

  

 2. Within 30 days from the date of the meeting with the Board, the school will 

submit a course of action or “compliance plan” which will indicate their 

awareness of the problem and which will set forth in sufficient detail what steps 

they plan to take in an attempt to improve the pass/fail ratio. 

 

 3. The school will be allowed a minimum period of six months in which to improve 

the average grades to a passing average. If the school can demonstrate that an 

insufficient number of students have graduated or qualified for examination to 

allow a fair review of the examination average, the board Board may, at its 

discretion, allow a compliance plan to be in effect for longer than six months. 
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B. At the conclusion of the agreed upon compliance plan period, if the average examination 

grades of the school have not improved, the Board may take the necessary action to 

suspend or revoke the school license. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 56: Continuing Education 

 

Rule 56.1 Definitions 

 

As used in this rule section, unless the context otherwise requires: 

 

N. “Biennial” means every two years (24 months) 

 

O. “Category” means any one of seven areas in which continuing education hours may be 

acquired. 

 

P. “CEIT” means Continuing Education in Instructor Training. 

 

Q. “MC” means Master Cosmetologist 

 

R. “MM” means Master Manicurist. 

 

Q.S. “ME” means Master Esthetician. 

 

R.T. “MCSA” means Mississippi Cosmetology School Association. 

 

S.U. “MIBA” means Mississippi Independent Beautician’s Association. 

 

T.V. “MSBC” means Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology. 

 

U.W. “MCA” means Mississippi Cosmetology Association. 

 

V.X. “Provider” means an individual, association or a company which makes a request to 

present a continuing education event. 

 

W.Y. "SOTA” means School Owner’s and Teacher’s Association. 

 

X.Z. “T & T” means Mississippi State Department of Education, Vocational-Technical Bureau, 

Trade and Technical Division. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.26.2 Continuing Education Requirements 
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All licensees must present Board issued wallet ID upon sign-in of Board monitored educational 

events. 

 

A. Instructor and Master Cosmetologist 

 

1. In order to renew an instructor’s license in an active status, proof of acquisition of 

twenty-four (24) CEIT hours must be on record with the board. 

 

 2a. The biennial period is twenty-four month intervals from the date of qualification 

for licensure as an instructor, and each twenty-four month period thereafter. 

 

 3b. Licensed instructors must attend at least one mandatory Board sanctioned methods 

of teaching seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education hours per 

biennial period in order to renew the instructor’s license in an active status. 

 

 4c. At the time of renewal of an instructor’s license, his/her record is reviewed for 

compliance at the end of the most recent biennial period. 

 

 5d. An instructor who fails to acquire 24 hours CEIT during their biennial period will 

be issued an inactive license upon renewal, and must obtain an additional 24 hours 

CEIT before the license can be made active, i.e., hours may not be carried 

forward for the purpose of making an inactive license active. 

 

2B. A Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist or Master Esthetician license may be issued 

to any individual who makes application for the same, on a form prescribed by the 

boardBoard, provided: 

 

 a1. He/she has been licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or esthetician in this state 

for at least twelve (12) months. 

 

 b2. Proof of having acquired sixteen eight (168) hours of continuing education 

approved by the board Board during the licensing period prior to the date of 

application, is on record with the boardBoard. 

 

 3. In order to renew a Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist, or Master 

Esthetician license, proof of acquisition of eight (8) hours biennially of continuing 

education must be on record with the boardBoard. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 5.36.3 Credit for CEIT/MC/MM/ME Hours 

 

Credit is given for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in the following CATEGORIES, providing all 

requirements set forth by the board Board have been met and pre-approved: 

 

A. Category One: Organized course work or activities in cosmetology or cosmetology 
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related subject matter.  Included are seminars, short courses, workshops, and on-line 

continuing education, as well as technical sessions of MSBC meetings or conferences. 

 

1. Credit accrues at the rate of one hour for each hour of contact, rounded off to the 

nearest quarter hours. 

 

a. An individual must actually be in attendance for each contact hour 

claimed. No credit is given for missed sessions, social hours, breaks and 

related activities, or business meetings. 

 

2. In order for an activity to be approved for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in this 

category, the following criteria must be met: 

 

a. The activity must have significant intellectual or practical content and its 

primary objective must be to increase the participant’s professional 

competency as an instructor, or master cosmetologist, master manicurist, 

or master esthetician. 

 

b. The activity must be offered by a provider having substantial, recent 

experience in offering CEIT/MC/MM/ME courses. Demonstrated ability 

arising partly from the extent to which individuals with training or 

educational experience are involved in the planning, instruction, and 

supervision of the activity. 

 

(1) The following providers are recognized by the board as having met 

the criteria set forth above: 

 

(ca) Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology 

 

(ab) Mississippi Cosmetology School Association 

 

(cf) School Owners and Teachers Association 

 

(de) Mississippi Cosmetology Association 

 

  (eb) Mississippi Independent Beauticians Association 

 

 

(fd) Mississippi State Department of Education, T & T Division 

 

 

 

(g) Out of State Continuing education certified by that sState’s 

board, commission, or department of registration & 

licensure. 
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(2) Other providers may be approved as their identities and programs 

are confirmed by the boardBoard. 

 

(3) The board Board may, at any time, re-evaluate a program and 

revoke approval of the provider. 

 

c. The activity itself must be conducted by an individual or group qualified 

by practical or academic experience.  The program, including the named 

advertised participant, must be conducted 

substantially, as planned, subject to emergency withdrawals and 

alterations. 

 

d. Thorough, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared written materials 

must be made available to all participants at or before the time the course is 

presented, unless the absence of such materials is recognized as reasonable 

and approved by the board; mere outline without citations or explanatory 

notations are not sufficient. 

 

e. The activity must be conducted in a physical setting conducive to learning. 

 

f. At a minimum, the activity must consist of not less than four (4) hours of 

actual instruction. 

 

g. Activities that cross academic lines, such as a financial aid seminar, may 

be considered for approval. 

 

h. The costs of the program to the participant, apart from optional meals, lodging, 

travel, etc., should be reasonable, considering subject matter, instructional level, 

etc. The activity must deal primarily with matters related to the enhancement of 

the participants knowledge (MC/MM/ME) or to the teaching of cosmetology, 

manicuring, esthetics, professional responsibility or ethical obligations of master 

cosmetologists, master manicurists, master estheticians or instructors, or any 

related field of expertise. 

 

 

3. Any provider or licensee desiring approval of a course, program, or other activity, 

must apply to the board on a form approved by the board by submitting all 

supporting documentation no less than forty-five (45)sixty (60) days prior to the 

date for which the course or program is scheduled. 

 

a. The board will advise the applicant in writing within thirty (30) days of the 

receipt of the completed application whether the activity is approved or 

disapproved.  Applicants denied approval of a program or activity may 

appeal such decision by submitting a letter of appeal to the board within 

fifteen (15) days of the receipt of the notice of the approval or disapproval. 
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b. The provider of an approved CEIT/MC/MM/ME activity may advertise in 

informational brochures and programs provided by the provider, as 

follows: 

 

“This course has been approved by the Mississippi State Board of 

Cosmetology for a maximum of hours credit in 

continuing education for instructor or master cosmetologist.” 

 

c. The Board approves only those activities in which the board or its 

employees can verify that the subjects being presented conform to the 

board’s policies.  The board has the right to freely enter and observe all or 

appropriate portions of such activities. 

 

d. The board may at any time re-evaluate and revoke approval of a particular 

activity. 

 

B. Category Two: Successful completion of organized course work or activities which 

bestow college credit not specifically cosmetology or cosmetology related, but which are 

professionally enriching or directly benefitting the individual in his/her present position. 

 

Credit accrues at the rate of twelve (12) CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours for each three 

(3) semester hours. 

 

C. Category Three: Development, preparation, and presentation of an activity, such as 

described in Category One, which requires effort beyond the general scope of the 

individual’s normal duties or job description. 

 

Credit accrues at the rate of two (2) contact hours for each hours of presentation. 

 

D. Category Four: Teaching an approved CEIT activity, provided that presentations are 

accompanied by thorough, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared materials. 

(Generated by the presenter). 

 

1. Credit accrues at the rate of: 

 

a. Four (4) hours credit for each instructional hour of presentation, if all 

criteria are met. 

 

b. Two hours credit for each instructional hour of presentation if 

presentation accompanied by one or two page outlines, or not 

accompanied by written materials. 

 

c. Repeat presentations accrue at one half the credits applicable to the initial 

presentation. 

 

E. Category Five: Preparation, writing and publication of cosmetology or cosmetology 
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related subject matter which requires effort beyond the general scope of the individual’s 

duties or job description. 

 

a. Credit accrues at the rate of: 

 (1) 15 hours for each publication requiring technical review. 

(2) 5 hours for an article or series of articles of a substantial nature 

 in magazines, newspapers, or similar publications. 

 

F. Category Six: Self-improvement in cosmetology or cosmetology related subjects. 

Included is participation in or attendance at meetings such as those conducted by the 

State Board of Cosmetology or professional associations, and observation of the board 

administered practical examination. 

 

The activity must deal primarily with matters related to the enhancement of the 

participants knowledge (MC) or to the teaching of cosmetology, manicuring, 

wigology, esthetics, professional responsibility or ethical obligations of master 

cosmetologists or instructors, or any related field of expertise. 

 

1. In order to receive any credit in this category, an individual claiming hours for 

professional meetings, etc., should make certain that proof exists of their 

participation, such as inclusion on registration lists, etc.  The burden of furnishing 

proof of compliance rests with the licensee. 

 

2. Credit accrues at the rate of ½ contact hour for each hour of activity. 

 

3. No more than three (3) hours credit is allowed in this category. 

 

CG. Category SevenThree: Holding an elected or appointed office or active committee 

assignment in the MSBC or allied professional organizations. 

 

1. Credit accrues at the rate of: 

 

a. Five (5) hours per year for holding office or chairing an assignment. 

 

b. Two (2) hours per year for active committee membership. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 6.45.4 Documentation of Continuinged Education Hours 

 

A. Instructors: On or before the renewal of a license after the close of the most current 

biennial period, an instructor should submit documentation of any CEIT hours earned in 

any category other than categories One, Three or FourTwo. The documentation must be 

applicable proof of participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed.  

The documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One and Two, Three and 

Four, must verify completion of the required twenty-four (24) hours of continuing 
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education, in order to renew a license in an active status. 

 

B. Master Cosmetologist/Master Manicurist/Master Esthetician: 

 

1. In order to receive a license ashave the designation of  a master 

cosmetologist/master manicurist/master esthetician printed on the license, an 

applicant must submit documentation of any continuing education hours earned in 

any category other than categories One, Three or Four and Two. The 

documentation must be applicable proof of participation in activities for any 

category in which credit is claimed.  The documentation, combined with hours 

earned in Categories One, Three and Four and Two, must verify completion of the 

required sixteen eight (8)(16) hours of continuing education. 

 

2. In order to renew a license as a master cosmetologist, mater manicurist or master 

esthetician an applicant must submit documentation of any continuing education 

hours earned in any category other than categories One or Two, Three or Four. 

The documentation must be applicable proof of participation in activities for any 

category in which credit is claimed.  The documentation, combined with hours 

earned in Categories One and Two, Three and Four, must verify completion of the 

required eight (8) hours of continuing education. 

 

C. The Board reserves the right to require additional documentation and proof for reported 

activities. When asked for additional documentation, the burden of furnishing proof of 

compliance rests with the licensee. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 78: Sanitation 

 

Rule 8.17.1 Enforcement 

 

A. The holder or holders of an establishment license, or the person in charge of any such 

establishment is liable for the implementation and maintenance of the sanitary conditions 

of the establishment. 

 

B. Any student, licensed practitioner, or licensed instructor is held individually liable for the 

implementation and maintenance of the sanitary conditions of his/her station and 

equipment. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.27.2 Posting Sanitationry Rules 

 

A copy of the Rules and Regulations governing sanitation must be posted in a place conspicuous 

to the public. 
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.37.3 Interior 

 

A. Each establishment must be kept clean and in good repaircondition. Fixtures, including 

shampoo bowls, must be free from scale, rust, hair or product buildup. 

 

B. Floors in any area where services are performed must be covered with a non- porous 

material, readily cleanable. 

 

C. All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of solid construction with tight 

fitting lids, so constructed that it may be thoroughly cleaned and must be maintained in a 

clean condition. Waste and refuse must be removed from the premises as frequently as 

necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness. 

 

D. Hair and nail clippings must be removed from the floor and surface areas immediately 

afterfollowing each client. 

 

E. Dogs (except for the blind), cats, birds, and other pets are not permitted in an 

establishment.Animals are not permitted in an establishment. Exception is a registered 

service animal. 

 

F. Water Supply 

 

1. Each establishment must be provided with an adequate supply of potable running 

water, under pressure, from an approved source.  The potable water system must 

be installed to preclude the possibility of backflow, with no cross connections 

through which the portable water might become contaminated. 

 

2. Adequate hot and cold water under pressure must be provided in all work booths 

or work rooms. 

 

3. Adequate drinking water facilities must be conveniently located provided in each 

establishment. Either individual paper cups or an approved type slanting spray 

drinking fountain must be provided. 

 

4. All drinking fountains must be maintained in a sanitary manner and the stream of 

water from the fountain head must be properly regulated. 

 

5. The use of a common cup, glass or other receptacle for drinking purposes is 

expressly prohibited. 

 

G. Toilet Restroom Facilities 

 

1. Every establishment must be provided with adequate and conveniently located 
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toilet restroom facilities. 

 

2. At least two toilet restroom facilities must be provided in each school for the 

students, faculty, staff, and patrons. At least one toilet restroom facility should be 

provided for employees and patrons in other establishments. 

 

3. All toilet restrooms rooms must be kept clean and in good repaircondition. 

 

4. All toilet roomsrestrooms must be well lighted and ventilated to the outside air. 

 

5. Home salons must haveshall only have restroom toilet facilities within the salon 

premisesconfines of the salon business. 

 

6. All establishments located on a street or alley where a system of sanitary sewers is 

available must have a properly constructed sewer connection to the sewer system 

into which human excreta and other liquid waste is disposed. Where no sanitary 

sewer system is available, all human excreta and other liquid waste must be 

disposed of in a sewage disposal system meeting all the requirements of the 

Mississippi State Department of Health and/or the Mississippi Department of 

Natural Resources. 

 

7. Adequate and convenient hand-washing facilities, including lavatory, hot and cold 

running water under pressure, soap or an adequately supplied soap dispenser, and 

individual disposable towels must be provided in or adjacent to every toilet 

roomrestroom. 

 

 8. Waste and Refuse: All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of solid 

construction with tight fitting lids and must be removed from the premises as 

frequently as necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness.  All solid waste 

and  refuse must be disposed of in an approved manner. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.47.4 Personal Sanitation 

 

A. Hand Washing Practices: Every practitioner and student in an establishment must 

thoroughly wash and scrub his or her hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser before 

starting work, before each client, or after using the toilet. 

 

1. In the service of manicuring, both the client and the licensed individual must wash 

their hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser or wipe with alcohol/antibacterial 

hand sanitizer prior to the service. 

 

2. Prior to a pedicure, the client’s feet must be cleansed with an antibacterial skin 

cleanser. 
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B. Infectious Disease 

 

1. Persons with a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is medically 

recognized to be transmittable by the type of contact that practitioners have with 

clients are not to be permitted to practice in an establishment until their condition 

is no longer communicable under those circumstances. 

 

 2. Likewise, clients who have a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is 

transmittable to other clients or to a practitioner through the type of contact the 

client would have with the practitioner, or other clients, should not be 

accommodated in an establishment. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.57.5 Chairs, Shampoo Boards and Bowls 

 

A. The head-rest chair must be provided with a clean towel or paper sheet for each patron. 

 

B. Shampoo boards and bowls must be cleaned with soap and water or other detergent after 

each shampoo, kept in good repair condition and in a sanitary condition at all times. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.67.6 Linens and Towels 

 

A. Only freshly laundered or new disposable linens or towels can be used on each client. 

 

B. After linens and towels have once been used, they must be deposited in a closed 

receptacle, and cannot be used again until properly laundered and sanitized. 

 

C. Used linens and towels must be laundered either by regular commercial laundering or by a 

non-commercial laundering process which includes the following treatment: Immersion in 

water at 160° F. for not less than five minutes at some time during the wash or rinsing 

operation. All linens are to be disinfected during the wash cycle using detergent and 

bleach. 

 

D. All clean linens and towels are to be stored in a closed cabinet of solid construction. 

 

E. A sanitary neck strip or towel must be used to keep all protective covering from coming in 

direct contact with a patron. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.77.7 Bottles and Containers 

 

A. All bottles and containers must be distinctly and correctly labeled to disclose their 
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contents.  When not in use all bottles and containers must remain closed.  All bottles 

containing poisonous substances must be so designated and stored in a separate cabinet 

away from cosmetics and other substances. 

 

B. There shall be no more than two (2) gallons of acetone stored or in use in a salon or 

school at any one time.  Acetone shall be properly labeled and stored in a separate cabinet 

from cosmetics, in accordance with manufacturer’s directions. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.87.8 Instruments and Supplies 

 

A. All instruments and supplies which have been used in direct contact upon a patron, or 

which have become soiled in any manner whatever, must be removed from work stands 

or utility traysprimary work area, placed in a properly labeled receptacle provided for the 

purpose, and cannot be used on another patron until they have been properly clean and 

sanitized. 

 

B. All supplies such as cotton, ear pads, neck strips and protectors which cannot be sanitized 

by one of the procedures covered by Rule 87.9 must be discarded immediately after use. 

 

C. Carrying instruments in or on garments or uniforms is prohibited.  No practitioner in an 

establishment may carry any instruments or supplies in or on a garment or uniform. 

 

D. Use of brush-type neck dusters is prohibited.Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-

type neck dusters in any establishment. 

 

E. The use of credo blades is prohibited in any procedure or service. In addition, credo 

blades are prohibited on the premises of any licensed establishment. 

 

FE. Electric nail file:  [Moved to 1.10] 

 

1. Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an power drill or electric file in any 

manicuring procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are 

proficient in the use of the instrument. 

 

2. The power drill/electric file certification of proficiency must be posted at the 

practitioner’s work stationprimary work area at all times. 

 

3. Any instructor or student instructor’s teaching or planning to teach the use of the 

power drill or electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board 

approved certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument. 

 

4. The instructor’s or student instructor’s power drill/electric file certification of 

proficiency must be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times. 
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 5. Any power drill or electric file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be 

specifically designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the 

instrument must be able to provide that documentation upon demand. 

 

G.  Microdermabrasion 

 

A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must limit the 

exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment must be 

approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a Class I device 

intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must prominently display the 

manufacturer’s a certificate of training proficiency for each type of equipment used, and 

must comply with the manufacturer’s directions in the use of each product. The use of 

FDA class 2 or class 3 devices is prohibited. 

 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-21, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.97.9 Disinfecting Work Surfaces, Instruments, Materials and Supplies 

 

A. Work surfaces must be cleaned with a detergent and disinfected after each client. 

 

B. All instruments, materials and supplies used in direct contact upon a patron, except those 

which come in contact with blood or body fluids, require the following treatment: 

 

1. Thorough cleansing of the instruments, materials and supplies with soap and water 

or other detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to 

remove all foreign material which might harbor bacteria. 

 

2. Each establishment will have and use for disinfection at all times during business 

hours, a Wet Disinfectant Container made of glass, stainless steel, or the type 

recommended by the manufacturer of the product it contains. 

 

a. The disinfectant used must be an EPA registered, hospital grade, 

bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal disinfectant. 

 

b. The solution will be mixed and used according to manufacturer’s 

instructions for dilution and immersion time. 

 

c. The container will be large enough for total immersion of the open 

implement and will contain the appropriate amount of solution for the 

number of items to be disinfected. 

 

d. The container will have a cover in place at all times, labeled as to its 

contents, and be easily accessible to all practitioners. 

 

e. Implements are to be removed from the disinfectant in such a manner as 
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not to contaminate the disinfectant solution (using tongs, baskets, and 

such), rinsed, and placed on a clean dry towel for air drying. 

 

f. Ultraviolet ray cabinets may be used, but are not acceptable as approved 

disinfecting devises.  Glass bead sterilizers are not an acceptable 

disinfectant. 

 

g. The wet disinfectant must be discarded when it becomes contaminated. 

 

 3. Storage of Disinfected Implements: 

 

Disinfected combs, brushes, instruments and accessories will be kept in a clean, 

sanitized, closed receptacle or cabinet when not in use. 

 

C. Body treatment, pedicure and manicure equipment that holds water shall be cleaned after 

each client by scrubbing with surfactant soap and water to remove all visible residue, then 

disinfected with an EPA registered bactericide, fungicide, and virucidal disinfectant with 

surface contact according to manufacturer’s directions. 

 

D. All tools and implements which have come in contact with blood or body fluids must be 

disinfected in the manner stipulated in Rule 87.9.B., except that the 

 disinfectant must be an EPA registered, hospital grade, tuberculocidal that is mixed and 

used according to the manufacturer’s direction. Disposable items must be discarded 

immediately, following the Blood Spill Procedures as stipulated in Rule 87.13. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 78.10 Disinfecting Electric Clippers and Metal Instruments 

 

Instruments which cannot be sanitized by the procedures set forth in Rule 809 7.9 will be 

disinfected by: 

 

A. Thorough cleansing of the working parts of the instruments with soap and water or other 

detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to remove all 

foreign material which might harbor bacteria. 

 

B. Immersion of the working parts of the instruments in a solution of 70% alcohol for not 

less than five minutes.  Contact points of non-immersible equipment will be wiped or 

sprayed with an EPA registered, hospital grade, bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal 

disinfectant. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.117.11 Disinfecting Manicure Instruments While In Use on a Patron 

 

A. A solution of 70% alcohol will be readily available during the manicure. The instruments 
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used on an individual patron will be placed in the alcohol solution when not actually being 

employed during the process of giving a manicure. 

 

B. After use on a patron, the entire set of instruments will be removed from the work station 

and cannot be used again until disinfected in accordance with the procedures set forth in 

Rule 8.107.10 or Rule 8.97.9 if instruments come in contact with blood or body fluids. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.127.12 Cleaning and Disinfecting Whirlpool Foot spas 

 

A. As used in this section, “whirlpool foot spa” or “spa” is defined as any basin using 

circulating water. 

 

B. Hair Removal and waxing services may not be performed on the legs or feet before any 

pedicure service 

 

CB. Each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the following manner: 

 

1. Before use upon each patron, 

 

a. All water shall be drained and all debris shall be removed from the spa 

basin. 

 

b. The spa basin must be cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and water. 

 

c. The spa basin must be disinfected with an EPA-registered disinfectant with 

demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal activity which must be 

used according to manufacturer’s instructions. 

 

d. The spa basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel. 

 

2. At the end of each day, 

 

a. The screen shall be removed, all debris trapped behind the screen shall be 

removed, and the screen and the inlet shall be cleaned with a brush and 

surfactant soap and water. 

 

b. Before replacing the screen, one of the following procedures shall be 

performed: 

 

(1) The screen shall be washed with a chlorine bleach solution of 1 

teaspoon of 5% chlorine bleach to 1 gallon of water, or 

 

(2) The screen shall be totally immersed in an EPA-registered 

disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and 
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virucidal activity which must be used according to the 

manufacturer’s instructions. 

 

c. The spa system shall be flushed with low sudsy soap and warm water for at 

least 10 minutes, after which the spa shall be rinsed and drained. 

 

3. Every other week (bi-weekly), after cleaning and disinfecting as provided in 

Section B.  aboveRule 7.12(B)(2), each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and 

disinfected in the following manner: 

 

a. The spa basin shall be filled completely with water and 1 teaspoon of 5% 

bleach for each 1 gallon of water. 

 

b. The spa system shall be flushed with the bleach and water solution for 5 to 

10 minutes and allowed to sit for 6 to 10 hours. 

 

c. The spa system shall be drained and flushed with water before use upon a 

patron. 

 

4. A record shall be made of the date and time of each cleaning and disinfecting as 

required by Sections B. And CRule 7.12., and will indicate whether the cleaning 

was a daily or bi-weekly cleaning. This record shall be made at or near the time of 

cleaning and disinfecting.  Cleaning and disinfecting records shall be made 

available upon request by either a patron or a board Board representative. 

  

 5. A violation of this section may result in an administrative fine and/or 

 disciplinary action. Each foot spa not in compliance with this section may  result 

in a separate violation. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.137.13 Blood Spill Procedures 

 

A. Practitioner injury.  While risk expected with these practices is minimal, practitioners are 

cautioned to always use disposable plastic gloves prior to contacting blood or bodily fluids. 

If a practitioner sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must be 

immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed: 

 

1. Clean injured area with soap and water.  Apply antiseptic and/or liquid styptic or 

spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. Containers, 

brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or contact the 

wound.  An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton must be used. 

 

2. Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid. 

 

3. Put on properly sized disposable plastic gloves. 
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4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed of in a 

sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag (double 

bagged) and discarded. 

 
5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated 

implements as provided in Rule 8.97.9. 

 

6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water.  Follow with 

an antibacterial scrub on hands.  Replace adhesive dressing or band aid as needed.  

If the wound is on a hand, put on properly sized, disposable plastic glove on the 

injured hand. 

 

7. If necessary, clean client with soap and water. 

 

8. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with a private physician. 

 

B. Client injury: If a client sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must 

be immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed: 

 

1. Put on properly sized, disposable plastic gloves. 

 

2. Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic and/or liquid styptic or 

spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. Containers, 

brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or contact the 

wound.  An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton must be used. 

 

3. If necessary, Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid. 

 

4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed of in a 

sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag (double 

bagged) and discarded. 

 

5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated 

implements as provided in Rule 8.97.9. 

 

6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water.  Follow with 

an antibacterial scrub on hands. 

 

 7. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with private physician. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.147.14 Health and Safety Issues 

 

A. No instructor, or practitioner, will remove moles or other blemishes by radiation, 



229 
 

electronic, or other methods of tissue destruction.Removal of moles or other blemishes is 

prohibited. 

 

B. No practitioner or instructor will massage any person upon a surface of the skin or scalp 

where such skin is inflamed or where a skin infection or eruption is present. 

 

C. No product containing the ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used in any 

manicuring or pedicuring procedure. All products must be correctly labeled, and 

manufacturer’s data sheets for any nail product must be readily available for review by 

any agent of the Board of Cosmetology. 

 

CD. Hair removal by means of epilation and/or depilation shall and waxing services may not 

be performed on the legs or feet before any pedicure service. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 

Rule 8.157.15 Creams, Lotions, Powder and Other Cosmetics 

 

A. All creams, lotions, and other cosmetics used on patrons must be kept in clean and closed 

containers, which must be labeled. 

 

B. All powder used on patrons must be kept in a clean shaker or may be applied by means of 

cotton or other sanitized applicator. Applicators must be sanitized after each patron. 

Disposable applicators must be discarded immediately after use. 

 

C. Creams and other semi-solid substances must be removed from the container with a 

sanitized spatula or other article. The use of fingers for removing creams, etc., is 

prohibited. 

 

D. Lotions or fluids liquids must be poured into a sanitized glass or other container and must 

be applied to the patron by means of cotton or sanitized applicator. Any excess remaining 

after application can neither be returned to the original container nor applied to another 

patron, but must be discarded immediately. 

 

E. Creams, lotions, powder and other cosmetics must be removed by means of cotton, gauze, 

pledgets, soft absorbent paper, or other sanitized material. 

 

F. Wax: 

 

1. Depilatory wWax can be used only once and discarded. It cannot be returned to 

the wax heater. Applicators cannot be re-dipped. 

 

2. Paraffin Wwax used for services requires the followingother than a depilatory 

requires that: 

 

 3a. The skin must be thoroughly cleansed with an antibacterial skin cleanser. 
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 4b. The skin must be completely dried with a clean towel prior to immersion. 

 

 5c. Wax must be discarded when cloudy or when it contains debris. 

 

 6d. The product removed from the body must be discarded. 

 

G. Eyebrow Cosmetic pencils must be sharpened after being used on a patron. 

 

H. No product containing the ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used in any 

manicuring or pedicuring procedure. All products must be correctly labeled, and 

manufacturer’s data sheets for any nail product must be readily available for review by 

any agent of the Board of Cosmetology. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20122013) 

 


