Term Limits
All Initiatives   
Subject Matter:
Term Limits  (See Comments)

Original Filing:

Proposed Ballot Title:
Shall public officials be limited to two successive terms, with certain judges and congressional representatives limited to three successive terms?

Proposed Ballot Summary:
This measure would amend the state constitution to limit appointed and elected state and local officials and United States Senators to two successive terms. Circuit, chancery, county and family court judges and congressional representatives would be limited to three successive terms. Service prior to January 1, 1996 would not be counted when determining the number of successive terms served by congressional representatives and United States Senators.

Initiative Petition:

Mike Crook
PO Box 2222
Madison MS 39130-2222

Defeated by voters at November 7, 1995, General Election (54.3%-45.7%).

Town Meeting Location:

Initiative Information:
The official ballot title and ballot summary for an initiative measure are prepared by the Mississippi Attorney General’s Office. Initiative measures are valid for one year. During this one-year period, a petition may be circulated to place the measure on the next statewide general election ballot to allow the voters of Mississippi to determine whether the measure should become a part of the Mississippi Constitution. According to Mississippi law, for an initiative measure to be placed on the ballot, a minimum of 106,190 certified signatures must be gathered, with at least 21,238 certified signatures from each of the five congressional districts as they existed in the year 2000. This required number of signatures represents twelve percent (12%) of the total number of votes cast for Governor in the last gubernatorial general election. Signatures must be certified by county circuit clerks as belonging to registered voters in Mississippi. A completed petition should be filed with Secretary of State, together with a filing fee of $500.00. For more information on the initiative process in Mississippi, consult the Mississippi Constitution of 1890, Section 273, and Mississippi Code Annotated §§ 23-17-1 through 23-17-61 (1972).

(Click to show/hide comments)