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Part 2101:  Cosmetology, Board of   

  

Part 2101  Chapter 1:  General  

  

Rule 1.1 Authorization and Applicability  

  

A. The following Rules and Regulations are adopted in accordance with Chapter 7 of 

Title  

73 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, pursuant to the authority vested in the 

Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology (“Board”).  

B. These Rules and Regulations are applicable to all persons licensed or registered in 

accordance with the provisions of Chapter 7 of Title 7 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as 

amended, and are effective as of July 1, 2022 and will continue pursuant to law.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)   

  

Rule 1.2 Definitions  

  

As used in this Chapter, unless the context otherwise requires:  

 

A. “Accelerated Hours” means to reduce the time-frame (not clock hours) required 

for course completion by compressing into shorter period.  

B. “Agent” means a member of the Board or any of its authorized representatives.  

C. “Applied effort” means the time devoted to the study of theory, attendance at 

theory classes, and the actual performance or all practical skills.  

D. “Average daily attendance” means the average daily attendance over a three-

month period of the students enrolled in a school.  

E. “Board” means the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.  

F. “Brush-up Hours” are school course hours required for a student to complete after 

the 365-day expiration date from the date of the student’s course completion. Note: 

Course completion is considered the date a student completes the minimum required 

number of course hours and not the later date of the student’s school graduation 

ceremony. 

G. “Cosmetology Law” or “Law” means Chapter 7 of Title 73 of the Mississippi 

Code of 1972 as amended.  

H. “Establishment” means cosmetological establishment; school or salon 

I. “Extenuating Circumstances” means special circumstances that account for an 

irregular way of doing things.  

J. “Full Time” means not less than twenty-five (25), nor more than forty (40) hours 

per week. 

K. “Hours” means clock hours.  

L. “Lead Instructor” means the instructor who is in charge of the teaching program at a  

licensed school.   

M. “License” means original or duplicate as issued by the Board.  
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N. “Make-up Hours” are clock hours acquired in excess of the 40 hours per week 

maximum, which may be applied to missed time, in the calendar month in which they 

were acquired provided they were from hours missed from the students start date, as 

documented by the school. 

O. “Part Time” means anything less than full time as defined in this rule.  

P. “Passport photograph” means a two inch by two inch (2”x2”) photograph of the 

applicant/licensee taken recently prior to the date of application or renewal of license. 

The person must be recognizable in the photograph. 

Q. “Practitioner” means a licensed person who is practicing one of the professions 

regulated by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of 

the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.  

R. “Reciprocity” is the mutual exchange of privileges between states with identical 

(same) licensing conditions. 

S. “Salon” means a licensed establishment operated for the purpose of engaging in 

the practice of cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring, or esthetics, or all.  

T. “School” means a licensed establishment, public or private, operated for the 

purpose of teaching cosmetology, or manicuring, or pedicuring, or esthetics, or all.  

U. “School premises” means buildings, grounds, and parking lots of the school. 

V. “Sink” means basin fixed to a wall, countertop or floor, having a drainpipe and 

piped supply of hot and cold water.   

W. “State” means the State of Mississippi.  

X. “Student” means any person attending classes in a school licensed by the Board.  

Y. “Student Instructor” means any person licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or 

esthetician enrolled in an instructor training program in a school licensed by the Board 

under the supervision of an instructor.  

Z. “Subject” means instruction and training or study of a theoretical or skill 

operation. 

AA. “Temporary Practice Permit” is a permit issued under the Universal Recognition 

of Occupational Licensing Act or the Military Freedom Act for a period not to exceed 

365 days or until a license is granted or a notice to deny the license is issued. 

BB. “Temporary Work Permit” is a permit issued to in-state students who have 

completed the prescribed hours in a MS licensed school and not the later date of the 

student’s school graduation ceremony.  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-2 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 1.3 Communications  

  

All communications with reference to licensure, rules and regulations or general information 

should be addressed to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, P. O. Box 55689, Jackson, 

Mississippi 39296-5689.Issues related to examination should be directed to the contracted testing 

service.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  



7  

  

Rule 1.4 Requests for Public Records  

  

A. The only information that is made available to the public via telephone inquiry is 

whether or not an individual, salon, or school is licensed by the Board, and whether or 

not the license is current. All other requests for information must be submitted in writing 

to the Board office and will be released only after a) review and determination as to 

whether the information requested is a public record as defined by the Mississippi Public 

Records Act of 1983, Miss. Code Ann. Sections 25-61-1 through 25-61-17, and b) the 

cost to produce the record has been collected. Public records requests may be made via 

Email. 

B. The Board will respond to a public records request within seven (7) days from the 

date the request is received.  

C. In considering the cost of production of the record, the following will be included: 

a) cost of production of copies, b) expendable printer supplies, c) cost of record research 

by a member of the Board staff, and d) mailing costs. Any other unforeseen costs will be 

disclosed to the individual requesting the record.  

D. Licensure application files, including, but not limited to examination results are 

not considered public record, and may be released only upon written consent of the 

licensee/examinee. A request for public record, including a third party release, will be 

considered only after or at the time the record is actually created.   

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § § 73-7-7 and 25-61-5 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 1.5 Board Meetings  

  

A. The Board holds its meetings on the last Monday of each month, beginning at 

9:00 a.m., unless extenuating circumstances exist which preclude same. In the event a 

Board meeting is scheduled at another time, notice will be posted on the Board’s website, 

not less than ten (10) days prior to such meeting. 

B. A majority of the Board constitutes a quorum.   

C. All Board meetings are open to the public, and the public is welcome. However, 

members of the public may not participate in business discussion unless invited to do so.  

D. Members of the public must submit an “Agenda Request Form” to the Board 

office at least one (1) week in advance of the regularly scheduled meeting to be placed on 

the agenda.  

E. Any written requests for consideration without personal appearance at the meeting 

must be submitted to the “Agenda Request Form” to the Board office no later than one 

(1) week preceding the regularly scheduled meeting.  

F. The Board may, in its discretion, designate a period for public comments.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§  73-7-1 and 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 1.6 Posting Laws, Rules, Notices and Bulletins  
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An establishment must post on its premises, in a place conspicuous to the public, all licenses 

copies of sanitation rules, notices or bulletins as the Board may, from time to time, direct.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-11 (Rev. 2021) 

 

Rule 1.7 Fines 

 

 The Board shall use the following “Class Designation of Fines” for assessing fines for non-

 compliance with its laws, Rules and Regulations.   

Class A - Class A violations shall be set at no more than One Hundred ($100.00) nor more than 

Four Hundred Dollars ($400.00) and violations are specific to the following: 

1. Unlicensed practice or the use of fraudulent statements to obtain any benefits or 

privileges under this chapter or practicing one of the professions without a 

license.  These violations will be handled in accordance with the requirements of 

§ 73-7-27, Miss. Code Ann. (2021) or § 73-7-37, Miss. Code Ann. (2021), when 

applicable.    

  2. Extremely dangerous to the health and safety of the general public. 

Class B violations are major health and safety concerns that are detrimental to public safety and 

welfare and shall be set at no more than One Hundred ($100.00) nor more than Four Hundred 

Dollars ($400.00). 

Class C violations are minor health and safety violations that are detrimental to public safety and 

welfare and shall be set at no more than Fifty ($50.00) nor more than Two Hundred Dollars 

($200.00).   

 

 Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-27 (Rev. 2021)  

 

Rule 1.8 Violations of Law, Rules and Regulations  

  

A. All establishments licensed by MSBC shall be inspected biennially to ensure 

compliance with the laws, rules and regulations of MSBC. Failure to allow or 

interference with an inspection will result in the issuance of a citation.  

B. In any instance of non-compliance with the Board’s laws, rules and regulations, a 

citation will be issued to the student or practitioner and/or salon owner/manager and/or 

school manager/owner. The practitioner, student, salon owner or school owner may agree 

to pay the citation under a compliance agreement within thirty (30) days. After thirty (30) 

days, the named individual in the citation will be notified at least twenty (20) days in 

writing of a hearing before the Board regarding the violation(s) on the citation form(s). 

After a hearing, the Board may revoke, suspend or refuse to issue or renew any license or 

certificate, fine, place on probation or otherwise discipline any student or licensee or 

holder of a certificate pursuant to Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code Annotated of 

1972 as amended.  

C. Multiple violations can occur simultaneously when different individuals are 

involved in violating any provisions of the Board’s laws, rules, and regulations.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  
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Rule 1.9 Complaints  

  

A. Any person may file a complaint with the Board of Cosmetology in accordance 

with Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.  

B. The complaint must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the Board. It must be 

signed, notarized, and accompanied by a release form, and a consent form that states the 

complainant agrees to testify to the allegations, and that the complainant understands that 

the information becomes public record once the investigation is over.  

C. When the investigation has been completed, the complaint case will be presented 

to the Board, at which time the Board may:  

1. Dismiss the complaint, or  

2. Initiate a formal complaint and notice of hearing.  

D. Both the complainant and the accused will be notified of the Board’s decision.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-27 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 1.10 Standards Related to Competent Practice  

 

A. A practitioner may provide advanced services which are within his or her scope of 

practice, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, under 

the following conditions:  

1. The practitioner obtains appropriate education relative to the services to be 

provided;  

2. The practitioner demonstrates appropriate knowledge, skills, and abilities 

to provide the service;  

3. The practitioner maintains documentation satisfactory to the Board of 

meeting the above requirements.  

4. The service does not involve a function or procedure which is prohibited 

by any other law or rule.  

5. The practitioner is prohibited in using animals in any procedure or service.  

6. The use of credo blades and/or scalpels, or micro plane foot files are prohibited in 

any procedure or service. In addition, credo blades and scalpels are prohibited on 

the premises of any licensed establishment.  

7. Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-type neck dusters in any establishment. 

B. Microdermabrasion and Dermaplaning  

1. A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation 

must limit the exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion 

equipment must be approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration 

(FDA) as a Class  

I device intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must  

prominently display a certificate of training proficiency for each type of 

equipment used, and must comply with the manufacturer’s directions in the use of 

each product. The use of FDA class 2 or class 3 devices is prohibited.  
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2. Dermaplaning is prohibited from practice by any license holder of the 

Board.  

3. Microblading is prohibited from practice by any license holder of the 

Board. 

C. Electric nail file:      

 

1. Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an electric file in any 

manicuring procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are 

proficient in the use of the instrument.  

2. The electric nail file certification of proficiency must be posted in a 

conspicuous place at all times.  

3. Any instructor or student instructor teaching or planning to teach the use 

of the electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved 

certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument.  

4. The instructor’s or student instructor’s electric file certification of 

proficiency must be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-1, 73-7-14 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 1.11 Oral Proceedings on Proposed Rules  

  

A. This rule applies to all oral proceedings held for the purpose of providing the 

public with an opportunity to make oral presentations on proposed new rules and 

amendments to rules before the Board pursuant to Section 25-43-2.104 and 25-43-3.104 

of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.  

1. The Board will conduct an oral proceeding on a proposed rule or 

amendment if requested by a political subdivision, an agency or ten (10) persons 

in writing within twenty (20) days after the filing of the notice of the proposed 

rule.  

2. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible 

handwriting. Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size 

paper (8 1/2x11 inches). Requests may be in the form of a letter addressed to the 

Board and signed by the requestor(s).  

3. The date, time and place of all oral proceedings shall be filed with the 

Secretary of State’s office and mailed to each requestor. The oral proceedings will 

be  

scheduled no earlier than twenty (20) days from the filing of this information with 

the Secretary of State.  

4. The Board President or his designee, who is familiar with the substance of 

the proposed rule, shall preside at the oral proceeding on a proposed rule.  

B. Public Presentations and Participation  

1. At an oral proceeding on a proposed rule, persons may make oral 

statements and make documentary and physical submissions, which may include 

data, views, comments, or arguments concerning the proposed rule.  
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2. Persons wishing to make oral presentations at a proceeding shall notify the 

Board at least one (1) business day prior to the proceeding and indicate the 

general subject of their presentations. The presiding officer in his or her discretion 

may allow individuals to participate that have not previously contacted the Board.  

3. At the proceeding, those who participate shall indicate their name and 

address, identify any person(s) or organization(s) they may represent, and provide 

any other information relating to their participation deemed appropriate by the 

presiding officer.  

4. The presiding officer may place time limitations on individual oral 

presentations when necessary to assure the orderly and expeditious conduct of the 

oral proceeding. To encourage joint oral presentations and to avoid repetition, 

additional time may be provided for persons whose presentations represent the 

views of others as well as their own views.  

5. Persons making oral presentations are encouraged to avoid restating 

matters that have already been submitted in writing.  

6. There shall be no interruption of a participant who has been given the 

floor by the presiding officer, except that the presiding officer may in his or her 

discretion interrupt or end the participant’s time where the orderly conduct of the 

proceeding so requires. 

C. Conduct of Oral Proceeding  

1. The presiding officer shall have authority to conduct the proceeding in his 

or her discretion for the orderly conduct of the proceeding.  

2. The presiding officer shall:  

a. Call proceeding to order. 

b. Give a brief synopsis of the proposed rule, a statement of the statutory 

authority for the proposed rule, and the reasons provided by the Board for  

the proposed rule.  

c. The presiding officer, where time permits and to facilitate the exchange of  

information, may open the floor to questions or general discussion. The 

presiding officer may question participants and permit the questioning of  

participants by other participants about any matter relating to that rule 

making proceeding, including any prior written submissions made by 

those participants in that proceeding; but no participant shall be required 

to answer any question.  

d. Submissions presented by participants in an oral proceeding shall be 

submitted to the presiding officer. Such submissions become the property 

of the Board and are subject to the Board’s public records request 

procedure.  

e. The Board may record oral proceedings by stenographic or electronic 

means.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021); § 25-43-2.104 (Rev. 2017)  

  

Rule 1.12 Declaratory Opinions  
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A. These rules set forth the Board of Cosmetology’s rules governing the form and 

content requests for declaratory opinions, and the Board’s procedures regarding the 

requests, as required by Section 25-43-2.103 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as 

amended. These rules are intended to supplement and be read in conjunction with the 

provisions of the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, which may contain 

additional information regarding the issuance of declaratory opinions. In the event of any 

conflict between these rules and the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, the 

latter shall govern.  

1. Any person with a substantial interest in the subject matter may request a 

declaratory opinion from the Board by following the specified procedures. 

“Substantial interest in the subject matter” means an individual, business, group 

or other entity that is directly affected by the Board’s administration of the laws 

within its primary jurisdiction. “Primary jurisdiction of the Board” means the 

Board has a constitutional or statutory grant of authority in the subject matter at 

issue.  

2. The Board will issue declaratory opinions regarding the applicability to 

specified facts of :  

a. A statute administered or enforceable by the Board, or   

b. A rule promulgated by the Board.  

The Board will not issue a declaratory opinion regarding a statute or rule which is 

outside the primary jurisdiction of the Board.  

3. The Board may, for good cause, refuse to issue a declaratory opinion. The 

circumstances in which declaratory opinions will not be issued include, but are 

not necessarily limited to:  

a. Lack of clarity concerning the question presented;  

b. There is pending or anticipated litigation, administrative action, or 

other adjudication which may either answer the question presented by the 

request or otherwise make an answer unnecessary;  

c. The statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought is clear 

and not in need of interpretation to answer the question presented by the 

request;  

d. The facts presented in the request are sufficient to answer the 

question presented;  

e. The request fails to contain information required by the rules or the 

requestor failed to follow the procedures set forth in these rules;  

f. The request seeks to resolve issues which have become moot, or 

are abstract or hypothetical such that the requestor is not substantially 

affected by the statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought;  

g. No controversy exists concerning the issue as the requestor is not 

faced with existing fact or those certain to arise which raise a question 

concerning the application of the statute or rule;  

h. The question presented by the request concerns the legal validity of 

a statute or rule;  
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i. The request is not based upon facts calculated to aid in the 

planning of future conduct but is, instead, based on past conduct in an 

effort to establish the effect of that conduct;  

j. No clear answer is determinable;  

k. The question presented by the request involves the application of a 

criminal statute or a set of facts which may constitute a crime;  

l. The answer to the question presented would require the disclosure 

of information which is privileged or otherwise protected by law from 

disclosure;  

m. The question is currently the subject of an Attorney General’s 

opinion request or has been answered by an Attorney General’s opinion;  

n. A similar request is pending before this Board or any other agency 

or a proceeding is pending on the same subject matter before any agency, 

administrative or judicial tribunal, or where such an opinion would 

constitute the unauthorized practice of law;  

o. Where issuance of a declaratory opinion may adversely affect the 

interest of the State, the Board or any of their officers or employees in any 

litigation which is pending or may reasonably be expected to arise;  

p. The question involves eligibility for a license, permit, certificate or 

other approval by the Board or some other agency, and there is a statutory 

or regulatory application process by which eligibility for said license, 

permit,certificate or other approval would be determined.  

4. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible 

handwriting. Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size 

paper (8 ½ x 11 inches). Request must be in the form of a letter addressed to the 

Board.  

5. All requests must be mailed, delivered or transmitted via facsimile to the 

Board. The request shall clearly state that it is a request for a declaratory opinion. 

No oral, telephone request or email requests will be accepted for official opinion.  

6. Each request must include the full name, telephone number and mailing 

address of the requestor. All requests shall be signed by the person filing the 

request, who shall attest that the request complies with the requirements set forth 

in these rules including but not limited to a full, complete and accurate statement 

of relevant facts and that there are no related proceedings pending before any 

other administrative or judicial tribunal.  

7. Each request shall contain the following:  

a. A clear and concise statement of all facts on which the opinion is 

requested;  

b. A citation to the statute or rule at issue;  

c. The question(s) sought to be answered in the opinion, stated 

clearly;  

d. A suggested proposed opinion from the requestor, state the 

answers desired by the petitioner and a summary of the reasons in support 

of those answers;  
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e. The identity of all other known persons involved in or impacted by 

the desired factual situation, including their relationship to the facts, name, 

mailing address and telephone number; and  

f. A statement to show that the person seeking the opinion has a 

substantial interest in the subject matter.  

8. Within forty-five (45) days after receipt of a request for a declaratory 

opinion which complies with the requirements of these rules, the Board shall in 

writing:  

a. Issue a declaratory opinion regarding the specified statute or rule 

as applied to the specified circumstances;  

b. Decline to issue a declaratory opinion, stating the reasons for its 

action; or  

c. Agree to issue a declaratory opinion by a specified time but not 

later than ninety (90) days after receipt of the written request.  

The forty-five (45) day period shall begin running on the first State of Mississippi 

business day on or after the request is received by the Board, whichever is sooner.  

9. A declaratory opinion shall not become final until the expiration of sixty 

(60) days after the issuance of the opinion. Prior to the expiration of sixty (60) 

says, the Board may, in its discretion, withdraw or amend the declaratory opinion 

for any reason which is not arbitrary or capricious. Reasons for withdrawing or 

amending an opinion include, but are not limited to, a determination that the 

request failed to meet the requirements of these rules and that the opinion issued 

contains a legal or factual error. 

B. The Board may give notice to any person, agency or entity that a declaratory 

opinion has been requested and may receive and consider data, facts, arguments and 

opinions from other persons, agencies or other entities other than the requestor.  

C. Declaratory opinions and requests for declaratory opinions shall be available for 

public inspection and copying in accordance with the Public Records Act and the Board’s 

public records request procedure. All declaratory opinions and requests shall be indexed 

by name and subject. Declaratory opinions and requests which contain information which 

is confidential or exempt from disclosure under the Mississippi Public Records Act or 

other laws shall be exempt from this requirement shall remain confidential.  

D. The Board will not pursue any civil, criminal or administrative action against a 

person who is issued a declaratory opinion from the Board and who, in good faith, 

follows the direction of the opinion and acts in accordance therewith unless a court of 

competent jurisdiction holds that the opinion is manifestly wrong. Any declaratory 

opinion rendered by the Board shall be binding only on the Board and the person to 

whom the opinion is  

issued. No declaratory opinion will be used as precedent for any other transaction or 

occurrence beyond that set forth by the requesting person.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2021), § 25-43-2.103 (Rev. 2017)  

  

Rule 1.13  Fees  
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The following fees shall apply for the following purposes:  

A. Initial license/renewal for cosmetologist, manicurist or esthetician....50.00  

B. Instructor initial license/renewal 

……………………………………………………..80.00  

C. Master license 

/renewal………………………………………………………………70.00  

D. Delinquent renewal penalty -- cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician and 

Instructor……………………………………………………………………………...50.00   

E.  Salon application and initial inspection ………………………………………………85.00 

F. Salon 

reinspection…………………………………………………………………….35.00  

G. Salon change of ownership or location, or 

both……………………………………...85.00  

H. Salon 

renewal…………………………………………………………………………60.00  

I. Salon delinquent renewal 

penalty…………………………………………………….50.00  

J. Application and initial inspection for a new 

school………………………………...300.00  

K. New school 

reinspection…………………………………………………………….100.00  

L. School change of 

ownership………………………………………………………...300.00  

M. School 

relocation……………………………………………………………………150.00  

N. School 

renewal………………………………………………………………………..75.00  

O. School delinquent renewal 

penalty………………………………………………….100.00  

P. Duplicate 

license……………………………………………………………………...10.00  

Q. Penalty for insufficient fund 

checks………………………………………………….20.00  

R. Affidavit 

processing…………………………………………………………………..15.00  

S. The Board may charge additional fees for services, which the board deems 

appropriate to carry out its intent and purpose. These additional fees shall not exceed the 

cost of rendering the service.  

T. Refunds will automatically be made on overpayment of fees. Refunds will be 

made on under payments by written requests from applicants. If no request for refund is 

made within sixty (60) days, the fees will be forfeited.  

U. Demonstrator’s 

permit..................................................................................................10.00 

V. Military/military spouse out-of-state permit and license (no 

charge)............................0.00 
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W. Substitute/lost license renewal form application 

fee....................................................15.00 

X. There shall be no renewal fee for any licensed practitioner seventy (70) years of 

age or 

older................................................................................................................................0.00 

 

Rule 1.14 Renewals / Refunds 

 

A. Renewal Fees: 

1. School License Renewal: A school owner who fails to renew his school 

license within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new 

application for licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-16, and Rule 5.2.  

2. Salon License Renewal: A salon owner who fails to renew his salon  

license within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new  

application for licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-17, and Rule 4.2.  

3. All Licensees:  

a. The postmark date on the transmittal envelope of the renewal 

application and fee is determinative in ascertaining whether receipt 

was prior to the expiration of the grace period.  

b. Application for renewal of licenses which are not accompanied by 

 the provided renewal form are assessed a fee for lost renewal form.  

c. When an applicant for renewed license has not submitted required 

documentation or proper fee, applicant will be notified of same by 

mail, and license processing is placed on “hold” for a maximum of 

sixty (60) days, during which time no additional fees or charges 

will be assessed. If however, a period of sixty (60)  days has 

passed without submittal of required information or balance due, 

credited fees are forfeited; refunds cannot be granted.  

d. The renewal fee for any licensee aged seventy (70) or older at time  

of renewal shall be waived when such licensee submits a copy of a 

government issued document demonstrating proof of age.   

B. Refunds of fees.  

a. Application for a new license. An applicant may make a written 

request to withdraw the application, under the following 

conditions:  

b. The application cannot, or has not been approved, for any reason  

c. In the case of an application for reciprocity, the license issuance 

 process has not begun.  

d. In the case of an application for a new salon, an inspection has not 

 occurred.  

2. Balance due on application fees. An applicant may submit a written  

request for a refund of application fees, either new or renewal, where there 

is a balance due, and the applicant does not wish to submit the additional 

fee.  
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-29, 73-7-19 (Rev. 2021)  

 

 Part 2101 Chapter 2: Licensure 

 

Rule 2.1  General Provisions Regarding Licensure By Examination  

  

A. Licensure examinations are provided for in-state and out-of-state applicants for 

practitioner and instructor licenses.  

B. An examination for any practitioner or instructor license is both practical and written.  

1. The applicant must demonstrate by practical examination, minimal skills and   

knowledge necessary for the license sought.  

2. The applicant must demonstrate by written examination, knowledge of profession, 

health and safety methods and procedures,  Mississippi Statutes, rules and 

regulations pertinent to the practice necessary for the license.  

C. Grades necessary to pass the examination:  

1. Basic Examinations (Practitioner): A person taking the Board of Cosmetology 

examination will be granted a license to practice if such person makes an 

examination grade of not less than 70 scaled score on each portion of the practical 

examination, and not less than 70 scaled score on the written examination.  

2. Instructor Examination: A person taking the Board of Cosmetology Instructor 

examination will be granted an instructor’s license if such person makes an 

examination grade of not less than 75 scaled score on each portion of the practical 

examination, and not less than 75 scaled score on the written examination.  

D. Any applicant failing to pass the required examination after three attempts within 365 

days of school completion is not eligible for re-examination until he or she has returned 

to a school for additional training of no more than 10 percent of the prescribed course 

hours for the course of training for which application for licensure is being made.  

E. After three years, the grades are no longer valid and the candidate is required to take both 

written and practical examinations. Students that fail one skill of the practical 

examination will be allowed to complete a retake examination for that one skill. In the 

event the student fails more than one skill, the complete practical examination must be 

taken. Examination fees remain the same. 

F. The Board will maintain an accurate record of each examination as provided by the 

testing administrator.  

G. Reasonable accommodations may be made for candidates having a physical or mental 

impairment that limits one or more major life activities, as defined by the Americans with 

Disabilities Act. An applicant’s request for accommodation should be made to the test 

provider at the time of registration.   

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.2 Statutory Licensing Requirements for All In-State Applicants not Seeking Licensure 

Under the Military Family Freedom Act (73-50-1) or the Universal Recognition of Occupational 

Licensing Act (73-50-2) or Reciprocity (73-7-23) 
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REQUIREMENTS                                                                         
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Is not less than 21 years of age *    X
 

X
 

X
 

  

Is not less than 17 years of age * X
 

X
 

X
 

     

Can read, write and speak English X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

  

Is a graduate from a licensed cosmetology 

school *    

X
 

    

Has a high school education or equivalent OR 

successfully enrolled in a community college * 
X

 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

  

Has successfully completed 1000 hours of 

instructor training in a licensed school of 

cosmetology or a school where esthetics or 

manicuring is taught *    

X
 

X
 

X
 

  

Has completed 6 semester hours in college 

courses approved by the Board (if licensed in 

another state for less than 1 year, 12 hours) *    

X
 

X
 

X
 

  

Holds a current, valid Mississippi cosmetology 

license or esthetician or manicurist license *    

X
 

X
 

X
 

  

Has a least 1 year active practical experience 

as a cosmetologist, esthetician, or manicurist 

OR as an alternative to such experience, has 

successfully completed 1,000 hours of 

instructor training in a licensed school of 

cosmetology *    

X
 

X
 

X
 

  

Admit to examination X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

  

Must provide social security number [73-7-

19(2)]* 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

Only admit student who have not less than 10th 

grade education or GED equivalent       

X
 

 

Inspect premises        X
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Completed a course of training in esthetics 

with not less than 600 hours, as follows:                             

100 hours of theory and                                                     

500 hours of skills practice                                                  

If also want a cosmetology license, can apply 

the curriculum hours toward a cosmetology 

program *  

X
 

      

Complete the required application with 

required documents and pay a fee 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

Completed a course of training in manicuring 

and pedicuring with not less than 350 hours 

over a period of not less than 9 weeks.  If also 

want a cosmetology license, can apply the 

curriculum hours toward a cosmetology 

program *   

X
 

     

Completed a course of training in cosmetology 

with not less than 1,500 hours over a period of 

not less than 9 months * 
X

 

       

Two (2) passport photos *  X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

May be eligible for a temporary permit X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

  

Master cosmetologist, manicurist or 

esthetician license (73-7-14) requires:*                                              

a) Licensed in MS not less than 12 months;                 

b) Completed 16 hours of study in continuing 

education within the licensing period 

preceding initial application for license; and                                 

c) Provide social security number in 

accordance with 93-11-64 

                
 

Rule 2.3 Photograph Required on All Licenses  

 

A.  Each practitioner and instructor licensee shall be required to submit two (2) passport 

 photographs taken recently prior to application or renewal.  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2021)    

 

Rule 2.4 Display of License and Certificate(s) of Proficiency; Photo Identification  

 

A. Every licensee must display his or her license in a conspicuous place within reading 

distance of the public. The posting of a photocopy of a license is prohibited.  

B. Any licensee utilizing or planning to utilize a specific device in any practice area of 

discipline must post the required certificate of proficiency.  
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C. A licensee shall make his or her government photo identification available upon request. 

Failure to provide government photo identification when requested by an agent of the 

Board will result in issuance of a citation for violation to the practitioner, owner and/or 

manager of the establishment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 2.5 Duplicate License  

 

A. A request for duplicate license shall be submitted in writing, on a form provided by the 

Board, to the Board office. Applicants for a duplicate license shall submit two (2) forms 

of identification.  Acceptable forms of identification may be driver’s license, government 

issued ID card, Social Security card, school ID card with photograph, voter registration 

card, U.S. military card, Native American tribal document, birth certificate, passport, 

certificate of U.S. citizenship, certificate of  naturalization, valid (unexpired) temporary 

resident card or employment authorization card. Only one duplicate license shall be 

issued during a licensing period, unless extenuating  circumstances are presented. In the 

case of an applicant with extenuating circumstances, the applicant must appear in person 

at the Board office and provide the above proof of identification to be granted a second 

duplicate license. Any additional duplicate license request must be submitted to the Board 

for consideration. 

B. A licensee who has a duplicate license posted, shall make his or her government photo 

identification available upon request. Failure to provide government identification, when 

requested by an agent of the Board shall result in the issuance of a citation for violation to 

the practitioner, owner and/or manager of the establishment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 2.6 Outdated License:  

 

A. Any person who has been licensed in this state, and whose license has expired for a  

period of three (3) years must make application for approval for written and practical 

examination.   

B. The application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board 

and must be accompanied by:  

  1. Two recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken prior to application.  

 2. Record of last renewal, including registration number, and date of expiration.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)   

 

Rule 2.7 Licensure Process Under the Military Family Freedom Act 
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The Board shall issue a license to an applicant who is a member of the military or an applicant 

who is married to or is a dependent of a member of the military if, upon application to the Board, 

the applicant meets the requirements of 73-50-1. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-50-1 (Rev. 2020) 

 

Rule 2.8 Licensure Process Under the Universal Recognition of Occupation Licensing Act 

(UROLA)  

 

The Board shall issue a license under the Universal Recognition of Occupational Licensing Act 

if, upon receipt of the application prescribed by the Board, the applicant meets the requirements 

of 73-50-2. 

 A. A temporary practice permit is valid for 365 days from the issue date of the permit.  

B. The applicant will be required to pass the sanitation and law examination within two (2) 

years of the issue date of the permit and a license shall be granted under the existing out-

of-state application for licensure originally filed with the Board. 

C. If the applicant fails to pass the sanitation law exam after two (2) years of the issue date 

of the permit, a new and completed out-of-state professional licensing application must 

be filed with the Board; however, the applicant is not eligible to receive an additional 365 

day permit. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-50-2 (Rev. 2021) 

 

Rule 2.9 Postsecondary School of Cosmetology - Eligibility  

  

A. The intent of the Board is to offer schools recognition for postsecondary 

designation. Schools seeking the postsecondary designation shall meet certain 

qualifications.  

B. Qualifications  

1. The school shall admit as a regular student only an individual who has 

earned a recognized high school diploma or has earned their high school 

equivalency through a recognized GED testing facility. Student must also be 

beyond the age of compulsory high school attendance and be able to read, write, 

and speak English.  

2. Proof of education qualification, enrollment form, and certification of 

receipt of required documents must be submitted to the Board office no later than 

30 days after date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be granted 

until these documents have been received.  

C. Schools will show its compliance with this qualification with an affidavit upon 

licensing or renewal. Schools previously licensed as a School of Cosmetology may 

request postsecondary recognition during their renewal by providing an affidavit 

certifying its compliance.  

D. Upon receipt of affidavit of certifying of compliance, the Board office will 

conduct a file audit to ensure the school is in compliance to receive recognition for 

postsecondary designation. Once a school receives recognition for postsecondary 
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designation the Board office will periodically audit the school’s student records to ensure 

that postsecondary designation has been maintained.  

E. Licenses of a Postsecondary School of Cosmetology shall clearly state that the 

school is Postsecondary.  

F. All Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology will follow Chapter 5: Schools Rules 

5.1- 

5.15 and 5.17 -5.24  

G. Graduates of a Postsecondary School of Cosmetology may apply for examination 

through Rules 2.8-2.14, for which the graduate qualifies.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-16  (Rev. 2021).  

 

Rule 2.10 Licensure by  Reciprocity - Practitioner  

  

An individual who holds a current license from another state with whom Mississippi has a 

written reciprocal agreement may be eligible for a practitioner license  in accordance with Miss. 

Code Ann. Section 73-7-23. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-23 (Rev. 2021) 

 

Rule 2.11 Request for Pre-Licensure Determination – Fresh Start Act of 2019 

 

An individual may request the Board for a determination of whether the individual’s criminal 

record will disqualify the individual from obtaining a license.  The determination request shall be 

in writing, filed on a form supplied by the Board and signed in the presence of a notary.  The 

request shall also be accompanied by a judgement of conviction. 

A. Disqualifying Crimes Felony. 

 1.   An individual may be denied a license or permit based on a felony conviction  

  which includes the following:  a deferred conviction, a deterred prosecution, a  

  deferred sentence, finding or verdict of guilt, admission of guilt or a plea of nolo  

  contender. 

 2. Directly Related to Licensure Practice.  Crimes involving fraud or theft that may  

  place clients and the public at risk. 

 3. Misdemeanor.  The admission of multiple convictions, including misdemeanor  

  convictions may be used to determine if an individual shall be denied a license or  

  permit. 

 B. Determination Notification 

  1. Time of Response.  The licensing authority or its designee shall issue a  

   written determination notification to the individual within 30 days from  

   the Board’s receipt of the individual’s request. 

  2. Standing.  The individual shall be provided one of the following   

   responses: 

   a. Insufficient Information.  If the individual’s request contains  

    insufficient information, the Board or its designee will notify the  
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    individual that a determination cannot be made at this time as to  

    the individual’s standing or whether or not the criminal record will  

    disqualify the individual from obtaining a license. 

   b. Disqualification Notification.  The Board or its designee shall  

    notify the individual of the following: 

    i. Grounds and reasons for denial or disqualification; 

    ii. The right to a hearing; 

    iii. The earliest date to reapply for a license; 

    iv. Evidence of rehabilitation may be considered upon   

     submittal of a new application. 

 C. Administrative Hearing.  The notice will advise the individual of the right to a  

  hearing to challenge the Board or its designee’s decision. 

 D. Notice of Hearing.  The Board or its designee shall provide in writing to the  

  individual the time, date and nature of the hearing pursuant to the Board’s   

  statutory provisions, rules and regulations. 

 

Source:  Miss. Code. Ann.  § 73-77-1 et. seq. (2019) 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 3: Permits  

  

Rule 3.1 Demonstrator’s Permit      

  

An Establishment must not allow a product demonstrator to demonstrate any product without a 

permit which has been issued in accordance with Section 73-7-25 of the Mississippi Code of 

1972 as amended.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-25 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 3.2 Permit to Work  

  

A.  Student, or Student Instructor:  

1. Any student or student instructor who has completed the total number of  

prescribed hours in a course of training may be issued a permit to work valid for 90 days 

in that capacity. An application for a permit to work shall be submitted on a form 

prescribed by the Board.:  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13  (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 3.3 One-Time Temporary Teaching Permit for Applicant for Instructor’s License by 

Reciprocity  

  

Any applicant for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity who has not completed the 

college course(s) requirement at the time of application may be issued a one-time temporary 

teaching permit valid for six months, which shall be non-renewable. All other requirements must 
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be met at the time of application for instructor’s license by reciprocity. The request for a one-

time temporary teaching permit shall be made on the application prescribed by the Board 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Part 2101  Chapter 4:  Salons  

  

Rule 4.1  Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice  

  

All unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from practicing cosmetology, manicuring, or 

esthetics, in any manner.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 4.2 Procedure for the Opening of A New Salon  

  

A. A proposed salon owner must submit an application for licensure to operate a 

salon on the form prescribed by the Board. An incomplete application will not be 

processed.   

B. Inspection and Approval for Licensure:  

  During the inspection appointment, the Board will conduct an inspection of the premises 

to determine if all requirements, as indicated in the law, including minimum equipment 

requirements, have been strictly adhered to by the owner(s) of the proposed salon. If the 

requirements are not met, and the Board cannot approve the salon, there will be an 

additional fee for each inspection made before licensing the salon.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-17 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 4.3 Salon Change of Ownership; Addition or Change of Partners; Change of Location; 

Change of Business Name  

  

No license is transferable from one owner to another or one location to another.  

 

A. Change of Ownership  

1. Salon owners who contemplate selling or transferring the ownership of a 

salon must notify the board in writing prior to the sale or transfer.  

2. Where a sale or transfer of ownership occurs, the prospective owners must 
make application for a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 4.1 and 4.4, and 

must pay the required fee.  

3. A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued.  

B. Addition or Change of partners  

1. Where a partnership is added, or changed, and at least one partner or 

original owner remains, then a new salon application is not required.  

2. Written notification of the change in partnership should be made to the 

Board within (30) days of such change.  
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3. When the original applicant(s) is no longer a partner in the salon, an 

Application of Approval of a New Salon must be made in accordance with Board 

Rules 4.2-4.4, and the required fee must be paid. 

C. Change of Location  

1. A salon owner who contemplates relocation of the salon must make 

application for a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 4.2-4.4, and must pay 

the required fee.  

2. A change of location includes moving an existing establishment:  

a. From one address to another  

b. From one building, or area within a building, to another, even 

when a  

“change of address” does not occur. 

3. An application for a new salon not required when a portable building is moved 

 from one specific site on a lot to another site on the same lot, and there is no 

 change in equipment or address.  

D. Change of Business Name  

  A salon will not change its business name without first filing a change of business name 

form and paying the processing fee. (The Board may charge an appropriate processing fee 

in the event of a business name change. The amount shall be on the form for business  

name change).  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 4.4 Nursing Home Salons  

  

Section 73-7-35 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended provides that services may be 

provided outside the physical confines of a licensed salon, to “...any person who may be 

confined to his or her home, a hospital, or other place as a result of illness.”  

 

A. Nursing home salons are considered patient care facilities and do not require a 

salon license under the following conditions:  

1. Services are restricted to patients only and are not provided for employees 

of the nursing home, nor family or friends of the patients.  

2. A retirement home or community where the residents are not confined due 
to illness is not considered a nursing home. Any salon operated as a part of a 

retirement home or community must be licensed by the Board. 

B. If a nursing home facility requests to be licensed as a salon and meets all 

requirements of the Board, then it will be granted.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-35 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Part 2101 Chapter 5: Schools    

  

Rule 5.1 Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice  
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All unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from practicing cosmetology, manicuring, or 

esthetics, in any manner.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.2 Procedure for the Opening of A New School  

  

A. Procedure for filing an application for preliminary school approval.  

1. Any person proposing to own or operate a school must make an 

appointment with the Board to discuss in detail the proposed operation of the 

school.  

2. Interested persons must completed a Personal Survey Form and return to 

the State Board of Cosmetology prior to the initial meeting with the Board.  

B. An application for a license to operate a school must be submitted for approval on 

an application form as prescribed by the Board.   

C. Initial Inspection and Approval of Proposed School  

1. An inspection shall be performed by two (2) agents of the Board, one of 

which must be a board member, for the purpose of validating the information 

provided on the school application.  

2. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding 

requirements for licensure and operation of School of Cosmetology, Manicuring 

or Esthetics, the Board may waive the initial inspection and proceed to the final 

inspection.   

3. The findings of the initial inspection will be submitted to the Board for its 

approval at its next regular or any special called meeting. The applicant will be 

notified in writing of the decision of the Board within 30 days. 

D. Final Inspection and Approval of Proposed Schools  

1. If the inspection is found to be in order and the results of the initial 

inspection approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the 

Board, at least one of which will be a Board Member to confirm full compliance.  

2. No School will be approved until the Board has had ample opportunity to 

verify sworn statements as to the actual ownership, and all other claims and 

representations set forth in the “Personal Survey Form”, the “Application for 

Approval”, the “Initial Inspection Report”, and the Final Inspection Report.  

3. If all requirements and qualification are met, the Board will cause written 

approval to be issued.  No school will be considered approved, nor will classes be 

allowed to begin, until said approval has been executed.  

4. The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who 

fails to meet the requirements for operating a school and/or who fails to present 

satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional integrity and experience. 

In the event the Board denies approval, the fees associated with the application 

will be forfeited.  

E. Miscellaneous  

1. Enrollments.  Students may be registered, but not admitted to class until 

such time as the school has received its final approval.  
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2. Instructor. Each school must have on its staff at least one full-time 

instructor who is charged with the responsibility of the teaching program, and 

who is considered the lead instructor. This person must hold an active Mississippi 

license or permit at the time of application for school approval.  

3. Non-Compliance. Within thirty (30) days from the date of any inspection, 

the Board may require that the school submit a course of action or “compliance 

plan” which will indicate their awareness of the problem and will set forth in 

sufficient detail which steps they plan to take to correct any violations of law. The 

Board may revoke or suspend the approval of any school for any violation of any 

of the conditions set forth for licensing, or if further investigation reveals 

misrepresentation on the part of the applicant.  

 4. Suitable number of kits must be available at the time of Final Inspection which  

 shall be based on enrollment. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.3 Required Space for Schools  

  

Schools must have minimum square feet of floor space, according to the courses which they 

propose to teach which includes, at a minimum, skill and theory classrooms, reception area, 

office, two (2) restrooms, reference library, dispensary/stock room, facial area, and locker area.  

This floor space is to accommodate a maximum number of students and for every student 

thereafter, 25 square feet of floor space per student must be added. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.4 Required Equipment  

  

The minimum equipment requirement as indicated on the application must remain in full force 

and effect so long as the school remains in operation.  

 

Rule 5.5 Name of School  

  

All schools licensed by the Board must be designated as such by an outside sign large enough to 

be visible.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.6 School Advertising  

  

A. Advertising of a proposed school is to be limited to the procurance of students.  

B. A licensed school is allowed to advertise the prices of clinical services outside the  

premises as long as the following conditions are met:  

1. The advertisement will clearly state, in bold print that “all work is 

performed by   students under the supervision of a licensed instructor.”  

2. No comparison of prices is made to any other school or to licensed salons.  
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3. Hours of operation for the clinic floor must be posted.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.7 School Change of Ownership; Addition or Change of Partners; Change of Location; 

Change of Business Name; Renovation of Existing School  

  

No license is transferable from one owner to another or from one location to another.  

No new license shall be issued until all fines previously assessed to the school have been paid in 

full. A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued.  

 

A. Change of Ownership  

1. Prior to selling or transferring the ownership of a school, the owner(s) 

must notify   the Board, in writing, at least thirty (30) days in advance of the sale 

or transfer.  

2. An application for Initial School Approval must be submitted to the Board 

by the   prospective owner(s), in accordance with Board Rules 5.2 through 5.6.  

3. At any time a corporation has a change of control, the Board shall be 

notified in   writing at least ten (10) days in advance of the change in corporate 

control.   

B. Addition or Change of Partners  

1. Prior to the addition or change of a partner(s), owner(s) must notify the 

Board, in   writing, at least thirty (30) days in advance.  

2. At any time the original applicant is no longer a partner in the school, an    

Application for Initial School Approval will be required, in accordance with 

Board   Rules 5.2 through 5.6.  

C. Change of Location  

1. School owners who are relocating a school must submit an application for 

a license to operate a school and must be submitted for approval on an application 

form as prescribed by the Board. 

2. Relocation of a School of Cosmetology, Esthetics, or Manicuring within a 

radius  of 15 miles from the existing school may not require submission of:  

a. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or advertising materials, unless 

there have   been substantial changes made.  

b. Schedule of Instructors, unless there has been a change in those 

schedules   

      from that which is on file at the Board. 

3. Initial and/or Final inspections will be conducted upon receipt and 

approval of the School Application. The Board will conduct an initial and/or final 

inspection to ensure that all requirements have been met. \  

4. The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who 

fails to   meet the requirements for conducting a school and/or who fails to present    

satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional integrity and experience.  

D. Change of Business Name  
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A school must not change its business name without having first having filed a change of 

business name form and paid the processing fee. If a change of business name is made at the 

time of renewal, the processing fee will be waived. The processing fee is $50.00. If a new owner 

is requesting a change in a business name, the owner must provide the buy/sell agreement. 

E.  Renovation  

Before any major alteration or renovation of school is made, the plan of such alteration or 

renovation must first be submitted to the Board in writing and written approval must be received. 

The School must undergo initial and final inspection and approval in accordance Rule 5.2.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.8 Satellite Classroom  

  

A. Definition: A satellite classroom is a supplemental training space located near the 

main  school for the purpose of training an overflow of students who cannot be 

accommodated  at the main school.  

1. A satellite classroom must be close enough to the main school to assure 

immediate supervision by the main school.  The satellite classroom may be no 

farther than five miles from the main school.  

2. A clinic may not be operated at a satellite classroom location.  

3. During operation hours, an instructor must be in the classroom.  

4. A school is responsible and accountable to the Board for its satellite 

classroom   location.  

a. If ownership of the separate facility changes from that of the main 

school,   Board approval does not continue for the satellite facility.  

b. The separate classroom must bear the same name as the main 

school, and   must be identified as such by an outside sign.  

B. Application Procedure  

1. An application for a Separate Classroom Location must be submitted on 

an   application form prescribed and provided by the Board, accompanied by such   

evidence, statements, or documents as therein required and filed with the Board at   

its office in Jackson, Mississippi.  

2. The following is to be submitted with the application:  

a. A fee of $50.00, which covers the cost of the inspection of the 

facility, and    $10.00 for a duplicate of the main school license.  

b. An area map noting the location of the satellite school in respect to 

the main school. The map must include an appropriate scale.  

c. A floor plan, indicating total square feet in the satellite classroom, 

and square feet of each section of the classroom, if it should consist of 

more than one section.  

d. A description of the outside sign.  

C. Approval Procedure  

1. Upon receipt and approval of an Application for Satellite Classroom, the 

Board will conduct an inspection to determine that it meets the requirements for 

approval. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be   
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issued. No satellite classroom will be considered approved, nor will classes be 

allowed to begin in the satellite classroom until this approval has been executed 

a. The suitability of:  

(1) Proposed location  

(2) Proposed classroom, including adequacy of floor space, 

plumbing,   ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with floor 

plan.  

(3) Proposed items of equipment and material.  

Satisfactory evidence of proper provision for duly licensed instructor(s).  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.9 Instruction Staff  

  

A. There must be on the staff at least one full time instructor at all times, who holds a 

current, active license as an instructor in this state.  

B. Immediately upon employment, the school must submit on a form approved by 

the Board, a Certification of Instructor employment which indicates full or part-time 

employment.  

C. The Board must be notified in writing, within ten (10) days of any changes in 

instructor staff of a school of cosmetology.  

D. When the enrollment exceeds 20 students there must be added to the staff an 

additional full-time instructor as follows:  

  

Number of Students  Number of Teachers Required  

1-20  1  

21-40  2  

41-60  3  

61-80  4  

81-100  5  

 

 Each student, including student instructor, cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, and 

part time, is counted as full time enrollment.  

E. For each full-time instructor there can be no more than three student instructors.  

F. Absence from the classroom of the instructor must be reported to the Board of 

Cosmetology, Department of School Coordination.  Arrangement must be made for an 

instructor, who is licensed by the Board, for replacement during vacations, prolonged 

illness, etc. When the instructor is absent for one day or less, a student instructor or senior 

student may be left in charge. When an enrolled senior student is left in charge of the 

clinic floor, no  additional chemical services shall be started.  

G. An instructor/student instructor is strictly prohibited from practicing on patrons 

except in a situation where such practice is for demonstration only.  

H. All practice work by student is to be supervised and checked by an instructor or 

student instructor licensed by the Board.  
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I. All student instructors must, at all times, be under the direct supervision of an 

instructor who holds a current, active license issued by the Board, except as provided by 

Rule 5.9(F).  

J. Any instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of a specific device in any 

practice area of discipline must first present the required certificate of proficiency for the 

device. All individuals seeking licensure after January 1, 1998, must present this 

certification prior to seeking licensure.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.10 Required Display  

  

All schools must display the following in a location conspicuous to the public:   

A. Main School Facilities:  

1. The current school license  

2. The current license of any instructors teaching in the school  

3. The current practitioner or duplicate license of any student instructors.  

4. The Sanitation Rules and Regulations of the Board (Chapter 7).  

5. A notice, in letters large enough to be read across the length of the room, 

that   states:  

“All services in this school are performed by students who are in training; all work must be 

inspected by an instructor.”  

6. A certification of proficiency for a specific device used in any practice 

discipline   of cosmetology for any instructor or student instructor teaching the 

use of the   same. 

B. Satellite Classroom Facilities  

1. Instructor/Student Instructor License.   

2. Duplicate school instructor license.  

3. A sign, which states,    
 “Satellite classroom only. No clinic work performed in this facility” 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16, 73-7-9; 73-7-11 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.11 Separation of Schools from Other Businesses  

  

A. A school cannot be connected with any other business, including a salon.  A 

school and another business must be separated by walls of permanent construction.  If 

doors or openings exist between the business, they must be closed at all times.  

B. A school may share a foyer and/or break room with a barbering school.  

C. Schools may offer cosmetology products and related articles for retail sale.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  
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Rule 5.12 Services for the Public; Restrictions  

  

A. Students may render services to the public only under the direct supervision of a licensed  

 instructor.  

B. A student/student instructor in a school cannot receive a salary or commission from the  

 school for any cosmetology, manicuring, pedicuring, or esthetic services while enrolled.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.13 Student School Contracts  

  

A school is required to execute in duplicate, a contract between itself and a student.  A contract 

between a school and a student must bear the signature of a school official and the student or 

parent or guardian, if the student is under eighteen years of age. A fully executed copy of the 

contract must be given to the student; and one copy must remain at all times in the school’s 

student file.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.14 School Inspections  

  

A. The Board, or its authorized agents, may inspect schools on a regular basis as it 

deems necessary. The intent and purpose of the inspection is to determine of compliance 

with the laws, rules, and regulations of the Board.  

B. In order to ensure that operators of a newly licensed school understand and fully 

comply with the record keeping requirements in the Board Rules, a special on-site audit 

may be performed.  

1. The audit may take place at the conclusion of the first 90 days of a new 

school’s operations.  

2. The audit includes, at a minimum:  

a. A review of the student academic files to ensure that enrollment 

forms are properly prepared and on hand, and that proof of secondary 

education requirements are on hand.  

b. A review of all documentation supporting and substantiating 

student clock hours, including sign in sheets or time cards, and daily 

reports.  

c. An audit of student clock hours which shall encompass at least 

10% of the school’s reported and verified enrollment at that time.  

d. A review of the school’s procedures and records which deal with 

students who are no longer in attendance at the school.  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

 

Rule 5.15 School Closure  
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A.  A school must notify the Board thirty (30) days in advance of school closure. The school  

 must notify the Board of the closure by certified mail.  

B. Within ten (10) days after a school ceases operation, it must forward student records to  

 the Board. These records must consist of, but not be limited to: enrollment information  

 which has not been previously submitted to the Board, records of academic progress, a  

 Final Report which accurately reflects clock hours earned, through the last date of  

 attendance, proof of secondary education which has not previously been submitted to the  

 Board. Files and documentation relating to federal tuition assistance funding should not  

 be forwarded to the Board of Cosmetology.  

C. In the event a school ceases operations for a period of more than thirty (30) days, that  

 School is considered by the Board to be officially closed, and new license is required in  

 accordance with the Laws of the State of MS, Section 73-7-16, and Rule 5.2, prior to  

 operations resuming, either under original ownership or new ownership, except by notice  

 for vacation or break, man-made disasters, or acts of God.  

D. In the event of school closure, the Board shall be provided in writing information relative  

to who will maintain the permanent student records, including, but not limited to, 

transcripts. 

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.16 Requirements for Student Enrollment  

  

A. Cosmetologist, Manicurist, and Esthetician must:  

1. Have at least a tenth (10th) grade education or its equivalent.  

a. Applicants who do not have a high school diploma may submit 

transcript   or report card as proof of their educational qualifications. Proof 

of    educational qualification must be submitted to the board not later than 

30   days after start date. After this time period, no hours can be   granted 

until the proof of educational qualification has been received in the board 

office.  

b. At least 7 credits are required in order to be considered as 

completion of a tenth (10th) grade education.  

c. Any student who enrolls with a tenth (10th) grade education must 

sign a statement indicating that they understand that they are not eligible 

to sit for the licensing examination until they have completed the twelfth 

(12th) grade or its equivalent.  

d. When a student does not meet the educational requirement, such 

student may take a GED. An official GED transcript must be filed no later 

than 90 days after  the start date. After this time period, no hours can be 

granted until the proof of educational qualification has been received in 

the Board office.  

e. A fine of $100 per occurrence and $400 for subsequent violations 

will be levied if enrollment documents are not received within thirty (30) 

days of start date. Further disciplinary action  may be taken at the 

discretion of the Board. 
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2. Be no less than 16 years of age. An enrollee who is less than the minimum   

licensing age of 17 must submit a copy of his/her birth certificate along with other   

enrollment documents.  

3. Be able to read, write and speak English.  

B. Student Instructor must:  

1. Have a current Mississippi license to practice in the field in which he/she 

is   enrolling as a student instructor.  

a. The registration number must be on file with the enrolling school 

and the Board at the time of enrollment.  

b. The practitioner’s license of the student instructor must be posted 

at the school, in a location conspicuous to the public, and must be 

available for inspection by the Board or its authorized agent(s) during 

regular business hours.  

c. If a Student Instructor is actively practicing in a Salon, a duplicate 

license must be posted at the school.  

2. Be no less than 20 years of age.   

3. Have a high school education or its equivalent.  

4. Be a graduate of a licensed school of Cosmetology, Esthetics, or 

Manicuring in this or any other state.  

5. Be able to read, write and speak English.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.17 Student Equipment and Supplies  

  

A. The following equipment and supplies must be issued by the school, to each 

student, upon enrollment, according to their course of training:  

1. Cosmetologist:  

a. Approved printed hard copy textbook or digital e-book textbook  

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules 

and  

Regulations   

c. Mannequin  

d. A kit which must be received no later than the completion of the 

freshman hours that contains the following minimum equipment and 

supplies:  

Rollers, Assorted  4 dozen  

Brushes  6  

Combs  6  

Wide tooth comb or pick  1  

Large, heavy comb, for comb out/color  1  

Scissors, straight  1 pair  

Razor & blades (box)  1  

Curling Iron (size no larger than a quarter)  1  
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Clippies, Box  1  

Shampoo cape, all purpose, styling  2  

Tweezers  1  

Tint brush, applicator bottle and bowl  1  

Manicuring Equipment  

     Pusher  

     Orangewood stick  

     File or emery board  

     Cuticle nippers  

     Nail brush  

Nail clippers  

  

1  

1  

1  

1  

1  

1  

  

2. Manicuring:  

a. Approved printed hard copy textbook or digital e-book textbook  

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Law, Rules 

and  

Regulations   

c. Hand form and holder  

d. Wet Sanitizer  

e. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and 

supplies:  

Finger Bowl  1  

Nail Brush  1  

Nail tips, various sizes  1 package  

Student sculpture kit, with powder, odorless liquid, 

brush, forms and dauber  

1  

Emery board, regular  1  

Emery board, wide  1  

Buffer disks, fine & medium  3 each  

Cuticle nipper (or scissors)  1 pair  

Metal pusher  1  

Orangewood stick  1  

Tweezers  1  

Nail base coat/top coat  1 each  

Ridge filler  1  

Cuticle oil  1  

Nail glue  1  

Nail clippers  1  

(Note: nail polish, quick dry and remover [both acetone and non-acetone] should be 

dispensary items)  

3. Esthetics:  

a. Approved printed hard copy textbook or digital e-book textbook  
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b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules 

and  

Regulations   

c. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and 

supplies:  

Skin Cleanser  8 oz.  

Skin Freshener/toner/astringent   8 oz.  

Moisturizer/sunscreen  2 oz.  

Foundation: light, medium and dark  1 ea.  

Concealer: light, medium and dark  1 ea.  

Blusher: light, medium and dark  1 ea.  

Powder: light, medium, and dark  1 ea.  

Eye liner pencil  1 ea.  

mascara  1 ea.  

Wedge sponges  1 pk.  

Powder brush  1  

Blush brush  1  

Applicators (lip, shadow,  mascara)  1 pkg. each  

Plastic spatulas  1 doz.  

Lip color  1   

Mask and mask brush  1 (2 oz.)  

Tweezers  1  

Pencil sharpeners  1  

B. A student is not required to pay for supplies used in assigned practice work or in 

clinic floor patron services.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.18 Curriculum  

  

A.  Cosmetologist:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 1500 hours of training 

extended over a period of not less than nine months is as follows: 

  1.  Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations  

    Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct  

    General Sciences  

      Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions  

      Anatomy and Physiology  

      Basic Chemistry and Electricity  

             Business Skills  

      Personal/Individual  

        Resume  

        Interviewing   

        Sales and Marketing  
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        Money Management    

              Salon  

        Planning and Design  

        Management  

        Marketing  

    Hair Science  

    Hair Treatments/Services  

      Principals of Design  

      Shampooing and Conditioning  

      Haircutting  

      Hairstyling  

      Chemical Texture Services  

      Coloring and Lightening  

      Braiding, Extensions, Additions and Wigs  

    Skin Science  

    Skin Care/Treatments/Services  

    Nail Science  

    Nail Care/Treatments/Services  

    Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects 

2. Theory requirement:  230 clock hours  

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a 

licensed instructor on the basis of 4 hours minimum per week throughout 

the entire course instruction.   

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to 

practice skill.  

3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 1200 clock hours  

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor. 

4. Unassigned/Open:  70 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be 

used at  

instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates. 

B.  Manicurist:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 350 hours of instruction 

and training extended over a period of not less than nine weeks is as follows:  

  1.  Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations  

    Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct  

    General Sciences  

      Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions  

      Anatomy and Physiology  

      Basic Chemistry and Electricity  

    Business Skills  

      Personal/Individual  

        Resume  

        Interviewing   

        Sales and Marketing  
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        Money Management    

     Salon  

        Planning and Design  

        Management  

        Marketing  

    Nail Science  

    Nail Treatments/Services  

      Manicure  

        Basic  

        Specialty  

      Pedicure  

        Basic  

        Specialty  

      Nail Enhancements  

        Nail Tips  

        Nail Wraps  

        Monomer Liquid  

        Polymer Powder  

        UV Gels  

      Electric Nail File  

      Nail Polish/Art/Airbrushing/Embellishments  

      Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects  

2. Theory requirement:  85 clock hours  

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a 

licensed instructor on the basis of 7 hours minimum per week throughout 

the entire period of instruction.   

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to 

practice skill.  

3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 250 clock hours  

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor.  

4. Unassigned/Open:  15 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be 

used at  

instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates. 

C.  Esthetician:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 600 hours of instruction 

and training extended over a period of not less than fifteen weeks is as follows:  

  1.  Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations  

    Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct  

    General Sciences  

      Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions  

      Anatomy and Physiology  

      Basic Chemistry and Electricity  

    Business Skills  

      Personal/Individual  

        Resume  
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        Interviewing   

        Sales and Marketing  

        Money Management    

     Salon  

        Planning and Design  

        Management  

        Marketing  

    Skin Science  

    Skin Treatments/Services  

      Facial Treatments  

      Facial Massage  

      Facial Machines  

      Hair Removal  

      Makeup  

      Advanced Topics and Treatments  

    Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects  

2. Theory requirement:  100 clock hours  

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a 

licensed instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout 

the entire period of instruction.   

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to 

practice skill.  

3. Skill/Practical Requirement: 470 clock hours  

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor. 

Unassigned/Open:  30 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at instructor’s 

discretion as need of student dictates.  

D.  Student Instructor:  

1. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for a cosmetology, 

esthetician, or manicurist instructor training course consists of 1000 hours:  

a. The subject matter and hours for each are:  

 1,000 hours  

Theory Observation  16 hours  

Skill Observation  90 hours  

(The observation hours must be acquired prior to 

practice teaching)  

  

The Professional Teacher 
including:  

Teacher Personality  

Technical Knowledge  

Teacher Characteristics  

Teachers as Professionals  

Preparation for Teaching  

Planning the Course (Lesson Plans Steps of Teaching)  

218 hours  
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b. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up  

  to 10% as student needs may require. 

2. Prior to application for approval for examination, a student instructor is 

required to have completed  six (6) semester hours in college courses approved by 

the Board. It is strongly recommended that the student seek approval of subject 

matter from the Board prior to actual enrollment in the courses.  

a. All six (6) hours of college courses may be acquired in a 

classroom, web- based or online courses.  

b. Six (6) hours must be acquired in a combination of the following 

subjects:  

(1) Communication   

(2) Business Law   

(3) English  

(4) Psychology  

(5) Sociology  

(6) Mathematics  

(7) Computer  

(8) Safety and First Aid  

(9) Any other Methodology course, with Board approval  

d. Proof of the acquisition of the course must be submitted to the 

Board in the form of an original transcript from the college or university 

from which the courses are acquired. The transcript must bear the seal of 

the school and the signature of the Registrar. Copies are not acceptable.  

3. Prior to application for examination, a student instructor must attend one 

Board approved “Methods of Teaching” Seminar earning a minimum of five (5) 

continuing education hours.  

F. Cross Over Barbers:  The curriculum for a licensed barber enrolled in a 500 hour 

course, as provided for in §73-7-13, extended over a period of not less than 12½ weeks is 

as follows:  

Student Motivation and Learning 

including:  

Laws Governing Learning Process  

Student Motivation  

Student Participation  

Student Personalities  

Slow Learner v. Gifted Learner  

132 hours  

Methods, Management & Materials including:  

Methods, Procedures & Techniques of Teaching  

Classroom Management  

Teaching Materials  

429 hours  

Testing and Evaluation  90 hours  

Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations  25 hours  
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1. Theory Requirements: 65 hours  

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a 

licensed instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout 

the entire period of instruction.  

b. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on 

patrons.  

2. Skill Requirements: 435 hours:  

Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed  

 instructor.  

G. A student may earn clock hours in any course of training for demonstrations and 

for product knowledge being taught by suppliers under the following conditions:    

1. A licensed instructor is in attendance at all times.  

2. The demonstrator holds a current permit issued by the Board for this 

purpose.  

3. If the demonstration/product knowledge is acquired off-campus, a sign-in 

sheet must be maintained by the school authority, and a copy sent to the Board 

with the next regular monthly report.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.19 Student Attendance  

  

A. Full-time students shall not be credited with more than 40 hours weekly.  Hours 

acquired  in excess of 40 hours per week maximum may be applied as Make-up Hours, 

provided   they were from hours missed from the student’s start date as documented by 

the school. Accelerated  hours shall not be accepted. 

B. Student Instructor:  

1. Cosmetology, esthetics, and manicuring instructors training extends over a 

period of not less than twenty-five (25) weeks, provided however, that not more 

than 40 hours weekly are credited.  

2. When the required number of hours has been acquired, the individual can 

no longer function as a “student instructor”.  In order to function in an 

instructional capacity in any school, the student must make application for 

examination, as stipulated in §73-7-15(4) of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as 

amended. 

C. Break in Attendance  

1. Where there is a break in attendance of at least three (3) years, but no 

more than five (5) years, students will be credited with two-thirds of the original 

hours acquired.  Where such break in attendance exceeds five (5) years, but less 

than ten (10), students are credited with one-half of the original hours acquired. 

After a break in attendance of ten (10) or more years, no hours are credited.  

2. Where a portion of the hours for the completion of a course of training 

was acquired out-of-state, but the student did not complete the course in that state, 

the break in attendance rule applies to the student who enrolls in a school in 

Mississippi for the completion of his/her training.  
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3. This provision does not apply to a person whose break in attendance, or 

failure to   acquire licensure is due to a military deployment.  

D. Failure to Apply for Examination 

1. Where an individual has completed a course training in this state, or any 

other state and licensure is not obtained within 365 days after completion of said 

course, “brush-up” hours of training are required before the individual is eligible 

for examination. The following rates of credit apply: 

a. 366 days to three years: 

10% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which 

was completed. 

   b. Over three years to seven years: 

25% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was 

completed. 

   c. Over seven years: 

50% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was 

completed. 

If there is a reason to believe that the individual cannot be licensed prior to the 

end of the first year after the date a student completes the required number of 

hours required for licensure, the Board cannot accept an application for approval 

for examination. There must be an adequate span of time in which the application 

can be approved and examination grades received and recorded. 

E. Any hours acquired toward a cosmetology course may be applied toward either a  

manicuring or esthetics course, provided the hours acquired during the cosmetology 

training are applicable to the course of training to which the hours are to be applied. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.20 Transfer Students  

  

Hours acquired may be transferable from one licensed school to another.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.21 Insignia or Badges  

  

Each student and instructor engaged in a course of training must wear a badge signifying his/her 

status:  

  

Freshman  Insignia worn by cosmetology students who have less than 240 

hours  

Junior  Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 240 to 749 hours  

Senior  Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 750 to 1500 hours  

Instructor  Insignia worn by all licensed instructors  
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Student 

Instructor  

Insignia worn by all students engaged in instructor training  

Manicurist   Insignia worn by all students engaged in a manicurist course  

Esthetician  Insignia worn by all students engaged in a special esthetics 

course  

Special Trainee  insignia worn by all students engaged in advanced and brush up 

training  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.22 Work Upon Patron   

  

A. A student enrolled in a school for a course of training can be assigned work upon 

a patron  for services only after completion of the following hours of training and 

instruction:  

 Cosmetologist   240 hours  

Manicurist  40 hours  

Esthetician  96 hours  

B. Students are not permitted to accept pay or remuneration of any kind during the 

course of  training except retail sale commissions or tips.  

C. An instructor or student instructor cannot work upon a patron paying for services 

unless he/she is doing so in a teaching situation.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

   

Rule 5.23 Records, Forms and Applications  

  

A. All records must be made available to the Board or any of its agents at any time 

during business hours.  

B. Each student must make application for enrollment on forms approved by the 

Board.  

1. The original of the enrollment form must be filed with the Board office no 

later than 30 days after the start date. After this time, no hours are granted until 

the enrollment form has been received in the Board office.  

2. The following must be submitted with the enrollment form:  

a. Proof of at least a tenth (10
th

) grade education, or its equivalent 

(See Rule  

5.16(A)(1)(a))  

b. A statement certifying that the student has received the following:  

(1) Copy of student/school contract  

(2) Copy of school rules and regulations  

(3) Copy of the Mississippi Cosmetology Laws, Rules and  

Regulations  
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(4) Approved printed hard copy textbook or digital e-book 

textbook  

(5) Mannequin or hand form, as the case may be  

(6) Student kit adherent to the rules and regulations of the 

Board.  

C. Each student must record on the time clock, or time sheet, as approved by the 

Board, when starting or completing daily instruction or training, when leaving and 

returning to school premises, and the commencement and termination of lunch period. 

D. Credit for attendance is granted to a student only on time registered and hours of 

applied effort.  No credit attendance is allowed unless a time card or time sheet verifying 

attendance is on file.  

1. Unless the school utilizes a time clock, the Board approved “Student Daily 

Sign-in and Out Sheet” must be used.  

2. All student clock hours must be derived from either a time card or the 

approved form; no other is accepted by the Board to substantiate the students’ 

acquired hours.  

3. If a student fails to sign/clock in or out, or if another person signs/clocks 

in or out for a student, hours are not granted for that time period.  

4. Should an error occur, changes may be made only by the lead instructor 

and must bear the signature of the instructor and the student at the point of 

change. Failure to do so results in non-credit of hours for that time period. 

E. A daily report, approved by the Board, must be utilized by each student, which 

lists all subjects taught in the course of training and provided in the curriculum.  

1. The daily report must recapitulate the student’s work for the day, and must 

support the timecard/sign-in sheet for that day.  

2. The daily report must be maintained and must be initialed the instructor 

daily. 

F. On or before the 10th of each month following enrollment, a monthly summary 

report of hours acquired by each student must be submitted to the office of the Board, and 

one copy must be posted on the bulletin board in the school. A fine of $100 per 

occurrence and $400 for subsequent violations will be levied, if monthly summary report 

of hours acquired by each student are not filed on or before the 10th day of each month. 

Further disciplinary action may be taken at the discretion of the Board. 

G. In the event a student withdraws from classes before completing the course, a 

final transcript of his/her hours and grades, certified by the school, must be filed with the 

Board within 30 days. A copy of the final transcript must be transmitted to the student by 

the school at no cost to the student. A fine of $100 per occurrence and $400 for 

subsequent violations will be levied, in the event a student withdraws from classes before 

completing the course and a final transcript of his/her hours and grades, certified by the 

school is not filed with the Board within thirty (30) days. Further disciplinary action may 

be taken at the discretion of the Board. 

H. Any student who wishes to re-enroll after an absence of 30 days, and is approved 

by the school for re-enrollment, must complete a re-enrollment form as approved by the 

Board.  
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I. Upon completion of required hours of the course, a final transcript of student 

hours and grades, certified by the school, must be filed with the Board within 30 days. A 

copy of the final transcript must be transmitted to the student by the school at no cost to 

the student a fine of $400 per occurrence will be levied if the final transcript is not filed 

with the Board within 30 days of completion of the required hours of the course.  

J. All records must be retained by the school for a period of five years and until such 

time as the student has been licensed.  

K. The Board reserves the right to verify student records of hours acquired, at any 

time it deems necessary during business hours.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 5.24 Licensing Examination Pass/Fail Ratio  

  

A. The Board of Cosmetology maintains records of the results of each student’s licensing  

 examination, by school. If, at any time, it is determined that the graduates of a school,  

 fall below 70 (passing) on either the written examination or any segment of the practical  

 examination for a minimum period of six months, the Board will take the following  

 action:  

1. The owner and instructional staff of the school will be invited to meet with the   

  Board to discuss the problem.  

2. Within 30 days from the date of the meeting with the Board, the school will   

  submit a course of action or “compliance plan” which will indicate their     

  awareness of the problem and which will set forth in sufficient detail what steps   

  they plan to take in an attempt to improve the pass/fail ratio.  

3. The school will be allowed a minimum period of six months in which to improve   

  to a passing average. If the school can demonstrate that an insufficient number of   

  students have graduated or qualified for examination to allow a fair review of the   

  examination average, the Board may, at its discretion, allow a compliance plan to   

  be in effect for longer than six months.  

B. At the conclusion of the agreed upon compliance plan period, if the average examination  

 grades of the school have not improved, the Board may take the necessary action to  

 suspend or revoke the school license.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Part 2101  Chapter 6:  Continuing Education  

  

Rule 6.1 Definitions  

  

As used in this rule section, unless the context otherwise requires: 

A. “Biennial” means every two years (24 months)  

B. “Category” means any one of seven areas in which continuing education hours 

may be acquired. 

C. “CEIT” means Continuing Education in Instructor Training.  
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D. “MC” means Master Cosmetologist  

E. “MM” means Master Manicurist.  

F. “ME” means Master Esthetician.  

G. “MCSA” means Mississippi Cosmetology School Association.  

H. “MIBA” means Mississippi Independent Beautician’s Association.  

I. “MSBC” means Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.  

J. “MCA” means Mississippi Cosmetology Association.  

K. “Provider” means an individual, association or a company which makes a request 

to present a continuing education event.  

L. "SOTA” means School Owner’s and Teacher’s Association.  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 6.2 Continuing Education Requirements  

  

All licensees must sign in with a Board member or Board representative using Board issued 

registration number from license to receive C.E.U. credit.   

A. Instructor   

1. In order to renew an instructor’s license in an active status, proof of twenty-four  

(24) CEIT hours must be on record with the Board. 

2. The biennial period is twenty-four month intervals from the date of qualification 

for licensure as an instructor, and each twenty-four month period thereafter.  

3. Licensed instructors must attend at least one mandatory Board sanctioned 

methods of teaching seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education 

hours per biennial period in order to renew the instructor’s license in an active 

status.  

4. At the time of renewal of an instructor’s license, his/her record is reviewed for 

compliance at the end of the most recent biennial period.  

5. An instructor who fails to acquire twenty-four (24) hours CEIT during their 

biennial period will be issued an inactive license upon renewal, and must obtain 

twenty-four (24) hours CEIT before the license can be made active, i.e., hours 

may not be carried forward for the purpose of making an inactive license active. 

Hours may be obtained within a sixty (60) day grace period before issuing an 

inactive license.  

B. A Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist or Master Esthetician license may be issued 

to any individual who makes application for the same, on a form prescribed by the Board, 

provided:  

1. He/she has been licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or esthetician in this state 

for at least twelve (12) months.  

2. Proof of having acquired sixteen (16) hours of continuing education approved by 

the Board prior to the date of application, is on record with the Board.  

3. In order to renew a Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist, or Master  

Esthetician license, proof of acquisition of eight (8) hours biennially of continuing 

education must be on record with the Board.  
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-15 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 6.3 Credit for CEIT/MC/MM/ME Hours  

  

Credit is given for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in the following CATEGORIES, providing all 

requirements set forth by the Board have been met and pre-approved:  

 

A.  Category One: Organized course work or activities in cosmetology or cosmetology 

related subject matter.  Included are seminars, short courses, workshops, and on-line 

continuing education, as well as technical sessions of MSBC meetings or conferences. 

1. Credit accrues at the rate of one hour for each hour of contact, rounded off 

to the nearest quarter hours.  

a. An individual must actually be in attendance for each contact hour 

claimed. No credit is given for missed sessions, social hours, breaks and 

related activities, or business meetings.  

2. In order for an activity to be approved for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in 

this category, the following criteria must be met:  

a. The activity must have significant intellectual or practical content 

and its primary objective must be to increase the participant’s professional 

competency as an instructor, master cosmetologist, master manicurist, or 

master esthetician.  

b. The activity must be offered by a provider meeting Board 

approval. Demonstrated ability arising partly from the extent to which 

individuals with training or educational experience are involved in the 

planning, instruction, and supervision of the activity.  

c. The activity itself must be conducted by an individual or group 

qualified by practical or academic experience.  The program, including the 

named advertised educators, must be conducted substantially, as planned, 

subject to emergency withdrawals and alterations.  

d. Thorough, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared written 

materials must be made available to all participants at or before the time 

the course is presented, unless the absence of such materials is recognized 

as reasonable and approved by the Board; mere outline without citations 

or explanatory notations are not sufficient.  

e. The activity must be conducted in a physical or virtual setting 

conducive to learning.  

f. At a minimum, the activity must consist of not less than four (4) 

hours of actual instruction.  

g. The activity must deal primarily with matters related to the enhancement 

 of the participants knowledge (MC/MM/ME) or to the teaching of  

cosmetology, manicuring, esthetics, professional responsibility or ethical 

 obligations of master cosmetologists, master manicurists, master 

   estheticians or instructors, or any related field of expertise. 

3. Any provider or licensee desiring approval of a course, program, or other 

activity, must apply to the Board on a form approved by the Board by submitting 
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all supporting documentation no less than forty-five (45) days prior to the date for 

which the course or program is scheduled.  

a. The Board will advise the applicant in writing within thirty (30) 

days of the receipt of the completed application whether the activity is 

approved or disapproved.  Applicants denied approval of a program or 

activity may appeal such decision by submitting a letter of appeal to the 

Board within fifteen (15) days of the receipt of the notice of the approval 

or disapproval.  

b. The provider of an approved CEIT/MC/MM/ME activity may 

advertise in informational brochures and programs provided by the 

provider, as follows:  

 This course has been approved by the Mississippi State Board of 

Cosmetology for credit in continuing education at a maximum 

of: 

_____ hours for instructor;   

_____ hours for master cosmetologist; _____ 

hours for master manicurist; and _____ 

hours for master esthetician.  

 

c. The Board approves only those activities in which the board or its 

employees can verify that the subjects being presented conform to the 

Board’s policies.  The Board has the right to freely enter and observe all or 

appropriate portions of such activities.  

d. The Board may at any time re-evaluate and revoke approval of a 

particular activity. 

B.  Category Two: Holding an elected or appointed office or active committee assignment in 

the MSBC or allied professional organization, such as (M.C.A., M.C.S.A., M.I.B.A., 

S.O.T.A. and the MS Cosmetology Council). Credit accrues at the rate of five (5) hours 

per year for holding office.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 6.4 Documentation of Continuing Education Hours  

  

A. Instructors: On or before the renewal of a license after the close of the most 

current biennial period, an instructor should submit documentation of any CEIT hours 

earned in any category other than categories One or Two. The documentation must be 

applicable proof of participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed.  

The documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One and Two, must verify 

completion of the required twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education, in order to 

renew a license in an active status. 

B. Master Cosmetologist/Master Manicurist/Master Esthetician: 

1. In order to have the designation of  a master cosmetologist/master 

manicurist/master esthetician printed on the license, an applicant must submit 

documentation of any continuing education hours earned in any category other 
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than categories One and Two. The documentation must be applicable proof of 

participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed.  The 

documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One and Two, must 

verify completion of the required eight (8) hours of continuing education.  

2. In order to renew a license as a master cosmetologist, master manicurist or 

master esthetician an applicant must submit documentation of any continuing 

education hours earned in any category other than categories One or Two. The 

documentation must be applicable proof of participation in activities for any 

category in which credit is claimed.  The documentation, combined with hours 

earned in Categories One and Two, must verify completion of the required eight 

(8) hours of continuing education. 

C. The Board reserves the right to require additional documentation and proof for 

reported activities. When asked for additional documentation, the burden of furnishing 

proof of compliance rests with the licensee.  

  

Part 2101  Chapter 7:  Sanitation  

  

Rule 7.1 Enforcement  

  

A. The holder or holders of an establishment license is liable for the implementation and 

 maintenance of the sanitary conditions of the establishment. 

B. Any student, licensed practitioner, or licensed instructor is held individually liable for the  

 implementation and maintenance of the sanitary conditions of his/her station and  

 equipment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.2 Sanitation Rules  

  

In accordance with 73-7-7(2), these rules relating to sanitation have been approved by the MS  

State Department of Health, Office of Environmental Health and Associated Infections  

Antimicrobial Resistance Program prior to adoption by the Board.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7(2) (Rev. 2021)  

 

Rule 7.3 Interior  

  

A. Each establishment must be kept clean and in good condition.  

B. Floors in any area where services are performed must be covered with a non- 

porous material. 

C. All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of solid construction with 

lids, so constructed that they may be thoroughly cleaned and must be maintained in a 

clean condition. Waste and refuse must be removed from the premises as frequently as 

necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness. 
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D. Hair and nail clippings must be removed from the floor and surface areas 

following each client.  

E. Animals are not permitted in an establishment. Exception is a registered service 

animal. 

F. Water Supply  

1. Each establishment must be provided with an adequate supply of potable 

running water, under pressure, from an approved source.  The potable water 

system must be installed to preclude the possibility of backflow, with no cross 

connections through which the potable water might become contaminated.  

2. Adequate hot and cold water under pressure must be provided in all work 

booths or work rooms.  

3. Adequate drinking facilities must be conveniently provided in each 

establishment.   

4. All drinking fountains must be maintained in a sanitary manner and the 

stream of water from the fountain head must be properly regulated.  

5. The use of a common cup, glass or other receptacle for drinking purposes 

is expressly prohibited. 

G. Restroom Facilities  

1. Every establishment must be provided with adequate and conveniently 

located restroom facilities.  

2. At least two restroom facilities must be provided in each school for the 

students, faculty, staff, and patrons. At least one restroom facility should be 
provided for employees and patrons in other establishments.  

3. All restrooms must be kept clean and in good condition.  

4. All restrooms must be well lighted and ventilated to the outside air.  

5. All establishments located on a street or alley where a system of sanitary 

sewers is available must have a properly constructed sewer connection to the 

sewer system into which human excreta and other liquid waste is disposed. Where 

no sanitary sewer system is available, all human excreta and other liquid waste 

must be disposed of in a sewage disposal system meeting all the requirements of 

the Mississippi State Department of Health and/or the Mississippi Department of 

Natural Resources.  

6. Adequate and convenient hand-washing facilities, including sink, hot and 

cold running water under pressure, an adequately supplied soap dispenser, and  

disposable towels, or properly laundered cloth stored in a closed container, must 

be provided in or adjacent to every restroom.  

7. Waste and Refuse: All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of 

solid construction with lids and must be removed from the premises as frequently 

as necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness.    

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.4 Personal Sanitation  
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A. Hand Washing Practices: Every practitioner and student in an establishment must  

thoroughly wash and scrub his or her hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser before  

starting work, before each client, or after using the restroom.  

1. In the service of manicuring, both the client and the licensed individual 

must wash their hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser or wipe with 

alcohol/antibacterial hand sanitizer prior to the service.  

2. Prior to a pedicure, the client’s feet must be cleansed with an antibacterial 

skin cleanser. 

B. Infectious Disease  

1. Persons with a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is 

medically recognized to be transmittable by the type of contact that practitioners 

have with clients are not to be permitted to practice in an establishment until their 
condition is no longer communicable under those circumstances.  

2. Likewise, clients who have a communicable disease or parasitic infection 

that is transmittable to other clients or to a practitioner through the type of contact 

the client would have with the practitioner, or other clients, should not be 

accommodated in an establishment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.5 Chairs, Shampoo Boards and Bowls  

  

A. The head-rest chair must be provided with a clean towel or paper sheet for each 

patron. 

B. Shampoo bowls must be cleaned with soap and water or other detergent after each  

shampoo, kept in good condition and in a sanitary condition at all times.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.6 Linens and Towels  

  

A. Only freshly laundered or new disposable linens or towels can be used on each 

client. 

B. After linens and towels have been used, they must be deposited in a closed 

receptacle, and cannot be used again until properly laundered and sanitized.  

C. Used linens and towels must be laundered either by regular commercial 

laundering or by a non-commercial laundering process which includes the following 

treatment: Immersion in hot water. for not less than five minutes at some time during the 

wash or rinsing operation. All linens are to be disinfected during the wash cycle using 

detergent. 

D. All clean linens and towels are to be stored in a closed container of solid 

construction.  

E. A sanitary neck strip or towel must be used to keep all protective covering from 

coming in direct contact with a patron.  
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.7 Bottles and Containers  

  

A. All bottles and containers must be distinctly and correctly labeled to disclose their  

 contents.  When not in use all bottles and containers must remain closed.  All bottles  

 containing poisonous substances must be so designated and stored in a separate cabinet  

 away from cosmetics and other substances. 

B. There shall be no more than two (2) gallons of acetone stored or in use in a salon or  

 school at any one time.  Acetone shall be properly labeled and stored in a separate cabinet  

 from cosmetics, in accordance with manufacturer’s directions.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.8 Instruments and Supplies  

  

A. All instruments and supplies which have been used in direct contact upon a 

patron, or which have become soiled in any manner whatever, must be removed from 

primary work area, placed in a properly labeled receptacle provided for the purpose, and 

cannot be used on another patron until they have been properly cleaned and sanitized.  

B. All supplies such as cotton, ear pads, neck strips and protectors which cannot be 

sanitized by one of the procedures covered by Rule 7.9 must be discarded immediately 

after use. 

C. Carrying instruments in or on garments or uniforms is prohibited.  No practitioner 

in an establishment may carry any instruments or supplies in or on a garment or uniform.  

D. Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-type neck dusters in any establishment.  

E. The use of credo blades and/or scalpels is prohibited in any procedure or service. 

In addition, credo blades, micro plane foot files and scalpels are prohibited on the 

premises of any licensed establishment.  

F. Electric nail file:    

1. Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an electric file in any 

manicuring procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are 

proficient in the use of the instrument.  

2. The electric nail file certification of proficiency must be posted at the 

practitioner’s primary work area at all times.  

3. Any instructor or student instructor teaching or planning to teach the use 

of the electric nail file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board 

approved certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument.  

4. The instructor’s or student instructor’s electric file certification of 

proficiency must be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times.  

5. Any electric nail file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be 

specifically designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the 

instrument must be able to provide that documentation upon demand. 

G. Microdermabrasion and Dermaplaning  
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1. A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation 

must limit  the exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion 

equipment  must be approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration 

(FDA) as a Class  I device intended for use by licensed practitioners. The 

practitioner must  prominently display the manufacturer’s a certificate of training 

proficiency for  each type of equipment used, and must comply with the 

manufacturer’s directions  in the use of each product. The use of FDA class 2 or 

class 3 devices is prohibited.  

2. Dermaplaning is prohibited from practice by any license holder of the 

Board.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-21, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.9 Disinfecting Work Surfaces, Instruments, Materials and Supplies  

  

A. Work surfaces must be disinfected after each client.  

B. All instruments, materials and supplies used in direct contact upon a patron, 

except those which come in contact with blood or body fluids, require the following 

treatment:  

1. Thorough cleansing of the instruments, materials and supplies with soap 

and water or other detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, 

so as to remove all foreign material which might harbor bacteria.  

2. Each establishment will have and use for disinfection at all times during 

business hours, a Wet Disinfectant Container made of glass, stainless steel, or the 

type recommended by the manufacturer of the product it contains.  

a. The disinfectant used must be an EPA registered,  bactericidal, 

virucidal and fungicidal disinfectant.  

b. The solution will be mixed and used according to manufacturer’s 

instructions for dilution and immersion time.  

c. The container will be large enough for total immersion of the open 

implement and will contain the appropriate amount of solution for the 

number of items to be disinfected.  

d. The container will have a cover in place at all times, labeled as to 

its contents, and be easily accessible to all practitioners.  

e. Implements are to be removed from the disinfectant in such a 

manner as not to contaminate the disinfectant solution (using tongs, 

baskets, and such), rinsed, and placed on a clean dry towel for air drying.  

f. Ultraviolet ray cabinets may be used, but are not acceptable as 

approved disinfecting devises.  Glass bead sterilizers are not an acceptable 

disinfectant.  

g. The wet disinfectant must be discarded when it becomes 

contaminated.  

h. Wet disinfectant cannot be used for storage.   

3. Storage of Disinfected Implements:  
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Disinfected combs, brushes, instruments and accessories will be kept in a clean, 

sanitized, closed receptacle or cabinet when not in use. 

C. Body treatment, pedicure and manicure equipment that holds water shall be 

cleaned after each client by scrubbing with surfactant soap and water to remove all 

visible residue, then disinfected with an EPA registered bactericide, fungicide, and 

virucidal disinfectant with surface contact according to manufacturer’s directions.  

D. All tools and implements which have come in contact with blood or body fluids 

must be disinfected in the manner stipulated in Rule 7.9.B., except that the  

  disinfectant must be an EPA registered disinfectant that is mixed and used according to 

the manufacturer’s direction. Disposable items must be discarded immediately, following 

the Blood Spill Procedures as stipulated in Rule 7.13.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.10 Disinfecting Electric Clippers and Metal Instruments  

  

Instruments which cannot be sanitized by the procedures set forth in Rule 7.9 will be disinfected 

by:  

A. Thorough cleansing of the working parts of the instruments immediately after 

each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to remove all foreign material which might 

harbor bacteria. 

B. Immersion of the working parts of the instruments in a solution of 70% alcohol 

for not less than five minutes.  Contact points of non-immersible equipment will be 

wiped or sprayed with an EPA registered, bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal 

disinfectant.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.11 Disinfecting Manicure and Pedicure Instruments While In Use on a Patron  

  

A. A solution of 70% alcohol will be readily available during the manicure and pedicure.  

 The instruments used on an individual patron will be placed in the alcohol solution when  

 not actually being employed during the process of giving a manicure and pedicure. 

B. After use on a patron, the entire set of instruments will be removed from the work station  

 and cannot be used again until disinfected in accordance with the procedures set forth in  

 Rule 7.10 or Rule 7.9 if instruments come in contact with blood or body fluids.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.12 Cleaning and Disinfecting Whirlpool Foot Spas  

  

A. As used in this section, “whirlpool foot spa” or “spa” is defined as any basin 

using  circulating water. 

B. Each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the following manner:  

1. Before use upon each patron:  
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a. All water shall be drained and all debris shall be removed from the 

spa   basin.  

b. The spa basin must be cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap 

and water.  

c. The spa basin must be disinfected with an EPA-registered 

disinfectant with  demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal 

activity which must be   used according to manufacturer’s instructions.  

d. The spa basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel.  

2. At the end of each day:  

a. The screen shall be removed, all debris trapped behind the screen 

shall be   removed, and the screen and the inlet shall be cleaned with a 

brush and   surfactant soap and water.  

b. Before replacing the screen, one of the following procedures shall 

be   performed:  

(1) The screen shall be washed with a chlorine bleach solution of 1     

  teaspoon of 5% chlorine bleach to 1 gallon of water, or  

(2) The screen shall be totally immersed in an EPA-registered      

  disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and      

  virucidal activity which must be used according to the       

  manufacturer’s instructions.  

c. The spa system shall circulate with low sudsy soap and warm 

water for at  least 10 minutes, after which the spa shall be rinsed and 

drained.  

3. Every other week (bi-weekly), after cleaning and disinfecting as provided 

in Rule   

    7.12(B)(2), each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the    

    following manner: 

a. The spa basin shall be filled completely with water and 1 teaspoon 

of 5%   bleach for each 1 gallon of water.  

b. The spa system shall circulate with the bleach and water solution 

for 5 to 10 minutes and allowed to sit for 6 to 10 hours.  

c. The spa system shall be drained and flushed with water before use 

upon a   patron.  

4. A record shall be made of the date and time of each cleaning and 

disinfecting as   required by Rule 7.12, and will indicate whether the cleaning was 

a daily or bi- weekly cleaning. This record shall be made at or near the time of 

cleaning and   disinfecting.  Cleaning and disinfecting records shall be made 

available upon   request by either a patron or a Board representative.  

5. A violation of this section may result in an administrative fine and/or 

disciplinary   action. Each foot spa not in compliance with this section may result 

in a separate   violation.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  
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Rule 7.13 Blood Spill Procedures  

  

A. Practitioner injury.  While risk expected with these practices is minimal, practitioners are  

 cautioned to always use disposable plastic gloves prior to contacting blood or bodily  

 fluids. If a practitioner sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must  

be immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed: 

1. Clean injured area with soap and water.  Apply antiseptic and/or liquid 

styptic or spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. 

Containers, brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin 

or contact the wound.  An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton 

must be used.  

2. Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid.  

3. Put on properly sized disposable plastic gloves.  

4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be 

disposed of in a sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another 

plastic bag (double bagged) and discarded.  

5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated 

implements as provided in Rule 7.9.  

6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water.  

Follow with an antibacterial scrub on hands.  Replace adhesive dressing or band 

aid as needed.  If the wound is on a hand, put on properly sized, disposable plastic 

glove on the injured hand.  

7. If necessary, clean client with soap and water.  

8. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with a private physician. 

B. Client injury: If a client sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must 

be immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed: 

1. Put on properly sized, disposable plastic gloves.  

2. Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic and/or liquid 

styptic or spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. 

Containers, brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin 

or contact the wound.  An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton 

must be used.  

3. If necessary, Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid.  

4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be 

disposed of in a sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another 

plastic bag (double bagged) and discarded.  

5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated 

implements as provided in Rule 7.9. 

6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water.  

Follow with an antibacterial scrub on hands.  

7. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with private physician.  

C.   The MS State Department of Health recommends the CDC for guidance on proper  

handwashing and proper use of hand sanitizer. https://www.cdc.gov/handwashing/when-

how-handwashing.html. 

  

https://www.cdc.gov/handwashing/when-
https://www.cdc.gov/handwashing/when-


57  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.14 Health and Safety Issues  

  

A. Removal of moles, blemishes, or any type of tissue destruction is prohibited. 

B. No practitioner or instructor will massage any person upon a surface of the skin or 

scalp where such skin is inflamed or where a skin infection or eruption is present. 

C. Hair removal by means of epilation and/or depilation shall not be performed on 

the legs, feet, arms, or hands prior to or during any manicure or any pedicure service.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 7.15 Creams, Lotions, Powder and Other Cosmetics  

  

A. When not in use, all creams, lotions, and other cosmetics used on patrons must be 

kept in  clean and closed containers, which must be labeled. 

B. All powder used on patrons must be kept in a clean shaker or may be applied by 
means of  cotton or other sanitized applicator. Applicators must be sanitized after each 

patron.  Disposable applicators must be discarded immediately after use. 

C. Creams and other semi-solid substances must be removed from the container with 

a  sanitized spatula or other article. The use of fingers for removing creams, etc., is  

prohibited.  

D. Lotions or liquids must be poured into a sanitized glass or other container and 

must be  applied to the patron by means of cotton or sanitized applicator. Any excess 

remaining  after application can neither be returned to the original container nor applied 

to another  patron, but must be discarded immediately.  

E. Creams, lotions, powder and other cosmetics must be removed by means of 

cotton, gauze, pledgets, soft absorbent paper, or other sanitized material. 

F. Wax:  

1. Wax can be used only once and discarded. It cannot be returned to the wax 

heater. Applicators cannot be re-dipped.  

2. Paraffin wax used for services requires the following:  

a. The skin must be thoroughly cleansed with an antibacterial skin cleanser.  

b. The skin must be completely dried with a clean towel prior to immersion.  

c. Wax must be discarded when cloudy or when it contains debris.  

d. The product removed from the body must be discarded.  

G. Cosmetic pencils must be sharpened before and after being used on a patron.  

H. No product containing the ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used in 

any  manicuring or pedicuring procedure. All products must be correctly labeled, and  

manufacturer’s data sheets for any nail product must be readily available for review by  

any agent of the Board of Cosmetology.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 2021).  
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Part 2101 Chapter 8.   Disciplinary and Administrative Actions  

  

Rule 8.1.   Disciplinary Actions 

 

This Chapter applies to individual students, student instructors, instructors,  licensees, 

salons, or schools licensed by the Board. The Board may refuse to issue  or renew or may 

deny, suspend or revoke any license held or applied for under  this act upon finding that 

the holder of a license or applicant:  

1. Has not complied with or has violated any of the rules and regulations 

promulgated by the Board.   

2. Has not complied with or has violated any of the sections of Section 73-7-

1, et. seq. of the Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended.   

3. Has committed fraud or dishonest conduct in the taking of the examination 

for licensure.  

4. Has been convicted of a felony.   

5. Has committed grossly unprofessional or dishonest conduct, including, but 

not limited to attempting to use as his/her own the license of another and allowing 

the use of his/her license by another.   

6. Is addicted to the excessive use of intoxicating liquors or to the use of 

drugs to such an extent as to render him or her unfit to practice in any of the 

practices or occupations set forth in this chapter.   

7. Has advertised by means of knowingly false or deceptive statements  

8. Has failed to display the license or certificate issued to him or her as 

provided for in Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-7-11.   

9. Has been convicted of violating any of the provisions of 73-7-1, et. seq. of 

the Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended.   

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-27 and. 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021).  

  

Rule 8.2.   Complaints  

  

A. Public Complaint. Public complaints shall mean any complaint that comes from 

someone outside of a standard Board inspection.   

1. Any complaint may be filed with the Board by a member or agent of the 

Board or by any person charging any licensee of the Board with the commission 

of any of the offenses found in Rule 8.1.  

2. Such complaint shall be in writing, signed by the accuser or accusers, and 

verified under oath, and such complaints shall be investigated as set forth in 

Section 73-77 of the Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended.   

3. The Board shall administratively review to determine that there is 

substantial justification to believe that the accused licensee has committed any of 

the offenses enumerated.   

a. The administrative review agents shall consist of an investigator or 

a  

Board Member, the Board’s Executive Director, and the Board attorney.  
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b. If the administrative review agents determine that there is not 

substantial justification to believe that the accused licensee has committed 

any of the offenses enumerated, it may present the complaint for dismissal 

to the Board.   

c. If the administrative review agents believe that the licensee has 

committed any of the offenses, the Board agents will proceed with a 

formal complaint under Rule 8.2(C).  

d. When used with reference to any complaint filed against a licensee 

herein, the term "not substantial justification" means a complaint that is 

frivolous, groundless in fact or law, or vexatious, as determined by 

unanimous vote of the Board. 

e. Both the complainant and the accused will be notified of the 

Board’s decision.  

B. Board Complaint.  Board complaints shall mean any complaint that is generated 

by a Board agent that typically derives from an inspection or other Board action.   

1. When a Board agent finds a violation at a salon/school, the Board agent 

shall issue notice of the violation(s) on a complaint form and issue a consent 

agreement, which is provided to the Licensee.   

2. The Licensee may invoke his or her right to an administrative hearing 

under Rule 8.2(C) or may waive his or her rights to an administrative hearing and 

accept the fine on the Board approved consent form.   

3. The Board or its agent may accept or reject the Consent Agreement.   

4. A licensee who violates the same law, rule, regulation within three (3) 

years shall be considered a repeat offender and shall not be entitled to a sign a 

Consent Agreement.   

5. The Executive Director may execute a Consent Agreement on behalf of 

the Board.   

6. If the Licensee invokes his or her rights to an administrative hearing or 

refuses to enter the consent agreement, the Board shall follow the procedures 

under Rule 8.2(C).   

C. Formal Complaint. Formal Complaints are pleadings drafted for matters to be set 

for a hearing.   

1. The Board reserves the right to forego steps under Public and Board 

Complaints and institute a Formal Complaint against any licensee at the finding 

of reasonable cause.    

2. Formal complaints shall specify the reason or reasons for denying the 

applicant a license or certificate of registration, or in the case of any other 

disciplinary action, the offense or offenses of which the licensee or holder of a 

certificate of registration is charged.   

3. Public and Board Complaints, which have not been resolved, are 

presented to the Board to determine if there is reasonable cause to believe the 

accused has committed any of the alleged offenses.   

4. If the Board determines there is reasonable cause to believe the accused 

has committed any of those offenses, the Secretary of the board shall give written 
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notice of such determination to the accused licensee and set a day for a hearing as 

provided in Rule 8.3.   

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-27 and 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021).  

  

Rule 8.3. Notice of Formal Complaint and Administrative Hearing  

  

A. The Board shall notify the accused that a complaint has been received and that a 

administrative hearing will be held. The accused shall be notified at least twenty (20) 

days prior to the date of the administrative hearing.   

B. Notice may be considered to have been given, if the Notice or a copy thereof was 

mailed by using United States first-class certified mail, postage prepaid, to the last-

known residence or business address of such applicant, licensee or holder of a certificate.  

 C.   The notice of the Complaint shall also inform the accused of the following:  

1. The date, time, and location of the hearing;   

2. That the accused may appear personally at the administrative hearing and 

may be represented by Counsel; and   

3. That the accused shall have the right to produce witnesses and evidence on 

the individual(s) behalf and shall have the right to cross-examine adverse 

witnesses and evidence.   

D.  Filing of documents. All pleadings and motions relating to any contested case pending 

before the Board shall be filed at the Board office and shall be deemed filed only when 

actually received. Responses to the Complaint should be filed at least seven (7) days prior 

to the hearing. Copies of all pleadings and motions shall be served on Board counsel. 

 E.   Pre-Hearing Discovery. There will be no pre-hearing discovery.  

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-27 and 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021).  

     

Rule 8.4 Administrative Hearing Proceedings   

  

A. Administrative hearings shall be before the Board and shall be presided over by 

the President or designee of the Board. Following the administrative hearing, the Board 

shall, in writing, notify the accused as to what sanction(s), if any, shall be imposed and 

the basis for the Board’s action.   

B. All final orders issued by the Board shall be reflected in the Board minutes.   

C. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of public record and shall be 

preserved pursuant to state law.   

D. The hearing on such charges shall be at such time and place as the Board may 

prescribe.   

E. Stenographic notes of the proceedings shall be taken. Any party to the 

proceedings desiring the stenographic notes shall be furnished with a copy of such 

stenographic notes upon payment to the Board of such fees as it shall prescribe, not 

exceeding, however, the actual costs of transcription.   

F. The Board shall issue subpoenas in accordance with Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-

7-27.  
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G. Continuances may be granted only when the ends of justice may be served.  

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-27 and 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021).  

  

Rule 8.5 Sanctions  

  

A. Civil Liabilities:  

The Board may impose any of the following sanctions, singularly or in combination, when it 

finds that a licensee is guilty of any of the offenses including but not limited to those referred to 

in Chapter 8:  

1. Issuance of a letter of official reprimand to the licensee;  

2. Refusal to renew license;  

3. Refusal to issue license;  

4. Place on Probation;  

5. Restriction or limitation of the individual’s scope of practice;  

6. Suspension of the licensee for any period of time; and  

7. Revocation of the license.  

8. Reasonable and customary fines and penalties.  

B. Criminal Liabilities:  

1. The violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, including the use of 

fraudulent statements to obtain any benefits or privileges under this chapter or 

practicing one (1) of these professions without a license, shall constitute a 

misdemeanor, punishable in any court of competent jurisdiction at the seat of 

government, and any person or firm convicted of the violation of any of the provisions 

of this chapter shall be fined not less than One Hundred Dollars ($ 100.00) nor more 

than Five Hundred Dollars ($ 500.00). The court shall not be authorized to suspend or 

suspend the execution of the fine required under this section.  

2. The proceedings in this section shall be in addition to and not in lieu of the other 

remedies and penalties provided in this chapter.  

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-37 and 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021).  

  

Rule 8.6 Appeals  

  

A. A respondent may appeal the decision of the Board to the Chancery Court of the 

First Judicial District of Hinds County.  

B. A respondent may appeal the decision of the Chancery Court to the Mississippi 

Supreme Court.  

C. Further appeal shall be pursuant to any remedies available by law.  

  

Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-7-27(5) (Rev. 2021)  
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Title 30:  Professions and Occupations  

  

Part 2101:  Cosmetology, Board of   

  

Part 2101  Chapter 1:  General  

  

Rule 1.1 Authorization and Applicability  

  

C. The following Rules and Regulations are adopted in conformityaccordance with Chapter 

7 of Title  

73 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, pursuant to the authority vested in the 

Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology (“Board”).  

  

D. These Rules and Regulations are applicable to all persons licensed or registered in 

accordance with the provisions of Chapter 7 of Title 7 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as 

amended, and are effective as of July 1, 200022 and will continue pursuant to law.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20213)   

  

Rule 1.2 Definitions  

  

As used in this Chapter, unless the context otherwise requires:  

  

CC. “Accelerated Hours” means to reduce the time-frame (not clock hours) required for 

course completion by compressing into shorter period.  

CC.   

DD. “Agent” means a member of the Board or any of its authorized representatives.  

DD.   
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EE. “Applied effort” means the time devoted to the study of theory, attendance at theory 

classes, and the actual performance or all practical skills.  

EE.   

FF. “Average daily attendance” means the average daily attendance over a three-month 

period of the students enrolled in a school.  

FF.   

GG. “Board” means the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.  

GG. “Brush-up Hours” are school course hours required for a student to complete after the 

365-day expiration date from the date of the student’s course completion. Note: Course 

completion is considered the date a student completes the minimum required number of 

course hours and not the later date of the student’s school graduation ceremony. 

HH.   

HH. “Cosmetology Law” or “Law” means Chapter 7 of Title 73 of the Mississippi Code of 

1972 as amended.  

II.   

II. “Passport photograph” means a two inch by two inch (2”x2”) photograph of the 

applicant/licensee taken recently prior to the date of application or renewal of license. 

The person must be recognizable in the photograph.  

  

JJ. “Establishment” means cosmetological establishment; school or salon 

KK. “Extenuating Circumstances” means special circumstances that account for an irregular 

way of doing things.  

KK.   

LL. “Full Time” means not less than twenty-five (25), nor more than forty (40) hours per 

week.  

LL.   

MM. “Hours” means clock hours.  

MM.   

NN. “Sink” means a basin fixed to a wall, countertop or floor, having a drainpipe and piped 

supply of hot and cold water.  

  

NN. “Lead Instructor” means the instructor who is in charge of the teaching program at a  

OO. licensed school.   

  

PP. “License” means original or duplicate as issued by the Board.  

OO.   

QQ. “Make-up Hours” are clock hours acquired in excess of the 40 hours per week 

maximum, which may be applied to missed time, in the calendar month in which they 

were acquired provided they were from hours missed from the students start date, as 

documented by the school. 

PP.   

QQ. “Part Time” means anything less than full time as defined in this rule.  
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RR. “Passport photograph” means a two inch by two inch (2”x2”) photograph of the 

applicant/licensee taken recently prior to the date of application or renewal of license. 

The person must be recognizable in the photograph. 

RR.   

SS. “Practitioner” means a licensed person who is practicing one of the professions regulated 

by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of the 

Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.  

SS. “Reciprocity” is the mutual exchange of privileges between states with identical (same) 

licensing conditions. 

TT.   

TT. “Salon” means a licensed establishment operated for the purpose of engaging in the 

practice of cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring, or esthetics, or all.  

UU.   

UU. “School” means a licensed establishment, public or private, operated for the purpose of 

teaching cosmetology, or manicuring, or pedicuring, or esthetics, or all.  

VV.   

WW. “School premises” means buildings, grounds, and parking lots of the school. 

VV. “Sink” means basin fixed to a wall, countertop or floor, having a drainpipe and piped 

supply of hot and cold water.   

XX.   

WW. “State” means the State of Mississippi.  

YY.   

XX. “Student” means any person attending classes in a school licensed by the Board.  

ZZ.   

YY. “Student Instructor” means any person licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or 

esthetician enrolled in an instructor training program in a school licensed by the Board 

under the supervision of an instructor.  

AAA.   

BBB. “Subject” means instruction and training or study of a theoretical or skill operation. 

CCC. “Temporary Practice Permit” is a permit issued under the Universal Recognition of 

Occupational Licensing Act or the Military Freedom Act for a period not to exceed 365 

days or until a license is granted or a notice to deny the license is issued. 

ZZ.DDD. “Temporary Work Permit” is a permit issued to in-state students who have 

completed the prescribed hours in a MS licensed school and not the later date of the 

student’s school graduation ceremony.  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-2 (Rev. 20213)  

  

Rule 1.3 Communications  

  

All communications with reference to licensure, rules and regulations or general information 

should be addressed to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, P. O. Box 55689, Jackson, 

Mississippi 39296-5689. Issues related to schools and application for examinations should be 

directed to the Department of School Coordination. Issues related to examination should be 

directed to the contracted testing service.  
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20213)  

  

Rule 1.4 Requests for Public Records  

  

E. The only information that is made available to the public via telephone inquiry is whether 

or not an individual, salon, or school is licensed by the Board, and whether or not the 

license is current. All other requests for information must be submitted in writing to the 

Board office and will be released only after a) review and determination as to whether the 

information requested is a public record as defined by the Mississippi Public Records Act 

of 1983, Miss. Code Ann. Sections 25-61-1 through 25-61-17, and b) the cost to produce 

the record has been collected. Public records requests may not be made via Email. 

E.   

F. The Board will respond to a public records request within seven (7) days from the date 

the request is received.  

F.   

G. In considering the cost of production of the record, the following will be included: a) cost 

of production of copies, b) expendable printer supplies, c) cost of record research by a 

member of the Board staff, and d) mailing costs. Any other unforeseen costs will be 

disclosed to the individual requesting the record.  

G.   

H. Licensure application files, including, but not limited to examination results are not 

considered public record, and may be released only upon written consent of the 

licensee/examinee. A request for public record, including a third party release, will be 

considered only after or at the time the record is actually created.   

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § § 73-7-7 and 25-61-5 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 1.5 Board Meetings  

  

G. The Board holds its meetings on the last Monday of each month, beginning at 9:00 a.m., 

unless extenuating circumstances exist which preclude same. In the event a Board 

meeting is scheduled at another time, notice will be posted on the Board’s website, not 

less than ten (10) days prior to such meeting. 

G.   

H. A majority of the Board constitutes a quorum.   

H.   

I. All Board meetings are open to the public, and the public is welcome. However, 

members of the public may not participate in business discussion unless invited to do so.  

I.   

J. Members of the public must submit an “Agenda Request Form” to the Board office at 

least one (1) week in advance of the regularly scheduled meeting to be placed on the 

agenda.  

J.   
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K. Any written requests for consideration without personal appearance at the meeting must 

be submitted to the “Agenda Request Form” to the Board office no later than one (1) 

week preceding the regularly scheduled meeting.  

K.   

L. The Board may, in its discretion, designate a period for public comments.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§  73-7-1 and 73-7-7 (Rev. 20213)  

  

Rule 1.6 Posting Laws, Rules, Notices and Bulletins  

  

An establishment must post on its premises, in a place conspicuous to the public, all licenses 

copies of sanitation rules, notices or bulletins as the Board may, from time to time, direct.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-11 (Rev. 20213)  

  

Rule 1.7  Schedule of Fines  

  

The Board shall use the following “Schedule of Fines” for assessing fines for non-compliance 

with its laws, rules and regulations:  

Schedule of Fines  

Statute  Rule  Violation  Issued to  Fine Amount  

1st   

Violation   

2nd & 

subsequent 

violation(s)   

73-7-9    Practicing without a license  Practitioner  $100  $400  

73-7-11    Practitioner license not (or 

improperly) posted  

Practitioner  50  100  

73-7-11    Salon License not (or 

improperly) posted  

Owner  50  100  

73-7-17    Operation of unlicensed 

salon  

Practitioner  100  400  

73-7-19    Practicing under an expired 

salon license  

Owner  50  400  

73-7-19    Practicing under an expired 

practitioner license  

Practitioner      

                                 60 days 

to 1 year  

  50  400  

                        Over 1 year to 

2 years  

  75  400  

                       Over 2 years to 

3 years  

  100  400  

73-7-25    Demonstrator in salon or 

school without demo permit  

Owner  50  400  
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73-7- 

27(2)(c)  

  Fraud or dishonest conduct 

in taking examination  

Student  100  400  

73-7- 

27(2)(e)  

  Dishonest conduct  Owner/Manager 

/Practitioner  

100  400  

73-7-33    Salon not well ventilated or 

well lit  

Owner  50  400  

 

Schedule of Fines  

Statute  Rule  Violation  Issued to  Fine Amount  

1st   

Violation   

2nd & 

subsequent 

violation(s)   

73-7-33    Establishment, 

utensils/equipment not 

sanitary  

Owner/ 

Manager  

50  400  

73-7-33    Permitting practitioner 

with infectious disease to 

practice  

Owner/ 

Manager  

100  400  

73-7-33  7.4(B(1)  Practicing in establishment 

with infectious/contagious 

disease  

Practitioner  100  400  

73-7-

35(1)  

  Working in 

unlicensed/expired salon  

Practitioner  50  200  

73-7-

35(2)  

  Allowing a practitioner to 

practice without a valid 

license  

Owner/ 

Manager  

100  400  

  1.6  Sanitation Rules & 

Regulations not posted in 

establishment  

Owner/ 

Manager  

50  100  

  1.8(A)  Failure to 

allow/interference with 

inspection  

Owner/Manager 

/Practitioner  

50  100  

  2.3(A)  Practitioner license not 

posted in a conspicuous 

place; or photo copy of  

license posted   

Owner/Manager 

/Practitioner  

50  100  

  2.3(B); 

7.8(F)  

Specific device 

certification of proficiency 

not posted in a 

conspicuous place  

Owner/Manager 

/Practitioner  

50  100  

  2.3(C)  Individual claiming to be 

licensed would not 

provide ID  

Owner/Manager 

/Practitioner  

100  400  
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  2.4(B)  Individual with duplicate 

license posted would not 

provide ID  

Owner/Manager 

/Practitioner  

100  400  

  3.2(A)(3)  Student working on permit 

without supervisor  

Student/Owner/ 

Manager  

50  400  

  3.3  Applicant for instructor’s 

license by reciprocity 

working without one-time 

teaching permit  

Applicant/  

Owner  

100  400  

  4.2(A)(1)(f)  Establishment providing 

services outside scope of 

license  

Owner/ 

Manager  

100  400  

  4.3  Salon has not continued to 

meet minimum equipment 

requirements  

Owner  50  200  

  4.3(C)(2)  Esthetics treatment area 

does not provide client 

privacy  

Owner  50  200  

  4.3(C)(5)  No container for soiled 

esthetician linens  

Owner  50  200  

  4.3(C)(6)  No storage for clean 

esthetician linens  

  

Owner  50  200  

 

Schedule of Fines  

Statute  Rule  Violation  Issued to  Fine Amount  

1st   

Violation   

2nd   

& 

subsequent 

violation(s)   

  4.4(A)(1)  Salon owner has not 

notified Board of sale of 

salon  

Owner  100  400  

  5.2(E)(2)  School does not have full-

time lead instructor  

Owner  100  400  

  5.4  School has not maintained 

minimum equipment 

requirements  

Owner  100  400  

  5.9(C)  Board not notified of 

changes in instruction staff  

Owner  50  200  

  5.9(D)  Student/Instructor ratio 

exceeds that required by 

rule  

Owner  100  400  
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  5.9(F)  School has not reported 

instructor absence  

Owner  50  200  

  5.9(G)  Instructor/student instructor 

practicing on patron  

Owner/  

Practitioner  

100  400  

  5.9(H)  Student practice work not 

checked by instructor  

Owner  100  400  

  5.10  Licenses/Rules & 

Regulations/ Student work 

notice not posted  

Owner  50  200  

  5.11  School not separated from 

other business  

Owner  100  400  

  5.17  Required equipment & 

supplies not issued to 

students  

Owner  100  400  

  5.18  Failure of school to provide 

minimum theory hours per 

week  

Owner  100  400  

  5.21  Students and/or instructors 

not wearing badges  

Owner  50  200  

  5.22  Students allowed to work 

on clinic floor prior to 

receiving minimum hours  

Owner  100  400  

  5.23  Students not properly 

signed/clocked in  

Owner  100  400  

  5.23  Daily report not available  Owner  50  200  

  5.24  

  

Failed to appear before 

Board and/or submit 

Compliance Plan  

Owner  100  400  

  7.1(A)  Owner/Manager has not 

maintained sanitary 

conditions in establishment  

Owner/ 

Manager  

100  400  

  7.1(B)  Practitioner workspace not 

sanitary  

Practitioner  100  400  

  7.3(A)  Establishment not clean or 

good condition  

  

Owner/ 

Manager  

100  400  

 

Schedule of Fines  

Statute  Rule  Violation  Issued to  Fine Amount  

1st   

Violation   

2nd & 

subsequent 

violation(s)   
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  7.3(B)  Floors where services are 

performed not non-porous  

Owner  50  200  

  7.3(C)  Solid waste/refuse not 

stored/ removed properly 

from common areas  

Owner  50  200  

  7.3(C)  Solid waste/refuse not 

stored/removed from 

workspace  

Practitioner  50  200  

  7.3(D)  Hair/Nail clippings not 

removed after each client  

Owner/Manag 

er/Practitioner  

50  200  

  7.3(E)  Animals prohibited in 

establishment except for 

registered service animal  

  

Owner/ 

Manager  

100  400  

  7.3(F)(3)  Drinking water not 

provided or not convenient  

Owner/ 

Manager  

50  200  

  7.3(F)(4)  Drinking fountain not 

sanitary  

Owner/ 

Manager  

50  200  

  7.3(F)(5)  Using a common drinking 

cup or glass  

Owner/ 

Manager  

100  400  

  7.3(G)(3)  Restroom facility not clean 

or in good condition  

Owner/ 

Manager  

50  200  

  7.3(G)(4)  Restroom facility not well 

lit/ventilated to outside air  

Owner/ 

Manager  

50  200  

  7.3(G)(6)  Restroom facility without 

hot water, pressure, soap or 

towels  

Owner/ 

Manager  

100  400  

  7.3(G)(7)  Restroom facility solid 

waste/refuse not 

stored/removed properly  

Owner/ 

Manager  

50  200  

  7.4(A)  Not washing hands 

before/after each 

client/after use of restroom  

Practitioner  100  400  

  7.4(B)(1)  Practicing in establishment 

with infectious/contagious 

disease  

Practitioner  100  400  

  7.4(B)(2)  Servicing client with 

communicable 

disease/parasitic infection  

Practitioner  100  400  

  7.4(B)(2)  Allowing infected 

practitioner to service client  

Owner/ 

Manager  

100  400  

  7.5(A)  Headrest chair not covered 

with clean covering  

Practitioner   50  200  
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  7.5(B)  Shampoo bowls not clean 

or in good condition  

Owner/ 

Manager  

50  200  

  7.6(B)  Soiled towels/linens not 

deposited in closed 

receptacle  

  

Owner/Manag 

er/Practitioner  

50  200  

 

Schedule of Fines    

Statute  Rule  Violation  Issued to  Fine Amount  

1st   

Violation   

2nd & 

subsequent 

violation(s)   

  7.6(D)  Closed cabinet not 

provided/clean towels not 

stored in closed container  

Owner  50  200  

  7.7(A)  Bottles/containers not 

labeled/poisons not stored 

separately  

Owner/Manager

/ 

Practitioner  

r

/ 

100  400  

  7.7(B)  More than 2 gallons acetone 

stored in salon  

Owner/ 

Manager 

e

r  

100  400  

  7.8(A)  Labeled receptacle not 

provided for soiled items  

Owner/ 

Manager 

e

r  

50  200  

  7.8(B)  Unsanitizable items not 

immediately destroyed after 

use  

Owner/Manage 

Practitioner  

r

/ 

50  200  

  7.8(C)  Carrying 

instruments/supplies in/on 

garments  

Practitioner   50  200  

  7.8(D)  Brush-type neck duster 

prohibited  

Practitioner   50  200  

  7.8(E)  Credo blades and scalpels 

are prohibited in services  

Owner/Manage 

Practitioner  

r

/ 

100 400  

  7.9(A)  Work surfaces not 

disinfected after each client  

Practitioner   50  200  

  7.9(B)(1)  Instruments not properly 

sanitized prior to next use  

Practitioner   100  400  

  7.9(B)(2)(a)  Wet disinfectant does not 

meet prescribed standard  

Owner/Manage 

Practitioner  

r

/ 

50  200  

  7.9(B)(2)(c)  Level of wet sanitizer not 

adequate to sanitize items  

Owner/Manage 

Practitioner  

r

/ 

50  200  

  7.9(B)(2)(d)  Wet disinfectant not 

covered or labeled  

Owner/Manage 

Practitioner  

r

/ 

50  200  
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  7.9(B)(2)(g)  Solution in wet sanitizer is 

contaminated  

Owner/Manage 

Practitioner  

r

/ 

50  200  

  7.9(B)(3)  Clean instruments, brushes 

not kept in clean receptacle  

Owner/Manage 

Practitioner  

r

/ 

50  200  

  7.9(D)  Tools/implements in 

contact with blood not 

properly disinfected  

 Owner/Manag 

er/Practitioner  

  

100  400  

  7.11(A)  Instruments not stored in 

70% alcohol during 

manicure  

 Practitioner   100  400  

  7.11(B)  Used manicure implements 

not removed from station 

after each client  

 Practitioner   100  400  

  7.12(B)  Whirlpool foot spa not 

properly cleaned/disinfected  

 Owner/ 

Manager  

 100  400  

  7.12(B)(4)  Whirlpool foot spa records 

not maintained  

  

  

 Owner/ 

Manager  

 100  400  

  Schedule of Fines    

Statute  Rule  Violation  Issued to  Fine Amount  

1st   

Violation   

2nd & 

subsequent 

violation(s)   

  7.14(A)  Removal of moles, 

blemishes, or any type of 

tissue destruction by any 

method is prohibited  

Practitioner  100  400  

  7.15(A)  Bottles/containers not 

properly closed  

Owner/Manag 

er/Practitioner  

50  200  

  7.15(D)  Lotion or liquid not poured 

into sanitized glass or 

container  

Practitioner  50  200  

  7.15(F)  Health & safety standards for 

wax/waxing not followed  

Owner/Manag 

er/Practitioner  

50  200  

  7.15(H)  MMA products used in 

manicure/pedicure procedure  

Owner/Manag 

er/Practitioner  

100  400  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-27 (Rev. 2013)  

Rule 1.7 Fines 

 

 The Board shall use the following “Class Designation of Fines” for assessing fines for non-

 compliance with its laws, Rules and Regulations.   
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Class A - Class A violations shall be set at no more than One Hundred ($100.00) nor more than 

Four Hundred Dollars ($400.00) and violations are specific to the following: 

1. Unlicensed practice or the use of fraudulent statements to obtain any benefits or 

privileges under this chapter or practicing one of the professions without a 

license.  These violations will be handled in accordance with the requirements of 

§ 73-7-27, Miss. Code Ann. (2021) or § 73-7-37, Miss. Code Ann. (2021), when 

applicable.    

  2. Extremely dangerous to the health and safety of the general public. 

Class B violations are major health and safety concerns that are detrimental to public safety and 

welfare and shall be set at no more than One Hundred ($100.00) nor more than Four Hundred 

Dollars ($400.00). 

Class C violations are minor health and safety violations that are detrimental to public safety and 

welfare and shall be set at no more than Fifty ($50.00) nor more than Two Hundred Dollars 

($200.00).   

 

 Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-27 (Rev. 2021)  

 

Rule 1.8 Violations of Law, Rules and Regulations  

  

D. All establishments licensed by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology MSBC shall 

be inspected at least once per year biennially to iensure compliance with the laws, rules 

and regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology MSBC. Failure to allow 

or interference with an inspection will result in the issuance of a citation.  

D.   

E. In any instance of non-compliance with the Board’s laws, rules and regulations, a citation 

will be issued to the student or practitioner and/or salon owner/manager and/or school 

manager/owner. The practitioner, student, salon owner or school owner may agree to pay 

the citation under a compliance agreement within thirty (30) days. After thirty (30) days, 

Tthe named individual in the citation will be notified at least twenty (20) days in writing 

of a hearing before the Board regarding the violation(s) on the citation form(s). After a 

hearing, the Board may revoke, suspend or refuse to issue or renew any license or 

certificate, fine, place on probation or otherwise discipline any student or licensee or 

holder of a certificate pursuant to Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code Annotated of 

1972 as amended.   

E.   

F. Multiple violations can occur simultaneously when different individuals are involved in 

violating any provisions of the Board’s laws, rules, and regulations.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20213)  

  

Rule 1.9 Complaints  

  

E. Any person may file a complaint with the Board of Cosmetology in accordance with 

Section 73-7-27 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.  

E.   



79  

  

F. The complaint must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the Board. It must be signed, 

notarized, and accompanied by a release form, and a consent form that states the 

complainant agrees to testify to the allegations, and that the complainant understands that 

the information becomes public record once the investigation is over.  

F.   

G. When the investigation has been completed, the complaint case will be presented to the 

Board, at which time the Board may:  

G.   

1. Dismiss the complaint, or  

2. Initiate a formal complaint and notice of hearing.  

2.   

H. Both the complainant and the accused will be notified of the Board’s decision.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-27 (Rev. 20213)  

  

Rule 1.10 Standards Related to Competent Practice  

  

D. A practitioner may provide advanced services which are within his or her scope of 

practice, as defined in Section 73-7-2 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended, under 

the following conditions:  

D.   

1. The practitioner obtains appropriate education relative to the services to be 

provided;  

1.   

2. The practitioner demonstrates appropriate knowledge, skills, and abilities to 

provide the service;  

2.   

3. The practitioner maintains documentation satisfactory to the Board of meeting the 

above requirements.  

3.   

4. The service does not involve a function or procedure which is prohibited by any 

other law or rule.  

4.   

5. The practitioner is prohibited in using animals in any procedure or service.  

5.   

6. The use of credo blades and/or scalpels, or micro plane foot files  areis prohibited 

in any procedure or service. In addition, credo blades and scalpels are prohibited 

on the premises of any licensed establishment.  

7. Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-type neck dusters in any establishment. 

  

E. Microdermabrasion and Dermaplaning  

E.   

1. A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must limit 

the exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment 

must be approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a Class  
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I device intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must  

prominently display a certificate of training proficiency for each type of 

equipment used, and must comply with the manufacturer’s directions in the use of 

each product. The use of FDA class 2 or class 3 devices is prohibited.  

  

2. Dermaplaning is prohibited from practice by any license holder of the Board.  

2.3. Microblading is prohibited from practice by any license holder of the Board. 

 

F. Electric nail file:      

  

1. Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an electric file in any manicuring 

procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are proficient 

in the use of the instrument.  

1.   

2. The electric nail file certification of proficiency must be posted in a conspicuous 

place at all times.  

2.   

3. Any instructor or student instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of the 

electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved 

certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument.  

3.   

4. The instructor’s or student instructor’s electric file certification of proficiency 

must be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times.  

  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-1, 73-7-14 (Rev. 20213)  

  

Rule 1.11 Oral Proceedings on Proposed Rules  

  

D. This rule applies to all oral proceedings held for the purpose of providing the public with 

an opportunity to make oral presentations on proposed new rules and amendments to 

rules before the Board pursuant to Section 25-43-2.104 and 25-43-3.104 of the 

Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.  

D.   

1. The Board will conduct an oral proceeding on a proposed rule or amendment if 

requested by a political subdivision, an agency or ten (10) persons in writing 

within twenty (20) days after the filing of the notice of the proposed rule.  

1.   

2. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible handwriting. 

Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size paper (8 1/2x11 

inches). Requests may be in the form of a letter addressed to the Board and signed 

by the requestor(s).  

2.   

3. The date, time and place of all oral proceedings shall be filed with the Secretary 

of State’s office and mailed to each requestor. The oral proceedings will be  
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scheduled no earlier than twenty (20) days from the filing of this information with 

the Secretary of State.  

  

4. The Board President or his designee, who is familiar with the substance of the 

proposed rule, shall preside at the oral proceeding on a proposed rule.  

4.   

E. Public Presentations and Participation  

E.   

1. At an oral proceeding on a proposed rule, persons may make oral statements and 

make documentary and physical submissions, which may include data, views, 

comments, or arguments concerning the proposed rule.  

1.   

2. Persons wishing to make oral presentations at a proceeding shall notify the Board 

at least one (1) business day prior to the proceeding and indicate the general 

subject of their presentations. The presiding officer in his or her discretion may 

allow individuals to participate that have not previously contacted the Board.  

2.   

3. At the proceeding, those who participate shall indicate their name and address, 

identify any person(s) or organization(s) they may represent, and provide any 

other information relating to their participation deemed appropriate by the 

presiding officer.  

3.   

4. The presiding officer may place time limitations on individual oral presentations 

when necessary to assure the orderly and expeditious conduct of the oral 

proceeding. To encourage joint oral presentations and to avoid repetition, 

additional time may be provided for persons whose presentations represent the 

views of others as well as their own views.  

4.   

5. Persons making oral presentations are encouraged to avoid restating matters that 

have already been submitted in writing.  

5.   

6. There shall be no interruption of a participant who has been given the floor by the 

presiding officer, except that the presiding officer may in his or her discretion 

interrupt or end the participant’s time where the orderly conduct of the proceeding 

so requires.  

6.   

F. Conduct of Oral Proceeding  

F.   

1. The presiding officer shall have authority to conduct the proceeding in his or her 

discretion for the orderly conduct of the proceeding.  

1.   

2. The presiding officer shall:  

2.   

a. Call proceeding to order.  
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b. Give a brief synopsis of the proposed rule, a statement of the statutory 

authority for the proposed rule, and the reasons provided by the Board for  

the proposed rule.  

 

c. The presiding officer, where time permits and to facilitate the exchange of  

information, may open the floor to questions or general discussion. The 

presiding officer may question participants and permit the questioning of  

participants by other participants about any matter relating to that rule 

making proceeding, including any prior written submissions made by 

those participants in that proceeding; but no participant shall be required 

to answer any question.  

 

d. Submissions presented by participants in an oral proceeding shall be 

submitted to the presiding officer. Such submissions become the property 

of the Board and are subject to the Board’s public records request 

procedure.  

 

e. The Board may record oral proceedings by stenographic or electronic 

means.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 (Rev. 20213); § 25-43-2.1045 (Rev. 200617)  

  

Rule 1.12 Declaratory Opinions  

  

E. These rules set forth the Board of Cosmetology’s rules governing the form and content 

requests for declaratory opinions, and the Board’s procedures regarding the requests, as 

required by Section 25-43-2.103 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended. These 

rules are intended to supplement and be read in conjunction with the provisions of the 

Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, which may contain additional information 

regarding the issuance of declaratory opinions. In the event of any conflict between these 

rules and the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, the latter shall govern.  

E.   

1. Any person with a substantial interest in the subject matter may request a 

declaratory opinion from the Board by following the specified procedures. 

“Substantial interest in the subject matter” means an individual, business, group 

or other entity that is directly affected by the Board’s administration of the laws 

within its primary jurisdiction. “Primary jurisdiction of the Board” means the 

Board has a constitutional or statutory grant of authority in the subject matter at 

issue.  

1.   

2. The Board will issue declaratory opinions regarding the applicability to specified 

facts of :  

2.   

a. A statute administered or enforceable by the Board, or   

b. A rule promulgated by the Board.  
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b.   

The Board will not issue a declaratory opinion regarding a statute or rule which is 

outside the primary jurisdiction of the Board.  

  

3. The Board may, for good cause, refuse to issue a declaratory opinion. The 

circumstances in which declaratory opinions will not be issued include, but are 

not necessarily limited to:  

3.   

a. Lack of clarity concerning the question presented;  

a.   

b. There is pending or anticipated litigation, administrative action, or other 

adjudication which may either answer the question presented by the 

request or otherwise make an answer unnecessary;  

b.   

c. The statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought is clear and 

not in need of interpretation to answer the question presented by the 

request;  

c.   

d. The facts presented in the request are sufficient to answer the question 

presented;  

d.   

e. The request fails to contain information required by the rules or the 

requestor failed to follow the procedures set forth in these rules;  

e.   

f. The request seeks to resolve issues which have become moot, or are 

abstract or hypothetical such that the requestor is not substantially affected 

by the statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought;  

f.   

g. No controversy exists concerning the issue as the requestor is not faced 

with existing fact or those certain to arise which raise a question 

concerning the application of the statute or rule;  

g.   

h. The question presented by the request concerns the legal validity of a 

statute or rule;  

h.   

i. The request is not based upon facts calculated to aid in the planning of 

future conduct but is, instead, based on past conduct in an effort to 

establish the effect of that conduct;  

i.   

j. No clear answer is determinable;  

j.   

k. The question presented by the request involves the application of a 

criminal statute or a set of facts which may constitute a crime;  

k.   
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l. The answer to the question presented would require the disclosure of 

information which is privileged or otherwise protected by law from 

disclosure;  

l.   

m. The question is currently the subject of an Attorney General’s opinion 

request or has been answered by an Attorney General’s opinion;  

m.   

n. A similar request is pending before this Board or any other agency or a 

proceeding is pending on the same subject matter before any agency, 

administrative or judicial tribunal, or where such an opinion would 

constitute the unauthorized practice of law;  

n.   

o. Where issuance of a declaratory opinion may adversely affect the interest 

of the State, the Board or any of their officers or employees in any 

litigation which is pending or may reasonably be expected to arise;  

o.   

p. The question involves eligibility for a license, permit, certificate or other 

approval by the Board or some other agency, and there is a statutory or 

regulatory application process by which eligibility for said license, permit, 

certificate or other approval would be determined.   

p.   

4. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible handwriting. 

Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size paper (8 ½ x 11 

inches). Request must be in the form of a letter addressed to the Board.  

4.   

5. All requests must be mailed, delivered or transmitted via facsimile to the Board. 

The request shall clearly state that it is a request for a declaratory opinion. No 

oral, telephone request or email requests will be accepted for official opinion.  

5.   

6. Each request must include the full name, telephone number and mailing address 

of the requestor. All requests shall be signed by the person filing the request, who 

shall attest that the request complies with the requirements set forth in these rules 

including but not limited to a full, complete and accurate statement of relevant 

facts and that there are no related proceedings pending before any other 

administrative or judicial tribunal.  

6.   

7. Each request shall contain the following:  

7.   

a. A clear and concise statement of all facts on which the opinion is 

requested;  

a.   

b. A citation to the statute or rule at issue;  

b.   

c. The question(s) sought to be answered in the opinion, stated clearly;  

c.   
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d. A suggested proposed opinion from the requestor, state the answers 

desired by the petitioner and a summary of the reasons in support of those 

answers;  

d.   

e. The identity of all other known persons involved in or impacted by the 

desired factual situation, including their relationship to the facts, name, 

mailing address and telephone number; and  

e.   

f. A statement to show that the person seeking the opinion has a substantial 

interest in the subject matter.  

f.   

8. Within forty-five (45) days after receipt of a request for a declaratory opinion 

which complies with the requirements of these rules, the Board shall in writing:  

8.   

a. Issue a declaratory opinion regarding the specified statute or rule as 

applied to the specified circumstances;  

a.   

b. Decline to issue a declaratory opinion, stating the reasons for its action; or  

b.   

c. Agree to issue a declaratory opinion by a specified time but not later than 

ninety (90) days after receipt of the written request.  

c.   

The forty-five (45) day period shall begin running on the first State of Mississippi 

business day on or after the request is received by the Board, whichever is sooner.  

  

9. A declaratory opinion shall not become final until the expiration of sixty (60) 

days after the issuance of the opinion. Prior to the expiration of sixty (60) says, 

the Board may, in its discretion, withdraw or amend the declaratory opinion for 

any reason which is not arbitrary or capricious. Reasons for withdrawing or 

amending an opinion include, but are not limited to, a determination that the 

request failed to meet the requirements of these rules and that the opinion issued 

contains a legal or factual error.  

9.   

F. The Board may give notice to any person, agency or entity that a declaratory opinion has 

been requested and may receive and consider data, facts, arguments and opinions from 

other persons, agencies or other entities other than the requestor.  

F.   

G. Declaratory opinions and requests for declaratory opinions shall be available for public 

inspection and copying in accordance with the Public Records Act and the Board’s public 

records request procedure. All declaratory opinions and requests shall be indexed by 

name and subject. Declaratory opinions and requests which contain information which is 

confidential or exempt from disclosure under the Mississippi Public Records Act or other 

laws shall be exempt from this requirement shall remain confidential.  

G.   
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H. The Board will not pursue any civil, criminal or administrative action against a person 

who is issued a declaratory opinion from the Board and who, in good faith, follows the 

direction of the opinion and acts in accordance therewith unless a court of competent 

jurisdiction holds that the opinion is manifestly wrong. Any declaratory opinion rendered 

by the Board shall be binding only on the Board and the person to whom the opinion is  

issued. No declaratory opinion will be used as precedent for any other transaction or 

occurrence beyond that set forth by the requesting person.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 20213), § 25-43-2.1035 (Rev. 201706)  

  

Rule 1.13  Fees  

  

The following fees shall apply for the following purposes:  

  

E. Initial license/renewal for cosmetologist, manicurist, or esthetician, or wig 

specialist....50.00  

E.   

F. Instructor initial license/renewal ……………………………………………………..80.00  

F.   

G. Master license /renewal………………………………………………………………70.00  

G.   

H. Delinquent renewal penalty -- cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, wig specialist and  

Instructor 

……………………………………………………………………………...50.00  

H.   

  There shall be no renewal fee for any licensed practitioner seventy (70) years of age or older.  

  

E.  Salon application and initial inspection 

………………………………………………85.00  

  

Y. Salon reinspection…………………………………………………………………….35.00  

Y.   

Z. Salon change of ownership or location, or both……………………………………...85.00  

Z.   

AA. Salon renewal…………………………………………………………………………60.00  

AA.   

BB. Salon delinquent renewal penalty…………………………………………………….50.00  

BB.   

CC. Application and initial inspection for a new school………………………………...300.00  

CC.   

DD. New school reinspection…………………………………………………………….100.00  

 

EE. School change of ownership………………………………………………………...300.00  

EE.   
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FF. School relocation……………………………………………………………………150.00  

FF.   

GG. School renewal………………………………………………………………………..75.00  

GG.   

HH. School delinquent renewal penalty………………………………………………….100.00  

HH.   

II. Duplicate license……………………………………………………………………...10.00  

II.   

JJ. Penalty for insufficient fund checks………………………………………………….20.00  

JJ.   

KK. Affidavit processing…………………………………………………………………..15.00  

KK.   

LL. The Board may charge additional fees for services, which the board deems appropriate to 

carry out its intent and purpose. These additional fees shall not exceed the cost of 

rendering the service.  

LL.   

MM. Refunds will automatically be made on overpayment of fees. Refunds will be made on 

under payments by written requests from applicants. If no request for refund is made 

within sixty (60) days, the fees will be forfeited.  

NN. Demonstrator’s permit..................................................................................................10.00 

OO. Military/military spouse out-of-state permit and license (no charge)............................0.00 

PP. Substitute/lost license renewal form application fee....................................................15.00 

QQ. There shall be no renewal fee for any licensed practitioner seventy (70) years of age or 

older................................................................................................................................0.00 

 

Rule 1.14 Renewals / Refunds 

 

C. Renewal Fees: 

1. School License Renewal: A school owner who fails to renew his school 

license within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new 

application for licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-16, and Rule 5.2.  

2. Salon License Renewal: A salon owner who fails to renew his salon  

license within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new  

application for licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-17, and Rule 4.2.  

 3. All Licensees:  

a. The postmark date on the transmittal envelope of the renewal 

application and fee is determinative in ascertaining whether receipt 

was prior to the expiration of the grace period.  

c. Application for renewal of licenses which are not accompanied by 

 the provided renewal form are assessed a fee for lost renewal form.  

c. When an applicant for renewed license has not submitted required 

documentation or proper fee, applicant will be notified of same by 

mail, and license processing is placed on “hold” for a maximum of 

sixty (60) days, during which time no additional fees or charges 

will be assessed. If however, a period of sixty (60)  days has 
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passed without submittal of required information or balance due, 

credited fees are forfeited; refunds cannot be granted.  

d. The renewal fee for any licensee aged seventy (70) or older at time  

of renewal shall be waived when such licensee submits a copy of a 

government issued document demonstrating proof of age.   

D. Refunds of fees.  

a. Application for a new license. An applicant may make a written 

request to withdraw the application, under the following 

conditions:  

b. The application cannot, or has not been approved, for any reason  

c. In the case of an application for reciprocity, the license issuance 

 process has not begun.  

d. In the case of an application for a new salon, an inspection has not 

 occurred.  

2. Balance due on application fees. An applicant may submit a written  

request for a refund of application fees, either new or renewal, where there 

is a balance due, and the applicant does not wish to submit the additional 

fee.  

MM.   

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-29, 73-7-19 (Rev. 20213)  

  

Part 2101  Chapter 2:  Licensure  

  

Rule 2.1   Licenses Issued by the Board  

  

The Board shall issue the following licenses:  

  

A. Practitioner’s license  

  

1. Cosmetologist  

  

2. Esthetician  

  

3. Manicurist  

  

4. Master Cosmetologist  

  

5. Master Manicurist  

  

6. Master Esthetician  

  

7. Wigologist  
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B. Instructor’s license  

  

1. Cosmetologist  

  

2. Esthetician  

  

3. Manicurist  

  

C. Salon license  

  

D. School licenses:  

  

1. School of Cosmetology  

  

2. Postsecondary School of Cosmetology  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-14, 73-7-15, 73-7-16, 73-7-18, 73-7-21 (Rev. 

2013).  

  

Rule 2.2 Photograph Required on All Licenses  

  

A.  Each practitioner and instructor licensee shall be required to submit two (2) passport 

photographs taken recently prior to application or renewal. All practitioner and instructor 

license shall include a passport photograph of the license holder.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2013)    

  

Rule 2.3 Display of License and Certificate(s) of Proficiency; Photo Identification  

  

A. Every licensee must display his or her license in a conspicuous place within reading 

distance of the public. The posting of a photocopy of a license is prohibited.  

  

B. Any licensee utilizing or planning to utilize a specific device in any practice area of 

discipline must post the required certificate of proficiency.  

  

C. A licensee shall make his or her government photo identification available upon request. 

Failure to provide government photo identification when requested by an agent of the 

Board will result in issuance of a citation for violation to the practitioner, owner and/or 

manager of the establishment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2013)  

  

Rule 2.4 Duplicate License  
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A. A request for duplicate license shall be submitted in writing, on a form provided by the 

Board, to the Board office. Applicants for a duplicate license shall submit two (2) forms 

of identification.  Acceptable forms of identification may be driver’s license, government 

issued ID card, Social Security card, school ID card with photograph, voter registration 

card, U.S. military card, Native American tribal document, birth certificate, passport, 

certificate of U.S. citizenship, certificate of naturalization, valid (unexpired) temporary 

resident card or employment authorization card. All applications and supporting 

documents must be submitted two (2) weeks prior to a Board meeting. Application will 

be reviewed for consideration by the Board. Upon review, the applicant will be notified 

of the Board’s decision. Only one duplicate license shall be issued during a licensing 

period, unless extenuating circumstances are presented for which an appearance, may be 

requested.  

  

B. A licensee who has a duplicate license posted, shall make his or her government photo 

identification available upon request. Failure to provide government identification, when 

requested by an agent of the Board shall result in the issuance of a citation for violation to 

the practitioner, owner and/or manager of the establishment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)  

  

Rule 2.5 Outdated License:  

  

A. Any person who has been licensed in this state, and whose license has expired for a 

period of three (3) years must make application for approval for written and practical 

examination.   

  

B. The application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board 

and must be accompanied by:  

  

1. Two recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken prior to  

application.  

2. Record of last renewal, including registration number, and date of  

expiration.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)   

  

Rule 2.6 Fees      

  

C. Renewal Fees:  

  

1. School License Renewal: A school owner who fails to renew his school license 

within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new application for 

licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-16, and Rule 5.2.  
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2. Salon License Renewal: A salon owner who fails to renew his salon license 

within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new application for 

licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-17, and Rule 4.2.  

  

3. All Licensees:  

  

a. The postmark date on the transmittal envelope of the renewal application 

and fee is determinative in ascertaining whether receipt was prior to the 

expiration of the grace period.  

  

b. Application for renewal of licenses which are not accompanied by the 

provided renewal form are assessed a fee for lost renewal form.  

  

c. When an applicant for renewed license has not submitted required 

documentation or proper fee, applicant will be notified of same by mail, 

and license processing is placed on “hold” for a maximum of sixty (60)  

days, during which time no additional fees or charges will be assessed. If 

however, a period of sixty (60)  days has passed without submittal of 

required information or balance due, credited fees are forfeited; refunds 

cannot be granted.  

  

d. The renewal fee for any licensee aged seventy (70) or older at time of 

renewal shall be waived when such licensee submits a copy of a 

government issued document demonstrating proof of age.   

  

D. Refunds of fees.  

  

1. Application for a new license. An applicant may make a written request to 

withdraw the application, under the following conditions:  

  

a. The application cannot, or has not been approved, for any reason  

b. In the case of an application for reciprocity, the license issuance process 

has not begun.  

c. In the case of an application for a new salon, an inspection has not 

occurred.  

  

2. Balance due on application fees. An applicant may submit a written request for a 

refund of application fees, either new or renewal, where there is a balance due, 

and the applicant does not wish to submit the additional fee.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-19 (Rev. 2013)  

  

Rule 2.7  General provisions regarding licensure by examination  
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A. Licensure examinations are provided for in-state and out-of-state applicants for 

practitioner and instructor licenses.  

  

B. An examination for any practitioner or instructor license is both practical and written.  

  

1. The applicant must demonstrate by practical examination, minimal skills and   

knowledge necessary for the license sought.  

  

2. The applicant must demonstrate by written examination, knowledge of profession, 

health and safety methods and procedures,  Mississippi Statutes, rules and regulations 

pertinent to the practice necessary for the license.  

  

C. Grades necessary to pass the examination:  

  

1. Basic Examinations (Practitioner): A person taking the Board of Cosmetology 

examination will be granted a license to practice if such person makes an 

examination grade of not less than 70 scaled score on each portion of the practical 

examination, and not less than 70 scaled score on the written examination.  

2. Instructor Examination: A person taking the Board of Cosmetology Instructor 

examination will be granted an instructor’s license if such person makes an 

examination grade of not less than 75 scaled score on each portion of the practical 

examination, and not less than 75 scaled score on the written examination.  

  

D. Any applicant failing to pass the required examination after three attempts within 365 

days of school completion is not eligible for re-examination until he or she has returned 

to a school for additional training of no more than 10 percent of the prescribed course 

hours for the course of training for which application for licensure is being made.  

  

E. A candidate for licensure who has been unsuccessful in passing the examination is 

required to retake the entire practical examination or written examination which was 

failed, up to a period of three years.1 After three years, the grades are no longer valid and 

the candidate is required to take the both written and practical examinations. 

 

F. The Board will maintain an accurate record of each examination as provided by the 

testing administrator.  

 

G. Reasonable accommodations may be made for candidates having a physical or mental 

impairment that limits one or more major life activities, as defined by the Americans with 

Disabilities Act. An applicant’s request for accommodation should be made to the test 

provider at the time of registration.   

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13 (Rev. 2013)  

  

 
1 This rule change will go into effect January 1, 2017. 
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Rule 2.8 Examination for In-State Applicants  

  

A. Eligibility Requirements for Practitioner  

  

1. Cosmetologists, manicurists, and estheticians must:  

  

a. Be at least 17 years of age.  

  

b. Be able to read, write and speak English.  

 

c. Have at least a twelfth (12
th

) grade education or its equivalent.  

  

(1) Proof of completion of high school education shall be submitted in  

the form of a diploma, or certified transcript which reflects 

graduation data. If the education was acquired by GED, original 

GED transcript must be submitted to the Board.  

    

(2) Where the secondary education was obtained outside of the  

United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of 

completion, along with an original  translation which has been 

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and 

which certifies that the document is considered to be proof of the 

equivalent of a 12th grade education.  

  

(3) A high school education received from a distance learning entity   

will only be accepted if that entity is accredited by an accrediting 

agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education  

  

(4) Any other document and/or affidavit which constitutes reliable   

proof of completion of high school education shall be required by  

the Board.  

  

d. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which    

application for licensure is being made.  

  

2. An application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the   

Board and accompanied by the following:  

  

a. Two recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days 

prior to application.  

      

b. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change.  

    

B. Eligibility Requirements for Instructor   
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1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination:   

  

a. Must be at least 21 years of age.  

  

b. Must be able to read, write and speak English.  

  

c. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency.  

  

d. Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license.  

  

e. Must have completed six (6) semester hours in college courses    

approved by the Board.  

  

f. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which    

application for licensure is being made.  

  

g. Must have the following hours of instructor training:  

  

(1) Cosmetologist – 1,000 hours of instructor training in a  

     licensed school of cosmetology.  

  

(2) Esthetician – 1,000 hours of instructor training in a licensed school 

in which the practice of esthetics is taught.  

  

(3) Manicurist – 1,000 hours of instructor training in a licensed school 

in which the practice of manicuring is taught.  

  

h. Must have attended at least one mandatory Board approved “Methods of  

Teaching” Seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education 

hours.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-18, 73-7-15, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013)  

  

Rule 2.9  Examination Eligibility for Out-of-State Applicants  

  

A. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Practitioner   

  

1. Any person who is licensed by a state in which Mississippi does not have 

provision for reciprocity licensure, or any student who is at least seventeen years 

of age, can read, write, and speak English, and has successfully completed a 

course of training in another state which meets Mississippi’s minimum 

requirements, but is not licensed in that state, may be eligible for licensure by 

examination.  
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    The State’s minimum requirements are:  

  

Cosmetologist  

  

metologist  

Cos 

1500 hours  

Manicurist   350 hours  

Esthetician   600 hours  

  

2. The required documentation includes notifications of intent, 

affidavit/certification of training, and affidavit/certification of current licensure.   

  

a. Notification of Intent. The form must be completed in its entirety and 

submitted to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.  

  

b. The affidavit/certification of training. An affidavit or certification of the 

applicant’s course of training must be submitted to the Board office by 

the board in the state in which the training was acquired. The 

affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a minimum:  

  

(1) Applicant’s name and address  

  

(2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number  

(if applicable)  

  

(3) The course in which applicant was enrolled  

  

(4) Total clock hours earned  

(5) Date of completion or last attendance (Non-licensed individuals 

only)  

  

(6) Information regarding current license (if applicable), including  

expiration date and whether the licensee is in good standing.  

  

c. The affidavit/certification of licensure. The applicant must cause an 

affidavit/certification of licensure to be issued by the board in which the 

license is held.   

  

d. If the state in which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in 

which the training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required. 

Otherwise, the applicant must obtain two affidavits.  
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e. The affidavits/certifications must be mailed directly to the Mississippi 

State Board of Cosmetology by the licensing authority, bear the seal-  

impress of the licensing authority, and bear at least one signature of an 

official of the licensing authority.  

  

f. In the event the information cannot be provided by the licensing 

authority, it may be obtained from the attended school. In this case, the 

attended school must submit the information directly to the Board. The 

information must: (1) be submitted in an envelope bearing the attended 

school’s letterhead, (2) bear the seal impress of the school, and (3) be 

certified by an agent of the attended school. The Board reserves the right 

to deny Certification of Training submitted by a school if it is determined 

that the information can be provided by the appropriate licensing 

authority.  

  

3. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview  

  

a. Upon receipt of a completed Application of Intent and  

Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the examination 

requirements for Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an interview, 

and notified of the date and time.  

  

b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the 

interview:  

  

(1) Photographic identification.  

  

(a) Applicant must present two (2) current passport  

photographs to be attached to his or her application for approval 

for examination. The person who is making application for 

approval for examination must be recognizable in the photograph.  

  

(b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic 

identification card which contains the applicant’s signature and 

date of birth.  In the event of a name change, legal proof of the 

change must be presented.   

  

(2) Two additional forms of identification must be presented by the  

applicant. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the change 

must be presented.  

  

(3) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in 

any practice area of discipline must present the required 

certification of proficiency from Mississippi or another state  

attesting to proper training in the use of the instrument.  
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c. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to 

apply for approval for examination. The following determinations will be 

made:  

 

(1) The applicant is at least 17 years of age.  

  

(2) The applicant is able to read, write and speak English.  

  

(3) The applicant has a 12th grade education or its equivalent. The  

applicant must present, at the time of the interview, acceptable 

documentation evidencing completion of the 12th grade, or its 

equivalent.  Where the secondary education was obtained outside 

of the United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof 

of completion, along with an original translation which has been 

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and 

which  certifies that the document is considered to be the 

equivalent of a 12th grade education.   

  

Additional information may be required if it has been determined, 

or there is reason to believe that a candidate for examination has 

completed high school under one or more of the following 

circumstances:  

  

(a) The institution is not accredited by the Department of 

Education in the relevant state.  

  

(b) The institution is not accredited by a recognized     

       proprietary school accrediting association.  

  

(c) The candidate may have completed a self-study course.  

  

(4) The candidate will not be considered to have a 12th grade 

education or its equivalent if it is determined that one or more of 

the following circumstances exist:  

  

(a) The institution from which the diploma or transcript was 

acquired is not sanctioned or accredited by a state 

supported educational credentialing entity, or  

  

(b) The candidate completed a self-study program in which  

progress examinations and final examinations were not 

physically supervised by one or more staff members of the 

institution or a recognized examination 

administration/proctor service.  
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4. If an applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory to  prove that all 

requirements for approval for examination have been met, he or she will be 

advised that the application of intent will be rejected, and the reason for the same. 

The applicant will be advised, in writing, of the right to a show cause hearing 

before the Board.  

    

5. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, he or 

she will be required to submit an out-of-state Application for Approval for 

Examination, which must be completed in its entirety.  

  

B. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Instructor (First – Time Licensure)  

  

1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination:  

  

a. Must be at least 21 years of age.  

  

b. Must be able to read, write and speak English.  

  

c. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency.  

  

d. Must possess a current practitioner’s license.  

  

e. Must have completed six (6) semester hours in college courses approved 

by the Board.  

  

f. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which 

application for licensure is being made.  

  

g. Must have the following hours of instructor training:   

  

(1) Cosmetologist – 1,000 of instructor training in a licensed school 

of cosmetology.  

  

(2) Esthetician – 1,000 of instructor training in a licensed school in 

which the practice of esthetics is taught.  

  

(3) Manicurist – 1,000 of instructor training in a licensed school in 

which the practice of manicuring is taught.  

  

h. Must have attended one mandatory Board “methods of teaching” seminar 

earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education hours.  

  

2. The application packet must be accompanied by:  
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a. Two (2) recent passport photographs, taken prior to application.  

  

b. Proof of eligibility requirements.  

  

c. An affidavit completed and signed by the board official in the state from 

which the current license is held, attesting to licensure status and any 

disciplinary action within the past five (5) years.  

  

d. Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which 

application for approval for examination being made or an affidavit 

attesting to education.  

  

e. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of six (6) 

semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.  

  

f. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change.  

  

g. Copy of current practitioner’s license.  

  

3. Any applicant who uses or propose to teach a specific device  in any practice area 

of discipline must present the required certification of teaching proficiency for 

Mississippi or another state attesting to proper training in the use and/or teaching 

of the device.   

  

4. If an applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory to prove that all requirements 

for approval for examination have been met, he or she will be advised that the 

application of intent will be rejected and the reason for the same. The applicant 

will be advised, in writing, of the right to a show cause hearing before the Board.   

  

5. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements he or 

she will be required to submit an out-of-state application for approval for 

examination, which must be completed in its entirety.   

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13, 73-7-18, 73-7-15, 73-7-21 (Rev. 2013)  

  

Rule 2.10  Examination Eligibility for Out-of-Country Applicants.  

  

A. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Practitioner  

  

1. Any person who is licensed or registered to practice by a country other than the 

United States, or any person who has successfully completed a course of training 

in a country other than the United States, which meets this state’s minimum 

requirements, may submit an application for approval for examination.  
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      The state’s minimum requirements are:  

  

Cosmetologist  1500 hours  

Manicurist  350 hours  

Esthetician  600 hours  

  

2. The required documentation includes notification of intent, affidavit/certification 

of training, and affidavit/certification of current licensure.  

  

a. Notification of Intent. The form must be completed in its entirety and 

submitted to the Board.  

  

b. The affidavit/certificate of training. An affidavit or certification of the  

applicant’s course of training must be submitted to the Board office by the 

board in the country or province in which the training was acquired. The 

affidavit/certification of training should, at a minimum contain:  

  

(1) Applicant’s name and address  

  

(2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number  

(if applicable)  

  

(3) The course in which applicant was enrolled  

  

(4) Total clock hours earned  

  

(5) Date of completion or last attendance (Non licensed individuals  

only)  

  

(6) Information regarding current license (if applicable), including  

expiration date and whether the licensee is in good standing.  

  

c. The affidavit/certification of licensure. The applicant must cause an  

affidavit/certification of licensure to be issued by the board in which the 

license is held.  

  

d. The affidavits/certifications must be mailed directly to the Board by the 

licensing authority, bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority, and 

bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority.   

  

e. In the event the information cannot be provided by the licensing authority, 

it may be obtained from the attendant school. In this case, the attendant 

school must submit the information directly to the Board. The information 

must: (1) be submitted in an envelope bearing the attendant school’s 
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letterhead, (2) bear the seal-impress of the school, and (3) be certified by 

an agent of the attendant school. The Board reserves the right to deny 

Certification of Training submitted by a school if it is determined that the 

information can be provided by the appropriate licensing authority.   

  

3. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview  

  

a. Upon receipt of a completed Applicant of Intent and 

Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the examination 

requirements for Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an interview, 

and notified of the date and time.  

  

b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the 

interview:  

  

(1) Photographic identification.  

  

(a) Applicant must present two (2) current passport  

photographs to be attached to his or her application for 

approval for examination. The person who is making 

application for  examination must be recognizable in the 

photograph.  

  

(b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic  

identification card which contains the applicant’s signature 

and date of birth. In the event of a name change, legal proof 

of the change must be presented.  

  

(2) Two additional forms of identification must be presented by the  

applicant. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name 

change must be presented.  

  

(3) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in any  

practice area of discipline, must present the required certification 

of proficiency attesting to proper training in the use of the 

instrument.   

  

c. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to 

apply for approval for examination. The following determinations will be 

made:  

  

(1) The applicant is at least 17 years of age.  

  

(2) The applicant is able to read, write and speak English.  
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(3) The applicant has a 12th grade education or its equivalent. The  

applicant must present, at the time of the interview, acceptable 

documentation evidencing completion of the 12th grade, or its 

equivalent. Where the secondary education was obtained outside 

of the United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof 

of completion, along with an original translation which has been 

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and 

which certifies that the document is considered to be the equivalent 

of a 12th grade education.  

  

d. If an applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, 

he or she will be required to submit an out-of-country Application for 

Approval for Examination, which must be completed in its entirety.  

  

5.  If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements, 

he or she will be required to submit an out-of-country Application for 

Approval for Examination, which must be completed in its entirety.   

  

B. Eligibility Requirements for Examination – Instructor (First-Time Licensure)  

  

1. Eligibility requirements that must be met in order to take the examination:  

  

a. Must be at least 21 years of age  

  

b. Must be able to read, write and speak English.  

  

c. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency.  

  

d. Must possess a current practitioner’s license.  

  

e. Must have completed six (6) semester hours in college courses    

 approved by the Board.  

  

f. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which    

 application for licensure is being made.  

  

g. Must have the following hours of instructor training:  

  

(1) Cosmetologist – 1,000 hours of instructor training in a  

licensed school of cosmetology.  

  

(2) Esthetician – 1,000 hours of instructor training in a licensed school 

in which the practice of esthetics is taught.  

  



103  

  

(3) Manicurist – 1,000 hours of instructor training in a licensed school 

in which the practice of manicuring is taught.  

  

h. Must have attended at least one mandatory Board approved “Methods of  

Teaching” seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education 

hours.  

  

2. The application packet must be accompanied by:  

  

a. Two (2) recent passport photographs, taken within 90 days prior to 

application.  

  

b. Proof of eligibility requirements.  

  

c. An affidavit completed and signed by the board official in the country or 

province from which the current license is held, attesting to licensure 

status and any disciplinary action within the past five (5) years.  

  

d. Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which 

application for approval for examination being made or an affidavit 

attesting to education.  

  

e. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of six (6) 

semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.  

  

f. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the name change.  

  

g. Copy of current practitioner’s license.  

  

h. Any applicant who uses or proposes to teach a specific device in any 

practice area of discipline must present the required certification of 

teaching proficiency from Mississippi or another country or province 

attesting to proper training in the use and/or teaching of the device.  

  

C. The application must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board and must   be 

accompanied by:  

  

1. Two passport photographs taken prior to application.  

  

2. A copy of current out-of-country license or certificates.  

  

3. Proof of completion of high school education or GED by way of certified high 

school transcript, certified GED transcript or other means as the Board may deem 

acceptable. All transcripts must be submitted by the applicant in sealed envelopes 

from the school in which the degree was obtained. .  
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4. Certification from the registering agency or the school in which the training was 

acquired, reflecting the number of training hours earned, and the curriculum 

subjects.  

  

Rule 2.11 Licensure by  Reciprocity - Practitioner  

  

A. An individual who holds a current license from another state with whom Mississippi has 

a reciprocal agreement may be eligible for a practitioner license  in accordance with 

Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-7-23. The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology 

maintains a list of states with whom Mississippi is reciprocal.  

  

B. Application Process:  

  

1.  Complete an Application for Reciprocity, which  must be completed in its entirety 

and submitted to the Board.  

  

a. The applicant must cause an affidavit or certification to be issued by the 

board in which the training was acquired or the license is held. If the state 

in which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in which the 

training was acquired, then only one affidavit is required. Where the 

current license is held in one state and original license or education was 

obtained in a different state, and the state of current licensure will not 

attest to the applicant’s training, an affidavit is also required from the state 

of origin.  

  

b. The affidavit/certification of training must:  

  

(1) Be mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board by the licensing 

authority.  

  

(2) Bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority.  

  

(3) Bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority.  

  

c. The affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a minimum:  

  

(1) Applicant’s name and address,  

  

(2) Applicant’s Registration Number or license identification number,  

  

(3) The course in which applicant was enrolled,  

  

(4) Total clock hours earned,  
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(5) Information regarding current license, including expiration date 

and whether the licensee is in good standing.  

  

 2.  Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview  

  

a. Upon receipt of a completed Application of Reciprocity and 

Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the reciprocity 

requirements of the state of Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an 

interview, and notified of the date and time.  

  

b. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of the 

interview:  

  

(1) Photographic identification.  

  

(a) Applicant must present two (2) current passport 

photographs to be attached to his or her application for 

reciprocity. The photograph must be recognizable as the 

person who is making application for reciprocity.  

  

(b) Applicant must present a government-issued photographic 

identification card which contains the applicant’s signature 

and date of birth. In the event of a name change, legal proof 

of the change must be presented.  

  

(2) Two additional forms of government-issued identification must be 

presented by the applicant. In the event of a name change, legal 

proof of the change must be presented.  

   .  

(3) A current, valid out of state practitioner license. The license will 

be reviewed to determine that all information contained in it 

including name, registration number, and expiration date of 

license, matches the information which was provide in the 

affidavit.  

  

(4) Any applicant who uses or proposes to use a specific device in any 

practice area of discipline must present certificate of proficiency 

obtained in Mississippi or another state attesting to proper training 

in the use of the device.  

  

c. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to be 

licensed by reciprocity. The interview will be recorded. The following 

determinations will be made:  

 

(1) the applicant is at least 17 years of age. 
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(2) the applicant is able to read, write and speak English. 

C. If the applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory, of meeting all requirements for 

reciprocity, he or she will be advised that the application cannot be accepted, and the 

reason for same. The applicant will be advised, in writing, of the right to an 

administrative hearing before the Board. 

D. If the applicant is deemed to meet all reciprocity eligibility requirements, he or she is 

required to: 

1. Complete an Application for Reciprocity. The Board approved form, “Application 

for Licensure by Reciprocity,” must be completed in its entirety. 

2. Pay the required fee. The prevailing fee is that which has been established by 

Law, Section 73-7-29, of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended and may be 

submitted by personal check, cashier’s check, money order, or cash. 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013)  

Rule 2.12  License by Reciprocity - Instructor  

A. Eligibility Requirements for Instructor Licensure by Reciprocity 

An instructor from any other state may be qualified for a Mississippi instructor’s license 

by satisfying the following requirements: 

1. Must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. 

2. Must be able to read, write and speak English. 

3. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency. 

4. Must possess a valid instructor’s license. 

5. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by 

the Board. 

6. Must have completed training equivalent to Mississippi’s training as provided in 

Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-7-15, or have three (3) years or more of experience 

as a licensed instructor prior to application. 

7. Must have completed a minimum of five (5) continuing education (CE) hours in 

Mississippi Board laws, rules and regulations. The fee for five (5)-hour CE 

seminar shall be $75.00. The dates and times for the CE seminar shall be posted 

on 

the Board’s website.   
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B. When College Courses Requirement Not Completed at the Time of Application  

    

An applicant for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity who has not completed 

the college courses requirement at the time of application may apply for a one-time 

temporary teaching permit, which shall be valid for six (6) months and shall be 

nonrenewable. See Rule 3.3. The request for the one-time temporary teaching permit 

must be made on the application for instructor’s license by reciprocity. Such application 

must be accompanied by proof of enrollment in college course(s), required permit fee of 

$25.00, two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant and other documentation as 

required for application for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity. Upon proof 

of completion of college courses and payment of the required license fee, a Mississippi 

instructor’s license shall be issued.   

    

C. The application packet, which must be completed in its entirety, must be accompanied by  

the following:  

  

1. Two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant.  

  

2. Proof of eligibility requirements as established in this Rule.   

  

3. The required license fee. (Exception: If the applicant has not completed the 

college courses requirement at the time of application, the license fee shall be paid 

at the time when proof of completion of college courses has been submitted to the 

Board office.)   

  

D. The application packet may be accompanied by a one-time temporary teaching permit fee  

of $25.00 if the applicant has not completed the college courses requirement at the time 

of  application and desires to apply for the one-time temporary teaching permit. See Rule 

3.3.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-15, 73-7-23 (Rev. 2013)  

  

Rule 2.13  Reciprocity for Military Personnel and Military Spouses  

  

In accordance with the requirements of Miss. Code Ann. § 73-50-1, a military trained or military 

spouse applicant may gain licensure to practice in the State of Mississippi under the following 

circumstances:  

  

A. For a military-member applicant:  

  

1. Must show proof of licensure by a state Cosmetology regulatory board that is in 

good standing and be actively practicing. Proof of licensure shall include 

presentation of a current valid out-of-state license and submission of an affidavit 

mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology by the licensing 
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authority that contains the following: 1) the seal-impress of the licensing 

authority;  

2) at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority; 3) the applicant’s 

name and address; 4) the applicant’s registration number or license identification 

number; and 5) the courses in which the applicant was enrolled, total clock hours 

earned, and information regarding current license.  

  

  Or, as an unlicensed cosmetologist graduating within the last two (2) years, 

applicant must show proof by way of affidavit of completion of a course of 

Cosmetology study from a board approved Cosmetology school.  

  

2. Must conform with the reciprocity rules found under Rule 2.11.   

  

3. Must appear for an application eligibility interview and show the following: 1) 

present two (2) current passport photos attached to the application for reciprocity; 

2) present two (2) forms of government-issued identification; 3) proof that the 

applicant is at least seventeen (17) years of age; 4) demonstrate the ability to read 

write and speak English; and 5) any applicant that proposes to use a specific 

device in any are of cosmetology must present a certificate of sufficiency obtained 

in a state in good standing attesting to proper training in the use of the device.   

  

4. An applicant for an instructor’s license must have completed a minimum of five 

(5) continuing education hours in Mississippi Board of Cosmetology laws, rules 

and regulations at the time of application.   

  

5. Instructor candidates may submit, on an official transcript, academic credit  

designated by the American Council on Education (“ACE”)’s Military Guide to 

the Board for consideration to meet all or part of the academic semester hours 

required for instructor candidate eligibility.   

        

B. For a military spouse:  

  

1. Must show evidence that the applicant is a legal spouse of an active member of 

the military.  

  

2. Must show proof of licensure by a state Cosmetology regulatory board that is in 

good standing and be actively practicing.  Proof of licensure shall include 

presentation of a current valid out-of-state license and submission of an affidavit 

mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology by the licensing 

authority that contains the following: 1) the seal-impress of the licensing 

authority; 2) at least one signature of an official of the licensing authority; 3) the 

Applicant’s name and address; 4) the applicant’s registration number or license 

identification number; and 5) the courses in which the applicant was enrolled, 

total clock hours earned, and information regarding current license.  
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 Or, as an unlicensed cosmetologist graduating within the last two (2) years, 

applicant must show proof by way of affidavit of completion of a course of 

Cosmetology study from a board approved Cosmetology school.  

  

2. Must conform with the reciprocity rules found under Rule 2.11.  

  

3. Must appear for an application eligibility interview and show the following: 1) 

present two (2) current passport photos attached to the application for reciprocity; 

2) present two (2) forms of government-issued identification; 3) proof that the 

applicant is at least seventeen (17) years of age; 4) demonstrate the ability to read 

write and speak English; and 5) any applicant that proposes to use a specific 

device in any are of cosmetology must present a certificate of sufficiency obtained 

in a state in good standing attesting to proper training in the use of the device.  

  

4. An applicant for an instructor’s license must have completed a minimum of five 

(5) continuing education hours in Mississippi Board of Cosmetology laws, rules 

and regulations at the time of application.  

     

Source: Miss Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-15, and 73-50-1 (Rev. 2013).  

  

Rule 2.14  Wigology License Renewal  

A. “Wigology” means a service to a wig or hairpiece in any one (1) or combination of the  

 following:  

1. Arranging, dressing, waving or curling.  

  

2. Cleaning.  

  

3. Bleaching or coloring.   

  

4. Cutting and shaping.   

  

B. “Wig specialist” means a person who, for compensation, either direct or indirect, engages  

 in the practice of wigology.   

C. Individuals who possessed a wig specialist license or a wig salon license prior to July 1,  

 2013, may renew their wig specialist or wig salon license. The Board shall not issue wig  

 specialist or wig salon licenses to individuals who were not licensed prior to July 1, 2013.  

 License holders are responsible for the fees found in Rule 1.13.   

D. A person holding a wig specialist license may perform for compensation services limited  

 to a wig or hairpiece.   
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E. A person holding a wig salon license may maintain an establishment in which services  

 shall be limited to wigs or hairpieces and performed only by licensed wig specialists  

 and/or licensed cosmetologists.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-2 (Rev. 2013);  H.B. 1463, Regular Session (2014) 

Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-53 and 73-7-57 (Rev. 2011).   

  

  

  

Rule 2.15 Postsecondary School of Cosmetology - Eligibility  

  

H. The intent of the Board is to offer schools recognition for postsecondary designation. 

Schools seeking the postsecondary designation shall meet certain qualifications.  

  

I. Qualifications  

  

3. The school shall admit as a regular student only an individual who has earned a 

recognized high school diploma or has earned their high school equivalency 

through a recognized GED testing facility. Student must also be beyond the age of 

compulsory high school attendance and be able to read, write, and speak English.  

  

4. Proof of education qualification, enrollment form, and certification of receipt of 

required documents must be submitted to the Board office no later than 30 days 

after date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be granted until these 

documents have been received.  

  

J. Schools will show its compliance with this qualification with an affidavit upon licensing 

or renewal. Schools previously licensed as a School of Cosmetology may request 

postsecondary recognition during their renewal by providing an affidavit certifying its 

compliance.  

  

K. Upon receipt of affidavit of certifying of compliance, the Board office will conduct a file 

audit to ensure the school is in compliance to receive recognition for postsecondary 

designation. Once a school receives recognition for postsecondary designation the Board 

office will periodically audit the school’s student records to ensure that postsecondary 

designation has been maintained.  

  

L. Licenses of a Postsecondary School of Cosmetology shall clearly state that the school is 

Postsecondary.  

  

M. All Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology will follow Chapter 5: Schools Rules 5.1- 

5.15 and 5.17 -5.24  

  

N. Graduates of a Postsecondary School of Cosmetology may apply for examination through 

Rules 2.8-2.14, for which the graduate qualifies.  
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-16  (Rev. 2013).  

 

 Part 2101 Chapter 2: Licensure 

 

Rule 2.1  General Provisions Regarding Licensure By Examination  

  

A. Licensure examinations are provided for in-state and out-of-state applicants for 

practitioner and instructor licenses.  

B. An examination for any practitioner or instructor license is both practical and written.  

1. The applicant must demonstrate by practical examination, minimal skills and   

knowledge necessary for the license sought.  

2. The applicant must demonstrate by written examination, knowledge of profession, 

health and safety methods and procedures,  Mississippi Statutes, rules and 

regulations pertinent to the practice necessary for the license.  

C. Grades necessary to pass the examination:  

1. Basic Examinations (Practitioner): A person taking the Board of Cosmetology 

examination will be granted a license to practice if such person makes an 

examination grade of not less than 70 scaled score on each portion of the practical 

examination, and not less than 70 scaled score on the written examination.  

2. Instructor Examination: A person taking the Board of Cosmetology Instructor 

examination will be granted an instructor’s license if such person makes an 

examination grade of not less than 75 scaled score on each portion of the practical 

examination, and not less than 75 scaled score on the written examination.  

D. Any applicant failing to pass the required examination after three attempts within 365 

days of school completion is not eligible for re-examination until he or she has returned 

to a school for additional training of no more than 10 percent of the prescribed course 

hours for the course of training for which application for licensure is being made.  

E. After three years, the grades are no longer valid and the candidate is required to take both 

written and practical examinations. Students that fail one skill of the practical 

examination will be allowed to complete a retake examination for that one skill. In the 

event the student fails more than one skill, the complete practical examination must be 

taken. Examination fees remain the same. 

F. The Board will maintain an accurate record of each examination as provided by the 

testing administrator.  

G. Reasonable accommodations may be made for candidates having a physical or mental 

impairment that limits one or more major life activities, as defined by the Americans with 

Disabilities Act. An applicant’s request for accommodation should be made to the test 

provider at the time of registration.   

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13 (Rev. 2013) 

 

Rule 2.2 Statutory Licensing Requirements for All In-State Applicants not Seeking Licensure 

Under the Military Family Freedom Act (73-50-1) or the Universal Recognition of Occupational 

Licensing Act (73-50-2) or Reciprocity (73-7-23) 
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REQUIREMENTS                                                                         

* Denotes Documentation Required 
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Is not less than 21 years of age *    X
 

X
 

X
   

Is not less than 17 years of age * X
 

X
 

X
      

Can read, write and speak English X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
   

Is a graduate from a licensed cosmetology 

school * 

   X
     

Has a high school education or equivalent OR 

successfully enrolled in a community college * 
X

 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
   

Has successfully completed 1000 hours of 

instructor training in a licensed school of 

cosmetology or a school where esthetics or 

manicuring is taught * 

   X
 

X
 

X
   

Has completed 6 semester hours in college 

courses approved by the Board (if licensed in 

another state for less than 1 year, 12 hours) * 

   X
 

X
 

X
   

Holds a current, valid Mississippi cosmetology 

license or esthetician or manicurist license * 

   X
 

X
 

X
   

Has a least 1 year active practical experience 

as a cosmetologist, esthetician, or manicurist 

OR as an alternative to such experience, has 

successfully completed 1,000 hours of 

instructor training in a licensed school of 

cosmetology * 

   X
 

X
 

X
   

Admit to examination X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
   

Must provide social security number [73-7-

19(2)]* 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

Only admit student who have not less than 10th 

grade education or GED equivalent 

      X
  

Inspect premises        X
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Completed a course of training in esthetics 

with not less than 600 hours, as follows:                             

100 hours of theory and                                                     

500 hours of skills practice                                                  

If also want a cosmetology license, can apply 

the curriculum hours toward a cosmetology 

program * 

 X
       

Complete the required application with 

required documents and pay a fee 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

Completed a course of training in manicuring 

and pedicuring with not less than 350 hours 

over a period of not less than 9 weeks.  If also 

want a cosmetology license, can apply the 

curriculum hours toward a cosmetology 

program * 

  X
      

Completed a course of training in cosmetology 

with not less than 1,500 hours over a period of 

not less than 9 months * 
X

        

Two (2) passport photos *  X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

May be eligible for a temporary permit X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
 

X
   

Master cosmetologist, manicurist or 

esthetician license (73-7-14) requires:*                                              

a) Licensed in MS not less than 12 months;                 

b) Completed 16 hours of study in continuing 

education within the licensing period 

preceding initial application for license; and                                 

c) Provide social security number in 

accordance with 93-11-64 

                
 

Rule 2.3 Photograph Required on All Licenses  

 

A.  Each practitioner and instructor licensee shall be required to submit two (2) passport 

 photographs taken recently prior to application or renewal.  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2021)    

 

Rule 2.4 Display of License and Certificate(s) of Proficiency; Photo Identification  

 

A. Every licensee must display his or her license in a conspicuous place within reading 

distance of the public. The posting of a photocopy of a license is prohibited.  

B. Any licensee utilizing or planning to utilize a specific device in any practice area of 

discipline must post the required certificate of proficiency.  



114  

  

C. A licensee shall make his or her government photo identification available upon request. 

Failure to provide government photo identification when requested by an agent of the 

Board will result in issuance of a citation for violation to the practitioner, owner and/or 

manager of the establishment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-11 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 2.5 Duplicate License  

 

A. A request for duplicate license shall be submitted in writing, on a form provided by the 

Board, to the Board office. Applicants for a duplicate license shall submit two (2) forms 

of identification.  Acceptable forms of identification may be driver’s license, government 

issued ID card, Social Security card, school ID card with photograph, voter registration 

card, U.S. military card, Native American tribal document, birth certificate, passport, 

certificate of U.S. citizenship, certificate of  naturalization, valid (unexpired) temporary 

resident card or employment authorization card. Only one duplicate license shall be 

issued during a licensing period, unless extenuating  circumstances are presented. In the 

case of an applicant with extenuating circumstances, the applicant must appear in person 

at the Board office and provide the above proof of identification to be granted a second 

duplicate license. Any additional duplicate license request must be submitted to the Board 

for consideration. 

B. A licensee who has a duplicate license posted, shall make his or her government photo 

identification available upon request. Failure to provide government identification, when 

requested by an agent of the Board shall result in the issuance of a citation for violation to 

the practitioner, owner and/or manager of the establishment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)  

  

Rule 2.6 Outdated License:  

 

A. Any person who has been licensed in this state, and whose license has expired for a  

period of three (3) years must make application for approval for written and practical 

examination.   

B. The application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board 

and must be accompanied by:  

  1. Two recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken prior to application.  

 2. Record of last renewal, including registration number, and date of expiration.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2021)   

 

Rule 2.7 Licensure Process Under the Military Family Freedom Act 
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The Board shall issue a license to an applicant who is a member of the military or an applicant 

who is married to or is a dependent of a member of the military if, upon application to the Board, 

the applicant meets the requirements of 73-50-1. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-50-1 (Rev. 2020) 

 

Rule 2.8 Licensure Process Under the Universal Recognition of Occupation Licensing Act 

(UROLA)  

 

The Board shall issue a license under the Universal Recognition of Occupational Licensing Act 

if, upon receipt of the application prescribed by the Board, the applicant meets the requirements 

of 73-50-2. 

 A. A temporary practice permit is valid for 365 days from the issue date of the permit.  

B. The applicant will be required to pass the sanitation and law examination within two (2) 

years of the issue date of the permit and a license shall be granted under the existing out-

of-state application for licensure originally filed with the Board. 

C. If the applicant fails to pass the sanitation law exam after two (2) years of the issue date 

of the permit, a new and completed out-of-state professional licensing application must 

be filed with the Board; however, the applicant is not eligible to receive an additional 365 

day permit. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-50-2 (Rev. 2021) 

 

 

Rule 2.9 Postsecondary School of Cosmetology - Eligibility  

  

H. The intent of the Board is to offer schools recognition for postsecondary designation. 

Schools seeking the postsecondary designation shall meet certain qualifications.  

I. Qualifications  

3. The school shall admit as a regular student only an individual who has earned a 

recognized high school diploma or has earned their high school equivalency 

through a recognized GED testing facility. Student must also be beyond the age of 

compulsory high school attendance and be able to read, write, and speak English.  

4. Proof of education qualification, enrollment form, and certification of receipt of 

required documents must be submitted to the Board office no later than 30 days 

after date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be granted until these 

documents have been received.  

J. Schools will show its compliance with this qualification with an affidavit upon licensing 

or renewal. Schools previously licensed as a School of Cosmetology may request 

postsecondary recognition during their renewal by providing an affidavit certifying its 

compliance.  

K. Upon receipt of affidavit of certifying of compliance, the Board office will conduct a file 

audit to ensure the school is in compliance to receive recognition for postsecondary 

designation. Once a school receives recognition for postsecondary designation the Board 
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office will periodically audit the school’s student records to ensure that postsecondary 

designation has been maintained.  

L. Licenses of a Postsecondary School of Cosmetology shall clearly state that the school is 

Postsecondary.  

M. All Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology will follow Chapter 5: Schools Rules 5.1- 

5.15 and 5.17 -5.24  

N. Graduates of a Postsecondary School of Cosmetology may apply for examination through 

Rules 2.8-2.14, for which the graduate qualifies.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-16  (Rev. 2021).  

 

 

Rule 2.10 Licensure by  Reciprocity - Practitioner  

  

An individual who holds a current license from another state with whom Mississippi has a 

written reciprocal agreement may be eligible for a practitioner license  in accordance with Miss. 

Code Ann. Section 73-7-23. 

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-23 (Rev. 2021) 

 

Rule 2.11 Request for Pre-Licensure Determination – Fresh Start Act of 2019 

 

An individual may request the Board for a determination of whether the individual’s criminal 

record will disqualify the individual from obtaining a license.  The determination request shall be 

in writing, filed on a form supplied by the Board and signed in the presence of a notary.  The 

request shall also be accompanied by a judgement of conviction. 

A. Disqualifying Crimes Felony. 

 1.   An individual may be denied a license or permit based on a felony conviction  

  which includes the following:  a deferred conviction, a deterred prosecution, a  

  deferred sentence, finding or verdict of guilt, admission of guilt or a plea of nolo  

  contender. 

 2. Directly Related to Licensure Practice.  Crimes involving fraud or theft that may  

  place clients and the public at risk. 

 3. Misdemeanor.  The admission of multiple convictions, including misdemeanor  

  convictions may be used to determine if an individual shall be denied a license or  

  permit. 

 B. Determination Notification 

  1. Time of Response.  The licensing authority or its designee shall issue a  

   written determination notification to the individual within 30 days from  

   the Board’s receipt of the individual’s request. 

  2. Standing.  The individual shall be provided one of the following   

   responses: 

   a. Insufficient Information.  If the individual’s request contains  

    insufficient information, the Board or its designee will notify the  
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    individual that a determination cannot be made at this time as to  

    the individual’s standing or whether or not the criminal record will  

    disqualify the individual from obtaining a license. 

   b. Disqualification Notification.  The Board or its designee shall  

    notify the individual of the following: 

    i. Grounds and reasons for denial or disqualification; 

    ii. The right to a hearing; 

    iii. The earliest date to reapply for a license; 

    iv. Evidence of rehabilitation may be considered upon   

     submittal of a new application. 

 C. Administrative Hearing.  The notice will advise the individual of the right to a  

  hearing to challenge the Board or its designee’s decision. 

 D. Notice of Hearing.  The Board or its designee shall provide in writing to the  

  individual the time, date and nature of the hearing pursuant to the Board’s   

  statutory provisions, rules and regulations. 

 

Source:  Miss. Code. Ann.  § 73-77-1 et. seq. (2019) 

 

Part 2101 Chapter 3: Permits  

  

Rule 3.1 Demonstrator’s Permit      

  

An Establishment must not allow a product demonstrator to demonstrate any product without a 

permit which has been issued in accordance with Section 73-7-25 of the Mississippi Code of 

1972 as amended.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-25 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 3.2 Permit to Work  

  

A.  Student, or Student Instructor:  

  

2. Any student or student instructor who has completed the total number of    prescribed 

hours in a course of training may be issued a permit to work valid for 90 days in that 

capacity. An application for a permit to work shall be submitted on a form prescribed by 

the Board., upon request, provided the following requirements have been met:  

  

a. An application for approval  for examination has been made, and approved 

by the board.  

  

b. An application for a permit to work has been submitted on a form    

approved by the Board, which includes the following information:  
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(1) Name and address of the establishment in which applicant is to be 

employed.  

  

(2) Establishment registration number, current license number and 

expiration date of license.  

  

(3) Name of supervising licensee. (Supervisor)  

  

(4) Supervisor registration number, current license number, and 

expiration date of license.  

     

3. A permit to work is not processed unless a) all information is 

complete,  b) if either the establishment or supervisor license is 

expired, or c) if false information is reflected on the application.  

   

a. The supervising licensee must be employed on a full-time basis by 

the establishment in which the student/student instructor has made 

application  

 for a permit. If it is necessary for the supervisor to be out of the 

establishment on occasion, another supervising licensee must be 

designated to oversee the work of the student/student instructor.  

   

b. A student instructor who has been issued a permit to work is 

required to be under the direct supervision of a licensed instructor.  

     

4. An approved permit to work will be sent, in the applicant’s name, 

directly to the    employing establishment.  

   

a. Any student/student instructor found by a Board agent working in 

any establishment before receipt of his or her permit or without a 

licensed supervisor will be issued a citation.  

   

b. Any establishment owner employing a student/student instructor 

without a temporary work permit shall be issued a citation  for 

employing nonlicensed personnel, and such case may be cause for 

suspension of the establishment license.  

     

5. If any student/student instructor has received a temporary permit to 

work and fails the practical or written examination, that 

student/student instructor is no longer eligible to work.  

   

a. The student/student instructor and the employing establishment 

will be notified of the student/student instructor’s ineligibility to 

work.  
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b. The employing establishment will be notified to return the permit 

immediately. Failure to do so, or for the student/student instructor 

to continue working, will result in a issuance of a notice of an 

administrative hearing to the establishment owner(s) and student 

instructor..  

   

6. No student under the authority of the Board shall work for 

compensation as a practitioner in an establishment while in the 

process of acquiring his or her training. A student instructor is 

exempt from this Rule 3.2(A)(5).   

   

7. Outdated License – See Rule 2.5.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-13  (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 3.3 One-Time Temporary Teaching Permit for Applicant for Instructor’s License by  

Reciprocity  

  

A. Any applicant for a Mississippi instructor’s license by reciprocity who has 

not completed the college course(s) requirement at the time of application may be 

issued a one-time temporary teaching permit valid for six months, which shall be 

non-renewable. All other requirements must be met at the time of application for 

instructor’s license by reciprocity.   

  

B. The request for a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be made on the 

application prescribed by the Board for instructor’s license by reciprocity. See 

Rule  2.12.   

   

1. Name and address of the school in which the applicant is to be employed.  

  

2. School registration number, current license number and expiration date of 

license.  

  

3. Name of supervising instructor(s).  

  

4. Supervising instructor(s)’s registration number, current license number, 

and expiration date of license.  

  

C. The request for a one-time temporary teaching permit must be accompanied by 

the following:  

1. Proof of enrollment in college course(s) approved by the Board  

  

2. Required permit fee of $25.00  
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3. Two (2) passport photographs taken within ninety (90) days prior to the 

application or renewal  

  

4. Other documentation as required for application for a Mississippi 

instructor’s license by reciprocity.  

  

D. Procedures for Use of the One-Time Temporary Teaching Permit  

1. An approved one-time temporary teaching permit shall be issued in the 

applicant’s name and mailed to the employing school.  

2. The applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity who has been 

issued a onetime temporary teaching permit shall be required to be under 

the direct supervision of a licensed instructor.  

3. The supervising instructor shall be employed on a full-time basis by the 

school where the applicant for instructor’s license by reciprocity will be 

employed.  

4. When it is necessary for the supervising instructor to be away from the 

school on occasion, another licensed instructor shall be designated to 

supervise the work of the applicant for an instructor’s license by 

reciprocity who is working pursuant to a one-time temporary teaching 

permit.  

5. Any applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity who is found 

working in any school before receipt of the one-time temporary teaching 

permit will be issued a citation by the Board agent.  

6. Any school owner employing an applicant for an instructor’s license by 

reciprocity without a one-time temporary teaching permit shall be issued a 

citation by the Board agent, and such case may be cause for suspension of 

the school license.  

The one-time temporary permit shall be returned immediately to the Board office in the event the 

applicant for an instructor’s license by reciprocity who holds the said permit ceases employment 

with the employing school of record or withdraws his or her application for an instructor’s 

license by reciprocity.  

7.  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-23 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

  

  

Part 2101  Chapter 4:  Salons  

  

Rule 4.1  Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice  

  

Receptionists, janitorial and other All unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from practicing 

cosmetology, manicuring, or esthetics, in any manner.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 20132021)  
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Rule 4.2 Procedure for the Opening of A New Salon  

  

C. A proposed salon owner must submit an application for licensure to operate a salon on 

the form prescribed by the Board. An incomplete application will not be processed.   

  

1. The following information is required on the application:  

  

a. The name of the proposed salon.  

  

b. The address, location and the phone number of the proposed salon.  

  

c. The name(s) and address(es) of the proposed owner(s). If a partnership or corporation, the 

name and addressed of all principals must be provided.  

  

d. Owners’ Social Security Number(s)  

  

e. If the proposed owner/manager is not a licensed practitioner, the name and registration 

number of an individual working full-time in the establishment and licensed by this Board must 

be provided.  

  

f. Any applicant for a Salon license desiring to limit the practice to manicuring and/or 

esthetics only, must so state on the application, and any licensed issued to the establishment, 

authorizes only the practice, as applied for.  

.  

  

2. In addition to the above, the following information must be submitted with the 

application:  

  

a. Required fee.  

  

b. Two (2) recent passport photographs.  

  

c. A list of the equipment the Salon proposes to have on hand.  

  

3. After receipt of the application and verification of the data, a Board inspector will contact 

the proposed owner to schedule an inspection appointment.  

  

4. The salon application will be cancelled and the fee will be forfeited under the following 

circumstances:  

  

a. An inspection appointment is postponed by the proposed salon owner beyond 90 days 

after receipt.  
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b. The proposed salon owner(s) is a no-show for the inspection appointment and fails to 

send a representative.  

  

D. Inspection and Approval for Licensure:  

D.   

  During the inspection appointment, the Board will conduct an inspection of the premises 

to determine if all requirements, as indicated in the law, including minimum equipment 

requirements, have been strictly adhered to by the owner(s) of the proposed salon. If the 

requirements are not met, and the Boardinspector cannot approve the salon, there will be 

an additional fee for each inspection made before licensing the salon.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-17 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 4.3 Required Equipment for Salons  

  

A. Cosmetology Salon:  

  

1. Signs  

  

a. Outside – Business  

  

b. Hours of Operation.  

  

2. One (1) dresser or work station with mirror for each cosmetologist.   

  

3. One (1) shampoo bowl and chair  

  

4. One (1) dryer.  (For purposes of this rule, a dryer is defined as “a chair or standing 

hair dryer with a hood, either stationary or portable.”)  

  

5. Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes per cosmetologist.  

  

6. Adequate number of closed cabinet(s) of solid construction for clean towels.   

  

7. Adequate number of covered towel container(s) for soiled towels.  

  

8. One (1) wet sanitizer per cosmetologist and/or establishment.  

  

9. One (1) dry sanitizer. (Any clean, closed container is considered adequate)   

  

10. Adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction.  

  

11. One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist.  
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12. One (1) patron chair and manicurist stool per manicurist.  

  

13. One (1) wet sanitizer for clean manicuring implement(s). (Any clean, closed 

container is considered adequate).  

  

14. One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist.  

  

15. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist.  

  

16. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean manicuring implement(s). (Any clean closed 

container is considered adequate).  

  

17. Treatment area(s) located so as to ensure the privacy of the esthetics client.   

  

18. One (1) treatment table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per esthetician.  

  

19. One (1) sink within a reasonable distance of for each esthetics treatment area.   

  

20. One (1) covered container for soiled linens in each esthetics treatment area.   

  

21. One (1) closed cabinet of solid construction for clean linens in each esthetics 

treatment area.  

  

22. One (1) closed cabinet for esthetics supplies.  

  

23. One (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) estheticians.   

  

24. One (1) woods lamp per two (2) estheticians.  

  

25. One (1) wet sanitizer per esthetic treatment area.  

   

26. One (1) dry sanitizer per esthetic treatment area.  

  

27. Covered trash can of solid construction for each esthetics treatment area.  

  

28. An adequate supply of client drapes and linens (towels, sheets, and pillow covers.  

  

29. Sufficient supplies for giving full salon services.  

  

B. Manicuring Salon: A salon in which manicuring only is practiced must have and keep 

maintained in proper working order and condition to the following minimum equipment 

in order to be approved and pass annual inspection:  

  

1. Signs  
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a. Outside – Business  

  

b. Hours of Operation  

  

2. One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist.  

  

3. One (1) patron chair and manicure stool per manicurist.   

  

4. One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist.  

   

5. One (1) finger bowl per manicurist  

  

6. One (1) dry sanitizer for clean implements.  (Any clean, closed container is 

considered adequate)  

  

7. Closed cabinet of solid construction for clean towels.  

  

8. Closed cabinet of solid construction for manicuring/pedicuring supplies.  

   

9. An adequate number of covered trash cans of solid construction.  

  

10. An adequate number of covered towel container(s) for soiled towels.   

  

11. Sufficient supplies for giving complete manicuring/pedicuring services.  

  

C. Esthetics Salon:  A salon in which esthetics only is practiced must have and keep 

maintained in proper working order and condition the following minimum equipment in 

order to be approved and pass annual inspection:  

  

1. Signs  

  

a. Outside – Business  

  

b. Hours of Operation  

  

2. Treatment area(s) located so as to insure the privacy of the patron.   

  

3. One (1) treatment bed, table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per esthetician.  

  

4. One (1) sink within a reasonable distance of  each treatment area.   

  

5. One (1) covered container for soiled linens.   
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6. One (1) closed container for clean linens.  

  

7. One (1) closed container for supplies  

  

8. One (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) treatment areas.   

  

9. One (1) Wood’s lamp per two (2) estheticians.  

  

10. One (1) wet sanitizer per esthetic treatment area.  

   

11. One (1) dry sanitizer per esthetic treatment area.  

  

12. Adequate supply of client drapes and linens (towels, sheets, and pillow covers).  

  

13. Covered trash can of solid construction.  

  

14. Sufficient  supplies for giving complete esthetics services.  

  

D. All licensed establishments must have an outside entrance except salons in department 

stores or buildings with a main entrance.  

  

E. In addition to the above rules, a home establishment must meet the following criteria:  

  

1. The wall between the salon and home must be of ceiling height.  

  

2. If a door exists between the beauty salon and the remainder of the house, said 

door must be kept closed during business hours.  

  

3. If a restroom is within a home salon, it shall be subject to inspection.  

  

F. A licensed establishment must not be used for living purposes or other residential use.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 2013)  

  

Rule 4.34 Salon Change of Ownership; Addition or Change of Partners; Change of Location;  

Change of Business Name  

  

No license is transferable from one owner to another or one location to another.   

  

No new license shall be issued until all fines previously assessed to the salon have been paid in 

full.  

  

E. Change of Ownership  

E.   
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1. Salon owners who contemplate selling or transferring the ownership of a salon 

must notify the board in writing prior to the sale or transfer.  

1.   

2. Where a sale or transfer of ownership occurs, the prospective owners must make 

application for a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 4.1 and 4.4, and must 

pay the required fee.  

2.   

3. A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued.  

3.   

F. Addition or Change of partners  

F.   

1. Where a partnership is added, or changed, and at least one partner or original 

owner remains, then a new salon application is not required.  

1.   

2. Written notification of the change in partnership should be made to the Board 

within (30) days of such change.  

2.   

3. When the original applicant(s) is no longer a partner in the salon, an Application 

of Approval of a New Salon must be made in accordance with Board Rules 4.2-

4.4, and the required fee must be paid.  

3.   

G. Change of Location  

G.   

1. A salon owner who contemplates relocation of the salon must make application 

for a new salon in accordance with Board Rules 4.2-4.4, and must pay the 

required fee.  

1.   

2. A change of location includes moving an existing establishment:  

2.   

a. From one address to another  

a.   

b. From one building, or area within a building, to another, even when a  

“change of address” does not occur.  

  

3. 3. An application for a new salon not required when:   

   

a. Aa portable building is moved  from one specific site on a lot to another site 

on the same lot, and there is no  change in equipment or address.  

  

H. Change of Business Name  

H.   

  A salon will not change its business name without first filing a change of business name 

form and paying the processing fee. (The Board may charge an appropriate processing fee 

in the event of a business name change. The amount shall be on the form for business  

name change).  
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 4.45 Nursing Home Salons  

  

Section 73-7-35 of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended provides that services may be 

provided outside the physical confines of a licensed salon, to “...any person who may be 

confined to his or her home, a hospital, or other place as a result of illness.”  

  

C. Nursing home salons are considered patient care facilities and do not require a salon 

license under the following conditions:  

C.   

1. Services are restricted to patients only and are not provided for employees of the 

nursing home, nor family or friends of the patients.  

1.   

2. A retirement home or community where the residents are not confined due to 

illness is not considered a nursing home. Any salon operated as a part of a 

retirement home or community must be licensed by the Board.  

2.   

D. If a nursing home facility requests to be licensed as a salon and meets all requirements of 

the Board, then it will be granted.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-35 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Part 2101 Chapter 5: Schools    

  

Rule 5.1 Prohibition Regarding Unlicensed Practice  

  

Receptionists, janitorial and other All unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from practicing 

cosmetology, manicuring, or esthetics, in any manner.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-9, 73-7-35(2) (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.2 Procedure for the Opening of A New School  

  

F. Procedure for filing an application for preliminary school approval.  

F.   

1. Any person proposing to own or operate a school must make an appointment with 

the Board to discuss in detail the proposed operation of the school.  

1.   

2. Interested persons must completed a Personal Survey Form and return to the State 

Board of Cosmetology prior to the initial meeting with the Board.  

2.   

G. An application for a license to operate a school must be submitted for approval on an 

application form as prescribed provided by the Board.   
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G.   

1. Prospective owners for proprietary schools provide a completed submitted form 

provided by the Board office. The following information must be provided with 

the application:  

a. Application fee.  

b. Floor plan of the proposed school, indicating measurements for each area, 

and equipment layout.  

c. The name, address and telephone number of the manager/supervisor, and 

the name, address, and registration number of the instructor(s) of the 

proposed school.  

d. A copy of the contract form to be used between the school and the student.  

e. A copy of proposed brochures, catalogs and advertisements.  

f. Two (2) recent passport photographs of the applicant, taken  prior to 

application.  

2. An incomplete application will not be processed and the applicant will be 

notified by the Board office with the cause for non-processing.  

H. Initial Inspection and Approval of Proposed School  

H.   

1. An inspection shall be performed by two (2) agents of the Board, one of which 

must be a board member, for the purpose of validating the information provided 

on the school application.determining:  

1.   

a. Suitability of:  

   

(1) Proposed Location.  

(2) Proposed Rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing, 

ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan.  

   

(3) Proposed items of equipment and materials.  

   

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors 

and properly qualified manager/supervisor.  

  

2. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding 

requirements for licensure and operation of School of Cosmetology, Manicuring 

or Esthetics, the Board may waive the initial inspection and proceed to the final 

inspection.   

2.   

3. The findings of the initial inspection will be submitted to the Board for its 

approval at its next regular or any special called meeting. The applicant will be 

notified in writing of the decision of the Board within 30 days.  

3.   

I. Final Inspection and Approval of Proposed Schools  

I.   
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1. If the inspection is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection 

approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at least 

one of which will be a Board Member to confirm full compliance.  

1.   

2. The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that:  

   

a. Suitability of:  

   

(1) Location  

   

(2) Rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,     

ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan.  

   

(3) Equipment and material set up and operational.  

   

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors 

and properly qualified manager/supervisor.  

   

c. All requirements, as indicated in the application have been strictly adhered 

to by owner(s) of the proposed school.  

   

d. School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by copy of 

inspection report(s) by local authorities.  

  

3. No School will be approved until the Board has had ample opportunity to verify 

sworn statements as to the actual ownership, and all other claims and 

representations set forth in the “Personal Survey Form”, the “Application for 

Approval”, the “Initial Inspection Report”, and the Final Inspection Report.  

2.   

4. If all requirements and qualification are met, the Board will cause written 

approval to be issued.  No school will be considered approved, nor will classes be 

allowed to begin, until said approval has been executed.  

3.   

5. The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who fails to 

meet the requirements for operating a school and/or who fails to present 

satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional integrity and experience. 

In the event the Board denies approval, the fees associated with the application 

will be forfeited.  

4.   

J. Miscellaneous   

J.   

1. Enrollments.  Students may be registered, but not admitted to class until such time 

as the school has received its final approval.  

1.   
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2. Instructor. Each school must have on its staff at least one full-time instructor who 

is charged with the responsibility of the teaching program, and who is considered 

the lead instructor. This person must hold an active Mississippi license or permit 

at the time of application for school approval.  

2.   

3. Non-Compliance. Within thirty (30) days from the date of any inspection, the 

Board may require that the school submit a course of action or “compliance plan” 

which will indicate their awareness of the problem and will set forth in sufficient 

detail which steps they plan to take to correct any violations of law. The Board 

may revoke or suspend the approval of any school for any violation of any of the 

conditions set forth for licensing, or if further investigation reveals 

misrepresentation on the part of the applicant.  

 4. Suitable number of kits must be available at the time of Final Inspection which 

  shall be based on enrollment. 

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.3 Required Space for Schools  

  

A. Schools must have minimum square feet of floor space, according to the courses which 

they propose to teach which includes, at a minimum, skill and theory classrooms, 

reception area, office, two (2) restrooms, reference library, dispensary/stock room, facial 

area, and locker area.  This floor space is to accommodate a maximum number of 

students and for every student thereafter, 25 square feet of floor space per student must be 

added.:  

  

1. Cosmetology Schools- 2500 square feet, up to 40 students  

   

2. Manicuring Schools- 1800 square feet, up to 28 students  

   

3. Esthetics Schools- 1800 square feet, up to 28 students  

     

B. All walls, partitions or other obstructions between classrooms other than the lecture room 

in schools of cosmetology, esthetics and manicuring must be so constructed as to provide 

for continuous and uninterrupted supervision.  

  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.4 Required Equipment  

  

A. All Schools  

   

1. Each school must have an adequate supply of disinfectant and safety equipment to 

insure that the school complies with Board sanitation rules, including: wet 



131  

  

disinfectant containers, dry sanitizers, closed cabinets or containers for clean 

towels, covered soiled towel receptacles, large covered trash can of solid 

construction, and first aid kit.  

   

2. Each school must have adequate resource materials to aid in the teaching of both 

skill and theory subjects, including charts and visual aids, chalk board, bulletin 

board, reference library, and time clock or time sheets.  

   

3. The minimum equipment requirement as indicated on the application must remain 

in full force and effect so long as the school remains in operation.  

   

4. All equipment must be maintained in a sanitary and safe operating order at all 

times.  

   

B. Cosmetology Schools  

   

1. The minimum equipment for a school of cosmetology is as follows:  

   

a.  Mannequin  

(In addition to this number of practice mannequins, the school must furnish, 

upon enrollment, to every student, a mannequin in good condition for his use 

throughout the period of training.)  

7  

b.  Time Clock or Time Sheet  (See Rule 5.23 C and D)    

c.  Shampoo Bowls and Chairs  

(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 students, additional shampoo 

bowls must be added at the ratio of one for each five students in average daily 

attendance in excess of 20.)  

5  

d.  Dryers  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional dryers 

must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 5 students in average daily attendance 

in excess of 20.)  

12  

e.  Facial Chairs, complete with footrest, headrest, magnifying lamp, and 

practitioner stool  

1  

f.  Manicure Tables  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional manicure 

tables must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 10 students in average daily 

attendance in excess of 20.)  

3  

g.  Cold Wave Equipment: Sets of four dozen assorted rods  10  

h.  Thinning Shears (pair)  1  

      

i.  Thermal Hair Straighteners   

     Combs  

     Stove (not required if comb electric)  

  

8  

8  
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     Curling iron (no larger than size “G”)  8  

j.  Containers for antiseptic solution, per manicure table  1  

k.  Work station with chair and mirror  

Station chairs must be so constructed that they may be elevated and lowered 

either mechanically [hydraulic pump] or manually [swivel].  

(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 senior students, one additional 

station per student must be added).  

20  

l.  Work table(s) for junior students  Adequate  

m.  Classroom chairs with desk rest  20  

n.  Cabinet for client records  1  

  

2. The minimum equipment requirement for a school of cosmetology desiring to 

include a department of esthetics and or/manicuring in its training program must 

contain at least one (1) of each item specified for a school of esthetics and school 

of manicuring/pedicuring. When the average daily attendance exceeds two (2), the 

minimum equipment must be increased at the rate of one (1) per every two (2) 

students.  

   

C. Esthetics Schools  

   

1.  The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in which esthetics 

only is taught is as follows:  

  

a.  Facial treatment chair, treatment table, or hydraulic treatment chair (When 

the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional facial chairs 

must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily 

attendance in excess of 3)  

3  

b.  Esthetician’s stool  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional 

esthetician’s stools must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 3)  

3  

c.  Facial Vaporizer (When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, 

additional vaporizers must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students 

in average daily attendance in excess of 3)  

3  

d.  Pulverizer Spray (mister)  3  

e.  Galvanic Current Apparatus or Faradic & Sinusoidal Apparatus  1  

f.  High Frequency Apparatus  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional high 

frequency apparatus must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 3)  

3  
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g.  Heating Mask or hot towels  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional heating 

masks must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily 

attendance in excess of 3)  

3  

h.  Heating Mitts or paraffin wax with mitts  3 pairs  

i.  Infrared lamp  3  

j.  Ultraviolet lamp (When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, 

additional Ultraviolet lamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 

students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)  

3  

k.  Woods lamp  1  

l.  Magnifying lamp (Loupe)  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional  

Magnifying lamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in 

average daily attendance in excess of 3)  

3  

m.  Electric wax heater for removal of hair  1  

n.  Utilities Tables  3  

 (When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional utility 

tables must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily 

attendance in excess of 3)  

 

o.  Table for Machines  1 per 

machine  

p.  Cabinet for client records  1  

q.  Sink with hot and cold running water within a reasonable distance of the 

treatment area  

1  

  

D.  Schools of Manicuring  

  

1. The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in 

manicuring/pedicuring is taught is as follows:  

   

a.  Manicure table fitted with adjustable lamp, client chair and operators stool or chair. 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional manicure tables, 

lamps and stools must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 student in average 

daily attendance in excess of 10)  

10  

b.  Covered containers for waste material  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional covered waste 

containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 students in average daily 

attendance in excess of 10)  

10  

c.  Cushion (8”x12”) covered with a washable slip or sanitized towel on which clients 

rest arm  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional armrests must be 

added at the ratio of one per every 1 students in average daily attendance in excess of 

10)  

10  
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d.  Supply tray for holding implements/products  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional cosmetic trays 

must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 student in average daily attendance in 

excess of 10)  

10  

e.  Finger bowl (plastic, china or glass) for holding warm water and cleanser  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional finger bowls must 

be added at the ratio of one per every 1 student in average daily attendance in excess 

of 10)  

10  

f.  Cotton containers  10  

g.  Electric heaters with disposable cups – for heating oil/lotion   10  

h.  Disinfection containers for immersion of manicuring implements during procedure 

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional disinfection 

containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 student in average daily 

attendance in excess of 10)  

10  

i.  Basins for Pedicure Cleansing(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 

students, additional cleanser basins must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 

students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)  

5  

j.  Basins for pedicure rinse water  5  

 (When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional rinse water basins 

must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in 

excess of 10)  

 

k.  Electric nail files  

(When average daily attendance exceeds six (6) students, additional nail files must be 

added at the ratio of one (1) per every two (2) students in average daily attendance in 

excess of six (6))  

2  

l.  Hand form with stand; demonstrational purposes  

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional hand forms must 

be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess 

of 10).  

5  

  

2. The clinic floor in a manicure school must be ventilated to the outside air.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 2013)  

  

 

 

Rule 5.5 Name of School  

  

All schools licensed by the Board must be designated as such by an outside sign large enough to 

be visible.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  
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Rule 5.6 School Advertising  

  

C. Advertising of a proposed school is to be limited to the procurance of students.  

C.   

D. A licensed school is allowed to advertise the prices of clinical services outside the  

premises as long as the following conditions are met:  

D.   

1. The advertisement will clearly state, in bold print that “all work is performed by   

students under the supervision of a licensed instructor.”  

1.   

2. No comparison of prices is made to any other school or to licensed salons.  

2.   

3. Hours of operation for the clinic floor must be posted.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.7 School Change of Ownership; Addition or Change of Partners; Change of Location; 

Change of Business Name; Renovation of Existing School  

  

No license is transferable from one owner to another or from one location to another.   

  

No new license shall be issued until all fines previously assessed to the school have been paid in 

full.  

  

A sixty (60) day grace period is allowed until a new license is issued.  

  

E. Change of Ownership  

E.   

1. Prior to selling or transferring the ownership of a school, the owner(s) must notify   

the Board, in writing, at least thirty (30) days in advance of the sale or transfer.  

1.   

2. An application for Initial School Approval must be submitted to the Board by the   

prospective owner(s), in accordance with Board Rules 5.2 through 5.6.  

2.   

3. At any time a corporation has a change of control, the Board shall be notified in   

writing at least ten (10) days in advance of the change in corporate control.   

3.   

F. Addition or Change of Partners  

F.   

1. Prior to the addition or change of a partner(s), owner(s) must notify the Board, in   

writing, at least thirty (30) days in advance.  

1.   

2. At any time the original applicant is no longer a partner in the school, an    

Application for Initial School Approval will be required, in accordance with 

Board   Rules 5.2 through 5.6.  
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2.   

G. Change of Location  

G.   

1. School owners who are relocating a school must submit an application for a 

license to operate a school and must be submitted for approval on an application 

form as prescribed by the Board.    relocation on a form prescribed and provided 

by the Board. The approved    application requires the submission of at least the 

following:  

1.   

a. A floor plan of the proposed school, indicating room measurements,   

placing of equipment, partitions, entrances and exits, and plumbing.  

   

b. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or any advertising materials in use or   

proposed to be used.  

   

c. Certificate or letter indicating that the facility has met building or fire code     

requirements of local authorities.  

   

d. Schedule of instructors, indicating full time/part time.  

   

e. Required fee.  

   

2. Relocation of a School of Cosmetology, Esthetics, or Manicuring within a radius  

of 15 miles from the existing school may not require submission of:  

a. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or advertising materials, unless there have   

been substantial changes made.  

b. Schedule of Instructors, unless there has been a change in those schedules   

      from that which is on file at the Board.  

  

3. Intitial and/or Final inspections will be conducted upon receipt and approval of 

the School Application. The Board will conduct an initial and/or final inspection 

to ensure that all requirements have been met. Upon receipt and approval of 

Application for School Approval, the Board may conduct an Initial Inspection.  

The inspection will be performed by two or more agents of the Board, including 

one Board member, for purposes of determining:\  

3.   

a. Suitability of:  

   

(1) Proposed location;  

   

(2) Proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,   

lighting, and ventilation in accordance with the floor plan; and  

   

(3) Proposed list of equipment.  
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b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors 

and Manager/Supervisor.  

   

c. The findings of this initial inspection will be submitted to the Board for its   

approval at its next regular or special called meeting, and the applicant 

will be notified in writing, of the decision of the Board, within 30 days.  

   

d. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding   

requirements for licensure and operating of a School of Cosmetology,   

Esthetics or Manicuring, the Board may waive the initial inspection if it so   

desires.  

   

4. If application is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection is   

approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at least   

one of which will be a Board member.  

   

a. The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that all   

      requirements as indicated in the application have been strictly adhered to   

      by the owner(s).  

  

b. School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by    

inspection report of local authorities.  

   

c. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be   

issued within thirty (30) days. No School will be considered approved for   

licensure until same has been executed.  

5.4. The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who fails to   

meet the requirements for conducting a school and/or who fails to present    

satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional integrity and experience.  

H. Change of Business Name  

H.   

A school must not change its business name without having first having filed a change of 

business name form and paid the processing fee. If a change of business name is made at the 

time of renewal, the processing fee will be waived. The processing fee is $50.00. If a new owner 

is requesting a change in a business name, the owner must provide the buy/sell agreement.  

  

E.  Renovation  

  

Before any major alteration or renovation of school is made, the plan of such alteration or 

renovation must first be submitted to the Board in writing and written approval must be received. 

The School must undergo initial and final inspection and approval in accordance Rule 5.2.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  
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Rule 5.8 Satellite Classroom  

  

D. Definition: A satellite classroom is a supplemental training space located near the main  

school for the purpose of training an overflow of students who cannot be accommodated  

at the main school.  

D.   

1. A satellite classroom must be close enough to the main school to assure 

immediate supervision by the main school.  The satellite classroom may be no 

farther than five miles from the main school.  

1.   

2. A clinic may not be operated at a satellite classroom location.  

2.   

3. During operation hours, an instructor must be in the classroom.  

3.   

4. A school is responsible and accountable to the Board for its satellite classroom   

location.  

4.   

a. If ownership of the separate facility changes from that of the main school,   

Board approval does not continue for the satellite facility.  

a.   

b. The separate classroom must bear the same name as the main school, and   

must be identified as such by an outside sign.  

b.     

E. Application Procedure  

1. An application for a Separate Classroom Location must be submitted on an   

application form prescribed and provided by the Board, accompanied by such   

evidence, statements, or documents as therein required and filed with the Board at   

its office in Jackson, Mississippi.  

2. The following is to be submitted with the application:  

2.   

a. A fee of $50.00, which covers the cost of the inspection of the facility, and    

$10.00 for a duplicate of the main school license.  

a.   

b. An area map noting the location of the satellite school in respect to the 

main school. The map must include an appropriate scale.  

c. A floor plan, indicating total square feet in the satellite classroom, and 

square feet of each section of the classroom, if it should consist of more 

than one section.  

d. A description of the outside sign.  

d.   

F. Approval Procedure  

F.   

1. Upon receipt and approval of an Application for Satellite Classroom, the Board 

will conduct an inspection to determine that it meets the requirements for 

approval. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be   
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issued. No satellite classroom will be considered approved, nor will classes be 

allowed to begin in the satellite classroom until this approval has been executed, 

the   Board will conduct an inspection to determine:  

1.   

a. The suitability of:  

a.   

(1) Proposed location  

(1)   

(2) Proposed classroom, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,   

ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with floor plan.  

(2)   

(3) Proposed items of equipment and material.  

(3)   

b. Satisfactory evidence of proper provision for duly licensed instructor(s).  

   

c. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be   

issued. No satellite classroom will be considered approved, nor will 

classes be allowed to begin in the satellite classroom until this approval 

has been executed.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.9 Instruction Staff  

  

K. There must be on the staff at least one full time instructor at all times, who holds a 

current, active license as an instructor in this state.  

K.   

L. Immediately upon employment, the school must submit on a form approved by the 

Board, a Certification of Instructor employment which indicates full or part-time 

employment.  

M. The Board must be notified in writing, within ten (10) days of any changes in instructor 

staff of a school of cosmetology.  

M.   

N. When the enrollment exceeds 20 students there must be added to the staff an additional 

full-time instructor as follows:  

  

Number of Students  Number of Teachers Required  

1-20  1  

21-40  2  

41-60  3  

61-80  4  

81-100  5  

  



140  

  

 Each student, including student instructor, cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, and 

part time, is counted as full time enrollment.  

  

O. For each full-time instructor there can be no more than three student instructors.  

O.   

P. Absence from the classroom of the instructor must be reported to the Board of 

Cosmetology, Department of School Coordination.  Arrangement must be made for an 

instructor, who is licensed by the Board, for replacement during vacations, prolonged 

illness, etc. When the instructor is absent for one day or less, a student instructor or senior 

student may be left in charge. When an enrolled senior student is left in charge of the 

clinic floor, no  additional chemical services shall be started.  

P.   

Q. An instructor/student instructor is strictly prohibited from practicing on patrons except in 

a situation where such practice is for demonstration only.  

Q.   

R. All practice work by student is to be supervised and checked by an instructor or student 

instructor licensed by the Board.  

R.   

S. All student instructors must, at all times, be under the direct supervision of an instructor 

who holds a current, active license issued by the Board, except as provided by Rule 

5.9(F).  

S.   

T. Any instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of a specific device in any practice 

area of discipline must first present the required certificate of proficiency for the device. 

All individuals seeking licensure after January 1, 1998, must present this certification 

prior to seeking licensure.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.10 Required Display  

  

All schools must display the following in a location conspicuous to the public:   

C. Main School Facilities:  

C.   

1. The current school license  

1.   

2. The current license of any instructors teaching in the school  

2.   

3. The current practitioner or duplicate license of any student instructors.  

3.   

4. The Sanitation Rules and Regulations of the Board (Chapter 7).  

4.   

5. A notice, in letters large enough to be read across the length of the room, that   

states:  
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   “All services in this school are performed by students who are in training; all work must 

be inspected by an instructor.”  

  

6. A certification of proficiency for a specific device used in any practice discipline   

of cosmetology for any instructor or student instructor teaching the use of the   

same.  

6.   

D. Satellite Classroom Facilities  

D.   

1. Instructor/Student Instructor License.   

1.   

2. Duplicate school instructor license.  

2.   

3. A sign, which states,    

3.   
 “Satellite classroom only. No clinic work performed in this facility”  

  

 

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16, 73-7-9; 73-7-11 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.11 Separation of Schools from Other Businesses  

  

D. A school cannot be connected with any other business, including a salon.  A school and 

another business must be separated by walls of permanent construction.  If doors or 

openings exist between the business, they must be closed at all times.  

D.   

E. A school may share a foyer and/or break room with a barbering school.  

E.   

F. Schools may offer cosmetology products and related articles for retail sale.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.12 Services for the Public; Restrictions  

  

C. Students may render services to the public only under the direct supervision of a licensed  

 instructor.  

C.   

D. A student/student instructor in a school cannot receive a salary or commission from the  

 school for any cosmetology, manicuring, pedicuring, or esthetic services while enrolled.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.13 Student School Contracts  
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A school is required to execute in duplicate, a contract between itself and a student.  A contract 

between a school and a student must bear the signature of a school official and the student or 

parent or guardian, if the student is under eighteen years of age. A fully executed copy of the 

contract must be given to the student; and one copy must remain at all times in the school’s 

student file.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.14 School Inspections  

  

C. The Board, or its authorized agents, may inspect schools on a regular basis as it deems 

necessary. The intent and purpose of the inspection is to determine of compliance with 

the laws, rules, and regulations of the Board.  

C.   

D. In order to iensure that operators of a newly licensed school understand and fully comply 

with the record keeping requirements in the Board Rules, a special on-site audit may be 

performed.  

D.   

1. The audit may take place at the conclusion of the first 90 days of a new school’s 

operations.  

1.   

2. The audit includes, at a minimum:  

2.   

a. A review of the student academic files to iensure that enrollment forms are 

properly prepared and on hand, and that proof of secondary education 

requirements are on hand.  

a.   

b. A review of all documentation supporting and substantiating student clock 

hours, including sign in sheets or time cards, and daily reports.  

b.   

c. An audit of student clock hours which shall encompass at least 10% of the 

school’s reported and verified enrollment at that time.  

c.   

d. A review of the school’s procedures and records which deal with students 

who are no longer in attendance at the school.  

d.  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

  

  

  

Rule 5.15 School Closure  
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E. Immediately after a school ceases operations, A school must notify the Board thirty (30) 

days in advance of school closure. The school it  must notify the Board of the closure by   

 certified mail.  

E.   

F. Within ten (10) days after a school ceases operation, it must forward student records to  

 the Board. These records must consist of, but not be limited to: enrollment information  

 which has not been previously submitted to the Board, records of academic progress, a  

 Final Report which accurately reflects clock hours earned, through the last date of  

 attendance, proof of secondary education which has not previously been submitted to the  

 Board. Files and documentation relating to federal tuition assistance funding should not  

 be forwarded to the Board of Cosmetology.  

F.   

G. In the event a school ceases operations for a period of more than thirty (30) days, that  

 School is considered by the Board to be officially closed, and new license is required in  

 accordance with the Laws of the State of MS, Section 73-7-16, and Rule 5.2, prior to  

 operations resuming, either under original ownership or new ownership, except by notice  

 for vacation or break, man-made disasters, or acts of God.  

H. In the event of school closure, the Board shall be provided in writing information relative  

G. to who will maintain the permanent student records, including, but not limited to, 

transcripts. 

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.16 Requirements for Student Enrollment  

  

C. Cosmetologist, Manicurist, and Esthetician must:  

C.   

1. Have at least a tenth (10th) grade education or its equivalent.  

1.   

a. Applicants who do not have a high school diploma may submit transcript   

or report card as proof of their educational qualifications. Proof of    

educational qualification must be submitted to the board not later than 30   

days after start date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be   

granted until the proof of educational qualification has been received in 

the board office.  

a.   

b. At least 7 credits are required in order to be considered as completion of a 

tenth (10th) grade education.  

b.   

c. Any student who enrolls with a tenth (10th) grade education must sign a 

statement indicating that they understand that they are not eligible to sit 

for the licensing examination until they have completed the twelfth (12th) 

grade or its equivalent.  

c.   
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d. When a student does not meet the educational requirement, such student 

may take a GED. An official GED transcript must be filed no later than 90 

days after date of enrollment the start date. After this time period, no hours 

can be granted until the proof of educational qualification has been 

received in the Board office.  

d. A fine of $100 per occurrence and $400 for subsequent violations will be 

levied if enrollment documents are not received within thirty (30) days of 

start date. Further disciplinary action  may be taken at the discretion of the 

Board. 

e.   

2. Be no less than 16 years of age. An enrollee who is less than the minimum   

licensing age of 17 must submit a copy of his/her birth certificate along with other   

enrollment documents.  

2.   

3. Be able to read, write and speak English.  

3.   

D. Student Instructor must:  

D.   

1. Have a current Mississippi license to practice in the field in which he/she is   

enrolling as a student instructor.  

1.   

a. The registration number must be on file with the enrolling school and the 

Board at the time of enrollment.  

a.   

b. The practitioner’s license of the student instructor must be posted at the 

school, in a location conspicuous to the public, and must be available for 

inspection by the Board or its authorized agent(s) during regular business 

hours.  

b.   

c. If a Student Instructor is actively practicing in a Salon, a duplicate license 

must be posted at the school.  

c.   

2. Be no less than 20 years of age.   

2.   

3. Have a high school education or its equivalent.  

3.   

4. Be a graduate of a licensed school of Cosmetology, Esthetics, or Manicuring in 

this or any other state.  

4.   

5. Be able to read, write and speak English.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.17 Student Equipment and Supplies  
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C. The following equipment and supplies must be issued by the school, to each student, 

upon enrollment, according to their course of training:  

C.   

1. Cosmetologist:  

a. Approved textbookprinted hard copy textbook or digital e-book textbook  

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and  

Regulations   

c. Mannequin  

d. A kit which must be received no later than the completion of the freshman 

hours that contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:  

d.   

Rollers, Assorted  4 dozen  

Brushes  6  

Combs  6  

Wide tooth comb or pick  1  

Large, heavy comb, for comb out/color  1  

Scissors, straight  1 pair  

Razor & blades (box)  1  

Curling Iron (size no larger than a quarter)  1  

Clippies, Box  1  

Shampoo cape, all purpose, styling  2  

Tweezers  1  

Tint brush, applicator bottle and bowl  1  

Manicuring Equipment  

     Pusher  

     Orangewood stick  

     File or emery board  

     Cuticle nippers  

     Nail brush  

Nail clippers  

  

1  

1  

1  

1  

1  

1  

  

  

2. Manicuring:  

a. Approved textbookprinted hard copy textbook or digital e-book textbook  

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Law, Rules and  

Regulations   

c. Hand form and holder  

d. Wet Sanitizer  

e. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:  

e.       

Finger Bowl  1  

Nail Brush  1  

Nail tips, various sizes  1 package  
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Student sculpture kit, with powder, odorless liquid, 

brush, forms and dauber  

1  

Emery board, regular  1  

Emery board, wide  1  

Buffer disks, fine & medium  3 each  

Cuticle nipper (or scissors)  1 pair  

Metal pusher  1  

Orangewood stick  1  

Tweezers  1  

Nail base coat/top coat  1 each  

Ridge filler  1  

Cuticle oil  1  

Nail glue  1  

Nail clippers  1  

  

(Note: nail polish, quick dry and remover [both acetone and non-acetone] should be dispensary 

items)  

  

3. Esthetics:  

a. Approved textbookprinted hard copy textbook or digital e-book textbook  

b. Copy of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and  

Regulations   

c. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:  

c.   

Skin Cleanser  8 oz.  

Skin Freshener/toner/astringent   8 oz.  

Moisturizer/sunscreen  2 oz.  

Foundation: light, medium and dark  1 ea.  

Concealer: light, medium and dark  1 ea.  

Blusher: light, medium and dark  1 ea.  

Powder: light, medium, and dark  1 ea.  

Eye liner pencil  1 ea.  

mascara  1 ea.  

Wedge sponges  1 pk.  

Powder brush  1  

Blush brush  1  

Applicators (lip, shadow,  mascara)  1 pkg. each  

Plastic spatulas  1 doz.  

Lip color  1   

Mask and mask brush  1 (2 oz.)  

Tweezers  1  

Pencil sharpeners  1  
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D. A student is not required to pay for supplies used in assigned practice work or in clinic 

floor patron services.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7; 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.18 Curriculum  

  

A.  Cosmetologist:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 1500 hours of training 

extended over a period of not less than nine months is as follows:  

  

  1.  Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations  

    Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct  

    General Sciences  

      Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions  

      Anatomy and Physiology  

      Basic Chemistry and Electricity  

             Business Skills  

      Personal/Individual  

        Resume  

        Interviewing   

        Sales and Marketing  

        Money Management    

              Salon  

        Planning and Design  

        Management  

        Marketing  

    Hair Science  

    Hair Treatments/Services  

      Principals of Design  

      Shampooing and Conditioning  

      Haircutting  

      Hairstyling  

      Chemical Texture Services  

      Coloring and Lightening  

      Braiding, Extensions, Additions and Wigs  

    Skin Science  

    Skin Care/Treatments/Services  

    Nail Science  

    Nail Care/Treatments/Services  

    Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects  

  

5. Theory requirement:  230 clock hours  

5.   
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a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 4 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

course instruction.   

a.   

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice 

skill.  

b.   

6. Skill/Practical Requirement: 1200 clock hours  

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor.  

  

7. Unassigned/Open:  70 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at  

instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates.  

  

B.  Manicurist:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 350 hours of instruction 

and training extended over a period of not less than nine weeks is as follows:   

  

  1.  Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations  

    Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct  

    General Sciences  

      Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions  

      Anatomy and Physiology  

      Basic Chemistry and Electricity  

    Business Skills  

      Personal/Individual  

        Resume  

        Interviewing   

        Sales and Marketing  

        Money Management    

     Salon  

        Planning and Design  

        Management  

        Marketing  

    Nail Science  

    Nail Treatments/Services  

      Manicure  

        Basic  

        Specialty  

      Pedicure  

        Basic  

        Specialty  

      Nail Enhancements  

        Nail Tips  

        Nail Wraps  

        Monomer Liquid  
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        Polymer Powder  

        UV Gels  

      Electric Nail File  

      Nail Polish/Art/Airbrushing/Embellishments  

      Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects  

  

5. Theory requirement:  85 clock hours  

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 7 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction.   

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice 

skill.  

b.   

6. Skill/Practical Requirement: 250 clock hours  

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor.  

  

7. Unassigned/Open:  15 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at  

instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates.  

  

C.  Esthetician:  The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 600 hours of instruction 

and training extended over a period of not less than fifteen weeks is as follows:   

  

  1.  Mississippi Board of Cosmetology Laws, Rules and Regulations  

    Professional Image, Ethics and Conduct  

    General Sciences  

      Infection Control, Prevention and Safety Precautions  

      Anatomy and Physiology  

      Basic Chemistry and Electricity  

    Business Skills  

      Personal/Individual  

        Resume  

        Interviewing   

        Sales and Marketing  

        Money Management    

     Salon  

        Planning and Design  

        Management  

        Marketing  

    Skin Science  

    Skin Treatments/Services  

      Facial Treatments  

      Facial Massage  

      Facial Machines  

      Hair Removal  
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      Makeup  

      Advanced Topics and Treatments  

    Any Other Related Theory/Skill Subjects  

  

4. Theory requirement:  100 clock hours  

4.   

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction.   

a.   

b. Students shall not leave a theory class to work on patrons or to practice 

skill.  

b.   

5. Skill/Practical Requirement: 470 clock hours  

Skill/Practical training and clinic work shall be assigned and supervised by a 

licensed instructor.  

  

6. Unassigned/Open:  30 clock hours, theory and/or skill/practical, shall be used at  

 instructor’s discretion as need of student dictates.  

  

  

D.  Student Instructor:  

4. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for a cosmetology, esthetician, 

or manicurist instructor training course consists of 1000 hours:  

  

  

b. The subject matter and hours for each are:  

b.  

 1,000 hours  

Theory Observation  16 hours  

Skill Observation  90 hours  

(The observation hours must be acquired prior to 

practice teaching)  

  

The Professional Teacher 

including:  

Teacher Personality  

Technical Knowledge  

Teacher Characteristics  

Teachers as Professionals  

Preparation for Teaching  

Planning the Course (Lesson Plans Steps of Teaching)  

218 hours  
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  1,000 hours  

Theory Observation  16 hours  

Skill Observation  90 hours  

(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice 

teaching)  

  

The Professional Teacher including:  

Teacher Personality  

Technical Knowledge  

Teacher Characteristics  

Teachers as Professionals  

Preparation for Teaching  

Planning the Course (Lesson Plans Steps of Teaching)  

218 hours  

Student Motivation and Learning 

including:  

Laws Governing Learning Process  

Student Motivation  

Student Participation  

Student Personalities  

Slow Learner v. Gifted Learner  

132 hours  

Methods, Management & Materials including:  

Methods, Procedures & Techniques of Teaching  

Classroom Management  Teaching 

Materials  

429 hours  

Testing and Evaluation  90 hours  

Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations  25 hours  

 

 

 

Student Motivation and Learning 

including:  

Laws Governing Learning Process  

Student Motivation  

Student Participation  

Student Personalities  

Slow Learner v. Gifted Learner  

132 hours  

Methods, Management & Materials including:  

Methods, Procedures & Techniques of Teaching  

Classroom Management  

Teaching Materials  

429 hours  

Testing and Evaluation  90 hours  

Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations  25 hours  
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b. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be made, up 

   to 10% as student needs may require.  

  

5. Prior to application for approval for examination, a student instructor is required 

to have completed  six (6) semester hours in college courses approved by the 

Board. It is strongly recommended that the student seek approval of subject 

matter from the Board prior to actual enrollment in the courses.  

5.   

c. All six (6) hours of college courses may be acquired in a classroom, web- 

based or online courses.  

c.   

d. Six (6) hours must be acquired in a combination of the following subjects:  

d.   

(1) Communication   

(1)   

(2) Business Law   

(2)   

(3) English  

(3)   

(4) Psychology  

(4)   

(5) Sociology  

(5)   

(6) Mathematics  

(6)   

(7) Computer  

(7)   

(8) Safety and First Aid  

(8)   

(9) Any other Methodology course, with Board approval  

(9)   

d. Proof of the acquisition of the course must be submitted to the Board in 

the form of an original transcript from the college or university from 

which the courses are acquired. The transcript must bear the seal of the 

school and the signature of the Registrar. Copies are not acceptable.  

d.   

6. Prior to application for examination, a student instructor must attend one Board 

approved “Methods of Teaching” Seminar earning a minimum of five (5) 

continuing education hours.  

6.   
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H. Cross Over Barbers:  The curriculum for a licensed barber enrolled in a 500 hour course, 

as provided for in §73-7-13, extended over a period of not less than 12½ weeks is as 

follows:  

H.   

1. Theory Requirements: 65 hours  

1.   

a. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed 

instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire 

period of instruction.  

a.   

b. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons.  

b.   

2. Skill Requirements: 435 hours:  

2.   

Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed  

 instructor.  

  

I. A student may earn clock hours in any course of training for demonstrations and for 

product knowledge being taught by suppliers under the following conditions:    

I.   

1. A licensed instructor is in attendance at all times.  

1.   

2. The demonstrator holds a current permit issued by the Board for this purpose.  

2.   

3. If the demonstration/product knowledge is acquired off-campus, a sign-in sheet 

must be maintained by the school authority, and a copy sent to the Board with the 

next regular monthly report.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.19 Student Attendance  

  

E. Full-time students shall not be credited with more than 40 hours weekly.  Hours acquired  

in excess of 40 hours per week maximum may be applied as Make-up Hours, provided  

they are used for that purpose within the month in which they were acquired they were 

from hours missed from the student’s start date as documented by the school. Accelerated  

hours shall not be accepted.  

E.   

F. Student Instructor:  

F.   

1. Cosmetology, esthetics, and manicuring instructors training extends over a period 

of not less than twenty-five (25) weeks, provided however, that not more than 40 

hours weekly are credited.  

1.   
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2. When the required number of hours has been acquired, the individual can no 

longer function as a “student instructor”.  In order to function in an instructional 

capacity in any school, the student must make application for examination, as 

stipulated in §73-7-15(4) of the Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.  

2.   

G. Break in Attendance/Failure to Apply for Examination  

G.   

1. Where there is a break in attendance of at least three (3) years, but no more than 

five (5) years, students will be credited with two-thirds of the original hours 

acquired.  Where such break in attendance exceeds five (5) years, but less than ten 

(10), students are credited with one-half of the original hours acquired. After a 

break in attendance of ten (10) or more years, no hours are credited.  

1.   

2. Where a portion of the hours for the completion of a course of training was 

acquired out-of-state, but the student did not complete the course in that state, the 

break in attendance rule applies to the student who enrolls in a school in 

Mississippi for the completion of his/her training.  

2.   

3. Where an individual has completed a course of training in this state, or any other 

state, and licensure is not obtained within 365 days after completion of said 

course, “brush up” hours of training are required before the individual is eligible 

for examination. The following rates of credit apply:  

  

a. 366 days to three years:  

      10% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was   

      completed.  

  

b. Over three years to seven years:  

  

      25% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was  

      completed.  

  

c. Over seven years:  

  

      50% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was   

      completed.  

  

If there is reason to believe that the individual cannot be licensed prior to the end 

of the first year after graduation, the Board cannot accept an application for 

approval for examination. There must be an adequate span of time in which the 

application can be approved and examination grades received and recorded.  

  

4. This provision does not apply to a person whose break in attendance, or failure to   

acquire licensure is due to a military deployment.  

3.   
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H. Failure to Apply for Examination 

5. Any hours acquired toward a cosmetology course may be applied toward either a  

manicuring, or esthetics course, provided the hours acquired during the 

cosmetology  training are applicable to the course of training to which the hours 

are to be applied.  

1. Where an individual has completed a course training in this state, or any other 

state and licensure is not obtained within 365 days after completion of said 

course, “brush-up” hours of training are required before the individual is eligible 

for examination. The following rates of credit apply: 

a. 366 days to three years: 

10% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which 

was completed. 

   b. Over three years to seven years: 

25% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was 

completed. 

   c. Over seven years: 

50% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was 

completed. 

If there is a reason to believe that the individual cannot be licensed prior to the 

end of the first year after the date a student completes the required number of 

hours required for licensure, the Board cannot accept an application for approval 

for examination. There must be an adequate span of time in which the application 

can be approved and examination grades received and recorded. 

E. Any hours acquired toward a cosmetology course may be applied toward either a  

manicuring or esthetics course, provided the hours acquired during the cosmetology 

training are applicable to the course of training to which the hours are to be applied. 

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§73-7-7, 73-7-16 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.20 Transfer Students  

  

Hours acquired may be transferable from one licensed school to another.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.21 Insignia or Badges  

  

Each student and instructor engaged in a course of training must wear a badge signifying his/her 

status:  

  

Freshman  Insignia worn by cosmetology students who have less than 240 

hours  

Junior  Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 240 to 749 hours  

Senior  Insignia worn by cosmetology students with 750 to 1500 hours  
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Instructor  Insignia worn by all licensed instructors  

Student 

Instructor  

Insignia worn by all students engaged in instructor training  

Manicurist   Insignia worn by all students engaged in a manicurist course  

Esthetician  Insignia worn by all students engaged in a special esthetics 

course  

    

Special Trainee  insignia worn by all students engaged in advanced and brush up 

training  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.22 Work Upon Patron   

  

D. A student enrolled in a school for a course of training can be assigned work upon a patron  

for services only after completion of the following hours of training and instruction:  

D.   

 Cosmetologist   240 hours  

Manicurist  40 hours  

Esthetician  96 hours  

  

E. Students are not permitted to accept pay or remuneration of any kind during the course of  

training except retail sale commissions or tips.  

E.   

F. An instructor or student instructor cannot work upon a patron paying for services unless 

he/she is doing so in a teaching situation.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021)  

   

Rule 5.23 Records, Forms and Applications  

  

L. All records must be made available to the Board or any of its agents at any time during 

business hours.  

L.   

M. Each student must make application for enrollment on forms approved by the Board.  

M.   

1. The original of the enrollment form must be filed with the Board office no later 

than 30 days after the start date of enrollment. After this time, no hours are 

granted until the enrollment form has been received in the Board office.  

1.   

2. The following must be submitted with the enrollment form:  

a. Proof of at least a tenth (10
th

) grade education, or its equivalent (See Rule  

5.16(A)(1)(a))  
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b. A statement certifying that the student has received the following:  

b.   

(7) Copy of student/school contract  

(7)   

(8) Copy of school rules and regulations  

(8)   

(9) Copy of the Mississippi Cosmetology Laws, Rules and  

Regulations.  

(9)   

(10) Approved textbookprinted hard copy textbook or digital e-book 

textbook  

(10)   

(11) Mannequin or hand form, as the case may be  

(11)   

(12) Student kit adherent to the rules and regulations of the Board.  

(12)   

N. Each student must record on the time clock, or time sheet, as approved by the Board, 

when starting or completing daily instruction or training, when leaving and returning to 

school premises, and the commencement and termination of lunch period.  

N.   

O. Credit for attendance is granted to a student only on time registered and hours of applied 

effort.  No credit attendance is allowed unless a time card or time sheet verifying 

attendance is on file.  

O.   

1. Unless the school utilizes a time clock, the Board approved “Student Daily Sign-

in and Out Sheet” must be used.  

1.   

2. All student clock hours must be derived from either a time card or the approved 

form; no other is accepted by the Board to substantiate the students’ acquired 

hours.  

2.   

3. If a student fails to sign/clock in or out, or if another person signs/clocks in or out 

for a student, hours are not granted for that time period.  

3.   

4. Should an error occur, changes may be made only by the lead instructor and must 

bear the signature of the instructor and the student at the point of change. Failure 

to do so results in non-credit of hours for that time period.  

4.   

P. A daily report, approved by the Board, must be utilized by each student, which lists all 

subjects taught in the course of training and provided in the curriculum.  

P.   

1. The daily report must recapitulate the student’s work for the day, and must 

support the timecard/sign-in sheet for that day.  

1.   
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2. The daily report must be maintained and must be initialed the instructor daily.  

2.   

Q. On or before the 10th of each month following enrollment, a monthly summary report of 

hours acquired by each student must be submitted to the office of the Board, and one 

copy must be posted on the bulletin board in the school. A fine of $100 per occurrence 

and $400 for subsequent violations will be levied, if monthly summary report of hours 

acquired by each student are not filed on or before the 10th day of each month. Further 

disciplinary action may be taken at the discretion of the Board. 

Q.   

R. In the event a student withdraws from classes before completing the course, a final 

transcript of his/her hours and grades, certified by the school, must be filed with the 

Board within 30 days. A copy of the final transcript must be transmitted to the student by 

the school at no cost to the student. A fine of $100 per occurrence and $400 for 

subsequent violations will be levied, in the event a student withdraws from classes before 

completing the course and a final transcript of his/her hours and grades, certified by the 

school is not filed with the Board within thirty (30) days. Further disciplinary action may 

be taken at the discretion of the Board. 

R.   

S. Any student who wishes to re-enroll after an absence of 30 days, and is approved by the 

school for re-enrollment, must complete a re-enrollment form as approved by the Board.  

S.   

T. Upon completion of trainingrequired hours of the course, a final transcript of student 

hours and grades, certified by the school, must be filed with the Board within 30 days. A 

copy of the final transcript must be transmitted to the student by the school at no cost to 

the student a fine of $400 per occurrence will be levied if the final transcript is not filed 

with the Board within 30 days of completion of the required hours of the course.  

T.   

U. All records must be retained by the school for a period of five years and until such time 

as the student has been licensed.  

U.   

V. The Board reserves the right to verify student records of hours acquired, at any time it 

deems necessary during business hours.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 5.24 Licensing Examination Pass/Fail Ratio  

  

C. The Board of Cosmetology maintains records of the results of each student’s licensing  

 examination, by school. If, at any time, it is determined that the graduates of a school,  

 fall below 70 (passing) on either the written examination or any segment of the practical  

 examination for a minimum period of six months, the Board will take the following  

 action:  

C.   

1. The owner and instructional staff of the school will be invited to meet with the   

  Board to discuss the problem.  
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1.     

2. Within 30 days from the date of the meeting with the Board, the school will   

  submit a course of action or “compliance plan” which will indicate their     

  awareness of the problem and which will set forth in sufficient detail what steps   

  they plan to take in an attempt to improve the pass/fail ratio.  

2.   

3. The school will be allowed a minimum period of six months in which to improve   

  to a passing average. If the school can demonstrate that an insufficient number of   

  students have graduated or qualified for examination to allow a fair review of the   

  examination average, the Board may, at its discretion, allow a compliance plan to   

  be in effect for longer than six months.  

3.   

D. At the conclusion of the agreed upon compliance plan period, if the average examination  

 grades of the school have not improved, the Board may take the necessary action to  

 suspend or revoke the school license.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Part 2101  Chapter 6:  Continuing Education  

  

Rule 6.1 Definitions  

  

As used in this rule section, unless the context otherwise requires:  

  

M. “Biennial” means every two years (24 months)  

M.   

N. “Category” means any one of seven areas in which continuing education hours may be 

acquired.  

N.   

O. “CEIT” means Continuing Education in Instructor Training.  

O.   

P. “MC” means Master Cosmetologist  

P.   

Q. “MM” means Master Manicurist.  

Q.   

R. “ME” means Master Esthetician.  

R.   

S. “MCSA” means Mississippi Cosmetology School Association.  

S.   

T. “MIBA” means Mississippi Independent Beautician’s Association.  

T.   

U. “MSBC” means Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.  

U.   

V. “MCA” means Mississippi Cosmetology Association.  

V.   
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W. “Provider” means an individual, association or a company which makes a request to 

present a continuing education event.  

W.   

X. "SOTA” means School Owner’s and Teacher’s Association.  

X.  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 6.2 Continuing Education Requirements  

  

All licensees must sign in with a Board member or Board representative using Board issued 

registration number from license to receive C.E.U. credit.  

  

C. Instructor   

C.   

1. In order to renew an instructor’s license in an active status, proof of twenty-four  

(24) CEIT hours must be on record with the Board.  

  

2. The biennial period is twenty-four month intervals from the date of qualification 

for licensure as an instructor, and each twenty-four month period thereafter.  

2.   

3. Licensed instructors must attend at least one mandatory Board sanctioned 

methods of teaching seminar earning a minimum of five (5) continuing education 

hours per biennial period in order to renew the instructor’s license in an active 

status.  

3.   

4. At the time of renewal of an instructor’s license, his/her record is reviewed for 

compliance at the end of the most recent biennial period.  

4.   

5. An instructor who fails to acquire twenty-four (24) hours CEIT during their 

biennial period will be issued an inactive license upon renewal, and must obtain 

twenty-four (24) hours CEIT before the license can be made active, i.e., hours 

may not be carried forward for the purpose of making an inactive license active. 

Hours mayust be obtained within the a sixty (60) day grace period before issuing 

an inactive license.  

5.   

D. A Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist or Master Esthetician license may be issued 

to any individual who makes application for the same, on a form prescribed by the Board, 

provided:  

D.   

1. He/she has been licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or esthetician in this state 

for at least twelve (12) months.  

1.   

2. Proof of having acquired sixteen (16) hours of continuing education approved by 

the Board prior to the date of application, is on record with the Board.  

2.   
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3. In order to renew a Master Cosmetologist, Master Manicurist, or Master  

Esthetician license, proof of acquisition of eight (8) hours biennially of continuing 

education must be on record with the Board.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7 and 73-7-15 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 6.3 Credit for CEIT/MC/MM/ME Hours  

  

Credit is given for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in the following CATEGORIES, providing all 

requirements set forth by the Board have been met and pre-approved:  

  

A.  Category One: Organized course work or activities in cosmetology or cosmetology 

related subject matter.  Included are seminars, short courses, workshops, and on-line 

continuing education, as well as technical sessions of MSBC meetings or conferences.  

  

4. Credit accrues at the rate of one hour for each hour of contact, rounded off to the 

nearest quarter hours.  

4.   

a. An individual must actually be in attendance for each contact hour 

claimed. No credit is given for missed sessions, social hours, breaks and 

related activities, or business meetings.  

a.   

5. In order for an activity to be approved for CEIT/MC/MM/ME hours in this 

category, the following criteria must be met:  

5.   

a. The activity must have significant intellectual or practical content and its 

primary objective must be to increase the participant’s professional 

competency as an instructor, master cosmetologist, master manicurist, or 

master esthetician.  

a.   

b. The activity must be offered by a provider having substantial, recent 

experience in offering CEIT/MC/MM/ME courses meeting Board 

approval. Demonstrated ability arising partly from the extent to which 

individuals with training or educational experience are involved in the 

planning, instruction, and supervision of the activity.  

b.   

c. The activity itself must be conducted by an individual or group qualified 

by practical or academic experience.  The program, including the named 

advertised educators, must be conducted substantially, as planned, subject 

to emergency withdrawals and alterations.  

c.   

d. Thorough, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared written materials 

must be made available to all participants at or before the time the course 

is presented, unless the absence of such materials is recognized as 
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reasonable and approved by the Board; mere outline without citations or 

explanatory notations are not sufficient.  

d.   

e. The activity must be conducted in a physical or virtual setting conducive 

to learning.  

e.   

f. At a minimum, the activity must consist of not less than four (4) hours of 

actual instruction.  

f.   

g. Activities that cross academic lines, such as a financial aid seminar, may 

be considered for approval.  

  

g. The activity must deal primarily with matters related to the enhancement 

  of the participants knowledge (MC/MM/ME) or to the teaching of  

cosmetology, manicuring, esthetics, professional responsibility or ethical 

  obligations of master cosmetologists, master manicurists, master 

h.     estheticians or instructors, or any related field of 

expertise.  

  

6. Any provider or licensee desiring approval of a course, program, or other activity, 

must apply to the Board on a form approved by the Board by submitting all 

supporting documentation no less than forty-five (45) days prior to the date for 

which the course or program is scheduled.  

6.   

a. The Board will advise the applicant in writing within thirty (30) days of 

the receipt of the completed application whether the activity is approved 

or disapproved.  Applicants denied approval of a program or activity may 

appeal such decision by submitting a letter of appeal to the Board within 

fifteen (15) days of the receipt of the notice of the approval or disapproval.  

a.   

b. The provider of an approved CEIT/MC/MM/ME activity may advertise in 

informational brochures and programs provided by the provider, as 

follows:  

b.   

 This course has been approved by the Mississippi State Board of 

Cosmetology for credit in continuing education at a maximum 

of: 

_____ hours for instructor;   

_____ hours for master cosmetologist; _____ 

hours for master manicurist; and _____ 

hours for master esthetician.  

  

c. The Board approves only those activities in which the board or its 

employees can verify that the subjects being presented conform to the 
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Board’s policies.  The Board has the right to freely enter and observe all or 

appropriate portions of such activities.  

c.   

d. The Board may at any time re-evaluate and revoke approval of a particular 

activity.  

d.   

CB.  Category Twohree: Holding an elected or appointed office or active committee 

assignment in the MSBC or allied professional organization, such as (M.C.A., M.C.S.A., 

M.I.B.A., and S.O.T.A. and the MS Cosmetology Council).   

  

 1.  Credit accrues at the rate of five (5) hours per year for holding office.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 6.4 Documentation of Continuing Education Hours  

  

D. Instructors: On or before the renewal of a license after the close of the most current 

biennial period, an instructor should submit documentation of any CEIT hours earned in 

any category other than categories One or Two. The documentation must be applicable 

proof of participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed.  The 

documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One and Two, must verify 

completion of the required twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education, in order to 

renew a license in an active status.  

D.   

E. Master Cosmetologist/Master Manicurist/Master Esthetician:  

E.   

1. In order to have the designation of  a master cosmetologist/master 

manicurist/master esthetician printed on the license, an applicant must submit 

documentation of any continuing education hours earned in any category other 

than categories One and Two. The documentation must be applicable proof of 

participation in activities for any category in which credit is claimed.  The 

documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One and Two, must 

verify completion of the required eight (8) hours of continuing education.  

1.   

2. In order to renew a license as a master cosmetologist, master manicurist or master 

esthetician an applicant must submit documentation of any continuing education 

hours earned in any category other than categories One or Two. The 

documentation must be applicable proof of participation in activities for any 

category in which credit is claimed.  The documentation, combined with hours 

earned in Categories One and Two, must verify completion of the required eight 

(8) hours of continuing education.  

2.   

F. The Board reserves the right to require additional documentation and proof for reported 

activities. When asked for additional documentation, the burden of furnishing proof of 

compliance rests with the licensee.  
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Part 2101  Chapter 7:  Sanitation  

  

Rule 7.1 Enforcement  

  

C. The holder or holders of an establishment license, or the person in charge of any such  

 establishment  is liable for the implementation and  maintenance of the sanitary 

conditions   of the establishment.  

C.   

D. Any student, licensed practitioner, or licensed instructor is held individually liable for the  

 implementation and maintenance of the sanitary conditions of his/her station and  

 equipment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.2 Posting Sanitation Rules  

  

In accordance with 73-7-7(2), these rules relating to sanitation have been approved by the MS  

State Department of Health, Office of Environmental Health and Associated Infections  

Antimicrobial Resistance Program prior to adoption by the Board. A copy of the Rules and 

Regulations governing sanitation must be posted in a place conspicuous to the public.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 73-7-7(2) (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.3 Interior  

  

H. Each establishment must be kept clean and in good condition.   

H.   

I. Floors in any area where services are performed must be covered with a non- porous 

material.  

I.   

J. All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of solid construction with lids, so 

constructed that they may be thoroughly cleaned and must be maintained in a clean 

condition. Waste and refuse must be removed from the premises as frequently as 

necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness.  

J.   

K. Hair and nail clippings must be removed from the floor and surface areas following each 

client.  

K.   

L. Animals are not permitted in an establishment. Exception is a registered service animal.  

L.   

M. Water Supply  

M.   
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1. Each establishment must be provided with an adequate supply of potable running 

water, under pressure, from an approved source.  The potable water system must 

be installed to preclude the possibility of backflow, with no cross connections 

through which the potable water might become contaminated.  

1.   

2. Adequate hot and cold water under pressure must be provided in all work booths 

or work rooms.  

2.   

3. Adequate drinking facilities must be conveniently provided in each establishment.   

3.   

4. All drinking fountains must be maintained in a sanitary manner and the stream of 

water from the fountain head must be properly regulated.  

4.   

5. The use of a common cup, glass or other receptacle for drinking purposes is 

expressly prohibited.  

5.   

N. Restroom Facilities  

N.   

1. Every establishment must be provided with adequate and conveniently located 

restroom facilities.  

1.   

2. At least two restroom facilities must be provided in each school for the students, 

faculty, staff, and patrons. At least one restroom facility should be provided for 

employees and patrons in other establishments.  

2.   

3. All restrooms must be kept clean and in good condition.  

3.   

4. All restrooms must be well lighted and ventilated to the outside air.  

4.   

5. All establishments located on a street or alley where a system of sanitary sewers is 

available must have a properly constructed sewer connection to the sewer system 

into which human excreta and other liquid waste is disposed. Where no sanitary 

sewer system is available, all human excreta and other liquid waste must be 

disposed of in a sewage disposal system meeting all the requirements of the 

Mississippi State Department of Health and/or the Mississippi Department of 

Natural Resources.  

5.   

6. Adequate and convenient hand-washing facilities, including sink, hot and cold 

running water under pressure, an adequately supplied soap dispenser, and  

disposable towels, or properly laundered cloth stored in a closed container, must 

be provided in or adjacent to every restroom.  

6.   

7. Waste and Refuse: All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers of solid 

construction with lids and must be removed from the premises as frequently as 

necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness.    
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.4 Personal Sanitation  

  

C. Hand Washing Practices: Every practitioner and student in an establishment must  

thoroughly wash and scrub his or her hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser before  

starting work, before each client, or after using the restroom.  

C.   

1. In the service of manicuring, both the client and the licensed individual must wash 

their hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser or wipe with alcohol/antibacterial 

hand sanitizer prior to the service.  

1.   

2. Prior to a pedicure, the client’s feet must be cleansed with an antibacterial skin 

cleanser.  

2.    

D. Infectious Disease  

D.   

1. Persons with a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is medically 

recognized to be transmittable by the type of contact that practitioners have with 

clients are not to be permitted to practice in an establishment until their condition 

is no longer communicable under those circumstances.  

1.   

2. Likewise, clients who have a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is 

transmittable to other clients or to a practitioner through the type of contact the 

client would have with the practitioner, or other clients, should not be 

accommodated in an establishment.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.5 Chairs, Shampoo Boards and Bowls  

  

C. The head-rest chair must be provided with a clean towel or paper sheet for each patron.  

C.   

D. Shampoo bowls must be cleaned with soap and water or other detergent after each  

shampoo, kept in good condition and in a sanitary condition at all times.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.6 Linens and Towels  

  

F. Only freshly laundered or new disposable linens or towels can be used on each client.  

F.   

G. After linens and towels have been used, they must be deposited in a closed receptacle, 

and cannot be used again until properly laundered and sanitized.  
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G.   

H. Used linens and towels must be laundered either by regular commercial laundering or by 

a non-commercial laundering process which includes the following treatment: Immersion 

in hot water at 160° F. for not less than five minutes at some time during the wash or 

rinsing operation. All linens are to be disinfected during the wash cycle using detergent.  

H.   

I. All clean linens and towels are to be stored in a closed container of solid construction.  

I.   

J. A sanitary neck strip or towel must be used to keep all protective covering from coming 

in direct contact with a patron.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.7 Bottles and Containers  

  

C. All bottles and containers must be distinctly and correctly labeled to disclose their  

 contents.  When not in use all bottles and containers must remain closed.  All bottles  

 containing poisonous substances must be so designated and stored in a separate cabinet  

 away from cosmetics and other substances.  

C.   

D. There shall be no more than two (2) gallons of acetone stored or in use in a salon or  

 school at any one time.  Acetone shall be properly labeled and stored in a separate cabinet  

 from cosmetics, in accordance with manufacturer’s directions.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.8 Instruments and Supplies  

  

H. All instruments and supplies which have been used in direct contact upon a patron, or 

which have become soiled in any manner whatever, must be removed from primary work 

area, placed in a properly labeled receptacle provided for the purpose, and cannot be used 

on another patron until they have been properly cleaned and sanitized.  

H.   

I. All supplies such as cotton, ear pads, neck strips and protectors which cannot be sanitized 

by one of the procedures covered by Rule 7.9 must be discarded immediately after use.  

I.   

J. Carrying instruments in or on garments or uniforms is prohibited.  No practitioner in an 

establishment may carry any instruments or supplies in or on a garment or uniform.  

J.   

K. Practitioners are prohibited in using brush-type neck dusters in any establishment.  

K.   

L. The use of credo blades and/or scalpels is prohibited in any procedure or service. In 

addition, credo blades, micro plane foot files and scalpels are prohibited on the premises 

of any licensed establishment.  

L.   
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M. Electric nail file:    

M.   

1. Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize an electric file in any manicuring 

procedure must first present Board approved certification that they are proficient 

in the use of the instrument.  

1.   

2. The electric nail file certification of proficiency must be posted at the 

practitioner’s primary work area at all times.  

2.   

3. Any instructor or student instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of the 

electric nail file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved 

certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument.  

3.   

4. The instructor’s or student instructor’s electric file certification of proficiency 

must be posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times.  

4.   

5. Any electric nail file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be specifically 

designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the instrument must 

be able to provide that documentation upon demand.  

5.   

N. Microdermabrasion and Dermaplaning  

N.   

1. A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must limit  

the exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment  

must be approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a Class  

I device intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must  

prominently display the manufacturer’s a certificate of training proficiency for  

each type of equipment used, and must comply with the manufacturer’s directions  

in the use of each product. The use of FDA class 2 or class 3 devices is 

prohibited.  

1.   

2. Dermaplaning is prohibited from practice by any license holder of the Board.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-21, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.9 Disinfecting Work Surfaces, Instruments, Materials and Supplies  

  

E. Work surfaces must be disinfected after each client.  

E.   

F. All instruments, materials and supplies used in direct contact upon a patron, except those 

which come in contact with blood or body fluids, require the following treatment:  

F.   

1. Thorough cleansing of the instruments, materials and supplies with soap and 

water or other detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so 

as to remove all foreign material which might harbor bacteria.  
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1.   

2. Each establishment will have and use for disinfection at all times during business 

hours, a Wet Disinfectant Container made of glass, stainless steel, or the type 

recommended by the manufacturer of the product it contains.  

2.   

a. The disinfectant used must be an EPA registered, hospital grade, 

bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal disinfectant.  

a.   

b. The solution will be mixed and used according to manufacturer’s 

instructions for dilution and immersion time.  

b.   

c. The container will be large enough for total immersion of the open 

implement and will contain the appropriate amount of solution for the 

number of items to be disinfected.  

c.   

d. The container will have a cover in place at all times, labeled as to its 

contents, and be easily accessible to all practitioners.  

d.   

e. Implements are to be removed from the disinfectant in such a manner as 

not to contaminate the disinfectant solution (using tongs, baskets, and 

such), rinsed, and placed on a clean dry towel for air drying.  

e.   

f. Ultraviolet ray cabinets may be used, but are not acceptable as approved 

disinfecting devises.  Glass bead sterilizers are not an acceptable 

disinfectant.  

f.   

g. The wet disinfectant must be discarded when it becomes contaminated.  

g.   

h. Wet disinfectant cannot be used for storage.   

h.   

3. Storage of Disinfected Implements:  

3.   

Disinfected combs, brushes, instruments and accessories will be kept in a clean, 

sanitized, closed receptacle or cabinet when not in use.  

  

G. Body treatment, pedicure and manicure equipment that holds water shall be cleaned after 

each client by scrubbing with surfactant soap and water to remove all visible residue, 

then disinfected with an EPA registered bactericide, fungicide, and virucidal disinfectant 

with surface contact according to manufacturer’s directions.  

G.   

H. All tools and implements which have come in contact with blood or body fluids must be 

disinfected in the manner stipulated in Rule 7.9.B., except that the  

  disinfectant must be an EPA registered disinfectant, hospital grade, tuberculocidal that is 

mixed and used according to the manufacturer’s direction. Disposable items must be 

discarded immediately, following the Blood Spill Procedures as stipulated in Rule 7.13.  
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Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.10 Disinfecting Electric Clippers and Metal Instruments  

  

Instruments which cannot be sanitized by the procedures set forth in Rule 7.9 will be disinfected 

by:  

  

C. Thorough cleansing of the working parts of the instruments immediately after each use, 

and prior to disinfection, so as to remove all foreign material which might harbor 

bacteria.  

C.   

D. Immersion of the working parts of the instruments in a solution of 70% alcohol for not 

less than five minutes.  Contact points of non-immersible equipment will be wiped or 

sprayed with an EPA registered, hospital grade, bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal 

disinfectant.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.11 Disinfecting Manicure and Pedicure Instruments While In Use on a Patron  

  

C. A solution of 70% alcohol will be readily available during the manicure and pedicure.  

 The instruments used on an individual patron will be placed in the alcohol solution when  

 not actually being employed during the process of giving a manicure and pedicure.  

C.   

D. After use on a patron, the entire set of instruments will be removed from the work station  

 and cannot be used again until disinfected in accordance with the procedures set forth in  

 Rule 7.10 or Rule 7.9 if instruments come in contact with blood or body fluids.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

  

  

Rule 7.12 Cleaning and Disinfecting Whirlpool Foot Spas  

  

C. As used in this section, “whirlpool foot spa” or “spa” is defined as any basin using  

circulating water.  

C.   

D. Each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the following manner:  

D.   

1. Before use upon each patron:,  

1.   

a. All water shall be drained and all debris shall be removed from the spa   

basin.  
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a.   

b. The spa basin must be cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and water.  

b.   

c. The spa basin must be disinfected with an EPA-registered disinfectant 

with  demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal activity which 

must be   used according to manufacturer’s instructions.  

d. The spa basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel.  

d.   

2. At the end of each day:,  

2.   

a. The screen shall be removed, all debris trapped behind the screen shall be   

removed, and the screen and the inlet shall be cleaned with a brush and   

surfactant soap and water.  

a.   

b. Before replacing the screen, one of the following procedures shall be   

performed:  

b.   

(1) The screen shall be washed with a chlorine bleach solution of 1     

  teaspoon of 5% chlorine bleach to 1 gallon of water, or  

(1)   

(2) The screen shall be totally immersed in an EPA-registered      

  disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and      

  virucidal activity which must be used according to the       

  manufacturer’s instructions.  

(2)   

c. The spa system shall be flushed circulate with low sudsy soap and warm 

water for at  least 10 minutes, after which the spa shall be rinsed and 

drained.  

c.   

3. Every other week (bi-weekly), after cleaning and disinfecting as provided in Rule   

    7.12(B)(2), each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the    

    following manner:  

  

a. The spa basin shall be filled completely with water and 1 teaspoon of 5%   

bleach for each 1 gallon of water.  

a.   

b. The spa system shall be flushedcirculate with the bleach and water 

solution for 5 to 10 minutes and allowed to sit for 6 to 10 hours.  

b.   

c. The spa system shall be drained and flushed with water before use upon a   

patron.  

c.   

4. A record shall be made of the date and time of each cleaning and disinfecting as   

required by Rule 7.12, and will indicate whether the cleaning was a daily or bi- 

weekly cleaning. This record shall be made at or near the time of cleaning and   
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disinfecting.  Cleaning and disinfecting records shall be made available upon   

request by either a patron or a Board representative.  

4.     

5. A violation of this section may result in an administrative fine and/or disciplinary   

action. Each foot spa not in compliance with this section may result in a separate   

violation.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.13 Blood Spill Procedures  

  

C. Practitioner injury.  While risk expected with these practices is minimal, practitioners are  

 cautioned to always use disposable plastic gloves prior to contacting blood or bodily  

 fluids. If a practitioner sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must  

be immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed:  

  

1. Clean injured area with soap and water.  Apply antiseptic and/or liquid styptic or 

spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. Containers, 

brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or contact the 

wound.  An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton must be used.  

1.   

2. Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid.  

2.   

3. Put on properly sized disposable plastic gloves.  

3.   

4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed of in a 

sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag (double 

bagged) and discarded.  

4.   

5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated 

implements as provided in Rule 7.9.  

5.   

6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water.  Follow with 

an antibacterial scrub on hands.  Replace adhesive dressing or band aid as needed.  

If the wound is on a hand, put on properly sized, disposable plastic glove on the 

injured hand.  

6.   

7. If necessary, clean client with soap and water.  

7.   

8. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with a private physician.  

8.   

D. Client injury: If a client sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service must 

be immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed:  

  

1. Put on properly sized, disposable plastic gloves.  
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1.   

2. Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic and/or liquid styptic or 

spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. Containers, 

brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or contact the 

wound.  An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton must be used.  

2.   

3. If necessary, Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid.  

3.   

4. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed of in a 

sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag (double 

bagged) and discarded.  

4.   

5. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated 

implements as provided in Rule 7.9.  

5.   

6. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water.  Follow with 

an antibacterial scrub on hands.  

6.   

7. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with private physician.  

C.   The MS State Department of Health recommends the CDC for guidance on proper  

7. handwashing and proper use of hand sanitizer. 

https://www.cdc.gov/handwashing/when-how-handwashing.html. 

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.14 Health and Safety Issues  

  

D. Removal of moles, blemishes, or any type of tissue destruction is prohibited.  

D.   

E. No practitioner or instructor will massage any person upon a surface of the skin or scalp 

where such skin is inflamed or where a skin infection or eruption is present.  

E.   

F. Hair removal by means of epilation and/or depilation shall not be performed on the legs, 

feet, arms, or hands prior to or during any manicure or any pedicure service.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021)  

  

Rule 7.15 Creams, Lotions, Powder and Other Cosmetics  

  

I. When not in use, all creams, lotions, and other cosmetics used on patrons must be kept in  

clean and closed containers, which must be labeled.  

I.   

J. All powder used on patrons must be kept in a clean shaker or may be applied by means of  

cotton or other sanitized applicator. Applicators must be sanitized after each patron.  

Disposable applicators must be discarded immediately after use.  

https://www.cdc.gov/handwashing/when-
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J.   

K. Creams and other semi-solid substances must be removed from the container with a  

sanitized spatula or other article. The use of fingers for removing creams, etc., is  

prohibited.  

K.   

L. Lotions or liquids must be poured into a sanitized glass or other container and must be  

applied to the patron by means of cotton or sanitized applicator. Any excess remaining  

after application can neither be returned to the original container nor applied to another  

patron, but must be discarded immediately.  

L.   

M. Creams, lotions, powder and other cosmetics must be removed by means of cotton, 

gauze, pledgets, soft absorbent paper, or other sanitized material.  

M.   

N. Wax:  

N.   

1. Wax can be used only once and discarded. It cannot be returned to the wax heater. 

Applicators cannot be re-dipped.  

1.   

2. Paraffin wax used for services requires the following:  

2.   

a. The skin must be thoroughly cleansed with an antibacterial skin cleanser.  

a.   

b. The skin must be completely dried with a clean towel prior to immersion.  

b.   

c. Wax must be discarded when cloudy or when it contains debris.  

c.   

d. The product removed from the body must be discarded.  

d.   

O. Cosmetic pencils must be sharpened before and after being used on a patron.  

O.   

P. No product containing the ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used in any  

manicuring or pedicuring procedure. All products must be correctly labeled, and  

manufacturer’s data sheets for any nail product must be readily available for review by  

any agent of the Board of Cosmetology.  

  

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §§ 73-7-7, 73-7-33 (Rev. 20132021).  

  

Part 2101 Chapter 8.   Disciplinary and Administrative Actions  

  

Rule 8.1.   Disciplinary Actions 

 

This Chapter applies to individual students, student instructors, instructors,   

 licensees, salons, or schools licensed by the Board. The Board may refuse to issue  
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  or renew or may deny, suspend or revoke any license held or applied for 

under    this act upon finding that the holder of a license or applicant:  

1. Has not complied with or has violated any of the rules and regulations 

promulgated by the Board.   

2. Has not complied with or has violated any of the sections of Section 73-7-1, et. 

seq. of the Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended.   

3. Has committed fraud or dishonest conduct in the taking of the examination for 

licensure.  

4. Has been convicted of a felony.   

5. Has committed grossly unprofessional or dishonest conduct, including, but not 

limited to attempting to use as his/her own the license of another and allowing the 

use of his/her license by another.   

6. Is addicted to the excessive use of intoxicating liquors or to the use of drugs to 

such an extent as to render him or her unfit to practice in any of the practices or 

occupations set forth in this chapter.   

7. Has advertised by means of knowingly false or deceptive statements  

8. Has failed to display the license or certificate issued to him or her as provided for 

in Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-7-11.   

9. Has been convicted of violating any of the provisions of 73-7-1, et. seq. of the 

Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended.   

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-27 and. 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021).  

  

Rule 8.2.   Complaints  

  

D. Public Complaint. Public complaints shall mean any complaint that comes from someone 

outside of a standard Board inspection.   

1. Any complaint may be filed with the Board by a member or agent of the Board or 

by any person charging any licensee of the Board with the commission of any of 

the offenses found in Rule 8.1.  

2. Such complaint shall be in writing, signed by the accuser or accusers, and verified 

under oath, and such complaints shall be investigated as set forth in Section 73-77 

of the Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended.   

3. The Board shall administratively review to determine that there is substantial 

justification to believe that the accused licensee has committed any of the offenses 

enumerated.   

a. The administrative review agents shall consist of an investigator or a  

Board Member, the Board’s Executive Director, and the Board attorney.  

b. If the administrative review agents determine that there is not substantial 

justification to believe that the accused licensee has committed any of the 

offenses enumerated, it may present the complaint for dismissal to the 

Board.   

c. If the administrative review agents believe that the licensee has committed 

any of the offenses, the Board agents will proceed with a formal complaint 

under Rule 8.2(C).  
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d. When used with reference to any complaint filed against a licensee herein, 

the term "not substantial justification" means a complaint that is frivolous, 

groundless in fact or law, or vexatious, as determined by unanimous vote 

of the Board. 

d. Both the complainant and the accused will be notified of the Board’s 

decision.  

e.     

E. Board Complaint.  Board complaints shall mean any complaint that is generated by a 

Board agent that typically derives from an inspection or other Board action.   

1. When a Board agent finds a violation at a salon/school, the Board agent shall 

issue notice of the violation(s) on a complaint form and issue a consent 

agreement, which is provided to the Licensee.   

2. The Licensee may invoke his or her right to an administrative hearing under Rule 

8.2(C) or may waive his or her rights to an administrative hearing and accept the 

fine on the Board approved consent form.   

3. The Board or its agent may accept or reject the Consent Agreement.   

4. A licensee who violates the same law, rule, regulation within three (3) years shall 

be considered a repeat offender and shall not be entitled to a sign a Consent 

Agreement.   

5. The Executive Director may execute a Consent Agreement on behalf of the 

Board.   

6. If the Licensee invokes his or her rights to an administrative hearing or refuses to 

enter the consent agreement, the Board shall follow the procedures under Rule 

8.2(C).   

6.   

F. Formal Complaint. Formal Complaints are pleadings drafted for matters to be set for a 

hearing.   

1. The Board reserves the right to forego steps under Public and Board Complaints 

and institute a Formal Complaint against any licensee at the finding of reasonable 

cause.    

2. Formal complaints shall specify the reason or reasons for denying the applicant a 

license or certificate of registration, or in the case of any other disciplinary action, 

the offense or offenses of which the licensee or holder of a certificate of 

registration is charged.   

3. Public and Board Complaints, which have not been resolved, are presented to the 

Board to determine if there is reasonable cause to believe the accused has 

committed any of the alleged offenses.   

4. If the Board determines there is reasonable cause to believe the accused has 

committed any of those offenses, the Secretary of the board shall give written 

notice of such determination to the accused licensee and set a day for a hearing as 

provided in Rule 8.3.   

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-27 and. 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021).  
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Rule 8.3. Notice of Formal Complaint and Administrative Hearing  

  

C. The Board shall notify the accused that a complaint has been received and that a 

administrative hearing will be held. The accused shall be notified at least twenty (20) 

days prior to the date of the administrative hearing.   

D. Notice may be considered to have been given, if the Notice or a copy thereof was mailed 

by using United States first-class certified mail, postage prepaid, to the last-known 

residence or business address of such applicant, licensee or holder of a certificate.  

 C.   The notice of the Complaint shall also inform the accused of the following:  

1. The date, time, and location of the hearing;   

2. That the accused may appear personally at the administrative hearing and may be 

represented by Counsel; and   

3. That the accused shall have the right to produce witnesses and evidence on the 

individual(s) behalf and shall have the right to cross-examine adverse witnesses 

and evidence.   

D.  Filing of documents. All pleadings and motions relating to any contested case pending 

before the Board shall be filed at the Board office and shall be deemed filed only when 

actually received. Responses to the Complaint should be filed at least seven (7) days prior 

to the hearing. Copies of all pleadings and motions shall be served on Board counsel. 

 E.   Pre-Hearing Discovery. There will be no pre-hearing discovery.  

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-27 and. 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021).  

     

Rule 8.4 Administrative Hearing Proceedings   

  

H. Administrative hearings shall be before the Board and shall be presided over by the 

President or designee of the Board. Following the administrative hearing, the Board shall, 

in writing, notify the accused as to what sanction(s), if any, shall be imposed and the 

basis for the Board’s action.   

I. All final orders issued by the Board shall be reflected in the Board minutes.   

J. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of public record and shall be 

preserved pursuant to state law.   

K. The hearing on such charges shall be at such time and place as the Board may prescribe.   

L. Stenographic notes of the proceedings shall be taken. Any party to the proceedings 

desiring the stenographic notes shall be furnished with a copy of such stenographic notes 

upon payment to the Board of such fees as it shall prescribe, not exceeding, however, the 

actual costs of transcription.   

M. The Board shall issue subpoenas in accordance with Miss. Code Ann. Section 73-7-27.  

N. Continuances may be granted only when the ends of justice may be served.  

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-27 and. 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021).  
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Rule 8.5 Sanctions  

  

C. Civil Liabilities:  

The Board may impose any of the following sanctions, singularly or in combination, when it 

finds that a licensee is guilty of any of the offenses including but not limited to those referred to 

in Chapter 8:  

1. Issuance of a letter of official reprimand to the licensee;  

2. Refusal to renew license;  

3. Refusal to issue license;  

4. Place on Probation;  

5. Restriction or limitation of the individual’s scope of practice;  

6. Suspension of the licensee for any period of time; and  

7. Revocation of the license.  

8. Reasonable and customary fines and penalties.   

8.   

D. Criminal Liabilities:  

1. The violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, including the use of fraudulent 

statements to obtain any benefits or privileges under this chapter or practicing one (1) 

of these professions without a license, shall constitute a misdemeanor, punishable in 

any court of competent jurisdiction at the seat of government, and any person or firm 

convicted of the violation of any of the provisions of this chapter shall be fined not less 

than One Hundred Dollars ($ 100.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($ 500.00). 

The court shall not be authorized to suspend or suspend the execution of the fine 

required under this section.  

2. The proceedings in this section shall be in addition to and not in lieu of the other 

remedies and penalties provided in this chapter.  

  

Source: Miss Code Ann §§ 73-7-37 and. 73-7-7 (Rev. 20132021).  

  

Rule 8.6 Appeals  

  

D. A respondent may appeal the decision of the Board to the Chancery Court of the First 

Judicial District of Hinds County.  

E. A respondent may appeal the decision of the Chancery Court to the Mississippi Supreme 

Court.  

F. Further appeal shall be pursuant to any remedies available by law.  

  

Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-7-27(5) (Rev. 20132021)  

  


